DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 26
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2018 19:44:33

Whilst the rest of the content in the eZine is always of high quality (I'm still amazed this is a free publication), the module 'The Forgotten' was the main reason for my download. This is probably one of the most complex and challenging modules to run out of any found in 'Wyrd Chronicles'. On the surface, it appears to be a simple investigation into a haunted house, but there is far more at stake. I'd start by suggesting that any potential Fate Master thinks carefully about their group and the themes in this module - it is not for everyone. It does call for some decisions that players might find deeply uncomfortable, and the main antogonist is an excellent example of the horror that lurks in Malifaux beyond the ken of humans.
That said, the module is a mystery first and foremost as the Fated try to find answers to claims of a haunted house, and a family that wants only peeaceful existence. The Fated need to draw on plenty of resources, but fortunately the module provides the Fate Master with the necessary tools to guide the investigation, and provide allies as needed. Aside from the warning about the potential for uncomfortable scenes, the story demonstrates a great grasp of what makes Malifaux a distinct setting. There is depth to the narrative, and the NPCs are well-developed, and provide plenty of role-playing opportunities. The resolution of the story will also lead to greater consequence for the Fated, should this be run as aprt of a campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 26
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 25
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2018 19:14:36

This review covers the module in eZine 25 'Rust and Ruin'. This is a fine accompaniment to the module 'The Whispering Affair', as both seem to be of similar ilk on face value. The focus of 'Rust and Ruin' is on the missing daughter of a Guild Sergeant, such a nice young lass who can't have possibly know anything untoward of the sinister side of Malifaux. It is up to the Fated to find news of the missing teenager, and bring her back safely to home. The investigative sections in the module are well-designed, and offer challenge not only in gathering the clues to her location and the circumstances, but there are some politically-motivated decisions to make too. The combat encounters will certainly challenge even the most well-organised group and can be scaled accordingly. Overall, it does provide an excellent view into the seedy underside of Malifaux, and the Fated are given some difficult choices to make at the conlcusion of proceedings. Highly recommended for an evenings' session, and it can easily spawn a multitude of further adventures if the Fate Master wants to expand any of the ideas or 'loose threads' at the end.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 25
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 24
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/12/2018 21:51:57

The module 'The Death of Truth' is the focus of the review. Many of the eZine modules tend toward a linear plot, with very straightforward story-lines. This is actually a strength of this series, as they provide flexibility for those groups with plenty of time, or can be run 'as is' with little preparation to fit into smaller timeslots. Also, the plots are highly transferable, and the authors are to be commended for the continuing series - and did I mention that this was in a free publication?

This module provides a lot more character choice than many of the other module sI have reviewed, although it does have enough 'Plan B' options in case players need a nudge, or ideas for their characters to pursue. In short, the module deals with an unlikely request from the Three Kingdoms that will require ingenuity, creativity, and (in part) some luck to pull off. It relies on the players seeking alternatives to violence (although there are a few scuffles ot be had along the way), and out-thinking the machinations of their opponents. It's also one of the rare modules where the characters get to accomplish something 'good' for someone else.

This would be a great module to introduce if you are looking for a change of pace, or a new challenge for your players. It rewards inventiveness and lateral thinking, so if that is appealing to your players, download a copy as soon as you can.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 24
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 22
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/12/2018 21:44:22

This issue features the module 'Owner of a Lonely Heart'; this will be focus of the review. As with any of the eZiine modules, this should take the Fated one session to finish. As such, the eZine modules are fantastic sources of adventure for demo sessions, gaming clubs, and even pick-up games.

'Owner of a Lonely Heart' is a Malifaux-themed love story, as the Fated attempt to reunite a smitten gentleman with his paramour. Along the way, the Fated meet a rival for the lady's affections, plenty of ne'er-to-do-wells wishing them harm, and some of the most gruesome murders the city has seen since last Thursday. So - love, battle, a race against rivals, and Things That Should Not Be - a perfect romantic interlude for your 'Through the Breach' chronicle.

The characters are well-written, and easy to portray. They have enough personality that they will provide for memorable encounters, and their clear motivations support character decision-making. The 'twist in the tale' that is provided gives a surprise, and a satisfactory conclusion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 22
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 20
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/12/2018 21:35:13

Whilst the contents of 'Wyrd Chronicles' is always interesting, I'll confine my review to the one section I actively used - the short adventure 'Good Faith'. It's a very straightforward, linear module that will take absolutely no more than one session - in fact, it may even serve as a fine introductory module to 'Through the Breach' as it contains many readily identifiable plot elements and locations that are easy to imagine(at least if you have seen more than one Western).

The job is simple - escort the eye-witness to a crime to the next town in time for his court hearing. Co-operative witness, good pay, clear directions - what could possibly go wrong? The plot progresses from the initial meeting with the Guild in a fairly predictable fashion, but this means there is plenty of leeway for the GM to add in wilderness encounters, extra hooks to future plots, and even allow established NPCs to stand in the role currently taken by others. The simplicity of the module is a strength as it offers a new GM a well-structured story, and has enough flexibility to be tailored and expanded by others. When combined with other source books, the location and encounters could easily be swapped out and the story kept intact. For example, transporting a witness from one side of the Quarantine Zone (using 'Uner Quarantine' for inspiration) would make for a harrowing evening.

Overall, the module is well worth a look.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 18
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2018 22:21:17

The main reason I download the ezine is for the Through the Breach adventures. I've been linking the adventures together for my current group, and they represent an easy, and quick way to prepare a session. In addition, there is enough flexibility in these adventures to customise elements to your home campaign, introduce recurring characters, and even write additional scenes so that the Fated potentially resolve a Step in that session. 'A Night at the Star' was a welcome change to a less action-driven session allowing our resident Performer (and aspiring Showgirl) to shine, in league with our good Doctor. Between the social encounters, and the subsequent surprise entertainment, there was plenty to do, and new contacts to impress. The investigative nature of the session resonated with all of the players, and the write-up of the adventure meant that (with a small amount of pre-session highlighting on my part) the salient points were easy-to-locate and the session ran smoothly.
Overall, the characters are well-presented, the variety introduced by the scenes keeps the story moving without being driven purely by fight-scenes, and the author provides a few ways to alter the adventure to further reinforce the idea that 'Bad Things Happen'. I took one of the alternate routes suggested, and added a sub-plot related to an ongoing story, and managed to easily find two sessions of material. The players thoroughly enjoyed the premise, and I'll be back for more issues of the ezine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 18
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 33
by Alter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2018 01:22:50

Nemesis is a good story! And I cannot wait for the Chrismas gift!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 33
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 09:59:14

I absolutely love Through the Breach! The world of Malifaux is a fantastic setting for an RPG and this system really makes it shine. I'be been playing RPGs for a few years now but this was the first system that really made me want to try giving GMing a shot. As a novice GM, or in this case Fatemaster, I can safely say that the rules were very easy to not only learn but teach to the rest of my group. Mechanically the game performs quite well its simplicity of flipping a card and adding one or two numbers. If you can add to twenty that generally covers all the math you'll need to worry about. Even in its simplicity though, Through the Breach offers a wide array of options for character growth for players to excel in whatever areas they wish.

With that in mind, I could still only give the 2.0 update a four out of five. While it gives the original Pursuits (classes) a much needed update to be inline, both mechanically and in terms of the layout, with the expansion books as well as an amazing background for the setting that the first player's guide was missing, the rest of the book is mostly minor rule changes and clarifcations. Adding in the fact that the PDF is $40 makes it a very bitter pill to swallow just to keep up to date.

If this is your first time looking into getting started with Through the Breach, this is definitely the book for you. It's a great quality book and the system won't disappoint. If you've already got the original books I can't recommend it as definitevely but I still feel it's worthwhile purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by Cambria W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 09:49:29

For a couple years now I've been lugging every single physical book I had for the TTB/Malifaux universe to events. Now, I think I can make do with this.

The new core rulebook clarifies, simplifies, and better organizes the information players need to know. In addition, the expanded bestiary and (slightly dense, but still great) timeline of the history of Malifaux make for a lot more material for writing your own campaigns. All the better to have the PDF; with this much content, you'll want to be able to search it digitally for what you're looking for.

The one big drawback to this book is that the flavor so common to the original core and expansion books is somewhat lacking here. If you're looking to get a taste of what the world actually feels like, flip through the flavor stories and adventure hooks in the expansions, or listen to the Breachside Broadcast. It seems like Wyrd got down to brass tacks on this book, for better and for worse.

Tl;dr version; Good looking PDF (a digital version on a nice screen does justice to the gorgeous artwork), generally good update to the system. The cost felt high on purchase, but I ended up satisfied with the product I got.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 13:13:17

Whether your new to the system or a seasoned vet, this is a must-buy. For players, some major mechanical polish was applied to the core Pursuits, making them much more fun to play. For Fatemasters, a stack of new fluff and improved Bestiary will add to your library. I can't recommend this title enough for this system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Core Rules
by Craig B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 07:59:43

TTB 2e is more a consolidation and revision of the 1e Fated Almanac (players handbook) and Fatemasters Almanac (GMs handbook) rather than a true second edition.

There have been lots of small improvements throughout the book, but the core character creation and gameplay remains the same, meaning that all the 1e supplements remain compatible. In a few cases some of the sourcebook rules are now part of the core, but by and large 2e is actually a better fit for the sourcebooks than 1e, due to an update and rebalancing of the core pursuits (classes), talents and equipment to better compare with those in the sourcebooks.

The key things I liked about it were:

Much improved background and history section. While the in-charater version in the 1e books was nice, the 2e version is much more complete and fleshed out. As a bonus for fans of the world, it contains all the events from the Malifaux 2e expansion books to date, as well as the background/setup for The Other Side. It could be considered the definitive (as of this point in time) summary of the Malifaux story. Much improved and rebalanced pursuits. The pursuits in the 1e book really felt lacking in comparison to those published in the sourcebooks, and 2e brings them all up to par. Skill triggers from the Into the Steam expansion - special effects when a particular suit is flipped on a skill duel (check) - are now part of the core. Opponents have been buffed up a bit - one of the common complaints about 1e is that combat was too easy for PCs. Many other small improvements in content and presentation. The only thing I disliked:

The 1e Fated Almanac's equipment section was done in the style of a catalogue. I really miss that presentation in 2e. The PDF is fairly pricy, but given the size and content I feel it's good value for money (especially when you consider that it consolidates and replaces two $30 PDFs). If you liked the first edition of the game you will love this update, but if you didn't it probably won't change your mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malifaux 2E - RULES ONLY (Russian)
by Rustem K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2017 08:40:26

Хороший перевод, правда не хватает английских обозначений для тех, кто привык к английской версии.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malifaux 2E - RULES ONLY (Russian)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Til Death Do Us Part
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/28/2017 00:25:01

Brilliant. This is the one word to describe not only the premise for the module, but also the execution of the story. I picked this up to serve as a two-session story for my group, and it looks as though it may well turn into three. The Fated were confronted with the initial story hook and once some of the characters overcame their initial shock, resolving the case became motivator for them. It has provided plenty of opportunities for character development, good role-playing, and of course some action and adventure above and below Malifaux City. The NPCs are well-developed, most of the player questions are pre-answered by the authors, and the adversaries are interesting to portray and have a sense of purpose. I'd love to have the opportunity to run this as an intro adventure because it cements the reasons why this is a unique setting, and shows the PCs that what is 'normal' in Malifaux is anything but. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Through the Breach RPG - Penny Dreadful One Shot - Til Death Do Us Part
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 23
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/28/2017 00:19:14

The Wyrd Chronicles are a great resource for those playing 'Through the Breach', not just 'Malifaux'. I've been reading these for the one-shots after my group discovered TtB and overall the quality of the one-shot modules has been great. 'Dawn on the Bayou' is a very interesting story that begins with the Fated asked to track down a missing person. What follows is a trek through dangerous terrain and a most unexpected reason behind the catalyst for the Fated's involvement. It is definitely a one-shot, and for my session I did bulk it out a little with a few more encounters and the reason for the Fated to be in the area. Even with three additional encounters (I don't mean 'combat' when I say encounter, either) we finished the module in three hours. Given that I now own 'Into the Bayou', I'd be using some of the content to round the module out if I were to run it again. However, this was a very enjoyable story that challenged the Fated to act in quite different ways to regular TtB scenarios.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 23
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 21
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2017 21:49:28

I've mentioned in other reviews that the biggest draw card (pun not intended) for 'Chronicles' is that they feature a free module for 'Through the Breach' and this is the main article I'll review. 'Cold Front' was an easy sell for me, as it features an entire module set on a train. The module opens with the PCs invited aboard the first run of a brand new train for Malifaux City. There is plenty of opportunity for role-playing as they mingle at the station, becoming acquainted with the other passengers with whom they will share this journey, including the management of the railway. Obviously, this idyll will not last, and when disaster strikes the PCs must act quickly to discover the forces at work and possibily thwart them before the lives of everyone onboard are snuffed out. It was an evening well-spent, and the pace of the game was perfect to convey the sense of urgency and danger. I can highly recommend this publication, and have downloaded many of them to select modules for future sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wyrd Chronicles - Ezine - Issue 21
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 56 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates