DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game
by christopher h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2015 07:35:33
The game of Dark Nova is can we say' kind of old school in a good way, their is not going to be any ground breaking mechanizmo confusion it;s straight kind of late 80's early 90's kind of system. I would have write this game if I sat down and could stair at a screen for 1100 hrs, I can't so I bought Dark Nova.

first part the setting
it's filling and taste great, no really it's not no where near realistic or even hard science, it is fun and very playable, its like Titen AE buffy went on a date, had some premarital sex and had a unwanted child that was an rpg. ok maybe that not a good metaphor. the point is this game drives well right out of the box the Mechanics are not hard if you played rpgs for a while your like" o.k. that works and set and down and play it." if you want thier are Novels to read and a second book to help expand the game. the setting is very 2015 to 2318 in a general history kind of way.

the mechanics , lets see lift the hood and you got a V 8 with some turbo and a some nice features like AC and digital read outs. it set nice and its gets you from A to B
ok so the attack rolls are d20 with acceding scoreing and armor points to deplete- the skills are heady and long there are levels and perks and flaws too, and a good amount of occupations. your skills are rated 1-30 and you roll under them with 3d10, weapons do a lot of damage, and you got robots and suits and power suits and Mecha and space ships and fighters and bad aliens at lease four of them, and you got some really nice races and a good section of what its like to live in the 24th century. look this is not Traveller or star wars or Mech Warrior or shadow run it is it's own game. it is just an every mans sci fi rpg. this is what I would have played when I was a young man, and you know I find my self giddy with the possibilities - I think if you liked the d20 stuff and you did not like modern d20 you well like this more. I think if you where looking for a game that is stable and fun - it's this simple and yet it's got some crunch that makes you want to play with all the knobs and dials!" Check out the quick start, print it up and play with some friend, and then come back and buy it to finish out that kind of game that runs right out of the box. yours truly Christopher L House areafiftyonegames@gmail.com-

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Nova RPG- Ship Download: Dragan-Class Corvette
by Will B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2013 10:30:14
Great ship and for free, but most of all it has a beauty shot of the ship itself. Too many products skip artistic or mechanic drawing of the ship itself.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova RPG- Ship Download: Dragan-Class Corvette
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Nova RPG- Ship Download: Dragan-Class Corvette
by Stirling W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2013 15:44:46
I liked the design and the idea behind the Corvette. Naturally, as it was designed for a specific setting, you'd have to adapt it to a different campaign that featured different ideas on how warp drives and weaponry worked.

My only real complaint is that the deck plans are kinda small. I was hoping that there would be both overview of the sort given, and enlarged plans with a grid for use as a map for miniatures when role-playing boarding actions, or the like.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game Quick-Start Guide
by Kev L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2013 07:30:33
A good intro for people who have never played a tabletop RPG before, it has only one significant flaw: it is incredibly dependant on the players only taking a linear path and doesn't give the GM enough info on how things work for them to improvise even slightly. everything must happen in the way laid out in the campaign instructions or the whole thing starts to fall down. I tested with people who already had experience with DnD and AFMBE and a few others and the first thing one of them did in the first encounter was attempt to throw one of the other PCs at the miner, another character wanted to make a melee takedown; niether of these actions could be accomplished with the amout of info available.
Aside from the above mentioned strict linearity, the guide does a very good job of introducing the core concepts used in RPGs and showcasing the races/ scenarios found in the DarkNova Universe and I would recommend it for beginnerswho are new to the genre as a first guide.
4/5

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game Quick-Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Nova Roleplaying Game Quick-Start Guide
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2013 10:27:27
Unlike the other Science Fiction Role-Playing Games. Dark Nova RPG resembles the Hard Science Fiction that we know and love such as Alien and Starship Troopers. Its raw hardness shows how space is vast and full of danger and in order to survive the hardness of space, one must survive its cruelty. It's perfect as a hard sci-fi genre gaming and I Highly Recommend it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2012 17:51:03
Imagine Star Trek done by the hand of Joss Wheldon, what more needs to be said.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Nova Roleplaying Game Quick-Start Guide
by Lisa P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2012 18:18:10
Nice!!!! ^^ Funkeee dice! cube with numbers! Too cute!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova Roleplaying Game Quick-Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Nova RPG- Ship Download: Dragan-Class Corvette
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2012 07:23:09
Nice background. In-depth commentary. Floor plan lacks grid but, for free, you can draw your own lines. I like it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Nova RPG- Ship Download: Dragan-Class Corvette
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates