DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:33:44

Putting the Dead to Rest – 5 stars. A lot of fun to run! The quest is the quest, and of the Tier 2 trilogy, Rotting Roots and Putting the Dead to rest go well together. This one ran a little long (maybe 2 hrs 30 min), but not bad. If I had done a faction mission it could have gone an extra 30 minutes. Nice story line, good tie in to the Chult missions as well as the hardcover. Let’s face it – everybody has an agenda. Why not play it out. Good balance, and fun to role play (but then I love to rp the bosses).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:32:38

Rotting Roots – 5 stars. Honestly, I would give this adventure 5 stars based on the boss fight alone. I had a flipping blast running it, and my players nearly freaked out when I pulled out the “mini”. A fun module which dovetailed perfectly into Putting the Dead to Rest. Keep the party moving and don’t let them get bogged down in the journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:31:43

Whispers in the Dark – 4 stars. A nice finale to the Tier 1 trilogy. The first encounter really stretched my stash of minis as the characters insisted on winning the unwinnable fight. I had a lot of fun in the role play section prior to the boss fight. Whispering at the game store where I ran this was not easy, but I tried to loop the players into the creepy factor. A nicely scalable boss to challenge the party, and you are done. I found this could run a bit long (3 hours) due to the first fight. I hope to meet up with the NPC in a future adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:30:25

A Walk in the Park – 3 stars. I found this one to be the weakest link in the Tier 1 trilogy. I found the hook acceptable, and the intro okay. The middle was weak in my opinion. Making a multi-day journey just fly by seemed too easy (especially to players who were doing the TOA hardcover with a different character). The final encounter was challenging to the party just because it was scalable, but the building scale size was a bit cramped for a large party. Good but not great.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:28:46

A Day at the Races – 4 stars. A great opportunity to get involved in Chult before heading out into the really scary jungle. This adventure lends itself extremely well to a Theater of the Mind setting. I enjoyed the free for all style of the race itself. Lots of great opportunity for role playing here. I strongly encourage helping the shy players get involved in the storyline. I wish there had been a little more detail on how to run the gambling, but it is a solid adventure that is fun to run and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
by James U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:21:49

This module is fun, but feels like it progresses slowly. The interesting thing is that it does not progress slowly, it just feels that it does. The final fight is tough and can turn into a TPK easily.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-13 Writhing in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
by James U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 15:09:44

This module is ok. The major problem that I have with this module is that it is tough to engage the party with the Mycconids. The party does not really experience the creatures before they offer the quest. It makes the story a little rough to get started.Otherwise, the module is fairly quick and reasonably fun.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-11 The Quest for Sporedome (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
by James U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2018 14:26:23

I enjoyed this module. There are a few issues that make it a bit less than stellar. The ship travel/ roc fight is clunky, both in mechanics and story. The seasickness is basically a random number generator that makes someone roll up to 13 times. Enough rolls and you will have a failure almost every time.

The raksasha is a fun character and I would have enjoyed more story interactions with him.

The encounter after the hags make their elixir is written a little strangely and it took me a second to realize that everyone saw the undead. I really liked that the author took the time to come up with a "If the characters fight the hags, then..." scenario.

Unfortunately, my party was able to crush the last fight easily. There needs to be a few lair actions or a way to throw the party off with warding glyphs etc.

All in all, it was enjoyable. I will run this again.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Cory D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 19:44:04

Just got the POD ersion last week and finally had a chance to review, the pront is verry blurry amd some pges so blurry that it gives me a headache to read.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by john j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 19:34:37

It is a good module to introduce players to both 5th edition and Adventure league. Very combat focused. It would been better to run with both parts to provide a more balanced module.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:36:45

It's been thoroughly discussed here, but Fire, Ash, and Ruin, as-premiered, falls flat on its face as a Tier 3 mod due to total lack of balance in the encounters.

The adventure states it is balanced for five level thirteen adventurers, yet throws a multitude of encounters at the party that do not even register on the encounter-difficulty-by-CR scale. Like, not even "Easy"--they should be nonexistent. This results in confusion on the parts of the players and the adventure rapidly devolves into a slogfest.

With heavy modification of the encounters I was able to present a reasonable number of encounters that each challenged the party to some degree, though I left the final encounter unmodified and, even having missed one of the earlier objectives, it ended up being a total cakewalk.

Were I going to run this again I'd end up combining the encounters even further into just three or four and tripling or even quintupling their CR's. I might also dramatically reduce the impact of the earlier objectives on the final fight. I feel that, as-written, a party a whole tier lower (five level 7's) would have little to no trouble completing this mod, which makes it a poor publication in my book.

Great themes and a fully fleshed-out setting redeem the mod for two stars. Typos in the descriptions are common, but you can describe the scenes in your own words--they're not tough to imagine.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:27:24

While these mods function well as an introduction to Port Nyanzaru's faction representatives and the city itself, some of the adventure lines suffer from poor descriptions that I found myself needing to smooth out or even rewrite altogether.

Run as a linear series of adventures, this module tells a fascinating story full of suspense and intrigue. Run separately, most of the adventures function as short and sweet excursions, though a couple of them do leave the party wondering "ok, but why do we care?" due to lack of greater context. The conclusion is great, and with a little bit of DM modification the storyline can flow very smoothly.

They do tend to run long, but that's no fault of 7-01.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Marco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 17:19:32

A Thousand Tiny Deaths is a very flexible mod, with potential to be a pointed welcome to dungeon delves for newer players or a monstrously oppressive needle-filled challenge for the more deserving.

I do find that, run strictly as-written, character deaths are very likely without a clever idea on how to address the titular environmental hazard. Most of my groups do come up with a creative way to avoid said hazard, however, which lets the dungeon play out as a smooth, interesting, and fun series of encounters culminating in a boss fight with great potential for roleplay, hilarity, and tension.

Definitely a big fan, though some DM intervention is required to keep it fun for new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
by Gregg L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 08:25:15

I ordered the Print On Demand version and got it 2/12/18. Bashed corners due to inadequate packing when mailed (that's what happens with only a cardboard wrapper for protection), and the printing on my spine isn't centered well. I've requested a replacement, so we'll see how it looks when I receive it.

The binding is excellent, and the pages are thick and have a nice weight (but aren't glossy, like the newer rulebooks). While the print quality is good, it's far from perfect. Granted it's perfectly readable, but when you take a close look, you can easily tell it's a scan, since the text is not sharp, and the boxes images are in can have jagged lines since they were not scanned straight (although some pages fair better than others). Take a look at the full sized sample pdf and you'll know what to generally expect.

Be aware that while well organized, it's not as tightly written as modern rulebooks. For example, regaining hit points for resting has been left out (although it's in the Moldvay and Mentzer Basic books). Also, on page 102 it says you can't do two things in one round, and on the next page it says you can move your full speed and attack in the same round. There are many more examples, all thoroughly examined by the community, if you'd like to investigate.

It doesn't matter much to me though. I've spent the weekend going through it, and it's a fun read, especially to see what changes they made between it and older B/X/BECMI rulesets. I own the Moldvay Basic and Cook Expert box sets, and while I'm not sure anyone needs the extra stuff that's in the RC, it is nice to have if you want to experience the history of D&D. So if you want to own a hard copy of this ruleset, and have no interest in spending whatever absurd amount of money people are asking for an original copy, it's a no brainer...get it (4/5 for quality of scan and rules inconsistancies).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Rules Cyclopedia (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 01:39:36

4/5 I really enjoyed the unique characters. I felt the fights weren't tough. My group had a cleric and 2 paladins so the undead never really did stand a chance. The puzzles were more or less just roll a high enough int check. My group didn't have any int and it ended up taking longer then wanted. The encounters were all interesting and I really enjoyed it overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4147 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates