DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
d30 Random Gem Generator
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2016 17:34:37

This is a good start for a table, and with just a bit more work I think it could be incredibly useful. The problem is that it treats each type of gem as equally likely to have a given value; there is no way a piece of quartz could ever have the same value as a sapphire or diamond of comparably quality and size. A simple change would be to assign each gem type a base value, then use the size and quality results to modify it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Random Gem Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Not a bad idea, just not what I going for, partially because I didn\'t want to make any assumptions of base value for someone else\'s game world. For example, aluminium used to be far more valuable than even gold...... Of course I would agree that quartz is far less valuable than a sapphire or diamond, but a large quartz could be an order of magnitude bigger than what would be considered a \"large\" sapphire.....still, if (well, when) I get a chance to re-visit the table I\'ll add a spot for the GM to add a base value for each type. Thanks for the suggestion.
Gone to Ground
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 08:44:39

The write-up of the basic facts of this mini-adventure conflict with the write-up for the map, leaving the result of the core plot undefined. Which would be fine, but this is billed as a self-contained drop-in, ready to play. There are some glitches with the quality as well; spelling mistakes and that sort of thing. I'd encourage the author to clean this up and re-post, however: the basic concepts are sound.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Gone to Ground
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I just ran the pages through a spelling and grammar check and only found one error, an \"A\" that should have been \"An\". These \"Tweak & Toss\" encounter sets are not designed to be self-contained drop-in & ready to play. The GM note on the back of the page notes this and the DTRPG page for this product makes it clear that \"This particular tweak & toss is little more than a setup, a map, and some highlights.\" I\'m sorry if you were expecting something else, but I\'ve done what I can to explain the nature of this product.
d30 Quick NPC Personality Generator
by Jaren R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 19:54:02

I love random tables and I like NPCs. But sometimes it can be tough to distinguish between Bob #1 and Bob #2 when your players are in the Bazaar. Obviously no two NPCs are going to react to the characters in the same way, and no two NPCs are going to be in the same mood when they're approached for information.

Of course, when you've had a long week at work and just threw the game together tonight? That doesn't help things much. You're in a bad mood, so all of your NPCs are in a bad mood. The characters are going to suffer for it, too.

This simple, yet elegant table takes the guesswork out of your NPCs. It also takes your own grumpiness, fatigue, or silliness out of the equation too...well, as much as possible.

The table is a one-page table, well-laid out, well-designed, and easy to read and use. I'd recommend it highly; I'm going to keep it at my side behind the screen, right next to my list of NPC names (so that Bob, Bob, and Bob doesn't happen again).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Quick NPC Personality Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Sometimes Bob, Bob, and Bob can be fun though! Of course I immediately think of (and realize this so dates me), \"Hi, I\'m Daryl, this is my brother Daryl and my other brother Daryl.\" Of course if you get the PCs into an underground setting you could always call everyone \"Gary\" with a number behind the name. Had to throw in a more recent example....
d30 Quick NPC Personality Generator
by Todd L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 14:03:13

Good collection of personality traits that let's you easily create an NPC quickly. The real beauty of the table though is that it breaks traits down into Good, Neutral and Evil. This gives you a little more realistic result rather than a completely random table giving you a kind-hearted and generous Evil King.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d30 Quick NPC Personality Generator
by jai p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 13:32:55

Enjoy the ease of using this product, ecepecially when you're trying to create a load of npcs. The only problem that I have is that I have had to modify it because I can't find a d30 anywhere around.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
d30s are available from a variety of manufacturers, including Koplow Games (http://www.koplowgames.com/), Chessex (http://www.chessex.com/Dice/Specialty%20Dice/30_sided.htm), and Cyrstal Caste (http://crystalcaste.com/). In a pinch, lacking a d30, one could use a d3 or a d6 coupled with a d10. The first die gives you the tens place and the d10 the ones place. My oldest d30 is actually marked 1-10 three times, with one set marked with a \"-\" and the other a \"+\".
20 Alchemical Concoctions for Your Campaign
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2015 10:33:30

This is more than just a collection of potions (although it's that too). This short, smart booklet includes ingredients, shelf life, and side effects because, hey, magic is just a little bit dangerous...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
20 Alchemical Concoctions for Your Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Danger in Drakesville
by anthony r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2015 07:29:21

Good beginning scenario for the Hackmaster 5th edition game. It gives the GM room to add in what he wants but keeps the main idea of the mod rolling.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Danger in Drakesville
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Valley of the Seven Sisters
by Jarrett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2014 21:57:01

Another must have for the GM that likes to run on the fly. This is handy and I have used to flesh out a wilderness encounter roll when one of my players had to leave early and I didn't want to send the rest of the team ahead to their possible demise. I really appreciate how Christopher adds the 5 Ws and H on the back page and I like the folder approach. Keep on putting these out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Valley of the Seven Sisters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lookout at Logger's Lake
by Jarrett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2014 21:52:33

This quick little read is a must have for any GM that subscribes to the 'less is more' school of prep. Light encounter info peppered across a small color map make for a nice evening's worth of sandboxing. It's labeled OSR but it has no stats listed so I would say it can be run anywhere. I've used it in 5e and had no problems. I highly recommend Christopher's other small pieces as well. Cheers and thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lookout at Logger's Lake
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Danger in Drakesville
by Stephen L. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 18:14:37

Not a bad little mod to start players off in and certainly not hard to modify for more than the standard four players in a game. It is also a nice little side quest for a stopover between towns.

Still, having two hobgoblins at the very end, should the players go so far, is a little much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Danger in Drakesville
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I wholeheartedly agree that two monsters at the very end is too much, but that is kind of the point. Realistically they should never come into play and the bits leading up to having to pull them out is supposed to discourage the party from venturing further in. The monsters have never come into play, but at a convention sometimes the players say \"screw it\" and go total stupid, trying to get their PCs in more and more trouble until they die. This possible ending was specifically for those folks.
DM Thank You Card
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/25/2013 10:57:02

A neat little idea that reminds all players that being the DM can involve a lot of effort both at the table and outside of the 'contact time' - preparing adventures (whether sourcing published ones and reading them or making up your own), reading about the setting, researching stuff, getting resources like maps and handouts ready...

For many years, the local group has ended with the DM thanking everyone for playing and them in turn thanking the DM for running the game. This card just takes that courtesy to the next level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DM Thank You Card
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old "Woodcut" Playing Cards
by Jan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2013 02:25:59

Fantastic set of playing cards. Years ago I made myself a Diamondback deck and can certainly appreciate the effort that goes into making a product like this ... especially a free one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old "Woodcut" Playing Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old "Woodcut" Playing Cards
by Adam C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2012 10:47:53

Nice deck of cards! My group and I created a card game for our HackMaster games, and we used a regular deck of cards to play it. When playing a card game in a fantasy world, the mood is somewhat diminished when playing with a normal deck. These cards help make the game seem more real, kinda like player handouts.

Only gave 4 stars, because the cards are black and white. Full color would definitely get a full 5 stars!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old "Woodcut" Playing Cards
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/28/2012 14:52:43

A great little PDF for creating prop playing cards, perfect for using as clues in mystery or horror themed games, or even as replacements for standard playing cards in games that use them (with a bit of work, of course). All of the images are in black and white.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Natural "Grid" Overlay for Dirt/Stone Surfaces
by Topher K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2012 10:51:04

This is a very versatile product. Too often the grids I used for my mapping detracted from the rough feel I wanted for an outdoor or "ruined" environment. Using this overlay, I can still have the grid I need for game mechanics while maintaining a rustic feel for my terrain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Natural "Grid" Overlay for Dirt/Stone Surfaces
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates