DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Información de la editorial









Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Rocket Age Core Rulebook
por Kyle W. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/01/13 01:46:47
Rocket Age is a game that sort of came out of the blue for me; I don't tend to keep up on forthcoming games until they've released (I find that being unhyped about something I'm not familiar with makes me more objective), unless it's something that I've explicitly been waiting for like a game in a franchise I've loved previously. Rocket Age coming into my inbox out of the blue quickly became a bit of a pleasant surprise.

I've got a good respect for Cubicle 7; I've rarely been disappointed by them, and Rocket Age is no exception. It's top-notch quality, but with some cautions. It is, after all, heavily entrenched within the pulp genre, and pulp is not exactly the most popular genre these days, what with the common focus on realism and simulation. Of course, that's part of what makes it so incredible; it's a remarkably fun setting and a break from the normal, ignoring plausibility for the basic pursuit of fun, adventure, and the exotic.

The setting takes place in an alternate late 30's, with all the trappings you'd expect from the world powers at the time; for non-historians, players will be wedged in between over-the-top space versions of Nazi Germany, Fascist Italy, Imperialist Japan, the United States, the United Kingdom, and France, as well as all the minor powers that were at play during the same eras. Pulp does not equal happy, and that's immediately apparent-after all, space Nazis are just as hideous as their Earth-bound counterparts, especially when technologically inferior aliens are involved.

The game has a real focus on style and storytelling, which fits it well; the Vortex System was pretty familiar to me, but it works well here and really seems to fit the genre to a "T". It's a great example of mechanics and setting going well together, and I really have to applaud Cubicle 7 for that; I'm often really put off when the same system is brought out again and again, but it works in a way that leaves me with no legitimate gripes, so I really can't complain about that here. It's the perfect blend of relative simplicity and sufficient explanation and mechanic exposition that makes Rocket Age so perfect; you don't need to be a rocket scientist to play, which means that the game retains the fast and adventurous feel it needs to pull off to really capture its pulp inspirations, but it's got enough stuff that it doesn't wind up needing constant arbitration and houseruling to satisfy players who like everything to be governed by a rule.

As far as the setting goes, it's pretty expansive and well thought out; there's enough stuff here to last a good long while, and enough unexplored space to make up your own adventures without having to just resort to the things that have already been written. All-in-all. I like the balance of the known and the unknown, and it's a really immersive setting, made all the better by an adherence to art styles that, laced throughout the book, added a lot to the feel; it's black-and-white art, but that feels like a distinction that hardly matters when it's in context. The typesetting is pretty good; the fonts and page trimming have that perfect feel to them, though I do have to complain that there's some kerning errors or something going on that puts apostrophes or "+" signs in weird places in the text as opposed to where they're supposed to be-that may be on my end, but I'm thinking it's a font issue, and it's pretty inconsequential in the long run.

All-in-all, despite some slight issues with the typesetting, and the fact that while the setting is rich and engaging it is still very much a "pulp" setting, which may not appeal to everyone, I can whole-heartedly recommend Rocket Age, which provides a great sense of adventure and scale with game mechanics that complement its goals nicely.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Rocket Age Core Rulebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring: Loremaster's Screen and Lake-town Guide
por Alexander L. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/30/13 09:37:23
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/07/30/tabletop-review-the-one-
-ring-loremasters-screen-and-lake-town-guide/

This is a review of the PDF version of the Screen and Lake-Town source booklet from Cubicle 7 for their Tolkien RPG, The One Ring. I will add some comments about the actual physical, rather than the electronic, product at the end.

The One Ring product release schedule hasn’t lived up to expectations and, although a Loremaster’s’ Screen will always have been on it, I am guessing it appeared reasonably quickly to appease the fans of the system in their personal quest for a Middle-Earth “fix.” That said though, the production value on the PDF is high. The art matches that which can be found in the Core set and subsequent releases, and the writing is of a high standard.

First: The “main” part of this is, obviously, the screen. The “exterior” artwork shows Lake-Town itself in all its glory. It looks good and has a smallish “The One Ring” logo in a lower right corner on one of the four panels. On the Loremaster’s side there are a stack of tables, all individually referenced, which is a good idea. There is very little space for fluff and, other than the obligatory copyright notices, a single and very apt quote from Thorin Oakenshield : “There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something.” Now, obviously, you need to print this out and mount it to make proper use of it as a screen, and this is where it falls down a bit. The reality is that it makes a great set of pages containing charts but, unless you have something like the Savage Worlds System Screen, which is, in effect, a plastic folder you can put loose sheets in, it becomes a lot more problematic. One option is to mount it on cardboard but, simply put, it isn’t great like that.

Second : The Lake-Town Sourcebook. This consists of thirty-two pages and is full colour, like the core rules. The art is, as always, superb, and it also contains a full isometric map of the town at the middle of the book, supported with a small overhead view. Looking at the contents, the first chapter is obviously the “Introduction,” which summarizes the background in the form of an excerpt of a letter. The second chapter is strangely called “The Map of Lake-Town.” For myself, “Gazetter” would have fit better, but that said, it takes each area of the settlement and covers it adequately, while leaving enough for Loremaster’s to add in their own meat to make the town their own. Next comes “Things to do while in Lake-Town.” This is a section of three new fellowship phase actions unique to the environ, supplemented with two-thirds of a page concerning money and trade. Then there is “Dragontide,” a chapter covering a festival in honour of the death of Smaug. The ideas presented work quite well and could provide a few sessions play for an adventuring group. Moving on, there is “Secrets of the Long Marches,” which deals with the area immediately surrounding the town, including the flora and fauna, with a reasonable bestiary of the not-so-pleasant inhabitants. Following on from that, there is a new playable culture: “Men of the Lake,” which fits in superbly with the original character generation rules presented in the core rules. This is topped of by a proper “Index,” which is a great touch, and one missed off many such supplements by other companies. Oh, and in the end cover, there is a dedicated “Men of the Lake” blank Character Sheet.

So, to sum up: As a Screen, it really does fail to hit the mark, but as a PDF but for reference sheets and the actual source material, it is a winner, and that is what saves it overall. The price isn’t great all round but what you do get is worthwhile.

(Additional Comment : I have the actual physical product as well as the PDF, and the quality of the screen and Source book is excellent. This is one of the best quality screens I have seen, and matches Cubicle 7’s other such releases for Victoriana and Dr Who. )

Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring: Loremaster's Screen and Lake-town Guide
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - The Heart of the Wild
por Bryan B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/26/13 13:23:59
C7 continues to impress with this stunning region book detailing the area East of the Misty Mountains, including the Anduin Vales and Mirkwood. The book is beautiful; the artwork is gorgeous (like all of the art for The One Ring). The book is well organized, comprised of an Introduction, a section of the lands surrounding the river, a section on Mirkwood, and a section detailing new monsters to use in your campaign.

The sections on the River lands and the Forest are subdivided into smaller sections, each including details surrounding the history, folk, wildlife and notable personalities and places of these lands. These sections are also peppered with detailed LM maps, new Fellowship Phase Undertakings, variant Backgrounds, and new Cultural Blessings and Virtues. You'll also find dozens (nay, HUNDREDS) of adventure seeds as well as a detailed map and description of Dol Guldur.

The new monsters are great. They fit well with the source material and some even expand upon what has come before. My favorite are some of the named, unique creatures, including Bolg's son, Gorgol, and Nagrhaw, Chief of the Wargs. And, of course, the art is LOVELY!

I found the book to be a delight to read and only after the first few minutes my mind was being filled with many new and exciting adventure ideas. One of the things I enjoyed most about this book was how well much of the content from Tales from Wilderland was integrated into and expanded upon in Heart of the Wild (the abandoned town of Haycombe and "Elendil's Camp" for example). The writing style is consistent with the other TOR books, as is the presentation. A DETAILED index and an updated LM's map (split over two pages at the end of the book) round out the book.

This is an amazing sourcebook for an even more amazing RPG. Kudos to C7 and crew for continuing to surpass my expectations!

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - The Heart of the Wild
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Doctor Who - The First Doctor Sourcebook
por Michael R. J. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/23/13 23:23:04
Read my full review on my blog:
http://ofdiceandpenblog.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-first-d-
octor-sourcebook.html

This book is not what I expected. To be honest, however, I’m not entirely sure what I expected. I figured there would be information on the first Doctor and all his companions, probably also the key aliens and villains from that era. There would probably also be advice about playing during the first Doctor’s time along with some adventure ideas. Most of these things are present in The First Doctor Sourcebook, but they take up only a very small portion (maybe 30 pages or so total) of the book. Beyond these things, I don’t really know what I expected, but I certainly didn’t expect what the book delivers. The vast majority of this 160-page book is devoted to presenting each of the first Doctor’s television stories as adventures that people can play out in their Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space games.

There are a lot of different ways you can play Adventures in Time and Space. You can play as one of the Doctors and any of his companions. You can create unique companions to travel with the Doctor. Or you can create your own original Time Lord characters to use instead of the Doctor. Alternatively, you can play the game without a Time Lord at all and have an all-human group, perhaps a UNIT or Torchwood group, or a group of time agents from the 51st century. There are limitless possibilities, but one possibility I never once considered was playing out a television story as a game adventure. And honestly, after reading the book, I would still never consider it.

Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who - The First Doctor Sourcebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - The Heart of the Wild
por Alexander L. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/23/13 06:52:53
Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/07/23/tabletop-review-the-one-
-ring-the-heart-of-the-wild/


First off : I need to clarify that I am doing a review of the PDF version of the product rather than the physical copy. Now, products for The One Ring have been slower than anticipated so far, with Adventures Over The Edge Of The Wild (Main Rules), Tales From The Wilderland, and the combined Loremaster’s Screen/Lake Town combo preceding it. This makes The Heart of the Wild the fourth release.

For those that are not aware, The One Ring is the latest in a series of roleplaying games that have directly allowed players to explore Tolkien’s Middle-Earth. The previous games (Middle Earth Role Playing by Iron Crown Enterprises and Deciphers’ short lived Lord Of The Rings) each had their own take on the setting, and were met with some acclaim by fans of the books. Unfortunately, the edition released by Decipher never really got off the ground, but did show some promise. After the lapse of the license, Cubicle 7 picked up the reins and released the new rules set back in August 2011, with a tentative release schedule that was very ambitious considering the size of the company, and one that it couldn’t both maintain and keep the quality of. For myself though, I really would prefer one excellent release to several poorer ones.

So, how does this stack up and what is it all about ?

Well, The Heart of the Wild is a sourcebook rather than a campaign or series of adventures. It details the area of Middle-Earth known as Mirkwood and its immediate surrounding area in some considerable depth. It offers new options to players and introduces some fresh Fellowship Phase actions for the environ as well. It is intended as a companion to The Darkening of Mirkwood, a forthcoming Campaign, but is usable in its own right.

First impressions : Like all the other releases, The Heart of the Wild looks gorgeous. Cubicle 7 really excels with presentation and layout. Most other companies should look to them and use them as a benchmark for their own products. The background texture to the pages enhances rather than detracts from the content. The colours used are easy on the eyes, as is the font, and the art fits the setting perfectly. On PDF, it is truly a very attractive looking book, and I am sure the hardcopy with the high grade paper that Cubicle 7 uses for this product line will push the production standard up even higher.

Heading more in-depth now : The book consists of 128 pages, including covers, which is split into the obligatory Introduction, two gazetteers: The Lands of the River and The Greatest of the Forests; a bestiary entitled Monsters of the Wild and, finally, an Appendix. I will cover each of these separately.

The Introduction is just that. It consists of two pages and explains how to use the book. I must say, though, that the accompanying artwork below the text really does set the scene in itself. It depicts an Adventuring Party looking out over Mirkwood itself.

The two gazetteers break each larger area down into more sizable chunks and provide a general overview of the terrain, then go into more detail about the locale, giving information about the features, flora and fauna to be found, notable NPC’s that may be encountered as well as specific locations.

The first of the the two gazetteers, The Lands of the River, covers the area to the west of Mirkwood: The valley of the river Anduin. After the overview and history of the area, it is separated into eleven separate regions, each laid out in the format previously stated. The text is crisp and to the point, yet entertaining. You can certainly see Gareth Hanrahan’s style of writing coming to the fore. In addition to the standard content, there are several sidebars that present adventure ideas in the form of snippets of additional information, such as one entitled “Forgotten Treasures” and another called “A Campfire Tale”. As well as these, a “new” set of player options are presented, including the option to play Woodmen of Mountain Hall and Wild Hobbits. Add into this a nice map of Beorn’s Hall and more background on the Eagles and you begin to realize the ambitious scope of what is a 128 page book.

From the river, it moves into Mirkwood itself: The Greatest of Forests. This section consists of eight geographic regions within the borders of the the forest, again following the same layout as that found in the preceding chapter. The history section here is very well researched and has taken Tolkien’s works and notes for the area and expanded on it in such a way to keep the flavour, and more importantly, the essence of Mirkwood intact. Side bars here cover the Elves of Mirkwood, presenting more options for them but not overpowering them, making them a “must play” race (which other game companies are wont to do with a new release), more adventure ideas and further background. The sections that really jumped out concerned the Elf Realm, Rhosgobel and Dol Guldur. I do need to say here that, although the maps for Rhosgobel and Dol Guldur are excellent, I found the map for the Elf City to be less so, and not to the same standard of the rest of the illustrations.

Next comes the Monsters of the Wild. These are excellent and worthy additions to the bestiary. Each is well written up, statted and illustrated, with a personal favourite of mine being the Wood-Wights. I will say there are enough variations on spiders here to give even the most stout-hearted fly nightmares.

Finally The Appendix, which is basically the map from the core rules but with the locations mentioned in the gazetters added on there, making life a bit easier for the Loremaster.

So, there we have it. To sum up: This is a lovely product and a great aid for Loremasters in running a game in the Mirkwood area. Players will find it less useful and reading it will remove a lot of the mystery for them, making their travels here less fun. The only part I can find fault with is the aforementioned map of the Elf City but even that is not bad by any stretch. Well done to the authors, artists, layout people and Cubicle 7. A superb release and well worth the wait.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - The Heart of the Wild
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring™: Adventures over the Edge of the Wild 2011 Edition
por Thomas A. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/21/13 19:54:44
I've been playing role-playing games since 1978, so when I say The One Ring is the finest game, from a physical quality perspective, that I have ever owned, I think that's saying something. I've been poring over the documentation in preparation for a new campaign, and I haven't been so excited about a new project in many, many years.

I do believe they have caught the true feel of the author's work, as well as the undercurrents of philosophy he was communicating. I've been a fan of JRRT since my college days, and not to disparage any efforts that have come before, I believe this will do a great job of having the kind of campaign I've always enjoyed running.

Story-heavy, min-max light. The structure of the game discourages such roll-playing, and doesn't bother the players with maneuvering their miniatures in just the right spot, etc. I think the abstract combat system will be very popular with the players who are into the story, but not into wargame aspects.

I bought every book I could get my hands on before I checked RPGNow. Ouch. So I have also purchased some of the pdfs as well, because I like having physical books for some things, and the pdfs so I can have them available on my laptop. Now, if only I could get a third copy for my kindle!

Do invest your funds and time. I believe you will be richly rewarded.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring™: Adventures over the Edge of the Wild 2011 Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Doctor Who - Defending the Earth: The UNIT Sourcebook
por Michael R. J. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/15/13 22:47:43
Read my full review on my blog: http://ofdiceandpenblog.blogspot.ca/2013/07/defending-earth--
unit-sourcebook.html

With UNIT playing such a major role in the history of the television show, it only makes sense that any game based on Doctor Who should need to address and describe the organization so that it can be used in the game, too. This is where Defending the Earth: The UNIT Sourcebook, a supplement for Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space, comes in. The book gives an in-depth look at UNIT and how to use it in Doctor Who roleplaying games that feature UNIT in any way, from games completely about UNIT where there is no Time Lord character and all the PCs are members of, or affiliated with, UNIT to games where UNIT only appears on rare occasions, to everything in between. The book contains material, too, that is applicable beyond just UNIT, such as some of the new traits and gadgets, as well as the expanded firearm rules. Defending the Earth continues the trend of high-quality, well-thought-out books for the Adventures in Time and Space game.

Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who - Defending the Earth: The UNIT Sourcebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Doctor Who - The Time Traveller's Companion
por Michael R. J. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/02/13 23:23:28
Read my full review on my blog:
http://ofdiceandpenblog.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-time-tr-
avellers-companion.html

The Time Traveller’s Companion is a massive 240-page tome full of information about time travel, Time Lords, TARDISes, and more. Pretty much everything to do with time and its potential use in-game gets discussed in quite a lot of detail. Most of the book is descriptive detail, from a complete history of Gallifrey to temporal mechanics and space-time phenomena. Adventures in Time and Space is a rules-light game and this book maintains that, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t any new rules elements here. These are mostly in the form of new traits (particularly Time Lord and gadget traits) and new gadgets, but there are also detailed rules for piloting TARDISes, regeneration, and more. I’m actually extremely impressed by just how much detail there is in the book. It has definitely made the long wait worth it.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who - The Time Traveller's Companion
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring: Loremaster's Screen and Lake-town Guide
por Megan R. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/05/13 04:08:37
The cardstock screen is a robust heavy-duty one, a full four panels. The 'player side' has a beautiful painting of Lake-Town spreading across all four panels with a couple of marauding seagulls that look about ready to fly out around your ears! The 'loremaster side' is jam-packed with useful tables and vital page references to the core rules, with evidence of thought having gone in to the selection and arrangement of tables - should come in handy when running a game.

The sourcebook contains heaps of information about Lake-Town and should also prove useful should the characters visit there - which, as it's a major settlement (at least as far as Men are concerned) in the region of Middle Earth in which the game is initially set, should be quite a frequent event. Now you'll have the resources to cope with their visits.

Opening with an exerpt from a letter written by no less than Glóin son of Gróin which paints a vivid picture of a burgeoning township teeming with trade, it begins with a rundown of the various districts and what is to be found there. This is followed by some ideas of things to do when visiting, built around the Fellowship Phase concept from the rules. There's a note about money, relating the more abstract concept of Treasure as given in the core rules to actual coinage for those who prefer a more tangible wealth. A extensive discourse on the main annual festival, Dragontide, which includes a prestigious archery contest (for which the rules are given) follows: if any of your characters fancies his skill with the longbow, encourage them to participate at least once.

The centrefold of the book is devoted to a detailed image/plan of Lake-Town with many important features labelled: this is a visual treat as well as very informative for those who want to know their way around.

The next section looks at the flora and fauna of the surrounding marshland. Plants are described realistically, and many are worth collecting as they have in-game effects. Going botanising is one of the activities suggested for a Fellowship Phase spent here. The fauna, however, are hostile monsters in the main, and if the characters meet them they are likely to be in for a brawl. It might have been interesting to include a few mundane plants and animals, the ones of interest when preparing food perhaps, as this can make a place really come alive.

Finally, should you really be taken with the place, you are provided with the resources you need to create local characters, the Men of the Lake heroic culture. There's an example (who despite being a Man of the Lake is actually a lady, and very handy with her bow!) complete with description, illustration and character sheet; and there's a blank character sheet for anyone fancying a character from here.

Overall, this is a useful addition to knowledge of the area as well as a handy play-aid.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring: Loremaster's Screen and Lake-town Guide
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Laundry RPG
por Nearly e. D. P. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/31/13 17:50:27
What this game brings to the table: A unique contemporary setting that is more than just a British version of Delta Green, An interesting take on Technology based magic, and a dry humour that will tickle any fan of classic British comedy. The BRP system is still a little too Clunky for me, and I feel as if the game only used this so it could get some creditability as a Cthulhu Game.

Also Upon first reading I got a distinct feeling that if you haven't read the novels its based on then you won't really understand exactly how the setting should work, So I would recommend reading one of those if your having trouble getting your head around the mix of dark humour, Lovecraftian horror and IT jokes. That being said those are the only two bad things I have to say about the game.

The artwork is good enough and is where its needed (no full page splats of tentacles, just neat little boxes), and the general lay out of the rules and tables makes sense. Also with a VERY informative (In fact Id say required) pre-written adventure in the back of the book gives players (And the GM) a step by step how-to guide on how the unique cosmology of the game functions. I Give it 4/5

Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
The Laundry RPG
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Tales from Wilderland
por Megan R. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/24/13 05:41:20
This product consists of seven quite loosely linked adventures, that can be run singly or linked as a campaign. perhaps to kickstart your adventures and provide a framework around which your own can be hung. The introduction gives a clear overview of what is there, and shows how to fit them in to the fairly leisurely pace of adventuring assumed for The One Ring campaigns (with an option for speeding things up a little if preferred). Whilst adventures, of course, fall into the Adventuring Phase, some suggestions are made for interspersing Fellowship Phases and for what the characters might wish to do during them; of particular use should you be planning to build a campaign around these adventures.

The first four adventures are suitable for relatively inexperienced adventurers whilst the last three are best tackled by more seasoned ones. The adventures provide plenty of scope for exploration of the area, with the first involving Lake-Town and Mirkwood, the next four west of the forest and the last two in Dale and areas to the north of the Lonely Mountain. And of course, there are opportunities to meet Elves!

The adventures encapsulate the 'feel' of Middle-Earth well, with the themes of travel and of meeting the rich panoply of the inhabitants of the land embedded into them. The measured cadence of the game mechanics are also reflected in the very way the adventures are written: it's not just a plotline with the mechanics of this particular ruleset bolted on, they have been made integral to the way in which the adventures are presented.

By their nature, the adventures serve as a good introduction to the setting, giving characters a chance to explore and get to know the region as well as to complete discrete tasks and build relationships with the locals. Each adventure is well-structured, presenting opportunities for the characters to choose their own responses to each situation or event whilst providing support for the Lorekeeper (GM) in coping with the characters' actions. Except for one combat-oriented adventure, fights are quite infrequent but ferocious when they occur.

The high standard of presentation makes the book a delight to read, with apposite illustrations and clear maps in the style introduced in the core rulebooks. Plans for those places that warrant them are clear but fit in with the overall appearance of the book.

Overall it's a delightful introduction to adventuring in Middle Earth and well worth a look.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Tales from Wilderland
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space - Eleventh Doctor Edition Upgrade Pack
por Steve B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/10/13 16:19:09
super fun game. I am running adventures from this and everyone is having a really good time.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space - Eleventh Doctor Edition Upgrade Pack
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Laundry - License to Summon
por Alexander L. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/10/13 07:21:23
Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2013/05/09/tabletop-review-the-lau-
ndry-license-to-summon/

This book is a supplement for The Laundry, a role-playing game about a top secret British governmental organization that deals with the paranormal and the occult. Since this book is mainly a reference for magic, the review will not be as in-depth.

So uh…What do you want to cast?

The first section of the book deals with “computational demonology”, which is basically the department term for spell-casting. Sometimes spells are cast with old-fashioned chanting and ritual etc., but sometimes all you need is an app on your mobile device and a few accessories. This section is very thorough, going through all of these different types of magic and adding a few spells in each one. For instance, you have “entropy manipulation” which can be used to control physics like light and unstable particles; Gates for movement between dimensions; Prognostication and Scrying; and of course summoning. These are just a few examples of magic types described in this chapter. Each type of magic details how it is used, who has access to it, some spells, and mechanisms governing in-game use. In addition, there are sub-headings covering magic used in the traditional way, through macros, mass-produced spells, and just every way in which magic might end up in the mind and hands of a potential sorcerer.



The next section is really fun, it’s about gadgets. I got a distinct feeling of reading through some Paranoia manual or something with all the strange and humorous (yet well-rationalized) pieces of equipment available to Laundry agents. Right off the bat you have your Anti-Zombie Spray, which creates a line that zombies will not cross or which can be used to simply spray them in the face. You also have a “Miscalculator” which disrupts the use of magic nearby, since magic (and reality) is highly dependent on very precise mathematics. Want something really useful? You might need “Sans-Sans-Serif”, a font that has been engineered to be especially conducive to magical energies. Ahem, I quote: “…digital spells written in sans-sans-serif will be more powerful…” Occult departments in other nations may have items that are more traditional and less engineered. For instance, the Russians may have Rasputin’s Tea, and the Chinese a Fire Vampire Grenade. Yes, a Fire Vampire Grenade, which essentially summons a fire vampire on the spot where it lands. I don’t think I could make half of these up if I were given a room of highly imaginative children and a crate of Jolt.

Dreamers and Psychics

Bookending a chapter on grimoires are chapters on two entities existing in the world of The Laundry: “The Morpheo” and psychics. The Morpheo are a special division of the department that carries out missions in the Dreamlands(!). I think this is really awesome and only opens up the already crazy world of the game to the even crazier possibility of adventuring within that paranormal realm. The chapter on psychics is as you might expect, you’ve got ones that can read the future, kinetics, aura sensors, mind readers, and the like. A short chapter, but since a psychic is a pretty familiar idea to people, I am not surprised that it didn’t take pages to expound on it.



Some other sections talk about magical research and the dangers that those who use magic may be subject to. The first is called “Faustian Research” and, as the name may imply, is about making contact with anything from demons to Great Old Ones in an effort to gain some understanding or eldritch technology. Needless to say, consorting with the extra-dimensional is a tricky business. The second section on magical dangers discusses “Thaumic Resonance”, the idea that magic leaves a sort of residual radiation on those who are exposed to it, and if it builds up in your system it can really make some weird (and dangerous) stuff start to happen. One of the great things about this chapter is the scale of “Resonance Poisoning”; basically what happens to someone who has been exposed to magic in non-insubstantial amounts. It might start with animals acting strangely around you at level one, and at level five you might experience a gate opening when you get agitated.

An Adventure and then Thoughts

At the end of this book there is an adventure, “Case Goblin Willow”, that is about the fascinating topic of stealing ideas from the dead. Yet another wonderful moment of reading in this book when I pondered how insane yet totally rational the idea sounds in the context of this game world. Undead are no big deal where Laundry is concerned, they use zombies for filing. When someone disturbs the graveyard of one of the Laundry’s key burial sites containing the bodies of several powerful wizards, they know that a corpse or a soul can be contacted for department secrets and alarm bells go a-ringing.

Overall, this book expands on magic in many excellent ways: spells, explanations, magic items, magic organizations, and magic effects are all laid out thoroughly and in a most entertaining fashion. There are some typos about, either translated letters or in one case a footnote number that had not been put in superscript. Nothing major, and the layout and art are all top-notch. If you are a fan of The Laundry I would definitely recommend this book because it just fleshes out the magic in a really nice way. Beware though, the tone of this book leans toward the absurd, and while I found the humorous possibilities well worth considering when I imagined characters requisitioning some of the items, I could see where a more serious table would think a lot of the items were just fluff.

Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
The Laundry - License to Summon
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Laundry - The Mythos Dossiers
por Greville W. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/13/13 20:07:41
I bought a hard copy and had to get the PDF as well. It's a fantastic mix of player handouts, adventure seeds and insight into the history and bureaucracy of the Laundry.

There's so much in here I'd want to give to players during the game; photocopying would destroy the hard copy, so PDF is perfect.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The Laundry - The Mythos Dossiers
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Doctor Who - The First Doctor Sourcebook
por Alexander O. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/10/13 19:49:21
It has a lot of black & white pictures from the series which help add to the classic feel of this period of the series. Most of the material is more geared toward setting up the campaign feel, the campaign elements, and a handful of write-ups and rules-related material to help run the game using the DWAITAS system (easily translatable to other systems).

Chapter One really focuses on the overview and setting the tone for a First Doctor era or First Doctor-esque campaign. Really useful for planning key elements and themes of what is essentially a romp through various mini-settings and genres.

Chapters Two through Ten are a set of synopses plus game mechanics and character write-ups for twenty-eight First Doctor adventures, with pictures from the episodes. And it takes us from the beginning of the First Doctor's documented career to the end. We are introduced to well-known villains like the Daleks and the Cybermen as they first appeared, along with some less popular but important characters like WOTAN, a Timelord known as the Meddling Monk, and The Celestial Toymaker.

Recommendation

Buy this book if you're a compleatist fan of Doctor Who, or want to run a First Doctor campaign, or really want to do your own take on a new Timelord exploring his corners of the galaxy, out from under the shadow of the Doctor!

(for a slightly longer review, check http://armchairgamer.blogspot.com/2013/04/armchair-review-dw-
aitas-first-doctor.html)

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who - The First Doctor Sourcebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mostrando de 91 a 105 (de 259 críticas) Páginas de resultados: [<< Anterior]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates