DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2018 00:57:01

These are excellent additions to my DW game! Just like it says, it steps away from some of the D&D baggage and gives, in my opinion, much better options than the stock wizard, cleric and paladin classes. No more spell lists. It gives many new and useful moves with thematic ways to limit, or extract a cost from, them.

The Mage is great because he wields great power with thematic and possibly catastrophic costs and limitations.

The Priest draws aid directly from her deity, the GM says how.

The Templar is a riot! With moves like "It's Not Them You Should Be Afraid Of" and "Who Told You To Stop" this class is part knight and part inquisitor! Heretics beware!

The Artificer, while not really a good fit for every campaign, should not be dismissed. I'm looking forward to playing one as a Battle Alchemist of sorts. Also, it allows for the introduction of a gnome into your story!

@ Matthew K. You'll probably never see this, but the tags are explained on the page with "The Arttificer's Gadgets" at the top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
by Thomas V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 19:12:21

I used this playbook to bring a new guy in media res for a game I'm running to introduce people to tabletop. It went so well that this is now my favorite class I've ever seen in any tabletop game ever.

It's mechanically clever and has tons of tension baked in with how many moves revolve around the guest star's death. It's also constantly hilarious just from how the moves work and the way a player will use a completely disposable character.

One of the strongest ways to introduce someone to a gaming group or tabletop games as a whole that I've seen yet. Absolutely stellar. Best dollar I've ever spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breakfast Cult
by Sean T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2017 12:38:26

Breakfast Cult is far and away my favorite RPG setting. It takes the solid base of FAE and just lavishes it with such incredible anime everything. Dangan Ronpa and Persona especially, but there's Haruhi and Death Note and all sorts in there. The setting of Occultar Academy is so beautifully realized and incredibly rich without stifling players abilities to add to the world. With 20 sample characters (that can double as player characters) and even more encounters that are all so incredibly characterized I could only ask for more of them.

I'd go on, but I think I'd rather say how in one session of Breakfast Cult, one of my players started rapping, and another told me it was the most genuinely scared they'd been playing an RPG. It's great, I can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breakfast Cult
by William P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2017 19:12:36

Do you enjoy video game franchises like Persona, or Danganronpa? To generic it up a bit, how about teenagers getting into trouble? Occult mysteries? Weird science? Techno magic-with-a-k? Good! Now put all those things into a blender and pouring out the deliciousness that is the Breakfast Cult RPG. Running on the Fate Accelerated engine, BC lets you tell the stories of teenagers with bizarre and poorly understood powers and then watch as they get in way over their heads. FAE is a very flexible system, and works well with Breakfast Cult as you can have characters ranging from occult wunderkind to semi-retired magical girls to Death Note simulacrums. The more inventive and weird you can make your characters, the better, and Fate Accelerated can back you up. The art is also wonderful, a manga-esque style that really helps with the Lovecraft/John Hughes love child tone that I feel is the game's sweet spot.

Even trimmed down from FATE's original form, Accelerated is a bit of a stumbling block for me as I always trip up on the bit where you need short, punchy phrases that work as a character's Aspects. Examples really, really help and some developers I think forget that we are all not as blessed as they when it comes to a descriptive and double-edged phrase for a character. Paul has come to the rescue of those me who struggle with such things with no less than twenty example characters who can do double duty as allies and antagonists or pregen PCs. Best of all, all twenty of them are great with example Aspects to inspire or reskin at your leisure but are just great examples of the type of characters to be found at home in the setting. I'd play them all. (Particularly hoops bamming enthusiast Addison Waite.)

If any of the things the game references appeals to you at all, I urge you to pick the book up. Even if you don't play it, it's a great read and worth your time and money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chet Reads Breakfast Cult
by Anna J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 12:29:02

This is actually both 1. really hilariously narrated and 2. extremely useful for learning the rules. FIVE STARS!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chet Reads Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2016 18:07:18

I've GM'd... overlorded? a couple of sessions of this so far and it's been just fantastic. I came from Dungeon World and I'm so glad I gave this try, because it takes the fantastic bits from that system, codifies some of it so I have a clearer idea about how to use it, and runs with it. Here's what I appreciate best:

  • Quick start, like all PbtA games: we had a fun and memorable 3 hour session, including character creation and world building.
  • Players liked the range of playbooks and unique, interesting, flavourful gear and move options.
  • Asking players to be the authority on their people is a great way to get me asking and building on questions, and the book makes it clear that input from the table is encouraged.
  • The book is pretty, compact, and the playbooks contain all you need to get going (I ended up buying the paperback and the PDF).
  • Guided scene-setting: downtime, journeys, challenges and showdowns mean I never have that moment of "what do we do next?" while everyone mills around. A quick discussion of what the Fellowship's next goal is and we move onto another scene.
  • The mechanics are very symmetric and play well when people think outside the box. The players can "finish" those pesky opponents in many different ways, only some of which have to involve swords.
  • When the Overlord or their Generals show up, it's seriously awe-inducing. I worried that having the Overlord be "just a character sheet" - giving away their weakness and stats - would reduce the mystery around them, but if anything it does the opposite, making them a constant and terrifying presence in the game.
  • Advantage, hope, and despair are great mechanics. Do something fictionally exciting? Advantage! Can't think of something? No worries, a companion, your Gear, or a buddy has your back. Help a buddy? Hope! And damage really starts to feel meaningful when the Harbinger has almost all their stats damaged and is in Despair from the magic they did and can hardly move to save themselves as the hunters close in...
  • Damaging stats is way more fun than chipping away at hit points.
  • Making an Overlord character makes me feel much more invested in and connected to the world and my evil minions, plus I get all the fun of throwing interesting random encounters at the party too.
  • The Overlord moves are great, just great. Can't wait to use "Team Rocket". Really I'm impressed by how many of the moves are just license to do something that's fictionally interesting that I hadn't thought of yet.

Here's the things I think would make this game even better:

  • I want a massive list of stats somewhere that I can browse through to slap onto challenges as appropriate. Or just expanded lists of challenges. The ones in the book are great and inventive, but I want more! Set Pieces are a great idea too and I look forward to seeing more of those.
  • Still not sure on the distinction between some of the moves. Am I just talking sense to someone or am I Finishing Them? Is this even a Challenge? Those moments where you can't figure out which hole the scene or action falls into leave me a little uncertain - but the fact that we have wandered into that territory without noticing suggests the roleplaying is going just fine.
  • I feel like the Overlord's master plans could have something more to them, but I'm not sure quite what it is. Maybe it's just that they're simplified compared to DW Fronts and I'm not yet used to them.

So basically I am a lazy GM and I love games that mean I do less work while still producing a fun story that challenges the players. This is one. It's great. Get it and you too can use your Orc's Varg-mounted trash cannon to blind pursuing enemies by launching clothing at them. Can't wait to see what other material comes out for this game - and of course it plays nicely with DW-esque stuff too, so I look forward to adapting beasties and items from there to further my nefarious schemes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breakfast Cult
by Rand B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2016 09:54:31

Breakfast Cult combines the high-school drama of The Breakfast Club with the cosmic horror of the Cthulhu mythos and also with the cosmic horror of Japanese animation. The result is a fun time for the whole family!

Players take on the roles of students at Occultar Academy, a school in the far future where prodigies are taught just enough occult science to advance human knowledge without getting into trouble. Then, they get in trouble anyway.

If you like the idea of being a really good sorceress who would like to be a really good rapper, or a sugar-dependent high school superdetective, this game is for you. If you dislike people with a tentacle instead of a face, people with really big adorable eyes, or fun, this game may not be for you.

Consult your doctor before playing Breakfast Cult. If you hear voices, stop reading Breakfast Cult. Unless they are the voices of your gaming group. In that case, you should help them make a character. The results can only be good for your SAN score!*

  • breakfast cult does not contain sanity mechanics


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
by A. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2016 18:01:10

A wonderful system and a fabulous book. I particularly love how the GM gets a playbook, and I like how this system can easily go from a wacky/zany adventure to a heartrending and serious one. There's a lot of variety here. 5/5 stars.

Question, though: I would like to GM this game on a forum, but I am the only one who owns the core rulebook. In the rulebook, there is a link to a mediafire to download the playbooks. Is it acceptable for me to share this with a potential gaming group? (Just the playbooks, nothing else)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Yes, you may share the playbooks freely with people you want to play the game with. You can even share the entire book PDF with them if you\'d like! Just don\'t upload everything for the general internet to download freely and you\'re golden. Thanks for the review!
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Nikola T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 12:20:52

Bought this for one of my players, she is level 3 now and it's been good fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Law's Out - the Auction-Based Cowboy Adventure Game
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 16:58:48

Law's Out is fantastically designed, fast paced, and fun. The game is only 21 pages (and a large chunk of that is character Roles), but with those 21 pages, author Jacob Randolph delivers probably the best Western game I have ever played.

The game plays out in about the time it would take to watch your favorite cowboy movie, plus explaining the rules, which shouldn't take more than about 10 minutes. The strength of the gameplay is how syncretic the design is - everything feeds into the cowboy fiction that the game seeks to emulate. The game is strongly structured around scenes, with clear parameters as to the tone of each scene, chosen by the triggering player. Once in a scene, players battle for narrative control over what happens in the scene, bidding their characters resources and life over narrative power. The bidding mechanic calls to mind the genre, where characters are prone to gambling and taking long odds, and also ensures that no matter what happens in a scene, there will be dangerous and far-reaching consequences, which again, fits the genre.

If, like me, you're starved for a Western-based rpg and like your games on the narrative side, I can't see you not having fun with Law's Out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Law's Out - the Auction-Based Cowboy Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Raul F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2015 07:13:47

Brings a lot of fun to the table, both on player and GM side.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
by Raul F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2015 07:12:28

Opens up a new way of thinking character classes in Dungeon World.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2015 11:58:18

This Witch for Dungeon World is a 3 page playbook with descriptions on the moves of a witch character. In general this book covers how to play a "Weather Witch", a "Wicked Witch" or a "Winter Witch". I approve Jacob Randolph's penchant for alliteration. Everything you would expect to see in a DW character is here. There are Bonds, Starting Moves, Gear and Advanced Moves. In this version the details are printed right on the sheet. This is rather convenient and saves some space. If it were reformatted to look like the layout in Dungeon World I'd imagine it would be more like 6 to 8 pages. So you get a lot of text, but not a lot of pages. This playbook is under $2.50. I would have liked a little more I think, but it is still really nice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 12:36:29

The Dashing Hero... is amazing. Possibly to-amazing, but.. Dungeon World isn't about balance.

The thing is? This was the perfect class for our party's disillusioned paladin to change to after he reached level 10. He lost his faith, but he was still a hero. And honestly? This is a high quality play-book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
by Nicholas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2014 17:28:02

A playbook (It's a class for DW) made specifically for people who just show up for one session? Brilliant! Good execution as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates