DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition: Return to Merlantis
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:46:52

See my review of 'Deadly Missions 2nd Ed. - The Portal' for my main thoughts about the game...

The 3rd edition of Deadly Missions is chiefly just a case of more is more. More characters, more creature tokens, more villains and another tile set to romp around on. For me thats easily worth the price alone.

There are however a few more things worth considering though...

  1. The rulebook has been improved. It's a little clearer and has a slightly better layout.

  2. There are some new abilities that are great additions. particularly the ruthless 'Swashbuckler'!

  3. We have water creatures/characters/villains and new rules for them.

  4. There are now blank templates and a point system for creating your own characters, villains or creatures.

In short, there's more new content than you can shake a stick at, the game has been improved and you now have all you need to create your own custom content. Definitely worth purchasing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition:  Return to Merlantis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition: THE PORTAL
by R. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 18:03:24

Deadly Missions is a 'print & play' Dungeon Crawler. Does the world need another Dungeon Crawler? Yes, certainly and here's why...

If you look at the Grey Matter Games section on DrivethruRPG you'll see that Deadly Missions has been consistently improved and expanded upon over quite a few years. This means that if you like it's basic premise you can slowly turn it into one mighty big game chock full of monsters, villains, heroes and artifacts that will give it almost infinite replay-ability.

The aim of the game is to gather 4-6 heroes with varying skill sets and pit them against a villain or boss monster in a dungeon of randomised tiles. Monsters appear ranked from 1st level goons up to 3rd level bad asses. The combat rules are simple but effective and doors and difficult types of terrain are covered well. I particularly like the fact that rear attacks are in the rules. The popular Dungeons and Dragons board games don't actually have have this seemingly essential tactic! You can even run out of arrows for your bow. Then you have to hope you can find some more on a dead Goblin. Yikes! Heroes and villains have access to any of the 48 abilities in the rules. As you can imagine this makes for a very interesting selection of characters. I like to randomise the characters I play and find the best way that the group can work together.

The 2nd edition of Deadly Missions is a great improvement over the first both in terms of the art and graphics and also the rules. All of the character art for the standees and cards is produced by the author and this is what really makes Deadly Missions so unique to me. David Wears has a great cartoon style of art that blends very well with his vision of pure unabashed fantasy. I particularly like all the anthropomorphic heroes.

Deadly Missions is really a sandbox game. Suggestions are made for three adventures. 1, defeat the main villain. 2, rescue the prisoner and 3, find the summoning circle and defeat the boss monster. That's it really. Yet, if you look at the tiles that come with the game (or even better the expansion Fantasy Quest 3 or indeed any of the many tile sets available online) See Lord Zsezse Works!) then you can let your imagination soar and come up with adventure ideas only limited by your imagination. The rules are light and flexible enough to accommodate any ideas you have.

So yes. I believe Deadly Missions is essential if you love Dungeon Crawling and are prepared to print and create your own game. Huge fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 2econd Edition:  THE PORTAL
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HEROIC MISSIONS: Deadly Missions 4th Edition
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2017 08:12:42

GMG once again has raised the awesomeness bar to new heights with 4th edition and even more it comes with so many amazing new minis and items it is definitely well worth it, 5/5!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HEROIC MISSIONS:  Deadly Missions 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Era Of War: Camel FAAV
by Dave H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2016 17:12:47

Such a wonderful Sci Fi/ Near Future vehicle. I have to confess to doing some kitbashes, but it really lends itself to that. I've done these as scouts and light support. Even turned one into a follow me car.

I hope to see more vehicles of similar quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Era Of War:  Camel FAAV
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Water Dice Tower
by Mike K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 14:45:30

This looks really neat. It would be a good set piece for wild west games like Deadlands and others.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Water Dice Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition: Return to Merlantis
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2016 11:26:29

First off... there is SO much in this set to love.

It's a complete system that is easy to pick up and has been lovingly playtested and developed over a long period of time. Everything from blasters and vehicles to monsters and aliens! It can do anything!

You get some pretty amazing game tiles for gaming. That alone makes this worth picking up from many gamers. I could see an awesome James Bond adventure with the tiles making up the big bad's base.

The minis are so fun! There is an anthropomorphic panda that is just amazing. It's my new favourite.

Top down counters for monsters speed up the process and make it faster to get playing the game.

All this and BLANK CARDS too. This lets you make custom characters to play the game.

Another great set from Grey Matter Games!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: 3rd Edition:  Return to Merlantis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Water Dice Tower
by Nancy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2016 23:24:19

Poor instructions. You have to know your paper models to figure this one out and even then, it is extremely difficult to figure out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Water Dice Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2016 20:42:12

I bought these having no idea what to do with them, until I printed and glued them. Then, I looked on the shelf and my old copy of Fairy Meat was calling to me. Deadly Princess Cannabalistic Murderfest!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

AWP Hornet Dropship
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2015 12:58:33

Haven't tried to build it yet, so my review is a bit skewed. This is a nice looking model, enough detail to look good on a miniature battlefield without too many fiddly bits.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AWP Hornet Dropship
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Scum And Villainy
by sergio g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 13:28:36

I think that DM: Scum and Villainy is a good source of information for new players. For more experienced players that tend to create their own villains and baddies this does not offer much to them. If the characters were more original, offering new ideas or skills , it would appeal to a broader audience as it will offer a platform for new players, and some ideas to experienced players.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Scum And Villainy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Scum And Villainy
by Tracy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 22:56:06

Found it useful. Maybe not a "must have" but nice to have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Universal Masters Set One
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 14:59:24

Hello Childhood!

My only beef is that printing this out wastes a bunch of ink, due to all the full-color stuff the figures share the page with. Otherwise, really fun little standups. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Universal Masters Set One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
by David O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2015 15:49:52

This is a VERY fun set from Grey Matter Games! First off, the attention to detail with the product is brilliant, everything from the font choice for the front cover to the choices made to make the princesses 'playable' in a fantasy setting. The minis themselves are a great addition to any superhero to fantasy game. It would be really fun to see a "minion" set building up forces for each princess. There could be cold themed beasts, sea creatures, etc. to suit the background of each character. It's nice to see the artist getting back into hand drawn figures. His style really shines here and he has allowed himself to loosen up and create something very fun and cartoony.
Great Product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DEADLY MISSIONS: Deadly Princesses
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2015 23:46:52

So, I'll be honest; this was 100% whim for me. I don't have the Deadly Missions rules, nor am I super interested in them, so I can't comment on how this supplement fits in with the game.

What I can say, is that I now have 8 Disney Princesses with the serial numbers filed off, Pathfinder classes where said numbers used to be, as little cardstock standup minis. This is glorious. I plan on using them in a Fables (the comic) style storyline in a Champions game sometime. I expect my players to go bananas.

Wish the resolution on the art was a touch higher, but on the whole, these are delightful little cutouts. I did need my own stands for them - I use the Fantasy Flight clear plastic stands, which are a couple bucks on Amazon - and glued a tiny bit of foam to make them fit snugly. Additional cardstock/paper would work fine too.

This is delightful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Outlaws Set One
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 21:18:47

A great new offering from the mind of Grey Matter Games designer David Wears! The hand drawn figures by Brent K Davis are superb and can be used for Deadly Missions as well as many different western style games , and the gold mine tiles from Nemo Works are top notch as well. I can say that after waiting for a good bit for this to be finished, I was not disappointed. Just the thought of mixing these guys up with other genres as they venture through the portal has definitely whetted my gaming appetite. I need to go watch Cowboys and Aliens again! Seriously though, I can't wait to see where else in the West that Grey Matter Games goes from here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLY MISSIONS: Outlaws Set One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 51 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates