DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Josh W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2017 23:02:12

I'm new to AS&SH, and was immensely rewarded in purchasing this 2E tome! At over 600 pages, I feared mind-boggling circuitous rule-sets, but NOT A PAGE WASTED! The setting, classes, sub-classes, races, equipage, spells, combat systems bestiary, adventures, and more are intertwined with precision. Well done North Wind!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by chris r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2017 15:33:44

Many people have already covered the rules impressions and the theme inspirations about this game. I won't repeat those observations here. I want to say one thing however. If you miss the old ad&d rules and want a streamlined presentation of it, this is the game to get. It has got me to switch back from 5e and convinced some of my friends as well. I think it's a strongly well thought out product for any gamer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Galaad A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2017 14:16:58

When I saw the Kickstarter page of Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea 2(ASSH) , what convinced me of backing it was the artwork, and mainly what is now the book cover artwork. It's like everything about the game is on it. Like a good old pulp comicbook artwork. You can write dozens of stories with just this image in mind. So I backed it for the PDF version, hoping the game would be as great as the cover.

Then, I received my PDF copy. Right from the first pages, I knew it wasn't great. It was AMAZING. A few days later I was setting up my first game with some friends, including a beginner. And it was as astonishing as expected.

First, the book itself. It's separated in 6 volumes, covering everything you can expect in a huge RPG book: rules, monsters, universe, adventures... It also includes an introductory adventure and pre-created characters. More than 600 of content. The interior artwork is overall pretty great. Since it's been made by several illustrators, you got different styles. I don't like all of them, but most of it is good, and it really helps you to feel like you're part of the weird universe of Hyperborea.

Then, the rules. It's basically AD&D, with a lot of improvements; So if you've already played it, you won't be lost. And if you haven't, it's easy to learn! Even for beginners, it's very quick to learn the basic mecanims of the game and enjoy the adventure! What I particularly like is the fact that your character is what you want him to be, from level 1. You don't have to wait for levels 6 or so to choose a specialization and finally enjoy your hero. You can pick a class, or one of the many subclasses if it matches what you want, right at character creation. And if you love spells, you'll be happy, as the book contains many, many powers for all kind of spellcasters. IN a few words: it's easy to learn, while offering a great depth for veteran players.

And finally, the universe. It's clear from the beginning, the rules are made to be played in any universe. But it'd be a shame to not play in the fantastic universe of Hyperborea. It mixes pulp with weird fantasy. Think Conan the barbarian, Masters of the universe, Call of Cthulhu and legends from our world. It opens all kind of possibilites, while offering a huge and detailled universe. Hence, you can create all kind of adventures, taking inspiration from the book or not.

The last campaign I did was a D&D4 adventure, more than 5 years ago. But thanks to ASSH, I'm going to create a new one. And it might be the best one of all! Thanks North Wind Adventures for creating one the best RPGs of these recent years!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Jack C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2017 13:38:24

I have been playing AS&SH 1E for a few years now, so 2E was a no brainer, as it adds more classes, more spells, more monsters, more magic items and tons of additional illustrations by great artists. This new edition also includes a new world map, a great little starting town (Swampgate) and an adventure (The Black Moss-Hag of Lug).

The system plays like a streamlined D&D, while the setting cranks the volume up to 11 on Robert E. Howard, HP Lovecraft, Clark Ashton Smith and other pulp authors while removing the Tolkien elements. It has all the great sword and sorcery, horror and weird fantasy elements that I love in my games.

If you have been waiting to try this game, wait no longer. Do it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2017 10:30:40

I am still going through the PDF but it is exactly what I wanted. More of the same and expanded. It is a succint book that is really working over time giving us way more content than the page count would indicate. New classes, New spells, New monsters the gaming is going to be good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2017 18:48:47

Having read through the PDF of AS&SH2E I am very pleased I backed this on Kickstarter. This game is a well-designed RPG supported by people who palpably love it. While I can't comment on the physical books as yet, the PDF is very well constructed, the text is clear, and the artwork keeps the fantastic pieces of the original boxed set and blends in top notch additions. The rules expansions fit with the original without overshadowing them, and itch to be used.

If vanilla fantasy RPGs seem stale to you, pick up AS&SH2E and one of its modules (quality adventures, all) and enjoy an evening of swords and sorcery gaming straight out of a Savage Sword of Conan zine.

Bottom line, this is worth every dollar you'll spend on it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Joseph K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2017 09:05:49

I've been running a Hyperborea campaign for about 3 years now. I also have been running a 1st Edition AD&D game for over 9.

Hyperborea is now my preferred system to run and Jeff has made me even happier with this second edition of AS&SH. Any homebrewed changes I've used or contemplated in my 1e game is basically in Hyperborea. Heck, I don't allow monks, bards, or druids (anymore) in my 1e game. I feel no need to make such exclusions with Hyperborea.

The art is a big draw for me. It's a signal as to the mood and frame of mind the creator has. In this case, the art fits what I think of as "my kind of rpg game".

The setting is sparsely defined enough for me to fill in the gaps if I want but has enough content so that I don't have to do a lot of work to make things work together. Being a "weird tales" inspired setting amps up the gonzo factor to have things like laser pistols, lost World War 2 ranger patrols, or even biker gangs on space warping motorcycles fighting chronomancers and hounds of tindolos.

Jeff consistently takes great care to produce things that are of high quality and eminently usable and malleable to a DM's needs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 14:21:47

This is the best iteration of retro gaming I've seen yet. Complete old school vibe with changes and tweaks to firmly place it in a niche of it's own. As the foreward says, it could easily be titled "Weird Tales, the RPG." It really evokes the feel of Robert E Howard, HP Lovecraft, & Clark Ashton Smith. This book is also a great bargain. It's 622 pages filled with loads of character classes, weapons & gear, spells, monsters, optional combat rules, treasure, mass combat, sea combat, strongholds, a complete setting, pregens, a complete town, and a complete (and awesome) adventure! The editing and layout are great, and the rules are clear and easy to read. Grab a copy and enter a weird world of high adventure and dark horror.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Zachary S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 13:51:55

The first edition of AS&SH was truly a gem to find and be a part of! This 2E version takes it to another level :) More of everything that was already awesome! We've already got one game in using a few of the updates! My group of players love the setting (who wouldn't?!), and we have been truly having a blast for a few years since the first edition came out. Can't wait to get many more games in, incorporating more of the material that second edition has to offer!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2017 21:10:34

A great enhancement to the 1st edition. It's still the same game as before with improved art, better (and easier to read layout), new classes, new monsters, and new magic. While it has a number of additions, it remains fully compaitble with the 1st edition.

For those unfamiliar with the setting, it is inspired primarily by the works of Clark Ashton Smith's Hyperborean tales, mixed in with a lot of Fritz Leiber, Jack Vance, Robert E. Howard, and HP Lovecraft. It uses a much-cleaned up version of the AD&D 1st edition rules. All player characters are humans. The setting is fairly small (though much larger than the original D&D Known World), representing the legendary realm of Hyperborea. You'll find many ancient and mythical human cultures have found their way here. I've found it quite easy to port AD&D and various OSR adventures to the setting, usually with a tweak here or there.

Full review can be found on my blog at https://19thlevel.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (Second Edition)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2017 14:09:34

So many months ago it seems that the Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea Second Edition's kickstarter seemed to take the OSR community by storm! Well the long await is over! Last night whist I was at my weekly AS&SH game the pdf broke! It was billed as the premiere Sword & Sorcery OSR rpg during the kickstarter. So let's see if that's true and I'll be the judge of that claim! Clocking in at over six hundred & twenty two pages this is one hell of a hefty tome. But let's get the big question out of the way first for Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hypborea first edition fans this second edition is fully and wholly compatible with first edition. For myself and other fans of AS&SH this is an OSR retroclone that we've been waiting for with both baited breath & some trepidation. Trepidation because its a game that hearkens back to Dungeons & Dragons whist wearing its sword & sorcery linage on its sleeves for all to see. All of the usual AS&SH humancentric racial choices are here with Hyperborean & Atlantean intact inside the PC game swell. Lets start at the top all of the usual PC core classes are there: -Fighter: a swordsman, bowman, or other warrior type

  • Magician: a sorcerer who memorizes arcane formulæ and casts spells
  • Cleric: an armed and armoured mystic sorcerer
  • Thief: a nimble swordsman possessed of numerous specialized skills Then instead of multi classing like AD&D or certain B/X Dungeons & Dragons editions you get subclasses of the main four and there are twenty two of them enabling players to get the pick of the Hyperborean litter: From the fighter you get:
  • Barbarian: an outland warrior possessed of feral instincts
  • Berserker: a rampaging shock trooper renowned for unbridled battle rage
  • Cataphract (Knight): an armoured horseman and warrior elite
  • Huntsman: a wilderness warrior who glories in the hunt
  • Paladin: a champion who crusades for justice and Law
  • Ranger: a borderland fighter, frontiersman, and defender
  • Warlock: a spell-weaving fighter who wields steel and sorcery interchangeably From the Magician you get:
  • Cryomancer: a sorcerer who commands the elemental power of ice
  • Illusionist: a sorcerer who evokes phantasms and manipulates shadows and light
  • Necromancer: a sorcerer who practices black magic and communicates with the dead
  • Pyromancer: a sorcerer who commands the elemental power of fire
  • Witch (Wizard): a sorcerer who brews potions, divines portents, and lays curses The Cleric has some interesting choices:
  • Druid: a mystic sorcerer empowered by ancestral, elemental, and animistic spirits
  • Monk: a warrior-priest who strives for physical and mental mastery
  • Priest: a chaplain mystic of prodigious spell-casting capacity
  • Runegraver: a mystic warrior who carves runic spells on bone, metal, stone, and wood
  • Shaman (Witch Doctor): a primal sorcerer who confers with ancestral and totem spirits And the Thief adds their own flair to the mix:
  • Assassin: a thief who specializes in murder and intrigue
  • Bard (Skald): a warrior, scholar, and weaver of enchanted lyrics and/or music
  • Legerdemainist: an adept thief who also commands the power of sorcery
  • Purloiner: a religious thief who also practices the esoteric mysticism of a cleric
  • Scout: a lightly armed explorer, intelligence gatherer, and stealth master

Now many of these character classes are making their debut in the Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea in the second edition of the game. Before this they appeared in AFS OSR gaming magazine which has always worn its pulp, Weird Tales, & old school roots proudly. For AS&SH fans all of these classes has been collected, edited, and combined in one package that works with the second edition system. This means that DM's don't have to fart around with system issues straight out of the gate. So why was a second edition necessary? The layout, artwork, organization, and internalization of the games contents is where this game really shines. Divisions of sorcery,campaign & world building material even the advice is all laid out with care. So one of my friends have scoffed at the claims that the Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea rpg cleaves close to the twisted visions of HP Lovecraft & Clark Ashton Smith. Well I'm happy to report that its so much hog wash. This edition injects even more Smithian goodness into the rpg setting material. The author and his vision are well intact in AS&SH with the roots of Clark Ashton Smith's Hyperborean cycle center stage. HP Lovecraft is here sure but its really Smith's game center stage now. The monster section has borne the fruits of all kinds of metal style monsters in its blood soaked pages. I've got to say something about the demon section.

The demon section has been expanded with some brand new types with Russ Nicholson artwork thrown in. But that's the whole issue, many of the monsters from ants to zombies have been expanded upon & amped up for the Hyperborean setting. This closely ties in with the setting material being knotted back into the world setting of Hyperborea. This is a far more lived in world not defined like you get with Middle Earth or even the HP Lovecraft Dreamlands but lived in. This means that the Dungeon master has clear license to create lots of their own twists & turns in Hyperborean adventure for themselves.

The Lovecraftian little touches that get brought the fore mean that you as the reader get snatches of the world within and actually will want to play in Hyperborea. Take for example that Brown Jenkins from HP Lovecraft fame is now an option for only the wickest of sorcerers;"A brown jenkin is sent by Thaumagorga (or one of his six dæmon princes) to serve only the wickedest sorcerers. Its mandate is to encourage its master to greater deeds of depravity and Evil." Its the little touches that make this a solid addition to the AS&SH line. But there are heaping slime laden gobs of Hyperborean campaign & world building goodness. There's a ton of expanded setting material, campaign stuff, DM advice & guidance. Plus a starting adventure and campaign location. All of this I will get into sometime next week!

Whole sections of the Hyperborea world itself have been built, expanded upon, and been blown open. This also includes the incredible map included by Glynn Seal of Monkey Blood Design . Let's be honest here. This is an excellent example of a map waiting for adventurers to put their mark of violence and depravity on it. There's also a fillable pdf character sheet as well that comes with the pdf

Now how would I rake this second edition of Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea? Well, kids lets be honest here for a moment, I've done incredibly rude things to my own home game of Hyperborea. I've twisted the world, distorted the setting, added and subtracted huge chunks of the setting, modified the system and much more. I can totally & honestly see me doing the same thing with this edition of Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea. I give the second edition of Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea a solid five out of five. I only got the pdf at ten o'clock this morning and cranked this review out at three! This is 'the' game system that I personally use at my table and my players love!

Eric Fabiaschi Sword & Stitchery Blog Like this review & want to see more original content supporting AS&SH plus other OSR titles and game systems? Subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Comet
by Cody B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 19:15:10

Rarely do I start reading a module and find myself unable to put it down until I finish it. Where many scenarios are a chore of dense text and rules, Beneath the Comet riveted me like a good fantasy/horror novel.

The premise reminds me of Lawrence Schick's classic S2: White Plume Mountain -- a lure, a cryptic map into the wilderness, and a tomb full of extremely smart problem solving and combat.

In almost every respect, Beneath the Comet is BETTER than S2 and I don't give such praise lightly. (In Schick's defense, he didn't expect Gygax would publish his scenario as-is, loose ends and all.) The traps and challenges in the dungeon portion are every bit as devilish and confounding as S2 without compromising logic and becoming a "funhouse" dungeon.

BtC also provides a full-fledged wilderness section complete with village, random encounters, keyed encounters, and a variety of NPC's to interact with on the way to the destination. Here the Lovecraftian horror flavor of ASSH really shines and author Ben Ball does the setting justice. The encounters are first-class terrifying without being cliché and there's enough misdirection to keep players guessing. Parties that shoot first and ask questions later might save their lives, but they'll also have some regrets.

The artwork is above average -- it's evocative and abundant enough to keep the pages turning but never feels like filler. The borders are classy and simple without expanding the margins into the word count. I didn't notice one typo or map error. The writing is top notch and made me pull out the dictionary. I wish more game products did this.

The only area for improvement is that the dungeon is flat and not particularly dynamic, like a collection of independent, keyed rectangles, each with its own obstacle. By nature, tombs don't have excess space, but a couple forks in the road, empty rooms, sloping floors, red herrings, wandering occupants, or a weird vertical spaces would really spice things up. S2's three-dimensional spaces like the inverted ziggurat, lava room, kayaks, and giant air bubble made for truly memorable encounters gamers talk about years later; BtC doesn't have a space quiet as good.

Overall, Beneath the Comet is basically perfect. DM's searching in vain for a TSR classic their players haven't already read/played need to buy this. I can't wait to run it in my group and I can't wait to see what Mr. Ball does next.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Comet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2017 13:03:34

Fun to Say, Fun to Play!

Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea (AS&SH) must have one of the best names given to a game product, ever. The rules to AS&SH appear as a very clean and tidyed-up version (such as using a d12 for thief skills) of the 1st Edition Advanced Game using the OGL. The default setting of Hyperborea is one of the best published. It has a very "pulp fantasy" feel to it as suggested by the box cover illustration by Charles Lang, is self contained, is depicted on a nice hex map, is described in just the right amount of detail to leave room for individualization and it lends itself well to being used with just about any other setting as a pocket universe, lost continent or alternate dimension.

I ran this game as referee some time back for a short campaign for some Pathfinder/5th Ed. players who were curious about Old School play. The players began by making late 19th century Earth PCs who were passengers or crew on a steamship off the coast of Alaska. After some role-play on ship, things turned mysterious and weird. A cold mist, a spectacular northern lights display and a faulty fresh water condensor and they awake bound-up as dog sled passengers in Hyperborea. They are taken down off the frozen plateau and traded to some ancient looking Greek speaking folk who worship Athena and Zeus, etc. They quickly learn the language and are taught some local survival skills (class abilities) and start adventuring. They help a village recover some lost kids and become local heroes. While investigating an ancient temple complex, several of the original party perish and are replaced by "locals". The mini-campaign ran a half-dozen or so sessions and we then moved on to something else.

Some of the players remarked they enjoy the "Old School" type rules and classes - they started with just fighters, clerics and magic users, but for replacement characters could choose from several sub-classes as well. The "setting" of Hyperborea generated the most interest and I'll probably re-visit it. The mixture of cultures - vikings, kelts, and ancient Greeks imported from Earth's past with native Hyperboreans, Amazons, and Esquimaux (sound it out!) give quite a lot of variety while keeping the PCs human (mostly). The author, Jeffrey Talanian, states an intent to create a game consistent with the fantastic and weird worlds of R.E. Howard, Clark Ashton Smith and H.P. Lovecraft. The two spiral bound books in the box are illustrated through-out by Ian Baggley in a manner that definitely adds to the weird, dark and dangerous feel of the game setting. Hyperborea has some ancient high technology roots that also add to its uniqueness. There is the possibility of exploring ancient ruins and discovering lost technologies, if the referee wants to go down that path.

The one area I personally feel could use a little more work is in the area of customizing the rules to the setting, especially regarding magic. AS&SH uses the bog standard Advanced Game magic system and spells, although wisely drops the mundane material components and casting segment complications. The Vancian system is retained however, which carries with it a promise of more predictable magic than a skill-roll outcome, magic point system and suggests a theory of magic as a mental exercise of mostly memorization. It is a bit "tame" for my taste. That aside, Mr. Talanian does include some new "atmospheric" spells such as "black cloud", "cataleptic state", and "mirror, mirror" and does his honest best to describe spell books and the acquisition of spell knowledge as something weird and dangerous. I am sure he gets it, but I think he wanted to stay true to the original game mechanics.

The AS&SH bestiary is a combination of traditional fantasy monsters and the Lovecraftian horrors. Dwarves are monsters, not PCs in AS&SH. Described as greedy and perverse, stunted and misshaped forgers of magic items which they are cursed to be unable to use themselves they remind me of Nibelungen Ring Cycle dwarves. Orcs are the off-spring of a swine daemon and Picts (a race of primitive humans). Tree-men are similar to Ents, otherwise, the usual Tolkien races are missing from AS&SH, but there are still plenty of bi-pedal baddies such as snake-men, ape-men, cave-men and ghouls.

So what is the appeal of AS&SH, besides a fantastic name. The rules are a nice, cleaned up version of the 1st Ed. Advanced Game giving us a game that can be played pretty much as written. The setting of Hyperborea is one of the best published settings I have come across in almost 40 years of gaming and were it not somewhat derivative of certain pulp settings, I'd call it genius. But the derived part is intentional in that it evokes a feel for the source material. There are really two good products here, the game rules and the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mystery at Port Greely
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 14:46:43

Missing Fishmongers’ Guild representatives? Strange goings on over in the area of Port Greely? The fish supply to the capital of Hyperborea in dangerous peril and more violent happenings? This looks like a prime opportunity for your PC's to make some gold pieces and get involved in the Mysteries of Port Greely! Where the heck do I begin with The Mystery at Port Greely From North Wind Adventures

for the Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperborea rpg system? Well, its a really nasty & dangerous run of an adventure. This is a mini campaign adventure that peels back a weird & very dangerous layer of Hyperborea based on the HP Lovecraft novel The Shadow Over Innsmouth. But this adventure puts its own AS&SH spin on the proceedings but be warned this is an adventure meant for PC levels of four to six characters of 4th through 6th level. Well after reading through the adventure this morning at four A.M. I can honestly say that this adventure sets the bar very high in terms of quality & investigative danger to the PC's. The set up is classic old school Lovecraftian weirdness right out of the gate;"Until about three years ago, the peculiar town of Port Greely was renowned as a prolific exporter of crustaceans. Then the Greely lobstermen severed all ties with outside partners. Subsequent attempts at renegotiation were shunned. More recently, a small group of Fishmongers’ Guild representatives from the City-State of Khromarium has gone missing in Port Greely, and answers have been less than forthcoming. At present, the Guild seeks answers. It wants to know what became of its representatives, and it wishes to re-establish its lucrative partnership with the Port Greely lobstermen. Your party have been contracted to help resolve The Mystery at Port Greely." Yeah, and that's where things begin to take a left turn into the weird and dangerous world Hyperborea. This adventure places the PC's right into the action straight from the start;" this adventure begins at sea with the party en route to Port Greely, about 120 miles west long the coast from Khromarium." The minute your ship docks is the minute your in the world of the AS&SH version of the Deep Ones. NPC's are well drawn out and robustly detailed with enough room for the DM to make these things their own. The writing here has been created to draw in the PC's and take them into the world of Port Greely with lots of one on one encounters, plenty of urban crawling action, and one on one action with the inhabitants. The encounters are well balanced , tight, and deadly. The events follow a wandering timeline enabling lots of exploration by PC's. There isn't simply one urban crawl adventure location after another in this adventure instead we get into reams of adventure opportunities with plenty of chances for the PC's to die in the middle of Port Greely. The town isn't the only point of horror in this adventure and there is sea travel, dungeon action, investigative opportunities, and much more. The dungeon master get's a boat load of details on the AS&SH version of the Esoteric Order of Dagon and its a very insidious & dangerous menace for campaigns. There's a claustrophobic and rushed sense of panic in certain sections of The Mystery at Port Greely that is going to put the PC's through their paces. Throughout the adventure I could see bits and pieces of the influences of Robert E. Howard, H.P. Lovecraft, Clark Ashton Smith, and Henry Kuttner. The adventure complete fills out everything you've ever wanted to know about AS&SH's version of the Deep Ones and in this regard The Mystery at Port Greely also works as a source book for future adventures featuring these Lovecraftian horrors. But is the adventure worth getting into as an AS&SH dungeon master? There's a lot going on under the simmering center of Port Greely and the fact that its within striking distance of the capital of Khromarium makes this a very subtle and rising menace with Hyperborea. That leaves lots of weird questions on the table and lots of opportunity for even more Hyperborean adventure. Is it worth getting into? The answer is yes! Because the adventurers are at a cross point and put on the spot with;" At present, the guild seeks answers. They want to know what became of their representatives, and they wish to reestablish their lucrative partnership with the Port Greely lobstermen. Your party has been contracted to help resolve the mystery at Port Greely." the adventurers are going to find themselves up to their necks in the some very dangerous goings on and then their going to have to escape with their lives if their very lucky. This is a very deadly adventure in places & the cartography is top notch enabling the DM to really bring home the extent of the danger of Deep Ones of Port Greely. This module isn't the end of the mystery its really only the beginning. Five out of five for this one and go grab it! Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want to see this and other OSR systems supported plus new reviews? Be sure to subscribe to http://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery at Port Greely
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rats in the Walls
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2016 04:13:25

Out of 14 pages, 10 and a quarter are the content.

An Inn/tavern keeper requestng help from the players, as he has a serious rat problem. Sounds simple enough; not really. Quite a good scenario for beginning players. It appears as a fairly standard 'dungeon crawl', with rats as the main antagonist, and a suprise one at the end.

There are also some secret doors, and the loot (which should keep the players well equipped for a while).

There's also an ending note about a possible were creature - interesting.

The only thing I found that stopped this scenario from getting a 5/5, is on page 7. It shows a map of the dock where the inn/tavern is, and 4 very small floor maps all on one page. I had to zoom the page to 150% to see the maps. These could have been put on a separate page or two to make them bigger, giving a much better view of them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rats in the Walls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates