DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Verlagsinfos











Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Building Characters
von Esteban M. V. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 11/04/2017 03:38:44

First of all, I see how this book can help some people. It's certainly not useless. However, this book, like Story Setting by the same publisher, has many typos, feels a bit laundrylisty, and tries to fill in more pages when things could be described in a more concise way (eg. the Low/Below Baseline/Baseline/Above Baseline/High descriptions is used way too much and takes way too much space, and in most cases it doesn't feel useful to me). My personal highlight is the Types and Roles chapter. It's very good and it's a good reference and inspiration source to write characters. The chapters Aptitudes, Experiences, and Resources feel like fillers and I think they could have been a couple of pages each, instead of ~10 pages each.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Building Characters
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Story Structure
von Esteban M. V. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 11/04/2017 03:16:07

First of all, I think this book can be useful for a number of people, especially if they are starting absolutely from scratch and they have never tried to write short stories or story-driven RPG scenarios. That said. It really feels a bit like a laundry list, and that some of the advice doesn't come so much from experience but from reading other books. Also, there are many typos which make it irritating to read. Finally, The Three-Tiered Series part (most of the book) feels like riffing on the first part, The Three-Act Structure. In short: not bad, but I expected much more.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Story Structure
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Starlight Manifesto Season 1 Campaign Book
von Alex G. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/21/2017 03:53:22

The first sourcebook for Starlight Manifesto, this book imagines a TV show, Starlight Manifesto. and offers an entire first season of 13 episodes, taking inspiration from a certain venerable US show with a cult following.

Reading this, I sensed that I was binge watching a show on Netflix which I could only describe as "What if Star Trek had been created by Berin Kinsman, Verity Lambert and J Michael Straczynski?" The adventures dance around some familiar landmarks of old Trek territory - one could see elements of one episode and think "I know where this one's going," only to be blindsided when the story suddenly veers off into something else. Imagine binge watching Trek on Netflix and getting as far as "Mudd's Women," with elements of "The Perfect Mate," and while you're at the front door getting the pizza delivery someone switches the episode to "Balance of Terror," and you'll get the general idea of what happens in this sourcebook (Note: actual gameplay differs from advertised footage).

The 13 adventures are designed as interlinked, although with a bit of tweaking they could be made more episodic, and episodes could be devised by the guide and inserted between these episodes, but it can be played with just these thirteen. The interconnectedness of these episodes, however, gives "Starlight Manifesto Season One" a modern feel, closer to Star Trek: Discovery than to the original series.

The titles of the episodes are inspired by Milton ("As Morning Shows The Day"), Shakespeare ("Naked Villainy," "What We May Be") and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle ("The Schemer Falls"). Each title hints at what the episode will be about. The episodes bring in new and recurring good guys and bad guys, feature new equipment, aliens, hazards and strangeness. There is a sense of introductions - just as Star Trek had to introduce the regulars and the signature aliens such as the Romulans and the Klingons for the first time, and just as it had to introduce Vulcan mind melds, the neck pinch, the Vulcan salute and "Live long and prosper" over several episodes, so too does this sourcebook feature episodes introducing some of the signatures of Starlight Manifesto for the first time such as the Zyrosh, the Brocour, the Fringe Worlds, the Tel'Keth and so on.

In the original Star Trek, all the best episodes were in the first and second seasons, with one or two gems emerging from the mire that was season 3, and ignoring "The Omega Glory," "The Empath" and that one with the space hippies. Please let's not have an episode in a future season where the player characters are required to play a bicycle wheel as a musical instrument.

I'm hoping that future series will appear, exploring other episodes from this much-loved series from a universe where Gene Roddenberry had landed a role writing Mission: Impossible and Bruce Geller ended up as showrunner for a Star Trek where Martin Landau played Spock, and Harlan Ellison wrote "The Naked Time."

And now I feel like I just binge watched an entire Netflix season of the show. Bring on Season 2.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Starlight Manifesto Season 1 Campaign Book
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Roleplaying Emotion
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/20/2017 12:57:14

'Roleplaying Emotion helps you to understand the character’s emotions within the context of the story goal, their personal goals, and their motivations. When this are going well, the character will express things like affection, contentment, happiness, hope, and respect. When things go poorly, they’ll express anger, disgust, fear, sadness, and shame.'

Having read the above blurb I expected a mechanic that took in game events and helped determine the character's emotional responce however there are no rules for this at all. It's a little tough to unravel and it took a while to realised all it is is a series of extra tracked stats that define the characters emotional state but no rules for what modifies the stat values.

The descriptions of emotions, their consequences, and how characters enact them are ok and the choice of stats seem to be broad enough to work.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Roleplaying Emotion
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Story Design 2 [BUNDLE]
von Jeff J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/08/2017 10:58:03

Warning, to enjoy this product you have to be willing to put up with spelling and grammar mistakes.

(Example: in Story Design- Decline and Fall; "The" instead of "They" near the top of page 10.)

That said, I am enjoying reading these PDFs. Every one that I read sparks ideas for possible stories. It makes for an interesting look at what is required for each type of story.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Story Design 2 [BUNDLE]
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Story Design [BUNDLE]
von Jeff J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/08/2017 10:48:44

Warning, to enjoy this product you have to be willing to put up with grammar mistakes.

(Things like the word one instead of won in the Story Design-Duel book)

That said, I am enjoying reading these PDFs. Every one that I read sparks ideas for possible stories. It makes for an interesting look at what is required for each type of story.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Story Design [BUNDLE]
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Play Hard: Action Movie Roleplaying
von Alex G. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/21/2017 18:20:36

A tribute game based on action movies.

Think of action heroes - Bruce Willis crawling through air ducts, Arnie chewing the scenery and putting people down with one liners, Sly Stallone fighting off the entire Soviet Army armed with nothing but a machete and a couple of trick arrows, Clint Eastwood sneering at a corrupt police force, Charles Bronson's silent vigilante bringing dirtbags to justice.

This is where you get to play the heroes of those kinds of movies.

What's your story? Are you a police detective chasing down bent cops a la Serpico? Are you a government Marshall protecting witnesses by "erasing" them with elaborate theatrical trickery? You can be a Special Forces soldier, part of a unit chasing invisible aliens in a steaming jungle, or a First Officer aboard a commercial ship plagued by a chestbursting xenomorph.

The game mechanics, a simplified version of the Lighthouse roleplaying system, are so simple and easy to learn that you'll all but master them in the first session, allowing you to enjoy the game without the rules getting in your way.

Whether you want your action movie to be grim and gritty, or light-hearted and packed with one-liners, this game is for you. Just remember - these aren't the kinds of stories where the problems can be solved by just talking. You're only here to do one thing, and also chew gum ... and they're all outta gum.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Play Hard: Action Movie Roleplaying
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Lighthouse Roleplaying System™
von Daniel P. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/18/2017 22:42:04

I picked up Lighthouse because I have found that my tastes in roleplaying game systems have drifted more towards the simple and narrative, rather than the complex and rules-laden. Everything I read about Lighthouse told me it would be along the same conceptual lines as other games with those qualities I already liked, so I went for it.

I like a lot what Kinsman has done in Lighthouse, a lot. This is a narrative-focused system that highlights descriptive devices, using dice mechanics sparingly and meaningfully to drive the story forward with an eye towards drama.

In Lighthouse, characters are built using descriptions with varying levels of importance/complexity--Big, Medium, and Small Things--each with its own numeric bonus. Rather than get bogged down in extensive skill lists and abilities, what a character can do is derived organically from each Thing description in conversation between the player and the Guide (Game Master).

The resolution mechanic is simple, using a d20 + modifiers to achieve either a low (1-10) or high (11-20), odd or even result. You then put forth a die bid, a die which determines how much you're investing into that particular roll, ranging from d4 (barely invested) to d12 (you're all in). A low result is a failure, high is a success, odd means Guide narrates, even means rolling player narrates, with the bid die determining the level of success/failure.

Threats to the characters are handled using narrative devices called Consequences, which are tied to the bid die. Characters have five slots of increasing degree of seriousness with which to absorb "damage" received during conflicts, from d4 (a very light consequence) to d12 (a potentially-permanent consequence). Consequences are dictated by the narrative, and are meant to evoke drama, not bad luck with the dice, so that no one bites the dust unless everyone playing agrees it is the proper, dramatic consequence.

The Lighthouse book includes a number of character examples drawn from easily-identifiable pop-culture stories, showcasing the versatility of the system, while the example of play helps the reader see how the pieces all fit together when in use. To this add that the book is only $3.00, and you have an easy-to-use, new-player friendly, storytelling-driven, affordable game that can power pretty much any story you and your friends want to play through at the table.

Dancing Lights Press has already published a couple of games powered by Lighthouse, and I can't wait to see how the system moves for each of those settings, as well as in what ways it can be hacked at home.

If you like Fate Accelerated Edition, or value dramatic storytelling over task simulation in your roleplaying games, pick up Lighthouse and give it a spin. Personally, I can't wait to do so.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Lighthouse Roleplaying System™
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Premise: Fantasy - 100 Plot Ideas
von Arto S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/16/2017 07:50:04

This is really useful as the plots are written generic enough for both protagonist and antagonist point of view. Too many plot books are way too specific on races, locations and artifacts etc almost sounding like mini adventure-modules. It rhymes with my own approach on story design: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/218412/Structured-Free-Association-Story-Plot-Method-20?src=dancing



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Premise: Fantasy - 100 Plot Ideas
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Starlight Manifesto
von Alex G. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/12/2017 10:11:22

Berin Kinsman's latest tour de force from Dancing Lights Press, Starlight Manifesto ventures into science fiction roleplaying - a genre dominated by Traveller and other SF games.

The characters are Peacekeepers of a galaxy-spanning interstellar organisation, in the manner of Starfleet officers from Star Trek or the Earthforce from Babylon 5. They are explorers, problem solvers, ambassadors and occasionally warriors.

The Starlight Union is not a perfect organisation, but they do have a system - and it works. The underlying philosophy behind the Union is outlined, and echoes both Trek and Babylon 5 in that it paints a future of inclusivity and cooperation, driven forwards by reason and optimism.

The characters' role is exemplified by the virtues espoused by Doctor Who - never being cruel, never being cowardly, and recognising fear as a companion and teacher rather than a threat to be met by a hail of plasma fire, an attitude seen all too often in other SF roleplaying games.

Starlight Manifesto is a full roleplaying game, using the Lighthouse Roleplaying System available separately. All you need to play is Starlight Manifesto, dice, pencil, paper and your imagination.

As with all Berin's books so far, there is no art: the aim is to free your imagination to picture the humans, aliens, equipment and visual appearance of the game the way you see it. The lack of art is a feature which results in the books being not only very small, but very good on your pocket.

The game became a DriveThru Best Seller within days of its launch, which is testimony to the creative power and passion of Berin Kinsman, manifest in the optimistic tone he adopts in this book.

In Revelations in Cold Iron, the protagonists had their work cut out for them; in Starlight Manifesto, the positive philosophy is not only triumphant, but ascendant. The universe beckons, and the future will be with us for a long time.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Starlight Manifesto
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Starlight Manifesto
von Guy H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 09/05/2017 05:44:33

Starlight Manifesto is a space opera setting, optimistic in tone, beset by other civilizations who are not so enlightened. Though reminiscent of several favorite examples of the genre,Starlight is a setting of its own. The characters are members of the Starlight Peacekeepers, exploring, keeping tge peace, and opposing the numerous endmies of the utopian union. Berin Kinsman gives us more than a setting and a rules set (the Lighthouse Roleplaying System), but he gives practical advice on creating a campaign in keeping with the optimistic setting, and on the purpose of each element of the game. Instead of creating numerous species of little depth, he has created several well-developed races, which you can nevertheless customise to suit your interpretations.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Revelations in Cold Iron
von Lon S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/25/2017 15:57:49

Berin Kinsman has long been a bright light in the roleplaying community, and Revelations in Cold Iron continues this tradition. The setting and premise are a wonderful bit of catharsis in a time when that's badly needed. While Kinsman has tried to not make the game a specific political polemic, it can't be what it is without being a general one. This is a selling point for me; I understand it won't be to everyone's taste, but for those similarly inclined it will be a fantastic fit.

Also, if you're looking for something like The Invisibles: The Role-Playing Game, this is as close as you're likely to find. Which is also a selling point for me.

The Lighthouse system, the engine of the game, is a fantastic rules-light system for which I can see near infinite applications. Like any rules-light system, it really requires that the playes and the GM have a strongly shared vision of what the game is uspposed to be. There isn't much in the way of rules to enforce genre or tone; that's left up to the people at the table to do for themselves.

My only real complaint, and the only reason this didn't get five stars, is that Kinsman really needs a line editor. It's clear he put a lot of work into this text, but it's also clear that it suffers from the author being too close to see some of his own mistakes.

So, yeah. Go buy this game. Hell, buy everythinf from Dancing Lights Press. It won't break your bank, and it will support an indie game designer who's clearly in this for the love of his hobby.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Revelations in Cold Iron
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
Thanks, Lon!
Revelations in Cold Iron
von Guy H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/23/2017 06:15:07

Berin Kinsman knocks it out of the park with "Revelation in Cold IRON", the first supplement for his Lighthouse RPG System. Revelation is a dark fantasy thriller, based on the concept that an Illuminst-esque conspiracy is manipulating themselves into absolute power using sorcery to overwrite the objective reality of the world with their own subjective reality. The setting? Our own world, ripped from today's headlines. The Cult of Moloch feeds off the pain and fear caused by the corruption they themselves sow, and only the Resistance can fight back before reality is completely overrwriten



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Kommentar des Verlages:
Thanks, Guy!
Revelations in Cold Iron
von Michael S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/14/2017 19:11:10

I think this is fantastic. I'm a big fan of Berin's work and Dancing Lights Press products in general, and I didn't see this one coming (he's so busy doing background-work-type texts for DLP).

OK so the game is obviously inspired by political events of the past few years (especially the last two). If you're as frustrated as I have been watching the newsfeeds, you're looking for a game with which to vent your frustrations, and you like streamlined mechanics, check this one out.

Pros: The Lighthouse system is easy to use and intended to foster collaborative storytelling.There are shades of FATE with respect to character development and managing dice rolls. With this as a mechanical foundation, Revelations in Cold Iron presents a setting reminiscent of the older World of Darkness... except that the gritty badness kinda errily familiar --and current! I like the paranoia, near-hopelessness, and desperate feel. The bad guys are untouchable, and really bad. They'rein positions to offer themselves, as Chomsky put it, riches "beyond avarice". And they're ruthless. The good guys are pretty screwed, and there's a lot of variability built into the rules system so you can make archetypes rather than stereotypes (my least favourite part of the White Wolf games was that the PCs "types" were based on stereotypes). I also like the book's structure (a lot, but really tight structure is typical for DLP). The twist that makes Revelations in Cold Iron a game rather than retelling current events is that (subtle) magic is a thing, and the PCs can do something about the grim situations in which they find themselves. The types of magic are relatively easy to understand (harder than DnD, a lot easier than Mage or Ars Magica). (Thought: What if the game's premise is true and the game is a bit of magick developed just to distract us?)

Cons: I know limiting art in the books is a philosphical thing for DLP, but I like pictures in my books. That's a personal preference. A bigger con is that the book doesn't seem to have been edited carefully; I noticed a number of typos just skimming it the first time. I would have given 5 stars if the editing had been more careful. For content, inspiration, and style, it's an easy five stars. Having said that, if you tend toward the more conservative-by-American-standards end of the political spectrum, you may perceive this game to be an unfairly biased part of the liberal agenda and suspect that a recent US president commissioned it in another attempt to stifle your freedoms and take your guns. If that's the case, don't buy this game, reading it will only enrage you more. (Wait a minute, what if my thought experiment is true? What if the book is designed to distract less conservative gamers from actually getting involved and making a difference? What if the spell used provokes anger and a desire to shut it down in gamers who support the political status quo? OMG!! "They" know I'm reviewing it!! Crap! I don't know what I'm goi



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Revelations in Cold Iron
von GYEONGWON J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/13/2017 10:39:57

I really recommend this if you are fan of Mage, Changeling. But most of all if you are an advocate of individual free will and you are one of those steller people who are willing to face and stand for inconvinient relative truth even under the yoke of seemingly convinient paradigm ruthlessly overriding every grain of feable human mind, you are in for a treat. Incredible first complete game using lighthouse system, rules are easy to pick up and it is versatile giving a chance for both GM and Players to blaze the trail and carve out a unexpected tale to create a drama for themselves. Become a member of Cold Iron, fight the oppressors and set things right!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 100 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates