DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Chill Quickstart: Good Fences Make Good Neighbors
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/14/2016 12:06:39

M love for Chill is WELL documented. When everyone else was playing Call of Cthulhu (and watching their characters go mad or die) I was playing Chill (and watching my characters die). Or more to the point I was creating elaborate scenarios involving SAVE. I loved Pacesetter Chill and even drove out to the old Mayfair Games warehouse to score a brandnew hardcover a few years back. I own pretty much everything for Chill and even Rotworld/Cryptworld/Majus.


On to the product as hand.
Chill: Good Fences Make Good Neighbors is a 46 page "Quickstart". It has everything you need to play the game now except for people, dice and some tokens. Don't have 10-sided dice? Fine, get a deck of cards, remove the royals, put all the black suits in one deck and all the red in another. Shuffle them. When you need to roll choose a black card and a red card. Count tens as "0" and aces as "1". Save the face cards, the royals, for your tokens.


With this Quickstart author +Matthew McFarland has distilled Chill down to it's essence. It's a game about fighting the Unknown. There are a couple of pages devoted to the mechanics of the game; find a target number, roll that or under. Avoid botches (doubles over) but hope for a Colossal Success (roll doubles and under). Tokens are also covered.


An overview of the character sheet comes next breaking down the Attributes, Skills, Edges, Drawbacks and where you record damage. There is also a spot for The Art, or some magical/psychic abilities. This edition seems to focus a bit more on this than the previous, normal-human-centric point of view of the previous, but that will wait for a full reveiw.


This makes up the first half-dozen or so pages. The next dozen covers Combat and The Art. Combat is just another type of test/roll and The Art are "fancy" skills. The nice thing is when one system is learned the rest are easily picked up.


The rest of the book is the adventure. I don't want to give out any spoilers for potential players, but the adventure is a classic one for Chill. What kind of adventures are good for Chill? Well anything you might see on "Supernatural", "Grimm", "Kolchak" or "The X-Files" would make for a great Chill game, but also the stories you told as kids about the haunted house, or the mean old neighbor lady or the monster in the sewers.


The quickstart includes some characters to get you up and running fast. There are maps, artifacts and investigation sheet to make this feel like a real investigation into the paranormal, or what Chill calls The Unknown. Enough background is given on SAVE to make it interesting and to make you want to know more.


For the price you can't beat it. If you ever told a scary story to others with a flashlight under your chin, dared a friend to go into a "haunted house" or watched a Hammer Horror film then this is a great game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Quickstart: Good Fences Make Good Neighbors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill Third Edition
by Matthew D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2015 08:51:36

I backed Chill 3rd Edition on Kickstarter, and found my first chance to run it three weeks ago, at IndieCon gaming convention on the south coast of England. Each game was going to be with players who had no experience of Chill.


To set the scene; when I run a game, I tend to come up with a plot first, and then find a system that'll match it and use that game's setting to fill in any blanks. I wrote two games - an action / investigation horror scenario named Mountains of BLOOD and a pure investigative horror scenario named The Haunting of Goldbrook Bridge. Having recently received my hard copy of Chill, and finding the rules remarkably easy to understand, setting intriguing, and artwork fantastic, I decided this was the game to use to make my scenarios unfold.


The first thing to note was that for a game none of the players in either group had played before, they picked up the system and setting incredibly swiftly. The % dice mechanic, gradients of success and failure (colossal, exceptional, and low), and light and dark tokens system really grabbed them. They also liked the idea of playing genuine "good guys" who weren't useless in the face of Unknown adversity.


Chill's not a game as punishing as similar % systems, such as the 40K RPGs, and Call of Cthulhu. With the possibility of colossal failure and success on double digits (rolling a 66 when attempting to score below a 60 is very bad indeed, while rolling a 44 is fantastic), the party were more interested in roll results than in a standard target number game. Atop that, the ability to flip a light token dark to increase your target number by 10 (thus turning your 60 to a 70, after rolling 66) is an excellent mechanic that really ups the ante. With players knowing that more dark tokens = more Unknown powers to be utilised by the GM, they really had to weigh up whether they'd rather fail, or succeed and give the GM more oomph to use later. In one game the players burned through their light tokens rapidly, and the scenario following showed the cost of doing so. In the second, I had an incredibly conservative group who accepted failure regularly, just to de-power my monsters. I tried every trick in the book to get a dark token from their line-up of light ones, only occasionally being able to sneak a power through. It was great fun!


I used monsters from the book for my game, and had briefly detailed the Denver SAVE HQ using the rules from the book. Both were simple to incorporate. I rarely had to refer to the book for complex mechanics, the situations in-game being resolved easily each time.


I always make an effort to run or play a game before I review it. I was able to run this game on two consecutive days having only read the book once, and the players raved about it to the point of some of them backing the Chill Companion Kickstarter that weekend. I don't know if there's higher praise. I look forward to the next time I run this game, and hopefully I'll get a chance to play it at some point!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
by Joseph F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2015 17:08:49

A very neat and easy to read sheet. The few changes to the sheet are barely noticeable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill Quickstart: Good Fences Make Good Neighbors
by Joseph F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2015 17:05:50

A fresh look at an old classic. A few minor changes from the older versions but still very enjoyable



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Quickstart: Good Fences Make Good Neighbors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill Third Edition
by Scott m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2015 13:39:32

I've been playing Chill since the first edition published by Pacesetter. While the second edition had some improvements, I thought it turned what was a system with simplistic elegance into a system that was unnecessarily complex.


Third edition has found that excellent balance, between improving on the first edition rules, while not overburdening players with the excessive rules found in the second edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill Third Edition
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2015 22:49:54

I was a big fan of Chill 1e from Pacesetter, not a fan of 2e from Mayfair (too much math; ugly art), and was excited about the Kickstarter for 3e. I won't bore you with more narrative of how I got here, so here's my review: it's a great game. I've run it for some friends for several sessions and we've all enjoyed it thoroughly, running different kinds of horror stories and finding that the core mechanic works well in a variety of situations and contexts. I just ran two games for mostly strangers at a local game convention and got rave reviews - so much so that some of the players from the first day bought the book that night and came back to play in my other session the next day. I'm a decent GM, but the system made it easy to get new players up to speed, contributing creatively, and with very little introduction from me.


I like games that provide players and the GM with consistency of resolution and flexibility in application. Chill 3e provides both. The core mechanic is simple, intuitive, and works for the style of game - heavy on the story and atmosphere, lighter on rolls - that Chill seems best to promote. That mechanic, and the systems related to it, are flexible enough to be applicable to just about anything the players could want or GM could devise. Much like Gumshoe, which ensures that players end up with the clues they need to move the investigation forward, Chill guarantees a "vital clue" with every type of investigation roll, regardless of how one rolls. This is a good thing because adventures are boring and frustrating when players go nowhere because they fail a roll for an important clue. Chill eliminates this possibility entirely. If the roll is successful, you get your vital clue...if it's a really good roll you'll get that and something more, and if it's an amazing roll, you'll learn even more. But if you fail you still get that vital clue, and something extraneous that might slow you down...and if you botch your roll you'll get a vital clue and a false lead, and then it's up to the player to figure out what's what. I think this is a simple, clever way to ensure that the plot moves forward while plugging in opportunities to take fate into consideration.


The book itself is very nice, although some of the creature art wasn't so great. The photos throughout the book are quite good, with some even genuinely creepy. I wish the creature art were better, but I'm not going to complain, because it's the stat blocks that I'll use, not the art. The section on creature powers (the Evil Way and 'aspects') is great, making it very easy to create customized foes. Instead of levels or HD, a monster has an 'Evil Way Score' that provides an idea of how formidable it is, and all abilities and powers are rooted in this score. It was easy to create a ghost, for example, that could do what I wanted it to do and be as threatening to the party as I wanted it to be. This should make adventure design easier.


I also think the amount of the book spent on SAVE history and current world hotspots will be very useful to me over time as I run the game, and that background was clearly the work of a passionate group of writers - I appreciate that.


If you liked the original (but realize that the rules are so so so clunky after 30 years) and want an update with a hefty dose of modern story-focused mechanics, this is a good game. If you want a horror game that's easy to run and learn, this is a good game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
by Thomas N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2015 13:05:26

While it is great to have all these pregens. The blank character sheet was disappointing. It still contained printing marks (dashes in the corners) and had a page size of 9.08"x12.08". And because of this it does not work well for printing out home or on a 8.5"x11" page (without creating a new Character Sheet of appropriate size).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill Third Edition
by Thomas N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2015 12:59:31

With this being my first review (I plan on going through my backlog of purchases) I may seem harsh to some. Chill is beloved by many from high school days of gaming and college nights or terrible vampires and mummies! But I don't have those memories, and I have not seen the previous editions before either. But based on name alone I knew that I had to purchase the new 3rd Edition. I ordered a hardcover copy from elsewhere, and the PDF copy here. And it was difficult to enjoy this book:


The art is inconsistent. There are images that most likely were just edited using photoshop, and then there was the beautiful cover! But then there was the amateurish creature artwork. It was all over the place and didn't resemble a clear direction graphically. Like it wasn't committed one way or the other.


The text of the game itself has an apparent number of typos, misplaced words/sentences, and just was difficult to read due to organization. Again, I may be being critical... But 20 pages of pregens before I know what the traits were or how to use the pregens is a little ridiculous. And that the information for the core of the Characters (being the attributes!) is found on page 58 while character creation starts on about page 22. The information on traits was after the information for how to grow your character through advancement from session to session.


That isn't to say I didn't enjoy the chapter that focused on the history of SAVE (the organization that the Players Characters are a part of in the game). But the information was scattered! With references to events without having been hinted at and that would only be further explained pages later. The chapter that I enjoyed suffered from the same typos and organization as the rest of the book. However! There was a short bullet point timeline that helped ease things on the last pages of the chapter. Even if what looked like major events in the timeline weren't mentioned in the history of SAVE.


Overall, I would not recommend this book to someone who would read it. Page by page in order. Or even as a material to search through like a dictionary. Seeing as the references generally don't give page numbers in the text.


I was greatly dissappointed. And had a lot more to say about it in my full writeup (which can be found here: http://orbitabove-
games.com/2015/10/06/an-opinion-on-chill-3rd-edition-from-gr-
owling-door-games/
).


I hope that in the future it is greatly revised and rewritten.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
by Will H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2015 03:10:42

http://diehardgamefan.com/2015/05/15/ta-
bletop-review-chill-third-edition/

Among the ugliest sheets I've ever seen. Artwork is not even on par with Mayfair, which was abysmal compared with Pacesetter art. The positive reviews are obviously friends and relatives of the author - no one has such abominable aesthetic sensibilities.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
by Ricky D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 08:04:31

The is a great set of sheets. The Art is great and really fits the feel of the game. I think it is nice in this day the creators took the time to create so many pregens rather than just a few and to include colored art work..


Great Job!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Third Edition
by Mike R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2015 06:01:18

Just a quick note to anyone curious. I haven't done more than glance at the book, particularly character gen and pre gen characters but it is very well organized with very clear and helpful instructions on how to build your character. I definitely
Say this is worth a person giving it a look over. Good job updating an old favorite !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill Third Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2015 19:40:37

This is a free product. That's pretty awesome. Most publishers would charge for this.


Also, with most "pregen characters" packs, you really only get enough for everyone at the table to have one choice. This gives a bunch. That's super cool.


One thing I like is, you can usually tell a lot about the game from looking at character sheets. This tells you a lot, and is a great way to get a feel for what the game is before buying or committing to running a demo session.


The art? Great.


In short: Would buy again. Would probably pay a couple dollars for this sort of thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chill 3rd Edition Character Sheets & Pregens
by Tore N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2015 18:19:48

A solid character sheet, and some good and varied pregens. Each character has a short backstory which offers good hooks without feeling limiting. The character art is good and has a comic book feel to it, which suits CHILL well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Tragedy in Five Acts
by Jye N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2013 05:12:28

A very cool machine for producing Shakespeare-style tragedy in play. Well worth a look for anyone interested in seeing a game take on theatrical tragedy the way Fiasco takes on its particular genre (though Ti5A has its own mechanics, more strategic than Fiasco's and well-fitted to their purpose).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Tragedy in Five Acts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

curse the darkness
by Jye N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2013 05:07:54

The setting/premise is compelling - a creepy post-apocalypse wrought by a power fantasy taken to its logical conclusion.


The mechanics are evocative - memory points earned by reflecting on fallen PCs competing in an economy with Beyond points gathered by the GM.


At this price, a must-have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
curse the darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates