DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Wire-Fu
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2006 00:00:00

In my wife's words, "Ah, so, it's a game where your characters actually SUCCEED." Indeed, it is! Reminiscent of the venerable diceless "Theatrix", Wushu is a terriffic addition to any gamer's collection. Wildly malleable, it's ready to accept any genre you want. In fact, Wushu's Principle of Narrative Truth does more to support the genre than do most games, by rewarding in-genre actions and descriptions.


Mm-mm-good!<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: It's rad.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It could use some editing, spell-checking, etc; the layout is clean but uninspiring. A GM's section, giving suggestions on how to tame this wild beast, would be a terriffic addition. Lastly, if you speak Spanish, just pretend that the author means to say "hand-to-hand' and not "monky-to-monkey". <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
by Damian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2006 00:00:00

I'd recommend either this or Pulp-Fu to anyone who's intrigued about the Open rules, but needs a little more to help them kick the old RPG memes out of their head.


Helped me a great deal in understanding the basics and the spirit of Wushu, so I could tailor it to what I wanted. I'm planning to use it for a Feng Shui crossover - all that Secret War goodness, powered by Wushu!<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Lots of examples which really helped bring the mechanics alive. Brief and to the point, with few wasted words.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Very much focused on the original "Detail=action" idea that Open started with. Not enough non-combat examples to help showcase how broad the rules are, and how it can be applied as a general scene resolution mechanic. It's not just about combat!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
by Aaron M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2005 00:00:00

Some very interesting ideas inside. I didn't care for the rules, though, because it seems combat could easily become bogged down with descriptions of PC actions. I was hoping for something more streamlined.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Great ideas and well worth the price.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Rules need a little bit of tweaking.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2005 00:00:00

Another Wushu supplement that is highly enjoyable to read. Instead of giving us lots of tables for weapon stats this supplement provides descriptions of what to do with the weapons.
Wushu doesn't need any more rules, but examples of how to play, so this is the right way to go.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: a great read<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: bland formatting, missing page numbers.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pulp-Fu
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2005 00:00:00

As always with WUSHU products, the pdf is a great read and extremely enjoyale. Lots of text that creates the right athmosphere for the game.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: lots of highly enjoyable examples.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The formatting is pretty bland. Page numbers would have been helpful.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
by Ralf W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2005 00:00:00

Wushu is the ideal game for Matrix / Hong Kong Action / cinematic style role playing.
Wushu is full of good ideas, but at first I was a bit lost about how to apply the rules. Fortunately, there are three example for settings and several pages of examples from play. Especially the examples from play helped me to understand the game.
The only negative point is the formatting (not even page numbers!!!), so I gave it only 4 stars.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: - great ideas



  • great writing

  • the examples help a great deal to understand how Wushu is t be played

  • nice cover<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: - bland formatting

  • no page numbers<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Wushu Guide to Gun-Fu
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2005 00:00:00

a very munchausen(?)-esque game. The Basics seem to be the first ne to bu77 $h!^ their way into victory will mmost likley win, but then again that's the point.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Gun-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2005 00:00:00

a very munchausen(?)-esque game. The Basics seem to be the first ne to bu77 $h!^ their way into victory will mmost likley win, but then again that's the point.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Cut-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
by Josh B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2005 00:00:00

a very munchausen(?)-esque game. The Basics seem to be the first ne to bu77 $h!^ their way into victory will mmost likley win, but then again that's the point.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fringe
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2005 00:00:00

it s not really a wushu supplement and it could fit to any other system. with many advices and conspiracies. Yeah all characters in the fringe could be insane, but what if it was true and their trues goals are protect or open the eyes of anyone... In the end it will the GM who decide :).<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: - many conspiracies that you could mix up.



  • the fun to play the insanes in the Terry Gillian kind a way such as Brazil or Fisher King<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: - no stats, just many exemple of play.

  • once again, just one image from the french wushu edition.

  • hard to set for french audience<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fringe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Wushu Guide to Car-Fu
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2005 00:00:00

I utterly hate paying for PDFs. I'd much rather have a nice, bound, preferably hardcover, book. Electronic format just isn't the same. Sure, you can print 'em out, put 'em in a binder. But it's not like a real book.


Then I read Wushu Open, Dan's free introduction designed to get you hooked on this particular literary drug. Then I came here and snagged all the Wushu stuff.


Wushu's system, based around the Principal of Narrative Truth, is the best system I've seen for getting the players to feel like they are part of the story. It's also ridiculously fast and easy to learn.


Don't let the name fool you. You can do ANYTHING with this game. Wuxia? Of Course. Sci-Fi? Easy. Supers? Check. Angsty Monsters Biting People? Sure. Less Angsty Monsters Tearing Each Other To Shreds? Hell, yeah! Whatever story you want to tell, you can tell it with Wushu.


More specific comments about the individual Wushu works below.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Car-Fu is great. It's full of ideas for making use of Cars (or any vehicle, really) in your Wushu games. I've adapted these rules to my own game set in the Star Wars universe. Of the three Wushu 'Guides', this is my favorite.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Electrons are too small to read.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Car-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pulp-Fu
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2005 00:00:00

I utterly hate paying for PDFs. I'd much rather have a nice, bound, preferably hardcover, book. Electronic format just isn't the same. Sure, you can print 'em out, put 'em in a binder. But it's not like a real book.


Then I read Wushu Open, Dan's free introduction designed to get you hooked on this particular literary drug. Then I came here and snagged all the Wushu stuff.


Wushu's system, based around the Principal of Narrative Truth, is the best system I've seen for getting the players to feel like they are part of the story. It's also ridiculously fast and easy to learn.


Don't let the name fool you. You can do ANYTHING with this game. Wuxia? Of Course. Sci-Fi? Easy. Supers? Check. Angsty Monsters Biting People? Sure. Less Angsty Monsters Tearing Each Other To Shreds? Hell, yeah! Whatever story you want to tell, you can tell it with Wushu.


More specific comments about the individual Wushu works below.
<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Pulp-Fu does for Pulp Adventure what Wire-Fu did for flying swordsman. It proves the core Wushu Rules are very adaptable to other genres, and provides a good base to begin. I can easily see using this game as the core for my next Cliffhangers type game, but also for any hard-boiled style games.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Once again, I WISH there are a bound edition. I'd buy it all over again!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2005 00:00:00

I utterly hate paying for PDFs. I'd much rather have a nice, bound, preferably hardcover, book. Electronic format just isn't the same. Sure, you can print 'em out, put 'em in a binder. But it's not like a real book.


Then I read Wushu Open, Dan's free introduction designed to get you hooked on this particular literary drug. Then I came here and snagged all the Wushu stuff.


Wushu's system, based around the Principal of Narrative Truth, is the best system I've seen for getting the players to feel like they are part of the story. It's also ridiculously fast and easy to learn.


Don't let the name fool you. You can do ANYTHING with this game. Wuxia? Of Course. Sci-Fi? Easy. Supers? Check. Angsty Monsters Biting People? Sure. Less Angsty Monsters Tearing Each Other To Shreds? Hell, yeah! Whatever story you want to tell, you can tell it with Wushu.


More specific comments about the individual Wushu works below.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Wire-Fu covers exactly the sort of thing I like to have in my games. High-flying, ass-kicking, sword-clashing action. It has suggestions for the traditional Wuxia sequences that can easily work in your Matrix-type game, in your Jedi-Butt-Whomping adventures or in your superheroic antics.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Having to print it out myself!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2005 00:00:00

A useful addition to one's Wushu library, more so than the other adjuncts.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It is definitely worth buying above and beyond the basic Wushu set - it has nice ideas, some new rules, and some nice settings. And of course, it's not costly.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fringe
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2005 00:00:00

An interesting departure from the usual Wushu fare.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Plenty of source material on Fort-esque modern conspiracy and weirdness. An interesting idea of how to re-interpret the Wushu mechanic.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's somewhat patchy - doesn't really feel like a complete game. Not for everyone.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Fringe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates