DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Wrich P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2017 13:16:41

There are good things about this mod which make it worth buying, and the things wrong with it could be easily fixed for the most part.

As other reviewers have said, the combats are way, way, too easy. This is more of a Tier 2 challenge than a tier 3 fight. I fixed it by simply having a grand melee where ALL of the monsters attacked them in waves until the entire place was empty. That actually made the characters pant a bit, but the boss was still not even as tough as "The Dark Lords" end boss, so that fight was over quickly.

Note: This could be a West Coast specific thing, and other players in regions with fewer "optimized" characters might find it a challenge.

What I liked:

The Story was fun, I enjoy Hsing and interactions with him, the history of the school, and the NPC who ran it are all interesting and well thought out. I think this is a well written mod, but the challenge rating will have to be scaled to your party more enthusiastically than the typical charts for most folks.

What I would have liked to have seen:

A few more interesting ideas in the lab, a stronger story reward. Note, I don't say magic item, because you get items which are mostly "from the book" and are fairly unimpressive at tier 3, so I would have liked to have seen an option where the characters could have earned a post on "The Board of Regents" for the new school (once you finish the second mission) or something which tied folks back to the setting as a whole- because I think the author got the setting and the ideas about it entirely correct.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Goblin's Lair (Basic)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2017 03:15:48

I had this box set, along with the rest, when it was first published. It is a great play, but until they fix the problems, the missing adventure "Red Hand Trail" and the chopped Minies its just not worth getting.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Goblin's Lair (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2017 00:37:51

Spoilers.

PDF File: Thumbs down. The PDF has no bookmarks, and is locked so I cannot add my own. Which is lame.

Story: Thumbs down. All the story happened in the previous module. This one is just a dungeon crawl with some combat encounters and a puzzle. No roleplaying to speak of, and not much plot. It's not even an interesting dungeon.

Encounter design: Thumbs down. The encounters are basically all low-CR enemies that T3 characters will easily steamroll. They're a joke. Way too easy. The hardest encounter is the first one, and while there are a few nasty effects that the enemies there can dish out if you fail your save, they still have to get lucky to even have a shot. After that, everything just gets steamrolled. The only challenge is keeping the NPC alive when the nagas hit him with a series of lightning bolts, or whatever—and that's not exactly very compelling.

Player agency: Thumbs down. The plot is entirely on rails. Proceed through each room in sequence. Kill the enemies. Get MacGuffin. The end. There aren't any opportunities written in for the players to come up with creative solutions for anything. Every enemy is there to kill you and cannot be bargained or reasoned with, even the humans (they are apparently so afraid of Baron Rajiram that they fight to the death rather than risk his displeasure). There is only one solution to the Sudoku puzzle room. The ending is so railroaded that there isn't even any mention of what to do if the NPC mage dies. Stay there stuck forever, I guess?

So basically this module is a series of combat encounters with no real roleplaying or story. And they're not even good combat encounters. The whole thing is a poorly-designed smashfest, and it is my #1 worst module of this season. I mean, I heaped a lot of the same criticisms on Jarl Rising, but at least it had a couple interesting, challenging encounters in it. The encounters here are just boring. Swashbucklers? Really?



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2017 21:40:30

Too easy, too linear, silly copy protection on the pdf making conversion to Fantasy Grounds a chore.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2017 21:26:21

I wish I had anything positive to say about this module. Only seven pages of actual adventure write up, a boring linear dungeon full of monsters more appropriate to a Tier 2 module and a recycled magic item. This adventure is woefully undertuned for a Tier 3 party in terms of monster difficulty and doesn't so anything to challenge the miriad of ways a party at this level can interact with the world. This and it's sister module 05-14 are the most disappointing additions to Adventurers League.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2017 16:59:31

Very similar encounter design problems as DDAL5-14 Reeducation. Lots of relatively low CR monsters that can't meaningfully affect PCs and get steamrolled. Again, I did quite a few thematic substitutions to up the challenge. Additionally, I feel like the changing demiplane used in most of the adventure could have been better utilized to create interesting environmental factors or traps in the encounters, but everything was just bare stone rooms - boooooorrinnnng.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Peter W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/20/2017 16:53:55

Most of the encounters involve lots of monsters with CR that are too low in comparison to the target APL. PCs walk all over the monsters because of this. I went through extensive thematic substitutions to really bring a challenge to my players (ended up with 5 level 16 PCs on my version of very strong). They said they felt challenged and a little scared, with one person dying at one point.

I also think the map size is not ideal in some respects. The hallways should be at least 10 ft wide to help avoid excessive bottleneck tactics and the Lab room should probably be 10-15ft more in each dimension because of the number of combatants.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2017 22:03:12

I, too, ran with 7 players with an APL of 12. Seeing another reviwer had the same, I also set the adventure to Very Strong and the players rolled through it pretty easily, though my three level 11s were weakened immensely. Almost the entire adventure's difficulty was negated because of one party member's ability to see invisible creatures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-08 Durlag's Tower (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Curtis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2017 12:36:37

I want so badly to give AL modules a high rating because I know that these are written for the AL community...but I just can not until we get the editorial issues resolved.

This one has many glaring issues that would only take a few minutes to fix if someone would just go through the process of doing an editorial review.

Currently the Cert page has 3 copies of the cert listed. Unfortunately each one is different and only the top one is usable...therefore I have to print out a whole page and then shred 2/3rd of the page once I cut out the one that I need.....for each table that I am running at the store.

When we were told that things were going to be sold on DMsGuild it was with the understanding that QUALITY would improve....this has not been the case. On top of that...the price is now more per module that we were originally told....I don't have a problem paying $4 for a module that is high quality....I have a real issue paying $4 when a document doesn't even look like it has been through a review.

PLEASE AT LEAST FIX THE CERTS!!!!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2017 02:49:16

Thank god for this. This is an awesome finale to Season 5's Tier 1 adventures, in my opinion the best storyline and adventures in Season 5.

We did a "mini EPIC" with this and all 5 tables including a couple of new players really enjoyed this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-16 Parnast Under Siege (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2017 02:48:18

Playtested this and submitted the review that the mod was way too easy... sure there was a slight change and improvement but no where near sufficient... still way too easy for a Tier 3

The Tier 3 and Tier 4 mods in Season 5 have been so disappointing.

*Amazing cert files by the way... 3 same item... 3 different rarities.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-15 Reclamation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2017 02:42:22

Playtested this and submitted the review that the mod was way too easy... sure there was a slight change and improvement but no where near sufficient... still way too easy for a Tier 3

A Vampire, 2 vampire spawn and a diviner (This is the suggestion for very strong) is not going to scratch a Tier 3 party.

The Tier 3 and Tier 4 mods in Season 5 have been so disappointing.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-14 Reeducation (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowdale: The Scouring of the Land (3.5)
by Ferid M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2017 21:42:08

Not working Adobe Acrobat Reader cant open the file properly. Tried it with the Lumin PDF too still not working. I payed money for nothing...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowdale: The Scouring of the Land (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
by Jason P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2017 10:31:16

What a mess. The adventures for this season have been, for the most part, really strong—exciting battles, interesting roleplaying encounters, and cool thematic elements. Jarl Rising has hints at some of these, but really strikes out.

The other reviewers do a good job of stressing how poorly organized and planned the adventure is, so I won't go into detail there (seriously, though, the other reviewers are right). For me, though, the most frustrating part of the adventure is how sloppily written it is. I felt like the AL gang has really done a nice job this season of mostly fixing problems with grammatical and stylistic errors, but this adventure reminded me of the lowest of the low points of the past four seasons (which was probably somewhere in the Ravenloft adventures). Some of the sentences are nearly unreadable. I had to read some sections three or four times before I even had an inkling of what was supposed to be going on, and even then I had to make copious notes in the margin to clear things up. Some sentences are essentially word soup—bad enough when it's a description, but even worse when it's block text. Guess I'll have to re-write it all or just adlib.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-13 Jarl Rising (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2017 15:44:59

A good adventure for a low level group. Encounters were challenging, and the options to avoid combat were nice. The party I ran through the adventure had a positive reaction to it. It helped that there were seven PCs, mixed first and second level. I modified encounters to be for a strong party, and that worked out fine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2021 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates