DriveThruRPG.com
Recherche
 Info Editeur
Design Mechanism
Moyenne des évaluations de cet éditeur

Voir toutes les évaluations









Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
par Ian F. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/04/2017 05:43:17

Classic Fantasy will take your d100 games and allow you to turn them into a D&D inspired game, but you will continue to feel as if you're playing d100/brp games. Built as an overlay for the Mythras system (the updated Runequest 6), Classic Fantasy has replaced the Cultures and Careers with Races and Classes, though humans maintain the classic Barbarian/City/Nomad/Primitive mix. In terms of complexity, there is a new layer of play that is added upon Mythras, but for those either transitioning from D&D to BRP games, or for those looking to recapture some of the fun of those style of games, many of these features will feel familiar and sensible. The magic systems have been completely reworked as well, and there's an updated bestiary and treasure guide in the book. It reads nicely, and has elements of the fantasy "Greymoor" setting included in the book. An expansion book has been released that details later level play, and opens the scope. I have run an entire campaign with this book (and Mythras) only.

This book feels not only like a rules toolkit, but a loving homage to masters Moldvay, Gygax, Arneson and others.

Fair disclosure, I have done some writing for this system, not published at the time of this writing, but was neither asked nor encourage to review this product.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Mythras Combat Cards
par Tony P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/29/2017 17:10:22

Excellent quality, makes combat a breeze. My gaming group loves them!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Mythras Combat Cards
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Mythras
par Andrew D. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 02/24/2017 13:14:09

I've always liked BRP mechanics and this appears to be the ultimate evolution of it, so far, and can't wait to try it out. It takes the good from Rune Quest expands on it and makes it better. It's my understanding that this is RQ 6(?) with a new name it's it's slimmer purely due to better use of layout and typsetting. The diy/modular nature of Mythras is something I've been looking for in an rpg for a long time. I've tried other diy/modular systems and they either felt too generic or the rules got too heavy for my style of GMing.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Mythras
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Classic Fantasy Expert Set - TDM501
par Michael D. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 02/21/2017 11:41:19

Design Mechanism does it again. Here are rules for PSIONICS. If you remember AD&D, you remember that Psionics were part nightmare, part party, part... well, you get the idea...

Now, we can have MIND FLAYERS... Errr... Sorry... MIND SLAYERS... in D100.

These are the star villains of any campaign... even when dealing with level taking monsters in the old school editions... Here are creatures that not only eat your brain... but steal your mind... or worse, control those who work for and with you.

Now you can take your old editions that detailed these aggressive, dimension hopping creatures... and bring them into your D100 world. Imagine it... Orcs, Hobgoblins, etc... and Dark Elves... just pawns of a far more villainous evil. Cthulian by nature... these are the stuff of real nightmares... they are coming to eat your brain... after they steal your mind and turn everyone against you.

I look forward to setting D100 players against them... and their plots for multiversal domination...



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Classic Fantasy Expert Set - TDM501
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Xamoxis' Cleansing
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 12/24/2016 13:13:38

A nice brief scenario set in the world of Anathaym's Saga but easily adaptable to any fantasy world with a river and some cities next to it. Some indications are given to place the scenario in the world of Thennla or The Realm, but it could be used very well in Glorantha or even in Ancient Egypt.

It contains all the needed stats for NPCs. The best part is the tough decisions PCs will have to make and the consequences of these decisions that will spawn new adventures. I really hope The Design Mechanism keeps publishing these short monthly scenarios for Mythras.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Xamoxis' Cleansing
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Mythic Rome
par Asen G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 10/26/2016 06:14:32

Excellent, well-researched product! And unlike Mythic Britain, it focuses more on the Rome part, and less on the Mythic - though the mythic is clearly present, too. It just gives enough info that you could feel the athmosphere of the times. Great job, Design Mechanism!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Mythic Rome
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
par David M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 10/15/2016 10:34:43

This item was a supplement and expansion for the RuneQuest 6 and RuneQuest Essentials rules. For those you can now read Mythras and Mythras Imperative but you will need one or the other set to run a Luther Arkwright game. I haven’t played RuneQuest 6 itself but have been running games for my RPG group for some time using the Legend rules, and am now in the process of switching over to Mythras. All these rules are closely connected and if you enjoy one ruleset you will like the others. To my mind they represent some of the best rules out there, balancing ease of understanding with a wide ranging ability to cover most any situation gamers and game masters can come up with. Luther Arkwright continues with and builds upon that excellent tradition. I was ignorant of Luther Arkwright before reading these rules and bought them because, when I queried with the good people at the Design Mechanism that while Mythras Imperative contains some basics for a sci-fi game, the main Mythras rules don’t build on this as they are solidly in the sword and sorcery tradition, they suggested Luther Arkwright as one way of using the Mythras rules for a sci-fi RPG.

With Luther Arkwright you have on the one hand the main premise of that game setting itself, your player characters travel between parallel dimensions as Valhalla agents, all alternative versions of our Earth, battling the evil Disruptors, who seek to destroy the multiverse. The rules set out in a clear manner how to create such characters and how to create the various alternative versions of 1980s earth, with an excellent summary of the two Bryan Talbot graphic novels in which Luther appears. The alternate worlds may vary from primitive, through modern to futuristic, with a strong bias towards steampunk. This means that players can enjoy a variety of very different settings within a single campaign. As has been already noted by others this is a version of Dr Who without any of the worries about time paradoxes. But the real beauty of this supplement is that because it is a toolbox for creating many different worlds you could use it without the Luther Arkwright campaign setting itself at all. Use this supplement to develop a Mythras steampunk, contemporary or sci-fi campaign of your own. Almost any type of world is conceivable if you are willing to put the work into it. Currently I’m using the supplement to design a spacefaring campaign for my group but I may be tempted to try a Valhalla Project campaign in the future. Overall this supplement is excellent, extending the RuneQuest/Legend/Mythras rules into a wide range of new campaign settings.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Ships & Shield Walls
par Kaden S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 07/30/2016 12:37:15

Once again DM has done it. They somehow peeped into my tastes and pulled out exactly what I wanted despite me not knowing the form of my dream. The ships section is fantastic, and useful for the Mythras rules, adding another layer to the gameplay. The Battlefield rules are, to me, the pinnacle of what can be done with an immersive battle between factions in your worlds.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Ships & Shield Walls
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Mythras Imperative
par Kyle B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/24/2016 12:41:08

Mythras Imperative is a short, yet complete, compilation of the ruleset for Mythras (RuneQuest 6). While I have yet to play a session with it, the PDF appears fairly complete with rules for character creation, character advancement, skill checks/challenges, combat, equipment, and NPC enemies. Obviously a lot is missing, but that's the point of a sample document. It is an ambitious attempt to create a general rule set that can be played across a variety of settings, giving GMs and players the details necessary for fantasy/medieval, modern, and post modern settings. I enjoyed the crunch of the system that also allowed for a great deal of player fiat and flexibility. For example, the "classes" are simply general tropes that players and GMs can call whatever they'd like (i.e. your physician can be a doctor, herbalist, medicine man, etc. depending upon your setting or desired character backgrounds, yet all have the same skills).

The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that there were one or two missing tables that were referenced within the document. For example, the weapons section mentions a Force rating for certain weapons (no, not Star Wars style force), and yet the Force Table that is referenced is no where to be found. Also, while magic is mentioned, there is no specific section outlining some of how magic works. Obviously I'm not looking for an indepth section as this is a teaser document, but simply a few paragraphs giving guidance as to how many magic points certain spells may cost, their damage amounts, etc. Yes, there is the challenge of creating a broad system for GMs to make up any setting they want, but a small amount of guidance could go a long way here.

Over all, great document and good introduction to the Mythras system and d100 roleplaying in general.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Mythras Imperative
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Classic Fantasy - TDM500
par Steve P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/22/2016 12:05:33

At first glance this work would seem to be just another addition to the growing number of games that seek to recapture the magic of the first wave of Table top RPGs while fixing the frustrating inconsistencies and rules that just didn’t feel right. The author is very clear about this in his blurb, and true to his word there is plenty to ring the bells of fond memory for those whose memories go back that far. However, there is more to this book than just another re-write of early D&D. This is a keenly honed, well-crafted, thoroughly considered work whose individual parts are as worthy of attention as the collected whole. The inspiration for this work is clearly D&D, in all of its iterations from the very start to second edition. It is not a slavish re-write, instead it cherry picks flavourful ideas and throws them liberally into the mix. Cavaliers and thief acrobats make their return from the obscurity of 1st Edition AD&D supplements, while Bards and specialist Magic Users (note Magic Users, not wizards) come from the more familiar 2nd Edition and Baldur’s Gate. Classic monsters and spells are also included, sometimes but not always renamed. Most of the old races and classes are there, ready for pre-loved characters from decades ago to breathe new life and seek out new glory. While the outward appearance is that of vintage D&D, this is a supplement for Mythras/RQ6. All the mechanics of play are drawn from the host rules except for a few tweaks and clarifications. And it works well. Mythras does what it does best; combat that is not too far removed from real experience, skills that are open to everyone to learn and master, internally consistent mechanics that can both universal in approach but specific in detail. Classic Fantasy provides the familiar simple to identify heroic architypes and tropes that let you have a bit of not to serious honest fun. There are also some useful ideas that can be cribbed for any 1d100/ BRP games. There are spot rules that can be lifted to replace or extend existing rules. There are rules for miniatures and/or playing on a square grid. There are new monsters, which are always welcome, and supporting wandering monster tables. There is a chapter on loot and magic items which is also welcome. There is a settings chapter with an interesting take on how to approach deities in a pantheon. It is fair to say that these are not the complete set of rules, the GM should really have a copy of Mythras/RQ6. Also the are places where it does feel a bit thin, for example more spells would be handy but it’s a very fair price for what you get. There is promise of another supplement and there is plenty there to get you going and give you enough of an idea of how you may go about adapting and incorporating anything you feel is badly missing. If it has piqued your interest enough to have read this far then it is certainly worth a look.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Mythras Imperative
par Michael S. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/18/2016 14:30:02

This is an excellent introduction to Mythras, the Game Formerly Known as Runequest 6th Edition. But it’s more than just an introduction or quickstart, it’s a complete and playable game in its own right. It is streamlined compared to the full game, and lacks the many of its subsystems (magic, organizations, spirits, and most of the creature rules, for example), but it contains all the rules you need to play.

If you want to know what the core game is like, read the reviews for Runequest 6. In brief, it’s a very elegant game that fades into the background, encourages dramatic roleplaying, while also having the best combat ruleset of any RPG in my opinion. It was developed by a practitioner of medieval european martial arts, and you can tell. While playing you feel the crunch of every blow and the desperation of fighting against the odds, while also allowing for quick turnabout and moments of glory amid the gore. It has tremendous tactical depth, but because it’s throughly concrete and details what is physically happening, rather than abstracting it into numbers, it turns every combat encounter into an in-character roleplaying scene in its own right.

It’s a great game, and I highly recommend you check it out.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Mythras Imperative
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Mythras Imperative
par James G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/16/2016 12:13:42

Mythras Imperative is the new "RuneQuest 6 Essentials" this time a significantly abridged version of the full Mythras rules, which as of writing has not yet been published. Although Imperative is only 32 pages I noticed that with the new approach to layout the word count seems to have roughly doubled(!) on a typical page, it looks great. (Edit: it's actually about 1/3 more dense)

The implied setting for Mythras Imperative is wider than an ancient setting and includes things like firearms and high tech armour. Character creation takes up about half the book and is pretty close to the previous RuneQuest Essentials but this time abridged and condensed. Passions have been moved up into character creation and look like more like part of the core rules. The rules here do not cover the magic systems and the creature listing is much reduced, making me think of what kind of an adventure you could run ..."A Bear, a Lizardman and a Xenomorph walk into a bar...they had a lovely night out". The creature listing is clearly there to just give an idea of how different creatures work.

The overall impression is that Imperative has been designed as a taster that will get you started but is not going to give you enough to run more than a one shot or a a short run of adventures. It reminds me a little of the original introduction to 'basic roleplaying' booklet included with RuneQuest 2 although that was not much more than basic character generation, how skills work and the combat system. Imperative is a compressed but impressive sampler for the new Mythras system. It would be possible to use Imperative solely with TDM's Classic Fantasy which effectively replaces a lot of the Mythras core rules with its' own variant. If you want the full character gen and skills, the 5 magic systems, creatures, equipment, cults & brotherhoods you will have to get the full Mythras rules.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
par Robert A. P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/22/2016 12:39:41

Great material to search details for game in. Amazing mechanic and overall ideal for both those who plan to make their own world and look only for mechanics or those who want to have world base as well.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Classic Fantasy - TDM500
par Brian P. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/20/2016 10:20:46

I'm definitely an old-school gamer from the late 70s early 80s, and a nostalgic one at that. While I moved on from D&D a long time ago to explore different game systems, RuneQuest has always held a special place in my heart. Now called Mythras, this system is flexible yet crunchy, and allows for a wide variety of player and GM inventiveness and imagination.

Classic Fantasy satiates my nostalgia for the old days of fighting orcs and kobolds, whether in a dungeon or a town invasion, but updates it to the modern Mythras system. I've already pulled out some items for my current game, and will probably run a full Classic Fantasy game in the near future. This is a solid book, chock-full of goodies, and if you're not a D&D player, it makes access to that world very easy for you.

Another solid supplement from The Design Mechanism and highly recommended!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Classic Fantasy Preview
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/04/2016 12:31:10

This looks to be an exciting entry into the RuneQuest 6/Mythras supplement pool. It is a preview, but shows a lot of potential for old school gaming using the modern ruleset. I'll definitely be getting the full version when it comes out!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Classic Fantasy Preview
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 59 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1  2  3  4  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates