DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Medieval Fantasy World Atlas - The Hidden Realms
by Alan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 09:13:57

Fantastic maps and gazatteer. I like system-free settings as I get so much inspiration from the names and places. Next thing I know I have a narrative and a campaign! The twelve maps will soon be printed, fastened together and decorating a wall in the game room.

I almost removed a star because the security on the document doesn't allow copying text. I like to run my campaigns on a local wiki and I was ready to turn the gazeteer into a tiddly wiki that I can jump through and around as I wish. Unfortunately, I cannot copy and paste from the document. In the end, it was not fair to drop a star from the excellent product because of something that doesn't affect everyone.

I understand the concern about pirating, but this is an unusual security level and seems unneeded.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Fantasy World Atlas - The Hidden Realms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval City Atlas - Fantasy Floorplans
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2016 10:39:00

By comparison to some of the other Dreamworlds products, I found this disappointingly routine. The map is certainly attractive enough, albeit at a scale far different to the typical form most would think of as a "floorplan". It also follows in virtually identical style, and not dissimilar layout, to the first great fantasy RPG city, Judges Guild's "City State of the Invincible Overlord" from 1976. However, the text descriptions here provide far less detail or imagination than that 40-year-old work. While the background notes are for the typical form of pseudo-medieval setting favoured by many fantasy RPGs still, there is too little evidence of the magic and fantasy such settings really need to me. However, a GM prepared to put in a LOT of work could doubtless make this city their own, and the map is certainly attractive enough to help in that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval City Atlas - Fantasy Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Tile Maps - Desert and Drylands Pack
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 16:52:23

A great addition to the Hex Tile Maps range, including some transitional hexes to the "normal" greenfield hexes in other packs. Perhaps a few other things might have been done in places - a dry wadi bed or two wouldn't have gone amiss, perhaps some variant dune shapes, and maybe even a hex showing what happens in the aftermath of a rare desert rainstorm, where the desert suddenly blooms with flowering plants. However, there's plenty to work with already, including a tented encampment, rocky hills, a variety of oases, a huge fortified castle, a smaller paved town, and several other structures, fortified and less so, in desert settings. There are even three tiles with expanses of blue water that could be used for desert coastlines, but very handily, they will also group together to form one roughly hex-sized lake or small inland sea spread across three hexes, including a tiny rocky island with a tower. A fine set overall.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Desert and Drylands Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Tile Maps - Sea and Coast Pack
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 16:32:06

This set seems a little lacking in inspiration compared to some of the others in the DreamWorlds Hex Tile Maps range. The eight blank sea tiles don't help this impression certainly, but there are few sea cliffs, and although noted on the cover as also suitable for lakes, the lakes would have to be vast, as the set won't accommodate anything less than multi-hex in size. It would surely have been easy enough to use some of the too many "blank ocean" hexes to set up a single-hex lake, or one spanning just two or three hexes, maybe even a ribbon lake, the archetypal Scottish loch. Options for fjords too are extremely limited. What is here is good, but with a little extra effort, the set could have given a rather broader range of possibilities overall.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Sea and Coast Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Tile Maps - Mountains and Hills Pack
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 16:19:22

The river options are a little limited in this set, and there are no snowy mountain peaks, glaciers, lakes, scree slopes or areas of moorland shown, and surprisingly few cliffs, which makes it a little restricted in its potential for recreating any but fairly minor mountain ranges. Overall, it's perhaps best to think of it more as a "Hills" extension pack, providing higher hills than those in the "Medieval Maps Countryside Hex Tiles" set, as opposed to one useful in visualising serious mountains. Even so, it does add more possibilities to the "Countryside" pack.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Mountains and Hills Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tombs and Tumuli - Fantasy Floorplans
by Alastair M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 16:05:51

The descriptive text notes accompanying these four tomb drawings are nicely atmospheric, although it's unclear if they're based on specific real-world examples, or are simply variants using actual examples as a basis. They're not strictly "floor plans" in the RPG sense, as there are no scales for the drawings, nor even overall sizes, let alone squares or hexes superimposed to help regulate movement, but they should provide inspiration for reuse in self-created RPG adventures with a little extra work by GMs. Plus they run the range from simple to large and quite complex, so have possibilities for various locations and plots.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tombs and Tumuli - Fantasy Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Small Medieval Castle - Fantasy Floorplans
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 08:16:59

I needed a small castle for a scene in a campaign with my seven year old son. It took ten minutes to read through the handful of sheets, and I really appreciated the detail in the drawings and the obvious thought/knowledge that went into the castle design. This is one of the few castles I've encountered in the game (since the 80's) that a) made any sense and b) seemed like a real castle. I'll add that the author's quite right in his estimation of how many men it would take to hold the fort; it took more than a mundane army of foot soldiers and archers to seize the thing back from some renegade elves.

As an accessory to game play, this piece did its thing perfectly: it lent itself to story-framing and tactical planning perfectly. After my son's gang of adventurers and a supporting armed force successfully stormed the castle, they found the hostages had been secured in the chapel but that something, perhaps smelling human meat, had dug up through the floor, slain/eaten the captives and stolen the fabled Orb of Plenty, which the hostage-takers had stolen. The story continues.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Small Medieval Castle - Fantasy Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bag End Floor Plans of a hobbit house
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 11:18:45

While it is nicely illustrated, (and free,) this map does not make for a plausible Halfling estate, much less the canonical Bag End by Tolkien. Rooms seem strung together almost at random. There are 7 scattered bedrooms, two kitchens right next to each other (and several doors down from the dining room) and no cloak room.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Bag End Floor Plans of a hobbit house
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your comments, Matt, I\'m glad you liked the illustrations. My little sketch was based entirely on the two opening paragraphs of the Hobbit, and fit that description pretty well, I think. The rooms are arranged as a medieval or historic house of some age might be; i.e. rambling, much altered and added to. There are no water closets or cloak rooms because these were not invented until the 19th century. Garderobes existed in medieval castles, of course, but they would not easily work in single storey underground dwellings. I also referenced the Iron Age houses at Chysauster in Cornwall, which I have visited and studied. Whilst not strictly hobbit houses such buildings could well have been the sort of ancient dwelling Tolkien had in mind when describing Bag End. There are similar semi-underground dwellings in the Orkney Isles, which I have not been lucky enough to visit. Tolkien mentions fires (which implies chimneys) and panelling. These both indicate a 16th or 17th century dwelling rather than a \'medieval\' one, so there are plenty of challenges in balancing the \'fantasy\' description in Tolkien\'s novel, with historic building styles and techniques. I enjoyed exploring these issues when drawing the plan, but certainly can\'t claim it is in any way an \'authoritive\' view - just a bit of fun! Regards, Cornelius
Hex Tile Maps - Village and Roads Pack
by Kurt G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2013 15:40:38

Looks nice, but not what I needed. I was looking for a layout for a 6 character party combat.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Village and Roads Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Tile Maps - Sea and Coast Pack
by William G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2013 23:24:16

Good Buy.

An interesting selection of tiles around the coastal theme. Lost of rocky shoreline and beaches, seaside villages, two one hex islands, an estuary with fortified manor. These gave some good options and you would be able to make several unique multi-hex islands from these. There are also a couple of river entrances.

I disliked the advertising of 36 tiles when it is in fact only 28 coastal tiles and 8 blank ocean tiles. The ocean tiles are simply water blue with no features. There is a page of four blank ocean tiles and the remainder are scattered over different pages. My recommendation is that either: (a) features are put onto several of the ocean tiles - such as sand bars, or reefs; perhaps even a sinkhole or wreck for something interesting? (b) group the page of four ocean only tiles together so that they all connect. This way one could make large multi-hex tiles quickly - to fill out large areas of ocean.

I have given this product 3 stars. If the generic ocean tiles are improved it would get 4.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Sea and Coast Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval Maps - Countryside Hex Tiles Pack
by William G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2013 01:44:46

Excellent.

75 tiles of which 1 is a blank green tile. The set is a very comprehensive collection of terrain, improved areas such as villages, farms, lonely towers, manors, isolated farms, bridges, roads, lonely cabins, and a couple of small castles and keeps with and without hamlets. There is a very good selection of village tiles which can combine to form an extensive community. There are a large number of forest tiles which I appreciated. Some have roads through, some have dwellings. There is a good amount of river tiles, some hills and plenty of roads.

The overall theme is definitely Normandy/England medieval, specifically the village and farm tiles which make good use of hedges.

Some highlights are a swampy lake with tribal village, a classic Italian fortified hill town, and a road passing through a hill gully dotted with caves.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Maps - Countryside Hex Tiles Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Tile Maps - Castles and Fortresses Pack
by William G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2013 01:18:50

20 different fortification tiles including: lonely tower, road gatehouse, star fort, concentric castles, keeps, fortified village & castle, hamlet surrounding a fortified compound, motte and bailey, and my favourites: two variations of a palisade hill fort with internal animal pens and round houses. All but two tiles have a road and several have rivers.

An excellent collection designed for fantasy and medieval but perfectly useable for ancient through to 17th century: the rectangular walled compound with a small farming community around it being an excellent example - it could equally be a cleric's temple complex or a Roman garrison fort.

I am using one of the hill forts as a Pawnee Village for my Deadlands meets Pathfinder game.

The product is well priced at 20 master tiles for around $2 at time of review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Tile Maps - Castles and Fortresses Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval City Atlas - Fantasy Floorplans
by Sandra W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2013 03:38:40

A superb product that is bound to be of great use to DM's everywhere. This is a fully realised map of a medieval style city wherein each and every building has been designated as to its purpose - I really like this aspect of the map, it takes a lot of hard work out of city design. Illustrations are in black and white throughout meaning printing it won't cost a fortune in ink!

Also included are notes on the socio-political/economic structure of the city (very much reminded me of historical Venice), random tables for determining a building's residents and an exhaustive list of potential street names that the DM can assign as s/he sees fit.

Without question this product is generic enough to be slotted into any campaign with a minimum of fuss, yet there is just enough background given to ensure that Gorglis has a "personality" on which you can build.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval City Atlas - Fantasy Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Medieval City Atlas - Fantasy Floorplans
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/16/2013 12:49:17

Conjuring up a typical mediaeval city layout, here's an entire township to explore. Whilst it is given a reasonable background should you wish to use it, the actual maps are left unlabelled - save for generic indications as to possible use for each building - so if preferred you can drop it somewhere suitable in an existing campaign world. It does need to be built around a river mouth, fairly flat with forests and fields beyond the city walls, otherwise it can go most anywhere.

The suggested name for the place is Gorglis and it is supposed to be quite a haven for thieves and other urban rogues. Cramped twisty streets, houses and businesses jumbled up together, and more open areas where the rich have their palaces, courtyards with wells or fountains and more set the scene for a teeming environment where both rogues and more honest entrepreneurs can thrive. Divided into 'quarters' - distinctive areas rather than actual geometric ones - there are shipyards and other nautical establishments near the sea and on the river banks as well as areas for rich and poor to dwell. Various temples are scattered throughout, as are a wide variety of businesses (although I'm a little concerned at the juxtaposition of an undertaker's shop and a butcher!). Livestock markets (complete with stockyards), even a menagerie and theatres... and a Doge's Palace for whoever's in charge.

If you are installing the entire city 'as is' there are several essays describing the governance, buildings, docks, trade and more so you can plonk the city down and run it with little effort. There are even lists of inhabitants (mostly described by trade rather than named) that you can use to detail who is around for your characters to meet on the streets or in their homes and places of work. As a bonus, there's a collection of street names which you can apply to the city streets, which have been left unnamed.

This is a comprehensive mediaeval-style city in copious detail that should prove a joy to visit or run urban adventures through the streets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tombs and Tumuli - Fantasy Floorplans
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2013 19:18:08

For a freebie, this is most excellent. Normally, I'd rate it a 4/5 if I had paid around a couple of bucks for it. But make it free? Nice.

Tombs and Tumuli is a product after my very own dark heart. Not only does this 8-page gem cover the portal tomb, the long barrow, a many chambered tumulus, and a large stone tomb, but it also provides a brief explanation. The tomb-plans are stark, black & white line drawings, giving a GM just enough to use in order to quickly plop it into their games-- whether it's for an evening's play, or a full campaign world.

I enjoy these sorts of illustrations, and I'm sure OSR and Old World WFRP types will, too, but your mileage may vary. I mean, come on, it's free, so you have nothing to lose.

I'll be sure to keep my eye on more products from DreamWorlds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tombs and Tumuli - Fantasy Floorplans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates