DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival Setting Book
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2015 15:55:46
I like super heroes. I like reading all about the good and evil people that fill peoples imaginations. I think the variety of characters that are out there speaks volumes to the fun of comic books.

The one thing that is often overlooked in Supers RPG games is other settings. I have read many of them over the years but most of the time the are very simple write-ups that just touch on the world the writer envisions. This is not the case with this product. Guardian Universe: Revival Setting book is a detailed look at the history and 'present' time in Jay Libby's expansive comic book universe.

This book details the background and overall tone of the GU: Revival. It fills the reader in with information on the ins-and-outs of powerful organizations, nations, and even gods!

Although there are no statistics provided in this book the setting ideas make it well worth the $3.00 price tag. I fully believe that this can be mined for ideas for all sort of supers campaigns or even those that are running non-powered contemporary campaigns.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Guardian Universe: Revival Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(G-Core) Italiano Orrore: Survival Horror Vol. 1
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2015 20:10:35
This is a handy product that helps the GM get ready for a night of normal people facing horrible monstrosities. There are random-roll tables for everything from creating the general plot as well as what sort of things the party runs into along the way. There is a great deal of variety in each table allowing for plenty of reuse for further adventures.

If I could I would give this a 4.5 over a four. The only things keeping it from being higher are that there isn't a lot of background detail or art. I would like some info on the overall 'feel' this field of horror in general. The art part is less of a quibble although I always like a good amount of art in anything I buy...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Italiano Orrore: Survival Horror Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(G-Core) Stairs of the Immortal
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2015 16:02:26
When I found out the Mir. Libby was going to create a fantasy version of G-Core I was a bit put off due to the fact that I was in the progress of creating one of my own. That being said I will bandage my wounded pride and give this game a quick review...

As I mentioned previously, Stairs of the Immortal is a fantasy version of G-Core Prime. Rather than simply taking what already existed and slapping fantasy tropes onto a fantasy hack, Jay took the time to create a fully fleshed-out version that retains it's simple premise and is still playable.

The main difference between C-Core Prime and Stairs of the Immortal is the characters. Characters in Stairs are designed to follow a path from a weak but playable novice-type character up to the point of being a nigh-unstoppable avatar of power. It's a fun progression really, and although once you start on a path you are restricted to it, there are still enough choices that two characters following the same one can be different. The base mechanic for Stairs of the Immortal is like that of G-Core. Roll 1d10 and apply all modifiers with the highest result winning.

Character's progress differently in Stairs than in G-Core. As one progresses they gather experience points, these points are then spent to 'purchase' the next rank in Attributes and Special Focus (skills). It is a rather simple way to handle it really.

Overall I really enjoy Stairs of the Immortal. It is a fun vision of his already easy-to-use Supers game and could even be used as a supplement for it with a bit of work.

I would give Stairs a 5-star rating, but I would have liked to see more examples here and there, a more diverse equipment/weapons/armor list (I understand its a simple system, but in this case more is best) and a thicker bestiary. That all being said it is very well done. Honestly, I would give it a 4.5 if possible...

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Stairs of the Immortal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 14:01:28
If you love the Old MSHRPG system, you will love this system. Its very reminiscent of the system, though with quite a few changes. The Rank system seems to be a little more borrowed towards the modern d20 range. You still have ranks and numbers, but now they are referred by the number instead of the rank. The skill system was adjusted to work off a single d10 multiplied by 10 to give a base number, which you add your Rank too, with any skill focus shifts.

THE PROS:
IN-DEPTH ORIGIN & BACKGROUNDS: I do enjoy the expanded origins, and background system, and included skill focus system. Which brings elements which I always wanted to change about the old MSHRPG myself. Many of the origins, make sure you have some starting powers before you even have to roll to see how many powers you get. And lets you , create characters on vastly different levels from the very beginning.

HEROIC STATS! This system is very forgiving on poor stat rolls, and gives many options to make sure you have a decent set of scores. So in almost every instance, you will never be too sorry to get a low roll. This makes sure you have at least a majority of above average Stats.



THE CONS:
STILL CLUNKY with RESOURCES: Though not a fan of the "Resource" point system with the original version of MSHRPG, I can live with it. Being rather easy going.

STILL MISSING SOCIAL STATS: Never really liked Popularity works great when you need to use your fame to your situations, but never really accounted for personal magnetism. And I always thought the game lacked a "social" stat, and that remains the same in this version.

SKILL LIGHT: This game is very skill light, which can be nice (just like the original system). But I prefer a little depth in this area, to help me create my characters. There is almost no help what so ever with this, so you have to use your imagination when assigning your skill focuses.


Over all I gave this 4 stars, because I have always loved the MSHRPG. Though I personally would have hoped for a slightly more divergent from the usual Rank & No.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Brian, Thank you VERY much for your review! If you have any requests (other than the Social stat ;) ), please let us know! ~Jay Libby
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2014 22:10:17
Some of you may have read my 4 star review posted yesterday. I have removed it because in less than 24 hours Jay Libby has responded to my critique and revised the PDF. I'm told there are more generic spacecraft to come, as well as additional apedices with combat examples and additional origins. Some inquisitive folks vacillating about whether or not to put down $2.50 for this PDF might be asking: what's the difference between G-Core Prime and other FASERIP legacy games? G-Core Prime allows for customization without complexity with the combination of an origin and a hero type, basically an archetypal power source-origin story seed and a career. This has evolved from an application of Jay Libby's Fuzion Bloks system. For FASERIP fans out there, there's an Ultimate Powers Book feel to the Origins in Prime that I like. For more info, see the previous review by Christopher C. If you have no context for what FASERIP was, think rules lite style over substance comic book action. This book is still evolving, and if it reaches 100 purchases, should see print as a robust and versatile game that Jeff Grubb and David E Martin could be proud of.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
by Christopher C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2014 17:44:24
Today I come to you with a review of the new version of Jay Libby's super-hero themed game G-Core. This, the third version, is named G-Core PRIME and is easily the best version out there. Born from the days of the highly vaunted FASERIP system, G-Core has taken away the need for the confusing chart and simplified things down to using a single roll of a d10 to resolve things.

Jay has gone to great lengths to take the last edition of his game and expand upon it. Character creation has been re-worked extensively in such a way as to allow all manner of character types. The first step in Character Creation is choosing Origins, and this is more important, and fun, than ever. A characters Origin provides them with how they got their powers, and innate abilities that arise from that event, as well as special features that relate solely to that origin.

Instead of just a paper-doll character with a slew of numbers and nothing else you can build a rounded character with PRIME. Your Origin and other character options, including Hero Types (Basically occupations) and Special Focuses (skills) you are able to craft anything you could want. My favorite part of the new character generation is the inclusion of the Power Table. When using the characters Origin and the Power Table the Player is able to determine the overall 'level' of character they will have as well as how potent their abilities are.

There is a slew of powers available for characters to use, as it should be. And things such as Magic and Technology are handled well enough so as to not be cookie-cutter copies of other powers. But what I do like is that the G-Core system is so simple to use that crafting new powers, heck even new Origins, is a simple matter.

Jay did an excellent job at taking a good product and making it better. It plays, looks, and understands the genre better than ever, and at the great price of $2.50 for a 98 page, full-color book you can't go wrong!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Monsters Twilight 4
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/22/2013 12:03:54
A creepy settlement somewhere remote in the German Alps, a terrible influence emanating from a mysterious Institute, a church even the Vatican has abandoned... what more could you ask for in spooky settings?

The backstory is filled with classic elements of the evil Ones Before being awoken by Nazi experiments into the occult and corrupted villagers continuing the work even after the Allies closed the institute and the head researcher was executed... oh, and he's come back to resume his research.

The locals are well-described with plenty of detail to help you bring them to life, the institute itself is also detailed well. Evil monsters, cursed workers and patients at the institute, they are all there, complete with some gorgeous illustrations and full stat blocks.

Yet it is somewhat of a work in progress. You will have to devise your own reasons for the party to visit, and create your own events to lead them to investigate the institute and the horrors within. The tools are here, but you will have to use them to build this into a full scenario ready to run for your players. It feels almost half-complete, and the need for proof-reading (relying on your spell check is not enough!) contributes to this.

A good setting and backstory with some interesting inhabitants, the potential to make a good adventure - once you add some plot to what is provided.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Monsters Twilight 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
First let me thank you for the review!! This was masterfully worked!! This product is a smaller part of the UN Specials: Revival book, which is why it might seem incomplete. BUT the edits! I will check those. We have a software glitch and I thought the edits were saved. Gremlins I tell you!!!
Chronicle 00: Book 1
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2013 21:53:20
Acclaimed RPG author S John Ross asserts that cliche is the stock and trade of roleplaying games. I call this idea to the reader's attention because Chronicle 00 Book One, the latest endeavor from Jay Libby using the G-Core system, begs the question: does one really need another cyberpunk genre setting? The previous review correctly catalogs what this setting does well: corporate intrigue, sleek battle suits, mecha, cyborgs, etc, and it's certainly Jay's most layered setting yet. But, and it's a big "but" one can find all of this in other settings out there, like Interface Zero, for instance. Why add Book 00 to one's cart?

The answer is that at its core, the G-Core system that drives the setting is derived from the old Marvel Super Heroes (MSH) game system, now available freely to game designers and players in a pared-down form as 4C. The particular version of G-Core used in Chronicle 00 does some interesting things mechanically, having players choose multiple careers to determine expertise, etc, but that's not my point. My point is that because the game is probably about 90 to 95 percent backwards compatible with MSH, the setting can easily be ported into a campaign using it or a growing family of games, including ICONS and Bulletproof Blues.

As mentioned earlier, this is a rich setting with lots of subplots. The art, particularly the mecha art, is what one has come to expect from Jay Libby. One welcome addition to 00 is a good number of text boxes explaining various aspects of the rules.

I am pretty enthusiastic about this line because I've always wanted to play MSH cyberpunk, but this is not a five-star review. Though the game contains the most of the G-Core engine rules, G-Core Grit is mentioned without clearly explaining what it is, so the book does presuppose a knowledge of other G-Core products. The cyborg and the tech character Origins get a pool of points to boost stats, representing custom implants or tech. This makes sense for those familiar with standard G-Core, and there are brief examples in the text, but it could be confusing because non-custom implants and tech have listed prices later in the book with no mention of points.

This book is definitely a move in the right direction for Jay Libby, a one-man prolific powerhouse of direct to PDF indie RPGs. Recently the big companies here on rpgnow and in other venues have been releasing Beta versions of game systems so that a wider pool of players can work out the kinks before the Alpha releases. Jay has been doing this for the better part of twelve years. His oversight was not calling certain releases Beta. Now, he's got G-Core Deluxe, a solid system proven, if by nothing else in the eyes on an ambivalent reader, its sales numbers. Jay is now focusing on setting. Chronicle 00 Book 1 welcome evidence of that.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicle 00: Book 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicle 00: Book 1
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2013 12:18:29
I am here to present you with a review of a brand new game offering from Dilly Green Bean Games. You might recognize that company as being the same one that makes the G-Core Games that I am such a fan of. Please don't let my previous use of the game be an absolute to the way Chronicle 00: Book One is, while it has a similar system the game itself has been through an amazing deal of expansion and explanation.

Chronicle 00 takes place in a future where Mega-Corporations rule the world and their technological offerings have helped to create the perfect man. While this premise has been used before, it is Jay's presentation of said material that sets it apart. This is more than just a typical cyber-punk genre game.

Jay has spent tow years researching this genre in order to create his own vision of it. He has chosen to step outside the normal tropes and create a setting that is vibrant and easy to understand even by today's standards. The technology level of Chronicle: 00 is very high allowing for all manner of product from simple cybernetic upgrades, through fully self-aware Artificial Intelligence's.

There are comprehensive rules for creating your own cyborg characters as well as powerful suits of battle-armor that take the fighting to the next level. Even his use of power-armor is well done as it breaks it down to more than just bash your enemy until it's dead. There is a sense of actions and consequences to said actions even if the attack fails. There are even guidelines for repairing and recharging depleted mecha.

It is a fun read. I was able to take in and understand it all in a relatively short session. Anything that could be misunderstood is given an example to help clear it up. While the setting itself is quite bleak it has the glimmer of hope that only the characters can help bring to reality.

All in all I give this game a 5-star rating not because I am a fan of DGBG and their products, but because it is worthy of that rating. It is a work of patience and love that I can't help but enjoy.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Streets of Fire vol. 4
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2013 16:18:32
Streets of Fire 4 is the latest offering from DGBG. This book is another release in the Guardian Universe Revival story line and details several different vegetation-based creatures. As one reads the creatures presented here you get a good feel of the monstrous nature of many of the denizens of the Guardian Universe. Not everything is a costume-wearing super-human battling out in the streets. Some are just as vile but are able to hide among us.

Most of the creatures are quite deadly while one, the Shroom Invaders remind me of something from a video game or old anime film. (I think this was the whole idea). There is another creature that is scary due to its living conditions and abilities...there is just something about a powerful monster living in an outhouse that is disturbing..

Both the ideas and the writing are good, as expected from Jay Libby, and the creatures are well represented. The only thing I didn't like is that there wasn't any sort of primer about the overall impact on the setting. The book jumps right into the presentation of the NPC's and while it does give a lot of detail about them I would have like to have read more about the overall area. The Greek Guardians are mentioned a couple of times and it would have been cool to hear a bit more about them. This is of course a minor quibble since this is meant to be a book of adversaries and not a history book.

All in all it is a fun read and will give GM's something new to throw at their players for both G-Core and FASERIP games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) Streets of Fire vol. 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Sounds like we need to get the core book out. Don't forget that UN Specials: Revival works as a primer for these encounters.
(G-Core) C00B1: APD Files
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2013 16:44:18
While this nifty little product is technically an expansion for the upcoming series/setting created by Jay Libby it also acts as a great primer to the setting. It gives a bit of information about the APD, the current situation in the setting, and provides lots of options for all G-Core related games.

Jay has made some changes and tweaks to the G-Core Deluxe character generation to fit the new setting and this will all be explained in the next release I believe.

Very good reading and an interesting combination of ideas to make a new take on the genre. Well worth the read IMO

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) C00B1: APD Files
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UN Specials: Revival (G-Core)
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2013 19:06:47
The UN Specials: Revival book is the newest release from DGBG. It deals with a special organization dedicated to the discovery of the unknown and how to deal with it.

The Good: This book contains a lot of information for its size. There is a good amount of back-story that establishes what is going on with the organization, its leader, and several highly detailed backgrounds for important individuals. There is also a short but easy to use system for random character creation which is helpful for those that don't really know what they want or for those who need a character on-the-fly.

The Bad: The only a couple of minor nit-picks that I can think of . The first is the fact that there isn't' much detail about the actual tactics that the UN Specials use when battling their foes. It would be helpful to have some of information on this sort of thing, but the writer may already have that planned for another supplement. The second is there is a little bit of assumption that the reader already has some knowledge of the Guardian Universe but this is simple to work around.

All in all I think this is an excellent buy and is well worth the price for anyone who loves the supers genre as it can easily be 'ported to just about any setting.

And keep in mind, as always all G-Core products are usable with the FASERIP predecessor, which is always a good thing!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UN Specials: Revival (G-Core)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Chris, Thank you for the review! And in response to your review we have added a section that takes care of your specific needs! Enjoy! ~Jay Libby PS: at any time if you, the fans, have requests feel free to hit me up!
Monsters Twilight 3 (G-Core)
by christopher c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 15:44:45
I am fortunte enough to have most of the G-Core releases and this one is among my favorites. It does a good job of brining in a truly powerful beast and its offspring into the G-Core universe and give us just a taste of some of the evils that Plague the Guardian Universe.

The PDF contains information/write-ups on several monstrous creatures as well as Cthulu himself in all his evil-goodness. I reccomend this product to anyone that is a fan o the G-Core system or just a fan of monsters in general. Well worth the read.

Chris

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Twilight 3 (G-Core)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

G-Core DELUXE
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2012 22:02:40
This is the sleekest presentation of the G-Core rules yet. The most confusing aspect of the system--the saves-- has been completely redone. As Jay says, this isn't FASERIP, but if you're like me and you judge all supers RPG by that game, then you're likely to find something in G-Core Deluxe that you'll like. Some of the high points include the hardware and vehicle creation rules and the scaling system borrowed from Jay's TBS system. This is a beautifully done PDF, and you're not likely to find something comparable for the price [Note: for better or worse, as of this review the ICONS core book is no longer $1.99] in the Supers genre, at least not something as backwards compatible with FASERIP. Yes, I know about 4c. I've even written for it. It may be free, but it's buggy. G-Core has been tweaked and tested for years, and Jay isn't afraid to tweak it some more. Put it in your cart Super Hero fans!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
G-Core DELUXE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters' Twilight
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/29/2012 11:05:26
A compact collection of eight classic movie monsters for the G-Core system, to inject some B-movie fun into your adventures. Includes a one-page scenario to help introduce the monsters into your game. A good choice for anyone looking to bring some horror into their G-Core campaign.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters' Twilight <G-Core>
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates