DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hollowfaust: City of Necromancers
by Leonard O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 13:08:31

I've had this book for years, and it's still one of the best third party supplements of it's kind- highly recommended both for The Scarred Lands, or just to drop into your own homebrew game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hollowfaust: City of Necromancers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 05:53:11

Of all the world of darkness products I own, and games that I play, this is by far my favourite setting and book. I have not much experience with previous editions so I cannot comment on how it differs, so I can only say that I liked the background material, I liked the volume of in game content available in this book and I really liked the art. I did a full review over on my website if you want to see more of what I had to say. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/10/16/vampire-the-dark-ages-20th-anniversary-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fanfare for the Chosen: An Exalted 3rd Edition Music Suite
by Kevin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 16:12:56

I think the music in this suite is beautiful. The one thing is if it is for use in game scenarios to exude atmosphere for a certain Exalted, then unffortunately the songs are too short. My only other complaint is that I am not very computer literate, it makes it difficult to open because I cannot open it through Windows Media Player, but rather use the backdoor enterance which means that my computer will not open the first song and then play through the rest. If there is a way to put it in Windows Media Player, please let me know. If there was a way, then I would enjoy the album more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fanfare for the Chosen: An Exalted 3rd Edition Music Suite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 19:35:37

at almost 700 pages, this is a massive tome, beautifully printed and lovingly illustrated. if you are a fan of the series, this is worth spending a bit extra to get the high quality print. contains core rules, examples of play, details for both traditions and technocracy mages, magic references, and tons and tons of lore and histories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2017 13:59:59

This is one of the most haunting, beautiful and poingent of all the White Wolf/Onyx Path's publications and certainly one of the most beautiful RPG's ever published. This latest edition is Changeling's finest hour. I recommend this often over looked RPG to everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Christopher J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2017 08:20:13

A good game clearing written for young adults and novice roleplayers. It features a seriously slimmed down take on the Fifth Edition SRD, and a level cap of 10. The setting is charming if a bit shallow. The writing is simple, with the author talking in the first person to the audience; this serves the purpose of making the text more affable but also a bit condescending. The two "social commentary" digressions are an apology for the use of the gender-neutral "Man", and a reminder that love isn't constrained by gender or species. Both of these are wholly unncessary and rather tedius, to be honest, especially in this day and age.

Although a young adult game, actual adults can clearly enjoy it as well. It would be especially entertaining diversion from other games, perhaps as a series of loosely interlinked one-shots. Unless you're playing Werewolf: The Acronym, this is great alternative for playing anthropomorphic characters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 20:00:12

Nearly Flawless

This is a review of the digital book, purchased on the day of its release.

Things to love: In order:

The opening story is simultaneously the last thing one would expect from Changeling while also very perfectly written. The book balances narrative and rules layout with more finesse than expected.

Naturally, the art is gorgeous. Some of it is recognizable from earlier books but no less effective for it.

Changeling 20th Anniversary presents a very updated Metaplot. This is very different from Vampire 20th Anniversary offering a pick-and-choose approach to world events. In this book, the meta plot feels distant enough to justify story options rather than diminish them.

Rule updates are exciting. The updated Paths to Epiphany provide a great set of options for gaining Glamour/ Unleashing presents a new way to use Glamour. Changelings feel more like their own creatures and less like creatures who must always feed. Nightmare and Bedlam systems are now intertwined. Both, put together, become a mroe focused mechanic than 2nd edition rules. Descriptions for the Scene and Time realms err on the side of verbose, yet end up much clearer than the last edition.

Three kiths and some houses from prior source books are now folded into the core Kithain: Selkies (The Toybox), Piskies (Fool’s Luck), and Clurichaun (Court of All Kings). Sidhe are divided by Arcadian and Autumn, which reflects the expanded plot. True to form with the 20th Anniversary line, the last 120 pages of the main text provide a wealth of other character types. Antagonist characters and rules are provided first, then Gallain and Inanimae. Once the rules are concluded, the book finishes with a roughly 30 page list of Kickstarter backers, a comprehensive 19 page index, then a two page character sheet.

Three separate character sheets are also included with the purchase: A static 2 page sheet is availble for printing. An interactive 2 page sheet and an interactive 4-page sheet allow you to fill in values in Acrobat Reader. Layers such as background images can be turned off in the core rulebook and the static character sheet.

Downsides: A decorative header font has difficult capital letters. The word “Grumps” looks like “Trumps” in those headers, and it’s easy to trip on “Quests” or any word beginning with the letter L. Page 150 has text stating that Selkies can turn into “a sea or sea lion.” Selkies turn into seals or sea lions.

Conclusion: As always, the 20th Anniversary books are a loving compilation of prior resources and a treat to long time players. Character options from across the previous edition are presented in one place. The incredible number of character options, updated rules and background, and even the price made this an absolute delight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Candace P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 17:47:36

Absolutely loving Pugmire. Going to let hubby (who I bought it as a gift for) give review:

I love idiosyncratic games. I love games that fill niches I didn't know I had. I love games that take an idea and make magic out of them. Pugmire is all of those things. I'm aware that Pugmire uses something similar to 5e D&D rules, but to be honest I'm enjoying being introduced to some of those mechanics this way rather than in 5e D&D. Why? Because this world feels perfect with the rules. How do you build a breed? Based off of the role the breed fills. That's how you fit hundreds of different possible breeds (and mutts!) in. Classes? I love the names and the variants. Currency? Plastic coins?? Delightful!

The setting itself is a slice of wonderful. Sort of like Numenera in that it's post-mankind, but not so...serious. The game focuses not on the eternal struggle of good versus evil or the struggle to survive, but instead it focuses on being a Good Dog. If you were a Bad Dog once, you can always be a Good Dog again. It may or may not have been your fault. You may have been given a raw deal in life or you may come from privilege and eat from the finest dishes. You may be educated or you may be a wild dog. But you can always, always, find your way to being a Good Dog. It's beautiful. It's simple. It's elegant. And because it wraps that ethos in the form of dogs, it's easier to get to the core of the matter. You don't get tangled up in human complications when you're playing a bunch of Good Dogs.

This is the sort of game that touches the part of me who still enjoys Disney movies as an adult, the part that loves my own furbabies, the part of me that cries at Old Yeller and gets a little choked up when dogs in movies survive disasters. The part of me who felt for the Rats of NIMH, and has had no problem identifying with dogs in any other media.

And the monsters...Like I said, the setting is Numenera-ish, and without giving anything away I think they found clever ways of fitting posthumanity technology in without ruining the aesthetic. At the same time magic appropriate to the setting is equally present. And if you don't like the posthumanity technology angle, just ignore it. It's a neat idea but it's not absolutely REQUIRED. But it's all awesome. I'll definitely be snapping up the next few products that roll out, as well as the Monarchies of Mau (my wife won't forgive me if I don't get a game that lets you play as cats)

Is it Furry? Well it has a wagging tail and a damp nose, so...eh. Maybe. But it's not necessarily a Furry game. It's not about that. Remember: It's about being a Good Dog.

Be the Good Dog you were always meant to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 06:38:56

I've never played Changeling before, nor read the rules set for it (though am an avid fan of other WOD products) so when this became available to kickstart I was more than happy to do so. I recieved the backer PDF a while ago and read it, and I have to say I was not disappointed. Reading it was a bit daunting at first but I persevered and encountered so many cool new aspects of the World of Darkness, so I recommend this to any WOD fan -either as a game in its own right, or as an almost monster manual for any of the other WOD products. I wrote a fullr eview on my website, which you can read HERE



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2017 18:56:08

The jumbled mess that was the first edition of Changeling: The Dreaming was one of the weakest World of Darkness games. This new edition, with it's expanded and better explained Kith, much more playable systems and internationally expanded setting, is now one of the strongest. Looks incredible too. 'Nuff said.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Path Publishing Brochure (2017)
by GEORGIOS S. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 12:25:32

It has unique news about several games especially for World of Darkness games and you can use it as a small guide as to what products stand for, if they are short stories, guides of any short, core books etc. I would like more info though for the description of a product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Onyx Path Publishing Brochure (2017)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/31/2017 05:19:57

If dogs played RPGs, is this the one that they would turn to? Pugmire is based around the premise that dogs have evolved: they walk upright, wear clothes, speak, and use tools, their front paws having developed to be able to grip them. Take these anthropomorphic dogs and drop them into a fantasy setting from which human beings vanished ages ago... and you have Pugmire. Set in the far future, with most of what mankind built crumbled to ruins, evolved dogs strive to recreate the world of the past, some revering the long-lost humans as deities, others regarding them of beings of great wisdom from whose relics much is to be learned.

After explaining all this, the Introduction goes on to explore the game's theme or central idea, which boils down to 'Companionship as Salvation'. Following the Code of Man with religious fervour, the first tenet is 'Be a Good Dog' - but what makes a good dog? Opinions vary, and - just as with our own pets - a good dog can rapidly become a bad one with a single silly mistake. Ultimately, the decision is up to one's peers - if the other dogs think you are good, then you are! Dogs in this game work together and strive to be good dogs. Then there's the mood, which is one of mystery. Whatever dogs get up to, there is always the question in the back of their minds: What happened to the humans? The fragments of knowledge that have remained lead the dogs to what will seem to us players quite humerous interpretations of what was going on when humans were around and dogs our faithful pets: but to our dog characters these are profound if sometimes confusing truths, or at least, theories. Above all, though, dogs like to explore... and this game provides plenty of opportunities for that!

There's a short list of inspirations - mostly anthropomorphic fiction, plus Dungeons & Dragons - and the usual explanation of what a role-playing game is. It's a very clear explanation, you could use it to explain what RPGs are about to a young child. It ends by explaining that the book comes in two parts: A Dog's Guide to Adventure (for players) and the Guide's Tome of Mystery, which contains information only the GM needs to know. The usual difficulty with 'all in one' rulebooks that players end up buying a lot of book they won't actually need, the GM having to trust players to stay out of GM areas, and of course the assumption that players never take a go at GMing...

A couple of canine characters - Princess Yosha Pug and Pan Dachshund - pop up throughout the Dog's Guide to Adventure with informative comments from a dog perspective as this section works through chapters explaining the world, how to create a character, how to play the game, and how magic works. The first chapter, The Journal of Yosha Pug, describes the world from his standpoint (with some quite scathing comments from Pan...), all in a 'handwritten' font that's fortunately quite clear to read. It starts off with details of the foundation of the kingdom of Pugmire, then talks about some of the interesting places to visit... and a warning, from Pan, never to trust a cat! Then of course there's the world beyond Pugmire, most of which is not as civilised and safe, where bad dogs (and worse) may be encountered. It's all beautifully-presented with a gentle air that makes this a good game to play with your youngsters, yet not so bowdlerised as to make it difficult to progress to more adult RPGs as your youngsters grow and mature (or of course carry on playing Pugmire if it has taken your fancy).

Next up, Chapter 2: A Good Dog takes you through character creation. Six ready-to-play characters are provided if you are impatient to get going, or as guides to what you should do, and there's a full explanation of the process for those who would rather have their own character. You start with Callings (character class). Artisans study and use magic; Guardians fight; Hunters explore, track and fight; Ratters can be rogues and criminals but are good at finding things and information; and Shepards are the priests of the Church of Man, teaching everyone how to be a Good Dog. And then there are Strays, the outsiders.

Then you have to choose your Breed. There are six of these, based on different types of dog: Companions, Fettles, Herders, Pointers, Runners, and Workers, plus the Mutts. Within each Breed there are various families - now these are what most of us would call 'breeds' like Chihuahua or Dachshund. Each Breed confers various bonuses and abilities to go along with what comes with your Calling. Add a Background, then you are ready to get to grips with the nuts and bolts of Abilities, Skills, and so forth. If you are familiar with any Class/Level game - such as Dungeons & Dragons - you will find yourself on familiar territory albeit the terminology is a little different. Abilities (the usual strength, dexterity, constitution, intelligence, wisdom, and charisma) are assigned by allocation of a series of numbers as you see fit, no die-rolling or even point-buy involved. Then you have Tricks to choose from, the things your character can do. Everything is explained clearly and simply, and are based on Calling and Breed.

Character sorted, it's on to Chapter 3: Playing the Game. It's basically a standard D20 system with an interesting quirk. If your character has an advantage or a disadvantage with whatever it is you're trying to do, you roll two D20s. If he has an advantage you use the higher roll, but if he has a disadvantage you use the lower one. You're still trying to get over a target number to succeed, however. Each character also has a Fortune Bowl containing points gained for good play and the like, and may expend these points to help with a roll when they really, really want to succeed. Possibly one of the best illustrations in the whole book depicts a dog trying to scrabble a token out of a bowl! There are other uses for Fortunte as well. The final chapter in the player section is all about Magic and how to use it in the game, along with comprehensive spell lists. If you understand Dungeons & Dragons spellcasting, you will be at home here.

The Guide's Tome of Mystery then continues with stuff that players don't need to know, in fact it may spoil enjoyment if they do root around too much here. There's more detailed background on the world of Pugmire, advice for the Guide (i.e. the GM) on how to run their game, a collection of Masterworks (powerful relics believed to have been left behind by humans), and one of enemies, including notes on creating your own. There's a lot to delve into here, some of which - like what dogs look like now - you'll have to explain to your players. There's a city to explore and various organisations to join, interact with or avoid.

On a more practical note, the next chapter provides some excellent advice for running the game, from explaining the many-hatted roles of a Guide as player, referee, storyteller and often host to looking at how to plan coherent campaigns. It also covers the more mechanical side of ensuring that the rules flow smoothly and support, rather than interfere with, the shared story the group is telling. There's a range of magic items of various kinds to use, and (naturally) a host of adversaries to pit against the party.

Finally there's an introductory adventure, The Great Cat Conspiracy, to get your group going. Even though it's for first-level characters, its scope is vast - the very throne of Pugmire may be at stake! It's laid out quite clearly with plenty of advice that should make it straightforward for even a novice GM to run. Of particular note is the way in which options are discussed: clear recognition that players often don't do what the scenario expects them to, so there are alternatives and suggestions for handling whatever they do decide to do. Very neat!

What makes this game stand out is the overall 'nice' feeling. It's wholesome. It's something you could show to a person who thinks all RPGs are the work of the devil with an actual chance of convincing them that at least some are not going to lead all the players into devil-worship. And it makes an excellent entry game for youngsters. Are you a good dog? Come and find out with this anthropomorphic RPG goodness!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
"It's basically a standard D20 system with an interesting quirk. If your character has an advantage or a disadvantage with whatever it is you're trying to do, you roll two D20s. If he has an advantage you use the higher roll, but if he has a disadvantage you use the lower one. You're still trying to get over a target number to succeed, however" Megan, this is nothing new. This has been a rule in 5th edition dungeons and dragons since its release in 2014. Just an FYI. So, this is basically a 5th edition d20 game it looks like?
Storypath System Preview (2017)
by Clare W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2017 16:39:37

There was a problem when I tried to download it and I don't think it ever came through. Sorry I can't rate it until I actually see it.

Clare



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Storypath System Preview (2017)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Storypath System Preview (2017)
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2017 19:51:44

This is a nice preview for the Storypath system, though I honestly liked the Storytelling Adventure System better myself. It is very reminiscent of Exalted, however. I don't run or play the systems but this has piqued my interest in checking out Scion now. Overall I think its pretty snazzy, but I would like to see the full storypath system before casting the die of judgment. The preview is nice though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2017 06:34:13

I bought the premium edition of this book, which is admittedly pricey, but is definitely worth it. The production quality is great, and there is so much content for someone wanting to break into the game Werewolf: The Apocalypse for the first time, or for an experienced GM or even as a sourcebook for other World of Darkness Titles. I did a full review on my website which you can read by clicking the link. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/08/25/werewolf-the-apocalypse-20th-anniversary-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 853 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates