DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Amazing Stories of WWII: The BETA Men
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2016 15:36:47

This book is a great resource for GMs wishing to run adventures in the Golden Age, or even later. Aside from the pre-generated characters (a mixture of obvious homages and interesting original elements) there is also a unique mechanic to cover invasions that start as small incursions to full invasion status. Further, three invading groups are given-aliens; alternate future half-alien Nazis; and Microverse soldiers.


There are also little nods to the somewhat conflicting of Golden Age stories-the quippy, optimistic stories of superheroes along with grittier war tales, so threats range from over-the-top giant amoeba and cunning, subtle alien infiltration. Easily modified to operate in any other era, The BETA Men make a useful resource for GMs wanting a government agency dealing with the paranormal that heroes can either work with, recieve aid from, or even oppose.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Amazing Stories of WWII: The BETA Men
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Companies
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2016 10:45:23

Last in the current series of Rogues, Rivals and Renegades - RR&R Companies lists three that aren't actually big bad megacorporations run by actual villains - instead they fill that moral/immoral middle ground of organisations that result in corporate interference in the lives of the heroes. There are times we all need organisations the players can interact with that aren't either outright villainous Lexcorp rip-offs or hero worshipping support organisations, This supplement fulfils that need with three very different organisations.


Vulcan Energy is a company that cuts corners and is willing to make dangerous decisions if its liable to increase profit, Saito Solutions is a company at the cutting edge of rescue equipment who are also responsible for equipping the hero Safeguard so don't want to admit that their technology had been misappropriated to create a villain and Little Sister is a hacker community / NGO that may be useful to the heroes one day and publicly exposing their ID or revealing all their secrets to the public the next.


As a GM you can't help find a use for at least one of these organisations in your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Companies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: White Room
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2016 12:20:50

A psychic agency named after a psychic construction in Astral space where its operatives meet, led by Mr Ullyses who may or may not resemble his astral projection and Ms D who may be the only person who's met him face to physical face and knows who he really is.


How you use this psychic agency is up to you but it's presented as neither an enemy or a friend to the players and with an agenda all of its own.


Nice write-up, good ideas and sufficiently vague to make it easy to fit it into almost any campaign... Now if I could only stop hearing Cream playing in my head!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: White Room
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades Collection One
by Elias D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2016 16:59:19

I have been waiting for this collection ever since the series was announced at the Vigilance Press website.


This beautifully illustrated book provides an interesting collection of villains and morally ambiguous supers to inject into your Mutants and Masterminds game. The stories and stats are laid out in an easy to follow manner and the flavor text (in the form of official reports from law-enforcement agencies, and character quotes) help set-up the mood of each entry. There are a handful of minor errors interspersed throughout the text of some of the entries, but they are a negligible flaw in an otherwise perfect product.


Before the printed collection was announced I purchased a few of the weekly character PDF releases, mostly ones that caught my eye thematically. But even the ones I did not purchase individually have proven to be very compelling and well thought out. Even if you are not planning to run an M&M campaign, most of the entries are still interesting reads in the vein of the Official Handbook to the Marvel Universe and DC Comics’ Who’s Who series.


I am really satisfied with this purchase, and can’t wait for the next collection(s) to come out!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades Collection One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elements of Ruin: The Challengers
by Olivier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2016 12:52:30

I was reading this again and just did a double take when I noticed it said it was a FREE release. Really? I never had to pay for this?! But they're such high quality characters! Vigilance Press really has a knack with creating interesting heroes and villains that remind you of common archetypes but always add a little something new, both in personality or design and in the mechanics (with interesting use of Effects to represent some uncommon powers).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elements of Ruin: The Challengers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OSRIC Unearthed
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 15:39:40

I believe this product should be pulled from publication! Because it is terrible? No! But because it is incomplete! It was never finished! Nor was it ever edited! Any one who tells you it was is a liar! Just one of inumerable examples: pg 33, under Two Handed Swords. A generally confusing description of special bonuses becomes altogether incomprehensible when it devolves into "The only difference is that bonuses of a magical two-handed sword to do improve its armor class as they do with a shield."


True, the artwork is less than flattering, but that is forgivable.


Much of the material is useful, but it is incomplete. The sandwiching of the old UA & OA & a tease of Arthurian mythos into one abbreviated volume does this work no favors. It just creates an incoherent mess.


Expand the UA section with spell lists & descriptions, magic items, & other equipment. Optional Player Character racial templates are always a nice plus as well.


Seperate the OA based material from this, & continue streamlining it, developing it, & developing it &... developing it. The two works deserve to be their own individual supplements! Period!


The same holds true for the idea sketch for the Arthurian style campaign. It is a good direction, but the reader is completely slighted by the brevity of it's treatment. This deserves a supplement all it's own. Period!


All in all, there is good stuff here, & good beginnings of great things, but please send this back to the author, demand that it be edited properly, & most of all, demand that it be finished!


Until it is finished i would not recommend this supplement to any one! Period!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Unearthed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Psionics
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:36:44

Designed to be a new psionics system for OSRIC this book introduces the Mentalist class. Powers are divided out among disciplines going to 7th level. Powers are treated mostly like spells, but that works well for adding into OSRIC. Also some psionic monsters are detailed including my favorite (and worth the price of the book) the Doppleganger as a proper psionic monster. 22 pages including cover and OGL. Very nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Psionics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Covenant
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 11:43:10

Mentor to magi, disdainful towards mundanes, enemy to magic slayers - Covenant walks the line between dark magic and white, has links to the Library (see Vigilance Press' Black Chapter) and is immortal. If you have magic users in your campaign then she has all the elements to be a major character in anyone's game...


A must buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Covenant
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Black Heron
by Elias D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 09:11:48

Amid all the world-conquering overlords, alien menaces, mystic threats, and professional enforcers that dominate comics and RPGs, we often overlook the poor schmuck who tries to make it big but perpetually fails to live up to his lofty aspirations and megalomania. It only makes sense that in a world where super-powered costumed heroes and villains exist, that not all of them are going to be cool and successful. It stands to reason that somebody like the Black Heron to exist. This entry blends the right amount of comedy and real-life misfortune to create a comical foil for heroes that can still pose a threat. One of the more enjoyable entries so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Black Heron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: The Thespian
by Elias D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 09:04:08

The Thespian brings something tho a M&M game that has been missing (in my opinion) from most official and licensed products; a truly creepy psychopath along the lines of the Joker. His theme is specific enough to allow heroes to eventually catch up with his plots, but also broad enough to offer a variety of innovative and surreal encounter options. Perfect nemesis for a group of street-level vigilantes, but can also serve as an interesting foil for more powerful heroes with enough preparation. Definitely using him on my next M&M game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: The Thespian
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Captain Archon
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2015 05:15:54

In a market saturated with villains it's nice to find a publisher who realizes the importance of other NPCs your players can interact with and Captain Julia Cunningham (AKA Captain Archon) is a superb character for your players to interact with.


I'm a great fan of Vigilance Press and the quality of their products and the greatest praise I can give this product is that as soon as I bought it I started thinking how can I make this character a major NPC in my (non-US) campaign?


For anyone with a campaign, this is a definite must-have character...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Captain Archon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Captain Archon
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 14:53:10

Capt. Archon is the latest release in Vigilance Press' Rouges, Rivals, and Renegades line of products, for use with Green Ronin Games Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition. Like most of the previous releases in the series it presents a single character profile, providing GMs with background information, an overview of the characters powers, abilities, and any equipment they may have access to. It also provides information on the character's personality and suggestions on how the character can be integrated into a game.


In the case of Capt. Archon, she's a hard nosed no non-sense Air Force officer, who, if run as suggested, can come across as a bit of a hard ass. She proud to wear the uniform of a military officers, and believes in what she's doing. She takes her role seriously and lets it be known that she thinks others should as well. I like her, as it's a nice change of pace to see a well developed military themed character, who's not some knuckle dragging thug, or a government stooge. She's also got an interested power set, and not one you would think of when seeing a "power armor" character. I think if played correctly, she'd make a great addition to any modern themed superhero campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Fright Knight
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 04:11:38

Fright Knight has to be one of the more interesting releases I've seen in quite a while. He's definitely not what I was expecting when I saw the preview artwork, and I don't want to spoil the surprise by giving away to much. I will say he's got a very interesting power set, and should make for some fun gaming when PCs encounter him. Especially when they assume certain things about him based on his looks. I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 stars, as I think both GMs and Players will really enjoy dealing with this guy. If nothing else, he'll keep your PCs guessing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Fright Knight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Mithra
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2015 10:34:25

Sometimes your heroes want to visit foreign countries, see the sights and have a fight with the local heroes. Mithra is an Iranian hero, a "Good Guy" who fights to protect the people of Iran and who will be the part of the welcoming committee if the heroes ever come visiting. He's a moral dilemma - a hero who loves his country, his religion and his people and who believes in supporting a potentially hostile government. As always good value for money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Mithra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tianxia: Path of Destiny
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 12:21:40

I read the Tianxia Accelerated and liked it. This (although written for Core) helps explain many of the aspects and other factors involved, giving you more understanding of how to make and play better characters. While the character and his history and skill is made rather randomly, it suggests changing and twisting one you don't like into something you do. Much more useful than starting with just a blank sheet of paper to stare at until you think of something!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Path of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 185 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates