DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
OSRIC Unearthed
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 15:39:40

I believe this product should be pulled from publication! Because it is terrible? No! But because it is incomplete! It was never finished! Nor was it ever edited! Any one who tells you it was is a liar! Just one of inumerable examples: pg 33, under Two Handed Swords. A generally confusing description of special bonuses becomes altogether incomprehensible when it devolves into "The only difference is that bonuses of a magical two-handed sword to do improve its armor class as they do with a shield."


True, the artwork is less than flattering, but that is forgivable.


Much of the material is useful, but it is incomplete. The sandwiching of the old UA & OA & a tease of Arthurian mythos into one abbreviated volume does this work no favors. It just creates an incoherent mess.


Expand the UA section with spell lists & descriptions, magic items, & other equipment. Optional Player Character racial templates are always a nice plus as well.


Seperate the OA based material from this, & continue streamlining it, developing it, & developing it &... developing it. The two works deserve to be their own individual supplements! Period!


The same holds true for the idea sketch for the Arthurian style campaign. It is a good direction, but the reader is completely slighted by the brevity of it's treatment. This deserves a supplement all it's own. Period!


All in all, there is good stuff here, & good beginnings of great things, but please send this back to the author, demand that it be edited properly, & most of all, demand that it be finished!


Until it is finished i would not recommend this supplement to any one! Period!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OSRIC Unearthed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Psionics
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:36:44

Designed to be a new psionics system for OSRIC this book introduces the Mentalist class. Powers are divided out among disciplines going to 7th level. Powers are treated mostly like spells, but that works well for adding into OSRIC. Also some psionic monsters are detailed including my favorite (and worth the price of the book) the Doppleganger as a proper psionic monster. 22 pages including cover and OGL. Very nicely done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Psionics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Covenant
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 11:43:10

Mentor to magi, disdainful towards mundanes, enemy to magic slayers - Covenant walks the line between dark magic and white, has links to the Library (see Vigilance Press' Black Chapter) and is immortal. If you have magic users in your campaign then she has all the elements to be a major character in anyone's game...


A must buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Covenant
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Black Heron
by Elias D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 09:11:48

Amid all the world-conquering overlords, alien menaces, mystic threats, and professional enforcers that dominate comics and RPGs, we often overlook the poor schmuck who tries to make it big but perpetually fails to live up to his lofty aspirations and megalomania. It only makes sense that in a world where super-powered costumed heroes and villains exist, that not all of them are going to be cool and successful. It stands to reason that somebody like the Black Heron to exist. This entry blends the right amount of comedy and real-life misfortune to create a comical foil for heroes that can still pose a threat. One of the more enjoyable entries so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Black Heron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: The Thespian
by Elias D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2015 09:04:08

The Thespian brings something tho a M&M game that has been missing (in my opinion) from most official and licensed products; a truly creepy psychopath along the lines of the Joker. His theme is specific enough to allow heroes to eventually catch up with his plots, but also broad enough to offer a variety of innovative and surreal encounter options. Perfect nemesis for a group of street-level vigilantes, but can also serve as an interesting foil for more powerful heroes with enough preparation. Definitely using him on my next M&M game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: The Thespian
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Captain Archon
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2015 05:15:54

In a market saturated with villains it's nice to find a publisher who realizes the importance of other NPCs your players can interact with and Captain Julia Cunningham (AKA Captain Archon) is a superb character for your players to interact with.


I'm a great fan of Vigilance Press and the quality of their products and the greatest praise I can give this product is that as soon as I bought it I started thinking how can I make this character a major NPC in my (non-US) campaign?


For anyone with a campaign, this is a definite must-have character...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Captain Archon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Captain Archon
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2015 14:53:10

Capt. Archon is the latest release in Vigilance Press' Rouges, Rivals, and Renegades line of products, for use with Green Ronin Games Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition. Like most of the previous releases in the series it presents a single character profile, providing GMs with background information, an overview of the characters powers, abilities, and any equipment they may have access to. It also provides information on the character's personality and suggestions on how the character can be integrated into a game.


In the case of Capt. Archon, she's a hard nosed no non-sense Air Force officer, who, if run as suggested, can come across as a bit of a hard ass. She proud to wear the uniform of a military officers, and believes in what she's doing. She takes her role seriously and lets it be known that she thinks others should as well. I like her, as it's a nice change of pace to see a well developed military themed character, who's not some knuckle dragging thug, or a government stooge. She's also got an interested power set, and not one you would think of when seeing a "power armor" character. I think if played correctly, she'd make a great addition to any modern themed superhero campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Fright Knight
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 04:11:38

Fright Knight has to be one of the more interesting releases I've seen in quite a while. He's definitely not what I was expecting when I saw the preview artwork, and I don't want to spoil the surprise by giving away to much. I will say he's got a very interesting power set, and should make for some fun gaming when PCs encounter him. Especially when they assume certain things about him based on his looks. I'm giving this one 5 out of 5 stars, as I think both GMs and Players will really enjoy dealing with this guy. If nothing else, he'll keep your PCs guessing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Fright Knight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Mithra
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2015 10:34:25

Sometimes your heroes want to visit foreign countries, see the sights and have a fight with the local heroes. Mithra is an Iranian hero, a "Good Guy" who fights to protect the people of Iran and who will be the part of the welcoming committee if the heroes ever come visiting. He's a moral dilemma - a hero who loves his country, his religion and his people and who believes in supporting a potentially hostile government. As always good value for money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Mithra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tianxia: Path of Destiny
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 12:21:40

I read the Tianxia Accelerated and liked it. This (although written for Core) helps explain many of the aspects and other factors involved, giving you more understanding of how to make and play better characters. While the character and his history and skill is made rather randomly, it suggests changing and twisting one you don't like into something you do. Much more useful than starting with just a blank sheet of paper to stare at until you think of something!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Path of Destiny
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Nikki Tesla
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2015 08:03:16

Everyone needs a mad scientist in their game and now we have a self-made female "Tesla", a genius who has the potential to be rogue, rival and renegade in one. This character is what your techno-heroes have been waiting for.


As always excellent value for money and fun to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Nikki Tesla
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arthur Lives! Narrator's Guide
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2015 05:41:22

Hi! I couldn't edit my previous review, so I'll put my actual feedback here. Awesome setting! Two complaints, though. One, I was really hoping that it would be easier to convert and drop into a game system that wasn't quite so much of a drag. The way the D20 system of leveling-up is used as a way for your characters to gradually remember themselves is probably the biggest obstacle in that regard. Two, the provided roster of Arthurian personages to be reincarnated is pitifully inadequate for a labor of love put out there by a Camelot buff, so prepare yourself for supplementary reading. I'm currently a player in a D&D 5e game, and I'm looking to GM a game with a more new-school, narrative approach as a pressure release for some of my frustration with the system, so I probably won't want to play this as a True20 game anytime soon. The setting is compelling enough that I keep finding myself thinking about it, though, so who knows?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arthur Lives! Narrator's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Trainwreck
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 10:23:12

Rogues, Rivals and Renegades is a new series by those M&M masterminds of the press, Vigilance Press and highlights a possible NPC rival - a recently powered super (she really is too unbalanced to be called a hero) who called herself PsiStar (and the meta paparazzi have renamed trainwreck) but seem to be 'haunted' by the accident that killed her BFF (yes she belongs to THAT group who txt-speak and hang out with with characters like Paris Hilton air-kissing in the background) and caused her to discover her powers. Her lifestyle has left her a danger to herself and others and ideal to drop in as a campaign to derail a hero or two (deliberately or accidentally) with a hidden and unexpected twist as to the source of her unbalanced behaviour.


As always, production values are excellent, the PDF comes with associated Herolab file and cardboard figure.


If you like role-playing as much as you like roll-playing, this series is a must-have...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Trainwreck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Rayzer
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2015 10:01:01

Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water... Along comes Rayzer, with the Karkarius, his own shark-like Nautilus submarine, his undersea base and his "krewe "of modern day pirates who take on the evils of the corporations (or in this case one in particular)...


If you have a reason to do a deep sea adventure at any point then Rayzer should be in your GM toolkit - as usual the artwork is exceptional (the picture of the Karkarius is worth the money on its own), herolab files are included as is the now vigilance press standard cardboard figure.


Excellent value for money, excellent publication standards and a well thought out character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Rayzer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogues, Rivals & Renegades: Rayzer
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2015 20:29:12

The 3rd release in Vigilance Press’ new Rouges, Rivals, and Renegades line, Rayzer is a bit of a departure from the previous two entries, as it includes information on the main character, as well as entries on his followers, a detailed vehicle write-up, and a map of his base of operations.


The PDF comes in at 10 pages, with the first page being the cover, followed by the character write-up, a full color illustration of Rayzer, info on “Rayzer’s Raiders”, a vehicle write-up and full color information for the Karkarius, Rayzer’s submarine (as a side note, this has to be one of my favorite vehicle illustrations for an game I’ve ever seen), and a full color map detailing his undersea base. The next to the last page contains details the writer’s and publisher’s information, as well character standee for Rayzer. The final page is the standard Open Gaming License.


Overall, I really like this one, as Rayzer isn’t your standard black and white villain. I don’t want to say too much, as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone planning to purchase this, or for GMs who wish to make use of him in their games. I will say that he’ll make for an interesting foe, and if players do a little digging, they may be surprised as what they find out about his background and intentions.


The one nitpick I do have, and it’s a minor one, is with the placement of the illustration for the Karkarius. Its placement just seems “off” to me. Hopefully when/if these are collected into print format they’ll look at playing with the layout a bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 180 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates