DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Spacemaster 2nd Edition GM Book
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2015 12:13:42
I grew up loving the 1st edition of this game and to find the second for $5 a book is amazing. The game is, as anybody who knows the rolemaster system will be aware, incredibly detailed and can be a bit chart heavy but it bears remembering that most of the rules are optional. If you don't want to spend ages constructing a planet from scratch, complete with randomised adventures, you don't have to. But if you do, then the rules are there to do it. It's not always the easiest game to play, so not for absolute beginners, and it is (sometimes unfortunately) scarily easy to get killed, no matter how powerful your character, but in my experience this only adds to the stress and tension in the game, compared to something more fast paced foolhardy friendly like Star Wars. So if your looking for an in depth, character heavy RPG, Spacemaster is well worth investing some time in!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spacemaster 2nd Edition GM Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rolemaster Combat Minion (RMSS/FRP License)
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2015 08:09:00
Rolemaster Combat Minion is one of the most helpful programs there is to speed up and take the paperwork out of running an encounter in Rollmaster. I no longer have to have a ton of extra sheets with me to do a combat encounter. Once you enter your data it stores it so you never have to look up things again. With its built in combat charts no more having to look through the different charts. Enter your character stats and monster stats and your ready to go. It keeps track of rounds, applies damage, combat modifiers, and crits giving you a log of the combat encounter (initiative, damage, crits, damage mods, hits taken and remaining) you can refer back to if you need to. It took Rolemasters combat and turned it into a more pleasurable experience for the DM and quickened it up for the players. Does it have some faults? Yes, but these are not big ones. You have to be creative how you enter your NPC and monsters by giving them a smart search name. That way when you enter the search ID you have a list of all the PC and adversaries you want for that encounter. If you want you can enter the ID's as the encounters of the different areas the PC's will encounter. This is it's only draw back that I have seen. You have to enter encounter groups and cannot call up a group of different monsters or PC on the fly. Is this program worth your money? I would say a resounding Yes!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Combat Minion (RMSS/FRP License)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Essence Companion
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2015 19:49:38
Gives a very complete and versatile explanation on how to expand and refine essence magic.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Essence Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RMSS Arcane Companion
by wade g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2015 21:45:41
Helmut's review is correct. A cheap scanner was used and some pages very slightly off-center, so the edge of a bit of text at the top of the page was partially clipped. 99.9% of the scan is okay, though it's slightly less sharp than a good scan.. Until the publisher scans a decent copy (how hard would that really be??) I'll give this scan a "3" star due to their sheer laziness. It should be priced at half cost.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RMSS Arcane Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow World Player Guide - The World
by Mirco S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2015 03:18:59
This is a really great and one of the best desinged books I´ve seen. Thank you for the great work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World Player Guide - The World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow World: Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn
by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2015 17:03:32
The following review was originally posted at Roleplayers Chronicle and can be read in its entirety at http://roleplayerschronicle.com/?p=45972.

Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn is an adventure book, right? Meh, not exactly; it’s more than that. Often times, tabletop role-playing books draw a well-defined line between setting supplements, adventure books, and campaigns. Then there’s this gray area; a gray area that happens to be where I like to be. Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn resides within that gray area, but in a very good way. It’s part setting book, part adventure book, part campaign launching point. It’s not a sandbox, although it has many sandbox qualities; it’s what I like to call a playground adventure setting.

Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn details the city of Gryphonburgh set within the Shadow World. The first half of the book details this city and the large moor that resides nearby. It goes on to describe the area much like a sourcebook would, providing a fully fleshed-out setting for GMs to play in. Once you understand the setting, it moves on to providing a series of loosely-linked adventures, written in the spirit of “just enough to get the GM going, but not too much to tie her down.” There aren’t that many adventures here, but there’s definitely enough for many nights of excellent gameplay or the start of an interesting campaign.

The result, is the playground. It’s a sandbox setting with structured parts for the GM to play with. It’s not a plot point campaign like Savage Worlds as there’s no overarching plot to save the world or fix some grand disaster. It’s merely a set of adventures set within the very detailed setting that can be played in order using a storyline determined by the GM (not the book). This is definitely not a book for the lazy GM, but it’s definitely a book for the GM who desires a framework and wishes to fill in the remaining details.

My biases end at the structure of the adventure book. I enjoy reading Shadow World content and lately, Rolemaster source material feels overwhelmingly complete; borderline too complete at times. The good thing is, the setting is also a very interesting setting and the little hidden secrets at the hands of the GM are just screaming for an intrepid band of warriors to discover. Obviously I don’t play spoilers in my reviews, so that’s about all I’ll say. I will add, however, that I really like how the adventures incorporate all aspects of the setting without narrowing the GM’s and players’ focus on a single section. In other words, the PCs will get to explore the entire area without the GM having to force it into the story; it’s already there and already tied together.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow World: Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn
by Jonathan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2015 20:17:22
An excellent addition to the Shadow World setting. The layout works well with the content; there's a solid table of contents; and the narration text seems to add the right touch of atmosphere.

As far as content goes, the adventures and plot hooks look like they're either readily usable as they are or easy enough to scale as needed. There's also plenty more background material which is complete enough to hang personalized stories on and partial enough not to intrude.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Tales from the Green Gryphon Inn
by Juan U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2015 10:07:39
This module is a welcome addition to Shadow World. It focuses on one area, its NPCs, and adventures, so it can alternatively be dropped into another setting easily.
It is written well; the adventures flow together smoothly and are excellent for a party just starting out. Adventure plots include getting to the locale, trekking into the moors to perform a seemingly-easy task, recovering a stolen unusual piece of art, exploring a tomb that is much more than a tomb, and ultimately stopping a dark ritual that means doom for the town. There are plot twists and NPCs with their own agendas throughout.
The art is amazing, among the best in gaming out there, IMHO, and complements the adventures well. It does an excellent job of bringing Shadow World to 3D-rendered life.
There are typos in the product, but those will be corrected in the free updates.
Considering the many hours of game play this module has, along with the art, I consider it a value and eagerly await the printed version.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Companion I
by Dan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2015 14:59:32
An essential companion to any fan of Rolemaster's library - and if you're like me, your version of the original 1982 masterpiece was taped up from constant use a long time ago. This is not just a reprint of the classic but includes new art, better organization, and is clear as day. I've already loaded it onto my iPad for easy digital use.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rolemaster Companion I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AutoHARP Fantasy
by goran t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2015 22:01:11
$40 for the software with addons and it doesn't work. That's pretty poor quality for that price.

It is absolutely bare bones and does nothing really.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
AutoHARP Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High Adventure Role Playing Fantasy
by Larry F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2015 11:37:18
I only gave this a 4 due to the quality of the book, many of the images are too dark or off in some other way. The game gets a 5.

The game itself is a wonderful streamline version of the rolemaster system. There are many things I prefer from Rolemaster and some things I prefer that are HARP.

HARP streamlined Character Creation making it much easier to create a character. For the most part the book is setup for character creation better than most other games as you can from page to page with out having to skip around.

I prefer the old way of doing training packages they were pre calculated and they had more than 5 and you got to roll to get some cool stuff. Here it is a small package of skills that you receive as a discount. For my campaigns I wrote a small book of pagackes and did the precalculations.

Professions feel more free in HARP than they did in Rolemaster I do wish there instead of just 2 points per rank for favored and 4 points per rank for unfavored that they have 6 points for a skill category or two that was unusual for the profession which would be more like Rolemaster.

The races are fun for the most part they added the race Gryx which is a peaceful Orc like race. They are an interesting race but the only monstrous humanoid offered. I converted some classic monstrous races for play.

The cultures are now for all races which is an added bonus over Rolemaster. They are very basic and free ranks that represent you growing up. I had added a few myself representing more cultures grabbing from many sources.

The skills are a greatly shortened version of the Rolemaster Skill system. I do not feel cheated for the most part as I do enjoy the vast skill list.

The talents section is fairly well made. I still prefer the way that Rolemaster Standard did the talents rather than this chopped down way. It does however fit with the system either way.

The 2 second combat system can be a little weird and really throw people off. I tend to run it as a 4 second or 6 second. Allowing for multiple actions to occur often making it easier on some players.

The game is over all a lot of fun and a great alternative to many of the popular systems that takes less time over all for character creation and combat.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Adventure Role Playing Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ERA for Rolemaster
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2014 19:14:15
Great Item b een waiting for this type of Software for years...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ERA for Rolemaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow World: Emer III
by Maximiliano T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2014 09:18:23
Just as the Xa-Ar book, this new wave of Shadow World products is filled with new stories, new artifacts and regions to explore.
Not only that, but the south east of Emer has been described only lightly in all books so far, so it is great to finally know that is going on there!
The book includes the lifestyle of many cultures, their interaction with a rich environment and lots of game mechanics to handle rainforest hazards.
It also completes a lot of the story about some organizations that were previously mentioned.
Many of the plot hooks in this book should very well be considered for any campaign you are currently running in Shadow World.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: Emer III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow World Player Guide - The World
by Maximiliano T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2014 09:08:38
A glimpse at all the things that make Shadow World a unique place where to play your adventures.
With no spoilers that give away the GM-only secrets, just clear explanations of the most important races, the key places to visit and a general overview of how things work in Kulthea.
It also has visual aids for the colors of magic, a great table comparing the races, beautiful maps and images of some important places.
The only game mechanic included are suggestions for using Rolemaster lore skills in Shadow World. That is maybe more a tool for the GM than the players, but it has its value as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World Player Guide - The World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadow World: The Land of Xa-ar
by Maximiliano T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2014 09:02:47
This book adds in-depth history of a region that was never before explained at all. So it is a great addition to any Shadow World collection.
The story, the legends, the artifacts and the life of two great human and elven kingdoms are detailed. For treasure hungry adventurers there are also many tombs of their greatest kings, with all the traps and loot you might expect.
And apart from all the useful information, you also get a great campaign to play. We run a 60 session campaign with this book, and that only got us through half of the places described.
The maps are clear, and there are some images of places and people that also help in understanding this region.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow World: The Land of Xa-ar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 104 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates