DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
ICONS: Sins of the Past Revisited
by Sophie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 15:13:20

The original Sins of the Past adventure, published back in 2010, is one of the best scenarios ever written for the superhero game ICONS. Since its release, however, the system has undergone a revision and expansion published as the Assembled Edition in 2014.

Sins of the Past, Revisited is a 52-page adventure written by Theron Bretz, illustrated by Dan Houser—the same team that created the original edition—and published by Ad Infinitum Adventures for ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition.

It does not only update the mechanical bits to reflect the most recent version of the game; it offers new material, game-master advice, and notes on the playtest games. There is more art and new maps, everything a GM needs to run exciting scenes of superheroic action.

To top it off, if you prefer to run ICONS using the original rules, this comes with the 2010 version of the adventure for free. This means you can enjoy the new materials without major system adjustments.

The adventure connects modern-day superheroes (and villains) with those of the Golden Age. I think the adventure might have the most impact if its chapters were introduced one at a time over the course of a long-running campaign, when some of the GM characters have become familiar figures of the game setting. This could create fantastic buy-in for the players, inviting their characters to shoulder a legacy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Sins of the Past Revisited
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
by Dale P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2017 00:08:39

So far so good, have run a few short games with it. The random generation characters didn't have enough scaling for me. Had to do a bit of house rule work. I like that it lets you be pretty free in combat though not as rules heavy. I use the optional rolling of having the players make most of the rolls.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
by Yann E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2017 04:44:31

I had previously read the 1st editon of Icons, the french translation since we were lucky in France to have one.

This "1.5" Assembled Edition is a very refined version of the first Icons, the mechanics has changed a little because the GM is now also throwing dice for the opposition but this is still the same mechanic overall.

What you can do with qualities have been delimited and unified and you have now possibilities to create your character with points but, the random method is still the best if you want to keep the Icons flavour :).

There is now rules for experience, world building, villains building and Icons can now more easily be played in campaign, but I think that there are more adapted games for that ;).

Overall, I never regretted to buy this and this is a much more Iconic Icons than the first :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Gangbusters!
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2017 15:37:21

I purchased this adventure to use as a basis for the kickoff session of a Champions campaign using the HERO system. The scenes progressed very nicely to the final climax. The players were (pleasantly) surprised by the various complications thrown in to the otherwise straightforward path to the bad guy.

I particularly liked the emphasis on Roleplay Opportunities outlined in the Investigation scenes. The author did a great job with realistic NPC motivations and presenting situations without simple, binary solutions. For example, the players can easily go along with one NPC or the other, or take the time to find a compromise... but there isn't always time for compromise!

My only negative comment is that the premade characters are far too silly. I'm sure most people will think they are great :) It just isn't my style.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Gangbusters!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Assembler
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 14:05:23

Not really a review - more a bit of observation. I've been playing with this for about a week now, and I've begun to form a base opinion. For creating a single character I still prefer a paper character sheet and pencil; but, when creating a bunch of characters (such as the batch I'm building for convention game) Icons Assembler makes things a lot easier - and faster. It also has the added benefit of producing an attractive - and readable - printed sheet (something that my handwriting does not do).

While playing with app I have found a few bugs - nothing major, just nuisance type stuff - but the developer has been pretty responsive when I've reached out to him.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Assembler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: The Skeletron Key
by John F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2016 13:25:34

I'm running this as a one-on-one HERO system adventure in a corporate espionage setting and it has been a lot of fun. The PDF is 14 pages long with four chapters and about eight 'scenes' of action. The adventure reads easily and focuses on painting the basics of each scene; the overview and goal, a few important details, and lots of motivations. I found it simple to edit sections/locations/npcs to fit within my campaign.

The theme of the adventure adds a slight twist to a very stereotypical story. Kenson's story was exactly what my heroes expected and was a lot of fun to watch unfold! I highly recommend this module if you want to run a few traditional superhero sessions. Of couse, you can always add some weirdness of your own :)

I look forward to playing through some of his other works!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: The Skeletron Key
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Adversaries
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 18:19:46

Alright, so I should say up front that I have not been able to use anything from this book for a game yet, as it only came out earlier this week, but I've got some ideas cooking now that are going to find their way in.

Anyone who already has the Villainomicon is probably wondering what the difference is between these two books. For starters, it's updated and in line with the new rules, so yay for not doing conversions! Secondly, this book has 84 premade characters versus about 52 from the Villainomicon. That being said, not all the characters were included in this book; about a dozen villains were not carried over with this release and a couple were rebranded for this update. Some of the information from the beginning of the Villainomicon isn't included because it's been worked into other titles such as ICONS A to Z which you likely already own if you're looking into this book.

Why the name change, you wonder? Unlike the Villainomicon, not all of the characters presented here are bad guys; some of them are merely rivals, and some aren't evil but have a backstory which puts them on the wrong side of the law through circumstance rather than intention. All of these are great setups for role playing.

What's new and awesome in this book? Well, I'm glad to pretend you asked. The intro section on the villain alliances and information in the character descriptions provides you with a well established criminal underground, partnerships, and rivalries in the event you didn't want to do all the legwork to write it yourself. Use it all, use parts, ignore everything and make your own, whatever!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Adversaries
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Casino of Corruption
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2016 14:00:26

I ran this as a conversion to Mutants and Masterminds with 5 players over the course of 3, 4 hour sessions. We really got a good amount of time in this one.

The basic plot worked really well though perhaps an introductory mook battle with someone other than the 4 villains featured throughout might have added greater diversity to the encounters. This is what I did and it seemed to help. The villians are interesting and quite thematic which worked very well and had interesting powers that could challenge the players on several levels.

I also enjoyed the investigation aspect of the module. Its clear and well laid out. Has a couple of good RP scenes which give the PCs a chance to establish their personalities outside of combat.

The finale plays out interestingly enough though requires some work by the GM. We are told that the BBEG can be tricked up yet offers little examples on how. Not too terribly difficult to work out on your own but some good examples would have been nice.

Overall a great product and clear plot if your looking for a simple superhero RPG story to utilize in your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Casino of Corruption
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: The RetConQuest
by Marchgo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2016 22:25:51

I ran this adventure on the weekend with four players. We`ve been running ICONS for a while and I thought it would be a good break from the campaign we were running.

Reading through I remembered the old movie "1984" and "Brazil". So without telling my players anything I told them they just got off work and as usual it was raining. Footsteps echoeing against brick houses etc. They really enjoyed the mystery and all the NPCs doing what they normally wouldnt.

All in all it was simple scenario and it was up to GM to fluff it up. I like these simple suppliment over more detailed ones, there more room for individual groups to fit their form.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: The RetConQuest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: A to Z
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2016 21:26:38

Tons of great content. Really worth getting as a sort of companion to the corebook. I do with the PDF table of contents were bookmarked, though - that would make it a lot easier to use on my tablet while gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: A to Z
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! Note that the current version of the PDF is bookmarked.
ICONS Assembler
by Bryan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2016 05:55:06

It does exctly what I need it to do. Keeps Icons charaters orgnized.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Assembler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
by Bryan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2016 05:47:04

Steve Kenson deliver a simple but deep superhero roleplaying game system, that can be pluged into just about any classic RPG superhero or other wise.

Icons is wonderful chacter centered and for campaing perposes, encorages the use of multipule charaters. The univers creation rules develope both the charaters and the world around them simaltainoutly.

Icons is an important tool I am keeping in my GMs tool box.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: A to Z
by Tom R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 12:37:02

Lots of interesting and fun information for the ICONS setting. I esp[ecially like how it is all laid out using the alphabetical listing. SO far it has been a lot of fun to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: A to Z
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Assembler
by Steve R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2016 17:03:54

It's great to see an official character creation tool for Icons. This application has a lot of good stuff in it, particularly the guided character creator which allows you to create a random character whilst editing as you go to allow you to tweak the character throughout the process. The rules content appears correct as per the Icons Assembled rules. I have a couple of minor niggles with the character sheet output, however. There is a character sketch tool but to be honest it seems more suited for normals rather than supers. You can supposedly import a custom image but i've yet to manage this successfully. There are no guidelines as to image size or format. I have reached out to the developer but haven't received a response yet. It would be good to clarify this feature as this is what has mainly prevented me from scoring the tool higher.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Assembler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS Assembler
by Rollin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2015 20:41:39

Dies on my Windows system consistently, without error message.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
We\'re sorry the supported operating systems for Icons Assembler weren\'t detailed sufficiently. We have updated that information. To be clear, the program is not compatible with Windows XP and older operating systems as well as Mac OSX 10.6 and older. If you don\'t have access to a more current OS that meets the System Requirements, please request a refund. If your operating system meets the System Requirements and you are still having issues, contact support@inkwellideas.com. We want you to be able to use the program if at all possible. Thank you!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 115 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates