DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Frontier Explorer - Issue 1
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2016 03:17:25

Of the freebie ezines on Traveller, this was the one I liked the most, I preferred it to Colonial Times



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 16
by daniel t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 12:24:55

**** Enjoyed it a great deal, excellent graphics, interesting articles. Very good content



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 16
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 16
by anon y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2016 10:00:54

Another great issue from the folks I have come to think of as "the Toms" and the still-vibrant Star Frontiers community. If this is your first issue and you're wondering if this is pre- or post-Zebulon's Guide material... it's kind of both, and most of any issue is relevant either way. The comics, artwork, and fiction is all good enough to stand on its own, even if you're not a player- if the Dralasite jokes go over your head, you're probably short and have three legs anyway.

This time around, a new(ish) race, new gear & weapons, a new megacorp, and new vehicles. Campaign tips, a book review, and cultural expansions round things out. Stuff like this is why Star Frontiers isn't just another nostalgia RPG. It's alive, and relevant, and still a heck of a lot of fun after all these years. Grab the back issues while you're here!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 15
by Philip C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 08:35:43

Always a good magazine with a good mix of articles expanding the rules and setting of the Star Frontiers game but can easily be adapted to any other Sci Fi RPG. A couple of nice fiction stories and continuing comic series round out the offerings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 15
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 11
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2015 16:44:52

It was Great! I love that other people still Frontier! The original game had single 64 page rule book and 128 page expansion. The articles in Frontier Explorer have greatly increased the depth of the universe, most of it better than the original!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 11
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 11
by Rose T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2015 15:14:10

I have been playing for a long time and I enjoy new ideas and help hints that it gives me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #1
by Benjamin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2015 15:43:33

Excellent mag! I enjoyed this issues alternate method of awarding EXP, I started using it right away in my current campaign. I hope that some day they will collect all the best from this publication and put out a Zebulon 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 8
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 14:15:03

I've recently had the privilege to download Frontier Explorer #8, edited by Tom Stephens and Tom Verrieult(I suppose I should call them the Brothers Brothers :) ). It is a worthy successor to the Star Frontiersman e-magazine, which has fallen upon hard times and plagued for several issues now with subpar material.

The Frontier Explorer doesn't suffer from this. Over the entire eight-issue run, the zine's articles and fiction have been entertaining, informative, and innovative, assets to both the gaming community at large and to the Star Frontiers' role players whom the zine was primarily meant to serve. I would especially like to see more of Scott Mulder's Titan Rising series, perhaps as a back cover replacement for the Grymz comics(by the same author) which are there now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 8
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 8
by Rand H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2014 12:46:03

Excellent fan based contributions. Better than the Dragon for Star Frontiers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #24
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2014 18:52:45

A really neat magazine for a really neat blast from the past. There is a lot to love in this issue. The crazy awesome architecture on the cover is a taste, but the stuff inside is great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Frontiersman #24
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sathar Destroyer Technical Manual
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/21/2014 08:15:12

Whilst designed for use with the Star Frontiers RPG originally published by TSR, the Sathar Destroyer would make an excellent alien vessel whatever ruleset you are using.

The first part describes the general style of the vessel, which is built by and for a race called the Sathar. If you need to know who they are, consult Frontier Explorer Magazine #6, which is available for free download here, although if you use this as a derelict alien ship to be explored, it is not so important to know about its original owners. The whole appearance is 'alien' and hints are given as to how to convey this to the party. The whole layout, too, reflects an alien philosophy and approach to life rather neatly.

This section is followed by an overall plan and detailed deck plans for each level. These are reference plans for referee use, there are also full plans - at a size suitable for miniatures or counters if you use them - provided as part of the download. Here, though, there are descriptions and notes on what is to be found where.

There's a short section on ancillary vessels - work pods, shuttles - and robots that are carried (which may or may not be present if a derelict destroyer is to be discovered; and then comes a section on shipboard life - assuming that the Sathar are there to enjoy it. A couple of pictures show you want they look like.

Overall, this is an interesting ship with a genuinely alien feel to it. Particular features are the low ceilings (1.5m), rounded corners on everything, the use of 'pool beds' for sleeping, relaxation and acceleration couches, and the fact that you cannot reach all parts of the ship - being a caste-based society, they see no need for interaction over and above basic communications between different areas. A spot of proofreading would have helped, but you can generally work out what was intended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sathar Destroyer Technical Manual
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 7
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2014 12:13:29

Interesting and informative. I like the step-by-step how-to article; nicely detailed. This would be a good magazine for those dipping their toes into the RPG world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 5
by Jeff N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2013 13:48:42

For a game thats long out of publication, support, and even popularity, home-grown support is sparse. Good to see there is still a little life in this game.

For a self-published magazine, the quality is quite good - layout, presentation, and even the syntax is spot-on. You can see its a labour of love.

Hats off and good job - I'm waiting for Issue 6



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Explorer - Issue 5
by Justin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2013 02:03:52

I don't really get into the content that much, but I download this 'zine every time because the covers are awesome. Five times in a row: awesome. And I really do mean that as in "inspiring awe", because the capture the essence of what makes space opera and hard sci fi magical. I judge this 'zine by it's cover, and that is a very very good thing!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 3
by Jeff D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2013 12:20:16

Frontier Explorer combines the old school fun of a gazeteer with a more modern and analytical view of sci-fi games and their rules. This issue (Issue 3) features articles and advice specific to robots and A.I.s of various types and how they can fit into a campaign; along with ship designs, and much more. Frontier Explorer is well written and contains a lot of good source material and advice for any sci-fi fan and/or gamer. That it's available for FREE is pretty damned amazing. My personal test for any publication is this: Is the content quality such that I'd pay for a subscription to it? Answer: For Frontier Explorer, absolutely yes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Explorer - Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates