DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Umschauen
 Verlagsinfos









Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Roleplaying Emotion
von Lacy V. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/20/2017 23:36:25

What I like about this series is that every book focuses on role-playing and storytelling rather than mechanics. This makes the ideas easy use for any game you are playing. Because I am a person who likes telling stories with friends more than killing mosters, this book is no exception.

The idea is to think of what your character is feeling. There are two options, positive emotions and negative emotions. This allows you to decide how to interpret situations. There are 5 examples of positive emotions and 5 examples of negative emotions to demonstrate the kind of choices you can make for your character. These examples can be used for other emotions you might want to express because they are common feelings that arise in fantasy role-playing. You are not limited to these options as you would with a list of spells or feats. They are included to help you understand how it works.

Part of the book is how emotions can affect the game by adding modifiers. If the character is angry for example that could give a bonus to the intimidation controls. However mechanics is not the point of the book. This is a better role-play and use the examples to make decisions on the character and role-play of your character based on how they feel about the situation. I think the mechanics were included to help some people feel less uncomfortable about expressing feelings at the table because they can write it down as they go for a modifier.

For the use my group has gotten out of the book the price was fair and I saved by buying it in a bundle with a bunch of the other books.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Roleplaying Emotion
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Roleplaying Emotion
von Scott H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/20/2017 18:12:12

I really like some of the other books in this series, but I would not recommend this one. I\'ll give you a synopsis: This is an RPG rules mechanic that keeps track of which emotions your character is feeling. There are 10 categories of emotions, and you choose how much your character is affected by each one. The mechanical effect is that if you\'re attempting a task while trying to hide or control one of your emotions, either because you feel it too much or too little, then you apply a penalty to the roll. That\'s it. There\'s no reason to make this book 66 pages long or to charge $7 for it.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Setting Design
von Scott H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/09/2017 03:40:54

So far, this is the best resource I\'ve found on worldbuilding. I even like it better in that regard than the D&D 5e DM Guide, which is also a decent source. Berin has collected a good checklist of all the elements you need to consider when designing a scifi/fantasy setting. He provides some guidance about how to approach each element, and he stresses some good general principles, like how each element should be considered in terms of how it can create or resolve conflict in the story. I found this book really helpful. Thanks Berin!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Setting Design
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Story Structure
von Scott H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/09/2017 03:35:32

This book has some helpful insights about how to use a three act structure in a story, book, movie script, RPG adventure, etc. The second half of the book suggests some interesting ways that you could apply the general ideas from the three-act structure to help structure an episodic series (like a book series, a TV series, or a series of RPG play sessions). I found it pretty thoughtful, and I wish more TV shows would take these ideas into consideration when planning out their season arcs. Thanks Berin!



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Story Structure
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (Powered by Fate Accelerated)
von Patrick H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 11/28/2016 18:18:20

This is so much better than it has any right to be. I know it seems like an absurd concept, and it is, but somehow it actually works. The author has put a lot of work into this, and at 138 pages, this booklet contains everything you could possibly need to run this game. (Except dice, obviously.) There's pregens, NPCs, a sample adventure, several pages of solid GM advice, the entire Fate Accelerated ruleset, synopses of the movie and TV show (I didn't even know there was a TV show), and ... I just ... wow. I am deeply impressed.

What a profoundly odd world we live in.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (Powered by Fate Accelerated)
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Story Structure
von Paul O. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 11/25/2016 13:57:59

Interesting and informative, with clear we'll thought out advice. I immediately revised a plot structure I was making and it now looks much better.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Story Structure
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

A Scandal in Bohemia (A Study in Storytelling #1)
von Customer Name Withheld [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/06/2016 08:36:07

This book was well-written in terms of prose. There are a few places where mistakes were made that could have been caught with a careful copy-edit, but it is few enough to not distract entirely from the content.

The story chosen is excellent. Doyle's writing makes for a good selection in terms of a story to deconstruct.

The biggest issue I have with this is that it feels like a standard treatise on the 3 act story structure that uses A Scandal in Bohemia as an example. Reading the description of the book, I thought that it would be teaching me a framework to examine any story in this style, rather than reading how the author deconstructed 1 specific story.

My advice to the buyer is this: Read the seed story (in this case A Scandal in Bohemia) BEFORE you purchase this book. If the story seems to be one that you are wanting to tell and you need help picking out the elements through the lens of the 3 act structure, get this book. If you are looking at examining how to deconstruct stories based on that 3 act structure without any preference for the source material, an internet search can find enough material on 3 act deconstruction to get you what you need.



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
A Scandal in Bohemia (A Study in Storytelling #1)
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

ReadWriteRoll
von Heike H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/17/2016 05:38:20

This is like a peanut butter cup made of D20 and Fate, but it is also not one of those things. I see the running Fate of using or using the Pathfinder adventures, or a combination of both materials. Otherwise, it looks good for people who want to make their own game and game creation.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
ReadWriteRoll
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Character Design: Lover, Player, Sidekick
von Patrick N. F. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/12/2016 14:09:23

I found it too vague and generalized. It's an idea essentially without any real meat to sink teeth into.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Character Design: Lover, Player, Sidekick
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Building Characters
von Bill D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/08/2016 15:10:30

It is the perfect product if you wish to create concise motivations for characters. Well laid out and easy to use.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Building Characters
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Understanding Alignment
von Timothy B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/23/2016 23:45:07

I've always found it difficult to wrap my head around the traditional 9 alignments as originally presented in AD&D and since used in each subsequent D&D edition as well as Pathfinder. This book was an immense help in understanding the spectrum that comprises the axes of good-evil and law-chaos. The author has clearly given the topic a lot of thought, and presents a case for considering alignment in what may be a different light than what you're used to.

The most valuable part of the book is the section that describes a way of declaring a character's alignment with a statement that sounds more like an aspect in FATE or a background in 13th Age than the traditional "lawful good." The author offers mechanics that will support compliance to the norms of a character's alignment statement, without unduely punishing a PC when their behavior deviates from the norm.

As a 13th Age GM, I'll consider having my players select one of their backgrounds based on the statements described in this book. How many background points they invest into the background will speak to how powerfully they adhere to the alignment that the statement points to.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Understanding Alignment
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Building Characters
von Phill W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/18/2016 05:16:52

As a person who has a lot of general ideas but struggles with details, this is a big help. Really walks you through the generation of charecter background and allows for as much depth as one could want. Highly reccomended. Does contain some edditing issues but nothing that makes it unreadable.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Building Characters
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Building Characters
von Brian A. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/16/2016 13:20:57

Again, not to make two reviews sound the same, but I've read a number of books on building characters, not just for rpgs, but also for general stories. Most have different takes on the various archtypes, but this book combines alot of that information into a very easy to read synopsis. It also gives a ton of great ideas for character interactions and setting up the NPCs in a campaign for getting the most out of interactions, as well as between the characters. I highly recomend this book.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Setting Design
von Brian A. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/16/2016 13:17:02

I've read a number of books on setting, "world building" and putting together campaings, this book is very thorough, at 105 pages, with very little fluff. The information is useful for beginners and for more experienced gamers that I know I'll be refering back to quite often as I work on my own campaign.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Setting Design
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

ReadWriteRoll Storytelling Guide Preview
von Joshua F. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/18/2016 12:37:10

A simple breakdown of the core mechanics of a tabletop role-playing game and allows for the reader to then take this basic premise and explore their own world.

The book is great as supplemental material when looking to create new characters, items or locations in a d20 system by helping the reader understand statics in a simple comparative form. Or it is a good starting point to learning what it takes to build a game from scratch and to make the game, as they say, "not broken."

Whether you are looking to create your own world, or just add to your favorite system, this material is a good source to have on your desk.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
ReadWriteRoll Storytelling Guide Preview
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 82 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates