DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Referee's Aid 2: The Type-S Scout/Courier
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 08:28:27

I can’t believe there are not even ship stats for this. It is useless and I'm glad I didn't pay $4.99 for it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Aid 2: The Type-S Scout/Courier
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Referee's Aid 2: The Type-S Scout/Courier
by paul h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2015 20:46:31

I agree with the previous review - the supplement is 'ok' for the price point of $2.99. Most of the description contained in the book is already known or published elsewhere. It's nice that the author spent some time giving the ship more character, but there are little tidbits that probably don't quite belong, such as multiple references to the tiny nature of the ship and the violence that may occur from stressed out crewmembers. The problem with that idea is that MOST ships in Traveller are cramped like this one, and if crewmembers who sign up for space duty have such a difficult time, how are passengers who are paying huge sums going to feel?

The first five pages are devoted to explaining about the history of the scout ship, some background on the duties of scouts and their ships, how an individual might be awarded a scout ship for service, and finally some text relating to missions and such.

The next three pages are given to the ship itself, including the deckplan. It kind of sucks that it's greyscale and also relatively low-res if you zoom in for details. With a pdf you really aren't limited size wise, so a cleaner image would have been nice. There's a passage in this section related to control of the scout in an atmosphere without power. It's the first real mention I can recall of what happens with a ship that loses it's power in an atmosphere - in this case without power or steering surfaces you are screwed unless your engineer can get your gravitics back online. Though it would have been nice to read about thrusters that an ace pilot might be able to use to pull up the nose or stop the flat-spin.

There are a couple of illustrations, with two of them being recycled from Scouts and Core Rule book. The relatively new one is a 3-D isometric layout of the scoutship. It's not bad, but a couple of complaints about it. First since it's being viewed from an angle, some of the illustration is hidden from view. Second the description of the book (and possibly the 3-D layout) doesn't quite jive with the layout plan that has existed from the Core Rule book (and is copied onto the page). In the description of the bridge it says there are two workstations. The 3-D view cuts off the rear workstation view, so one cannot see if the artist drew them there or not. But the deckplan shows four. I would have hoped also for a better layout, showing the decks from multiple angles. Even an extra page (or two) devoted towards this or variants would have been quite welcome (and better suited towards a $4.99 price point).

The last few pages are given over to some sample ships. Not bad, but more or less filler. The Cat Ship is definitely filler, but provides, perhaps, an interesting nugget for a referee to use.

I hope that Mongoose will do a better job on a supplement like this if they do another one on some of the other ships (Free Trader seems like a natural to me). There's really no excuse to scrimp so much on content when you aren't killing a tree to get this out to the public. And please, lets get better with illustrations and artwork!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Aid 2: The Type-S Scout/Courier
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2015 18:39:53

The product is OK only. I think that it is very light in content and that a lot more effort could be put into it. For a product with a full price of $4.99 (I actually paid $2.99 when it was on special) I would have expected a lot more.

The 3 D artwork along side the traditional deck plan is good. It gives a real living sense of this little starship. I like this aspect of the product and would like to see more in future. This is where Mongoose really had a chance to shine, but alas, they seem to have fallen short. Black and white artwork belongs in the 1990's. We live in the 21st century with tablets, computers with PDF readers and colour printers. I have said this once and will say it again -

THERE IS NO EXCUSE FOR NOT USING COLOUR.

The external drawing of the Type S end of the ebook gives a good sense of the external view of the starship. The drawing on page 6 looks nothing like it. It appears a lot bigger and is confusing for the reader.

So here are my recommendations:

Use colour in your artwork.

Consider 3D modelling software when doing artwork. Many folios of historical WW2 fighting ships have been done this way - they are more expensive but they do look good.

Provide more written content.

My rating - two stars -(not a total disaster but found wanting)



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Trojan Reach
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2015 00:51:36

Superbly written with depth and flair. However-it is wholly-contained in the Aslan alien supplement by the same author and should not be purchased by those who have that work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Trojan Reach
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

I am Mongoose, and so can you!
by Dom P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2015 17:11:23

This is an exceptionally interesting and well considered book. If you have ANY inkling of going into the complex world of RPG business then this is mandatory reading. Whether you are going to establish your own TSR like behemoth of a company or just thinking about self publishing a simple supplement our scenario this book offers important and clear advice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
I am Mongoose, and so can you!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2300AD: Liberty
by ASergi A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 13:22:15

It would be simply perfect if it could include some general and inspiring full-colour image of a planet landscape. This is typically a lack in every module: planets are not always Earth-like, and depending on the star type the sky and the light would be quite different from Earth.

But it is an excellent module, very well written. The colony is realistically described. The adventures are awesome. Excellent examples of open investigation adventures, with fully fledged and credible characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD: Liberty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2300AD: Libreville - Corruption in the Core Worlds
by ASergi A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2015 13:11:24

I was reluctant to purchase this module as I already purchased long ago its antecessor Rotten to the Core. It is an excellent complement to the old module, with lots of new and good contents. The adventure module is excellent: a good example of open adventure on which the players have the final say on the outcome of events. The only but: the city map and lack of general landscape images. Some color would be appreciated. And some additional information on the different city zones (eg the different slum area and the base of the Beanstalk).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD: Libreville - Corruption in the Core Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2300AD Core Rulebook Revised
by AA C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 06:32:16

Esperaba mucho más de este libro.

Los contenidos se centran en convertir 2300AD a las reglas de Traveller, dejando poco espacio a la ambientación, (que debería ser prioritaria en un sourcebook). Es más, al convertir a UPP la información de sistemas y planetas, apenas hay información útil para crear aventuras. El aspecto interior es horrible. Ilustraciones casi inexistentes y de baja calidad, maquetación espartana y de difícil lectura. ¡Ni siquiera tiene hiperenlaces a la tabla de contenidos!

Me gusta mucho 2300AD, pero seguiré usando las ediciones anteriores porque este libro no cuesta lo que vale. Se salva de tener una estrella porque tiene unas pocas cosas buenas, como por ejemplo un nuevo enfoque basado en las tecnologías actuales.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD Core Rulebook Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend
by Macezar A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 03:00:56

After reading and doing some playtests, I must admit it is a good system. Not the best one out there, but good.

The thing I really liked about it was the freedom to create anything you want. Remember that persona from your favored book? The one able to wield magic, sword, while being a rogue and a smooth talker? Well it is possible! Of course you would never be better than someone specialized in a few choices.

The combat is brutal and exiting. It’s a shame that it’s overly complicated to play in forums. Due to its mechanic, were players have the opportunity to react instantly to an enemy action. It makes any situation involving combat; take too much time to resolve in PBP for forum rpgs.

The magic though could have been worked a little more. It feels overly simplistic. Basically, you create your own ‘magic school’, or organization, that has a fixed set of spells known. As you progress in that organization, you get to learn and know more powerful spells. The bad thing is, after the game start, it’s hard to keep the same ideas you had before the game, when you created your magic path. So, if you want to ‘learn’ other spells, you would need to start another path, from the beginning.

One of the other things that I found a bit annoying is that everything is rolled against one another. Maybe I’m spoiled by d20 system, where you don’t depend on your enemy roll to determine if your action it was successful or not. You just compare to your enemy ‘innate’ value. Of course the DM could make some small changes and adapt it, but even then it feels it could be better from the start.

Anyway, it is a good system, maybe for those like me, that compares everything with d20 system, it could be made a bit different, but that are some minor things, and easy to modify if you are aware of them beforehand.

Rate: 4/5

Macézar out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Paranoia Playtest Pack
by Conrad W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 19:34:20

Considering that this is the playtester pack, this was good - and I cannot wait to see the full product.

The Pros:

  • Narrative Voice is Perfect - it is written in a tone and pace that matches the predecessors brilliantly and reminds me and my players of all the mandatory fun we had back then, getting us straight into the mind-set to play!
  • Hilarious - I could not help but to actually laugh out loud and occasionally read out some lines to those around me, even if they were complete strangers on the bus I was on.
  • Card Action System - quite a brilliant addition to the game, makes games that much more devious and fun!
  • Character Generation - simple options, but deviously designed to get the most fun out of what can be a tedious time, and also to get the rivalry between players going early on.

The Cons:

  • Contradicts itself in places - maybe part of the narrative voice (see above)
  • Needs clearer Terminology - players familiar with roleplaying games may mistake terminology, such as the use of the word 'turn' which is used both as when a player acts , but also as what a player does, which has created confusion.
  • Not Print and Play - you need to make the cards up to play, which takes a bit of work. Character sheet is located separately, which while not a big deal, I feel should have been included.
  • Missing Feedback Mechanism - as a playtest I believe it should include an method for specifically submitting feedback, which it does not. This would be the perfect opportunity for one of the classic Paranoia 'forms'.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Playtest Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Paranoia Playtest Pack
by Kornel F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 14:33:07

Hi,

It looks like fun. I like the new post google glass world.

The rules sound straight forward... but I did not had the chance yet to test them.

Cheers,

Kornel



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2014 21:59:35

This is a fair attempt at updating what is essentially classic Traveller (CT) little black books to 8. I say 'fair attempt' because although the basic idea was there, it was rather sloppy in it's execution. Overall production quality and layout is no improvement over rpgs from the late 1980's to early 1990's. Artwork consists of basic monochrome drawings in a style of the same vintage, yet other rpgs have moved on with a much more sophisticated level of production. With modern computer graphics available to us all these days, there is really no excuse for such sloppy and lazy production. Character generation is ok - somewhere between little black books 1- 3 and books 4 - 8. Starship construction is essentially books 1 - 3. Larger ships require 'High Gaurd. '

Overall, considering that this is just a core rule book, it is farly expensive for what you get if you pay full price for it. I actually purchased it on special when it was really cheap. At the price I paoed ot was actually a bargain! At full price, however, it is as with a lot of othe Mongoose 'Traveller' rpg products, overpriced.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2014 08:07:37

excellent book. But I found some typos through out the pages. could anyone fix it?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Crowded Hour
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2014 03:04:41

This adventure is well presented and edited. It contains a clear plot, plenty of nice "set pieces", good suggestions for appropriate skill checks, well defined NPC's and clear map of the ship.

The storyline has a gritty and fairly "realistic" feel, and there are plenty of oppertunities for roleplaying and learning the truth behind it. I'm looking forward to running One Crowded Hour very much indeed.

It's a game for one session, but still good value for money. Very pleased with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Crowded Hour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Traveller Main Rulebook
by John G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2014 09:43:52

This is an expensive product for something that was ripped straight out of the d20 3.5 SRD with just the mechanic changed from d20 to 2d6. It's very much like CT in what it does and only the mechanic and skill lists are new, really.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Main Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 645 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates