DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
OneDice Hauntaway
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2017 12:38:40

I have only recently come to the OneDice system, and I have loved everything so far. Hauntaway is no exception to the rule. I have spent awhile looking for an affordable copy of the old West End Ghostbusters RPG, to no avail, only to have stumbled upon this little gem. While I am not going to break down the game chapter by chapter, I can tell you that this handles Ghostbusters quite well. Its easy to stat up the characters from the 1984 movie and adapt the one adventure I have for the old game to the OneDice system. The system is totally flexiable and with its compatibltiy with other OneDice games, it means that you can do more than just chase ghosts in the modern day. My next campaign with this book will totally be a Hauntaway romp in the 1930s America, can anything be more specatular than pulp ghostbusting?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Hauntaway
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Pirates & Dragons
by Morten H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2017 02:00:00

I have mixed feelings about this product.

The Good

  • The system is simple, and good for beginners / kids. I like Stunts Points, which save combat from becoming a dull affair.
  • The concept of the setting is great. Pirates, dragons, ancient ruins, necromantic magic, savage natives, sea monsters, etc. I normally don't like swashbuckling, but this captures my imagination.

The Bad

  • The book was clearly written in a hurry, probably as a quick-and-dirty summary of the larger Renaissance version. For example, the Table of Concents is missing 30 pages (pages 88-118); the ship statistics on page 57 contains terms that are not desxplained until page 82; the map contains location numbers, but the island location descriptions doesn't contain these numbers, so you'll have to translate back and forth via a separate location number<->name mapping table => a lot of page flipping.
  • While flavorful, there is too little information on the setting, so expect a lot of home-work in adventure creation (if you care about detail, that is). Island locations (of which there are many) have a write-up of only a few lines of text. Monsters get only one line. And the font is huge. You can easily read the entire product (134 pages) in a couple of hours.
  • Pictures are of below-average quality. The only nice picture is on the cover.
  • No detailed starting location/village, no starting adventure. All you get is some generic adventure seeds and hooks.
  • The names: Uropans (europeans), Esbanians (spaniards), Adalantic Ocean (Atlantic Ocean), etc. Its a detail, but I find such names to be lacking in imagination.

Overall rating: 3/5. Meh. Great promise, poor execution.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2017 06:20:57

Really good system - It works. It's good for experienced and new players as well as younger gamers. The mechanics are based around a d6 roll so are simple to pick up with a quick read through. What needs to be realised is that this is a toolbox for creating your own settings and worlds: There are some "Skins" included but are deliberately kept minimal to show what the rules are capable of.

I like the writing style and it comes over well. I love the the digest size and I just wish more companies used this format. Also of note is the cover art - please keep the cover as common theme through future releases. A great product at an amazing price. Quick, fast and fun. Savage Worlds has a worthy basic digest sized game competitor at last.

Can't wait for the promised settings books - they really will be the icing on the cake (bread ?) !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal Revised
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 09:21:30

PDF Version (Quick disclaimer: I am the author of some other OneDice material and a big fan of the system since its inception)

Updated and revised, the OneDice Universal ruleset goes from strength to strength. The original was good but it just got better with additional rules and ideas between the covers. Love the new look cover too.

The page count now stands at over 80 pages with the rules for Mooks & Minions plus Sanity in there too. The layout has also improved making it even easier to read through. Additionally, the book also includes a multiplayer fantasy adventure plus a solo play (Pick a Path style) Sci Fi one.

Great for any age group and the rules actually encourage roleplay rather than just rolling dice. A good system for teaching rp as well as for more experienced gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Heydelberg Horror
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 09:06:38

PDF Version A great and different addition to the Clockwork & Chivalry line. This (the first of a campaign) is set in Europe rather than the United Kingdom and features extra rules for the creation of more diverse PCs. The adventure itself is well written and well worth the money with a well woven story and background which is very tricky to comment on without giving any spoilers.

The art and maps are decent too and have quite a period look to them.

Rest assured you won't be disappointed

As a side note : With a bit of work this adventure can be also used quite easily with the Renaissance RPG Deluxe rules, BRP and CoC.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Heydelberg Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Casino
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2017 12:54:15

I don't really think this product fits the 'Flintlock & Steel' header. I bought it under the assumption that it was suitable for Renaissance... a grotty casino that might fit in that general period... but turns out it's a modern era thing with slot machines and skyscrapers. The NPCs are film noir archetypes... so less useful for games set in the 1600s. It does have a Renaissance version of all the NPC stats, so there's that. I'm sure I could change the names, rearrange the floorplan, add in some historical flavor... but at that point I've pretty much written my own location, so why do I want/need this?

Still, it was cheap enough that I can just chalk it up an an 'Oh well'... maybe I can find some use for it in a Call of Cthulhu game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Casino
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:15:08

Simplistic not simple. I can't imagine why anyone...including myself spent money on this.

I checked out the quickstart. I for some reason thought that there had to be crunchier rules in the actual settings/universal rules...there aren't. No ranged combat. Even though weapons are given ranges. I figure the GM is supposed to SWAG that. Since it appears that despite PCs having a movement rating there seems to be no apparent reason given for having one. No rules for covering distances on foot at all. No rules for cover. Although the GM can arbitrarily determine if a roll has advantage or disadvantage. This book has no setting, but costs as much or more than the setting books. Here's the catch the setting books have the same set of minimal rules in them. I bought this Universal set of rules on sale for a little over 5 USD. Each setting book is regularly 7 USD. You can get the entire Fate Core set of rules and Fate Accelerated, over 400+pages of complete rules, for pay as you want. You can presently get 25+ complete settings for Fate Core each pay as you want.

The price point of this material is grossly overrated. Give it a pass. Spend a bit of time shopping on RpgNow and find something worth your money. This ain't it. I also bought another setting book from OneDice brand; Steampunk. Again, way over priced. You can get other settings with complete rules for steampunk such as the original Space 1889 from GDW.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.19 and Moving on p.20 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Steampunk
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2017 23:55:05

Disappointment and buyer's remorse. Definitely not worth the price. This is one of two OneDice products I have bought. Neither are worth the price of admission (and I got it on sail).

The art is adequate. The production values are good. Tidy.

The setting is barely adequate. You can get a great VSF setting with a complete set of rules (on this site) for just about 8 USD (with 200+ pages). Good old Space 1889 from GDW. GDW's rules are clunky but can be easily replaced by other rules, but are pretty much complete.

Which brings us to OneDice Steampunk. Rules. Not complete. Simplistic not simple. Simplified to the point so as to be useless. Characters are given a movement rate. How many meters in a turn. Why? Not really sure. No rules for movement are presented; other than moving out of close combat. We aren't even told how to move into close combat. Ranged weapons have ranges. Awesome. Why? To what purpose? I don't know because they are listed but have no context or discussion and no rules. The Attribute+Skill+die roll is ok, but in combat is woefully unexplained in that a GM can dictate that a roll can be at an advantage or disadvantage (+2 or -2) but no real examples are given. They certainly aren't discussed as part of combat where they may or may not be for cover or range (not even mentioned).

More thought was given to the setting, but barely. That is why I gave it two stars instead of one. There are some great Spacepunk settings out there for way less. Spend your money on them. If this is an example of all the OneDice games...I am sorry. Don't buy them. I also bought OneDice Universal so I have a feeling this is endemic of the brand.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.22 and Moving on p.24 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." Also, the +/-2 advantage/disadvantage is covered by exactly the examples you wanted - see p.23 Having the Advantage "fighting an enemy climbing up a slope, having cover from ranged attacks, etc.)." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Universal
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 20:19:09

I love this system. It isn't my main system but love using it with my kids. That is not to say this is kids system, but it is very easy and straightforward. It feels robust enough to make it feel like it doesn't lack anything. That being said, only being a d6, the system doesn't have the granularity of most systems. This system would be great choice for kids, learning your first system, or a quick way to test an idea you may want to roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:53:45

I bought the PDF and print versions of this book. I also bought OneDice Cyberpunk and I have left a review for that product. In a nutshell, OneDice Universal is a quick-to-learn, simple yet highly expandable game system which is perfect for getting a game up and running at the drop of a hat. As a parent with very little spare time, I can see our group adopting this as our go-to game. With an ever expanding range of books in the OneDice system, I can definitely see us buying all of them (and actually using them) Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Cyberpunk
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:46:07

I've only flipped through the PDF while I wait for the printed book version to arrive, but I have to say that I am very impressed. The system is so very straight forward and simple, yet not so simple that it doesn't leave room for expansion. In fact, the possibilities are endless with the OneDice system. I'm not soing to go into detail about the system as there is a quick-start version of the OneDice system available here on DriveThru. The overall feel of OneDice reminds me of the simplicity of Fighting Fantasy, and in fact there is a solo adventure in the quick-start book which is classic example of this general feel. Cyberpunk RPGs can be notoriously complex because of the cyberspace/matrix/jacking-in element which is a hard thing to put into practice at the game table, but the cyberspace rules in OneDice CyberPunk are so straightforward that it's going to a breeze to play. I can't recommend OneDice CyberPunk, and the OneDice system in general. As a parent who doesn't get much spare time, this is the perfect game system for me and my family. Also the publisher has priced all of the OneDice books very reasonably so I can see myself buying all the printed books eventually. Money well spent, and a fantastic book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:07:34

Simply my favourite cosmic horror game! Wonderful period, loads of atmosphere and game mechanics that only support the experience rather than get in the way!

LOVE IT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Renaissance Deluxe
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:00:55

Truly wonderful piece of work! Cannot speak highly enough of this system; if you wanted CoC to be a bit more detailed or for BRP to get to the point, get this.

If you love the idea of a period not often covered by the plethora of games available today (1640-1740) then get this. Even if you are just a bit curious, then, for the price, get this :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Renaissance - D100 black powder SRD
by Jay M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2016 22:42:18

Your fucking kidding me, this product is so good you should be charging people to look at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance - D100 black powder SRD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Supers
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2016 20:45:59

We have a total of 7 players for our RPG experince, and dice rolling with that many people can be a hastle, plus several people are new with RPG's. Once dice is awesome for a big group, new players, or those like me who like simple game mechanics so I can focus on the story. I also have the fantasy version, and although both are simple to learn, there is plenty of depth that can be added. I really like this game style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates