DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Información de la editorial









Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Adventure! Rulebook
por Bryon M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/01/15 19:43:39
Adventure! is a game of "pulp" high adventure set in the 20's and early 30's. The game wants to hearken the feel of Flash Gordon, Indiana Jones, The Shadow and other cliffhanger serial movies and books. Does the game do this? Is it fun? I'll break it down and show how the game has some strengths and weaknesses that almost pull it off.

Layout:
First things first, lets get to the PDF layout out of the way. Though this may not be a deal breaker kinda element it can determine ease of use and when having to flip though everything when first starting out can be quite frustrating. Everything is pretty easy to find and reference which is a good thing. The setting is located in the beginning in book 1 and laid out nicely. Book 2 has all the rules and character creation. Again everything is clean and neat and laid out in a logical easy to find fashion.
Now the downside. The setting is again set up front and written like you joined a secret order. Some of the notes and typing are a pain to read and dull. Also with the setting set up right out of the gate somethings come off as huh? In all I did not like it. It's bland, boring and with it being up front gives off a bad vibe to the whole book. Things come a little more together once you get to character creation but why this was done I haven't a clue. The short story is fine as a starter but the rest just falls flat. Overall *** out of five

Character Creation:
Character creation is really simple and easy to do. The uses a 0-5 point box system and based on your choices you get points to spend to flesh out your character. It is really well put together and with skills, subsets and knacks you can really make a varied and interesting character.
The only con is the one sheet instruction summary has a couple of steps out of order. There are stats that should be tallied up at the end but is has you do it mid character and then update again at the end. Pointless. For newbies this might cause some much unneeded erasing and or confusion but overall doesn't kill any fun in creating a character you want. ****

Game-play:
The meat and potatoes of any game. For me this can really make or break a game. So the basics are this is a dice pool game using D10's. You basically take your skill and base stat add them together to see how many D10's you roll and try and roll a 7+ on each one. If you you do that counts as one success. I'm going to be honest, I'm not a fan of dice pool games in general. To many dice needed sifting through just to get one success. It's cumbersome. I get why people like it as it gives a very power-gaming feel to things but just isn't my cup of tea.
The aim though is to create high drama and extraordinary "pulp" human beings. In essence because things can be relatively easy, even for beginning characters, to pull things off, the rules work most of the time.
Where it fails though is the fast paced feel of combat. The game wants you to be fast and furious, and give a sense of jumping headlong into dangerous situations full of peril and high stakes. Due to the nature of rolling sometimes 10 dice at a time the intial combat resolution becomes bogged down. If kept to some simple one off rolls the rules work but combat with multiple targets and people can become a nightmare to slog through. This part really defeats the spirit of the game.
An interesting addition to the rules though are inventions. The basic though behind it is really great to pull off the cheesy special effects like weapons and gadgets of Batman, Flash Gordon, G-Men, Rocketeer and so forth. There is a lot of fun to be had here but watch out there's also some serious crunch involved. It's not overly hard but things can get cumbersome so if you are not into basic Algebra then this might turn you off. ***

Setting:
In short dull, that's the simplest way of putting it. There are a couple of so-so short stories that introduce main NPC's and the overarching dilemma but it just didn't captivate me. Everything is laid out lik agent files and for the most part a lot of the files and notes are a frustration in reading and following along. Things are smashed together and look like huge blocks of run on sentences and paragraphs. Just a huge mess.
For beginning game-masters there is no sample adventure or adventure hooks with ideas to get games rolling. As pulp can sometimes be hard to fully flesh out of the gate this would have been an nice addition. As it stands if you have no idea how to run a pulp campaign or this is your first foray into running a game, well good luck your dead in the water. Unforgivable. *

Final Conclusion:
Adventure! sets out to create a pulp game and in some cases does just that. The characters you can make hit the mark. The system at intervals can help weave a great "Pulp" story of your own making. Just don't look to the makers of the game to help flesh that out if your new to this all. Stay away from prolonged combat as it becomes a tedium of dice rolling and figuring out dice splitting for multiple actions and things will stay moving. All in all Adventure! is a decent game in need of a better combat system and setting. **1/2 out of five

Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Adventure! Rulebook
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Exalted: Tale of the Visiting Flare
por Daniel L. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/01/15 13:06:53
The art is amazing. The book was extremely high quality in terms of the production that went into it and the printing. The physical copy is well worth the price tag. It's a very entertaining read.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Exalted: Tale of the Visiting Flare
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Pugmire Gen Con Brochure
por Ben S. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/29/15 05:04:30
The Pugmire concept is very interesting and well thought out. I definitely look forward to putting it to use in a game soon.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Pugmire Gen Con Brochure
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Fallen World Chronicle Anthology
por manuel h. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/24/15 14:27:06
I am not too familiar with Mage Awakening. I read the core book (1st edition) and bought this anthology to get a better feeling for the setting. While some stories were a bit confusing, all in all this book gives decent impressions of Mage Awakening.

Some comments on specific stories:
The Hanged Woman is about a character trying to cope with a murder. It was a bit weird, not the type of stories I usually read.
Open Carry and The Intruder were good for starting, they give an idea, what mages are capable of and how they do it.
Crimson Lips - this one a liked very much, for an interesting antagonist.
Obedience is written from the perspective of the Seers, which are typically antagonists. It is always good to have such a story, where perspectives are changed.
The Storyteller - I simply agree with the other reviews, great story!
The Unmurdered Man was rather complicated, many changes of view and I guess, it would help to know more about the setting for this story.
The Wheel is written in a style reminding me of Lovecraft's short stories.
Imaginary Skin has actually a quite interesting plot, maybe it is a bit too short, some more explanations might help.
Custody Battle is about a conflict between two mages, influencing a trial. This is the type of stories I expected (and hoped) to read, it gives ideas for plots and how mages could pursue their aims.
The Tahmanawis Stick is another cool story about creepy things in the wilderness.
The Human Heart finally is a two-page story about a interacting with the Abyss.

The stories cover a broad range of topics and settings. Most stories are well written, although some could be better.

Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
The Fallen World Chronicle Anthology
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
por Joseph C. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/19/15 16:08:49
Lots of simple spelling mistakes. Lots. Writer seems to have injected their own personal ideologies into the book. Not a fan of some of the changes done to some of the clans. Not a lot of history on the actual Dark Ages. Art is not very good.

Product feels rushed. Not very happy at all, honestly.

Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

V20 Dread Names, Red List
por Crystal M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/19/15 14:31:02
Originally Reviews at Crystal's Game Reviews

Dread Names, Red List is a look at the war the Camarilla continues to feed by looking at the biggest enemies of the sect. The characters in this book offer some of the most dangerous and intriguing stories to tie into any chronicle. This review looks at the book itself, and does not take into affect game balance or play testing.

As with most Vampire: The Masquerade books, it starts off with a character tie in, a short attention grabber to pull you into the reason behind the book. It gives a great in character tie in to the whole book, making it seem more like a document then a storytelling guide. The history of how the Red List came into existence is rather extensive, outlining a history of how the Traditions had been violated by kindred, blood hunts ignored and the structure of the Camarilla was continually threatened and those in the upper echelons of the Camarilla trying to instill the importance of following the Traditions.

In this section, the upper echelons of the sect are outlined, from the Justicars and their role down to the Alastors and their organization. It outlines how a kindred ends up on the Red List, the politics behind it and some examples of it being manipulated with the right strings pulled at the right time to push a personal agenda. This section is wonderful for feeding a heavily political game, with plenty of tie-ins to many different aspects of this list. The Justicars are outlined as well, giving insight on how they represent the Inner Circle, serve the Camarilla, hunt the Anathema and their role in managing their clans. The hunt for the Anathema is dangerous and time consuming, but the rewards that come with victory are great. Many different prizes are offered as ideas on payment for the trophy clan, however creativity is encouraged.

The Anathema all have interesting backstories, dramatic falls leading to their ultimate placement on the dreaded list. The chapter dealing with the characters stories does not disappoint, and definitely delivers on more ties to use for hooking your current game into this direction. What's nice is that the character stats are included in their story and any special powers are given their spots at the end of the character stories along with how the particular Anathema uses it and passes the power on.

The role of the Alastors are also written out in this book, giving PCs the chance to lead the hunt, should this be an option for a game. This outline includes the Alastors, the Red Alastors and the Josians. Each area is outlined, with their specific goals and limitations laid out as a reference. It goes through how they work amongst the Traditions, and how each keeps the Masquerade in tact should it become damaged. One of the most interesting parts of this section is the Mark of the Trophy, which is the Mark Alastors get upon their ascension into this rank. There is a lot of speculation as to what this mark actually does, which gives storytellers many options on what direction to take it. Alastor's are masters of creativity when it comes to discipline use as well. Several disciplines are outlined and their most common uses during the hunt for Anathema.

This guide helps to give PCs a role in the hunt of Anathema, so it gives a good rundown on how to create an Alastor, as well as suggestions for making one that will be more likely to survive the hunt. The Anathema are powerful and cunning. It will take witt to capture one, let alone destroy them.

If characters are going to walk this path, a storyteller needs to know how to run this type of game. In the Storyteller Kit section it shows how the mood of different types of hunts develop. From the politics heavy, to the epic fight scene, the tool kit gives storytellers the necessary information to make the game fun for all involved. A quick read through this whole section will give storytellers enough information to provide a good balance to their game.

The last section of the book is an outline of the Path of Evil Revelations, which is the infernal morality path several of the Anathema walk. While it may seem out of place at first glance, in the V20 system it hasn't been discussed at length. If players are looking for an in depth game, this chapter gives a very important insight to the NPCs that will be pulling characters along, possibly corrupting them along the way. This is a wonderful chapter for the antagonist of the story, and if the right strings are pulled, possible PC falls from humanity.

The art in this book was done by Ken Meyer Jr, a veteran to the World of Darkness. And he certainly delivered, giving a wonderful throwback feel to the art in the books. Full color illustrations are done for every Anathema NPC outlined, which brings a wonderful breath of life to the stories.

My one criticism in this book was I was hoping for several NPC Alastor characters to be included along with their stories. I know the point of the book was to give that position a PC purpose, but I think having even a couple of Alastors, Red Alastors or Josians included would have given wonderful PC tie ins to the hunt. There were several ones hinted in the book, but nothing ever laid out. This may be on purpose, as many Alastors go undercover while on the hunt, so a storyteller can easily incorporate one in disguise for their game.

Bonus section: I'm including a little teaser because there was a small text box included in the very first chapter called the Council of Scales. I am mentioning it because if you enjoy the position of Harpy, or you love politics, this little box should be a highlight for you. I could go on and on about the Council of Scales and the ramifications of it on global politics, but I will not here. As I said, it is a small text box and was not outlined in great detail, which is why it is a bonus and not part of the greater review.

Overall I would say this book is definitely worth the purchase. If you don't plan on running a Red List game, purchase it for the stories of cannon NPCs, which can filter into your chronicle. The teasers of infernal in the book are also wonderful flavor, and can turn into a long term story arc. The art is beautiful and the layout overall is very easy to follow. Please follow the link above, and if you purchase it, please leave a review!

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
V20 Dread Names, Red List
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
por Markus W. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/19/15 08:12:52
The book looks all nice and pretty, the rules are even solid, but it simply doesn't pay much attention to established facts in the Dark Ages line. It's not so much an anniversary edition, but a new edition of the Dark Ages game. So, if you are new to the game, go for it. If you expect a faithful anniversary edition like V20, then do yourself a favor and buy Dark Ages: Vampire instead. The material therein is much more solid. So much has changed in the backstory, discipline powers and roads that it is not really a good edition of the game. Also, nothing in the book tells you about live in the middle ages. Instead you get some geographic descriptions that don't even focus on Europe and the Middle East (the setting the DA line aims for).

Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
por Ty T. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/16/15 01:51:50
I really don't understand the disdain some people seem to have with this book. It is clean, well organized, beautiful, and fun. It is almost 500 pages, just shy of the page count of the V20 Core Book and it has all of the info you could want to run a V20 Dark Ages game. All the rules, all the clans, perfectly archived and ready to go.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
por greg m. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/14/15 12:22:22
To me, this book fell flat. Yes, it is nice to have most everything you need to run a game set in the century at your fingertips, but I suppose my big complaint is I wanted a 20th anniversary of Dark Ages: Vampire; not Vampire: the Dark Ages.
Beyond that, the artwork is good, the chapters are nicely organized, and the index is a vast improvement from White Wolf material. The inclusion of the Salubri Sentinels was a great bonus, and mechanics for dirtier, more primitive versions of the Cainite sorceries was nice too.
I backed the project on Kickstarter, so I got to see the evolution of the pdf from a draft to a finished product.
My quibbles with the product are all vastly personal opinion, as I hinted at in the first paragraph. If you like romantic historical fiction, are a fan of vampires, or an experienced V:tDA, I recommend this book.

Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
V20 Anarchs Unbound
por greg m. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/13/15 09:19:54
A fairly narrow tome, this book is solid for what it has,and it does a good job of moving the Anarch Movement forward into the 21st century. The artwork is interesting and thematic with whatever is being discussed on the page. The short stories and fluff text are nice reads, but I feel the book was cut short.

There is a refresher course section that is brief history lesson from the Anarch perspective, Then it dives into how Anarchs deal with the Camarilla, Sabbat, and the Independents. There is also a blurb about how the Anarchs deal with the Tremere's most dangerous tool, Thaumaturgy, and even more briefly discusses the Anarch's own brand of gutter magic.

There is also a nice shakedown of how the Anarchs are using their (lack of) age and modern tech to their advantage.

Another chapter dives into various Anarch Baronies around the world, and discusses the different models of government these fiefdoms use. So you have the gangland model of L.A., the communist model in Russia, and a whole spectrum in between.The last section are some ready made NPC's, followed by the Kickstarter backers for the project.

Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
V20 Anarchs Unbound
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
por Daymond H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/06/15 01:33:25
While I did enjoy WtF 1st edition, I find that this one really grabs me. It gives it a sort of personal gravitas, makes you really want to read more about the world's premier hunters. Yet it doesn't beat you over the head with backstory. I like how their heritage is revealed in snippets here and there, each time making you want to learn more. The tribe write ups are equally interesting, with the multiple ideas on possible tribe origins and views about chosen prey being particularly interesting.

Mechanically there have been some cool improvement as well. Gifts seem more useful and even powerful than before. Plus you have more freedom in how you choose them(aka, not always having to take them in order). Healing ability is also more powerful, given that werewolves can now heal more bashing damage the higher their primal urge stat is, can spend essence to heal lethal rather than bashing for the turn, and heal all damage each turn in garou form! Combat is streamlined, but still dynamic, and the social maneuvering rules give you a system to add a little importance to social interactions without being overdone or overly complex. There are other things of course, but these were some highlights for me.

Over all, I really enjoyed this edition and I think fans of any editions of this franchise will enjoy it too!

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
por Jérémie B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/02/15 08:53:07
The book is somewhat eye pleasing, but unfortunately it's one of the worst Vampire book to date. They tried to cram every rule and power into the book, and they both miss the whole point of a Vampire corebook and fail at their objective. Fundamentally I don't think it's possible to play the Dark Ages of Vampire's World of Darkness with only this book: there is by far not enough information on the medieval setting and how the Vampire interact with it.

You'll need a few very good history books to dive into the Middle Age and have things like descriptions, mentalities, how things work and why. As for the Cainite side of things you can either dig in old sourcebooks like the Player's Guides to Clans (but a lot of things have been changed in VDA20, good luck to tie it all neatly) or do the work yourself.

And as for their objective of cramming a lot of bling into one book, the result is shady at best:

- A lot of typos.
- There's a lot of copy&paste directly from old book. Like Hunting for blood says you might use the Streetwise ability, only there is no Streetwise in this edition.
- There's new abilities, some borderline supernatural, but no explanation whatsoever as to what they do exactly and how to handle them.
- Powers were modified left and right, and failed. Like they wanted to reduce Vitreous path power, but the actual writing made it more powerful.
- New takes on Discipline change things “just because”. Sometimes with good ideas, but not enough words to explain it and poor editing; like the new koldunic magic that per the rules do not have access to rituals anymore even if it wasn't the actual idea of its writer.
- No playtest or thinking through rules. Like for example putting on heavy armor will render you motionless unless you have Olympic level agility.
- New take on clans and lineage that goes against canon and previously published material. Like the new Nictuku that goes against everything published in the last 20 years and remove one of the central theme of the Nosferatu, or the numerous changes of the Salubri that created some uproar in the community.

And so on. And the worst is the backers sent truckloads of errata during the book's development, but a very sizable portion of it was ignored and later on flatly refused to be corrected by developers because of “lack of time and especially money”.

To me, not a decent book at all. I would advise to keep using old books to play the great setting of Vampire Dark Ages, and if you have money in your pocket buy a good old sourcebook you don't have yet, or good history books. Those would be much more useful to your gaming table than this one.

Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition The Dark Ages
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
por Caleb H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 08/01/15 22:47:52
In 2004, game tables were introduced to the magnificent series of the new world of darkness. The core book “world of darkness” was a brilliant masterpiece of tabletop engineering. Shortly thereafter White Wolf released their flagship template book Vampire: Requiem. Like the core World of Darkness book, Vampire Requiem proved to be a true masterpiece. The writers and creators of these 2004 edition books successfully integrated easy to use narrative style mechanics with accessible, fast rules for new players and veterans alike. The company, White Wolf was ahead of the game in the narrative style RPG’s that are so popular in today’s market. Unfortunately, vampire the Requiem second edition falls flat on its face in comparison to its predecessor.

There is a lot I can say about this new edition and my hopes are that I do not ramble too much in explaining why I’m giving such a low review. The 2004 editions of WoD and the subsequent template books are by far my favorite RPG’s. I’ve been gaming for nearly 20 years and played virtually every type of RPG on the market and very few measure up to this books predecessors. That is why it saddens me so much to give a low review for this book. So let’s get started.

I have a lot to say about the artwork choices of this book but I will save that until the end of my review. I’m also aware that many people may disagree with my review and it is important they keep in mind that this is my opinion my opinion alone. Also, It is late so please don't mind some of the spelling issues.

Unlike most other world of darkness books, vampire 2nd jumps right in to the clans and clan descriptions. Very little has changed in this section but the writer spends a lot of time trying to fluff up the clans into being more interesting. In many ways, I do not feel like it works here. Each clan gets somewhat of a disjointed conversational description in order to build “mood” as well as spotty origins that the storyteller can pick and choose for his/her campaign. With the exception of the Nosferatu, each clan got a new Clan Bane (clan weakness). I will admit that the clan weaknesses were not the best in the 2004 edition. However, I feel like they’re pretty uninteresting in this edition as well. If anything, they become a little overcomplicated. I did notice that the Daeva had their nicknames changed from succubus to serpents. As you’ll read about later, this was done for political correctness reasons.

For a second edition book, I was really hoping onyx path would take a little more of a risk here and perhaps add in one or two new clans for this update. There were many great clans from the masquerade era that could have easily been brought back here and they chose not to. Sticking with the five clans I felt was a mistake this time around.

The next section are covenants. In my opinion, covenants were something that really needed to be re-examined for any new edition. In the 2004 edition, covenants were easy to understand but quite frankly, they were not as interesting as the politics of the original game vampire the masquerade. They always seemed a little anemic and underwhelming. In this edition, Like the clans, the covenants have a short story to introduce the reader to them followed with quick background, history and overview of each covenant. To be perfectly honest, I felt the 2004 vampire did a better job of describing the covenants. For example, The Invictus come off more as mafia type thugs then in ancient noble hierarchy. Many of the clans including The Invictus seem less interesting this time around which is strangely peculiar. We also see the loss of one of my favorite covenants Belial’s Brood. Why this covenant was removed? I honestly do not know. It is very disappointing.

Jumping to chapter 3, the character creation section, we are introduced to the new rules and experience system for the God machine (world of darkness second edition) and vampire Requiem second edition. This is where things start getting a little bit clunky. Unlike the previous edition which was more or less a template book, onyx path decided to go back to the old world of darkness “all encompass” book style. It makes for this book to be rather bloated. You still may need the God machine in order to run this game as well as the world of darkness rules. However you no longer need to build a human then make a vampire. I personally feel how they did it for vampire second edition is shortsighted and significantly less flavorful than first edition. The template system seemed far more fun.

They’ve also included this absolutely awful new experience system of beats. Now players and storytellers have to keep track of beats that get converted into experience points that can be spent on attributes, merits, skills, disciplines etc. This is all an attempt to try to force role play and instead, it bogs down the game tremendously! It’s as if the creators of this game tried to grab any idea they could from other narrative games with the hopes that it would make their game better. The end result is that the XP system becomes more of a headache that can be easily manipulated and argued over. With the change to the experience distribution, the authors chose to change experience costs to lower numbers and removed experience escalation for their new linear model. In other words the first dot of an attribute costs 4 experience and the fifth dot of an attribute costs 4 experience. What my players and I discovered is that the new system allows the players to power game a little bit easier than they could before. Every scene becomes about trying to get a beat. I hope you enjoy bookkeeping.

The next thing that really bothered me about this edition was the reimagining of merits. Merits have gone from humanlike abilities that enriched your character to now looking like Dungeons & Dragons feats of awesomeness. One minute onyx path is trying to convince us that this is a storyteller game and the next, they’re trying to make it more action-packed and combat heavy. The merits read more like devotions or superpowers than I believe they ever were intended to. Do you want your claws to do aggravated damage? It’s a merit. Want to see in the dark? It’s a merit. Etc. etc.
In this section we also see a change to the disciplines. The changes for the most part are not bad here. However, most of the changes require you to look up the condition it puts on somebody under the condition section in the back of the book. Similar to the experience system, the introduction of tilts and conditions is an absolute cluster to the flow of game. This is also an attempt to have you buy the condition cards sold here on drivethruRPG. In other words, if you use your mesmerize ability, a player gains a mesmerized condition which they have to follow. However, they can get a beat for having the power used on them if they overcome the condition… fun…

I’m going to go ahead and skip a lot here. There is a chapter on combat, rolling dice, what attributes are etc. the next section I want to get to his chapter 5 which is the introduction of the villains in the new Requiem second edition. And that is the Strix. If you have ever played or read Requiem for Rome you know who these antagonists are. In truth, they were never interesting when they were introduced and they are really bad here. I do agree that there needed to be some more antagonists introduced in vampire and I think the brood would have served as a much better villain type. The Strix feels very contrived and bogeyman like. They really don’t make a lot of sense and I can see a lot of people completely ignoring this chapter. Again, they could have removed nearly 40 pages right here and you would not miss it.

The next chapter focuses on other covenants and vampires around the world and for the most part, this was pretty interesting. I can see a lot more been written regarding this subject matter. If you decide to pick up the PDF of this book, this would not be a bad chapter to peruse.

There are a few more chapters regarding storytelling and The Living, in which it concludes with the long endless list of conditions. In truth, I could talk a lot more about this book. There’s a very good chance that you already know whether or not you’re going to buy this book, regardless of my review. I do know that a lot of people are reviewing highly of this edition (and the God machine book) and I believe more out of loyalty than out of substance. This book was created by committee on the onyx path forum and quite frankly you can tell. There’s a lot of ideas that were thrown in here and in many ways it seems to be lacking the same level of confidence that the first edition book had. It feels like this edition is trying to wear many hats ranging from being a storyteller narrative game to a combat game. The end result is that it does not succeed the same way the 2004 edition did.

I’m sure you’re getting excited about coming to the end of the review as I’m getting excited about ending the review. However, I really need to talk about the artwork. I do not want this to get political and everyone will have their own opinion but the artwork in this book is not only bad, but it reeks of political agenda. There is approximately 47 pictures in this book. There are approximately 5 pictures that show inanimate objects (a car, buildings, heads etc.). So far, no big deal. Except, there is unquestionably a gender bias of female superiority and an anti-male sentiment throughout the entire book. There are 21 pictures that depict women as authority figures over men and only about 2 pictures that depict a male with confidence or authority one of which is a man giving another man a good time in the shower (p.93). Men are consistently depicted as weak, victims, or servants. When a man does get a picture it is usually to depict pain or anguish (P.102). The artwork constantly depicts women as powerful (P. 111), (P. 279), confident (P. 274), (P. 33), (P. 36) (P. 39) or unstoppable (P. 54). Men on the other hand are only there to be bloody messes or aloof. Even most of the men’s clothing in the book shows a lack of organization or confidence. (Don’t think it’s sexist art? Reverse all of the female characters into male character in your head and ask if it is not sexiest).

Another major issue is the emphasis within the text that vampires are sexual and sexual beings while almost all of the artwork shows rather conservative looking characters. To be honest, this is probably the least sexual depiction of vampires I’ve ever witnessed. I’m not sure when exactly the creative team behind this product became so terrified of sexuality in art but it clearly shows in this book. And most importantly, the extreme pro-woman anti-male artwork honestly does subtract from the content. Once you see it, you can’t un-see it. Even the picture of the Daeva which is supposed to be the pinnacle of sexuality shows a rather benign looking vampire that doesn’t exude any confidence or charisma under the clan section.

In conclusion, Vampire the Requiem second edition is more Buffy the vampire slayer then say The Lost Boys or Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Both in flavor and in game mechanics, second edition seems like an identity crisis. It doesn’t know if it wants to be more storyteller orientated like its predecessor or if it wants to corner the market on crunch and combat. With the inclusion of conditions, combat becomes very much about who goes first, who can break someone’s arm, who can put the first power/condition on etc. I believe it could even be argued that in this addition it would not be unwise to have a combat mat which I’ve never said before regarding world of darkness products. It attempts to force role-play with a half thought out beat system for experience points and it tries very hard to force mood.

In the past 10 years, I have gotten many people interested into world of darkness. However, I really cannot endorse the new second edition WoD model. And though it goes without saying, I know many players and gaming groups who wholeheartedly agree with this review. Not only do they agree with the issues of mechanics but also regarding the appalling art. It took me a long time to write this review and it does sadden me but I hope that the game developers do take my suggestions to heart. Quite frankly, I am waiting for the world of darkness second edition revised and vampire the Requiem second edition revised books. Maybe then we will get a good product. Hopefully one without agenda.

Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
Vampire: The Requiem 2nd Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
por Dakotah P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/31/15 13:11:04
I was a big fan of the previous edition, but also felt it lacked substance and a bit flimsy. This edition and it's add-ons and changes create a more meaty, juicy game that fans and interested people alike can enjoy.

Also, now I'm hungry.

Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mage 20th Anniversary Edition Wallpapers
por Donald P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 07/31/15 12:02:43
The art is great, but the item description is very misleading. When I bought the item, I thought I was getting multiple different wallpapers, not one in a bunch of different sizes. Very disappointed.

Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
Mage 20th Anniversary Edition Wallpapers
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 495 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates