DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Damned Are The Living
by collin s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2013 15:53:20

I have a confession to make. I've only just glanced at the rules and I have yet to run or play this game. Why waste your time with a review? Because from what I have seen this is a complete rule set that appears to be very playable with some nifty ideas. I also dig the quotes from a lot of horror / zombie apocalypse authors in the side bars to add flavor to the setting and spur ideas for the GM. For the high price of a dollar this game is absolutely worth it. Once I play the game I will go ahead and review it in depth, but pick it up while you can for a buck, you won't regret it (unless you don't have an extra buck).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damned Are The Living
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Freefall The Role-Playing Game
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2013 23:00:36

Now THIS is more like it!


For some reason, DTRpgNow wouldn't permit this to be downloaded previously. But now - ah, now I can experience the joy and the chaos that is Sam Starfall and the fight for order and liberty that is Florence Ambrose. Well, yes, I could experience these things in the comic strip, samples of which you'll find right in this game. But to CREATE such chaos? To save the world from planetary explosions? Oh, there's nothing like hands-on!


If you're looking for many, many crunchy rules and have no sense of humor, you're out of your depth here. There are enough rules to play and to let the gamesmaster make the players crazy, and then Mr Frisbee gets out of the way so we can play.


Let me repeat this, for it should be the first law of rolegame design: GET OUT OF OUR WAY AND LET US PLAY!


Combat, skill success/failure, etc - will seem a bit familiar to players of Hero Kids and Fudge. Or something else. The idea is to show us how to simulate lots of technical gizmos and to blow things up. And pie fights. We need to know how to run pie fights.


Did I mention that Sam is a squid-like alien in a body containment suit, to make him look sort of humanoid? Imagine stuffing Cthulhu in a small environment suit. Then have him read one of his books and go insane. Sam's species (of which he is the only example, because the humans went mad when they saw his world and cut off any flights to that area ever) are scavengers. Translate that to a newly-formed almost-hospitable planet with hundreds of humans and millions of robots, and the Flim-Flam Man is running loose, grabbing whatever he can.


Florence is a wolf. No, really. Bio-doubletalked into being a humanoid wolf, with the brains of a technical genius, the conscience of Jiminy Cricket, and the instincts of a wolf. Who is dating her veterinarian.


Sure, you could play one of these characters (you poor soul!) but you could also play robots of all types, the mayor, a baker, or any number of other types and shapes. And every one of them, except for Florence and usually Helix (Sam's robot, he thinks) want to kill Sam. This includes Sam's ship.


Pull two bucks out of your wallet now and send them to Mark and Matt now. You know you want to. But hold onto your wallet. Sam is still running loose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Freefall The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Freefall The Role-Playing Game
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2013 13:14:56

At 48 pages long, Freefall reminds me little of Futurama (a little).
It gives players a chance to play comedic sci-fi scenarios.
Your character starts off with 6-9 positive traits and 1-4 negative traits.
Task rolls involve rolling a D6 plus a D6 for each applicable trait.


Freefall might be an acquired taste (you need a funny bone).
Characters also have notable gear.


At £1.30, it's good for the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Damned Are The Living
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2013 11:41:30

Another great game using the FUGLI game system. The first three chapters concern character creation and game play. This pretty much repeats the FUGLI system which I find nice since newcomers won't need to purchase these rules separately. Chapter 4 covers the world of Damned Are The Living. The author covers such things as different zombie types, background info concerning the plague and provides a sample scenario among other things. Though its only 80+ pages long, the game feels very complete.


Though the zombie genre has been covered by other game systems, I think the FUGLI system presents it in a fast and easy to play format, yet still provides enough crunch for us old gaming grognards.


I must say, FRIZ GAMES is fast becoming one of my favorite independent game publishers/creators.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damned Are The Living
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Damned Are The Living
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2013 03:38:55

The DATL PDF is 88 pages, approximately 80 are the content.
Nicely done with background/history of the virus and events leading up to the outbreak.


Character sheet included.


Various zombie types listed - nice.
Random encounters, NPCs are also listed.
Equipment has a wear classification and target number for failed tasks.


I just need to print it out and get some victims (sorry, players) for some unpleasant zombie encounters.


At £1.91 it's very good. Well worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damned Are The Living SNEAK PEEK
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2013 04:52:58

A good 20 page preview of the upcoming Damned are the Living RPG.


A brief little story in the first pages, then the 'history' of the beginning of the Cerberus virus.


Worth getting, just to give you a 'taster' of the RPG when it arrives.


Can't wait to 'sink my teeth into this' when you comes out (pardon the pun).


Certainly looking forward to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Damned Are The Living SNEAK PEEK
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Outbound - The Commonwealth Pathfinders Sourcebook
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2013 17:31:49

At 50 pages, I found this supplement for Distant Worlds a rather good read.
It's actually 46 pages (2 blank - p2 & p49, then the cover, and the contents table).


Some decent data on The Pathfinders is contained within the pages (history, organisation, gear, spacecraft, etc).
There's even a campaign (4 adventures) included.
Apart from the colour cover, there's also a colour map of the planet Typhon on p32, the rest is black & white.


For a one-man band operation, it's pretty good.


There's plenty of sidebar items as well (damaged spacesuits, adventure types, etc).
And the usual 'phrases' from various sci-fi films.


So far, I've purchased all/most of the Friz Games items (Survivors of the Fire plus the supplements, Distant Worlds, FUGLI rulebook); and I need to read them again to give them a decent review.


Worth it at £1.30.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Outbound - The Commonwealth Pathfinders Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Wastelands - SOTF Adventure Pack
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/16/2013 05:21:24

This collection of adventures ought to get your campaign off to a flying start. The first adventure, in particular, is designed to be an introductory one - for both new characters and new players alike - giving a good snapshot of the state of the world and what one needs to do to survive and prosper in it. A simple task, to get weapons and tools believed to be stored in the remote home of a gun enthusiast who hand-loaded his own ammunition, gives opportunity for wilderness travel and encounters as well as building relationships for the future. Neat!


The following three adventures introduce other typical aspects of post-apocalypse life such as warlords, environmental contamination, recovery of information and the like... all presented beautifully in context, in adventures that bring this alternate reality to life. As the tales progress, the feeling that this might well be what life after a nuclear war might be like becomes strong, a believable setting in which to develop your characters and your campaign.


Anyone who enjoys post-apocalypse games should find this worth a look, even if they don't play Surviors of The Fire but use a different ruleset - you may need to tweak a few stat blocks but most will be useable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Wastelands - SOTF Adventure Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
While this product is no longer available, the adventures are available in the Survivors of the Fire game book and Embers, the SOTF adventure supplement. -- Matt Frisbee
Survivors of the Fire
by Dan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2012 17:58:10

Nice concept without the over the top gonzo mutations. In fact there are no mutations (A big +). The d6 system is easy to use, and it actually makes for some exciting highway battles for those that enjoy the "Mad Max" type of game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survivors of the Fire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Survivors of the Fire
by Thaddeus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2012 06:46:10

An elegant and fast playing D6 based combat system that includes vehicle combat! The layout, writing, rules and overall production value is high, especially considering this is a one man company producing its first (bargin priced) product. My only complaint is the art isn't very good and there is very little of it. The adventures in the back of the book are well written. I look forward to more SotF sourcebooks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Survivors of the Fire
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2012 16:32:36

Great concept and fantastic rule system. It's clear, relatively simple to implement, and I wish I'd thought of it first!
I like the layout of the book, the quotes, and the detailed examples that really made the world after the fire real.
Character creation makes sense... I especially like the Family Aspects. It details what happened to your family during the last days. It makes a character feel more like they are right in the middle of the end of everything, or at the beginning of a new world.
Important details are included throughout, everything from weapons to vehicles to equipment types.
It even comes with an easy to begin adventure so you can begin right away and character archetypes if you don't want to take the time to generate your own.
Well worth the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Gift Certificates