DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Pugmire: Thank You, Darcy Cat
by Eric L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 22:31:54

This audio drama is a great window into the world of Pugmire. The production values are superb for the cost of the item. The character of Darcy cat was compelling and the story should inspire others to new adventures in the world of Pugmire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire: Thank You, Darcy Cat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 19:30:12

This is a neat collection of Artifacts for Exalted 3E. There are some very cool weapons and armour, and I haven't really even delved into the section on Warstriders yet. A couple of disappointing things, which for the record aren't things that were done poorly, just things that I had hoped for from the book that aren't present.

  • There are only 5 artifacts that aren't weapons or armour, 7 if you include the two vehicles. EDIT - There are also quite a few hearthstones as well as 5 "natural magic" items, so this point isn't accurate.
  • There's no errata or updates for the artifacts from the core book. I was really hoping for an update on Dauntless, the 5 dot armour, as it really doesn't hold up to 5 dot standards at all - especially the essence 3 evocation, Champion's Fatal Strike.
  • There's about one page of info on creating custom evocations, which pretty much boils down to "make it feel like a combination of the wielder and the artifact's personality, and don't ressurect the dead or enable time travel." This is a little disappointing, as I was hoping for more help on the technical side of balancing artifacts, but I guess the rest of the book helps with that just through providing a large number of examples.

That said, there are some very cool weapons and armour included in this book, including some that I would be afraid to let my players get ahold of due to their sheer game-warping power, and that's speaking from an Exalted standpoint. Also, some neat examples of providing new mechanics, although those frequently boil down to an extra type of "fuel" to track for that particular artifact. Still, some fun ideas. Whether or not you buy this is pretty simple - are you planning on playing Exalted, and do you want more artifact selection than the core book offers? If so, buy this. Don't buy it if you're just looking for more setting info. There's a little of that in here, but not much beyond talking about magical materials, and the strange places that some artifacts come from. There is a neat page-long story written from the perspective of an Abyssal, though, that was cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legacy of Lies: A V20 Dark Ages Jumpstart
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 05:12:55

This is an ok supplement for Vampire the Dark Ages, with a decent simplified/condensed version of rules and character creation though I felt the startup adventure, whilst interesting, was fairly basic. There were some interesting NPCs, some interesting ideas though the layout for the jumpstart adventure chapters was a bit unforgiving for less experienced storytellers (though perhaps ideal for veterans). You can read my full review on the following link https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/12/04/legacy-of-lies-a-vampire-the-dark-ages-jumpstart-chronicle/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legacy of Lies: A V20 Dark Ages Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monarchies of Mau Early Access
by David V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2017 15:15:47

Mechanically sound, and clever in many aspects, but I have to say I'm dissapointed in the lore. I'm tired of the old cliche of "Cats view Humans as their worshippers", when both modern behavioral science and any cat lover will tell you this is not true. Cats view their owners as their parents. Giant, non-hostile, super powerful cats who nurture them and take care of them. The relationship between us and our furry friends is much more parent and child.

So to see the tired old "oh, selfish cats, of course they view man as being their servants" just made me sigh. You could easily have kept the arrogancy/heresey of the cats compared to the dogs in Pugmire, by having them view themselves as being Man's chosen inheritors. "Of course we are meant to control the world, we're their choscen descendants! They groomed us as their children!"

But I digress, the rest of the product is solid, and if that part doesn't bother you like it does my cat loving gamer group, it's a great purchase.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monarchies of Mau Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2017 17:12:32

While I may have initally knocked off half a point simply for the 'non-stop' layout of the new artifacts in this book, I really can't bring myself to give it less than five stars. The care and attention that's clearly been lavished all the way through, from the writing to art-work, is a pleasure to read. Bursting with lore, plot-hooks and some of the most thoughtfully crafted 'magical items' I've had the pleasure of perusing in just about any gaming system I've played. This book is an inspiring read and a must for Ex3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2017 09:03:45

Really fantastic book which gives players a slew of fun toys to play around with and inspiration for the players to create their own. The weapons all have really awesome Evocations, even at the base level. I still haven't looked as much into the trinkets and armor but what I saw tickled my fancy.

Of course the big selling point is warstriders that are actually both really freaking badass as well as actually playable. More to the point while they are powerful, they're not invincible. They offer players a way to fight similarly massive foes, a way to make a foe or battle more memorable/difficult, or a focus for an entire campaign.

All in all, very much worth the price and I can't wait for the rest of Exalted 3e's books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 22:14:29

The book is broadly divided into several sections, covering weapons, armor, hearthstones & miscellaneous items, and warstriders.

I found the book to be an exciting and engaging read. It took me a few pages to warm up to the weapons, but by the time I got to the armor section I was sold. The Warstrider section blew me away.

What I liked most was that the book didn't just provide weapons for killing and armor to prevent being killed - it showed how artifacts could be turned to other purposes beyond their obvious functions, and it did so in interesting and mechanically satisfying ways. The Warstriders chapter sets the gold standard for the book.

An absolute must buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 17:13:26

Beats, new rules for social combat, new rules for monster creation, and broadening of Vices are all great new additions to the second addition. I got the PDF on a whim, but these new rules convinced me to invest in a paper copy as well. The clues system takes weight off of the GM, but personally I'm not fond of it because my players enjoy figuring out puzzles for themselves rather than having their characters do it via die rolls.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monarchies of Mau Early Access
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 17:07:17

A fantastic companion to Pugmire, even in its early-access form. The concept of giving different races access to different callings highlights their cultural differences in a way that both makes a full-cat party entirely playable, while still encouraging the use of cat characters in a Pugmire game. Giving all characters the option of learning magic in the same way that magic-users can learn to use better armour is also a very nice step towards fluid character concepts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monarchies of Mau Early Access
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arms of the Chosen
by Nicholas M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 22:26:06

Absolutely love this. The rules for artifacts are a huge improvement over the Core Rulebook. Artifact armor, which I found a little lackluster in the main book, is actually quite thematic and useful now. And the weapons (Stormcaller) are terrifyingly powerful.

Most exciting are the new rules for Warstriders. IMO they are everything that they should be; expensive, powerful, awe-inspiring, but not game-breaking. It also provides some rules for siege weapons, which is nice.

Overall a great addition to 3E.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arms of the Chosen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
by Andrew J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 23:36:53

A Decent Jump Start and Good Storyteller’s Aid

I purchased Yours to Keep as a pdf. My goal was to compare an official scenario against the idea I wanted to run. What are the expectations of a freehold? What kind of NPCs and conflicts work? What might I be overlooking as I plan a different game? Those were covered really well.

As a standalone adventure, Yours to Keep features plenty to explore and plenty of NPCs to meet along the way.

I regrettably have a couple of concerns. First, the start of this adventure can require the kind of buy-in that some groups won't deliver. Many players will jump on it, but some may not. Without that buy-in, a storyteller may need to really play up a crucial NPC or two. The storyteller can also focus on the the potential for rewards.

Second, there is a wonderful sidebar on page 20 entitled "Instant Dice Pools." Elsewhere, there are short stat blocks for the NPCs. The sidebar and the stat blocks share no common language. I advise taking a moment before your game to match up how “excellent,” “good,” and “poor” in the stat blocks relate to “master,” “dedicated,” “seasoned,” and “average” in the sidebar.

Once you’ve aligned the sidebar and the npc stat blocks, you will also have a fast, useful system for making your own quick NPCs.

Yours to Keep gives you a lot of brief NPC descriptions, a good story with an idea for how Changeling society works, and a brisk overview of the general Changeling setting The five player characters are fully fleshed out and ready for use with the core rulebook. The five player character sheets are each three pages long, fully fleshed out, and ready to play using the core rulebook as well. The NPCs and working example of Changelings in action make for a very valuable resource. This book has some rough spots, but still makes for a great storyteller's resource.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Yours to Keep: A Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
by GEORGIOS M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 05:59:49

I ordered the premium and it came with a minor flaw. On the top side of the book where the pages are glued together, there is some glue spilled over and damaged the upper corner of the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
by Talon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2017 00:35:48

This is a fantastic book. It's one of the best "Art of..." books I've ever seen for an RPG line, and I'm not just saying that as a former White Wolf production intern and sometimes illustrator (alas, never for this iteration of MAGE). Most RPG art collections do just that: they collect artwork, artwork that, if you're a fan of that particular game line, you're likely already pretty familiar with. This volume certainly does that, but it surrounds that artwork with really interesting information not just about the art, but about the individual artists that created it, and about the creation of Mage The Ascension as a whole. Phil Brucato gives us an insightful and entertaining insider's look at how the game was created, including a step-by-step breakdown of the production and publishing process (ah, I remember it well), and tells some fun stories about his days at White Wolf along the way. What's more, the art isn't just randomly placed throughout the book, it's organized by artist, with an introduction to each that puts each artist's work in context. This focus really makes M20: The Art Of Mage feel like a personal journey. It becomes about the artists themselves and the creative spirit that they brought to the game as much as its about the art, and that's something I, as an artsit, really appreciate. Reading this book, you get the sense that Brucato feels very deeply for this material and has a great love and reverence for the artwork that graced its pages. One gets the feeling that the art of Mage: The Ascension played as important a role in the game as the words. And, again, as a former White Wolf illustrator, that notion warms my heart. It's a wonderful feeling to know that we bring something other than just simple decoration to the books and products we help create. Well, done, Phil (or is it Satyros, now? Whichever, you're still awesome).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Storyteller Screen
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2017 13:44:42

Useless for me since I was looking for a simplified step by step version of the combat rules



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Storyteller Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2017 11:29:34

CtD is a really good game. Its elements and themes are very powerful and flexible. This game can be a lot of really interesting things.

The previoius edition was a mechanically a bit awkward compared to the other 20A books that had been released. I was really hoping for an updated game that would play friendly with the current crop of 20A books like Vampire and Werewolf.

This is it. Its exactly what I needed. Nothing WoD is ever perfect, but this iteration of the game fits together very well with the other games. Its much more playable IMO. I really like the changes. Even the parts that I don't love to death are at least better than they were. Its nothing but improvements for this edition. I'm really happy with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Dreaming 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 868 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates