DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Chet Reads Breakfast Cult
by Anna J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2016 12:29:02

This is actually both 1. really hilariously narrated and 2. extremely useful for learning the rules. FIVE STARS!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chet Reads Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2016 18:07:18

I've GM'd... overlorded? a couple of sessions of this so far and it's been just fantastic. I came from Dungeon World and I'm so glad I gave this try, because it takes the fantastic bits from that system, codifies some of it so I have a clearer idea about how to use it, and runs with it. Here's what I appreciate best:

  • Quick start, like all PbtA games: we had a fun and memorable 3 hour session, including character creation and world building.
  • Players liked the range of playbooks and unique, interesting, flavourful gear and move options.
  • Asking players to be the authority on their people is a great way to get me asking and building on questions, and the book makes it clear that input from the table is encouraged.
  • The book is pretty, compact, and the playbooks contain all you need to get going (I ended up buying the paperback and the PDF).
  • Guided scene-setting: downtime, journeys, challenges and showdowns mean I never have that moment of "what do we do next?" while everyone mills around. A quick discussion of what the Fellowship's next goal is and we move onto another scene.
  • The mechanics are very symmetric and play well when people think outside the box. The players can "finish" those pesky opponents in many different ways, only some of which have to involve swords.
  • When the Overlord or their Generals show up, it's seriously awe-inducing. I worried that having the Overlord be "just a character sheet" - giving away their weakness and stats - would reduce the mystery around them, but if anything it does the opposite, making them a constant and terrifying presence in the game.
  • Advantage, hope, and despair are great mechanics. Do something fictionally exciting? Advantage! Can't think of something? No worries, a companion, your Gear, or a buddy has your back. Help a buddy? Hope! And damage really starts to feel meaningful when the Harbinger has almost all their stats damaged and is in Despair from the magic they did and can hardly move to save themselves as the hunters close in...
  • Damaging stats is way more fun than chipping away at hit points.
  • Making an Overlord character makes me feel much more invested in and connected to the world and my evil minions, plus I get all the fun of throwing interesting random encounters at the party too.
  • The Overlord moves are great, just great. Can't wait to use "Team Rocket". Really I'm impressed by how many of the moves are just license to do something that's fictionally interesting that I hadn't thought of yet.

Here's the things I think would make this game even better:

  • I want a massive list of stats somewhere that I can browse through to slap onto challenges as appropriate. Or just expanded lists of challenges. The ones in the book are great and inventive, but I want more! Set Pieces are a great idea too and I look forward to seeing more of those.
  • Still not sure on the distinction between some of the moves. Am I just talking sense to someone or am I Finishing Them? Is this even a Challenge? Those moments where you can't figure out which hole the scene or action falls into leave me a little uncertain - but the fact that we have wandered into that territory without noticing suggests the roleplaying is going just fine.
  • I feel like the Overlord's master plans could have something more to them, but I'm not sure quite what it is. Maybe it's just that they're simplified compared to DW Fronts and I'm not yet used to them.

So basically I am a lazy GM and I love games that mean I do less work while still producing a fun story that challenges the players. This is one. It's great. Get it and you too can use your Orc's Varg-mounted trash cannon to blind pursuing enemies by launching clothing at them. Can't wait to see what other material comes out for this game - and of course it plays nicely with DW-esque stuff too, so I look forward to adapting beasties and items from there to further my nefarious schemes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Breakfast Cult
by Rand B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2016 09:54:31

Breakfast Cult combines the high-school drama of The Breakfast Club with the cosmic horror of the Cthulhu mythos and also with the cosmic horror of Japanese animation. The result is a fun time for the whole family!

Players take on the roles of students at Occultar Academy, a school in the far future where prodigies are taught just enough occult science to advance human knowledge without getting into trouble. Then, they get in trouble anyway.

If you like the idea of being a really good sorceress who would like to be a really good rapper, or a sugar-dependent high school superdetective, this game is for you. If you dislike people with a tentacle instead of a face, people with really big adorable eyes, or fun, this game may not be for you.

Consult your doctor before playing Breakfast Cult. If you hear voices, stop reading Breakfast Cult. Unless they are the voices of your gaming group. In that case, you should help them make a character. The results can only be good for your SAN score!*

  • breakfast cult does not contain sanity mechanics


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Breakfast Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
by A. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2016 18:01:10

A wonderful system and a fabulous book. I particularly love how the GM gets a playbook, and I like how this system can easily go from a wacky/zany adventure to a heartrending and serious one. There's a lot of variety here. 5/5 stars.

Question, though: I would like to GM this game on a forum, but I am the only one who owns the core rulebook. In the rulebook, there is a link to a mediafire to download the playbooks. Is it acceptable for me to share this with a potential gaming group? (Just the playbooks, nothing else)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fellowship - A Tabletop Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Yes, you may share the playbooks freely with people you want to play the game with. You can even share the entire book PDF with them if you\'d like! Just don\'t upload everything for the general internet to download freely and you\'re golden. Thanks for the review!
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Nikola T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 12:20:52

Bought this for one of my players, she is level 3 now and it's been good fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Law's Out - the Auction-Based Cowboy Adventure Game
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2016 16:58:48

Law's Out is fantastically designed, fast paced, and fun. The game is only 21 pages (and a large chunk of that is character Roles), but with those 21 pages, author Jacob Randolph delivers probably the best Western game I have ever played.

The game plays out in about the time it would take to watch your favorite cowboy movie, plus explaining the rules, which shouldn't take more than about 10 minutes. The strength of the gameplay is how syncretic the design is - everything feeds into the cowboy fiction that the game seeks to emulate. The game is strongly structured around scenes, with clear parameters as to the tone of each scene, chosen by the triggering player. Once in a scene, players battle for narrative control over what happens in the scene, bidding their characters resources and life over narrative power. The bidding mechanic calls to mind the genre, where characters are prone to gambling and taking long odds, and also ensures that no matter what happens in a scene, there will be dangerous and far-reaching consequences, which again, fits the genre.

If, like me, you're starved for a Western-based rpg and like your games on the narrative side, I can't see you not having fun with Law's Out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Law's Out - the Auction-Based Cowboy Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Raul F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2015 07:13:47

Brings a lot of fun to the table, both on player and GM side.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
by Raul F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2015 07:12:28

Opens up a new way of thinking character classes in Dungeon World.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World Alternative Playbooks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2015 11:58:18

This Witch for Dungeon World is a 3 page playbook with descriptions on the moves of a witch character. In general this book covers how to play a "Weather Witch", a "Wicked Witch" or a "Winter Witch". I approve Jacob Randolph's penchant for alliteration. Everything you would expect to see in a DW character is here. There are Bonds, Starting Moves, Gear and Advanced Moves. In this version the details are printed right on the sheet. This is rather convenient and saves some space. If it were reformatted to look like the layout in Dungeon World I'd imagine it would be more like 6 to 8 pages. So you get a lot of text, but not a lot of pages. This playbook is under $2.50. I would have liked a little more I think, but it is still really nice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/31/2015 12:36:29

The Dashing Hero... is amazing. Possibly to-amazing, but.. Dungeon World isn't about balance.

The thing is? This was the perfect class for our party's disillusioned paladin to change to after he reached level 10. He lost his faith, but he was still a hero. And honestly? This is a high quality play-book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dashing Hero - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
by Nicholas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2014 17:28:02

A playbook (It's a class for DW) made specifically for people who just show up for one session? Brilliant! Good execution as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Guest Star - A Dungeon World Playbook for Extra Players on Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Nicholas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2014 11:34:06

Short Version: Inverse Worlds is a good book and worth the money for any fan of Dungeon World. Its player facing content is a major step up from the core classes as the focus on higher fantasy gives the classes moves with more "oomph." It has a great deal of GM facing content to make adjusting to its setting a breeze and helps greatly for those who keeps to DW's model of "No preparation." Perhaps its best decision is removing the cruft DW had by trying to be D&D.

Long Version: Inverse Worlds is a good book and worth the money for any fan of Dungeon World.

Its player facing content is a major step up from DW's classes as the focus on higher fantasy gives the classes moves with more "oomph." Here are some examples of what some of the new playbooks are like.

The Mechanic is of particular note. Making a class all about being a bloke in a mecha and having it be both fun, balanced, and effective (I was playing one in a one shot, recently) is a nice surprise. It has a lot of versatility in its design, but never becomes overly complicated or too versatile. You can build the type of mecha suit you want, with little fuss, have it be effective, and not be unbalanced. Also, the Megas XLR reference was sweet!

The Captain, for example, is an airship pilot that gets a free airship and means to get it back if its lost (I've seen another review comment on the means negatively, but the point of the abstraction, in my mind, is to avoid the class losing a key resource because you are low on gold: you could, for example, view the abstraction as pulling in favors, some stashed away savings, etc.). Despite what one might think, having an airship is surprisingly undistributive when you have it and non-crippling when you don't. Outside of its airship, the pilot is great at trading and navigation. In the case of the later, it can make travel safer which is a nice considering how much adventures do that.

The Collector can best be described as a "the bottomless bag." The classes main shtick is that it can pull items out of its bag to help in a situation. Thanks to DW's (Really AW's) system, this is kept in check by a series of well thought out limits that keep the move useful, but not overpowered. I can't help, but feel the Collector is Inverse World's answer to the the thief and, if so, it's a fun and, possibly, innovative take on the idea.

I'm not going to go through every class in the book like this, the above was just to give you an idea for what the playbooks are like. The book also includes The Golem, The Walker, The Latern, The Survivor, and The Sky Dancer. There wasn't a class I disliked in this book. It was a good selection.

The Compendium classes (think Prestige Classes without all the requirements, just do a thematically appropriate thing within the game itself to unlock) are fun, but I would have liked to see more of them. While I get Compendium Classes are tied very tightly to a setting so people tend to want them less, I still think they are a cool concept and really help tie characters to the world.

As a fan of balanced classes, the playbooks are a nice change of pace as some 3rd party playbooks that try their hands at higher fantasy tend to be poorly balanced narrative-ly (In DW, disparity more comes from how classes affect the narrative than their actual numbers since it is a low numbers game). Inverse Worlds successfully avoids this issue of balance.

It has a great deal of GM facing content to make adjusting to its setting a breeze and helps greatly for those who keeps to DW's model of "No preparation."

It has an Instant Island Guide which makes creating a new island for your players fast even during midgame. It has a few premade areas you can implant around your players if need be. These areas even have some custom moves to make them feel distinct. Setting wise, the book does a good job of telling you about the world, not individual places. By keeping to the overall picture, it makes it easier to build the IW setting around my ideas for the game than build my game around the IW setting.

In regards to the setting, it's a fun and cool idea for a setting. If this were a novel, I wouldn't call it original, but, as a TRPG, the setting stays away from a lot of tropes that makes alot of TRPG settings same-y and does a good job of backing up its setting with mechanics (like the playbooks and a slew of near gear). The vehicles rules keep it simple -- which is inline with the system -- and are a fun addition to the DW format.

Rules were given to fit your favorite ideas from the supplement in your normal DW games that might be hard to convert. For example, rules to use the Captain in a setting without airships. It's a very smart addition and, honestly, a necessity for a book calling itself a supplement.

Perhaps its best decision is removing the cruft DW had by trying to be D&D.

While alignments were just a way to get extra XP, they had some limitations to them thematically and felt restrictive. If I like the XP trigger for lawful, then my character is going to have to be a lawful character. The replacement with Drives -- which focus on smaller aspects of the player's world outlook instead of the all encompassing nature of alignment -- allows players to choose XP triggers they like without having to conform all their behavior to a particular set of beliefs. My Captain can be a roguish and chaotic figure, but has Responsibility and Respect for his crew (a common thing in fiction) so protecting them gives him XP. In DW's alignment system, I'd likely have to be a lawful character to get that XP trigger.

Race to class restrictions are gone. You can now play any race with any class unlike DW system that was emulating old school D&D. In place of racial moves, each class has their own special moves which feel more thematic as a result.

DW made the mistake of trying to be a different game that it was not, IW tries to be its own games.

Like I said before, IW is a good supplement for DW. It capitalizes on DW's strengths and removes some of its weaknesses. Its content is good on its own, but could fit into your regular DW game if you just want to take your favorite things. Visually, it's a bit minimalist, but, for an independent developer, that could be forgiven. If you didn't like DW because it was too simple, too focused on narrative, lacked crunch, or any reason similar to that, you probably won't like IW. If you didn't like DW because its classes were a bit boring and it tried too hard to be D&D, you might like IW.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Eltup E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2014 04:51:40

Almost every page of the book has something useful at the table, which is my standard for these things. I appreciate the non-specificity of the setting because the book itself gives you the tools to make it specific to your table. The playbooks themselves are of a very high standard, though I've only run one session of the game, I have no complaints about their design. Docking a star for two reasons: there's not much advice for developing inverse world specific fronts and I wish the island creation worked better with the steading rules in Dungeon World.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World - A Dungeon World Supplement
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2014 01:33:44

Very light-weight in content and lazy layout (lot of empty space). Great idea, but hardly passable execution. There are other that delivered much more and better content on the same KS budget. This is rated in my book as a KS that just barely cleared the failed mark.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World Accelerated
by Stacey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2014 22:33:46

An evocative setting, great character ideas, and a very nice and well written version of the Fate Accelerated Rules. I love the stunts and i really like the focus on exploration and discovery. Im am looking forward to introducing my players to the Inverse World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inverse World Accelerated
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates