DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeons & Delvers - Black Book
by Darcy D. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2017 12:44:52

Dungeons & Delvers is a really good alternative if you want to play something close to ealier edition of Dungeons & Dragons, but with simplicity and internal consistency. Each class had his own flavor, in form of Talent (a mix between D&D 3.5's Feats and D&D 4th's Powers) who can be choose level be level, letting you personalise your character in a easy and friendly way.

Caster uses a system close to Spell Points instead of be Vancian-based, and each class comes with an alternative ways to recharges it. Cleric can pray and make sacrifices, while Wizard need take short rest to recharge.

In 141 pages, the books comes with 4 races (Human, Elf, Dwarf and Kodold, the last one are nice variant of the older Halflings and Gnomes) and classes (Cleric, Fighter, Rogue and Wizard), who is this book are limited to 5 levels. A pretty complete Equipment section, rules for Crafting (pretty close for the ones of Witcher), a GM section AND a little Bestiary. And let's not forget about Traps & Treasures.

Pretty robust book if you ask me.

In the Appendix, there is three more classes (Monk, Ranger and Warlock) and two more races (Cambion, Sin-Flavored Tiefling, and Tarchon, rage-filled Dragonborns), and a variant Wizard (The Vancermancer, more close to old Vancian-style Wizard, but it his own twist) and more monsters, and talents options.

In other words, waiting you wait for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons & Delvers - Black Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeons & Delvers - Black Book
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2017 07:46:06

Really nice,love the layout-pleasure to read.Art , tables and stat blocks are fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons & Delvers - Black Book
by patrick c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2017 10:07:30

Dungeon & Delvers is a fascinating take on the Dungeons & Dragons. Awful Good Games has combined elements from earlier iterations of D&D, creating a system that is: flexible, internally consistent, and user friendly. The rulebook is organized and attractive looking, the art has a stylized art look reminiscent of the Hellboy comics.

There are several major departures from it's predecessors. Vancian magic has been replaced by two new new systems: arcane casters use a mana system, divine casters use divine favors. The mechanics support the flavor of Arcane casters powering their spells from within, and Divine casters calling on a external power to aid them. The typical range of attributes has been changed to just the derived modifier. Hit points are fixed per level and divided into two kinds: one representing fatigue and superficial injuries, the other more serious ones. Armor adds to the characters defense and gives damage reduction. Each of the classes has a list of customized talents that evens the playing field a bit between martial and arcane/ divine casters.

The system has lots of modification potential. I can see elements from FATE melding quite nicely with Dungeons & Delvers. The few things I was not a fan of can be house rules with a minimum of fuss.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons & Delvers - Black Book
by Newton P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2017 22:47:16

This is a great book. It is a very well laid-out book coming in at 141 pages, with colour pictures throughout. At first I thought it might be a D&D retro-clone/OSR but I'd say it borrows many elements from 3.5e and 5e, yet keeping the simplicity of earlier versions.

It has 4 basic races; the human, elf, and dwarf you might expect, however the kobold rounds out the list, which may be an odd departure from the usual halfling race. Apart from that, the racial modifiers/abilities are pretty much what you'd expect.

The game has the basic 4 classes; Cleric, Fighter, Rogue and Wizard. The details for each class are based upon choosing talents (akin to feats in other versions). Even the wizard and cleric's spells are listed as talents (instead of a list of spells). This is very much like Dungeon World. While the list is limited (around 8-10 options for the Fighter or Rogue, and around 15-20 for the cleric and wizard), it definately gives you the customization you'd expect in later versions of D&D.

The game is limted to level-5 characters, and I'm really interested to see more options if later additions come out for this game.

The game has a detailed skill list (but not too large) and rules for crafting. It has a fair selection of equipment, and a streamlined set of combat rules you'd expect (there are no rules for Attacks of Opportunity, disengaging the enemy, etc, so it can easily be played in the Theater of your mind). Combat is slightly different in that it uses Armor for both the target number to hit (e.g. AC) as well as damage reduction (DR). Characters have both Wound Points (e.g. HPs) and Vitality Points (VP) which seems to be a way of recovering a portion of health between combats (which I like better than later D&D's version's "healing surges").

There is a small DM section, as well as a well put together list of monsters (about 25 of them), and magic items.

Overall this is an excellent value for your money. I'm really looking forward to seeing what they do next (levels 6+).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Living Star - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Marc V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2017 12:31:22

An amazing playbook. This gave me an option for a class that I would have never thought of before. The abilities are unique and are genious. I love how capable of doing the impossible this class is. This class is something I would recomend to anyone wanting to be godly. I would like is they give some items to boost the ability of the living star, and i would enjoy it if there was more extra moves.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Living Star - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Blackguard - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Marc V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2017 12:24:02

I love this class. I think it is well built and gives you a truely menacing feeling for your character. The powers give you a whole new world of play with the editions it brings. The only thing i find troublesome is while i like the come up with it yourself options for like unholy or infernal sign, I would like a little more structure to build off of with this. I hope that there will be more editions that work with this class and powers (maybe like some magic items or weapons). Overall I think this is a top notch playbook and would recomend it to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackguard - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Cultist - A Dungeon World Playbook
by christon s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2016 07:28:39

One of the players in our home game has been playing this character for awhile and she has played a very nasty and interesting character. There has been no instance where anyone at the table felt that this playbook was broken in anyway which is something that often has to be dealt with when working with third party playbooks. Aweful Good does a great job balancing and creating their playbooks. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Cultist - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Cultist - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2016 15:25:33

Like many of Awful Good Games' class, The Cultist sets out to do one thing really, really well: create an awesome Lovecraftian spellcaster with some sort of following. You start out with a balanced spread of Summoning, Rituals, Cult resources, and Lore. As you level up, you may choose advanced moves that place greater emphasis any of these, or add some nifty stuff involving Dreams or Mutations. All of the material is dripping with flavor and story potential. If you're looking to play a Dark Priest archetype, you can't get much better than this. No mere Cleric can do everything this class does. I highly recommend it.

However, I must put it out there that this class is not for everyone. The archetype is very specific, and- unlike the other monster classes- there's not much room for redemption, here. No Caspers, no Cullens, no Livs, period. This is really only for people who are completely comfortable playing an Evil character. There's nothing wrong with that per se, but I personally can't see myself playing something like this when I'm not DMing.

But, yeah. It's still an amazing, well-written class. Not to everyone's taste, but few things are.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Cultist - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 16:07:33

Fantastic. Love the artwork and the creativity in the content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cultist - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 15:00:21

This is a fantastic supplement for those interested in adding a dark summoner class to an existing campaign. The playbook provides a host of rituals, spells, items, and mutations.

I particularly like that the class allows the character to create a unique elder god, as well as the cult which worships it. Characters begin as a initiates and eventually rise to the rank of high priest when the level up in their cult.

There are also rituals for creating magic items, summoning elder things, seeking aid from fellow cultists, etc.

I have several playbooks produces by Awful Good Games, now, and I can say that they consistently produce high-quality supplements. I particularly like the evocative, dreamlike illustrations.

This is a fantastic playbook!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cultist - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Maria R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2016 12:49:50

Disclaimer: I've worked with Awful Good Games in the past, mainly to develop and improve their playbooks. David Guyll personally asked me to give this one a review. However, I guarantee that this review is honest.

The Cultist is a tough playbook for GMs, but once the GM and the player work the details of the cult out, it is one of Awful Good Games' finest classes.

The main concerns I have is the time it takes to summon a creature, and the fact that the cult itself works better if the steading tules are in play. However, the former can be homebrewed if necessary, and the latter works either way.

All in all, The Cultist by Awful Good Games is great playbook, definitely one of my favorites.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Therianthrope - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2016 04:59:41

I really like this playbook. There are a lot of variations / choices. For example, you need to choose the source of your abilities (Are you cursed? Is this a family bloodline? Did you get them with magical power?), and you have lot of moves that help you to build specific, even uncommon, were-beast-men. You can build a trickster/magical one too, like the Kitsune, or a chimeric merging of more shapes. Finally, you get sweet bonuses, like specific/themed equip, variant moves, etc. You know, the things that push Awful Good Games a step higher than other playbooks. Also, as ever, impressive number of pages for the cost asked. The bad? I'm not sold with the color choices for the layout (those damn red lines... :- ), and the character sheet is heavily customized: you can find it better than the original ones, still the graphical style is somewhat poor, particulary if you compare it to the new revised style of the standard DW playbooks. However, matter of tastes.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy from the author, because I was involved in the alpha/beta testing of the playbook. Said so, I feel that my suggestions were useful, and helped to obtain a cool, polished, Dungeon World uncommon "class".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Therianthrope - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Andrea, If you have another color scheme in mind (and any other tweaks like fonts), send me an email/tag me on G+ and we can make a PDF with that. Same goes for the character sheet: wouldn\'t mind trying to make something that gives you lots of space to record info, but looks nicer!
The Paladin - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2016 17:04:01

Disclaimer: I got this class for free, from David, 'cause I partecipated in the beta stage during the class creation. I liked this class. You can play a paladin driven by his virtues, and getting advanced moves for the chosen virtues. Also, in the file you'll find a Compendium Class to "upgrade" your paladin to a Cavalier, and play along your (powerful, detailed) steed :D

Also, as usual, you'll find some extra equip, with added notes. Side note: ok, I like he gives us historical notes about the weapons, however it can create "confusion" with the base equip, because here you'll find armed sword (they are the historical version of the "standard" long sword) and long swords (the historical version of the 2handed sword). While interesting, maybe I'd have kept the "wrong" version, and put a separate note for GM about "renaming the weapon in your campaign".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Paladin - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Swashbuckler - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christopher G. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2016 11:13:25

I’m really very happy with the Swashbuckler! This is an awesome class and I can’t wait to try it out in our next campaign! I love the abilities and options it presents!

That said, I’d really appreciate it if some more proofreading and editing were done to this product. The playbook and character sheet have spelling and typographical errors. This may sound nitpicky but the thing is I paid for this product so I expect a certain level of quality control - at the very least, a document with no errors. The playbook is 23 pages and the character sheets are two pages each. It doesn’t take much effort to clean that up. The errors are on pp.8-9 of the playbook and the first page of the character sheet. I didn’t bother looking for other errors although there might be more, but then again, it’s not my job now, isn’t it?

That’s all. I’m not asking for much, really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Swashbuckler - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Christopher, Glad you like the class despite the typos! Despite this class being nearly a year old (and at least seven people providing feedback and criticism during the class\'s development), you\'re the first person to notice them. I\'ve fixed a couple that I noticed on the pages you mentioned (thanks for citing page numbers), and re-uploaded the files: if you happen to find any more, you can email them to us (contact information is in the print book) and we can get them fixed asap!
The Fighter - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christopher G. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2016 10:04:50

I really, really like what this package offers! I prefer a fighter whose abilities are his own and not derived from some special weapon which can be taken away from him or her. I also enjoy the fact that this class can grow into certain paths, from the two-handed fighter to the dual-wielding specialist, or can even possess a variety of fighting styles. My only concerns are that I miss the racial bonuses like elves getting the Precise tag on their weapons and the fact that the character sheet doesn't look anything like a Dungeon World sheet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fighter - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates