DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2009 00:50:35

I have always enjoyed this original campaign setting. The two authors have spent a lot of time and effort to not only make it a 'fun game' but to also incorporate a lot of historical material. Yes, it is still a fantasy game; but I think anyone who enjoys history, especially of the medieval era will enjoy this setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Feudal Characters: Noble
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2009 00:43:52

Having used this product in the game I am playing in; I can honestly say good job to the Alea Publishing Group and it's authors, Cameron and Josh. I agree that while not all the powers mesh 100% with each other or a real game, it's a well written and useful multiclass.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feudal Characters: Noble
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Oracle of Orcas
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2009 00:35:22

This is a great side quest. It's easily ran and played as part of a larger campaign or indeed as a one shot module. Kudos to Alea Publishing for bringing us this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Oracle of Orcas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Oracle of Orcas
by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2009 18:12:05

This is a great quiet start for 4ed d&d so have fun with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feudal Characters: Noble
by Derek S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2009 12:25:33

This is a good but not great way of doing a noble multi-class only class. By making noble a class you dabble in, any character class can be a noble. This is a great design goal but the implementation is unfortunately lacking. Weapon based characters are much better represented than implement based characters. The level of disparity in power a Noble Fighter would have over a Noble Cleric for instance is a bit jarring and detracts from what would otherwise be an excellent product. Also, the non-weapon powers don't have the implement keyword although adding that as a houserule is easy enough to do. The Paragon Path and the DM Noble templates are very good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Feudal Characters: Noble
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

APG Paper Figures: Military Orders ($1.00)
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2009 10:22:34

Absolutely bautiful cardstock Knights. Several different figures provided. Some are also provided with several copies of the same figure. They use the inverted T version which I personally prefer as I am able to glue the base to a 1" square foamcore board which works well with cardstock terrain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
APG Paper Figures: Military Orders ($1.00)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

APG Paper Figures: Gladiators ($1.00)
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2009 10:18:03

For the Price, these are absolutely beautiful card stock miniatures when printed out. There are also several figures provided with the set and several copies of each figure. The only dissappointment I had was that they are only provided in the 3 sided versions and I prefer the inverted T that I can glue to a foamcore board base.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
APG Paper Figures: Gladiators ($1.00)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

APG City Tiles
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 01:45:31

Printable dungeon tiles are almost a dime a dozen these days, but good urban and village tiles remain semi-scarce. Alea's City Tiles plugs a hole in the existing printable tiles market. This product, well worth the $4 price tag, offers an interesting and useful variety of village buildings, along with a grassy lawn (reproduce it as often as you'd like to make larger meadows) and four different street tiles. While I like this product a lot, I have to admit that although the various buildings' layouts differ, their "look and feel" doesn't. I didn't realize that fantasy/medieval freemen lived in premanufactured tract housing where all the walls, floors, tables, chairs, etc. looked exactly the same. :-)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
APG City Tiles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wandering Magister
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 00:01:38

This free preview of Alea's Feudal Lords campaign setting does a good job of sparking interest in the overall setting. Based on this preview, next time I consider a new 4e campaign, I will definitely give Feudal Lords a look.

The wandering magister paragon path presented here integrates tightly with the Feudal Lords storyline, but by "reskinning" the fluff a little, you can easily use the paragon path in a different setting. I love the way that Alea has incorporated the brand-new sorcerer mechanics into the paragon path, with innovative uses for wild magic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wandering Magister
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2009 23:17:30

I have been eagerly awaiting the Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia since I picked up the stand-alone Noble Multiclass last fall, and does it ever deliver! Both of the new Multiclass-Only classes are wonderful additions. The Noble is all about enforcing your authority over your enemy, while the Possessed's Daily Metamorphosis powers are unsettling and way cool. And that's before the Paragon Paths, Epic Destinies, Professions (which work like regional backgrounds) of every conceivable kind, and Feats. Oh, the feats. My favorite of the new feats are the Fatigue feats, which let you expend some of your energy to perform spectacular, well, feats. The Equipment chapter is hit or miss for me, but there's enough other things in here that it simply doesn't matter. Oh, and the simple system for how long it takes to find a buyer for magic items is a great addition.

One of my biggest complaints with the Adventurer's Guide is with Chapter Eight, the Commands. There are simply not enough of them, I must have more! They're one of the best innovations in the book, in my opinion, and while there are enough for proof of concept, there's just not enough of them to illustrate the potential depth of the mechanics. Similarly, Chapter Four, Feudal Obligations, provides an appealing first bite but then leaves me hanging, hungry for a fuller exploration of the idea that's just not provided in this product. Here's hoping that Alea Publishing Group gets the chance to revisit these great ideas in future products.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurer's Guide to Cthonia
by Jamie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2009 12:22:46

Wow...where to start? First off let me say DO NOT be disuaded by the price....there is a LOT of material here and if you just want the capsule review here it is. Buy it- 4 out of 5 stars- some really well done crunch and fluff with just some minor nagging execution issues. Now for those who are staying along for the ride, please keep reading.

The Guide to Cthonia features art that enhances the feeling of the setting which I'm going to label Birthright meets Points of Light. This is pseudo-medieval western european done well -with suspicious peasants who trust the 'miracles' of divinie magic but persecute the 'godless warlocks' who practice arcane magicks.

There are sections on incorporating the various classes and races into this rich world. Among these is the new noble class which I found IMMENSELY entertaining. There are new paragon paths and epic destinies which show a decent command of 4th edition structure. There are some minor balance/technical issues with these sections but that seems to be par for the course for 3rd party publishers and I don't count it too heavily against the Alea group.

There is a highly useful character background section and those who have been lamenting the lack of role-playing fodder in 4th edition will gobble this chapter up.

There are feats, an almanac, a new pantheon, and more! Like I said, I don't want to reveal all the tricks APG has up their sleeves but this is a very solid product and I for one WILL be buying the next in the series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Studio Companion: Dinosaurs
by Walter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2009 05:40:53

Most of these images already are freely available on the Wikipedia commons, where they were shared with the intention of being freely used by other users. While the authors cite the illustrator, is she being compensated for her work? They're great illustrations -- you'll rarely find better. But I have penalize the company for selling what already is being given away for free.

Here's the wikipedia link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Approved_dinosaur_images



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Studio Companion: Dinosaurs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The images are in the public domain and are free to use in any venture. While, like many PD images, these too one might find them elsewhere. The price reflects a number of valid points: we took the time to gather the images in one collection for those without the knowledge to access them; the original images are in .PNG form which we transferred each image into .JPG format, and finally, all of the original images were less than 30 .dpi. While this might prove fine for a web image, but if a customer wanted to print out the product or if a publisher wanted to make a print product with the original images, they would not suffice. We accomplished this by increase the .dpi to 300, the standard for print product images. While these points are moot for someone with the knowledge to accomplish this, in my experience I found that many small publishers do not have access to such knowledge or the time to devote to such endeavors when they can pay a small fee for this process. We do not make money on this, or any Studio Companion product, to justify the effort. But, since I have the means and the hope to rise the quality of other publishers' products to increase consumer confidence on the whole, then I find that we are justified. It is less than 20 cents per image the consumer is paying for this product for the service we provide distributing these images in a better publishing format.
Studio Companion: Mysterious Places
by Frank B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2009 13:12:23

Not what I was hoping for in terms of clarity and detail. These are somewhat Impressionistic pieces that look best at 25% or 50% scale. I can see some use for some of them, but some are just too blurry and Impressionistic for my taste. On the plus side, the colors are rich and evocative, and the sense of place and treatment of subject matter is pleasant.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Studio Companion: Mysterious Places
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval Landscapes: Peasant House
by Ulises T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2009 18:21:18

This is a fantastic little guide to the life of peasants in any medieval setting. I wish AGP would publish more books in this series; the work they did in this one is impeccable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Landscapes: Peasant House
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks - I hardly respond to reviews, but I do like to add that we will continue this line as soon as our Feudal Lords Adventurer's Guide is complete. We plan to explore every aspect of the medieval world. I know it is long overdue, but we have a very, very small staff. Thanks and continue to enjoy. Happy Gaming.
APG Paper Figures: Gladiators ($1.00)
by Dennis S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2009 00:44:36

Just downloaded this product. So far I'm impressed. Still waiting for construction information, but have been there done that before, so I should be able to survive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
APG Paper Figures: Gladiators ($1.00)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 137 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates