DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Cold Ruins of Lastlife
by Benjamin L. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2016 16:24:13

Being a Souls (Demon's Souls and Dark Souls 1-3) fan I had to purchase The Cold Ruins of Lastlife. The disclaimer is that the review from the perspective of an avid Souls fan.


The book is intereseting in that it actually captures the spirit of the Souls game, if not the mechanics. Lastlife is a bleak and forlorn setting set in a an age where the wonders of the past are long forgotten. The bonfire and respawn mechanic is handled through you slowly loosing yourself (much like the NPCs in the video games). Covenants are handled through conditional "prestige classes" with potentially hefty drawbacks to balance the advantages - I like it and will certainly try to make my own prestige classes in this manner.


All manner of fell and interesting beasts populate Lastlife, and they are well thought out. The enemies are grouped by themes which in turn is used by the GM to decide the "feel" of the game - be the monster-mashup, a war between old and new, etc... Easily used to make your world according to your personel version of the Souls games. Personally I like a world populated by ancient beings whose slow-moving plots allow a band of heroes a chance to attempt to restore hope.


I loved The Cold Ruins of Lastlife and will recommend it to anyone who loves the Soul series or like that particular aesthetics. I'm looking foreward to the coming products to Magpie Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Cold Ruins of Lastlife
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 2
by Oliver O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2016 10:12:40

This publication is an awesome way to explore the flexibility of the FATE system, and find sources of inspiration for any sort of game you want to run. The quick start adventure in particular was appealing, not only for use as is, but as a model for how you can prep an entire campaign with a minimum of work and a maximum of flexibility to allow for improv at the table top. The alternate rules section also gets into how you can swap the "notice" skill for a "survival" skill, which is perfect for gritty settings - but this section also offers some insight into how the game design developers see skills in FATE. This is fascinating for anyone interested in design, or the workings behind a great RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Shadows
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2016 14:36:26

Urban Shadows ist ein politisches Urban Fantasy Setting, geschrieben von Andrew Medeiros und Mark Diaz Truman, das von Serien und Romanreihen wie Supernatural, True Blood und Dresden Files inspiriert wurde.


Vier Fraktionen ringen in einer von der Spielrunde gemeinsam gestalteten Stadt um weltliche und übernatürliche Macht: Sterbliche versuchen sich gemeinsam gegen Monster zu behaupten, deren Absonderlichkeit sie kaum begreifen. Die Fraktion der Macht umfasst Menschen mit übernatürlichen Fähigkeiten wie Magier oder Medien, die durch ihren bloßen Willen die Realität verändern können. Kreaturen der Nacht sind die Monster, welche die Straße der Stadt unsicher machen – Vampire, Werwölfe, Geister. Schließlich gibt es noch die Fraktion der Wilden, die verschiedene ausgestoßene Kreaturen umfasst wie Feen aus Arcadia oder Menschen, die ihre Seele einem Dämon verkauft haben. Jeder Charakter beginnt das Spiel als Teil einer der vier Fraktionen, kann diese aber im Laufe des Spiels verlassen und Teil einer anderen Fraktion werden.


Eine interessante neue Mechanik ist Korruption. Die Korruptionsleiste spiegelt wider, wie häufig ein Charakter seiner dunklen Natur nachgibt oder sich dunklen Mächten öffnet, um an mehr Macht zu gelangen. Jedes Playbook verfügt über einige Korruptions-Moves, die es den Charakteren ermöglichen, recht schnell recht viel Macht zu erlangen. Wen ein Magier beispielsweise schwarze Magie nutzt, ein Vampir problemlos einen Sterblichen jagt oder ein Sterblicher selbst übernatürliche Kräfte erwirbt, um im großen politischen Spiel eine Chance zu haben, schreitet ihre Korruption weiter voran. Je mehr Korruption ein Charakter angesammelt hat, desto mächtigere Möglichkeiten stehen ihm zur Verfügung, aber desto eher wird er auch zu einem Teil des echten Bösen, das in der Stadt lauert.


Darüber hinaus haben die Autoren das Beziehungssystem weiter ausdefiniert und zu einem noch zentraleren Bestandteil des Spiels gemacht. Beziehungen werden in Urban Shadows durch Schulden definiert, die jeder Charakter bei anderen Charakteren und Fraktionen hat. Diese Schulden können beispielsweise genutzt werden, um Würfelwürfe zu verbessern, Antworten zu bekommen oder Gefallen einzufordern. An das Schuldensystem sind verschiedene Moves gebunden, die abbilden, dass eine Schuld eingefordert wird, dass sich jemand weigert, eine Schuld zu begleichen, dass ein Gefallen getan wird oder dass jemand in einer Auseinandersetzung einen Namen fallen lässt. Das Schuldensystem passt sehr schön zu den korrupten, intriganten Ränkespielen der Fraktionen und ich bin sehr neugierig darauf, wie sie sich im Spiel machen.


Fazit: Politisches Intrigenspiel in der Welt des Übernatürlichen


Mir gefällt die Idee von Urban Shadows gut, auch wenn sie mich nicht so begeistert wie die anderen PbtA-Systeme. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass in den literarischen Vorlagen meist Teile einer Fraktion – also Jäger, Magier, Vampire – gemeinsam gegen die Anhänger anderer Fraktionen vorgehen und dabei in Intrigen und Korruption verwickelt werden. In Supernatural lassen sich die Winchester-Brüder natürlich immer wieder auf einen Handel mit dem buchstäblichen Teufel ein und haben zweifelhafte Verbündete an ihrer Seite; im Zentrum der Geschichte steht aber immer der gemeinsame Kampf der Jäger gegen eine monströse Bedrohung. In Dresden Files gibt es Werwolfs-Gangs und Feenhöfe, im Zentrum stehen aber immer Harry Dresdens Ermittlungen und damit nur die Ausschnitte, welche der Protagonist von diesen Welten wahrnimmt. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, wie sich eine solche Geschichte stattdessen mit mehreren Protagonisten und damit mehreren Einzelinteressen spielt. Da ich Urban Shadows aber bislang noch nicht selbst ausprobiert habe, kann ich dazu noch kein fundiertes Urteil fassen. Es wird aber sicherlich schwieriger als bei anderen PbtA-Settings sein, gleich von Anfang an einen gemeinsamen Vorstellungsraum zu entwickeln.


Sehr gut gefällt mir der Korruptions-Mechanismus, der vor allen den von Anfang an weniger Korrumpierten – den Sterblichen und menschlichen Magiern – Gelegenheit gibt, in eine düstere Spirale von Macht, Verführung und Verzweiflung zu stürzen. Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass dadurch eine schöne spieltechnische Balance zwischen den verschiedenen Gruppierungen geschaffen wird. Ein Vampir, der seiner Blutlust nachgibt, ist schließlich weniger dramatisch als ein alter, idealistischer Jäger, der nach Jahren doch einen Handel mit einem Dämon eingeht, um seine Liebsten zu retten.


http://wp.me/p1Hoys-6Rop>

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex - Volume 3, Issue 1
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2016 12:26:57

A solid and useful issue of the Fate Codex.


Family Favors by John Large setails how to use the bronze rule to represent organizations in your game, and how characters can interact with them, asking for favors and being tasked with returning favors as well.


Mythos Aspects by June Shores shows how to use campaign aspects to influence issues and character aspects in your game, keeping the focus tight and the action appropriate for the type of game you are playing.


La Reina Del Sol gives you a detailed NPC to use in a variety of games.


Amber Twilight by Jima Arunsone is this issues mini-campaign, a space opera-ish game with magic and faeries and stuff. Honestly, this did not work for me. I felt like someone was describing half of a young adult movie series that I wasn't familiar with and leaving most of the details out. I don't want to be harsh. I'm sure someone will love this and play the heck out of it, it just didn't gel with me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 3, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Shadows
by Noel W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2016 13:58:48

Without a doubt, Urban Shadows is my favorite Powered by the Apocalypse game out there (besides the original). The mechanics are brilliant, with Corruption in particular reinforcing the themes of giving in to one's darker self so prevalent in urban fantasy, and it contains some of the best running-the-game advice out there. Highly recommended for fans of the Dresden Files, PbtA games, and good games in general!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Shadows
by Shaun N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2015 00:37:15

Great book, very well refined and written rules with lots of really good advise. It seems the team has taken all of the learnings from the years of Apocalypse World hacks and combined it into a single source on how to run the game well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 2, Issue 5
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2015 13:34:57

The Fate Codex has been producing solid content for some time now. This is yet another example of their regular, fresh and interesting content. I strongly recommend checking out their Patreon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 2, Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex Anthology, Year One
by Vance R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 12:08:52

A good group of articles for anyone interested in the concepts and executions of the game'a mechanics, or for someone genuinely in need of advice or inspiration.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex Anthology, Year One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 5
by Alexander P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2015 14:20:10

The roleplaying game industry has some serious growing up to do when it comes to becoming an inclusive hobby. This issue of the Fate Codex gives me hope.


Fate Is A Safe Place is a wonderful essay about breaking stereotypes and providing an experience to everyone in the play group that they will enjoy and be comfortable with; it's this kind of meta-commentary that gaming as a whole benefits from, highlighting issues many folks don't even know exist.


Twilight Dames is the setting provided in this issue, a gritty detective noir world about queer women. It's wonderful to flip the idea of exclusivity on its head and putting players into roles they wouldn't often consider, building an LGBTQ-friendly narrative that manages to triumph from a narrative standpoint instead of just shallow political commentary.


Not to say the entire issue revolves around the topic, of course. The advice on running Fate with little prep is a godsend for a game as hectic as Fate can be, and I love the skillset provided for exploration-heavy games.


Pick this up, and look at the rest of the issues as well. You won't be let down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex - Volume 2, Issue 1
by Jacob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2015 15:37:26

I may be a bit biased, as one of my articles is in this issue, but I still think it is pretty great. I found everything in it to be useful in some way. And now I can finally run that Dresden Atomic Robo corssover I have always wanted to do!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 2, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 7
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2015 18:41:38

The information on the Discover action is worth the price of the issue alone. Less for the actual action (though that's useful too) and more for the process of making a new action. Fate is modular, so the more tools you have in your kit the more things you can do. This is a big tool.


The reality TV show stuff is interesting, but not a scenario I'm likely to ever need. Still, more examples of skills is more tools.


SPIRITs is interesting, and enough people in my group liked Inception that this isn't a hard sell. I think I'd want to use it as a smaller part of a more complex setting, but that's just how I am.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Last Days of Anglekite
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2015 18:40:00

I've read this cover to cover twice, and ran a few games with it. I'm glad I was an early backer and even more glad that I backed the other chaos worlds Magpie games is writing. It's really, really well written, and gives GMs tons of tools to play with.


The Pros:
-The writing itself is really fun to read, I didn't have any issue getting through it.
-Lots of adventure fronts to play with
-Plenty of fun treasure items that can be introduced into nearly any setting, but all have awesome backstory within this one
-Well fleshed out villains!
-The compendium classes are really great
-The advice for LongCons seems like it could come in handy. It's a novel idea and I'd love to attend one.


The Cons:
There's one map in the book, and it's a bit lacking. Off the top of my head, it's missing a scale guide, and on each of the PDF readers I tried (One on my tablet, Foxit Reader for desktop, and the default PDF reader for windows 8), a few places lose their labeling (Anglekite comes to mind). I'd also appreciate city maps, or at least a map of Pandemonium for visual help in the "Pandemonium politics" track. As it stands, I used some randomly generated maps and then threw in the particulars that were necessary for the setting.


Overall, I LOVE this playbook, I love this setting, and I can't wait to play more within the Crater Basin. Now I just need more friends who want to play more often.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Days of Anglekite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 1
by Jacob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2015 22:33:36

I found this to be an excellent resource and a wonderful series overall. Each article is of use, even if you don't directly use it in your games, the articles serve as fodder for the imagination. Seriously, check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 1, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Our Last Best Hope
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2012 13:51:13

Great product inspired by story-telling systems like Fiasco. I love the settings provided and the mechanics do exactly what they set out to do. Not sure if it as simple to teach to new players as I would have liked, but can see that the payoff would be worth it absolutely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Our Last Best Hope
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Our Last Best Hope
by Nenad R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/16/2012 03:54:34

This is a game that does exactly what it set out to do, It is designed to emulate a very speciific scenario, in which a small team is sent out to do something to save the world. All the mechanics are geared towards that one goal, and do so very well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates