DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Información de la editorial









Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/04/16 15:22:09

Have been waiting forever to get my hands on this book, but it was well worth it and a much tidier casting system!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
por James C. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/04/16 14:49:27

Doing a thorough readthrough and wanted to call out some of my favorite clarified stuff. Nimbuses are way cooler now and even have conditions attached to them. Spellcasting feels smarter and paradox is much easier to determine. All the Orders and Paths are true to what they have always been but definitely feel more rich with their individuality similar to 2nd Edition VtR. Having played a lot of tabletop Mage the Awakening nothing in here seems like a bad move. The more stringent requirements of gnosis vs. arcanum cap actually feels right after a bit of examination. The lore makes the world of 2nd Edition mage feel vibrantly alive and terrifying as it should be. There is a lot more that could be said but i'll leave it at that for now.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Carter D. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/30/16 13:46:13

I'm still in the process of digesting this mammoth tome, but I can certainly provide some first impressions. To start, on a purely aesthetic level this edition feels more like First Edition than Second. There's a lot more of a sense of the world being wide open and lively in the writing and art. The setting chapter provides write-ups for locations that are familiar, and breaks some new ground. The systems for combat and other things are evocative and meticulously balanced... which is good, because there are a LOT of them. This is a product that will take time to grock, but it will show itself to have been well spent.


In terms of major changes from the previous edition, let me provide some bullet points and my reflex reactions. The game is about 70% modified from the previous edition, and mostly in good ways.


Brawl makes its return, and Martial Arts has been slightly repositioned so that it requires a few prerequisites to access. The book also provides multiple Martial Arts styles. This does mean that there are now 26 abilities.


Caste abilities have been opened up so that you now choose five from a list of eight abilities. This does break the boilerplate of the First Edition character sheet, but it also lets you effectively opt out of Caste Abilities you would never use for a specific character, like an Archery-focused Dawn Caste who has no need for Thrown charms. They also introduce the concept of the Supernal ability.


Anima Abilities are more balanced, with each Caste having three. Of them, I only see one that I would consider 'bad'. It's a Twilight ability that isn't bad in itself, but could easily be abused by a player that just wants to get away from the table and go play videogames instead.


Social Combat has been replaced with the infinitely better 'Social Influence' system. Motivation has been ditched entirely, in favor of streamlining and detailing the Intimacy system, which interacts directly with the Social Influence system. Virtues are also out, although Virtue Flaws remain.


Backgrounds have become New WoD style Merits, and Flaws have become New WoD style Flaws. This allows a lot of the Backgrounds to work far better than they once did.


They include two extra exalt types in the fluff of the core book, just as the core rulebook has always talked about the other Exalts since First Edition. Of the two, Exigents are actually an interesting and worthwhile addition to the game. Liminal Exalted are... not. They intrude on the schtick of Alchemical Exalted in some ways, while coming off as the developer's 'special snowflake' Exalted in others. They serve no valuable purpose within the setting or the narrative, and basically just seem to be a misguided attempt to translate Prometheans from Chronicles of Darkness into Exalted. The only good thing about Liminals is that they are easy to ignore.


I could keep going with this list, but I think I've hit the major highlights. If you're an exalted fan, or even just a fan of the things Exalted draws inspiration from, chances are good you'll like this game, if not love it. It has everything that made Exalted special from the outset, distilled and concentrated for added intensity.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Exalted 3rd Edition
por Hailey M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/29/16 21:25:41

I am in love with this game. The combat system is dynamic and takes a lot less time than expected after the first few combat scenes. The social influence system is also amazing! It takes your character's intimacies and makes them important, it also avoids the nasty "mind control" stuff that 2e made the norm. Sorcery is amazing and fun! And it includes Sail rules! The subsystems make me want to make all sorts of different characters.


Overall, I'm pleased with the new Exalted.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Stefan H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/29/16 19:09:01

Let me preface by saying that Exalted is my favorite game in my nearly 40 years of table top gaming. I own all of the 1st and second edition books and eagerly awaited the 3rd edition. I have to say overall I am impressed and I have to agree with their reviews here the systems are solid and streamlined. I love the addition of new Exalted types and the massive amount of info they crammed into this book, even if it did take a long time, too long for some, to get to market.


The is one key issue I have to address which is not enough to make it fall short of 5 stars for me. I know my gripe may seem small to so but they say the devil is in the details and there is one detail related to the setting I can't get past. I apologize if it takes a bit to explain. the vast majority of fantasy settings conform to the archetypes of either Western Europe or Japan and/or China. One of the primary reasons I was initially drawn to Exalted was that while it leaned heavily of the Japan/China archetypes it had ample influences from Tibet, Africa, India, SE Asia (Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, etc.), and even Mesoamerica (mostly in the Old Realm writing and the architecture). So imagine my chagrin when almost all of the background layout art evoke, China and Japan, primarily the latter. In fact, none of it would be out of place in a Legend of the Five Rings book (a game I also love). While Exalted draws much from wuxia and anime those two setting types have a ton of representation in the hobby. Now I would never expect Oynx Path to not use such archetypes to some degree, they are too popular to ignore. But it would have put this game over the top if those other influences had been more evident in the art. You can’t remove them from the game, they are embedded, but if I had picked this book up all those years ago rather than the 1st ed. Book I would have written it off at frost glance as another in the very long line of wuxia and/or anime games.
Again I know the gripe seems small and nitpicky and to be fair maybe it is. But since the accepts which made this game may favorite have been pushed aside, at least visually, I feel a bit justified in the complaint. All that off my chest the setting is still amazing and worth every bit of praise it gets. Some have decried the art but other than the above I sort of like it. The combat system seems an improvement over past incarnations, though it needs a bit more test driving before I can be fully sure. However, that is true of even the best games, you need to give them a good amount of runtime to find any cracks in the system, as they relate to your particular play style.


Lastly, I’ll comment on the Red Rule. I am not sure whether to be happy it is there or deeply saddened that it needs to be. I all my years of gaming I have been lucky enough to play with some amazingly mature gamers who handle adult situations well (even in my younger days, not to say would could be sophomoric from time to time but nothing of an adult nature was ever done without a player’s consent), but I also realize there are those out there who just don’t---Sigh.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Anthony S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/29/16 13:52:23

Exalted 3rd Edition is a beautiful, rich, deep experience of an RPG that vastly improves on the clunky but functional framework left behind by Exalted 2nd Edition.


As a veteran player and Storyteller of 2nd Edition, and now as a Storyteller for 3rd, I am finding both myself and my players enjoying a considerably more streamlined experience. It is now easier to built a character that makes functional sense, and it is now easier to place them in a world that makes functional sense.


Backstory/Geography/Woldbuilding: The components of the world are succinctly and logically laid out and the folks at Onyx Path have done a very nice job in letting you read about how things are NOW as opposed to the journey they took in the past, with only a short snippet on the present. While history is important to understanding any culture, in the context of an RPG that here-and-now element is much more important. Third edition delivers much more soundly than Second.


Character Creation: 2nd Edition was not a simple game. Character creation, while never terribly complicated, involved a large number of ambiguous choices that led to exigent problems with the later parts. It felt as if there was simply far too much information in order to make a sound decision. Success in this format was NOT possible without the supplements created by third party participants that provided much more clean and clear decision trees and advise.


Third Edition has adopted much of that feedback and given one the option and the hope to develope really any archtype at all into a powerful Exalt, and this is apparent from creation. There are minor conflicts in clarity, for example no lack of strong tie between a character's Merits and their Intimacies, although the game strongly implies you should have them.


Storytelling System: The dice and mechanics of Exalted were never really complicated, but they were definitely not simple. Much of 2nd Edition was obfuscated more than anything, with complex interaction between charms and artifacts and other interactions between Social DV and your normal DV, and on and on. It was a thing overwhelmed by its own breadth and often required isolating and featuring one aspect at a time in order to let anything at all shine.


While I still require more time to precisely evaluate the efficacy, I can say for certain that it is much -easier- on all involved, Player and GM alike, to make the pieces of the game fit with one another. I took my players and we all remade characters into 3rd, so essentially ported them over, and have played multiple sessions since then. It's gone over very well for us all!


Combat and Mechanics: One of the most pleasant differences between 3rd and 2nd has been the clear "end game" charms for literally each and every Ability. In combination with the neat feature of Supernal designations which allow you to accelerate your power in a specific category, it has become very easy to sell all of my players on the long-term viability of much more diverse skills. Lore is great, Martial arts is great, Occult is great, Sail is great. Everything can do a number of AWESOME things that players love to have in their arsenal!


Additionally, much of the seriously problematic issues have been addressed, such as the removal of Solar Hero Form and other such "instant win" mechanics. With one exception: Players generate 5 Essence motes every round. I am still not sure how to feel about this, but at this time the rule seems appropriate. The above remains tenative, pending the other materials in the series. No telling what horrors further books might unleash.


Overall, Exalted 3rd Edition was well worth the wait and is excellently prepared. The art is beautiful, the layout is appropriate, the details are crisp yet robust. The book itself does have a small handful of editing mistakes but they are not experience-breaking and are well within my expectations for quality on a work such as this. A nearly 700 page book or PDF delivering one of the most robust roleplaying experiences in existance. Definitely worth your money.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
World of Darkness Overly Specific Condition Cards
por Malcolm B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/16 17:19:07

While this is an april fools joke, it still shows creative examples of how conditions can be used above and beyond the typical.
Also, sometimes you are in a car, running out of fuel, risking breakdown, and being chased by monsters.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
World of Darkness Overly Specific Condition Cards
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Exalted 3rd Edition
por Marc M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/24/16 15:10:00

As a longtime Exalted fan (I literally own every single first and second edition book) I have to say this has been something long awaited and it truly delivers on all the promise that this series has provided over the years. I won't mince words and will just say - if you love Exalted, you need to own this book



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Exalted 3rd Edition
por Paul S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/23/16 10:10:11

Speaking as a backer of the Kickstarter, I find this edition of Exalted to be incredibly disappointing. I was a huge Exalted fanboy and I wanted very much for this to be a good game that my group could enjoy.


When I got my backer copy of the rules, I spent a month pouring though the rulebook try to make sense of it. The book is full of complex and counter-intuitive subsystems, and I really had to study to figure them out. I was worried, but I still had some hope that things would work better when we actually started to play.


My first session of EX3 was a complete disaster. I have never had the first session of a game go this badly. My players instantly hated the game, and we couldn't even finish the first combat.


Don't get me wrong. There are parts of the system that are quite brilliant. The social conflict system in particular may be the best I've ever seen. But there are other parts of the rules that, while they may be mechanically sound, just make no sense. The combat movement is a notable example of this. It is two page of dense, convulated rules that might be "balanced" but are very difficult to understand and don't remotely resemble the way things work in reality.


Granted, movement was a mess in 2nd edition as well, but there it was only a marginal part of the rules and easy to fix. In 3rd edition, there a couple dozen charms and other elements of the combat that interact with the movement system, and streamlining movement would mean rewriting huge chunks of other rules. And combat movement is only one example of such a subsystem: the rules are full of things like this.


My group played and enjoyed the 2nd edition of Exalted after some house ruling to fix the weirder elements of that system. House ruling 3rd edition to the point where my group would be willing to play it would involve a nearly complete rewrite of the system. After waiting 3 years, I am left with a brick of a game that I can't use except maybe to steal a few ideas from, and I am pretty bitter about it.



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por John F. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/22/16 14:38:17

I have got to say, I am impressed. The art and writing are excellent, and the mechanics look like they will aid in the fun. But the passage that really sold me is in the section about seduction.
THE RED RULE
In almost all aspects, Exalted doesn’t mechanically distinguish
between Storyteller characters and those the players
control. Here’s the exception:
A player-controlled character can only be seduced or otherwise
put in a sexual situation if the player is okay with it.
Otherwise, any such attempt fails automatically.
This is completely up to the player’s discretion, and they can
waive this rule’s protection if they want their character to be
seduced, if they think it would improve the story, or for whatever
other reason. This is entirely up to the player, and on an
attempt-by-attempt basis—waiving the rule once doesn’t
void your ability to call on it later against the same character,
or even in the same scene. If no one in your group ever
invokes this rule, that’s also fine—but players don’t have
to watch their character put into a sexual situation they’re
not comfortable with.
Groups that feel comfortable in doing so should allow player
characters the full range of their seductive prowess when
entangled with Storyteller-controlled characters… although
remember that the Storyteller is also a player and their
boundaries should be respected.
Thank you Onyx Path for this.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Jason T. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/22/16 07:22:31

EX3, using it's cover title, is an immense tome of lore, systems, artwork and fiction that give us a glimpse into the massive world of Creation. There have been trials and tribulations for Onyx Path to bring this to the public, but they're worth it, the book is probably only one of a small handful of RPG books I'd happily leave out for non-RPG'ers to flick through.


Visually it's gorgeous - The original Kickstart Backer PDF had some issues with art, but following feedback these have almost all been either fully replaced and worked on. The layout is fresh and clean, not cluttered and boxed in and claustrophobic like some RPGs. Overall the entire presentation is one of high quality and would see even the most pretentionus Dynast seek a copy out for their library.


The systems presented within are solid, novel and cover all the bases yet leave room for growth for other Exalted in future supplements. Combat is quick and fun (I've run numerous sessions now) and whilst the sheer number of Charms (Exalted powers and expressions of skill) are vast they're quite quick to learn in play. There are a couple of minor queries regards specific timings of certain combinations of powers and when things occur, but these are the sorts of issues and queries that most medium-to-high crunch systems have. Again, overall, the systems are solid and where needed can be easily house-ruled to suit your individual tastes and gaming table.


The world and setting given in the book sits somewhere between 1st Edtion and 2nd Edtion - it brings back much of the wonder and awe of 1st but with the development and skill that was promised in 2nd Edition but didn't quite reach. It's clear, fun and interesting. All the nations, locales, events and beings are lovingly presented (Though obviously not detailed as much as some would want - After all detailing the totality of all things in one book would be somewhat of an undertaking! It's already 600+ pages as it is!) and offer a lot of gaming plot potentail whilst creating a strong desire for future supplements to be published quickly - EX3 has given me back a hunger for the setting of Creation!


tl:dr; This is amazing. It's few minor flaws are easily worked around (As with any TTRPG) and its strengths are numerous. This is a setting and book that'll give you years of enjoyment and games. Not for those who like minimalist systems though - This is medium-to-high crunch to me, likely heavy crunch to many!



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Gavin M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/21/16 03:57:11

An excellent high-crunch game with an intriguing and innovative combat system, a fantastic social interaction system, and one of the best written settings of all time. This was a facelift a long time in the making and it was well worth the wait.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Alessandro B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/21/16 01:27:42

Exalted 3rd edition took a long time to get here, but it was worth the wait.
The combat mechanics are unique and convey the theme of high octane combat quite well.


There are a lots of charms, BUT almost no useless ones as even the first charm of a tree remains viable and useful all the way through.


Martial arts are outstanding, managing to give a lot of flavor to combat in ways I really did not think of. Each MA has a theme and is channeling a different archetype from different mythologies, fighting styles, anime etc. For example the Void Martial Arts is a clear depiction of samurai iaijutsu.


The setting really scream for more space, but of course it is not very much different from 2E, so one can just use those sourcebooks.
The new locales added are quite evocative, my favorites are the Dreaming Sea in the South East, the Caul in the West and the realm of Ixcoatli in the far East. A shame some old favorites do not make an appereance yet, like The Lap or Paragon.


The Social interaction system is quite well done, battle groups are reasonable and the systems for war and leaderships are just frameworks, but they work quite nicely. We even get rules for sailing and a handful of ships!
Sorcery is very much better, giving dozens of ways to reach enlightenment instead of the 5 stages from earlier editions. Sorcerous works also give you a framework of rules to do all sorts of world changing stuff.


So what's wrong with the game?
Not much to be honest, crafting is quite arcane to deal with, there are only a handful of evocations in the book and when every artefacts costing 3 dots or more, that is a lot of items to make evocations for, though the evocations system in itself is quite nice, elevating the artefacts from the place of mere stat upgrades to sources of power in their own right.


Some charms are also a bit weird to understand and it will take a long time before all of them have been understood and used.
But overall, I find this edition of Exalted to be the best.
5/5



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Nathan H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/20/16 22:55:51

Probably the best edition of the game to date (at least comparing only core books). Creation finally feels as VAST as its meant to, and the mechanics don't result in "perfect-or-die" mote attrition in combat. May be a bit too mechanics heavy for some's tastes with the massive charm list and their new paradigm of stacking with each other - but it remains a tentpole for epic fantasy roleplaying.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
por Andrew D. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/20/16 21:35:34

I've been running this game for my group since I got access to the backer .pdf a couple months ago, and I've found it to be the best version of Exalted yet. Easily my favorite RPG after about twenty years of gaming.


It's a bit on the heavy side, mechanically, but the mechanics seem to have been effectively engineered to enhance a dramatic, epic, and fast-paced game rather than get in the way or slow things down. Most of the mechanical pitfalls of previous editions that caused some very unfortunate behavior to emerge (mote attrition, paranoia combos, violent responses to social interaction, etc.) have been addressed brilliantly, and the systems for combat and social interaction in particular are some of the most inventive and fun that I've ever seen.


The direction that the tone and setting lore are taking is also pretty great in my opinion, as someone who was never overfond of magitech, commodification of sorcery, or the feeling that every other supplement was an entry in an extended clinical treatise on the metaphysics of the game world. Creation feels big, old, and dangerous again. Hopefully this keeps up throughout the new edition, but it's off to a promising start here.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 579 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates