DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 09:59:14

I absolutely love Through the Breach! The world of Malifaux is a fantastic setting for an RPG and this system really makes it shine. I'be been playing RPGs for a few years now but this was the first system that really made me want to try giving GMing a shot. As a novice GM, or in this case Fatemaster, I can safely say that the rules were very easy to not only learn but teach to the rest of my group. Mechanically the game performs quite well its simplicity of flipping a card and adding one or two numbers. If you can add to twenty that generally covers all the math you'll need to worry about. Even in its simplicity though, Through the Breach offers a wide array of options for character growth for players to excel in whatever areas they wish.

With that in mind, I could still only give the 2.0 update a four out of five. While it gives the original Pursuits (classes) a much needed update to be inline, both mechanically and in terms of the layout, with the expansion books as well as an amazing background for the setting that the first player's guide was missing, the rest of the book is mostly minor rule changes and clarifcations. Adding in the fact that the PDF is $40 makes it a very bitter pill to swallow just to keep up to date.

If this is your first time looking into getting started with Through the Breach, this is definitely the book for you. It's a great quality book and the system won't disappoint. If you've already got the original books I can't recommend it as definitevely but I still feel it's worthwhile purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by Cambria W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 09:49:29

For a couple years now I've been lugging every single physical book I had for the TTB/Malifaux universe to events. Now, I think I can make do with this.

The new core rulebook clarifies, simplifies, and better organizes the information players need to know. In addition, the expanded bestiary and (slightly dense, but still great) timeline of the history of Malifaux make for a lot more material for writing your own campaigns. All the better to have the PDF; with this much content, you'll want to be able to search it digitally for what you're looking for.

The one big drawback to this book is that the flavor so common to the original core and expansion books is somewhat lacking here. If you're looking to get a taste of what the world actually feels like, flip through the flavor stories and adventure hooks in the expansions, or listen to the Breachside Broadcast. It seems like Wyrd got down to brass tacks on this book, for better and for worse.

Tl;dr version; Good looking PDF (a digital version on a nice screen does justice to the gorgeous artwork), generally good update to the system. The cost felt high on purchase, but I ended up satisfied with the product I got.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 13:13:17

Whether your new to the system or a seasoned vet, this is a must-buy. For players, some major mechanical polish was applied to the core Pursuits, making them much more fun to play. For Fatemasters, a stack of new fluff and improved Bestiary will add to your library. I can't recommend this title enough for this system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 07:59:43

TTB 2e is more a consolidation and revision of the 1e Fated Almanac (players handbook) and Fatemasters Almanac (GMs handbook) rather than a true second edition.

There have been lots of small improvements throughout the book, but the core character creation and gameplay remains the same, meaning that all the 1e supplements remain compatible. In a few cases some of the sourcebook rules are now part of the core, but by and large 2e is actually a better fit for the sourcebooks than 1e, due to an update and rebalancing of the core pursuits (classes), talents and equipment to better compare with those in the sourcebooks.

The key things I liked about it were:

Much improved background and history section. While the in-charater version in the 1e books was nice, the 2e version is much more complete and fleshed out. As a bonus for fans of the world, it contains all the events from the Malifaux 2e expansion books to date, as well as the background/setup for The Other Side. It could be considered the definitive (as of this point in time) summary of the Malifaux story. Much improved and rebalanced pursuits. The pursuits in the 1e book really felt lacking in comparison to those published in the sourcebooks, and 2e brings them all up to par. Skill triggers from the Into the Steam expansion - special effects when a particular suit is flipped on a skill duel (check) - are now part of the core. Opponents have been buffed up a bit - one of the common complaints about 1e is that combat was too easy for PCs. Many other small improvements in content and presentation. The only thing I disliked:

The 1e Fated Almanac's equipment section was done in the style of a catalogue. I really miss that presentation in 2e. The PDF is fairly pricy, but given the size and content I feel it's good value for money (especially when you consider that it consolidates and replaces two $30 PDFs). If you liked the first edition of the game you will love this update, but if you didn't it probably won't change your mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malifaux 2E - RULES ONLY (Russian)
by Rustem K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2017 08:40:26

Хороший перевод, правда не хватает английских обозначений для тех, кто привык к английской версии.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malifaux 2E - RULES ONLY (Russian)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Til Death Do Us Part
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/28/2017 00:25:01

Brilliant. This is the one word to describe not only the premise for the module, but also the execution of the story. I picked this up to serve as a two-session story for my group, and it looks as though it may well turn into three. The Fated were confronted with the initial story hook and once some of the characters overcame their initial shock, resolving the case became motivator for them. It has provided plenty of opportunities for character development, good role-playing, and of course some action and adventure above and below Malifaux City. The NPCs are well-developed, most of the player questions are pre-answered by the authors, and the adversaries are interesting to portray and have a sense of purpose. I'd love to have the opportunity to run this as an intro adventure because it cements the reasons why this is a unique setting, and shows the PCs that what is 'normal' in Malifaux is anything but. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Til Death Do Us Part
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 23
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/28/2017 00:19:14

The Wyrd Chronicles are a great resource for those playing 'Through the Breach', not just 'Malifaux'. I've been reading these for the one-shots after my group discovered TtB and overall the quality of the one-shot modules has been great. 'Dawn on the Bayou' is a very interesting story that begins with the Fated asked to track down a missing person. What follows is a trek through dangerous terrain and a most unexpected reason behind the catalyst for the Fated's involvement. It is definitely a one-shot, and for my session I did bulk it out a little with a few more encounters and the reason for the Fated to be in the area. Even with three additional encounters (I don't mean 'combat' when I say encounter, either) we finished the module in three hours. Given that I now own 'Into the Bayou', I'd be using some of the content to round the module out if I were to run it again. However, this was a very enjoyable story that challenged the Fated to act in quite different ways to regular TtB scenarios.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 23
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 21
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2017 21:49:28

I've mentioned in other reviews that the biggest draw card (pun not intended) for 'Chronicles' is that they feature a free module for 'Through the Breach' and this is the main article I'll review. 'Cold Front' was an easy sell for me, as it features an entire module set on a train. The module opens with the PCs invited aboard the first run of a brand new train for Malifaux City. There is plenty of opportunity for role-playing as they mingle at the station, becoming acquainted with the other passengers with whom they will share this journey, including the management of the railway. Obviously, this idyll will not last, and when disaster strikes the PCs must act quickly to discover the forces at work and possibily thwart them before the lives of everyone onboard are snuffed out. It was an evening well-spent, and the pace of the game was perfect to convey the sense of urgency and danger. I can highly recommend this publication, and have downloaded many of them to select modules for future sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 21
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 19
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2017 21:31:31

I've been picking up these ezines after running 'Through the Breach' for a short while. Each one of the 'Wyrd Chronicles' that I have downloaded has a free one-shot module - how could you possibly turn this down? The module for this title is 'The Whispering Affair' and Fate calls upon the PCs to visit an old friend in desperate need. A time-sensitive and personal problem is presented that will ask the PCs to hastily investigate a crime scene and follow the clues to their murderous conclusion. My group completed the story in one very long session (five and a half hours), but you can easily either trim down the scenes, or flesh them out further, depending on your needs. The module also provides hooks for further contact with the NPCs; this has certainly been the case in my game where one of the PCs has taken an NPC 'under their wing' and explored some very good role-playing opportunities. To be honest, I would have paid for a module like this, so having it as part of the free publication is simply brilliant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 19
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - The Ferryman
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2017 21:02:26

My group finished playing 'The Ferryman' last night and a good time was had by all. The game is a mix of investigative murder mystery mixed with the hunt for a villain than might not even exist - except in urban legend. It was very easy to personalise for our campaign and insert NPCs with which the player characters were already familiar. Adding extra scenes (to further some of the Fates) was likewise easily accomplished. Overall, it provided a relatively smooth, customisable story that took us four nights to complete. The only forewarning a Fate Master needs is to consider the set up for the mystery. It is very easy for the characters to become fixated on one aspect of the mystery, and completely ignore what is essentially the main plot. Be prepared to steer them 'back on track' as needed, but forewarned is fore-armed in this case. The adversaries were all appropriately scaled (my group has four one-shot adventures as experience) and provided suitable challenge. I will certainly mention the production values in closing. Wyrd has a great attention to detail and their books are simply wonderful from both an aesthetic and readability perspective. The layout supports the Fate Master to locate relevant sources of information and stats, whilst the art (most of it reused from the miniatures game) does not feel forced - the authors have clearly thought about the design, and the choice of images does show. I own many of Wyrd's books in print, and they are a pleasure to have on my shelf.
With the word of warning about preparedness, I have no issues in recommending this module to other Fate Masters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - The Ferryman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Malifaux - RULES ONLY Handbook - 2E
by Joshua S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2016 14:11:38

Exactly what it claims to be: Malifaux 2nd Edition rules. No complaints at all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malifaux - RULES ONLY Handbook - 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Child of Flame
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 19:44:36

It says challenging, and it delivers. If your group is a particularly casual, friendly sort, this may not be your mission. Failure is likely to result in a player (or three) getting killed, but there are plenty of ways to recover before that happens. Still, this is for late in a campaign. No pre-built characters helps further that. This mission focuses around an especially risky information-gathering sequence, and will almost certainly be followed with an intense combat encounter with Guild forces. Not for the faint of heart, in either the GM or the Players. I've never been one to think that the GM should be fighting the players, but if you want some competition, this adventure will do the job. The TN numbers are high; double-check your players' stats before feeding them to the witch hunters. Seriously, I hope your players aren't too attached to their characters. If the deck's not on their side, they may be overwhelmed by enemies. It's not a combat-only encounter, but there will be gunshots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Child of Flame
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Honor Among Thieves
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 19:37:15

Great adventure, well scanned and delivered. Note that this adventure is combat-light unless your players are feeling particularly feisty around guards. Best parts include 5 pre-built characters for your players. If nothing else, it gives an idea of what skills may prove useful as you prepare to GM. Also, this is a beginner's adventure; not so much because it has simple solutions, but simply due to the challenge ratings the players are expected to reach. It would be a simple matter of scaling up the numbers should your players' characters be too advanced. It's also very, very thorough. Many eventualities are covered, so that no matter what the players decide to do, the GM's never completely in the dark. While the story is about the Ten Thunders employing the players, this could be changed with relative ease if your campaign has/will have no ties to them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Honor Among Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Malifaux - RULES ONLY Handbook - 2E
by Rob F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 12:47:24

A really nice set of rules, it is so much more strategy than simple die roll combat. Malifaux may turn out to be my all time favorite minature game. The addition of story driven characters just makes it   more fun nand the dark environment adds a lot to the feeling of this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malifaux - RULES ONLY Handbook - 2E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 25
by Daniel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 14:49:57

Great!! Love this Magazine!!! Best one i read. Wyrd is 5 stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 25
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates