DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Unlimited Pirate Ship Names!
by Scott N. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2014 19:10:52

I have had the pleasure of being the GM for a "Space Pirates" game for some time now & it has happened on occasion that the PCs have taken an unexpected action or trip & I have found myself scrambling to find an appropriate name for a ship the "encountered" (robbed or fought, usually).

Naturally, when I saw this, I HAD to have it.

What you'll find when you download this is a simple & straight-forward quartet of lists, a "good" descriptor & theme as well as an "evil" descriptor & theme, allowing you to mix-&-match the words to create interesting ship titles. As I said, simple but unbelievably handy for that moment when a PC critically fails a roll that attracts an enemy & you have to figure out the name of the frigate that shows up & you have to do it NOW! Also, there is little reason to use the "good" & "evil" lists exclusively with the like-aligned counterpart. Mixing the descriptor & theme allows you that many more combinations that can sometimes be even more unique & interesting.

A handy list for GMs who run games with ships of any kind!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unlimited Pirate Ship Names!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Merchant Items - That Special Something
by Scott N. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2014 18:41:37

Like many of you, I have been a player in a fantasy campaign where the party wandered into a shop or went on the hunt for supplies & equipment & the role-playing went right out the window as we all delved into lists in books & paperwork. This "guide" (not really a chart) is a great chance to break out of or avoid that game stalling moment by helping the GM create determine a few unique items & persons to make sure each shop SEEMS like a new location, instead of being staffed by the same generic "shop keeper" in each town.

The lists - or maybe groups of charts is more accurate - are easy to read & simple to implement. They do an excellent job of helping the GM of a fantasy game answer that dreaded player question, asked when entering a shop: "Do I find anything interesting?" It generates pptentially interesting items with a little detail to help the GM get the creative ideas flowing & even gives you a way to determine a few details about the shopkeeper!

In short, this product is simple, handy & a bargain at this price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant Items - That Special Something
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wilderness Chart
by Scott N. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2014 13:26:51

Now THIS is pretty handy! As GMs running any sort of fantasy games have no doubt discovered, it can sometimes be difficult to make travel between civilized areas of the game word dramatic or exciting, without resorting to the typical "bandit ambush" or "random monster". This chart, does an excellent job of providing you with ways to "spice up" travel & add some non-combat challenges to your PC's journeys. The chart also provides opportunities for gain, that the players may encounter in their travels.

The chart is well organized & includes most any travel element that you could think of. Each table includes suggestions on how to use the table & has suggested modifiers in order to keep the results logical. No blizzards during the summer! Most every result you roll includes a description on the modifiers that result from that particular situation or challenge & the obstacles are written in a way that they can be adapted to most any terrain.

From merchants & entertainers to dangerous obstacles & hindering weather, this chart should help any fantasy GM make their players' journey as exciting as their destination!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wilderness Chart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Superhero Knockback Chart!
by Scott N. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2014 12:42:50

What a cool idea! A great chart for those superpowered slugfests that commonly pop-up in super hero games of all types. I can see the chart being used in other games as well ("Let's see what your 30' mech just stepped on" or "What did that kaiju you just defeated land on when it fell?" or "Uh, oh! Baby Cthulhu is throwing another temper-tantrum! What are those tentacles going to trash THIS time?").

The chart will definitely add extra drama to superstrong confrontations in your game, encourage the Bricks/Tanks in your super game to consider their actions a little more during street fights & help keep your players on the edge of their seat!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Superhero Knockback Chart!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

J. Scott Pittman's 2-Page RPG (The ATOMIC system - small but powerful!)
by Scott N. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2014 07:37:22

When I saw this listed, I was a little skeptical. Is it really possible to have a complete game in only two pages? I've seen a few simple games in the past (TWERPS comes to mind) but they have always seemed somewhat.... lacking. Still, it seemed promising so, I checked it out.

Upon downloading & opening the document, I was struck by the clean, simple layout. The rules are divided into sections which are clearly marked in a colored bar. The fact that it is only two pages means that this clean layout allows the GM & players to quickly locate a specific rule.

Not that you'll spend a lot of time having to research rules after the first few games. The entire system is simple enough that it is easy to learn & easy to remember. The best part: I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was, indeed, complete. In the context of the classic fantasy setting that it is designed for, it has all the bases covered!

The characters are streamlined to their basic elements & the character types ("Nature", as the game calls them) cover the basic character types found in most Fantasy role playing games. The attributes & skills are simple & make sense & I LOVE the magic system. I don't think I've ever seen anything like it. It's simple & allows you to add most any spell or power you want!

In summary, I believe you'll find the "2 Page Complete RPG" to be the perfect system for quick games or as an introduction to Role Playing Games for new players. The system will REALLY shine for experienced gamers who want to focus more on Roleplaying than on rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
J. Scott Pittman's 2-Page RPG (The ATOMIC system - small but powerful!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPICS roleplaying system
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2010 04:32:48

Epics is a cinema-style game, with some pretty extensive, yet basic rules to follow. The PDF / book does not have an easy-to-understand layout, which hurts it greatly, but for 5.00 dollars, it is not a bad deal.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS roleplaying system
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPICS roleplaying system
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/25/2009 12:53:55

The EPICS roleplaying system is an innovative, standalone, generic roleplaying system that can be used for any kind of story-based roleplaying. The system is intriguing. By starting only with the basics of the setting and character, you can jump right into play very quickly. You then have a pool of points that you use to customize your character on the fly. If you're in a crashing plane, for example, you could put some points into airplane piloting in order to steer the plane to safety. You have then established that your character is a pilot. As the game goes on, you then retroactively create your character.

If you need more points, there's very cool and intuitive way to achieve that. You establish that your character doesn't know something or is mistaken about something. In the crashing plane example, you could throw up your hands and cry, "Oh no, I don't know a thing about airplanes!" This would establish something about your character and give you bonus points that could be used in other situations.

However exciting it is to create your character in play, it seems that it would be of limited usefulness to most groups. Even those that like to modify their character a bit need to have some idea of what their character feels, thinks and is capable of when they go into a situation. Otherwise it's impossible to make meaningful decisions.

Nevertheless as a first pass at a challenging design goal - getting characters into play without fully locking down every possible character capability - EPICS is quite effective.

Reviewer tilt: +1 star for trying something completely new and crazy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS roleplaying system
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2005 00:00:00

A great idea the cover needs some work but that shouldn't stop you from checking this game out.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The mechanics are great, the writting is pretty well done. A great tool box of ideas.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The examples were a little over the top as was the example setting but to each their own.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS: The Director's Chair
by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2005 00:00:00

Great follow up to the game, gives you even more to work with.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS: The Director's Chair
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPICS roleplaying system
by Michael E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2004 00:00:00

Gah, my cat destroyed my first comment, so let me summarize what I said:

First, the system is innovative, clean, and it works.

Second, the only downside to the book is that the art seems to have been placed into the PDF at low resolution, making most of the pieces seem blurry and indistinct.

In conclusion: This is an excellent book. If you're looking to try out a new system that doesn't have a lot of the garbage that other systems have, or are even just curious about something new, go ahead and pick it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS roleplaying system
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPICS: The Director's Chair
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2004 00:00:00

A solid add-on to a neat little system.

The main drawback that I've found with EPICS in general is that the more complicated you make it, the more you take it away from the extremely simple core mechanic right at its base. And it's that simple, design-in-play mechanic that makes EPICS wonderful.

So some of the systems in the Directors Chair are not options that I would ever use. That said, they may provide some "training wheels" for those who are not nearly as comfortable or practiced with the ultra design-in-play aspect of EPICS.

An excellent add-on.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS: The Director's Chair
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EPICS roleplaying system
by Don F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2004 00:00:00

Hi,

I think this product is awesome! The whole idea of having characters revealed on the fly is really nice. I always believed that the best episodes of any TV show are when character background stuff is revealed. I also love the idea of character survivablity being based on how much the character makes the story more interesting, and how much detail is discovered about him. The more the audience learns about a character, and the more they now about him, the more chance he will not get killed of in the second episode. Just think, if only one of those red-shirts on the old star trek, had just managed to slip out a few cool things about his background, he might have not been turned to dust later that episode. Another example of this is Spike on buffy, because the actor who played Spike brought so much to what was supposed to be a small role, he ended up becoming much bigger.

One negative thing. I felt a little ripped off, on the second product EPICS director, paying the same $5 for 15 pages, of what I felt should have been free errata.

Clockwork



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS roleplaying system
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks to you for your great review of EPICS! The price for The Director's Chair has been reduced for a limited time to $1 - for more about The Director's Chair booklet for EPICS, please see the other products listing for Dragonslayer Games.
EPICS: The Director's Chair
by Don F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2004 00:00:00

Read my review of EPICS, I loved it and gave it a two thumbs up. However I cannot do that for this product. I think the slim 15 pages, is full of stuff that feels like an errata and rules clarifications that should have been free, or much cheaper. I paid $5 for the 53 page rule book, and then had to pay the same amount ($5) for these 15 pages. I did so because the first rules where so great. I did find the things in this supplement helpful and interesting, and I would suggest to the author to reduce it to $1.

Just my 2 cents. I think this author has a great product in EPICS to share with the community, and I look forward to his other ventures. I just hope he changes his policy on things like this product.

Clockwork



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
EPICS: The Director's Chair
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I would like to thank you for the effort you placed in reviewing this product. However, I would like to say that out of the 15 pages of this new EPICS booklet, only the first 1/2 of the first page lists rule corrections, and about three pages contain detailed discussions on time and skills in the game system. The rest of the book is brand new material for the game. I have seen a lot less material from a very popular rpg company for a lot more money... Although 15 pages may not seem like a lot of information, I feel that the book's material adds entire new dimensions to the EPICS game. Unlike many rpg books, I did not want to "stuff" the product - I allowed the book to say what I wanted it to say, nothing more or less. I did consider the advice of this customer and priced the booklet at $1 for an undecided time frame, as I do feel that everyone who purchased the EPICS system should enjoy this new material.
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates