DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Zen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 12:44:51

I downloaded this because of the Save or Die Podcast but have to say I'm very disappointed in it. The podcast raves about the wonderful layout and charts but all I saw was a poorly written, badly laid out mess of a document. There are much better retro clones out there to read and get all nostalgic about. They must have some good incriminating pictures of the Ennie Awards panel. Avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mazes & Perils RPG
by Jose F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 00:41:26

I cannot fathom why someone would play this over D&D when they've done nothing to differentiate themselves.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Francois B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2014 13:50:04

Looks like a standard 0e/1e port, fast reading gave no indication of much change. Rather bland presentation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Tomas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2014 09:43:32

Too many things are left to DM's discretion. It might speed up the whole "story making" process but it creates room for pointless arguing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Dennis Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2013 07:44:43

It looks and reads like someone's drunk version of a late 1970's fantasy RPG. With Labyrinth Lord, Swords and Wizardry, OSRIC, etc. on the market is there any reason for this? No, there is not.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2013 17:34:04

Mazes & Perils is a nice homage to the Holmes Basic D&D set of years past. The game compliments the original Holmes set as great additional material for those who wish to take their game beyond the low level cap of the original game. Art work is a bit sparse and a bit too cartoonish for my tastes, but with a free price point I can easily over-look this. There are a lot of retro-clones on the market, but none that integrate with the Holmes set so well. I would encourage in any future revisions to possibly make the game a bit more newb friendly... I think with its simplistic mechanical approach this game could be a great gateway drug for someone trying to introduce another gamer to the OSR style of play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by ash m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2013 08:45:12

As an old school gamer who just recently got back into RPG gaming I thoroughly enjoyed discovering this product. It will definitely appeal to D&D 1E players but is also simple enough for a novice RPG'er to pick up, enjoy, and not feel overwhelmed by rules. Even if this product were not free it would be bargain for the amount of fun you can have with your gaming group. Thanks for making it available and can't wait to start a campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Eleazar C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2013 17:20:54

Just was curious to download to check it out since it was nominated. It looks pretty cool! It's pretty basic so someone who is new to this kind of game can easily pick it up and play it. Has the whole DnD feel without being overwhelming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/13/2013 12:24:55

NOTE: This is an updated review.


A while back I wrote a review for Mazes & Perils, a 2012 Holmes-Basic Retro-clone from Vincent Florio.


http://timbrannan.blogspot.com/2012/09/revie-
w-mazes-perils-2012.html


The 3rd printing/edition is now out (or rather it has been out for a bit) and I promised then I would re-review it.


This new version is cleaned up considerably and it does look like it has been rewritten. It is still free and the idea here (I think) is to provide a means to play "D&D Basic" or provide a common ruleset to allow people to create Basic-era compatible works. As a goal, that is a pretty solid one really. At 61 pages it is also really tight and it is also free.


I do want to address some of the issues that plagued the previous editions, but only as a means to talk about the improvements on this edition.
Like I said, the text has largely been rewritten. It now reads less like someone with a copy of Holmes Basic on their lap, but instead someone that played Holmes Basic for years and scribbled what they could from memory. The game now goes to 12th level, which is a good place to go to be honest. Yes, it is only 3 more levels than the previous version, but those are three levels that really make a difference in terms of end game play. Have a look of Adventurer Conquer King to see the same logic at work.


There are only the four basic classes (Cleric, Fighting Man, Magic-User, Thief) and the four basic races (Human, Elf, Dwarf Halfling).


I want to restate the things I did like about the previous versions. Obviously the name of the game is a nod to John Eric Holmes' book "The Maze of Peril" and I can respect that. If you are going to do a Holmes' homage or pastiche then that is a perfect name really. Clearly the author has done his research.


Others have complained about the art. I rather like it to be honest. The cover is very cool and the interior is no worse than what you would have seen in Holmes. In fact I was under the impression that the art was exactly what the author wanted. "Good" or "Bad" is subjective. To me it is perfect for this book.


What does this book do? OR What is it good for?
Well if you do want a simple game to give you the feel of D&D Basic, then it works well.
If you want an EASY book to create your own "Basic Era" products then it is also a good choice.
If you want a game with lots of options, then maybe Basic Fantasy, Labyrinth Lord, ACKS or even D&D Basic/Expert will work better.


This newer version is cleaned up and is certainly an improvement over the previous versions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Angela W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2013 12:06:51

Not very well done. Only looked at it because of the podcasts. Waste of my time.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2012 21:54:38

I have the original 1st edition AD&D and D&D. Why would I need this. It's a poor copy.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
This is based off and inspired by the Holmes Edition of D&D. This was done so people can enjoy those rules since it is not being sold and copies are hard to come by. Please learn to read before making a misleading review.
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2012 23:58:52

This is a good solid retroclone. The ideas here are from the Holmes edition & are much tighter. This is no nonsense game. The layout is crisp & the are work very much in the old school tradition. The whole thing reads very well & works in a very tight way making combat a breeze. Very nice edition to the retroclone community. The author knows his D&D very well. Great product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
by Sheryl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2012 19:09:08

Much better! I downloaded this like a year ago, and the layout was rough on the eyes, but then I got an email the other day and it said it was updated. So I downloaded it and to my surprise, it was done well. The format is very nice, as well as the new surprise of 3 more levels! I was happy to see this change and happy Vincent Florio fixed what was wrong. I hope others see this and download it again for a review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Mines we trust
by dwayne w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2012 00:02:51

Great beginning adventure. Almost everyone can remember their first dungeon, and often, it was a mine. Salt, gold, or in this case copper, we all have fond memories of the first one we cleared out or died in, This module brings back those memories. Designed as a beginning adventure for use with the Mazes and Perils RPG, it helps new gms and players learn the rules, boxed text and all. I bought it, why havent you? Also, it features art by the same artist who worked on M&P, Glen Hallstrom, who does an impeccable job as usual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Mines we trust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ring of the Baron
by dwayne w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2012 23:52:19

So good I bought three!!! I did, I bought three copies to give to my local game store as "give-aways" along with the reprints of a certain game. The module is everything that one should be, to the point, deadly and fun! The range of encounters is a nice mix, and the players will even get a a chance to maybe hold a quasi-artifiact! I recommend this module, especially with the price of advanced edition modules today, this is a steal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ring of the Baron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates