DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Información de la editorial











Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
por Carol D. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/16/16 12:49:08

I really like this supplement, there's a ton of well thought out information in it and a different look at how to play in Middle Earth! I am looking forward to running my first campaign for family members in Middle Earth. I think this supplement is inspiring and very helpful in getting me started. The culture aspect for the races and classes is really interesting and ought to help with the roleplay of the characters. The journey feature adds a lot to the play, with the roll tables to help determine how your next foray into the forest will go, its a huge help to the Loremaster! It's going to be a fun ride! Thanks!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
por Jimmy P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/09/16 16:18:40

ADVENTURES IN MIDDLE-EARTH is a 5th edition (Dungeons and Dragons) adaptation of The One Ring.

((Art)) The art is very Tolkienesque. For those who already own The One Ring, you will see familiar artwork. The layout is very similar to the one found in The One Ring as well. Overall, the art and layout design is very appropriate for the setting. It has this old school feel that really fits here.

((Mechanics)) In ADVENTURES IN MIDDLE-EARTH, you use the standard Dungeons and Dragons rules. The book completely re-writes the classes to capture the right atmosphere for the setting. For example, you do not have fireball tossing wizards in this game. You do have Scholars that can learn a few tricks not unlike what Gandalf could pull. You could introduce spellcasting classes, but the mood and balance could be compromised.

You start making your character by choosing a ''race'' such as Rohirrim, Dunedain, Bree-folk, Hobbit, Dwarves or Elves. Then you choose a ''class''. Then you choose a ''background''. At every step, the choices you make are again very Tolkienesque and fits the source material.

You get very interesting ''Journey'' rules - an adaptation of one of the most interesting mechanic found in The One Ring. You also get the rules for downtime called the ''Fellowship Phase'' - another great ruleset from The One Ring.

((Conclusion) Adventures in Middle-Earth Player's Guide is a great book. Now, is it the book you are looking for?

I already own The One Ring, on which AIME is based. I love the art, the system and the atmosphere of The One Ring. If I was to run a Middle-Earth campaign, I would probably prefer to use The One Ring (look it up!). Having said that, I know The One Ring is not for everybody. It uses an abstract combat system (which I love) that can deter some players. The rolls use custom dice, which is also something a lot of people loathe. This is where this book comes in.

If your group likes Middle-Earth and the 5th edition ruleset, click that Add to Cart button ASAP. If your group already owns and likes The One Ring, then perhaps this pdf might gather virtual dust in your file folders. Even if you dislike Tolkien's work, well you can still find something useful in there, such as the journey or fellowship phase rules.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/08/16 13:13:31

I think AiME is a great product. Not only it inherited all the great art from The One Ring (John Howe, along with Jon Hodgson and Tomasz Jedruszek), but also created great new rules and system to bring the feeling of Middle-Earth to the 5th edition of D&D. Most of the presented abilities, feats and even skills have additional narrative focus. In my oppinion, it brings the narrative verve of 13th age to the 5th edition, with a dark tone. This dark tone comes from the corruption aspect of Tolkien universe, where characters fades into a bitter end.

I'll recommend this to anyone that either wants to run a Middle-Earth campaign but rather keep using the familiar rules or disliked the rules from The One Ring; or you want to add the additional classes and rules for Journeys, Corruption, Audiences and Fellowship Phase, which are all very interesting. I also wrote a short review in Portuguese on my blog.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who - Paternoster Investigations
por Megan R. [Crítico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/08/16 08:38:52

Although Doctor Who visited Victorian England many a time, it was after the 2005 're-boot' that recurrent visits to the same place (London) and time commenced, with the development of a group of characters who remained constant visit to visit: the Paternoster Gang. This book empowers adventures that utilise this background and characters.

So who are the Paternoster Gang anyway? Basically they are a rather unlikely not to say unusual bunch who have come together in late-Victorian London to undertake Doctor-like roles in defending their patch from alien encroachment. They are led by Madame Vastra, a Silurian warrior no less, who was roused by the excavation of early parts of the London Underground and manages to conceal what she is under Victorian formal dress. She is assisted by her maid, Jenny Flint, who is rather more than a maid although presents as such to conform to the morals of the time... they've fallen for one another, you see, something the Victorians could not understand or condone, did they but know. So they live as lovers behind closed doors, presenting a different face to the world at large. She also has a Sontaran butler, Strax. All three are bound together by a complex back story in which the Doctor is heavily involved.

It starts off with An Age of Marvels. This covers the late-Victorian era and the Doctor's previous adventures there. Sweeping social and technological change, mostly steam-powered, mark it as a distinctive and pivotal time in Earth's history. The British Empire sprawls across the globe and fog swirls through the streets of London engulfing rich and poor alike - and the divide is wide indeed, with a clearly-defined class structure. There's a broad sweep of history, what 'Victorian' actually means and what went on throughout her reign, to enable you to capture the feel of the times in your game without getting bogged down in historical detail. There are notes on real historical figures, from the Royal Family to artists, scientists, explorers, writers and inventors. Then the narrative steps back to view everything through the lens of the Doctor and aliens being real, and being there. Timelines mix real-world and the Doctor and more to create an alternate history, and there are synopses of all relevant Doctor Who adventures (although if you want more detail you are best off consulting the appropriate Doctor Who Sourcebook from the series published by Cubicle 7 Entertainment.

Next is The Paternoster Guide to London. It's a lot more than a sourcebook to London of the time, although it is that; there's more specific material from the game point of view such as places used by the Paternoster Gang and useful contacts... not to mention some choice villains. And it opens with a delightful picture of Strax in his butler clothes pouring a cup of tea in perfect style. There's lots of detail about places to go - some real and some not - and just reading through sparks ideas for adventure even before you get to the next chapter.

Then comes Victorian Adventurers. What about Companions who come from this time and place? Or natives of it who intend to remain there and deal with any alien menaces that come their way? Here you find out how to create them, and see how the likes of the Paternoster Gang shape up in game terms... or perhaps you'd like to create your own group in similar style with whom to run your own adventures. Or they might be friends and allies of the Paternoster Gang. The options are legion, and there's plenty of material to support whatever you and your group decide to do. Yes, you too can be an alien... and there are some delightfully steam-punk Victorian gadgets to play with as well.

The Paternoster Campaign provides a wealth of advice about devising adventures and, yes, whole campaigns in this particular setting. It has a particular emphasis on the investigative style of adventure, the sort of thing Madame Vastra herself gets up to, especially when the Doctor isn't there to interfere. Again, just dipping in to this chapter starts ideas spawning and wheels turning, whether you want to bring an existing group here, create Victorian adventures as in the previous chapter and run adventures for them, or even have them step forth into the rest of the space-time continuum... the options are many.

Finally, there's a complete adventure, A Study in Flax. It's a bit of a murder-mystery, the clues leading to time-travelling mischief and people doing bad things for good reasons. There's lots going on, and several familiar characters are involved, some of them of course being alien.

This book succeeds admirably in bringing late-Victorian London as viewed from the Doctor's side alive. It will enhance any visit your group might make, or maybe inspire an entire campaign set there... but whether you merely visit occasionally or set up shop there, now you know what it's really like!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who - Paternoster Investigations
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/29/16 18:51:33

Amazing book! One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan is a perfect expansion to One Ring! It adds the long awaited Rohirrim to the game (as well as the Dunlendings) and has rules for mounted combat, which is relatively straight forward. Rohan also adds so many new regions to the game that many players won't know what to do first! Saruman has almost a whole chapter dedicated to him, and players can even work for the big man (wizard) himself!

Besides working for Saruman, Fangorn is now an available region full of possibilities, such as getting an ent patron, clearing orcs from its depths, or exploring places even ents won't tread!

For anyone looking to enhance their One Ring game (or even play it closer to the time period of the War of the Ring) this book is a must buy! (also, Reviewer's note, IT HAS URUK-HAI AND THEY ARE AMAZING!)



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/29/16 18:34:39

One Ring RPG - Erebor is definitly worth every cent for both Loremasters and players alike! From the new cultures (though sadly more reskins of the Lonely Mountain dwarf with cool new toys) to the new enchanted items (Dwarf enchantments and how dwarves do it, Finally!) all the way into lots of famous npcs and new monsters (Like Murder lizards aka Dragons).

You also get maps and cool bits of info that you might not have known before (like the Toy fair of Dale!) and awesome rules to enhance your games of One Ring with the power of the Dwarves.

(I would also recommend getting Rivendell for the full working of Magic weapons and the like as sadly they didn't put it in here)

Definitly a 5/5



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
por Alan S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/29/16 13:06:31

This is hardly a comprehensive review, more of a first look. I have not played the game yet just looked at the system.

I am amazed how similar this is to Unisystem. It would be unbelievably easy to translate characters between the two games. At first this turned me off in a way and I really felt like Doctor Who the RPG was just fan service. Especially with the lets play the doctor and all his companions play style. I dug in a little deeper, and I did like using attributes to track damage instead of the more American hitpoint methodologies. Then I saw the innitiative. The innitiative is a beautiful beautiful thing. It along with the attribute damage (which I havent quite figgured out the nubmbers for yet but) allows you to put as much drama and mechanics into trying talking to and reasoning with an NPC or other character as most games put into combat alone. This is SO HUGE to help live up to Doctor Who levels of storytelling where often the most amazing thing that happens is a dialogue or a soliloquy that changes EVERYTHING. When you can put just as much interest fun and effot into ANYTHING in the game besides just fighting and literally use the same types of mechanics for ALL of it? Man that is something. I cant wait to try it out and see if it plays as well as it looks like it does. (I want to do a story of a Human collony caught in the midst of the Time War where the Doctor is elusive and mysterious and danger is everywhere and where Human compassion is fleeting yet Powerfull) Now to just find some players.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space Limited Edition Hardcover Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Tome of Corruption
por Michael D. S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/26/16 12:08:16

A Good Release, but not without Issues

I love the WarPG 2nd Edition source books. They are always written with a stunningly grounded and coherent tone that really helps the world and the setting come to life. This book is no exception, in that it does a wonderful job getting into the nitty gritty about Chaos in the Old World, and most importantly, delving into the details that a cursory understanding of the setting might overlook.

As an example, in discussing the cults of Chaos, the book talks about the worship of Slaanesh, and how or why one might fall under his sway. The average gamer, slightly familiar with the setting, will know Slaanesh as "the perverted God", who's all about drugs, sex, and rock and roll. The Tome of Corruption dismisses that theory, and details each of the Gods as a fleshed-out and understandable concept, which could serve as a believable point of worship for characters who don't have to be cartoon evil.

That's the best thing this book does. It discusses corruption, chaos, and the dark arts as something born out of real and believable events and concepts, and not as the cartoon enemies that they can easily be turned into. Chaos here is layered and 'realistic'. For that reason alone, I think that this book is a necessity for any GM running a campaign of WarPG. To have that understanding of Chaos will help you create motivated villains that feel even sympathetic, in some ways, rather than always having to rely on the evil cultist or beastman who just wants destruction for its own sake.

The book is a real variety show of material, from new careers, relics, plot hooks, sample cults, and even a mutation chart that requires you to roll a d1000...

My biggest complaint about this book is that like Chaos itself, it's almost incoherent in places. There were clearly deadlines looming here, because the book is rife with typos, repeated sentences, and even some formatting errors in some parts where paragraphs are switched around between subsections. Not enough to make the book unusable, but definitely noticeable enough to dock a point from it.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Tome of Corruption
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
por Henri O. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/22/16 18:48:11

It is a very consistent book, considering previous publications. It also presents a stunning art concept. Congratulations!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/22/16 14:59:12

Let me start by saying the top-down map of the rooms and levels of Erebor is absolutely breath-taking, and I want to see a HUGE map of it.

This book is absolutely beautifully laid out, and I am grateful that it's about more than Erebor, being about the Dale-lands and the surrounding regions, as well as the well-developed layout of Dale itself. I've not finished reading my PDF copy of it, yet, but it's already the jewel of my collection, thus far.

There are adventures to be developed from every paragraph; had I a century left on this Earth, it wouldn't be long enough to play everything I would want to develop for my players.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
por matthew p. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/15/16 17:53:42

This is a must have for any dwarf fans! I love this book. It keeps the feel of Tolkein well and makes dragons and dwarves even more interesting than 1 Ring already does.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
por Vance B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/09/16 02:20:47

Well written and decent artwork. Kudos to cubicle 7 for such a brilliant product.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Realms of Sorcery
por Michael D. S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/18/16 15:56:47

This is one of the best RPG resource-books I've ever picked up. I was already extremely well-versed in the lore of Warhammer Fantasy, so I didn't think I would get much out of this except for an expanded collection of spells and magic items.

In that regard, this expansion does not disappoint. It just about triples the amount of spells for each of the lores in the Core Rulebok, and adds several pages of new magic items.

What I loved the most about this book, however, was just how rich and interesting the flavour of magic came across. From short stories and quotations, everything comes alive. The essence and nature of magic in the Warhammer Fantasy world have never, to my knowledge, been so thoroughly detailed, complete with excellent notations and suggestions for how to incorporate different thematic elements into your game mechanically.

To top it all off, there are very complete descriptions of each of the colleges of magic, and interesting rules for runic magic that Dwarfs can forge.

The only thing this book does not cover are the traditions and spells of the high elves, but the book itself explains very convincingly why it wouldn't have been an appropriate inclusion.

Overall, I'd recommend this for any WarPG GM, whether his group has a spellcaster or not. It will help one understand how magic operates and interacts with the game setting, and allow one to better depict the whole host of magician allies or enemies any group is likely to encounter along the way.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Realms of Sorcery
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/03/16 14:21:07

Brilliant!

I love maps, and these are fantastic. I love seeing Middle Earth the way it's laid out by these authors. As well, the 39-page Journeys book has a great many Hazard possibilities, and that makes me very happy.

All-in-all, a very well-made product.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
por Jamie B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/27/16 15:26:58

Excellent addition to an already stunning line of game books; adds the much-desired Rohirrim (and the Dunlendings) as playable heroic cultures, includes Fangorn and the Ents. As with all TOR products, the art and graphic design is impeccable and the treatment of Tolkien's world is both reverent and delightful. I await each new TOR title with great anticpation and was anything but disappointed with this one.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
The One Ring - Horse-lords of Rohan
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mostrando de 91 a 105 (de 429 críticas) Páginas de resultados: [<< Anterior]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates