DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dark Eras: The Sundered World (Werewolf: the Forsaken, Mage: the Awakening)
by Adrian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2017 20:53:10

I'm going to be breif. If you're not going to get all of Dark Eras this is the one you need. Real talk. The setting is evocotive and frankly I would buy a new book shelf for an entire game line of High Stone Age Chronicles of Darkness. I'd want that shelf to be full. Do caveman werewolves and wizards sound cool? Do you have four dollars? Well then go click the buy button.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Eras: The Sundered World (Werewolf: the Forsaken, Mage: the Awakening)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Zachary R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2017 13:28:42

This is a fantastic game. Which you knew was what i thought already since only the Kickstarters have access to the actual game yet. So lets get in to the Meat of the review.

There are a large number of pro's that this adaptation of clasical D&D has. For one, the cast. Dogs are lovable creatures on their own, I've met a lot of people and very few of them actively dislike dogs which lends this game a charm all its own. The lore is friendly but hints at significant backstory that is at once explicit but also very vague. Similar to the Star Wars franchise it presents a very clear and concise view of part of the world and encourages you to fill in all the rest so long as you follow a few simple rules.

The mechanics are somewhat unique, the still feel familar couched in a very typical D&D system borrowing elements from Pathfinder and current elements of 5th Ed. There is a lack of magic in the game relative to other systems I've played. In Pathfinder everyone but the rogue has access to spells of some quality and type at some point. In this game you only have 2 "caster" classes, the Shepard and the Artisan. While this does mean that there will be fewer spells flying around that doesn't detract from the setting it's just something different that some people will have to get used to.

Honestly I haven't put enough time into the game to start noticing detracting factors. The equipment sections is a little sparse but this being a beta of the game i'm reviewing it's not that bad and it can be supplimented by other D&D equipment lists with a little common sense. Overall it's a fantastic game and i can't wait to get the table back together to try it out more thoughouly



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M20 How Do You DO That?
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2017 19:21:17

Good in some spots while needlessly complicating thing in others.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
M20 How Do You DO That?
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by Andreas S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/02/2017 02:42:37

Another great supplement by the Onyx Path team. A great addition to the V20 Dark Ages Vampire book. I loved the part about Setite sorcery and the part about knightly orders. A must buy book for any V20 Dark Ages fan.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes
by Olivier d. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2017 17:32:03

I was especially eager to see this book coming. While unlike many people, I actually liked Beast the Primordial, I do agree it's not without its flaws, in particular regarding the antagonist section: while awesome as a crossover book, this game has very little to stand of its own, Heroes being the only type of villains, and being kinda underdevelopped. So I really was hoping for a new book to flesh them out, speak of the briefly mentioned "good" Heroes, and maybe even adding a new type of antagonist. Conquering Heroes did all of these things.

This book really does a great job at developping the Heroes, giving them a bit more depth and nuance: we even get a few sample ones with a decent Integrity score, showing not all of them are narcisstic egomaniacs (though we still get some of those). We get a variety of characters, and all of them have distinctive personnalities, methods and motivations, which really make some of them memorable. We even get some connecting to Hunters and Mages, creating ties to the other gamelines.

Not only that, but the book actually provides a new type of antagonists in the form of the Insatiable, which basically serve as an eviller counterpart to the Beasts. Now, some might feel like they are flat antagonists, but I think they offer a nice alternative to Heroes, and make for a good foil to prove Beasts aren't the worse evil in the setting.

Overall, a good addition to the main book. I highly recommand it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
by Andrea Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 13:40:47

Is very nice to have an update to the new system for free, thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: God-Machine Rules Update
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 15:47:26

A good addition to the vampire books that helps bring the medieval world to life, for instance explains the idea of tournaments and how they worked in the feudal world (without having to read up on people like William Marshall) and I like the touches of the everyday magic of the era (which would now partly come under science).

The darker magic and its side effects is nicely expanded in this book, giving more of consequence when wielding powerful vampire powers such as necromancy.

The new rituals will no doubt will help with story ideas, for instance 'Implant the Bezoar' could make for an interesting vampire murder mystery storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 18:21:01

The first full-sized sourcebook for Beast: the Primordial (after a solid Ready-made characters one), Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes is a collection of antagonists, but in classic Night Horrors fashion offers detailed, interesting elements for all of them. The book is divided in three parts: first Heroes, the titular characters who hunt Beasts (and are NOT Hunters, as a sidebar reminds us). Then Beasts, most of which have experienced the Inheritance (three types of transformation which usually turn into a Beast into something more suitable for NPCs). And finally, something entirely new - the Insatiables, a new type of creatures who hunt Beasts themselves. Each chapter is made of unique examples, all with interesting backstories and different approaches. A couple of new Heroic Gifts, Numina, and entirely new powers for the Insatiables can be found in there as well.

Beast being a new game, and one in which there is considerable freedom to create characters and antagonists, any new material helps and those many examples serve to enrich the game. I found the Heroes chapter offered different methods for them to hunt Beast, the Beast chapter made the Inheritances clearer, and the Insatiable offered an important new part of the Beast setting. Overall an excellent book which I can only recommend if you found Beast interesting.

Oh, and there's a killer clown.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Conquering Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 3)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 19:56:47

These cards were a fantastic idea. They make keeping track of charms a lot easier, save time, and are suprisingly high quality. Well worth the price. I will be getting any other sets released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 3)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 19:56:30

These cards were a fantastic idea. They make keeping track of charms a lot easier, save time, and are suprisingly high quality. Well worth the price. I will be getting any other sets released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 1)
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 19:44:26

These cards were a fantastic idea. They make keeping track of charms a lot easier, save time, and are suprisingly high quality. Well worth the price. I will be getting any other sets released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition Charm Cards (Set 1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Darkness Overly Specific Condition Cards
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 04:01:41

An odd one. Obviously this is a joke product and it's mildly amusing, so well done there. Worth a look, more for the pointers on creating your own conditions than for the humour.

What I find odd about this is mostly how inconsistent the cards are. There's some that are focused on metagame stuff, in a way which leaves me fairly cold, because my groups are quite happy to discuss that openly. A few of them seem pleasingly niche, but still potentially useful in a completely standard game and quite tropetastic, which is more what I was expecting ("Cornered by things that are smaller than you", for example). Others look have a tongue-in-cheek feel but would again work fine in a not-very-serious campaign, and then there's a couple of wild cards.

I don't have any problem with any of that, but I do feel the cards would have been more satisfying if they'd stuck with a consistent tone and theme for the conditions, because a stack of cards with the same kind of humour would have a cumulative effect, whereas this scattershot approach doesn't. Or you could even split it into two sets, one focused on horror/monster/WOD tropery and one on the jokier elements.

Also, and I appreciate this is a very minor gripe, but could they not have filled in the last four cards instead of leaving them blank? Surely White Wolf can come up with eighteen mildly amusing things?

It's a nice idea, I think it could have been executed better with a bit more focus, but it's a freebie April 1st throwaway so hey.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness Overly Specific Condition Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2017 12:59:30

Purchased the PDF version a few week ago and am enjoying it immensely.

In addition to some new combat abilities, backgrounds, merits, and combination disciplines to support the new material, the biggest draws for this book are:

  • Expanded magical options for Dark Mysticism, Koldunic Sorcery, Setite Sorcery, Necromancy, Assamite Sorcery, and Witch magic, all of which are given some excellent lore entries and explanations. Fans of magic in World of Darkness will likely really enjoy this.

  • More excellent medieval word-building, including new lore and rules for how to incorporate fiefdoms, knights, and mass combat (more on that below). I am of the opinion that, particularly in a setting like Dark Ages, time period information, mechanical tools, and world-building are critical, as they provide a blueprint for those of us who are not necessarily history buffs to be able to properly create and evoke a pseudo-historical atmosphere in a memorable and immersive way, rather than just feeling like "DnD with Vamps", and I feel like the book really shines in this regard. The entries on knighthood and medieval combat were particular highlights for me.

  • The mass combat rules. I feel like these are going to get a mixed response, but they could also be a major reason one might enjoy this. Conceptually, I like them a lot. They offer an opportunity to simulate medieval warfare tactics and to engage in seiges and other larger-scale conflicts (albeit in a cinematic, WoD manner. This is not trying to be a wargame simulator, nor should it be expected), which not only lends itself well to the medieval atmosphere, but also presents a chance at mixing things up on a grander scale than normal. That said, I personally still find them a bit difficult to keep straight after a few reads, so their practicality may vary for some. The book does provide an example scenario that lays out how everything works -- which is most welcome and helpful -- but I personally didn't find them to be the most accessible thing in the world, so I suspect it may take some getting used to for some players and GMs to really make the mechanics shine.

All in all, I really liked this book, and I think that anyone who enjoys magical characters or worldbuilding will find a lot to be happy about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Tome of Secrets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Demon: The Descent
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2017 03:46:59

Having finally read the whole book, I can say with certainty that this is a great product. No this is not a book about Abrahamic demons and angels, this is definitely something different, more in the vein of theMatrix/Dark City/Inception and other sci-fi routines. The authors went for something different, and really committed to it. Reading the book gave me plenty of ideas for games and settings, which I always take as a good sign. If you're not afraid of an original take on the concept of Demon, I recommend this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Demon: The Descent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exalted 3rd Edition
by Shaun O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2016 13:16:12

I haven't received my physical copy, but that's because I just ordered the book yesterday. I have gone through the PDF though and there is a massive glaring flaw in the book itself. Before character creation it talks about the different kinds of Exalts. Solars, Lunarians, Exigents, Sidereal, etc etc. And even gives reasons to play those types instead of the Solars. But in the character creation section it only gives details on making a Solar Exalt. That's like if any other table top gaming system told you about how Fighters, Wizards, Bards, Warlocks, and all these other classes exist and how aweome they are but they only gave you rules for fighters and said in a side note that they will be releasing the other books on other classes later. That's a pathetic and obvious cash grab. Or to put it in White Wolf terms. Here's Vampire The Masquerade 20th edition. The clans are Brujah, Ventrue, Gangrel, Malkavian, Tremere, Nosferatu, and Toreador now here are rules on how to make a Brujah. Oh if you want to make anything else you'll have to wait and buy our next books.

I'm not hating on sourcebooks. I love sourcebooks. But let me at least get a taste of playing these other factions and then later you can offer me the sourcebook to get more insight into the inner workings of the factions I've already played and enjoyed.

I might raise up the rating if the phsyical copy of the book is of good quality.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted 3rd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 731 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Mobile version