DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Casino
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2017 12:54:15

I don't really think this product fits the 'Flintlock & Steel' header. I bought it under the assumption that it was suitable for Renaissance... a grotty casino that might fit in that general period... but turns out it's a modern era thing with slot machines and skyscrapers. The NPCs are film noir archetypes... so less useful for games set in the 1600s. It does have a Renaissance version of all the NPC stats, so there's that. I'm sure I could change the names, rearrange the floorplan, add in some historical flavor... but at that point I've pretty much written my own location, so why do I want/need this?

Still, it was cheap enough that I can just chalk it up an an 'Oh well'... maybe I can find some use for it in a Call of Cthulhu game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Casino
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:15:08

Simplistic not simple. I can't imagine why anyone...including myself spent money on this.

I checked out the quickstart. I for some reason thought that there had to be crunchier rules in the actual settings/universal rules...there aren't. No ranged combat. Even though weapons are given ranges. I figure the GM is supposed to SWAG that. Since it appears that despite PCs having a movement rating there seems to be no apparent reason given for having one. No rules for covering distances on foot at all. No rules for cover. Although the GM can arbitrarily determine if a roll has advantage or disadvantage. This book has no setting, but costs as much or more than the setting books. Here's the catch the setting books have the same set of minimal rules in them. I bought this Universal set of rules on sale for a little over 5 USD. Each setting book is regularly 7 USD. You can get the entire Fate Core set of rules and Fate Accelerated, over 400+pages of complete rules, for pay as you want. You can presently get 25+ complete settings for Fate Core each pay as you want.

The price point of this material is grossly overrated. Give it a pass. Spend a bit of time shopping on RpgNow and find something worth your money. This ain't it. I also bought another setting book from OneDice brand; Steampunk. Again, way over priced. You can get other settings with complete rules for steampunk such as the original Space 1889 from GDW.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.19 and Moving on p.20 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Steampunk
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2017 23:55:05

Disappointment and buyer's remorse. Definitely not worth the price. This is one of two OneDice products I have bought. Neither are worth the price of admission (and I got it on sail).

The art is adequate. The production values are good. Tidy.

The setting is barely adequate. You can get a great VSF setting with a complete set of rules (on this site) for just about 8 USD (with 200+ pages). Good old Space 1889 from GDW. GDW's rules are clunky but can be easily replaced by other rules, but are pretty much complete.

Which brings us to OneDice Steampunk. Rules. Not complete. Simplistic not simple. Simplified to the point so as to be useless. Characters are given a movement rate. How many meters in a turn. Why? Not really sure. No rules for movement are presented; other than moving out of close combat. We aren't even told how to move into close combat. Ranged weapons have ranges. Awesome. Why? To what purpose? I don't know because they are listed but have no context or discussion and no rules. The Attribute+Skill+die roll is ok, but in combat is woefully unexplained in that a GM can dictate that a roll can be at an advantage or disadvantage (+2 or -2) but no real examples are given. They certainly aren't discussed as part of combat where they may or may not be for cover or range (not even mentioned).

More thought was given to the setting, but barely. That is why I gave it two stars instead of one. There are some great Spacepunk settings out there for way less. Spend your money on them. If this is an example of all the OneDice games...I am sorry. Don't buy them. I also bought OneDice Universal so I have a feeling this is endemic of the brand.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.22 and Moving on p.24 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." Also, the +/-2 advantage/disadvantage is covered by exactly the examples you wanted - see p.23 Having the Advantage "fighting an enemy climbing up a slope, having cover from ranged attacks, etc.)." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Universal
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 20:19:09

I love this system. It isn't my main system but love using it with my kids. That is not to say this is kids system, but it is very easy and straightforward. It feels robust enough to make it feel like it doesn't lack anything. That being said, only being a d6, the system doesn't have the granularity of most systems. This system would be great choice for kids, learning your first system, or a quick way to test an idea you may want to roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:53:45

I bought the PDF and print versions of this book. I also bought OneDice Cyberpunk and I have left a review for that product. In a nutshell, OneDice Universal is a quick-to-learn, simple yet highly expandable game system which is perfect for getting a game up and running at the drop of a hat. As a parent with very little spare time, I can see our group adopting this as our go-to game. With an ever expanding range of books in the OneDice system, I can definitely see us buying all of them (and actually using them) Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Cyberpunk
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:46:07

I've only flipped through the PDF while I wait for the printed book version to arrive, but I have to say that I am very impressed. The system is so very straight forward and simple, yet not so simple that it doesn't leave room for expansion. In fact, the possibilities are endless with the OneDice system. I'm not soing to go into detail about the system as there is a quick-start version of the OneDice system available here on DriveThru. The overall feel of OneDice reminds me of the simplicity of Fighting Fantasy, and in fact there is a solo adventure in the quick-start book which is classic example of this general feel. Cyberpunk RPGs can be notoriously complex because of the cyberspace/matrix/jacking-in element which is a hard thing to put into practice at the game table, but the cyberspace rules in OneDice CyberPunk are so straightforward that it's going to a breeze to play. I can't recommend OneDice CyberPunk, and the OneDice system in general. As a parent who doesn't get much spare time, this is the perfect game system for me and my family. Also the publisher has priced all of the OneDice books very reasonably so I can see myself buying all the printed books eventually. Money well spent, and a fantastic book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:07:34

Simply my favourite cosmic horror game! Wonderful period, loads of atmosphere and game mechanics that only support the experience rather than get in the way!

LOVE IT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Renaissance Deluxe
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:00:55

Truly wonderful piece of work! Cannot speak highly enough of this system; if you wanted CoC to be a bit more detailed or for BRP to get to the point, get this.

If you love the idea of a period not often covered by the plethora of games available today (1640-1740) then get this. Even if you are just a bit curious, then, for the price, get this :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Renaissance - D100 black powder SRD
by Jay M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2016 22:42:18

Your fucking kidding me, this product is so good you should be charging people to look at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance - D100 black powder SRD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Supers
by Joe J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2016 20:45:59

We have a total of 7 players for our RPG experince, and dice rolling with that many people can be a hastle, plus several people are new with RPG's. Once dice is awesome for a big group, new players, or those like me who like simple game mechanics so I can focus on the story. I also have the fantasy version, and although both are simple to learn, there is plenty of depth that can be added. I really like this game style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Supers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2016 23:10:21

Everything needed to play is in this product.

The system is very straight forward: Roll a single D6 and add the appropriate Ability (Strong, Clever, Quick, Power) and an appropriate Skill (from a good size, but not overlong list) and any Gifts (a robust selection of powers) against a Difficulty set by the Gamekeeper or an opposed roll. That's the system in a nutshell.

There also Flaws, Embellishments (think perks) and Covers (a template which is, essentially, a profession you spend half of your skill points on).

I found character creation took less than twenty minutes for a superhero game. And play was smooth and quick.

One very intriguing facet is what OneDice calls Skins, in this case three, which fill in the details of a setting and have rules that alter the rules to one degree or another.

I really can't recommend OneDice Supers enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2016 09:34:27

I had this map printed full size (2 feet x 3 feet) at a local print shop on glossy poster stock. It is gorgeous!

If you are a Pirates and Dragons players, or just a map geek this is one to add to your collection. High resolution, full colour art work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Quickstart
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 13:49:19

Good for what it does. Meant to be a quick to learn and do game. Not 97 pages on different weapons, but broad categories, like sword - not katana vs short sword vs claymore etc. And the same with all other areas. Simple mechanics makes it useful for solo. So you spend time on the story, not looking up pages of rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2015 06:38:56

Considering the instability of the various RuneQuest/Legend editions, and with Chaosium due to release another RuneQuest edition next year, it was probably quite a wise move to develop the Renaissance system as it's own thing.

However, there is nothing better than an entirely self contained game and setting and this one has great potential now that it's been formatted this way. The layout and organisation is sound, with some nice illustrations of the period and the writing is clear and compelling.

It's sits nicely alongside the Clockwork and Chivalry game (also Renaissance based but set about 100 years earlier), and offers some excellent Cthuluoid scares in an 18th Century London setting. It does beg the question whether the Clockwork and Cthulhu supplement will also get a 2nd edition with a full set of rules in the future? Indeed, one wonders whether they can keep making historical settings of this ilk in maybe the 19th and 16th Centuries too? It would certainly make a fine collection!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Abney Park's Airship Pirates
by Ryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2015 05:53:01

Note: Will refer to this book as APAP in this review. Also this will describe how I've been using the book, to give you some idea of it's flexibility.

Mechanics: Uses the Heresy System, created for the Victoriana RPG. When you are making a test you roll a number of d6 equal to their Attribute + Skill. Every 1 and every 6 they roll is a success, with a roll of a 6 exploding. An average test requires two successes to be considered successful. The more successes achieved, the greater the success. Complications are added in the form of Black Dice, which represent adverse or difficult circumstances. These are rolled as part of the dice pool, but for every 1 or 6 rolled on a Black Die, a regular success is negated. It creates a very player driven game, as a DM you really only need to roll for contested items, like combat so you can focus on the narrative -- which I've found very important in the system. To give players a feel of the 'universe' and to give them time to react, describing the scenes around them is very important. A note on Black Dice, incidentally, I've found using them exclusively for aspects of difficulty outside player control is the best way to use them -- using them too much seems to give the impression you're 'picking' on the party. Environmental things, e.g. 'Your Airship is fighting another one in a storm, all handling and gunnery rolls have 2 Black Dice or perhaps 3, as the ship is rocking and shuddering in the high winds and lashing rain.'

Setting: The setting speaks for itself honestly. Steampunk. Airships. Fighting tyranny with piracy! I personally use this to supplement my Victoriana 3rd Edition game, with it's airship rules. So, you can "co-mingle" the systems rather easily. The books setting itself is both brilliant, and at the same time incredibly cheesy - Which may or may not be your cup of tea. From the name of the main antagonist, to other aspects of the setting make this more lighthearted than Victoriana is - it's good fun if you want a more over the top swashbuckling adventure. For your more hardcore RPG fans, who want a serious game, you might want to consider tweaking some of the setting information -- which is why I've used the Victoriana 3rd edition's Crimean War as a backdrop/catalyst nations developing new engines and airships for combat. And so use the airship rules to supplement the game. The flexibility and cross-over of skills means the two books can compliment each other very well.

Essentially, I think it's a really good buy if you want to play a steampunk setting with an emphasis on sky-boats!

Summary: I think it lacks the depth, of a truly hardcore RPG setting, which is really the only thing stopping me from giving it 5 Stars. In combination with Victoriana, which is really the best thing to compare it to, you can create some absolutely fantastic games. But alone, it's a fun entertaining, swashbuckling adventure through the skies.

It stands up on it's own by offering an alternative "future", the Caribbean of the Skies. A dystopian Empire to contend with, whilst your crew bravely uphold their cunning ruse to trade in 'legitimate ports' before making a run with their black market cargo to High Tortuga. Cannons. Swordplay. Stupidly named Airships, because your RP group are all Manchilds. Bargain.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Abney Park's Airship Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 71 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates