DriveThruRPG.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Clockwork and Chivalry 2nd Edition Core Rulebook
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/19/2017 05:55:24

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2017/08/19/rezension-clockwork-and-chivalry-2nd-edition-geschichte-mit-einer-prise-fantasy-cakebread-walton/

Historische Systeme sind euch zu dröge, aber von Fantasy habt ihr auch die Nase voll? Ihr interessiert euch für Steampunk, möchtet aber auch mächtige Zauber wirken und Drachen bekämpfen können? Dann stattet doch den britischen Inseln von Clockwork and Chivalry einen Besuch ab!

Clockwork and Chivalry versucht zu vereinen, was dem passionierten Rollenspieler zunächst als Widerspruch erscheint: ein historisches Szenario und Magie sowie andere Fantasy-Elemente. Na, seid ihr interessiert? Dann kommt mit auf eine Reise ins England des 16. Jahrhunderts, wo sich Parlamentarier und Royalisten im erbitterten Bürgerkrieg gegenüberstehen und versuchen, sich gegenseitig mit Magie und modernsten Maschinen aus dem Land zu jagen.

Die Spielwelt

Wer im Geschichtsunterricht aufgepasst hat, weiß unter Umständen, dass England im 16. Jahrhundert vor allem durch einen Bürgerkrieg geprägt wurde. Gegenüber standen sich die Armeen und Verfechter der englischen Monarchie unter König Charles I. und die Unterstützer des Parlamentarismus um Sir Oliver Cromwell. König Charles I. war der festen Überzeugung, dass die königliche Macht gottgegeben wäre und diese Macht wollte er unter keinen Umständen teilen. Als er dann eine französische Prinzessin heiratete, die obendrein noch katholisch war, fühlten sich die größtenteils anglikanischen Bürger Englands verraten und versammelten sich zum Widerstand. Auch das britische Parlament fühlte sich betrogen und jagte den König kurzerhand aus London. Der König floh gen Norden, und erklärte den Abtrünnigen am 22. August 1642 den Krieg. Dieser beginnende Bürgerkrieg liefert das Grundsetting für Clockwork and Chivalry.

Als Spieler nimmt uns Clockwork and Chivalry mit in diese spannende Zeit englischer Geschichte und lässt uns auf Seiten der Royalisten, der Parlamentarier oder irgendwo dazwischen an den Geschehnissen des Bürgerkriegs teilhaben. Das System orientiert sich hier im Großen und Ganzen an den historischen Ereignissen, was die Recherche vereinfacht. Gleichzeitig bietet das Grundregelwerk einen sehr gelungenen Abriss der Geschehnisse und man fühlt sich als Leser direkt hineingezogen in den englischen Bürgerkrieg. Dabei schafft es das Regelwerk, alle wichtigen historischen Fakten zu liefern, ohne einem Geschichtsvortrag zu gleichen.

Doch wie schon vorher erwähnt, würzt Clockwork and Chivalry die historischen Geschehnisse mit einer gehörigen Prise Fantasy. Sowohl die Royalisten als auch die Parlamentarier entwickelten neue Waffen, um im Krieg die Oberhand zu gewinnen. Königstreue Alchimisten gründeten die Unsichtbare Universität und vertieften sich in ihre Forschungen. Mit der Erschaffung eines sogenannten „Steins der Weisen“ war es den Alchimisten möglich, potente magische Tränke zu brauen und sogar Magie selbst zu wirken. So entstanden in den Reihen der Armee der Royalisten Kampfalchemisten, welche den Armeen der Parlamentarier mit ihren neuen Fähigkeiten zusetzen konnten.

Auf der anderen Seite zogen sich die Parlamentarier in Werkstätten zurück, um ihrerseits neues Kriegsgerät zu entwickeln. Mithilfe von Zahnrädern und einem neu entwickelten Uhrwerkantrieb, entwarfen die parlamentarischen Ingenieure verschiedene Kampfmaschinen: vom stählernen Pferd bis hin zu großen Landschiffen, die frappierende Ähnlichkeit zu frühen Panzerfahrzeugen aufweisen.

Neben Alchemie und modernen Fahrzeugen, bringt Clockwork and Chivalry zusätzlich noch mystische Wesen wie Drachen und Hexen in das Setting. Diese nahezu perfekte Mischung zwischen Geschichte und Fantasy führt dazu, dass jede Spielgruppe selbst entscheiden kann, wo sie ihren Fokus setzen will. Soll es eher historisch sein? Dann werft euch ins Chaos des Bürgerkriegs. Mehr Fantasy gefällig? Warum dann nicht mit Alchemisten auf Drachenjagd gehen? So ist die Welt von Clockwork and Chivalry extrem variantenreich und bietet sehr viel Potenzial für interessante Abenteuer.

Schön ist außerdem, dass man als Spielleiter schon viele Hintergrundinformationen im Basisregelwerk serviert bekommt. Neben allen wichtigen Akteuren des Bürgerkrieges, findet man im Buch eine knackige Beschreibung der einzelnen englischen Provinzen und Zusatzinformationen zu Schottland und Irland. Nur das Bestiarium hätte etwas umfangreicher ausfallen können.

Die Regeln

Das Regelwerk hinter Clockwork and Chivalry basiert auf dem sogenannten „Renaissance System“, einer Weiterentwicklung des Runequest-Regelwerks. Das System basiert auf einem W100 Würfelwurf und ist durch seine einfache Struktur sehr übersichtlich und gut für Einsteiger geeignet. Die Fähigkeiten eines Charakters werden in Basisfähigkeiten, also Fähigkeiten, die man als Mensch mit normalen Fähigkeiten können sollte (z.B. Ausweichen, Schießen, Erste Hilfe etc.), und in fortgeschrittene Fähigkeiten, also Wissen oder Fertigkeiten, die man als Mensch in einem Beruf oder Ähnlichem erlernt (z.B. Alchemie, Medizin, Ingenieurswesen o.Ä.) eingeteilt. Jede der Basisfähigkeiten hat einen Grundwert, der sich aus den Attributen (Stärke, Konstitution, Geschicklichkeit, Größe, Intelligenz, Willenskraft und Charisma) zusammensetzt. Zum Beispiel ist der Grundwert im Ausweichen der doppelte Geschicklichkeitswert und der Grundwert im Schießen setzt sich aus Intelligenz und Geschicklichkeit zusammen. So wird jeder Fertigkeit ein Wert zwischen 0 und 100 zugeordnet. Bei einer Probe gilt es dann, diesen Wert mit einem W100 zu unterschreiten, um die Probe zu bestehen. Zusätzlich kann der Spielleiter Proben erschweren oder erleichtern, sobald z.B. besondere Umwelteinflüsse (starker Wind, eingeschränkte Sicht o.Ä.) die Probe beeinflussen. Auf diesem Prinzip basieren im Endeffekt alle Proben, die in Clockwork and Chivalry durchgeführt werden.

Eine Besonderheit stellen die Regeln für Magie und das Planen und Bauen von Maschinerie dar.

Magie existiert in zwei verschiedenen Ausprägungen: der eher wilden Hexerei und der eher wissenschaftlichen Ausprägung der Alchemie. Beide Ausprägungen ermöglichen es einem Helden, potente Tränke zu brauen und Magie zu wirken. Allerdings unterscheiden sich die Ausprägungen im Detail sehr stark. Alchemisten müssen zunächst einen „Stein der Weisen“ erschaffen, um Magie wirken zu können. Je mehr Energie und Zeit in diesen Stein investiert wird, desto mächtigere Zauber kann der Alchemist später wirken. Eine Probe auf „Elemente formen“ zeigt dann an, ob der Zauber geglückt ist oder nicht. Die Konsequenzen eines Misserfolgs (entweder beim Erstellen des Steins oder beim Wirken des Zaubers) sind teilweise gewaltig. Sollte eine der Probe misslingen, würfelt der jeweilige Spieler auf einer Patzertabelle und unter Umständen jagt der Spieler sich und seine gesamte Gruppe in die Luft. Mit Alchemie sollte man eben nicht leichtfertig umgehen.

Hexen haben es da etwas einfacher. Sie verzichten komplett auf die Verwendung eines „Stein der Weisen“ und müssen sich lediglich darum kümmern, dass passende Zutaten zu den magischen Ritualen vorhanden sind. Beide Ausprägungen der Magie bieten jeweils eine eigene Liste an Zaubern, die sich erlernen lassen.

Der Bau von Maschinen ist etwas komplizierter und aufwendiger. Erfinder können entweder mithilfe einer Blaupause versuchen, etwas zu bauen oder sich eigene Designs ausdenken. Haben sie endlich eine Blaupause, so müssen erstmal die entsprechenden finanziellen Mittel aufgetrieben werden, bevor die Maschine konstruiert werden kann. Leider ist dieser Prozess nicht nur in der Spielwelt sehr zeitaufwendig. Vor allem sobald der Erfinder eigene Designs entwickeln will, muss der Spielleiter viel improvisieren und der Held wird im Spiel wahrscheinlich mehrere Wochen nicht mehr aus seiner Werkstatt herauskommen. Dies kann zwar auch ein interessanter Aufhänger für Abenteuer sein (z.B.: Ein reicher Mäzen will dem Erfinder eine große Summe zugänglich machen, wenn die Gruppe ihm den lästigen Drachen aus dem Garten schafft.), aber im Spiel erweist sich das Ganze leider als sehr zeitaufwendig und die Regeln als zu starr.

Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung in Clockwork and Chivalry ist - wie der Großteil des übrigen Systems - ebenfalls sehr einfach und einsteigerfreundlich. Nachdem man sich ein ungefähres Bild davon gemacht hat, was man eigentlich erstellen möchte, würfelt man zunächst die Attribute aus. Aus diesen errechnen sich dann weitere abgeleitete Werte wie Lebenspunkte, Schadensbonus etc. sowie die Basisfertigkeiten.

Als nächstes entscheidet man sich für eine soziale Kaste des eigenen Helden. Soll es ein Bettler sein oder doch eher ein aufstrebender Adliger? Vielleicht ein edler Ritter oder doch ein Bauerntölpel? Zur Auswahl stehen insgesamt fünf Kasten, die alle einen unterschiedlichen Bonus auf Grundfertigkeiten bieten und den Zugang zu unterschiedlichen fortgeschrittenen Fähigkeiten ermöglichen. Zusätzlich unterscheiden sich die Klassen im Hinblick auf das Startkapital jedes Spielers und bei den zur Verfügung stehenden Berufen.

Bei den Berufen kann der Spieler zwischen vielen unterschiedlichen Professionen auswählen. Von Alchemisten über einfache Holzarbeiter und Bauern bis hin zu Rittern und Musketieren stehen den Spielern viele Möglichkeiten offen, solange sie die passende soziale Klasse ausgewählt haben. Jeder Beruf bringt wiederrum unterschiedliche Boni in den Fertigkeiten mit sich und bestimmt außerdem die Startausrüstung des jeweiligen Helden.

Zuletzt dürfen sich die Spieler noch einer bestimmten Fraktion anschließen. Neben unterschiedlichen Unterfraktionen der Royalisten und Parlamentariern stehen auch neutrale Gruppierungen zur Verfügung. Hier muss man als Spielleiter etwas vorsichtig sein, da viele der Fraktionen sich feindlich gegenüberstehen und Gruppen aus Parlamentariern und Royalisten unter Umständen sehr schnell auseinanderbrechen können. Zusätzlich bestimmt jeder Spieler die Anzahl der sog. „Rechtschaffenheits-Punkte“. Diese Punkte stellen die Loyalität der Spieler zu einer Organisation dar. Hat ein Held eine hohe Anzahl der Punkte, wird er zum glühenden Fanatiker der Ideologie der Fraktion, während eine geringe Anzahl an Punkten dazu führt, dass der Held öfter an den Idealen seiner Vorgesetzten und Brüdern/Schwestern zweifelt. Die Anzahl an Punkten variiert stetig und sobald die Punkte auf 0 sinken, bricht der Held mit seiner Fraktion. Zusätzlich können die Punkte auch von NPCs oder anderen Spielern beeinflusst werden. Mit einer Probe auf diese „Rechtschaffenheits-Punkte“ können andere Spieler per Würfelwurf von ihren Idealen abgebracht werden und sogar den Bezug zu ihrer Fraktion verlieren. Aber warum sollte ich meinen Helden plötzlich mit anderen Werten spielen, nur weil jemand gut gegen mich würfelt? Hier haben sich die Autoren leider etwas in den Regeln verloren und man sollte sich gut mit den einzelnen Spielern abstimmen, ob man diese Regeln nutzen will oder nicht.

Erscheinungsbild

Mit knapp über 400 Seiten ist das Grundregelwerk von Clockwork and Chivalry relativ umfangreich. Das Buch ist komplett in Schwarz-Weiß gedruckt und macht leider einen etwas biederen ersten Eindruck. Die wenigen Illustrationen sind zudem in einem Stil gehalten, der zwar passend zum 16. Jahrhundert Erinnerungen an zeitgenössische Kupferstiche weckt, allerdings dem Vergleich mit modernen vollfarbigen Regelwerken nicht standhält. Viele der Illustrationen kommen einem eher wie Kinderzeichnungen vor und vor allem bei den Waffen kann man teilweise nicht viel erkennen. Das führt dazu, dass der Ersteindruck des Regelwerks leider nicht sehr einladend ist. Im Laden würde man das Buch nach einem ersten Durchblättern wahrscheinlich nicht mit nach Hause nehmen.

Sieht man aber von den Illustrationen ab, ist das Grundregelwerk sehr übersichtlich sortiert und in einer angenehmen Schrift geschrieben. Neben einem übersichtlichen Index stehen dem Spielleiter auch Kurzreferenzseiten zur Verfügung, die das Nachschlagen von Regeln während des Spiels deutlich erleichtern. Außerdem bietet das Grundregelwerk gleich zwei komplette Abenteuer und mehrere Ideen für weitere Abenteuer.

Fazit

Clockwork and Chivalry schafft den schwierigen Spagat zwischen einem unverbrauchten historischen Setting und klassischer Fantasy. Wenn man sich nicht von der etwas biederen Präsentation abschrecken lässt, bekommt man ein vielseitiges und dennoch einfaches Regelsystem und eine spannende Spielwelt, in der man sich sofort zu Hause fühlt. Auch über so manche Regeln, wie z.B. das System zum Bauen von Maschinen oder die Fraktionen, kann man hinwegsehen.

Für rund 80 EUR bekommt man zusätzlich noch mehrere Abenteuer zum sofort Losspielen und Regeln, um das Renaissance System auch selbst für eigene Rollenspiele zu verwenden.

Die Rezension basiert auf einem eigenen Spieltest sowie mehreren erstellten Charakteren.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clockwork and Chivalry 2nd Edition Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Robin Hood - CW005016
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2017 08:44:56

Always loved Robin Hood as kid, especially Robin of Sherwood tv series, i applaud OneDice on this Robin Hood game. All i need now is some figures. Well done on a fine product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Robin Hood - CW005016
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Hauntaway
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2017 12:38:40

I have only recently come to the OneDice system, and I have loved everything so far. Hauntaway is no exception to the rule. I have spent awhile looking for an affordable copy of the old West End Ghostbusters RPG, to no avail, only to have stumbled upon this little gem. While I am not going to break down the game chapter by chapter, I can tell you that this handles Ghostbusters quite well. Its easy to stat up the characters from the 1984 movie and adapt the one adventure I have for the old game to the OneDice system. The system is totally flexiable and with its compatibltiy with other OneDice games, it means that you can do more than just chase ghosts in the modern day. My next campaign with this book will totally be a Hauntaway romp in the 1930s America, can anything be more specatular than pulp ghostbusting?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Hauntaway
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Pirates & Dragons
by Morten H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2017 02:00:00

I have mixed feelings about this product.

The Good

  • The system is simple, and good for beginners / kids. I like Stunts Points, which save combat from becoming a dull affair.
  • The concept of the setting is great. Pirates, dragons, ancient ruins, necromantic magic, savage natives, sea monsters, etc. I normally don't like swashbuckling, but this captures my imagination.

The Bad

  • The book was clearly written in a hurry, probably as a quick-and-dirty summary of the larger Renaissance version. For example, the Table of Concents is missing 30 pages (pages 88-118); the ship statistics on page 57 contains terms that are not desxplained until page 82; the map contains location numbers, but the island location descriptions doesn't contain these numbers, so you'll have to translate back and forth via a separate location number<->name mapping table => a lot of page flipping.
  • While flavorful, there is too little information on the setting, so expect a lot of home-work in adventure creation (if you care about detail, that is). Island locations (of which there are many) have a write-up of only a few lines of text. Monsters get only one line. And the font is huge. You can easily read the entire product (134 pages) in a couple of hours.
  • Pictures are of below-average quality. The only nice picture is on the cover.
  • No detailed starting location/village, no starting adventure. All you get is some generic adventure seeds and hooks.
  • The names: Uropans (europeans), Esbanians (spaniards), Adalantic Ocean (Atlantic Ocean), etc. Its a detail, but I find such names to be lacking in imagination.

Overall rating: 3/5. Meh. Great promise, poor execution.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Universal
by Ade J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2017 06:20:57

Really good system - It works. It's good for experienced and new players as well as younger gamers. The mechanics are based around a d6 roll so are simple to pick up with a quick read through. What needs to be realised is that this is a toolbox for creating your own settings and worlds: There are some "Skins" included but are deliberately kept minimal to show what the rules are capable of.

I like the writing style and it comes over well. I love the the digest size and I just wish more companies used this format. Also of note is the cover art - please keep the cover as common theme through future releases. A great product at an amazing price. Quick, fast and fun. Savage Worlds has a worthy basic digest sized game competitor at last.

Can't wait for the promised settings books - they really will be the icing on the cake (bread ?) !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Universal Revised
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 09:21:30

PDF Version (Quick disclaimer: I am the author of some other OneDice material and a big fan of the system since its inception)

Updated and revised, the OneDice Universal ruleset goes from strength to strength. The original was good but it just got better with additional rules and ideas between the covers. Love the new look cover too.

The page count now stands at over 80 pages with the rules for Mooks & Minions plus Sanity in there too. The layout has also improved making it even easier to read through. Additionally, the book also includes a multiplayer fantasy adventure plus a solo play (Pick a Path style) Sci Fi one.

Great for any age group and the rules actually encourage roleplay rather than just rolling dice. A good system for teaching rp as well as for more experienced gamers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Heydelberg Horror
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 09:06:38

PDF Version A great and different addition to the Clockwork & Chivalry line. This (the first of a campaign) is set in Europe rather than the United Kingdom and features extra rules for the creation of more diverse PCs. The adventure itself is well written and well worth the money with a well woven story and background which is very tricky to comment on without giving any spoilers.

The art and maps are decent too and have quite a period look to them.

Rest assured you won't be disappointed

As a side note : With a bit of work this adventure can be also used quite easily with the Renaissance RPG Deluxe rules, BRP and CoC.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Heydelberg Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Casino
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2017 12:54:15

I don't really think this product fits the 'Flintlock & Steel' header. I bought it under the assumption that it was suitable for Renaissance... a grotty casino that might fit in that general period... but turns out it's a modern era thing with slot machines and skyscrapers. The NPCs are film noir archetypes... so less useful for games set in the 1600s. It does have a Renaissance version of all the NPC stats, so there's that. I'm sure I could change the names, rearrange the floorplan, add in some historical flavor... but at that point I've pretty much written my own location, so why do I want/need this?

Still, it was cheap enough that I can just chalk it up an an 'Oh well'... maybe I can find some use for it in a Call of Cthulhu game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Casino
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Universal
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:15:08

Simplistic not simple. I can't imagine why anyone...including myself spent money on this.

I checked out the quickstart. I for some reason thought that there had to be crunchier rules in the actual settings/universal rules...there aren't. No ranged combat. Even though weapons are given ranges. I figure the GM is supposed to SWAG that. Since it appears that despite PCs having a movement rating there seems to be no apparent reason given for having one. No rules for covering distances on foot at all. No rules for cover. Although the GM can arbitrarily determine if a roll has advantage or disadvantage. This book has no setting, but costs as much or more than the setting books. Here's the catch the setting books have the same set of minimal rules in them. I bought this Universal set of rules on sale for a little over 5 USD. Each setting book is regularly 7 USD. You can get the entire Fate Core set of rules and Fate Accelerated, over 400+pages of complete rules, for pay as you want. You can presently get 25+ complete settings for Fate Core each pay as you want.

The price point of this material is grossly overrated. Give it a pass. Spend a bit of time shopping on RpgNow and find something worth your money. This ain't it. I also bought another setting book from OneDice brand; Steampunk. Again, way over priced. You can get other settings with complete rules for steampunk such as the original Space 1889 from GDW.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.19 and Moving on p.20 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Steampunk
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2017 23:55:05

Disappointment and buyer's remorse. Definitely not worth the price. This is one of two OneDice products I have bought. Neither are worth the price of admission (and I got it on sail).

The art is adequate. The production values are good. Tidy.

The setting is barely adequate. You can get a great VSF setting with a complete set of rules (on this site) for just about 8 USD (with 200+ pages). Good old Space 1889 from GDW. GDW's rules are clunky but can be easily replaced by other rules, but are pretty much complete.

Which brings us to OneDice Steampunk. Rules. Not complete. Simplistic not simple. Simplified to the point so as to be useless. Characters are given a movement rate. How many meters in a turn. Why? Not really sure. No rules for movement are presented; other than moving out of close combat. We aren't even told how to move into close combat. Ranged weapons have ranges. Awesome. Why? To what purpose? I don't know because they are listed but have no context or discussion and no rules. The Attribute+Skill+die roll is ok, but in combat is woefully unexplained in that a GM can dictate that a roll can be at an advantage or disadvantage (+2 or -2) but no real examples are given. They certainly aren't discussed as part of combat where they may or may not be for cover or range (not even mentioned).

More thought was given to the setting, but barely. That is why I gave it two stars instead of one. There are some great Spacepunk settings out there for way less. Spend your money on them. If this is an example of all the OneDice games...I am sorry. Don't buy them. I also bought OneDice Universal so I have a feeling this is endemic of the brand.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.22 and Moving on p.24 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." Also, the +/-2 advantage/disadvantage is covered by exactly the examples you wanted - see p.23 Having the Advantage "fighting an enemy climbing up a slope, having cover from ranged attacks, etc.)." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Universal
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 20:19:09

I love this system. It isn't my main system but love using it with my kids. That is not to say this is kids system, but it is very easy and straightforward. It feels robust enough to make it feel like it doesn't lack anything. That being said, only being a d6, the system doesn't have the granularity of most systems. This system would be great choice for kids, learning your first system, or a quick way to test an idea you may want to roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Universal
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:53:45

I bought the PDF and print versions of this book. I also bought OneDice Cyberpunk and I have left a review for that product. In a nutshell, OneDice Universal is a quick-to-learn, simple yet highly expandable game system which is perfect for getting a game up and running at the drop of a hat. As a parent with very little spare time, I can see our group adopting this as our go-to game. With an ever expanding range of books in the OneDice system, I can definitely see us buying all of them (and actually using them) Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
OneDice Cyberpunk
by Matt A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 04:46:07

I've only flipped through the PDF while I wait for the printed book version to arrive, but I have to say that I am very impressed. The system is so very straight forward and simple, yet not so simple that it doesn't leave room for expansion. In fact, the possibilities are endless with the OneDice system. I'm not soing to go into detail about the system as there is a quick-start version of the OneDice system available here on DriveThru. The overall feel of OneDice reminds me of the simplicity of Fighting Fantasy, and in fact there is a solo adventure in the quick-start book which is classic example of this general feel. Cyberpunk RPGs can be notoriously complex because of the cyberspace/matrix/jacking-in element which is a hard thing to put into practice at the game table, but the cyberspace rules in OneDice CyberPunk are so straightforward that it's going to a breeze to play. I can't recommend OneDice CyberPunk, and the OneDice system in general. As a parent who doesn't get much spare time, this is the perfect game system for me and my family. Also the publisher has priced all of the OneDice books very reasonably so I can see myself buying all the printed books eventually. Money well spent, and a fantastic book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Cyberpunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:07:34

Simply my favourite cosmic horror game! Wonderful period, loads of atmosphere and game mechanics that only support the experience rather than get in the way!

LOVE IT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Streets 2nd Edition - Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Renaissance Deluxe
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 16:00:55

Truly wonderful piece of work! Cannot speak highly enough of this system; if you wanted CoC to be a bit more detailed or for BRP to get to the point, get this.

If you love the idea of a period not often covered by the plethora of games available today (1640-1740) then get this. Even if you are just a bit curious, then, for the price, get this :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Renaissance Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 77 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates