DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
(Adventures) The Cooperative Dungeon Collection (01 - 04)
by Timothy J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 15:36:42

Great! I wish I had some money so I could buy some of the other stuff you have available...LOL!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(Adventures) The Cooperative Dungeon Collection (01 - 04)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 Things Can Happen
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2015 12:58:22

Recently, my appreciation for random tables has skyrocketed. I’ve spent some time analyzing my weakness as a GM, what kinds of things I have trouble coming up with on the fly, and I realized that getting some random tables that cover those areas that I’m weak in are a huge help. I prefer to just randomly pick from the table, rather than rolling, because it saves time, it’s easier to find a result that’s appropriate, and you can avoid duplication that way (how many times have you rolled percentile dice on a d100 table and gotten the same result you made four rolls ago, even though there are still 85 results that you haven’t rolled yet?)

As for 30 Things Can Happen by Creative Mountain Games, I have to say that this is one of the best random events products I’ve found, mainly because of its great organization.

There are three main categories of events: City, Country and Underground.

Each of those categories is divided into ten sub-categories. For example, the sub-categories under City are: 1) at the city gate; 2) on the street; 3) alleys and slums; 4) taverns; 5) an outdoor market; 6) an arena; 7) a castle or keep; 8) shops 9) a temple; 10) during a chase.

Country and Underground are divided up the same way. For example, Underground sub-categories include things such as: at the entrance, at an intersection, in a narrow passage, near a stream… ten sub-categories in all. Country cub-categories include things like: at a crossroads, near a waterfall, at a festival, the forest, by the sea… again, ten sub-categories in all.

So three categories with ten sub-categories each, that’s a total of 30 sub-categories. Each of those sub-categories lists 30 random events, for a total of 900.

But it gets better. Each of those sub-categories is divided once again three-ways, with ten events listed under each. For example, the City category/Arena sub-category has ten results for people participating in the arena contests, ten results for the audience, and ten results for the animals that are in the arena. The Country category/by-the-Sea subcategory has ten results for events on the beach, ten results sticking out of the water, and ten results underwater.

And of those 900 random events, some of them have still even more options, from which you can randomly roll for using a d6, or just select yourself. For example, two guards may be arguing over either their pay, their spouses, or a local tournament. The mushrooms that the PC finds could either be poisonous and delicious, edible and delicious, or colorful but disgusting. From what I’ve found, the majority of these options are in the City category, and rest are Underground.

The one way they could have made this better is if Creative Mountain had linked the Table of Contents to the page it was pointing to, but it’s a small complaint since it only takes a few seconds to get to the appropriate page manually. Over all, I’m quite impressed with this product, and I wish that other random event/encounter products were as well organized.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30 Things Can Happen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Sourcebook) Superstitions
by Carl C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 16:15:04

A list of superstitions, and the magic they can inspire. These are not magic plots; they are simple and direct things like magic items and spells. I would have prefered a somewhat more comprehensive treatment of fewer superstitions; this book feels very much like an introduction to the subject. Still, it provides some inspiration.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
(Sourcebook) Superstitions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 Things Can Happen
by Carl C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 16:12:14

This book is quite inventive, and the 30 things are split into 3 sections of 10 things each on different themes, making them useful in more specific situations. Overall good value.As a randomizer to jog the old creative juices into action this is quite useful, but the situations are very rudimentary, nothing like complete plots. I got it at a sale; the full price feels somewhat high.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30 Things Can Happen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Generator) Unlimited Titles 5
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2015 00:12:22

Simply a random word generator that outputs the text to a box superimposed over a book binding. The names are nothing special, and the visual aspect is wonky, no where nearly as ncie as what the Example image implies.

It would get two or three stars from me if this were free. But to pay money for this? Sorry, this is a fail. //TB



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
(Generator) Unlimited Titles 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2015 14:13:35

Fun little dice game. Has come in handy as a timekiller/rp outlet while a PC/DM was busy with something else. Easy to learn and play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Sourcebook) Superstitions
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 21:38:18

Over 40 superstitions - quirky fun. Many excellent ideas to integrate into my games. Actual superstitions with spells, creatures and items that fit each superstition. Can be used for NPCs, town rumors and PC fears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(Sourcebook) Superstitions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 Things Can Happen
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2014 09:43:07

Really liked the While in a City, While in the Country and While Underground breakouts. I will use some of the ideas I pick out myself rather than roll for random events.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
30 Things Can Happen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Playouts) Small Keep
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2014 09:22:27

Small, 6 level fort that is adaptable. Took a while to figure out all the images as there are many objects in each room and no key. Includes sheet of many items and blank floor tiles to create your own room/floor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
(Playouts) Small Keep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Aid) Firebeetle's Quick Sheets
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2014 09:14:32

I have not used these yet, so only 3 stars. I like that they take little ink to print multiple copies. These extract essential stats for different classes for more rapid play. Options to create different classes included.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
(Aid) Firebeetle's Quick Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
by Mark W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2014 09:06:09

Fun game to add to any adventure. Full description of rules and suggested options make this easy to work into almost any scenario where you want your adventurers to compete non-violently with each other.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
by James M L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2014 12:18:03

As someone that does Pirate at Renaissance Faires, this is a favorite game to play while "On watch" and interacting with the patrons. Easy to teach and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fighting Fire - Ernie Gygax Benefit Adventure
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/24/2014 18:29:56

WHAT WORKS: The Fire Mage turns out to be an interesting adversary with some great plot hooks for an ongoing campaign. The epic poem is a nice touch. A number of the other encounters are standouts, such as the Ettin, the Fire Giants, and crossing the bridge in the dwarven mines. Many of the art pieces are very evocative.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: A few things might be tough to model if your favorite system doesn't have an existing analogue. I get what they were going for with Gamington, but it might be a tad too cheesy for an ongoing campaign, but your mileage may well vary in that regard.

CONCLUSION: A touching tribute for a trying situation, and a pretty good dungeon crawl to boot. The Gamington premise is cute, but an ill-fit for more serious campaigns, but that may also serve as an acceptable break for the rest of the campaign world. Of course, you can run it as a one shot, and those concerns are invalid, but there are a lot of cool little threads that can be picked up from this adventure and used in a larger campaign. Worth buying for the cause, worth playing for the adventure.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-fighting-fire-ernie.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fighting Fire - Ernie Gygax Benefit Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

30 Things Can Happen
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/13/2014 06:54:37

WHAT WORKS: It's a book of random tables...and it gives me an excuse to use my d30. Hard to top that. Especially since the tables are set up to use d10s or d20s as well, maximizing utility.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: $6 might sound like a tad much for 30 pages of random tables. Obviously, if you don't like random results, look elsewhere.

CONCLUSION: Creative Mountain Games knew this was going to get high marks from me, because I mention random tables all the time. Strong recommendation if you're into that sort of thing. Stay away if you don't.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-30-things-can-happen.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
30 Things Can Happen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:56:24

I'd heard of the game, just not ever played it before. Good game, very old seafaring game, will add a lot of fun & realism to our sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(Dice Games) Ship, Captain, Crew
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 86 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates