DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
2300AD: Rescue Run
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2013 02:36:51

Rescue Run begins some new adventures as the start of Grendelssaga, which I'd probably call an adventure in three parts plus source material, considering the amount of action versus hints dropped in this instalment. It really brings to life some of those innocuous numbers like "length of day" and "orbital eccentricity", as well as the new edition's elements like DNAMs and Pentapod weirdness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD: Rescue Run
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Drow War: Book 3 - The Darkest Hour
by steven r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2013 15:27:00

I am a publisher so I usually never write a review.


This is an awesome adventure and is one of the best designed sandbox games I have ever run for any level of play much less high levels of play. The Npcs in this book and their relationships with each other are just amazing. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys good game design. I especially love the breakdown of factions and how they relate to each other, all done quite simply with in character quotes, just brilliant.


The planer worlds you visit in this campaign are all incredibly interesting and compelling. I hope one day Mongoose will do a kickstarter to do a high quality production version of this for pathfinder with the Mythic Rules when they come out.


Steve Russell
Rite Publishing



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Drow War: Book 3 - The Darkest Hour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Infernum - Book of the Damned
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2013 03:12:01

Haven't played it yet. But, have read up to 40 or so pages and so far I am very impressed. Good writing and art. Great concept. Well executed. I'm surprised I didn't hear about this one earlier.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Solomani Rim
by Gary R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2013 14:40:23

What can be said about the Solomani Rim? The lay-out was good and well presented .I like'd the inclusion of 2 new alien race's ,both of which was couver'd with enough detail to keep them playable . the Maps where as the standard set in the other sector books and you had enough detail on the more intreasting planets to help along any writers block you may have as a Gm , with enough systems left in broad brush strokes so you can spread your elbows. The only things i didn't like was the lack of a example of a vegan spacecraft and having to scratch my head as to the meaning of mr in the notes to the planets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solomani Rim
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend: The Spider God's Bride
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2013 11:44:48

The version now available is the updated SGB, with all of the conversion problems sorted out.


"The Wolf" (Darren Pearce) made sure the following was done:


Fixed: NPCs, this includes restoring description, tactics and possessions.
Fixed: Monsters in adventures.
Fixed: Monster appendix.
Fixed: Chapter on gods, cults and demons with Legend style Sorcery as the basis for the cults themselves.
Fixed: Adventures (minor text) with additions and clarifications.
New: Magic items.
New: Magic chapter.
New: Poison appendix


Brilliant set of scenarios set in the World of Xoth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Walter the Wobot - 3D Model
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2013 15:16:19

Let me start by saying that this is a very good, detailed model of Walter. The problem with this piece is that no effort seems to have been made to make sure that it prints well. In it's default position, you will need to print extensive supports, which will almost certainly cause you to break the overly delicate arms when you try to remove the supports. Further, many of the details are scaled so that even at a .01 layer height, they are obscured.


Reposing the model, and then splitting it into a few pieces to eliminate overhangs would have made this a nice, easy print. As it is, even with significant work and experience, I can't get a satisfactory print from this model. I'm sure it prints beautifully on a professional grade printer, but I'd imagine most of the prospective buyers on this site, like me, are going to try to print with a sub-$2000 consumer printer.


I'm a gamer, and I'm a 3D printing enthusiast. I'd love to see the two come together like this. But, unless the models being sold can be easily printed by consumer-grade hardware, I think this will just lead to a bunch of unhappy buyers, who will wish that they'd spent $4.50 on a lead model.


Great idea. Horrible execution. Don't buy this unless you have significant 3D printing expertise and a fairly high-end printer.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Walter the Wobot - 3D Model
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book 1: Mercenary
by Glen W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2013 10:33:52

When I purchased this book I thought it was going to be more like the original Mercenary book. However, it was not. The thing I liked most about the original was the in depth treatment of creating military characters such as Army or Marines. This book took an entirely different tack and created all new classes of mercenaries that began from Army, Marine or another branch first. Although I understand it I am still disappointed that further detail for Army and Marine characters was left out. I enjoyed rolling histories and missions, earning ribbons etc for my characters with the original rules. That often helped to flesh them out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book 1: Mercenary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vikings of Legend
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 08:49:14

It is a good book but it's 234 pages and hard to navigate.


I only use digital books now and there is 1 bookmark in the whole book. I know the books pdf's are protected but being unable to add your own bookmarks is poor, making it user unfriendly for skipping to specific sections.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vikings of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monsters of Legend
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 08:20:21

Had to mark this down as you have to buy it if you want Legend statted creatures, I also find it very annoying that I can't add bookmarks to the pdf.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters of Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starports
by Timothy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 00:19:13

Look there some material in this book. However, it could have been a lot better.
1st: You did state what level each starport could get. Like A starport should get everything, But B starport should get as much as A starport, so what the difference then. Besides what's in Core Rule book, you did not even include type information.
2nd: How about pictures of starports, or even maps. Like for example: Make diagrams of each starport, then each add on you what or buy paste or tape that on, too.
3rd: All different extras that come along with that type of starport. For Example: special Imperial bases also.
Maps would nice too.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Starports
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend: The Spider God's Bride
by Niels A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2013 20:43:57

The Spider God's Bride is a collection of Sword and Sorcery adventures in the mold of Robert E. Howard's Conan and Kull stories. To be upfront, I do not play the Legend System so I really did not pay attention to the stats for the NPCs and the Monsters. I am actually going to use it with Crypts and Things. What I really loved about this product were the adventures. The title alone comes across as a the title of a novel from the 70's or 80's that would find in a used book store these days complete with a lurid cover of brawny warrior with a broadsword protecting a beautiful, scantily clad woman from a demon from the pits of Hell. Evil cults, dark gods, demons, rogues, cut throats, fowl sorcerers, mysterious women: all of that you can find in these adventures. I really think that this product captures the spirit of Sword and Sorcery fiction. Mongoose did a great job with the old Conan RPG and The Spider God's Bride shows that they still do sword and sorcery RPG adventures better than just about anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cities of Fantasy - Stonebridge
by armand b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2013 18:42:37

a very good book as far as the writing goes. I enjoyed reading it immensely, and it was quite useful. Sadly, the file is so compressed the illustrations are really, really messed up. Hence the 3 stars only.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cities of Fantasy - Stonebridge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ultimate NPCs
by Hoyle A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2013 19:08:55

This is really an excellent resource for any type of game. It's focused on D20 fantasy, but the first 70 pages or so are all quite useful no matter what system you play. Sure, that Orc might be a prison guard brute, but that's an easy fix. Also there are TONS of tables, for example surnames in English, Celtic/Irish, French, German, Gypsy, Italian, Norman, Japanese, Russian, Saxon, Scottish, Viking, plus Arthurian, Dwarvish, Elvish, and Orcish. There are tables for clothing types and styles, hair styles, appearance quirks and minor mannerisms. This alone is worth the current asking price of the book!


There are alignment tables. Is this evil character cruel, or just lazy? Xenophobic or arrogant? Is your hero npc patient or peaceful? This really helps flesh out characters to make them more real.


Then there are scads of character descriptions with stats (which you could tweak for different systems) .. Really good and believable backstories!


Who lives where and why is covered too. Now this is more specific to a feudal fantasy setting, but you can probably tweak this with a little imagination.


In short, this is a GREAT resource for the current price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate NPCs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet: Romulan Reference Cards
by Kent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2013 16:46:29

Awesome job on the reference cards. Well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet: Romulan Reference Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend: The Spider God's Bride
by james g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2013 06:21:54

This is a conversion to the Legend rules system based on an original D20 publication by Morten Braten from Xoth.net.


As it stands now (23rd Feb 2013) its a real mess because of the way the conversion was handled - all of the stats for NPCs are essentially unusable - however, Mongoose have responded to complaints and have commissioned a revision which is currently being worked on. It is unclear how long this is going to take or what the result will finally look like.


My original review: (which is still accurate as things stand)
There are some real problems - little consideration of how magic works, how cults work, cultural backgrounds lack detail, NPCs and especially NPC sorcerers and magic users have been very poorly converted. The original D20 NPC antagonists are fairly powerful spell users, here they have been translated to very bland low skill magic users - not only have their spells been reduced to one or two spells - it's usually the same two spells from sorcerer to sorcerer. Much of the characterisation has been lost because of this, let alone the fact that these NPCs are now pushovers due to the huge reduction in their capabilities.


Given that the whole point of this publication is to convert the original D20 book to the Legend rules I think it is very poor value. I would recommend going to to Xoth.net and buying the original directly from him and doing the conversion yourself, it's also almost half the price of this.


There's one plus to this version - it's got better maps.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend: The Spider God's Bride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 601 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates