DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Class Warfare
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 19:25:14

Class Warfare is a mess!

Just picked this up for my Dungeon World game due to all the great reviews. Not all that impressed to say the least. Layout that makes everything seem smashed together. Unclear explanations of some of the core ideas. Opens with a brief explanation about building classes but then just becomes a huge list of poorly explained class abilities. Confusing. Ugly font. Awful art work. No art would be an improvement. I wouldn't recommend getting this for any reason.

$19.26 Canadian for this train wreck is absurd.

Lots of excellent free stuff available for Dungeon World made by the community. Well layed out documents that look the same as the official play sheets.

Just my 2 cents...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Class Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nightmares Underneath Free Edition
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2017 19:13:16

I picked up this free version to see what the game was about. I liked idea of living dungeons invading reality... but it turns out this game is so much more. The wider setting is compelling and unique in its flavor. Different than the usual Tolkienesque Eurofantasy but not so detailed that it's intimidating... there is a lot of room (and tools) for making it your own.

The 'Incursions' themselves are an excellent concept and, again, there are tools for creating them and fleshing them out. Each is very unique and thematic to the forces that led to its creation... rather than just being 'wizard built' basements full of random critters.

One small complaint might be that there isn't a full example of an Incursion in the book (perhaps the full version has one?). Thankfully, there is a module available called City of Poison that presents a great example of what an Incursion might look like, how it might spread, and why they are not just your run-of-the mill 'dungeon'.

I really need to go purchase the full hardback of this book... I've heard the artwork is excellent. Since I first got this on a lark it has really sucked me in and I'm chomping at the bit to give it a try. Excellent work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmares Underneath Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Poison
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2017 18:54:31

I have the free version of Nightmares Underneath and thought that what it needed was an example of an 'Incursion'... and here one is.

I've yet to play it through but it reads pretty well. On the surface it might look like just a small dungeon adventure... but the details push something much stranger without being 'weird for the weird's sake'. It's a clear example of what's suggested in the core book... perhaps a bit less OTT than I'd pictured, but that's probably a good thing for a first example.

City of Poison presents an Incursion that was borne of a crime against man and nature... and has begun to spread throughout the neighborhood. I'm not sure how much of the backstory to the Incursion would come out in play... or how likely PCs would be to go further than their basic assignment to retrieve a painting. It's not an overly detailed situation though, and has openings for a good bit of interpretation/expansion.

As expected, most of the creatures in the Incursion are thematic to the nature of the crimes in some way and are suitably creepy. Like the main rulebook, these Incursions remind me a bit of a small offshoot of Silent Hill... or the 'Enigmas' of Whispering Vault... and I love those things. The maps are basic but functional (though a bit hard to read in places). The illustrations are quite good, but generally not as atmospheric as the ones in the core book. If I were to run this I'd probably want to do a bit of work to flesh out the neighborhood and the book has tools to help with this as well.

Definitely a must-have for anyone interested in Nightmares Underneath!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Poison
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wizard-Spawned Insanities
by Hugo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 18:26:15

Beautiful art, great descriptive writing and solid resources! If you want a bit of inspiration for a front, dungeon, monster or magic item this book will get your brain working!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard-Spawned Insanities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures on Dungeon Planet
by Katherine S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 06:01:54

It's a very handy resource, but unfortunately contains errors and poorply presented explanations.

Reading about the Technical class you'll find yourself having to go through a few pages just to piece together "Operations", which it's first mention is barely explained. With alternating phrases from robot, machine in place.

Errors like In "Stranger in a Strange Land " The word "MC" There is no other mention of this word or WHO it means. A family meal and a meal for one each costing a single coin.

This guide seems to have what it wants to do in mind, but it seems to lack the needed editing not to bug the next GM while trying to learn it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures on Dungeon Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Metamorphica (Classic Edition)
by jacob s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2017 13:57:32

Great system Agnostic random table for mutations of all types.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Metamorphica (Classic Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nightmares Underneath
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2017 16:50:26

TNU has a great hook for dungeon delving with its "Nightmare Incursions", hey better kill those dungeons before they unhinge reality and all that. The art and layout does a fantastic job of conveying the tone of the system. The system itself is fun, simple enough to get a hang of quickly but has enough there to satisfy further exploration. The added downtime and town/city systems add more depth for long-form campaigns. The classes are unique and complement the setting. Overall, a fun, unique twist on the D&D type game with a great vibe and new ideas that any GM would definitely want to steal for their own games (which I mean as a compliment).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmares Underneath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Poison
by Geoff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2017 16:48:09

Just my short impression. This is a very good promo for The Nightmares Underneath system. The quality of both the adventure and art was such that I picked up the hardback for the core game. I am very pleased that I did, and I hope to see modules of this quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Poison
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wizard-Spawned Insanities
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:37:22

I admit I expected more of a simple monster manual from this book when I got it from a Bundle of Holding deal. It turned out to be far more impressive. There aren’t a vast amount of entries but that’s because they have their own artwork which bleeds into the design of their relevant pages in a gorgeous fashion. The stats are as simple as any Dungeon World creature but each one is a unique monstrosity. They have detailed descriptions, backgrounds and plot hooks to use. These are the kind of entries you insert into your game, bring up the image on your tablet and take joy in the horror of your group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizard-Spawned Insanities
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Nightmares Underneath
by Ben L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 21:36:40

You should buy this book. It's beautiful. The setting is evocative. The core conceit of the dungeon as nightmare incursion is fun. The bestiary is nuts. And the rules are a very interesting and innovative take on basic D&D. I did a full review here: http://maziriansgarden.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-nightmares-underneath-review.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmares Underneath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Wurm vs. Moonicorn
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:17:54

I consider this game to be nothing short of brilliant. Having an epic space opera story built into playbooks and a winning condition that paces the whole experience, is great. The book itself is an artifact that I love to read just for fun, often not something I do with game texts. The other playbooks are creative and interact with the fiction is great ways, the replay ability is immense.

It's something that is just overall incredibly exciting for someone like me as well, because truth be told I am not a huge fan of the DnD setting and lore, but I am a huge fan of this genre. It allows me to bring everything I like about DW forward easily and mixes in some great elements that are player facing.

Love this, spring for the hardcover - totally worth it!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Wurm vs. Moonicorn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DW2 Island of Fire Mountain
by Alex R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2016 17:08:09

I ran this for some friends a while back, and I don't know if this is somehow a normal thing for Dungeon World or not, but the formatting for this was extremely difficult to understand, and made referencing for information very hard for me to do. The adventure itself has a lot of interesting elements to it, and I liked the ideas presented within. I just wish it had been easier to figure out how to present and how to find the information that was laid within.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DW2 Island of Fire Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Warfare
by Kevin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2016 12:04:54

As a pure supplement to give you more mileage out of Dungeon World, this product is fun. As a resource to help you in examining, deconstructing, and researching Dungeon World class design, it's absolutely incredible. If you enjoy playing Dungeon World and are dipping your toes into the idea of making brand new playbooks, you can't go wrong owning this. It's a fantastic reference and touchstone for class design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures on Dungeon Planet
by Bill H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2015 14:20:05

I am glad I purchased this. After falling in love with Dungeon World, I picked up this supplement. At first glance, this is a well done science fiction adaption of the Dungeon World rules. In addition, it is a testament to the flexibility and adaptability of the Apocalypse World/Dungeon World core rule base. As I started to dig in, I realized the author referring to things like "Science Fantasy" instead of science fiction and was blown away when I realized that this is meant to be added on to Dungeon World. Although, there is enough here that you can play just with the material in this book, your games will be fuller and more enriched if you include it all. Most of my Science Fiction comes from Isaac Asimov and Piers Anthony and this fit right in. I had wonderful images of a robot, mutant, dwarven cleric and a human bard exploring a Byzanium mine on an alien world in search of The Eternal Gauntlet all while worried if they could get it before the violent sand storms on the surface buried their ship. The Game Master (GM) section on world building is rich in giving you ideas of strange new worlds to take the party too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures on Dungeon Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Between the Worlds
by Konrad Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2015 19:56:42

I hit the same issue as one of the other reviewers. the PDF has about 40 pages missing, 36 pages. Presumably this replicates the data on the separate character sheets. but its still kind of jarring. Also character sheets are presented as 2 page spreads, which is unfortunate.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Between the Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates