DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 13:56:21

As other reviewers have noted, the mechanical content is excellent. The real gems for me, though, were the design notes that accompany each Charm in the book. For what is essentially a huge book of developer-blessed homebrew, it's fantastic to have examples of how the dev team takes a narrative or diegetic concept and expresses that through system mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Alexander K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 12:20:33

Exalted 3e has rapidly become one of my favorite game systems. The writing is evocative, the charms are fun, and the rules systems are interesting and engaging. I've adopted elements of the Social Influence system into every other game I play. This game balances rules and narrative in the best way I've seen in over a decade of exploring different tabletop role-playing systems, and I can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Alexander K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 12:17:16

My group is already very excited to use some of the charms in this book! It contains some charms to round out a few existing charmsets and some charms to really bring the pain at high-experience play. Plus, the background for each charm, discussing why it's designed like it is, is really interesting and will probably be helpful when it comes to designing custom charms. Well worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Alan-Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 08:16:22

An excellent collection of some pretty cool (and a few insane) charms that is well worth the cost.


I sincerely hope that Onyx Path does a collection like this for all of their future Exalted Kickstarters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 08:12:18

40 pages of excellent charms, that are flavorful and full of character. The explanation of past lives was conscise and clear.


This book would be a steal at twice the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Preston B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 07:54:37

Let me be very clear here. If you are buying Exalted 3rd edition, and not spending the $3.99 on this title you are doing it wrong.


This book is a TON of value packaged into 40 pages.


The interuction alone is one of the best and clearest explainations of something that Exalted fans have wanted since the first edition.


The charms are ALL top notch and the vast majority feature very insightful commentary from the author that expand on them even more.


I don't want to spoil the final charm in the book but the ideas it gives (and the roleplaying opertunities Divinity-Conferring Touch gives as well) have the potential to have players rethink campaigns (in a good way.)


Overall I can think of MANY much worse ways a gamer can spend $3.99.


TL;DR Buy this book. You will be happy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 05:54:52

An excellent collection of additonal charms for the Solar Exalted. I especailly like the developer notes that acompany each charm.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Werner V. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 02:55:06

Miracles of the Solar Exalted is about 40 pages of some fluff and more Charms (powers) for the your characters.
It's in no way required to play, but it does add a few charms that enable different builds.
There's some awesome art, and the Charms are cool and evocative.
To me, it's a no-brainer for anyone that enjoys Exalted and wants more powers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
by Werner V. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 02:50:07

I've been playing Exalted for several years now, starting with Second Edition, and it's the only game I come back to every time.
To me, it's everything I want an RPG to be, with cool story and epic heroes.
Second edition had issues, and so comes Third Edition. Now, the game reborn, with all new mechanics.
The writers have challenged every assumption, changed everything that didn't work.
There's still a few things that could work better, but I think the good vastly outweights the bad.


However, I should note that this game isn't for everyone: it's for people who enjoy playing really powerful (but not overpowered) characters.
If that's not your cup of tea, Exalted might not be for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Connor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 02:21:23

Other than finding the Apocryphal Keyword exasperating (prospective buyers, don't worry, it has no mechanical effect!) I really enjoy this product. For any who are interested in having access to more fun tools as a player or as a storyteller for Solars, these are a must have, and John's commentary on each charm is an interesting read.


The whole thing comes with a little bonus, in that in the very beginning there is a bit of fluff describing the Exaltation, Lunar Mates and a few other things that are very interesting, also making this a good product for its price for anyone who is interested in the lore of Exalted in the 3rd Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Zeeshan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 01:44:58

Flavorful, powerful, and fun. An absolute no-brainer for the price. I hope we see a book like this for each new splat!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2016 09:15:59

The latest in the batch of 2nd edition Chronicles of Darkness games, Promethean: the Created isn't changed as much in this new edition, probably because it was a brand new game to start with (as opposed to Vampire: the Requiem, Werewolf: the Forsaken, and Mage: the Awakening, who all took varying amounts of inspiration from the older World of Darkness games). As such, this book doesn't dramatically alter the game, just tweaks and updates in various places.


On the Lineage front, two are added: the Unfleshed (mechanical and artificial creations) and Extempore (spontaneous Promethean). I never cared much for either before: the Unfleshed feel out of place to me, not being made of corpses, and probably deserve more extensive treatment if not a separate system to descibe them; while the Extempore always boil down to player/storyteller working them out themselves, and would be a better fit as a sidebar. But I assume others will feel differently. The five core lineages are better defined than they were before, and I appreciated in particular the reworked Tammuz.


The Refinements go from five to ten, including all the core ones and the ones published in later books, together with an entirely new one: Phosporum, the refinement of thrill-seekers and mortality. I really enjoyed this latest addition, but all together it means the book has to present seventeen spalts (seven lineages and ten refinements) which take a lot of word count, which I feel perhaps might have been used to better flesh out the rest of the setting.


Mechanics wise, the 2nd edition is as finely tuned as the other CoD games. A few specific Promethean merits were added, all Bestowments were included, and Transmutations received a major overhall, making them more flavorful than previously. I truly appreciate the efforts of the Onyx Path team to have supernatural powers differentiate from the Discipline model (the 1 to 5 dots, buy in sequence kind). Once again though, with 15 Transmutations to cover, the mechanics take a lot of space in the book.


A core promise of this new edition was to make Promethean more approachable, and in this I think the game is a success: the Pilgrimage through which Promethean go to achieve humanity is both more structured and mechanically sound, while the drawbacks are easier to manage - though still significants.


Antagonists receive their own chapter, with a welcome new addition in the form of Alchemists. Pandorans lost the Mockeries which divided them into different pseudo-lineages, perhaps more fitting in theme for divisive creatures but something I regretted. Detailed Firestorm rules are back, and so are the enigmatic qashmallim, a personal favorite.


Finally as in other CoD game a chapter covers settings from different parts of the world. Those are regrettably short, possibly to accomodate for the nomadic life of most Prometheans. But they do point at interesting variations, such as places were Wastelands don't occur as easily, or others where qashmallim appear with surprising regularity.


Overall, this book is a 4 stars for me because it didn't "wow" me in the same way the original did, and I disagreed with some of the choices which were made (the inclusion of the two additional lineages in particular). But this is still a very solid book and one that I will use in my CoD campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Promethean the Created 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Early Access
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 23:55:44

I'll have to admit, I was a bit uncertain about the premise to this game, given that it's a fantasy game, but with dog people. That's not terribly imaginative, but it might sell just based on the aesthetic appeal.


That was my initial "judging the book by the cover" impression. I was wrong.


I am thoroughyl impressed with the way that the underlying premise is actually more compelling than any of the trappings of the game. What might have been just another anthropomorphic fantasy game is very nearly a treatise on cognizance and the influence of instinct on society.


That alone should make you want to check out this setting. It grabs you by the lapels, begs you to care about the history and society that dominates the setting, and gives liberal portions of the trappings and subtle commentary that compell you to learn more; to make you want to play in this sandbox of subversive pop culture that would otherwise be a boring genre treatment.


This is not just a fantasy game, it's a fantasy game with cunnign satire woven into its fabric. If that is something that you can appreciate, pay the $2 to find out what I mean. You may just be asking yourself the same question that I am. When is the full release going to be??



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scion: Hero
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 00:49:17

Though is was rather confusing at the time, Scion was basically meant to be Exalted Modern, with a few key differences. The premise was a bit easier to understand than that of Exalted (in that you didn't have to explain the basic setting in a big paragraph that would have served as a Star Wars screen crawl). You get to play the children of gods in the modern times, and do cool John Woo type things or stop buses with your hands.


Basically, a mix of a super hero game with some myth and divinity thrown in. I have not yet looked at the follow up books, but the idea is that you can eventually ascend to godhood. Despite that, I rather like the concept of a lower level hero, as it gives a lot more room and relatability for adventures that can be street to street, like most of White Wolf's classic products. The stories you can tell at this level are human ones, of passion and pathos.


So far, it has been difficult to tell those same stories through a storyteller system without it being rediculous and/or appropriate. I'll reserve my judgement, but so far I am pleased with Scion Hero. Also, bonus points for using the Aztec pantheon. Hardly anyone seems to care about those Mexico gods.


The powers are well scaled, and not as bombastic as Exalted, given that you are still beholden to the constraints of society somewhat, or at least for the time being.


All that being said, this is an amazing book and I almost wish I had given it a second look sooner than now. You can thank my kids and their current infatuation with Percy Jackson for this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Lore of the Clans
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2016 16:04:14

I'd say, hands down the best of the V20 line so far, and I honestly can not wait until Lore of the Bloodlines, (which I wanted even more) to finally come out.


A consistent complaint I've had about the V20 line was that it didn't feel like Vampire the Masquerade as much as someone's rewriting the game to get their home campaign ideas, (some of which are just bad) into canon, or something along those lines, even if it meant removing things from past editions. The V20 lines has also lost that defining spark that made me fall in love with Vampire the Masquerade, and in truth tends to make reading those books somewhat dull, (Ghouls, Black Hand, I'm looking at you). While this is all still somewhat true here, it's very clearly to a lesser extent all around.


Instead, Lore reminds me a lot of both versions of the old Clan Books, except all in one place. When I first started off reading it, chapter by chapter, I actually told someone "It felt like reading an old VtM book, once again", and I meant it. After I'd gotten into it more and more, I started havign some doubts, some are just better than others, though to be fair, this has always been the case, and some degree of personal bias may also come into play, making it difficult to tell if which I honestly liked or not, but I didn't walk away disliking the take or "reimagining" they had gone with this time.


I've never been a fan of the Assamites or Tremere, and still really am not, but both are very good chapters here, and I really like the idea that most of the Tremere chapter is taken from the out of game stance of "yah, we know it doesn't make sense but it's a Clan, they did survive, and here they are" and the unreliable narrator works perfectly.


Each chapter is filled with options, ideas, mechanics, and the like, though it's NOT restricted to just that Clan, which is a big plus.


Unlike the V20 main book, this one has time to go into some more detail rather than just present options, and they use that space well. I highly recommend this book, and if anything else in the V20 line is closer to this than the direction they have been going, I'm more excited. Especially if Lore of the Bloodlines is even close to this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Clans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 669 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates