DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2015 11:29:56

The Planarch Codex is one of the most elegant designs I have seen. It embraces the rich character of the old Planescape and the implications of such a society. It embraces the freebooter; the freelance "troubleshooter" who would be desperate enough to wander across the planes. It explores culture and ethnicity in a thoughtful yet gamable fashion. It's a massive wealth of rich seeds and inspirations to make your games all that much more awesome. It's also free, which is another fantastic point in it's favour. I look forward to the next Planarch Codex.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Planarch Codex: Path of Ghosts
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2015 17:56:15

This is a very short, but well thought out set of house rules that I would happily implement in my current campaign. I am used to seeing house rules from kids that are not well thought out and often are just silly, but these are a pleasant addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planarch Codex: Path of Ghosts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
by Andre S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2015 14:06:50

An amazing toolkit for running Planescape-like adventures with Dungeon World. Until a while ago, my only nitpick was that there was no single-page version available - however, the author has recently filled that gap. Easy 5 stars!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Push: New Thinking About Roleplaying
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2015 19:44:08

Only read the first article and part of the second one thus far but just great material. Very mature thoughts on role-playing as opposed to roll-playing. Great job! I'm sorry it didn't go very far but it makes sense. The vast majority of RPGers just want to kick down a door, kill the monster within on a beautifully static preplanned map then take the treasure. After that..."Where is the next door?"

Unfortunately, there are still few, although more now than before, that value this type of information these days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Push: New Thinking About Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
by Jeffry C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2015 12:17:04

I want to like this product a lot, as it's a great Planescapesque hack of Dungeon World but the format is not easy to use. It's 2 pages a sheet which makes is harder to read on my tablet and impossible to print out as a booklet. Its price is pretty high too compared to other products which offer more flexibility. So while its not terrible the format and cost make me reluctant to give it a higher rating.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2013 12:15:50

A nicely compact gem for Dungeon World, designed to fold out in play into a full-fledged setting. Reminds me of one of those dinosaur-in-a-pill toys: there's not much to see if you're just reading through, but take the advice in these pages to heart and Dis will expand through play.

Two particular notes: Invisible Cities and the "In a Wicked Age" oracles are both tremendously helpful for seeding new parishes, and the Road Wardens provide a great way to keep deceased PCs in the game - while still representing Major Consequences.

More advice here - http://www.story-games.com/forums/discussion/18292/dwplanarch-codex-how-to-bring-dis-to-life/p1



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2013 10:07:08

I love that the book breaks out all the color of the many many parts of the city (this is basically Dungeon World: Planescape edition) from the mechanics. The sections are all based off parts of another book (that is free): http://collageandarchitecture.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Calvino_Invisible-Cities.pdf



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planarch Codex: Dark Heart of the Dreamer
by Konrad Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2013 18:08:21

My first grip with this product was that it is laid out in two pages per sheet. Which I find very inconvenient. On the layout front I would add to this the illegible font used for the three major headings and the random approach to page numbering. In this book page numbers seem to crop up at random intervals. Probably more then half the pages don't have one.

Also this is not a settings book. There is no more then the skeleton of a setting here. What there is instead is a poorly organized set of new custom moves for Dungeon World. Note there is no index of moves or any other attempt to make this a useful reference of new moves.

Also absent are any substantial examples of the new moves being applied in play. And really there is so much in terms of new rules here that an example was warranted.

You do get a map with some interesting locations drawn in, but these go mostly unmentioned in the text, and certainly don't get any kind of writeup. Heck even the one Key NPC in the whole book is not adequately described. We get names and powers but no real back story or personality.

All in all Dark Heart of the Dreamer does not compare well to other supplements for Dungeon World. Especially considering that some of the others are distributed free and this one costs 1/2 as much as the core rules of the system.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates