DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 15:47:26

A good addition to the vampire books that helps bring the medieval world to life, for instance explains the idea of tournaments and how they worked in the feudal world (without having to read up on people like William Marshall) and I like the touches of the everyday magic of the era (which would now partly come under science).

The darker magic and its side effects is nicely expanded in this book, giving more of consequence when wielding powerful vampire powers such as necromancy.

The new rituals will no doubt will help with story ideas, for instance 'Implant the Bezoar' could make for an interesting vampire murder mystery storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 18:21:01

The first full-sized sourcebook for Beast: the Primordial (after a solid Ready-made characters one), Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes is a collection of antagonists, but in classic Night Horrors fashion offers detailed, interesting elements for all of them. The book is divided in three parts: first Heroes, the titular characters who hunt Beasts (and are NOT Hunters, as a sidebar reminds us). Then Beasts, most of which have experienced the Inheritance (three types of transformation which usually turn into a Beast into something more suitable for NPCs). And finally, something entirely new - the Insatiables, a new type of creatures who hunt Beasts themselves. Each chapter is made of unique examples, all with interesting backstories and different approaches. A couple of new Heroic Gifts, Numina, and entirely new powers for the Insatiables can be found in there as well.

Beast being a new game, and one in which there is considerable freedom to create characters and antagonists, any new material helps and those many examples serve to enrich the game. I found the Heroes chapter offered different methods for them to hunt Beast, the Beast chapter made the Inheritances clearer, and the Insatiable offered an important new part of the Beast setting. Overall an excellent book which I can only recommend if you found Beast interesting.

Oh, and there's a killer clown.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 3)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 19:56:47

These cards were a fantastic idea. They make keeping track of charms a lot easier, save time, and are suprisingly high quality. Well worth the price. I will be getting any other sets released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 3)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 19:56:30

These cards were a fantastic idea. They make keeping track of charms a lot easier, save time, and are suprisingly high quality. Well worth the price. I will be getting any other sets released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 1)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 19:44:26

These cards were a fantastic idea. They make keeping track of charms a lot easier, save time, and are suprisingly high quality. Well worth the price. I will be getting any other sets released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness Overly Specific Condition Cards
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 04:01:41

An odd one. Obviously this is a joke product and it's mildly amusing, so well done there. Worth a look, more for the pointers on creating your own conditions than for the humour.

What I find odd about this is mostly how inconsistent the cards are. There's some that are focused on metagame stuff, in a way which leaves me fairly cold, because my groups are quite happy to discuss that openly. A few of them seem pleasingly niche, but still potentially useful in a completely standard game and quite tropetastic, which is more what I was expecting ("Cornered by things that are smaller than you", for example). Others look have a tongue-in-cheek feel but would again work fine in a not-very-serious campaign, and then there's a couple of wild cards.

I don't have any problem with any of that, but I do feel the cards would have been more satisfying if they'd stuck with a consistent tone and theme for the conditions, because a stack of cards with the same kind of humour would have a cumulative effect, whereas this scattershot approach doesn't. Or you could even split it into two sets, one focused on horror/monster/WOD tropery and one on the jokier elements.

Also, and I appreciate this is a very minor gripe, but could they not have filled in the last four cards instead of leaving them blank? Surely White Wolf can come up with eighteen mildly amusing things?

It's a nice idea, I think it could have been executed better with a bit more focus, but it's a freebie April 1st throwaway so hey.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness Overly Specific Condition Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2017 12:59:30

Purchased the PDF version a few week ago and am enjoying it immensely.

In addition to some new combat abilities, backgrounds, merits, and combination disciplines to support the new material, the biggest draws for this book are:

  • Expanded magical options for Dark Mysticism, Koldunic Sorcery, Setite Sorcery, Necromancy, Assamite Sorcery, and Witch magic, all of which are given some excellent lore entries and explanations. Fans of magic in World of Darkness will likely really enjoy this.

  • More excellent medieval word-building, including new lore and rules for how to incorporate fiefdoms, knights, and mass combat (more on that below). I am of the opinion that, particularly in a setting like Dark Ages, time period information, mechanical tools, and world-building are critical, as they provide a blueprint for those of us who are not necessarily history buffs to be able to properly create and evoke a pseudo-historical atmosphere in a memorable and immersive way, rather than just feeling like "DnD with Vamps", and I feel like the book really shines in this regard. The entries on knighthood and medieval combat were particular highlights for me.

  • The mass combat rules. I feel like these are going to get a mixed response, but they could also be a major reason one might enjoy this. Conceptually, I like them a lot. They offer an opportunity to simulate medieval warfare tactics and to engage in seiges and other larger-scale conflicts (albeit in a cinematic, WoD manner. This is not trying to be a wargame simulator, nor should it be expected), which not only lends itself well to the medieval atmosphere, but also presents a chance at mixing things up on a grander scale than normal. That said, I personally still find them a bit difficult to keep straight after a few reads, so their practicality may vary for some. The book does provide an example scenario that lays out how everything works -- which is most welcome and helpful -- but I personally didn't find them to be the most accessible thing in the world, so I suspect it may take some getting used to for some players and GMs to really make the mechanics shine.

All in all, I really liked this book, and I think that anyone who enjoys magical characters or worldbuilding will find a lot to be happy about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon: The Descent
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2017 03:46:59

Having finally read the whole book, I can say with certainty that this is a great product. No this is not a book about Abrahamic demons and angels, this is definitely something different, more in the vein of theMatrix/Dark City/Inception and other sci-fi routines. The authors went for something different, and really committed to it. Reading the book gave me plenty of ideas for games and settings, which I always take as a good sign. If you're not afraid of an original take on the concept of Demon, I recommend this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Descent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Shaun O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 13:16:12

I haven't received my physical copy, but that's because I just ordered the book yesterday. I have gone through the PDF though and there is a massive glaring flaw in the book itself. Before character creation it talks about the different kinds of Exalts. Solars, Lunarians, Exigents, Sidereal, etc etc. And even gives reasons to play those types instead of the Solars. But in the character creation section it only gives details on making a Solar Exalt. That's like if any other table top gaming system told you about how Fighters, Wizards, Bards, Warlocks, and all these other classes exist and how aweome they are but they only gave you rules for fighters and said in a side note that they will be releasing the other books on other classes later. That's a pathetic and obvious cash grab. Or to put it in White Wolf terms. Here's Vampire The Masquerade 20th edition. The clans are Brujah, Ventrue, Gangrel, Malkavian, Tremere, Nosferatu, and Toreador now here are rules on how to make a Brujah. Oh if you want to make anything else you'll have to wait and buy our next books.

I'm not hating on sourcebooks. I love sourcebooks. But let me at least get a taste of playing these other factions and then later you can offer me the sourcebook to get more insight into the inner workings of the factions I've already played and enjoyed.

I might raise up the rating if the phsyical copy of the book is of good quality.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Secrets of the Covenants
by Mikko T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 08:57:19

My opinion has always been that the storytelling in cWoD / nWoD / CofD books is mediocre at best and this book does nothing to change that opinion. When I heard that Secrets of the Covenants is going to be like the Clan books I was feeling hesitant.

Reading through the book I found a subtext that keeps repeating itself. This is the one thing that started to irk me after a while, because it's not at all subtle. Maybe the writers think that they are being clever, but then they are just being foolish. More likely this is just them pandering to an audience that I'm not a part of. The 1E covenant books told why it's cool to be part of any of the five covenants. This book is all too eager to point fingers and tell who you should side with. Effectively painting two covenants as straight-up antagonists for everyone else to strike down. Guess I don't need VII or Belial's Brood anymore, because there's plenty of hate and blame being thrown around. I will keep Belial's Brood, though, because it is the best covenant book ever written. The VII does guest-star in the book - sort of.

While reading I kept wondering: why do I like this book? It's because of two things. 1) This book gives a sense of how it feels to be in a global covenant, which is (mostly) lacking from the 1E covenant books. 2) This book gives a lot of new ideas. I love both of these things. I'm not going to use any of the material in this book as-is, because it does not meet my personal standards. Instead this book gives me a lot of starting points on something that's much more interesting. And all of those starting points are more than worth the price of the book.

I was worried that this book would try to redo what the 1E covenant books did. I'm very happy that it didn't even try to go there. I can dig through those older books for a lot of ideas and then come to this one to give those ideas an interesting spin. In that way this book complements those older books very nicely. It works with them. There are plenty of old favorites, like Courtoisie (Bloodline Discipline), in the appendix, which are now merits. I'm disappointed about that but I suppose the old stuff was too over-powered for 2E. Mechanically everything looks very smooth, which is good.

Overall this was an odd experience, just like the Clan books. A lot of what I read just gave me a luke-warm "meh" feeling, but put together with the older covenant books and you got something more interesting. Probably just means that I prefer the older covenant books and their writing style over this new style. They might be more dry reading, but the amount of content per book is nothing short of breathtaking.

With that in mind my verdict on this book comes with a caveat. Stand-alone: 2/5 stars. With 1E covenant books: 4/5 stars. Personal irritations aside there's a lot of good material in this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Covenants
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by Jonathon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 12:54:58

I'm loving this book in one light, and cringing at it in another. There are so many awesome, unique niche details that are given full light in this book. You can build the most perfect, individual snowflake you want using this book, and have it all be perfectly above board and canon... and that's the weakness of this book. With all of the tools provided here, you could make yourself a Demon worshiping, half-fae, abyssal mystic with necromancy, and naturally developed blood magic... all without stretching.

This book is like a one ton block of salt. It's great to supply decades worth of meals, but if you dropped the whole thing in on one meal, it'd ruin everything.

I plan on taking pieces of this into my games and characters, sprinkling here and there. I highly recommend that any ST that allows this as canon require a thorough review of how their players use the lore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Early Access
by Barret W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 12:30:18

I haven't play testing it yet, but reading through the text it seems like it wouuld be a good game. It doesn't follow the classis d20 mechanics, but it's pretty close and the changes are easy to understand if you've played any d20 game. The writing is good, the author really lays out an interesting world with fairly well developed chaacters and struggles. It's necessarily a little vague because it's the ealy access edition, so the spell lists and chapter on monsters are rather small, but this is noted where it occurs and should be fixed in the final version. I'm pretty excited to get a game going, it's streamlined enough that I suspect I'll even be able to play in a video chat with friends, whih would be tougher with some of the other d20 games I've played that haven't been so streamlined. I'd definetly recommend giving it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by Ryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2016 13:39:47

Lots of neat sorcery paths, but the book I received looks and feels like someone took sandpaper to the top section of the book's spine. Not cool! I'm not sure this neded to be a hardcover as it clocks in at 117 pages.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition Condition Cards
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2016 04:51:59

My only question is, who dropped the ball? Who was responible for letting these cards to be produced ?

  1. These cards are the size of playing cards you would find in the stores. Fine,only there's a lot of writing on them. It would have been nice if they were just a little bit larger so to make it easier to read. Oh but why do that?
  2. The Backs say Vampire 2nd edition but the text says differantly having referance to The God Machine book and when having referances to the book do the age old (XX) for page number. Are you fucking kidding me?
  3. One of the cards, The Thrall card, was damaged for some reason. I can see me having to use this one a bit. I thought about sending the whole thing back but thought "fuck it"
  4. The case. I spent $2 extra for the case. It sucks. It's hard to open and it's two seperate pieces. I know it's only 2 dollars but it would have been nice to have something worth keeping. I'll never buy another condition card pack again. For the cost of them, NOT WORTH THE MONEY.


Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition Condition Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
by Joseph P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2016 10:52:18

First off, let me say I do not regret buying/kickstarting this product. I do think that it could have been done better, but a lot of my complaints are subjective in nature, and revolve around things I felt have been changed simply because a given author didn't like them rather than because they needed to change or improve.

Namely the change to the Salubri, outright swappoing around a few Discipline's powers, and a lack of strong emphasis on the setting in favor of trying to make things more politically correct and inclusive. There is a strong lopsided modern political presentation on most of the material that really detracts from the product. The more you read it, the more it seems that the book isn't really based on any of the previous material and feels more like an alternate take on things to try and establish a WoD Lite home game sort of theme.

In trying to make the game universal, it pushed makeing things very generic. I also feel like part of the unofficial goal (really for the 20th Ed line as a whole), was to try to incoporate some of the mechanics themes from the nWoD/CoD system, which just, (and again subjective opinion), just doesn't work. Or it might be more appropriate to say was not what I was looking for in an original WoD line.

The best thing I can compair this, (as well as many other 20th Ed books) to is a movie "re-imagining" that while it might make things a tiny bit more relevant to modern tastes or to grab new blood, it largly misses the point and spirit of the original and ultimately just feels "ok, but not great".

I'm really not a fan of the color art, again, feeling like it just detracts from the overall product and feel, and while I like some of the art, other art I really don't care for. It also sort of feels like a lot of visuals are overused or nearly repeated, and combining a lot of the asthetics with the overall vague nature of far too much material leaves me wonder just what exactly I'm suppossed to do with the game. I mean, I have plenty of the older products to lean on for inspiration and ideas, but viewing the system from just this product, I could see folks after reading though asking, "Ok, so now what?"

In the end, and again while I don't outright regret the purchase, I think I'm happier with my old products, and if I had to sum this one up in a short phrase, it would have to be something along the lines of "Change for the sake of change".



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 740 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates