DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
RuneQuest 6th Edition
by Robert A. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 12:39:41

Great material to search details for game in. Amazing mechanic and overall ideal for both those who plan to make their own world and look only for mechanics or those who want to have world base as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Fantasy - TDM500
by Brian P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2016 10:20:46

I'm definitely an old-school gamer from the late 70s early 80s, and a nostalgic one at that. While I moved on from D&D a long time ago to explore different game systems, RuneQuest has always held a special place in my heart. Now called Mythras, this system is flexible yet crunchy, and allows for a wide variety of player and GM inventiveness and imagination.


Classic Fantasy satiates my nostalgia for the old days of fighting orcs and kobolds, whether in a dungeon or a town invasion, but updates it to the modern Mythras system. I've already pulled out some items for my current game, and will probably run a full Classic Fantasy game in the near future. This is a solid book, chock-full of goodies, and if you're not a D&D player, it makes access to that world very easy for you.


Another solid supplement from The Design Mechanism and highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Fantasy Preview
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 12:31:10

This looks to be an exciting entry into the RuneQuest 6/Mythras supplement pool. It is a preview, but shows a lot of potential for old school gaming using the modern ruleset. I'll definitely be getting the full version when it comes out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Classic Fantasy Preview
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2016 17:16:18

This preview gives pages from the coming book. No two pages together, so while you get the idea of the game - D&D played with the Runquest rules - it isn't enough to let you try them out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 13:06:57

I loved Hawk of May by Gillian Bradshaw when I was a teenager. Her books brought Arthurian Britiain to life, and so does this. This is an excellent supplement using a brilliant set of rules. If you want something beautifully crafted and great to play get this and the RQ6 rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest 6th Edition
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 13:01:35

Runequest Vikings was one of my all time favourites growing up, I still have,my original set! Rq6 nails it. The rules are excellent. The combat is deadly and very realistic (believe me I know, I teach medieval combat). I ran a Viking session as an intended one off to test the new rules...I have now run 5 sessions on the trot at the request of the players, and am writing every evening. This is good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Britain
by Jeremy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 16:20:23

For the most part a really solid sourcebook for 5th-6th century Britain, though its treatment of Christianity is an eye roller that reads like it was written by an aging hippie Wiccan, and presents the least historical verisimilitude of any subject in the book (you can't make pretenses of being the "historical" Arthur RPG and then repeatedly describe first-millennium Christianity as "fundamentalist"—fundamentalism being a reaction to modernism, and completely anachronistic in the setting). I'll definitely be pulling tons of good stuff from it!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest Essentials
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2015 22:50:50

I bought the hardback full book and picked this up later for my players to put on their tablets during play (since it's PWYW). There's only one possible rating for RQ6 and that's at the very top. While the huge book is a kitchen sink full of stuff, much of it is the world building and non-essential things to getting in and playing, this has just what you need. In terms of a free product to get you playing, Essentials is an excellent start and you could probably play RQ for years without needing the main book and looking at the bestiary, a lot of the old Glorantha stuff as well.


System-wise there are lots of things I like, and two things I really like about RQ6. First is the detailed and fast combat which gives players the opportunity to make very interesting choices while still resolving quickly. There's a lot to it, but essentially you roll the dice and see what happens and (except for magic) there's not a ton of stuff on people's sheets to distract them from the story. Note that the combat has been described as 'deadly' but what that means is it can resolve quickly with someone defeated. The way the system works is that not all (or even any) fights need to end in death or dismemberment depending on your style of game. The second thing is that, except for the magic systems, the rest of the game is quite simple to run and adjudicate all sorts of different checks and tasks and all that other stuff. Character creation can take a bit longer than your OSR games or Numenera, but probably on par with 5E or 13th Age in terms of time spent creating characters.


The two magic systems, Folk Magic and Theism, are ones you will use the most as players. If there was one omission for me here as a GM it would be Sorcery because that's what the bad guys use!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
by Anthony B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2015 03:02:23

Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels, is a campaign setting guide and expansion for RuneQuest 6th Edition. RuneQuest by the Design Mechanism is one of the finest toolkits for fantasy campaign design that I have ever had the pleasure to read and use. Focused on a bronze age with a variety of magical and mystical elements, a creative GM can turn it to emulate virtually anything they might want from primitive levels of technology on up to the personal use of steel.


With Luther Arkwright in hand, the GM's creative reach has now been expanded across time and genre to reach to star-faring cultures from the birth of the Industrial Age, taking on whatever aspects of SF and Fantasy you might like along the way.


As inspiration, guide, template, and exciting setting in its own right, the dimensions of Bryan Talbot's graphic novels showing the exploits of the titular character and his fellow agents against the machinations of the Disruptors across infinite parallels of existence are presented in spell-binding and complete detail.


If you are looking for a compelling and challenging setting to use as is, or looking for a toolkit for invention, SF, psychic powers, dimensional travel, modern or futuristic combat, or some mixture of them all this book may be the answer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Britain Preview: Caves of the Circind
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2015 12:16:54

Have not played it yet, but it looks classy and extremely well thought out. Reminiscent of the excellent novels by Gillian Bradshaw with. Hawk of may (the central character is the hero of this supplement). Excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain Preview: Caves of the Circind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest Essentials
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2015 12:12:38

After I got this I felt a bit guilty that I didn't pay more. Hi standard and well thought out. Can be easy go get lost when choosing and adding percentiles to skills. Character sheet would do with the little symbols they use on d and d sheets to show what you have picked. Beautiful cover and a lot of value for a pay what you want product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest Essentials
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

RuneQuest Essentials
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2015 20:23:52

I really did like Runequest when it first came out. Unfortunately they took a good clean design, and added rules for everything. Then took out the original setting for a generic fantasy. And added yet more rules. This edition seems to have reverted to the same era as the original.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
by Douglas N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2015 10:40:47

I picked this up after getting the Essentials version. It's not often that I can pick up a free version that fits the bill for 3 campaigns I had in my head, and then decide that I need the full version at $25 (pdf)


RQ6 is a great system. RQ is old, and the last time I played it was more than 20 years ago. Honestly, it felt like they decided to do 20 years of patch revisions to make the system better, not new. That I really appreciate. That means most all of the mechanics are fully baked, and things have been thought out. The book has nice sidebars talking about some of them.


Despite it's apparent complexity, it's actually a relatively simple system. Combat is nuanced, surprisingly fast, surprisingly deadly, and interesting, and real choices have to be made with weapons - damage, reach, defensiveness, unique abilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
RuneQuest 6th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Island
by Steve P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2015 17:01:05

This is excellent. Well written and interesting. Useable in many different ways...as a monster manual, an adventure site and a fantastic source of inspiration for your games, even if you don't use the Runequest system. For intelligent, thought provoking roleplaying...This is how it should be done. Thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Britain Preview: Caves of the Circind
by Will R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2014 15:27:51

As a fan of both RuneQuest 6 and Bernard Cornwell's Warlord Trilogy, Mythic Britain is everything I could want out of a game and this is my first taste of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain Preview: Caves of the Circind
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates