DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hostile Intent: Akula
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2016 18:45:57

This is a cool, well-thought out designed bad guy for your V&V game. The inclusion of Plot Seeds, along with notes on Personality and Tactics really fleshes it all out, making this a very solid investment of your 99 pennies. Get it, and encourage more cool indie stuff for V&V.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hostile Intent: Akula
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS Revised Edition
by Brian K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 10:39:33

System really captures the feel of a comic book, with players trying nw ideas and the system being flexible enough to handle comic physics! Quick character creation, with enough rules to be functional but space for the players to really define their characters. Pick it up, throw some dice.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enemy Strike File: Der Jager (Mutants & Masterminds)
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 05:31:33

Second in the M&M series of character transfers from the Icon system, this issue continues to populate a super-world by detailing Der Jager, a hunter of men. The character starts out hunting terrorists (for money for those who like their villains motives black and white) and finds a thrill in hunting human prey. Equipped with suitable weaponry he decides to set up elaborate “games” where his target will be given a chance, all be it a slim one, to “earn” their continued existence, by proving themselves a worth prey. The hunt is his motive and he will target hard targets such as the heroes as well as other criminals and of course his services are for sale provided the hunt can provide a suitable challenge.

This is a well thought out hunter character, the artwork of De Jager is excellent (though I'm not as fond of the artwork for his wolf Loki I'm afraid), has links into the Earth-Prime Universe such as being an enemy of Raven and comes with a series of suitable plots, quotes and traits that work well for the character. Der Jager's PL 10 build is appropriate as a foil for your Batman-type hero or possibly de-powered superhero on an individual basis or as part of a team who would take on a group of heroes by dividing them up to try and conquer.

Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enemy Strike File: Der Jager (Mutants & Masterminds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enemy Strike File: Permafrost (Mutants and Masterminds)
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2015 10:57:12

Originally released as an original Icons build, first thing to note is that Permafrost includes a herolab file (which should be considered the standard these days) even though the producer fails to mention that in the main blurb.

The package details a fairly basic ice-based character whose origin is just as basic "former research scientist, who was conducting cryogenic research, when a lab accident caused his equipment to explode, covering him with a strange brew of experimental chemicals."

That isn't a problem as it makes it very easy to adapt the character to fit your gaming universe and what I especially liked was that he was German not American - I know its only a small matter to change the country of origin but its nice to see the beginnings of a world being detailed.

Artwork consists just the one image - reprinted three times, the character details such as origin, combat tactics, personality & character traits (predictably cold and calculating) Quote and plot seed (not quotes and plot seeds when only one of each is offered) and the character sheet for a PL10 character.

This is very much a what you see is what you get with this first M&M3e strike file and that is not a bad thing. I really look forward to see what else is produced by them in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Enemy Strike File: Permafrost (Mutants and Masterminds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The A.D.E.L. File
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2015 16:23:03

This is a terrific product with high production standards - good writing, editing and art, and some really great ideas! Well worth the cost!

I will be using a lot of the advantages, disadvantages, enhancements and limitations in my games. And I especially like the rules for Relics! Top Notch, Hazard Studios!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The A.D.E.L. File
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Supervillains (SUPERS!)
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 02:06:34

This is a collection of supervillains (plus Bug) with dynamic vivid characterization and description that more than make up for my lack of knowledge of what the stats mean. I have no idea how I came to buy it but having read it, I'm satisfied I got a good product. Although, seriously guys, Adonis is the Greek god of beauty. It's also nice that all of the villains come with with enemies in their backstories to help fill out the universe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supervillains (SUPERS!)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS! Revised Edition Judge's Screen
by Steve R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2015 16:55:56

Just what I wanted from a GM screen for this great little game. Given that the game is fairly rules light, you might think there wasn't much call for a screen. I'm happy to say that the screen admirably captures all of the necessary tables and then uses the remaining space to provide something really useful, summarised versions of the archetype characters from the game. I have a feeling that this will be a very useful resource when you need to call up some enemies on the fly. The artwork is familiar from the covers of the game and looks really nice when dropped into the customisable GM screen. All in all, great value and just what I wanted from a screen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Revised Edition Judge's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS Revised Edition
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2014 17:44:42
Originally on my blog: http://scriptogr.am/sbr/post/supers-red

Disclaimer: A look at Supers RED without having played it.

2014 is a good year for superhero-roleplaying fans with a new edition of Icons RPG, the release of Valiant Universe RPG and the upcoming releases of Worlds in Peril, Extreme Earth Superhero Campaign Setting and probably other games I'm not aware of.

One of the new titles for this year is the revised edition of Supers!, a game originally written by Simon Washbourne from Beyond Belief Games. The copyright is now in the hands of Hazard Studios who successfully crowdfunded the new edition via kickstarter.

The original game

The first Supers! is a superb lightweight game which focusses on narrative play. Its strength is the simple but robust d6 mechanic. Characters are well-rounded. They are created with stats for Resistances, Aptitudes (skills) and Powers. You have the option to take advantages or disadvantages to customize your character. Powers are personalized with Power Boosts or Power Complications. Furthermore, the game is very versatile. For attacks you can either use your Powers or Aptitudes. For defending you choose between using a Power or a Resistance with the caveat that you can't defend with the same attribute in the same round. This makes a very dynamic gameplay though it's narrative core doesn't make it a tactical game. Also, you can combine superpowered characters of different power levels using the Competency Pool. If you build a character with a lower power level, the difference in the power level grants you Competency Dice which are a bit like Fate Points as they grant you narrative control. Another strength of the game is the ease of creating mooks and hazards for the GM. However, the first edition needs some rules clarifications and gameplay examples. Also the layout and artwork is barebones. At last, it is lacking some extra/optional rules for vehicles, bases and others stuff.

Now: Revised Edition!

Enter Supers! Revised: 164 full-colour pages, either in PDF, softcover or hardcover (via Print on Demand). There is much more material: more powers, combat maneuvers, rules for using vehicles, creating bases, a bestiary and a slew of optional rules like dice caps, the Wild Die, use of miniatures, a random character generator and more. Generally, the game is more well-rounded.

Chapter 1 is a short introduction.

Chapter 2 explains how to play the game. Yes, that's before character creation. The chapter begins with explaining the dice mechanic (d6s) and the character sheet. Competency Dice are of note here. They are described in a lot more detail than in the first edition and are more powerful. You can now use them to modfiy rolls, perform Power Stunts, reuse attributes and more. Strangely, Mooks are already explained at this instance. This choice is a bit odd as character generation is handled in Chapter Three. Furthermore, Mooks are a GM device and I would have expected them in the GM chapter. (Where you can find them, too and in greater detail! Still, very unexpected to see them beforehand.) So, Chapter 2 gives you all the good stuff, from performing actions like opposed checks, attacking, defending, combat maneuvers and ends with a nicely written example of play. When you make a test, you roll a number of six-siders according to your attributes score. These are the same as in the original game: 4 Resistances (Composure, Fortitude, Reaction, Will), Aptitudes (i.e. Academia, Presence, Technology...) or one of your Powers. There are some clever rule changes from the first edition. Successful rolls (also: damage rolls) are now handled with a "more than 6"-mechanic. If you succed by more than six you achieve a Major Success, more than twelve is a Superior Success and so forth. The game includes a handy chart. This makes the gameplay even faster as comparisons are one of the quickest methods of task resolution. (In the first edition, damage rolls were like this: suceed by up to x2 in your attack against the target's defence = 1D damage, up to x3 = 2 D damage etc.) Fighting works more or less like opposed checks: you roll against the defense of your target.

Chapter Three is about character creation (finally!). You begin with a character concept, background and origins. The game mentions some archetypes you'll find in many superheroes universes. For instance: The Battlesuit who gains his abilites from powerful armour. Mechanically, characters are build with a point-buy-method. Starting characters normally get a pool of 20D. This gives you street-level heroes. The GM can adjust the power level by modifying the creation dice pool. Aptitudes are broad skill categories like "Investigation", "Athleticism", "Military". Because they are mundane and not super-powered there's a dice cap on using these. I think this is a clever choice. The logic behind it is explained in a sidebar. Despite the dice cap Aptitudes are useful. A high roll on 3D can beat a low roll of 5D but mimicks the difference between a martial arts artist vs. a hero using her superpower. Next up is Powers, the meat of the show. I won't get into detail, suffice to say they are waaaay more options than in the original game. A cursory glance tells me that you will be able to build most of the iconic heroes you know from commercial universes. If you're interested, there's a thread at rpg.net where you can find some character write-ups (and more). Boosts make Powers more effective, for instance the boost "Area Effect". Each boost costs 1 D. Complications are the exact opposite. They give you additional dice to spend on other things. Examples for Complications include "Always On", "Conditional" or "Limited Use". The last part of character creation is choosing Advantages and/or Disadvantages. Edges like "Allies", "Base of Operations", "Supers Vehicle" or "Attractive" begin with a dice cost of 1D. You can use Disadvantages to buy them off, normally each one costs 1D, too. There's the standard stuff like "Bad Luck", "Enemy", "Poor". The chapter continues with a write-up of Character Archetypes. These are ready-made characters build with a dice pool of 20D. You can use them as templates for own heroes or the GM may use them for villains. I really like this part as it gives you a feel for the game and is just a nifty tool for players and GMs alike. Each character comes with a portrait. Chapter Three ends with an example of character creation.

Chapter Four is the Judge's Guide. The Judge is obviously the Gamemaster. :-) Setting target numbers is explained. Furthermore, the authors shine light on creating Mooks and Henchmen. This is where Supers! shines. It is really easy to create NPCs. Mooks just have a Mook Rating and maybe some Qualities such as a flock of Pterodactyls (4D, Qualites: Flight). Henchmen are one step up the ladder from Mooks but are easy to build as well. The book also gives advice on how to convert Henchmen to Mooks and vice versa. Likewise included is a small bestiary and some sample vehicles. If the GM wants to throw some elemental challenges at the party, he can do so via the rules for Hazards. Earthquakes, wildfires and other perils can threaten citizens of your universe and provide some change from fights against supervillains. Chapter Four also gives tips on how to run campaigns and ends with the rules for Advancement. These are divided into Minor and Major Achievements. Minor Advancements as completing the adventure but failing a main conflict grant Temporary Comeptency Dice. These can be spend during the next adventure. Taking part in very adventure during a story arc is an example for a Major Achievement. This gives you normal Competency Dice which you can use to increase attributes, purchase boosts etc. There are also some setting dials for death in the game, ranging from more pulpy to grim & gritty.

Optional Rules include just that.

Appendix 1 is a glossary of terms.

Appendix 2 explains how to use minis in your game. I think it's good to include those rules although I would not make personal use of them.

Appendix 3 is a random character generator.

The book ends with summaries (handy!), an index and several examples for character sheets.

The layout is simple and functional. Mostly it's two columns but the authors made good use of bold text, coloured boxes and tables. The artwork is a mixed bag. While the cover looks great some of the interior artwork is more on the level of a good amateur. Furthermore, even the more professional looking pictures are mostly very dark which doesn't look good in my POD softcover. For the most part I'm not happy with the quality of my print edition. The paper flutes because of the colour bleed. It would have been better to print on thicker (premium?) paper.

TL; DR

In the past I tended to favour BASH! Ultimate Edition over Supers!. BASH is a bit more tactical and while still being rules-lite it has lots of options and has clever rules. Nowadays, I'm hard pressed to decide between those two as Supers! has caught up in terms of "completeness of the game" and customizing options. Task resolution is easier than in BASH so that speaks for Supers!.

Supers! Revised manages to expand and clarify the game rules while retaining the flavour and the strengths of the first edition. If you like lightweight superhero games with a robust system and a narrative approach this is a must-buy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS! Quick Start
by Joseph W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2014 13:12:29

I'm a long-time Hero System fan, but I've been looking for something simpler that still provides the flavor of superhero comics. Looks like I've found it! This one-shot scenario gave me the info I needed in order to figure out if this was going to work for my group. Looks like I'm going to need to order the full rulebook!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Quick Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS Revised Edition
by Ryan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2014 18:05:25

I was late to the SUPERS! party, only learning of the system during the RED Kickstarter. Up until now, I've been a Mutants and Masterminds kind of guy, but no longer! While I still love me some M&M, SUPERS! allows for nearly the same level of character customization while staying lean, versatile, and simple to use at the table.

The layout of the book is excellent and easy to follow, and the imagery evokes my favorite superheroes (Shadowhawk even makes an appearance as a tribute!). Visually, there isn't anything keeping one from picking this up; it's as good a book as could be made, and much better than the shoddy productions of many other superhero game books produced by small presses and indie designers.

Since I received the pre-release version, I've been actively participating on their forums, building my favorite '90's comic book characters. Character creation is actually fun in this game, unlike the arithmetic practice other superhero games require.

This has been run at my table with great success, and will be again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS Revised Edition
by Scott P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2014 15:10:12

This game provides an excellent mix of detail and easy play. Based off of the old West End Games Star Wars D6 system, it offers some nifty innovations for super-heoric play and scales pretty well from street level heroes all the way up to cosmic threats.

Clean layout and loads of options make chargen a breeze and a pleasure. You can pretty much build exactly the hero or villain you want. Rules mechanisms exist to allow Batman/Superman types to exist in the same session without the mega-powerful character totally outshining his non-powered teammates.

GM's can tailor the game's lethality to their liking, and plenty of other optional rules exist to allow groups to create the sort of comic feel that's right for them.

We've made dozens of Marvel characters using these rules and been very please with the outcomes.

The game also contains a nifty index that makes the rules miniature or counter friendly--a great asset to folks who want to resolve combats on the grid! If you're looking for a supers game with mid-level crunch and excellent presentation, SUPERS! Rev. Ed. should make the top of your list!

--Scott



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2014 09:22:54

As a long time fan of the SUPERS! system, SUPERS! Revised Edition is a light-year advance. Rules have been strutured and orgainized in a manner that greatly clarifies their execution and the numerous examples only enhance the user's understanding of the depth that this system can provide. Addition of random character development rules provides a nice and quick means of opponent generation. For us old school "cardbord counter and hex board" folks, the addtional rules on miniature play were icing on the top of a great game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS Revised Edition
by Scott N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2014 13:16:08

I like the game, its nice and simple but the lack of any real villains and the ability to get a POD of the book kinda leaves it as a secondary system too me so far. The layout and read so far seems overall nicely done but as far as a go to game for super heroes, well untill I can get a hard copy book in my hands it makes it difficult to use at the table as a pdf for that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zenith Comics Presents: Supervillains (ICONS)
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2013 12:49:54

This was a very solid product for the ICONS Superhero RPG. I know, I've been collecting them like mad recently, but this was a rare find which I felt I had to comment on. I could not have been more pleased with the product, especially for the price. The e-file consists of a description and history, a good illustration or two, as well as the needed ICONS statistic block for ten very interesting and varried characters. (Oh, eleven. I forgot they included a certain DC Bug ripoff.) They even include standees and proportional character squares as well as square markers for shadows and ice especially for two of their characters. These characters were easily the equal of most of the ICONS own published characters with the one exception that the illustrations were not quite as slick, though they were still very Silver Age in their vibrant color scheme. The illustrations provided were very fine for the product, though. This wasn't a bad detraction for me just a notable difference between the lines.

Spoilers ahead. I'm going to hint upon a few of the characters I thought were interesting. They have an adorably huge gargoyle... you can see a Frankenstien episode welling up in his eyes. They have a creepy charater similar to Cloak from Cloak and Dagger. They include the best stats I have yet seen for an ICONS werewolf. Oh and my favorite. They have this hulking badguy with mechanics where he gets a 'high' and physically heals by inflicting damage on people. Just imagine for a moment how fun such a badguy would be to play. What kind of fun things would a superpowered, tweaked off bully have to say while hes tossing around heroes with a Strength of 9? "Fore." I hate his illustration, ugly tights, so I'd have to give him a different description but keep the bloody skull symbol on his chest... probably painted on by his own hand Joker style. See now why you have to have this product for the mere price of a dollar.

I looked over the Hazard Studio line, it seems they are supporting several superheroe rpg systems, including their own called SUPERS! as well as V&V and BASH! I hope they release more ICONS material. I would buy anything else they published along these same lines and price range. Keep up the wonderful work, Zenith Comics and Hazard Studio.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Zenith Comics Presents: Supervillains (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SUPERS! Quick Start
by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2013 12:42:20

Doesn't seem to hard to play or GM. Some very simple rules, comes with a few pre-gen characters all ready to go for the trial scenario provided in the quick start. Seems like a very open system that allows for some open game play fun. Reminds me of Mutants and Masterminds.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Quick Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates