DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Verlagsinfos









Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
ReadWriteRoll
von Heike H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/17/2016 05:38:20

This is like a peanut butter cup made of D20 and Fate, but it is also not one of those things. I see the running Fate of using or using the Pathfinder adventures, or a combination of both materials. Otherwise, it looks good for people who want to make their own game and game creation.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
ReadWriteRoll
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Character Design: Lover, Player, Sidekick
von Patrick N. F. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/12/2016 14:09:23

I found it too vague and generalized. It's an idea essentially without any real meat to sink teeth into.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Character Design: Lover, Player, Sidekick
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Building Characters
von Bill D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/08/2016 15:10:30

It is the perfect product if you wish to create concise motivations for characters. Well laid out and easy to use.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Building Characters
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Understanding Alignment
von Timothy B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/23/2016 23:45:07

I've always found it difficult to wrap my head around the traditional 9 alignments as originally presented in AD&D and since used in each subsequent D&D edition as well as Pathfinder. This book was an immense help in understanding the spectrum that comprises the axes of good-evil and law-chaos. The author has clearly given the topic a lot of thought, and presents a case for considering alignment in what may be a different light than what you're used to.


The most valuable part of the book is the section that describes a way of declaring a character's alignment with a statement that sounds more like an aspect in FATE or a background in 13th Age than the traditional "lawful good." The author offers mechanics that will support compliance to the norms of a character's alignment statement, without unduely punishing a PC when their behavior deviates from the norm.


As a 13th Age GM, I'll consider having my players select one of their backgrounds based on the statements described in this book. How many background points they invest into the background will speak to how powerfully they adhere to the alignment that the statement points to.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Understanding Alignment
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Building Characters
von Phill W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/18/2016 05:16:52

As a person who has a lot of general ideas but struggles with details, this is a big help. Really walks you through the generation of charecter background and allows for as much depth as one could want. Highly reccomended. Does contain some edditing issues but nothing that makes it unreadable.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Building Characters
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Building Characters
von Brian A. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/16/2016 13:20:57

Again, not to make two reviews sound the same, but I've read a number of books on building characters, not just for rpgs, but also for general stories. Most have different takes on the various archtypes, but this book combines alot of that information into a very easy to read synopsis. It also gives a ton of great ideas for character interactions and setting up the NPCs in a campaign for getting the most out of interactions, as well as between the characters. I highly recomend this book.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Setting Design
von Brian A. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/16/2016 13:17:02

I've read a number of books on setting, "world building" and putting together campaings, this book is very thorough, at 105 pages, with very little fluff. The information is useful for beginners and for more experienced gamers that I know I'll be refering back to quite often as I work on my own campaign.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Setting Design
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

ReadWriteRoll Storytelling Guide Preview
von Joshua F. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/18/2016 12:37:10

A simple breakdown of the core mechanics of a tabletop role-playing game and allows for the reader to then take this basic premise and explore their own world.


The book is great as supplemental material when looking to create new characters, items or locations in a d20 system by helping the reader understand statics in a simple comparative form. Or it is a good starting point to learning what it takes to build a game from scratch and to make the game, as they say, "not broken."


Whether you are looking to create your own world, or just add to your favorite system, this material is a good source to have on your desk.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
ReadWriteRoll Storytelling Guide Preview
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Troll Hide: Regenerating Giants Reskinned (PFRPG)
von Mikael H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/11/2015 04:42:22

Bha! A couple of pages of statblocks, with a handful of sentences of general flavour.
The major part is some musings down memory lane, and those are just a paragraph or two on top of a couple of pages.


Had I bought it insteadof got it in a bundle I would have returned it.


Only a very inexperienced GM could feel that they had something to gain from this product as there is nothing new or unique enough to inspire, just saving the work of creating the statblock.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Troll Hide: Regenerating Giants Reskinned (PFRPG)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Spellpoint Codex (PFRPG)
von richard g. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 07/01/2015 17:16:23

As I am used to having a spell point system and am finally shifting my game to full PF, I started looking for the ideas of others, pilfering the best concepts for ideas and then systems to achieve what I've wanted for nigh four decades.


With a name like Asparagus Jumpsuit, I had initial misgivings, but I've wound up buying several of their pdfs over time, so I was hopeful when I saw this title. I was not disappointed with what I got.


At only 12 pages, the Spellpoint Codex, I expected tight rules, but was stunned that virtually everything fit on a single page! Yes, one page! There's a too-useful cheat sheet on Metamagics that is almost worth it by itself (I printed out a couple for use in our game and that were helped me a lot, but really helped the party Wizard. There are seven pages of charts that are effectively redundant, a you're told the How of doing your own. They are helpful though and a happy and professional touch. A cover page, a title page and one for the boiler plate are the only waste material.


In terms of play, the Wizard loved the versatility of the class freeing her from prepared casting's greatest burden, something two other players of Wizards (other GMs) loved. Two real downsides were pointed out, but neither came up, well not really:


1) Spamming Spells: Detect Magic was expected to be heavily used, but she wound up being the party archer with MM. A single spell dealing 4 'arrows' with no chance to miss could have resulted in a lot of pain, but she only had one 'second round' all night. If her hubby were playing the Wizard, he would have exploited that flaw.


2) Scaling Spells: In the above example, the Wizard was casting a 1 pt spell at a level 8 damage grade. In my previous game's incarnation, we ran spells at the level they can be initially cast, costing more for greater effects. This system suffers the same weakness.


So, I'm dissing the system? Not really, just pointing out pot holes for others to watch for. This is a massive increase in roleplay opportunity as it allows a player's imagination freedom. The biggest logical fallacy torpedoed is the nonsense of 'forgetting' a spell upon casting it. Yes, I am one of 'those' guys!


Simple? Yes! Our mechanics shy Wizard had the system down by the first encounter and the rest of the player by game end.


Flexible? Very, no more agonizing choices pre-game and recriminations by other players kibitzing post-game. Anything that defuses turmoil over play is a good thing.


Tracking Spell Points? She solved with a graph sheet with one per box, 'Xing" off the requisite points as she went.


Game Flow? We lost more time as people commented about the system. And we dodged the 'why didn't you take X spell' nonsense that plagues our version of Monday Morning Quarterbacks.


I was not truly happy with this product, but the speed of play and happiness at the 24 hour diner after are not to be discounted. The tight rules are inspirational, the 7 pages of charts are very helpful and the Metamagic feat list is just too helpful. All in all, the players loved this and that is always a good thing.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Spellpoint Codex (PFRPG)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Starship Tyche: Be Not Afraid
von Mauno J. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 04/03/2015 17:24:53

This scenario is basically a rip-off of a Star Trek episode with very little creative input on behalf of the person who wrote it up. It's also basically a railroad with character choices being not about the direction of the story, but how to accomplish what they are supposed to do.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
Starship Tyche: Be Not Afraid
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Troll Hide: Regenerating Giants Reskinned (PFRPG)
von Sean H. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 03/14/2015 16:35:43

The Monster Hide series by Asparagus Jumpsuit, which means by Berin Kinsman, provide pre-generated monster statblocks for Pathfinder and, as the subtitle “classic monsters reskinned” implies, presents a new take on the role of each these humanoids in a campaign world.


The basic structure of all of the Monster Hide books is the same: cover, 1-page introduction to why Kinsman wrote the series and some background on Asparagus Jumpsuit, then a discussion on how the races fits into the Desteon campaign, Kinsman’s campaign world, and how they vary from the norm and suggestions for their use in a campaign. Next is the core of the product, a set of five statblocks with the interesting parts all hyperlinked to the appropriate parts of the d20PFSRD. Each ends with a copy of the OGL as you would expect. There are a smattering of errors scattered through the works but nothing that cannot be easily sorted.


Trollhide, Regenerating Giants Reskinned, begin with Kinsman’s reminiscences about the dangers of trolls (having lost a PC to one) and on how they can be difficult to use. Here there are immature trolls, mixed-breed (ogre and fey) and, the most dangerous of all, troll mothers. A good variety of vicious trolls.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Troll Hide: Regenerating Giants Reskinned (PFRPG)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Serpentfolk Hide: Snakemen Reskinned (PFRPG)
von Sean H. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 03/14/2015 16:35:04

The Monster Hide series by Asparagus Jumpsuit, which means by Berin Kinsman, provide pre-generated monster statblocks for Pathfinder and, as the subtitle “classic monsters reskinned” implies, presents a new take on the role of each these humanoids in a campaign world.


The basic structure of all of the Monster Hide books is the same: cover, 1-page introduction to why Kinsman wrote the series and some background on Asparagus Jumpsuit, then a discussion on how the races fits into the Desteon campaign, Kinsman’s campaign world, and how they vary from the norm and suggestions for their use in a campaign. Next is the core of the product, a set of five statblocks with the interesting parts all hyperlinked to the appropriate parts of the d20PFSRD. Each ends with a copy of the OGL as you would expect. There are a smattering of errors scattered through the works but nothing that cannot be easily sorted.


Serpentfolk Hide, Snakemen Reskinned, are serpentfolk in the Swords and Sorcery mode, proud (or degenerate) descendants of a once-advanced and mighty empire. The serpentfolk here are useful leaders and specialists, providing direction to the other serpentfolk in their dark and sinister plans.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Serpentfolk Hide: Snakemen Reskinned (PFRPG)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Ratfolk Hide: Humanoid Vermin Reskinned (PFRPG)
von Sean H. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 03/14/2015 16:34:19

The Monster Hide series by Asparagus Jumpsuit, which means by Berin Kinsman, provide pre-generated monster statblocks for Pathfinder and, as the subtitle “classic monsters reskinned” implies, presents a new take on the role of each these humanoids in a campaign world.


The basic structure of all of the Monster Hide books is the same: cover, 1-page introduction to why Kinsman wrote the series and some background on Asparagus Jumpsuit, then a discussion on how the races fits into the Desteon campaign, Kinsman’s campaign world, and how they vary from the norm and suggestions for their use in a campaign. Next is the core of the product, a set of five statblocks with the interesting parts all hyperlinked to the appropriate parts of the d20PFSRD. Each ends with a copy of the OGL as you would expect. There are a smattering of errors scattered through the works but nothing that cannot be easily sorted.


Ratfolk Hide, Humanoid Vermin Reskinned, looks at the neglected ratfolk, fitting them in at the edges of society and civilization with their own plans and rulers. A good mix of leader types for ratfolk and the exceedingly creepy plague children (which need to be converted into a proper swarm). If you have a place for ratfolk in your campaign, this will give you some interesting ideas to work from.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Ratfolk Hide: Humanoid Vermin Reskinned (PFRPG)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Ogre Hide: Giants Reskinned (PFRPG)
von Sean H. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 03/14/2015 16:31:09

The Monster Hide series by Asparagus Jumpsuit, which means by Berin Kinsman, provide pre-generated monster statblocks for Pathfinder and, as the subtitle “classic monsters reskinned” implies, presents a new take on the role of each these humanoids in a campaign world.


The basic structure of all of the Monster Hide books is the same: cover, 1-page introduction to why Kinsman wrote the series and some background on Asparagus Jumpsuit, then a discussion on how the races fits into the Desteon campaign, Kinsman’s campaign world, and how they vary from the norm and suggestions for their use in a campaign. Next is the core of the product, a set of five statblocks with the interesting parts all hyperlinked to the appropriate parts of the d20PFSRD. Each ends with a copy of the OGL as you would expect. There are a smattering of errors scattered through the works but nothing that cannot be easily sorted.


Ogre Hide, Giants Reskinned, these ogres are nasty, brutish and . . . well, just nasty and brutish. They form the brute squad of the humanoid ranks forking as living weapons for others, with the smart ones forming their own groups to get more nastiness done. These are the monsters from fairy tales that will grind your bones to make their bread or worse. Useable for a wide variety of situations when the GM just needs something that hits hard.


Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.


Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofsta-
rsrpg.wordpress.com/



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Ogre Hide: Giants Reskinned (PFRPG)
Klicken Sie bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 75 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates