DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ICONS Assembler
by Steve R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 17:03:54

It's great to see an official character creation tool for Icons. This application has a lot of good stuff in it, particularly the guided character creator which allows you to create a random character whilst editing as you go to allow you to tweak the character throughout the process. The rules content appears correct as per the Icons Assembled rules. I have a couple of minor niggles with the character sheet output, however. There is a character sketch tool but to be honest it seems more suited for normals rather than supers. You can supposedly import a custom image but i've yet to manage this successfully. There are no guidelines as to image size or format. I have reached out to the developer but haven't received a response yet. It would be good to clarify this feature as this is what has mainly prevented me from scoring the tool higher.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Assembler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Assembler
by Rollin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2015 20:41:39

Dies on my Windows system consistently, without error message.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
We\'re sorry the supported operating systems for Icons Assembler weren\'t detailed sufficiently. We have updated that information. To be clear, the program is not compatible with Windows XP and older operating systems as well as Mac OSX 10.6 and older. If you don\'t have access to a more current OS that meets the System Requirements, please request a refund. If your operating system meets the System Requirements and you are still having issues, contact support@inkwellideas.com. We want you to be able to use the program if at all possible. Thank you!
ICONS Assembler
by Wayne D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2015 08:45:14

I love the concept of this tool. Having the full database of Powers, Extras, Specialties, etc. built in is a great help. There is a lot of potential here. But it needs some polish. There were a couple of places where very long entries in text fields prevented being able to click the buttons to accept. Likewise, values longer than a word or two are sometimes not handled properly in the spacing of character output.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your feedback. The designer is looking into adding size limits for some fields as you suggest.
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2015 00:51:39

An easier to understand version of Fate, and less complex (not that Fate is that complex) rules set. I love it and am trying to switch it to work for fantasy as well. By the way, I prefer the artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Flight of the Nova-1
by Stephen D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2015 23:24:26

Back in 2012 I bought and reviewed "Flight". It was the first ICONS product that I didn't like since to me it came across as not much of an adventure. In fact, in my opinion it was little more than 2 unrelated encounters. However, my kids have recently been asking me to run a role-play adventure with them. (It's been over a year since we last played.) I went to RPGdrivethru reviewed my old purchases, and was surprised this campaign had been updated. I love the changes and now it is a perfect adventure for me and my kids. It now has everything I found lacking in the first edition-- a plot with investigation, multiple challenges, twists, etc. Thanks Dan for the update (really major revisions).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Flight of the Nova-1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Casino of Corruption
by William R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 15:08:28

A well thought out adventure that leaves a GM plenty of options to customize to fit his/her group of PCs needs. The villains used can either be used just the one time or, if the PCs interact well with them, can return to develop rivalries that can be used over the life time of a game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Casino of Corruption
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: A to Z Subscription
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 20:34:54

I am really enjoying the new pamphlet every couple of weeks. They each inspire my creativity to create new icons stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: A to Z Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
by Wayne D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2015 10:11:55

The flexibility of ICONS is beautiful in its simplicity. The random character creation can be an exercise in creativity without even needing to run a campaign!


My only critique is that the application of Extras was not entirely clearly laid out as well as some of the Extras and Limits themselves.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Hero Creation Quick-Sheet
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2015 12:08:19

This is perfect for character generation and is updated for the Assembled Edition. It also has an updated character sheet and blank silhouettes for drawing your character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Hero Creation Quick-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Gamemaster Screen
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 21:55:57

I had downloaded the newest version which is supposed to be compatible with the assembled edition. Just recently I found a typo about the dice rolled. I went back to see if there is a correction, and there isn't. Its kind of major. The test resolution roll is made with (power + d6) - (difficulty + d6) = effort. On the GM screen, though, it says (power + d6) - (difficulty + 6) = effort. That skews the whole result an every roll made by five points and not in the player's direction. That's half the chart.


I kind of heavily modify my GM chart, so its not noticable to me. I can use a highlight with the correction. It could be distracting or completely game crashing to a newbie.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Gamemaster Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Gamemaster Screen
by Adam v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 02:13:55

Rubbish. Mostly taken up with character creation tables which are completely useless for a GM screen. The only useful features of it are a lot of animal stats, some NPCs and the benchmarks table.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2015 12:13:32

All the great storytelling mechanics of FATE custom tailored for superhero games. I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/13/2015 06:59:30

SIX POINT SUMMARY




  • ICONS has a crazy amount of quality, third party support, particularly from Fainting Goat Games and Vigilance Press, so even if Ad Infinitum's already impressive slate of adventures doesn't tide you over, there is more out there.




  • As I said in my original review: ICONS character creation is just FUN. Maybe the only game that had character creation as fun is, not surprisingly, the FASERIP Marvel game.




  • I was annoyed that this came so close to Great Power (which I backed on Kickstarter), and it wasn't 100% compatible.




  • Dan Houser provided every piece of art in the book, continuing to define the distinctive visual appearance of ICONS.



  • The Universe rules, which incorporate the Villain Creation Rules, are just one of the coolest things I have ever seen in a game, period.


-I'm not usually a big fan of ".5" style updates, but this thing went almost point by point down my complaints list and addressed them. Hard for me to argue with that.


At the end of the day, though, I need to run this game again. I ran it once, did not care for it, but that was the old rulebook, it was my first time running the game, and I was running it for my then-very young son. My overall gut impression of the game is more positive right now, but I do want to see for myself if it's a game I could love, and the good faith effort in addressing the previous criticisms of the game (including my own) compels me to give it that shot.


For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadbloge-
ver.blogspot.com/2015/02/tommys-take-on-icons-assembled-edit-
ion.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: A to Z Subscription
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2015 16:28:56

I'm encouraged that Steve and Dan are doing the series. It promises to propel icons squarely into 2015. If the first issue is any indication, this series offers fun insight into various tropes superhero gaming. My hope is that they will extend a discount to subscribers if the collection goes to print on demand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: A to Z Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
If there\'s a POD edition of A to Z eventually, Curt, then a discount to subscribers is definitely something Ad Infinitum would look to do, if at all possible.
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 23:14:28

I'm still reading this fun and odd game. It's got a lot of inspirational material in it - I'm stoked and can't wait to run a game. I won't be using any of their setting until I get DOOM, but the game drips fun. So what if the die mechanic is really easy? I like it that way. There's no arcane charts littered all over to overly define anything. I really think the level of abstraction here hits my sweet spot.


Character creation is fun even if it makes some weird characters. That's the fun part! The randomness is cool in my book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 102 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates