DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Space Encounters
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:48:13

Good clear easy to read tables here. Lots of good ideas for combats, etc. for the busy referee who is stuck for something happening in space.

Especially the jump in and out of the system diagram, that helped to make it clear what is going on. Lots of good encounters ideas. I can't wait to expand on this. LIKED IT A LOT.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D66 Compendium 2
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:44:50

Solid product. I bundled this and Compendium into a binder to take with me to Traveller sessions as Referee. Great stuff for ideas.

This also works as a brainstroming setup for writing. looking at the names, events and places, then with it all in your mind get a flavor.

Easy enough when printed out to change up some details by crossing out and writing in new ones. can't wait to make up some of my own tables. This product and compendium would be well served by including a few table blanks numbered 11 to 66.

10 bucks well spent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Victory at Sea
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 07:23:08

I have played several scenarios using 1:6000 scale naval miniatures and find the rules to be a decent balance of accuracy and ease of play. There are some rules that need to be modified such as the air and anti-aircraft sections. For movement, it is more accurate (and quicker) to alternate moving formations of ships as opposed to individual ships. I also found that using AP and Super AP special abilities gives too much advantage to heavy guns as well as the Weak special ability should not apply to firing on destroyes and below. I also noted the torpedo belt is a good rule but needs some clarification as rerolling every damage die that was succesful seems a bit extreme. I have yet to include submarines to test those rules. Overall, a good set of rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Victory at Sea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 13:48:37

By my reckoning, this falls cleanly into the "basic version" category of intros rather than the "light version": I personally think 34 pages is a little more than some players are interested in reading to test a new ruleset, as some of mine have strong feelings about 'homework'.

The introduction page seems like a solid and compact overview suitable even for new players. The chargen section does a reasonable job of presenting everything you need; it's hard to make the lifepath rules sleek and simple, but it's well-explained at least.

I do think the choice to restrict careers was sensible (it saves a lot of placecount), but I'd question the choice of Army and Navy only. It's great if you want to run a fairly pulpy combat-based game, but that seems to massively limit your options. Most of my sci-fi background, even the planet-hopping stuff, is in civilian-focused stories; moreover, the primary focus NOT being on combat is one of the more interesting things about Traveller to me. I think this would be much improved by swapping out one of these (probably Army) for a sample civilian career. That way, a GM can easily have players generate characters naturally suited to and motivated for a game that's either got a combat focus, or a more exploratory and social focus. As it stands I think you could get the wrong idea here and assume it's essentially about fighting - especially as the lack of setting information means it's easy to write up a group of space pirates to fight, but hard to plan the mapping of an undiscovered planet.

The rules also omit the Draft rules entirely, but have not been adjusted - there are multiple references to the Draft, including a "see opposite" when "opposite" is a textbox about commissions - and this is likely to be quite confusing to a player or GM not already familiar with the rules.

Similarly, a lot of the pagecount comes down to quite detailed descriptions of what each of the skills does. I think a genuinely light ruleset could be created with abbreviated versions, but on the other hand, for the GM it's nice to have these.

There are some presentation glitches in my copy: bold text is misplaced so it sometimes runs over the normal text, causing some legibility issues.

I think this free version gives you plenty to run trial games of Traveller and establish whether you might be interested in turning it into a campaign where the fuller rules and expanded sections on equipment, trade, spacecraft and background would be needed. However, it does have the substantial downside of including no setting information whatsoever, no information on species, and definitely no plots. A GM with a good idea what they want to do with a crunchy sci-fi game should be fine, a GM who likes the idea but wants more support may have trouble.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caennai Class Merchantman
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 09:13:06

Nice design and useful new ship BUT some (big) proofreading of the text is badly needed (and this is a comment by a non-native english reader) !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caennai Class Merchantman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High Guard: Aslan
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2017 10:21:34

A new edition revamp of the Aslan (Book1) ships from MGT, now with added 2-D deckplans (alas, not in color, but with some helpful furniture and machinery). PROS: Solid color art and stats in the new Traveller format, interesting axonometric plan drawings, some supporting info.

CONS: Didn't have 2-D plans initially, when I purchased the supplement (But thanks for adding them....), the 2-D plans are also not in color-but are superior to the B/W plans in the original MGT Book1 Aslan supplement. Little new information on Aslan naval command structure or clan tactics was provided (cf. Fighting Ships)-one hopes this may appear in the forthcoming Pirates of Drinax mega-adventure in support of the Prodigal Outcast or Finale chapters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard: Aslan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MgT Traveller Character Sheet
by Jake H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2017 19:13:28

Issues with the sheet were fixed. Its a good resource, I only wish the different types of sheets were seperate files. (Form fillable and Non Form Fillable)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MgT Traveller Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High Guard: Aslan
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/24/2016 11:38:06

This resource supplies Aslan-specific information to supplement and enhance material in the core High Guard book. The Introduction comments that technologically Alsan ships are pretty much like those used by humans (unsurprising given similar size and physiological requirements), but there are of course differences based on culture. In keeping with Aslan traditions, pilots are usually male (and in nominal command) whilst astrogators and engineers are usually female. Control systems also display a gender divide: those used by males are simplistic and show only basic and important information, those for females are complex, often bewilderingly so. Ships are highly decorated, even military ones, and all carry a Shrine to Heroes when crew members can meditate and draw inner strength. A common way of passing the time in space is the telling of stories, a communal event attended by passengers and off-duty crew alike.

After this overview, the remainder of the book contains extensive details of a number of different Aslan vessels. Each comes with full statistics, some background notes, isometric plans and sketches of the exterior (colourful, of course, it is the Aslan way).

Giving some insights into Aslan life in the black, this book presents some fifteen novel vessels, each quite ideosyncratic and definitely Aslan in style to enhance your spaceways. Of particular use if you have Aslan in the party or are venturing into the Hierate, the Aslan get everywhere so one of these colourful vessels may show up wherever the party might happen to be. Hopefully they are in a friendly mood...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard: Aslan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TAS 3D Deck Plan Templates
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2016 05:35:44

I think this is a very cool addition to Traveller 2e. But it could be used with older versions. It is a different approach than if you used Campaign Cartographer and a plug-in.

This is more of a manual, open the deckplan grid in your favorite paint program like paintshop pro, then load the specific icons you need as a brush, and click in place. Or you could print these out on paper, and tape, staple or glue them in palce. just watch the scaling.

A little bit extra work to use these, but I like that they have a few angles for placement. Looking forward to submitting some designs for use with TAS, and Mongoose 2e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TAS 3D Deck Plan Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TAS Planetary Maps Templates
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2016 05:26:11

I like it. Of course it is a restyling of the Old School Icosahedral Grid for a world as seen in a few Traveller products. What it really lacks are icons, though there are a half dozen included.

Some Icons like we see in T5, swuch as mountain, jungle, etc., would be perfect for this.

The fact that it is .tif makes it a little bit tougher to use. Seems like also the end user is relying on paint programs to do the various coloring, coastlines, etc. or printing it out and hand drawing same.

If it had more icons, or a color sample for elevation height level gradations, or color sample palette for a standardized approach across the community...light blue for shallows darker blue of sea floor, etc. I would give it 4 or 5 stars.

As it is, there is some to a lot of work involved here. But if you do not have access to much older books such as Megatraveller, or Digest Group products long out of print, this map grid has clean lines.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TAS Planetary Maps Templates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of Drinax: The Torpol Cluster
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2016 21:09:10

You had me at 'Gionetti'...!

Finally a PoD supplement that gets it all right-worthy art and fine color maps, planetary descriptions with enough depth and variety to expand nicely on existing PoD canon, and a twist or two of the unexpected-in this case a 30kton cruiser that although hobbled will be a game changer for those who brought Torpol into the Drinaxian fold, as my players did. Not since MJD's 'Arunisiir' supplement have I been this pleased with the author's work on the Drinax campaign and Trojan Reaches. I look forward to the next installment!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of Drinax: The Torpol Cluster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of Drinax: The Torpol Cluster
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2016 12:30:51

I'm using 'Pirates of Drinax' as a basis for a homebrew campaign so picked up The Torpol Cluster to use as additional inspiration, I won't be using the supplement as it stands since I'm modifying a considerable portion of the Drinax campaign.

That said this is a pretty good produce with a good deal of information on the 3 star systems that make up the Torpol cluster. For less than £5 its good value for money - though I'm not sure I'd pay the full price of £8.00 for it.

The illustrations within (epecially the system maps) are useful and the information is concise.

I also purchased the 'Pirates of Drinax Theev' supplement which is also pretty good. If other supplements come out to expand other star systems I'll probably get them as well



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of Drinax: The Torpol Cluster
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/10/2016 11:19:06

Three worlds... yet of strategic importance to both the Aslan Hierate and the old Sindalian Empire, a nodal point in trade routes through the Tlaiowaha subsector linking the Wildeman Cluster and the Sindalian Main. This small cluster of worlds Jump-1 apart receives many visitors, from the Imperium and other places.

The Introduction provides background information on the cluster and its history. There's a note that these three worlds may be located somewhere else in your universe, but it seems better to leave them as intended, as they are well-embedded into their surroundings. There is a partial map of the Sindal and Tlaiowaha subsectors showing the cluster's location within the Trojan Reach sector and in relation to other nearby worlds, followed by detailed notes on each of the three worlds: Torpol, Clarke and Blue.

Torpol is possibly the pivotal world, as both Marduk (and thence the Sindalian Main), Asim and Drinax (linking to the Aslan Hierate) are but Jump-2 away from the Torpol system. A map shows the main trade routes linking through the cluster. Torpol is the only habitable world, with free water, in the system, but there are nine other rocky planets, a couple of asteroid belts and four gas giants in orbit around the sun. Both asteroid belts are home to miners and one of the rocky worlds - although cold and airless - is also inhabited. This planet, Traefar, has a fairly basic starport but an extensive settlement popular with spacers and it's reckoned to be a good place to find crew - or indeed, to find a berth if you are a spacer looking for work... although it is the sort of place that the Imperium raids every so often looking for criminals. Torpol itself is a waterworld but with a sophisticated (and expensive) highport, when no nonsense is tolerated. Down on the planetary surface there are plenty of places where a tourist and his money can be parted in reasonable safety.

The next system to be discussed is Clarke. It's a rather gloomy place, home to a strange religion. The system has two asteroid belts, seven rocky planets and a remote companion star that generally gets ignored. The Clarke Highport is as well-equipped as Torpol's, but has a more functional air. The religion is concerned with death and the guidance of dead souls, their bodies being encased in carbon blocks which are used as building materials.

Finally, the Blue system has twelve rocky planets and two gas giants - and a bunch of Imperium ships hanging around, nobody's quite sure why... it may have something to do with Aslan settlements on a few of the planets or the Bulhai Freeport, in orbit around one of the gas giants (also called Bulhai). This Freeport is run as a legitimate place of business, not a pirate haven, but it's certainly possible to get things you cannot get elsewhere. The people of Blue itself are interested in art and religion, topics they will debate endlessly.

This work presents three interesting systems to visit in your travels, with atmospheric descriptions that help to paint the picture of what the party will find there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2016 20:56:04

I would've preffered this information to be within the core rulebook, as I felt it somewhat deceptive to have to pay another 45 dollars for something I feel is very integral to Traveller. However, the depth of information was amazing in this book, and it almost makes up for the fact that it didn't come within the core rulebook. Pretty much a must-buy for a Traveller player.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caennai Class Merchantman
by Omer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 04:35:14

Caennai Class Merchantman is a ship book published for Mongoose Traveller, 2nd Edition, by Out of my Mind Games. It describes a 500-ton armed and armored merchantman capable of carrying an additional 250 tons in an externally-mounted cargo pod (for a total tonnage of 750 tons, which reduces drive performance). The purpose of this ship seems to be the secure transport of expensive (or dangerous!) cargos, or transport through dangerous space

The product provides full Traveller stats for the ship and its potential cargo pods, as well as deck plans and a render of the ship. The ship itself has an interesting design - an elongated, blocky design reminiscent of the Sulaco from Aliens or of the Earth starships from Babylon 5, as opposed to the vastly overused "wedge" shapes. This is a good, refreshing change. However, the author missed an opportunity to design a non-streamlined ship - and the ship does look unstreamlined in its render - with integral hangarage for interface craft. Instead, it can fly through an atmosphere but not really land (though it can hover over the ground by anti-gravity). I find this somewhat sad, as the Traveller deck plan market is flooded with streamlined ships and unstreamlined ones are much less common - and thus interesting.

Personally, as a Referee, I would have removed the streamlining and reduced the common area and the cargo bay a bit to fit in a Ship's Boat/

The deck plans are low-res and unlabeled. The product describes the general contents of each of the three decks below the deck plan itself, but the deck plan is not always clear - which is a shame as this ship is interesting in its design. The layout is very basic but readable.

The great thing about this product, however, is its cargo pod system - a welcome unorthodox feature of ship design. This also allows for all sorts of interesting uses, including using this ship for exploration with a large laboratory/sensor pod, for example. It can also mount a "Docking Jig" carrying small craft - and I'd bet that some creative captains would convert the entire cargo pod into a fighter bay for an instant carrier (or pirate "Battlewagon"!).

Other very good features include a fully-detailed sample ship with a full crew, good adventure seeds for using the ship in a campaign, and flavorful details about the ship itself.

The bottom line is that this is an interesting, though flawed, product. This ship can be an excellent addition to any Traveller campaign.

I've graded it 3.5 out of 5 on my blog, but as DTRPG uses full-point ratings, I've rounded this up to 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caennai Class Merchantman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 674 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates