DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 23:00:22

Great book! Lots of fun charms. If you've been looking to get just a little more "oomph" out of your Solars, this should greatly help!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Alexandre C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2016 19:00:27

It's basically excellent, just like about anything Onyx Path has been publishing those last years.


Here are the things I prefer :



  1. The combat system is fantastic. It works, it is balanced, and it is totally suited to the sort of cinematic gameplay Exalted should be. The first edition tried to adapt the WoD combat system into a cinematic system, it partly worked because overall it is a really neat and versatile system, but still it generated a lot of issues because it was designed with different goals and constraints. The second edition tried to fix those issues through more rules; the result was more balanced but quite bloated and not very usable. This third edition has a completely different system. The weathering/decisive attack distinction is really great and appeals to anyone who ever saw an action movie or anime, while preserving the general structure of the simple and efficient WoD game system. It's just brilliant.

  2. The moral/ethics part of the game has been reworked to make them more usable. The motivation/virtues/intimacies system of the first and second edition looked good on paper, but were very difficult to use in game. Reworking everything into one well-defined framework (intimacies, which can now be minor, major or defining) make it maybe a bit more simplistic but also a lot more usable. I prefer a simpler system I and my players can actually use to a more elaborate system nobody really grasps because it is too complicated.

  3. Histories have been made part of the merit/flaw system, and again it seems to just work and have no drawback whatsover. The merit/flaw system is now a tiny bit more complex, but IMO it is completely overbalanced by getting rid of histories themselves/

  4. The new rules for sorcery make sorcerers more efficient and funnier to play. You don't need enormous essence reserves any more, and countering sorcery is now extremely difficult, which means spells are easier (if longer) to cast and have less potential to be annihilated. (Instead they can often be subverted, but not always and it usually offers interesting roleplaying options, rather than just saying "your spell was broken"). Sorcerous workings also provide a nice framework for things you felt your sorcerer character should be able to do, but don't fit any specific rule.

  5. The concept of a "supernal ability" for which your characrer is considered to have Essence 5 for charm requirement purposes. It allows you to really go overkill in your chosen ability, while maintaing some balance.


Things I am a bit mitigated about :



  1. The new martial arts system. It's now the same styles for everybody, but the effects of some charms differs based on whether you are a dragon-blooded, a celestial exalted, or a Solar (or, presumably, sidereal). The martial arts styles in the core book are really cool and they are certainly balanced and useable in a solar campaign, which is the most important thing, but I am still waiting to see how they manage things like SMA or celestial initiation for DB martial artists.

  2. The crafting system. I hadn't the opportunity to test it yet (nobody wanted to be a craftsman in my current game), but the crafting experience system seems very unnatural to me, and quite against the way the game is supposed to work. I understand the general principle that you should build a lot of basic swords before understanding how to make an exceptionally good sword, but in a game it is my impression that not being able to craft artifact X because you should have made one more cheap sword on your free time is quite unrealistic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2016 12:43:34

Interesting times ahead for Onyx Path/WW. Very much looking forward to the revised second editions outside of the core 3 games for New world of darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 16:04:18

Excellent work and very clever charms from the backers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 11:47:46

Well-worth the money. You may have thought that the high number of Solar Charms in the corebook would have covered everything you wanted to do, but reading this book will change your mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Storypath System Preview
by Jose A. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 10:31:44

nice suplement, just for fans. I'll have more coments when definitive version is published



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storypath System Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Santino C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 08:03:49

This product is beautifully illustrated and contains dozens of extra charms for a variety of abilities for solars. The best part in my eyes however also contains the explanations of either what backers asked for, or why these charms were thematic or how they were inspired. Keep up the good work. Support Exalted and Onyx Path, its worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 16:25:11

If you've been wondering what was going on with the World of Darkness, this will answer all your questions. It makes me excited about the future of a gaming World I had thought all worn out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Path 2016-2017 Publishing Brochure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 16:21:08

This book is very pretty, with lots of fun new charms



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Yannick G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 16:05:18

I don't usually write reviews but going to have to say this book is amazing, as it compliments the solar gameplay fantasy with the solid foundation of the corebook. Evocative charms, essentially allowing you to play the kind of solars you always wanted to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Rand B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 15:06:05

A bunch of Charms requested by backers, plus some extra Charms just because. A good resource for people who want more Solar Charms.


Cloud-Wreathed Scholar is my favorite, because I should be able to be right all the time and not just sometimes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Gunar L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 05:23:09

For only a couple bucks, you can't really go wrong on this one if you like the Solar Exalted at all. A lot of awesome new options, especially interesting that every charm descriptions contains a paragraph of what the original idea behind the charm was so you can see where it came from.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by Robert W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 17:14:55

For only four bucks, Miracles of the Solar Exalted is a steal. There's just so much content @.@
Plus editorials for the Charms.
And it's illustrated.


It's even better than I hoped!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Miracles of the Solar Exalted
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 13:56:21

As other reviewers have noted, the mechanical content is excellent. The real gems for me, though, were the design notes that accompany each Charm in the book. For what is essentially a huge book of developer-blessed homebrew, it's fantastic to have examples of how the dev team takes a narrative or diegetic concept and expresses that through system mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
by Alexander K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2016 12:20:33

Exalted 3e has rapidly become one of my favorite game systems. The writing is evocative, the charms are fun, and the rules systems are interesting and engaging. I've adopted elements of the Social Influence system into every other game I play. This game balances rules and narrative in the best way I've seen in over a decade of exploring different tabletop role-playing systems, and I can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 682 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates