DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Chris G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2016 12:19:11

I picked up Hero Kids after my 6 year old son found my old set of DnD dice and kept asking to play that game with the cool dice.


I bought the whole bundle, for a great price, and got to work with setting up for the first adventure... Basement O' Rats.


With my son as the knight and my 4 year old daughter as the hunter, we started the adventure.


They grasped the basics of the rules quickly and could easily keep up with the turn sequence. My daughter lost interest about 3/4 of the way through, but my son was engaged through to the end. He even made a new character with custom powers and wanted to fight the rat king again.


All in all a great value for the money and I have barely scratched the surface of what came in the bundle.


The rules are simple and sufficient. The adventures are very easy to run. The extras like equipment cards and pets are goin to add to replay value and setting up an extended campaign.


The only thing I can think of to improve this game is to add a leveling system. What kid doesn't want to get stronger, faster and more powerful? I'm certain that I will be homebrewing a leveling system before too long, but I would like to see the author address this especially because of the amount of work he has put in to make Hero Kids complete.


9/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by William P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 20:10:07

This game is terrific for kids. My youngest, 6, can play without help. My oldest, 13, is not too bored to participate making a great family game. Also, my older kids have been too impatient to go through the process of making their characters for some other RPGs so we haven't actually made it to gaming in them prior to this game. After playing this, my older kids were excited to create characters for other games they want to try as well. I purchased the pack that had all the modules and they were quite well written and easy to use, but I am not going to bother to evaluate them all separately. The magic items and pets add fun for the kids without throwing the game out of balance if you add them gradually as you move to the harder adventures. The only thing this game needs in a way to advance the characters, but it wasn't too hard to come up with one on my own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Serge B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 13:55:33

Very well done RPG-with-(paper)-minis for kids. It has the right level of complexity and difficulty that can be hard to gauge as a parent. My youngest (10) is able to play a "real" system like Fate to an extent, but enjoys the physicality of pushing minis on a board and combat a lot. Hero Kids also includes ability tests, which makes it a pretty complete "My First RPG" system. The setting is also well done: it isn't very detailed, but does a good job of creating a world where it makes sense for kids to be the adventurers instead of their parents.


All in all I highly recommend this for parents who want to get their kids into the RPG hobby.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2016 15:15:28

This is a great basic RPG for my kids. I play with two younger family members aged 4 and 8. They're always excited to play the game. It is simple enough so that they are not overwhelmed with complex rules or scenarios. The stories provide a fun hook to get them started and the environment is stimulating enough to allow them to get invested in it. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:22:08

I had stumbled across this system online and had a PDF of the book shared to me. I was so impressed by the system that I came and bought everything they have. I am running a weekly game with my 2 kids (11 and 5) and they love it. This is my 5yo's first rpg and at the end of our first session (against the ghost pirates) we was picking what is next. She said her character wants to go see her grandfather in the wizards tower. Totally on her own, she decided that the wizards tower is where her characters grandfather would be. (she is a healer BTW)


After this month we will run the space kids and then will be working on a super hero mod to run in Aug.


The print version of the book is a little smaller than I thought it would be, but is nice to have at the table or when you dont have a tablet handy to look things up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:02:05

My kids and I have throughly enojoyed Hero Kids adventures. I had no prior experience usign RPG's and Hero Kids core info gave me all the info I need to get started and have our first adventure. I highly reccomend Hero Kids for families to experience together ( my 6 and 9 yos) had no trouble picking up rules and what to do ,and each additional adventure has gotten smoother with more description actions from everybody. Hero kids offers many other adventures are avialable ( we really enjoyed Ghost pirates and Wizard's tower!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2016 09:41:13

Excellent product! Clearly created by someone who (A) understands solid game design, and (B) understands kids. Speaking as a teacher and a father, I have absolutely zero complaints about this product and much love. As a longtime gamer who wants his kids to love gaming, it was important to me that product be simplified without being "dumbed down" and that it emphasize game play and enjoyment over rules lawyering. Hero Kids hits it on both counts.


The core system is solid, using a basic opposed dice pools dynamic. There is some flavor text in the adventures but not an overwhelming amount. I've chosing to expand upon what is already a solid foundation by adding named PCs, custom flat figs, and papercraft buildings.


Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Jammy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2016 05:50:58

A good starting point for my kid in role playinh RPG. I think starting from 5 years old will be more interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Eapen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2016 19:36:53

My two daughters, ages 7 and 5, enjoyed their first tabletop RPG experience with the rat adventure the mechanics were easy for them to grasp. The setting and classes are all fun to play and inspired their imaginations. i think it hit the mark for the older kid. the younger needed some guidance at first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Equipment Cards
by Cameron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:15:00

My two boys initial complaint forthis game was the enormous lack of LOOT! After hearing this I found this equipment set to fix that very thing. The fact that the adventures give so much room for loot to be found this greatly improved the game. The actual item cards are very well thought out and provide awesome oppertunities for the players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Equipment Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards III
by Cameron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:11:33

After purchasing and printing the this hero expansion the cards could not print fast enough for my kids! I think they rarely play from the original character set that came with the game. My much smaller son (8) is naturally attracted to the hulking larger characters and primarily plays the DRAGON-KIN BRUTE! The new abilities and visuals were on point in this set!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Expansion - Hero Cards III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Tomb of the Lost King
by Cameron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:07:57

My boys love zombies so this was a perfect adventure for them! The first encounter eas pretty frustrating for a 8 and 10 year old at first but they were overcome with joy once they figured out a solution! These adventures have provided us with quality time together and I feel it really encourages kids to use good critical thinking and problem solving skills!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy Adventure - Tomb of the Lost King
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Cameron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:03:07

I have two boys ages 8 and 10. I had tried to introduce them to D&D but the rules were far too complex. I found an article online and it had mentioned Wil Wheaton suggesting parents try Hero Kids. I bought and downloaded the PDF's and learned the game very quickly. It was very easy to explain to my boys and easy to set up. They really loved Tomb of the lost king and we just finished The lost village. My youngest is a big fan of large hulk-like characters and only ever plays the Dragon-kin Brute from the Hero Cards expansion. The equipment cards expansion gave the game the element of "loot" which I think are my boys favorite feature of RPG's. Overall I am very satisfied with this game as are my sons. The game could be a tad more colorful or the maps more detailed but our imaginations greatly supplement this small con. Overall I give hero Kids a 9/10 rating and have suggested it to all my tabletop friends!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2016 17:11:24

If I start out with "my 5 year old loves this game," you will forgive my lack of originality. The simple dice-pool mechanics, printable maps and paper figurines engage his imagination while the hero and monster cards fit into what he has seen in video games. Sure, the advantages of ranged-vs.-melee combat elude him and we sort of fudge movement rates, but he has fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2016 18:04:38

If you want to introduce young children to TTRPG, buy Hero Kids now. Look no further, you've found what you need.


My oldest son, now in 3rd grade, having observed parts of the monthly D&D game I DM, asked if he could play D&D. While he is mature enough that I could create some appropriate adventures, his younger brother is in kindergarten and I know he is not ready for D&D. I've noticed Hero Kids in the past so I decided to give it another look. They had a bundle with the core rules, all expansions, and all adventures to date for only $15 and that also came with a discount on the printed version of the rules. I bought it, and ordered a print copy of the rules, immediately.


I probably didn't need to order the print book. I read the PDF rules in one short sitting. They are easy to pickup. Still, it will be nice to have a print copy to refer to and for my boys to use for running their own games.


I ran the first adventures, Basement O' Rats, last night. This is the intro "easy" level adventure. My boys were able to get through without any knock-outs (like Pokemon, nobody "dies", they are KO'd). We used the pre-created characters, but after the game they wanted to make their own, so they ended the evening writing up and coloring new characters they made up.


They wanted to play again, so today I ran Escape from the Ghost Pirates. It was "normal" level and was a good challenge for them. Enough to keep them on the edge, but not so hard that they were overly frustrated. It was great to see my two boys learn that they had to work together to succeed and to watch them learn to take time to plan their next steps.


All adventures come with battlemaps and paper minis and stat cards for any new monsters. All you need to do is print them out and obtain six-sided dice and pencils. The encounters for each adventures suggest the number of monsters based on the number of heroes, including only one hero. You can play this with just one kid, no problem, and it will still be fun.


The expansion packs given you additional pre-gen heroes to chose from and special equipment that the game master can give out as loot.


After the second adventure, my 10-year old asked if he could create his own dungeon. He roughed out a simple map on graph paper, which I turned into a number of battlemaps in Dungeonographer and he created a new monster (mole men) for it. So this evening, he'll be DM running his adventure for his brother, my wife, and I.


I do not see my 10-year-old being able to pick up D&D and run a game, certainly not after only two games. To me, this is Hero Kid's brilliance. It is is a well-balanced, simple to learn system, requiring a minimum of investment, but all the TTRPG fundamentals are there. It is a fabulous introduction to TTRPGs for children.


My only complaint is that if you want to create your own adventures, the rulebook doesn't provide any guidance for creating monsters and there are not blank monster cards or blank paper-minis. We just used the cards and paper minis that are used to create your own heroes and pretty much winged it in terms of creating stats for homebrew monsters, using RAW monsters as templates.


This game really needs to be put into a boxed set and sold in Target. I think it is one TTRG that would easily be attractive and adopted by mainstream families. If I could buy this in a box set, I would be giving it as a gift to every young kid I know who doesn't have it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Complete Fantasy PDF Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates