DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
High Guard
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2016 20:56:04

I would've preffered this information to be within the core rulebook, as I felt it somewhat deceptive to have to pay another 45 dollars for something I feel is very integral to Traveller. However, the depth of information was amazing in this book, and it almost makes up for the fact that it didn't come within the core rulebook. Pretty much a must-buy for a Traveller player.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Caennai Class Merchantman
by Omer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 04:35:14

Caennai Class Merchantman is a ship book published for Mongoose Traveller, 2nd Edition, by Out of my Mind Games. It describes a 500-ton armed and armored merchantman capable of carrying an additional 250 tons in an externally-mounted cargo pod (for a total tonnage of 750 tons, which reduces drive performance). The purpose of this ship seems to be the secure transport of expensive (or dangerous!) cargos, or transport through dangerous space

The product provides full Traveller stats for the ship and its potential cargo pods, as well as deck plans and a render of the ship. The ship itself has an interesting design - an elongated, blocky design reminiscent of the Sulaco from Aliens or of the Earth starships from Babylon 5, as opposed to the vastly overused "wedge" shapes. This is a good, refreshing change. However, the author missed an opportunity to design a non-streamlined ship - and the ship does look unstreamlined in its render - with integral hangarage for interface craft. Instead, it can fly through an atmosphere but not really land (though it can hover over the ground by anti-gravity). I find this somewhat sad, as the Traveller deck plan market is flooded with streamlined ships and unstreamlined ones are much less common - and thus interesting.

Personally, as a Referee, I would have removed the streamlining and reduced the common area and the cargo bay a bit to fit in a Ship's Boat/

The deck plans are low-res and unlabeled. The product describes the general contents of each of the three decks below the deck plan itself, but the deck plan is not always clear - which is a shame as this ship is interesting in its design. The layout is very basic but readable.

The great thing about this product, however, is its cargo pod system - a welcome unorthodox feature of ship design. This also allows for all sorts of interesting uses, including using this ship for exploration with a large laboratory/sensor pod, for example. It can also mount a "Docking Jig" carrying small craft - and I'd bet that some creative captains would convert the entire cargo pod into a fighter bay for an instant carrier (or pirate "Battlewagon"!).

Other very good features include a fully-detailed sample ship with a full crew, good adventure seeds for using the ship in a campaign, and flavorful details about the ship itself.

The bottom line is that this is an interesting, though flawed, product. This ship can be an excellent addition to any Traveller campaign.

I've graded it 3.5 out of 5 on my blog, but as DTRPG uses full-point ratings, I've rounded this up to 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caennai Class Merchantman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RHI Sandpiper Light Trader
by Omer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2016 01:53:12

This product describes three varieties of a 100-ton starship originally intended as a trader - the original trader version, a militarized gunship, and a "star ambulance" version. It includes a good description of the ship with enough flavor and color to make the ship relatively unique. Each variety has a description, MGT2 stats, a deck-plan, and a render. The deck plans are very simple but servicable and the renders are solid but nothing to write home about. Layout is very simple but readable.

For some reason, the book does not mention the ship's size (100 tons) until you reach the stats on p.5 - niether on the cover nor in the introduction nor in the technical details section on p.4.

The one thing which I love in this otherwise unremarkable ship book are the clever designs - the author managed to cram a Jump-3 drive, its fuel, and 30 tons of cargo into a 100-ton trader, and eight marines (!) on a 110-ton gunship.

All in all, a solid, useful booklet about an interesting small starship which you can drop into almost any Traveller campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RHI Sandpiper Light Trader
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of Drinax: Theev
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2016 22:34:49

Would like to say that the superior color artwork and maps made this worth it-but the poor editing (two and a half paragraphs on pp.15 and 16 are exactly the same text), possible conflict with prior published Mongoose canon (Imperial Navy takes R&R on Theev? They are supposed to be searching for this hidden pirate haven) and retreading of a fair amount of information presented in Pirates of Drinax make me hesitate to give more than three stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of Drinax: Theev
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of Drinax: Theev
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/15/2016 12:58:40

In the middle of the Sindal Subsector you'll find the three systems that make up the Theev Cluster. Strategically important, it has a bad reputation as a pirate hotspot that encourages many merchants to go the long way around to wherever they are going. They are also remarkably hostile towards the Imperium. For most Traveller players I've met, it's their kind of town!

The Introduction gives the history and background of the cluster along with a map of part of the Sindal Subsector to help you get located. It winds up with a discussion of the Imperial Navy's dealings with the locals.

We then move on to the first of the systems, Vume. It's probably the least hostile system, but that doesn't mean it's a very welcoming place - and that's not just because the main planet is an airless, waterless rockball of a world! Most life is found on the orbital highport, although people venture to the surface to explore some ancient ruins... billed as an Ancients site although nobody is really sure if it was them or some other long-lost race who built the ruins. They are now inhabited by some quite peculiar folks.

Next we read about the Theev system. Now a bit of a backwater if not pretty much abandoned altogether, it used to be part of a major trade route. Their highport was bored out of a moonlet artificially placed in a geostationary orbit around the main world. It is not recommended to break the law here, as they don't go in for the nicities of law courts and endless appeals - perpetrators are merely shown out of an airlock... and that's the official law enforcement by a black-robed bunch called the Widows. Travel to the downport is discouraged, and as the world is arid and very dusty, people generally only go there on business - or hunting for rumoured treasures outside of the controlled environment that protects the one inhabited city that has grown up around it. The place is ruled by the Pirate Lords, and the Widows enforce their rule at least in the Upper City. The Lower City is darker and meaner...

Finally comes Palindrome, the third system in the cluster. It's a run-down backwater, even the highport is scruffy and half-abandoned, even though it still claims to be Class B. The planet below is uninviting, with a thin atmosphere and little surface water and a single domed settlement called Astrogo which is run as the personal property of a retired pirate, the Lady Yemar. Here, the standard of living is high, supported by a TL of 12, and the community is quite insular and inward-looking. It is a good place to find those 'special' items not on sale elsewhere, and a haven for fugitives. The place is quite welcoming to outsiders provided they don't strut around in Imperial uniforms.

This is an intriguing group of worlds likely to prove popular with the ethically-challenged. Each is brought to life in the concise notes provided, although you will have to provide even the notable inhabitants and any maps you might need, even the rest of the systems are not well-developed. When your party decides to go 'shopping', send them here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MgT Traveller Character Sheet
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2016 22:46:04

The positive design elements are numerous.

•Excellent choice of fonts as well as backgrounds and delineators

•All information of primary importance is located on the front page; well laid-out and uncluttered

•Excellent use of spacing on the back page, especially the Lifepath section

•Great flowchart showing each of the steps and options involved in character generation with page references



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MgT Traveller Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Book 9: Robot
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2016 01:54:56

While the book is extremely thorough and detailed in the creation of Robots as characters and adding a large degree of modularity towards creating and designing robots, the book's formatting has me frequently jumping back and forth between different areas of the book for every step of the process. In addition, some of the wording and syntax has caused multiple instances of confusion when arbitrating the rules and trying to determine what the intended goal was with some mechanics.

However, overall it's a TREMENDOUS resource for a skilled referee. It can be intimidating, but after wrestling with the book for a couple days, I've found that it is extremely useful. With a little better editing and formatting, this book would be absolutely amazing, but even so, it's still great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book 9: Robot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sector Fleet
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2016 09:57:36

I want to like this book, I really do.

It does provide an interesting view on the inside of the Imperial Navy in the Traveller universe, but I was left wanting more. Like, what's the divisional structure of Imperial Navy Ships? What do dress and service uniforms look like? Far too much of it is written at the Fleet Level, where it's kind of out of reach to many campaigns.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sector Fleet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castrobancla, The City of Aliens
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 12:12:57

I read through this and enjoyed it quite a bit. I found the author mixed some standard SciFi tropes with some creative ideas into a great setting for some adventures. They gave us a good amount of background information as well as plenty of organizational and location info. You could run games for quite some time in this setting if you so chose. I think it would also work well as a "home base" for a player character team.

I do wish the alien races had a little better physical description or clear pictures of each. However, what was given will work.

Overall this was well worth the money I paid. I would strongly encourage folks to pay a reasonable amount for this. It will encourage the author to create more going forward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castrobancla, The City of Aliens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High Guard
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/17/2016 12:04:53

What's Traveller without, well, some travelling... especially in space? High Guard is designed to provide a toolbox to empower every aspect of spacefaring in your game from designing and operating starships to using them in spectacular combat.

The Introduction begins by explaining where the name 'High Guard' comes from in the first place - it refers to a vessel standing overwatch in a position that is higher in a gravity well than other ships. That's a useful place to be, as if combat should take place when under the influence of a planet's gravity (or indeed that of any object in space) it's advantageous to be higher in it than your opponent. Harking back to the age of sail, one would speak of having the 'wind guage' when in a position where the wind conferred an advantage - here it's the 'gravity guage' instead, but a very similar concept.

Other topics explored in the Introduction cover terminology, the various types of space navies to be encountered - Imperial, subsector and planetary (assuming you are using the Third Imperium default setting) - and the concept of the Ship's Locker (standard equipment carried aboard all ships such as vacc suits and emergency equipment). It ends with a listing of different types of ship, including a useful size chart.

Chapter 1: Ship Design then gets down to detail of how the process of designing and building ships work. You can use existing designs 'as-is', modify them or come up with wholly-new ones... but will need to hire a naval architect to oversee the project. For those who want to have this level of control, there is a thirteen-step process to follow starting with creating the hull. It's a detailed process, one that will keep you happily occupied for a while and, like many design processes in this game, can become an end in itself, an enjoyable pastime rather than the more ulitarian designing of a ship for your next game. As well as cost, you need to keep track of tonnage and power requirements.

Next is Chapter 2: Weapons and Screens. This goes into detail about the weapons and defensive systems that can be mounted on a spaceship. There's a huge range of weapons that can be employed, and this chapter concentrates on what you need to know to install them: cost, power requirements, hardpoints to attach them and so on. Fighting with them comes later, never you fear! There's also a bit about defensive technology, mainly point-defence weapons and screens. Physical armour is covered in the construction chapter above.

Still looking at building ships, Chapter 3: Spacecraft Options gets quite interesting as it looks at how to customise your ship and presents a wide range of options from alternative drives and power systems to adding acceleration couches... and far more. Everything is described in terms of cost, tonnage and power requirements, linking it all back to the original ship design process.

Next, Chapter 4: Primitive and Advanced Spacecraft looks at vessels which differ from the norm presented in the previous chapters. These range from custom-built ships utilising the latest concepts and technologies to ones built by less-advanced species who have at least begun to reach for the stars. This is followed by Chapter 5: Space Stations, which looks in equal depth at space-based constructs designed for living in space rather than travelling through it. A similar thirteen-point checklist is provided for you to work through if you wish to design one from scratch, and there are also notes on some of the specialised space stations that are to be found out in the black.

We then take a look in Chapter 6: The Ship's Computer at the 'brain' of your space vessel in more detail. It's an interesting balance between modern advances in computing and the original Traveller concept of ship computers as being massive - a concept derived when real-world spaceship computers had about as much power as the average smartphone of today and computer facilities covered acres of land! There's information on the sort of programs you might need for your ship computer and how much they cost. Next comes Chapter 7: High Technology which explores some exciting ideas about what happens beyond TL15 (the upper limit covered by the construction rules presented so far). Perhaps you'd prefer not to use a Jump drive at all... well, here are details of alternate drive systems such as hyperdrives, warp drives, space-folding drives and even time drives allowing temporal as well as spatial travel. There are equally exotic weapons and screens and other equipment to browse through as well. Here it's a matter of what the Referee is willing to let you have or, if you are the Referee, how you want your universe to look.

OK, now we know how to design a ship from the keel up (and how much it will cost) but what does it look like? Chapter 9: Creating Deck Plans... hey, hang on a minute! We've lost Chapter 8! Seriously, there isn't a Chapter 8 in this book. Fortunately this appears to be just about the only error I've found, and all the indexing and hyperlinks work, so it's no real biggie... So, this chapter looks at how to draw deckplans that reflect the ship you have just taken so much trouble to design accurately. It's all a matter of scale, and relating the known tonnage of different elements of your design to the whole. Some talent at technical drawing or a good drawing package might help here, though.

This is followed by Chapter 10: Fighters. Never mind these big ships, what about those swarms of single-seater ships you see swarming about in science-fiction movies? For a start, they are generally more fun in a space battle than capital ships from a player perspective. There are some design notes, although the main process introduced in Chapter 1 is sufficiently flexible to construct fighters as well as larger ships. There are also notes about how they are used in combat and even how they are recovered by their mother ship when the fight is done.

Next is the bit you've been waiting for - combat itself - in the shape of Chapter 11: Capital Ship Battles. Whilst it is possible to use the core combat system presented in the Core Rulebook - which does work for ship-to-ship battles as well as for when people brawl - it gets a bit cumbersome if you want to stage a mass battle of capital ships. So here is a vastly streamlined system based on, but separate from, the space combat rules detailed in the core rules. It takes a while to set up, but once that's done the actual battle proceeds at a suitably dramatic pace.

Finally, there is the Jayne's Guide to Spacecraft of the Third Imperium (presented by the Travellers' Aid Society, of course). This provides a whole host of ready-made ships (using the design process outlined in this book) complete with statistics, price, running costs, crew requirements, external illustrations and isomortphic floorplans - starting with a single-seater light fighter and working all the way up to battlewagons like fleet carriers and dreadnoughts. There are a few interesting ones along the way - the Type S Scout and the Far Trader are still in there, which will be remembered by many Traveller players from previous versions of this game, a laboratory ship built on a ring structure, and even the Annic Nova... an alien craft which formed the basis of a classic exploration adventure back in the days of the Little Black Books!

Overall, this contains pretty much all you need to know to get travelling... with an elegant design system that's infinitely scaleable and flexible whatever sort of spaceship you need.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Central Supply Catalogue
by Jake H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 04:04:14

This book has a lot of high quality and very visually appealing art, while the price is a bit high, it is very much worth it as a physical book, I believe the price of the PDF should be slightly less, but its still a nice purchase for the expanded options in both weapons and equipment. The extra weapon traits are very nice and its a great addition to be used alongside the core rulebook. This really fills all of the missing weapons I felt the game needed. The artillery and vehicle weapons are visually awesome and all in all, a worthwhile purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Central Supply Catalogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

High Guard
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2016 17:08:37

CAUTION! Both this and the main rulebook are staggeringly unoptimized. Both are crashing my current gen ipad within one or two page turns, making the pdfs a complete waste of money if you plan to use anything other than a laptop. I know its not an issue with my ipad, since I can easily run far more graphically complex and larger files. I have downloaded and read through nearly 100 pdfs from dozens of publishers on this sight and rarely, if ever, experienced crashes. This new edition is the only one ive experienced issues with. Also, between crashes I managed to discover that there is no ship record sheet in the book, yet another instance of Mongoose neglecting to provide adequate record sheets. This will be my very last purchase from this publisher.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D66 Compendium 2
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2016 20:56:20

Very useful, despite my limited RPG time these days, I find it useful for both RPGs and Sci-fi wargames.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D66 Compendium 2
by Richard N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2016 14:50:35

I purchased the first compendium some time ago and found it to be an awesome tool for helping with adding flavor to my campaign. I use it at least once or twice every session and when I am preparing. So when I saw that the 2nd was out I snagged it right awayand was pleasntly surprised to see that they "kicked it up a notch" this time around. Not only are there pages and pages of names for everything from people to pets to famous space battles to recreational drugs, they have added D66 Event tables for careers to use during character creation! And they are awesome! I would highly recommend this (and the 1st one!) to anyone who has ever had that moment when a player asks "So, what is the name of...." and you drew a blank.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D66 Compendium 2
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2016 00:04:00

I was looking for some new Events to use. I asked for suggestions and was told this was what I wanted. So I came and bought it. I was not disapointed in any way. Not only did it have an event table for "Life Events" but lso had events for each of the core careers in the Traveller core rule set. Some fo these are great background ideas. Add to that the book has many more tables that will be quite useful I am sure. Overall this product was well worth the price I paid for it. I would strongly recomend this to any Traveller GM. I am glad I added this to my collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 646 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates