DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
(5E) Expanded Options #02 - Monster Lore Skill for 5th Edition Fantasy
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2016 19:07:08

This is something our group has struggled with now and then because this isn't really handled in any of the core books. I like the match ups between monster type and skill and I really like the table that describes how having a better success on the skill check gives more information. On the other hand, I think the class affinity seem a little forced. Almost as if they were trying to find something for every class to be good at. Our group is more likely to grant the affinity bonus more on whether the individual character can justify it... for example, a fey patron warlock has good reason to know more about fey.


All in all though, it's a far better approach to the issue than what is currently in the core books.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) Expanded Options #02 - Monster Lore Skill for 5th Edition Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello there and thank you for the review! One of the great things about Sidebars is that they are just discussions between you and I trying to hash out a rule and make it work for your group. It seems like this one did the trick! If you have any questions just ask!
Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds)
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 13:37:31

I just picked up all your cover/page backgrounds.
I like them and give them 4/5 stars. The only reason I did not give 5/5 was that each pack is missing one page type. There are lefts, rights, and dual pages but there are none that are 4 border pages or a top/bottom border pages. Basically If you want to use these with MS Word you have issues. MS word (that I know of) will not allow me to alternate backgrounds so I want one background that I can use for the whole production.


art quality-wise these are all 5/5 items well worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hey there friend! You are right regarding Microsoft Word not having a \"master page\" option so that you can use the alternating background. You may want to consider investing in Microsoft Publisher (if you need to use the Microsoft Suite) which allows master pages. Or if you have access to InDesign then you should be good to go. We are glad that you like the art! Rick works his butt off to make these things that WE want to use and make them usable to just about everyone. Hope they work out for you! Best of luck in all that you do! Troy Daniels Fat Goblin Games Project Manager
Call to Arms: Mantles of Power
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/25/2015 07:42:16

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of Fat Goblin Games' Call to Arms series is a massive, huge beast of 94 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 88 pages of content - that's A LOT, so let's take a look, shall we?


Okay, we begin this installment of Call to Arms with a breakdown of what mantles are. Sounds strange? Well, it quite frankly shouldn't be considered to be strange. Think about it - there is more to a mantle than just the cloth and material from which it was woven - as the pdf aptly demonstrates, wearing a mantle can denote more than just "the wearer is protected from the weather" - in real world history, mantles have often been used to denote status and ultimately, power. Sheer, brutal, in your face POWER - whether religiously or by the grace of the kings, a gorgeous mantle had its own weight, a kind of symbolic capital. Now picture what happens in a world where such options actually carry significance beyond the realms of the symbolic, a world wherein faith can literally move mountains and where authority can literally break the will of others - aye, there is untapped potential here!


Similarly, there are armored mantles, but more on those later - for now, let us focus on mantles vested in authority - thus, we have ranks like acolytes, civilian commanders, scholars and the like - all covered, with respective boons associated with the mantles. This is brilliant not due to the respective mechanical relevance, but due to the social relevance and the sense of immersion it enhances; basically, we have items that enhance a world's inherent consistency here, with fluff, titles, etc. all there for your convenience.


Of course, this is not simply a book devoted to such prestige-mantles - we get concise tables of spell-level by class prices for mantles alongside a concise, easy to grasp break down of Item Creation of mantles. Obviously, specific magic mantles can be found within these pages as well - including cursed mantles and intelligent mantles...oh, and yes, mythic mantles - like the Lien of the Night-King...but what about the eponymous mantles of power?


You see, here, things become interesting indeed: A mantle is not necessarily only a physical vestment of authority - it has a symbolic dimension: We do speak of the proverbial mantle of authority for a reason. The pdf's mantles of powers can be pictured as basically an item-based mini-template, as a kind of story-reward beyond what regular items would provide - and as such, their massive benefits do come with a hefty responsibility - and a CR-adjustment...as well as a "Geis," for said power comes at a price...and requires investiture by a powerful being. Think of the mantles of power as particularly powerful emergences (See Imperiums CS), for example. Basically, these complex, exceedingly powerful mantles denote you as "the chosen one", the champion of a deity, etc. and similarly, such power can also be used for antagonists: What if there are beings that successfully take the mantles of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse (not the writers!)? And yes, these mantles actually sport several abilities that interact with one another, allowing the wearers to consecrate weapons with their dread powers and tie them to their powerful tricks...and even better, there are ALTERNATE HORSEMEN mantles here as well...like anarchy or majesty, to give you two examples.


Oh, and have I mentioned the war of the seasons and the fey courts? Here, things become full-blown campaign setting/AP-style detailed: Much like Dresden Files' depiction of the fey, various positions in the respective courts of the fey coincide with mantles of power - from queens/kings to heir apparent, knights and jesters, there are A LOT of mantles of powers here - for each season!


While summer and winter generally blend positions in court with suite-of-card like themes, spring and autumn have their titles aligned with opposing pieces of a chess set, sporting e.g. "rooks". It should be noted that escalating mantles of general association and those highly prestigious mantles are all covered - basically, what we have here is a massive, template-based reward-system ready for your perusal that can be considered enough fodder for a whole campaign...or many of them. The significant level of power these offer may work btw. particularly well in low/rare magic item-campaigns. The significant ability-suites could offset the mathematical problems creeping in at higher levels to a certain extent. To give you a general idea of how long these mantles' respective write-ups are: The CR+8 King of Autumn's mantle covers more than 3 pages! And yes, the vast majority of this is CRUNCH. I am not kidding when I'm saying that these mantles can govern a whole campaign worth of material---or make for unique adversaries.


Oh, and there would be neutral parties that also receive 4 mantles and the Sidhe and mocking midnight Court templates/mantles to further expand the material.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch - I noticed no significant array of glitches or issues. Layout adheres to a nice 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The pdf comes with nice full-color artworks.


Lucus Palosaari delivers essentially a bait and switch pdf - I went into this book expecting an array of magic mantles...and they're in here. But this book is so much more. The notion of mantles as a social structuring element is a brilliant "why has this not been done before?"-moment that made me cackle with glee. Obviously, I went into the mantles of power-section rather skeptical - the obvious power-increase being just nasty...but know what? This section is x campaigns and villains waiting to happen. The brilliant horsemen mantles will be wielded by champions of darkness in my game (or by the players...we'll see...) and then, there would be the fey-mantles.


Okay, let's get this out of the way: If you absolutely are not interested whatsoever in the whole war of seasons-concept, then you'll lose a significant array of pages in this book: 47 pages, to be more precise, all of which are devoted to the fey mantles-come-templates for the respective positions and they are pretty much glorious: Granted, I am a bit of a fanboy for fey politics and unique effects and the blending of mythological, pagan tropes and the crunch here is very well-crafted. Moreover, we actually get information on the otherwise often neglected spring and autumn courts and, better yet, they receive their own mechanically-unique identities. Essentially, this is a whole campaign's worth of unique rewards just waiting to happen and the investiture and geis mean that such mantles are not only hard to get...they're also hard to keep. Just think what poor Harry has to endure since he went Winter Knight...well, some geis make that look downright cute.


I've been thinking rather hard on how to rate this book - the mantles of power themselves are utterly brutal and should obviously be handled with care...and this book is more of a narrative device than an item-book...but judging this book as an item book in the straight, traditional way would quite frankly be a disservice to the inspired material contained herein. I'd rather be positively surprised and inspired to make adversaries and extensive stories than have more replacements for cloaks of resistance that end up not being used.


From the low-magic end of mantles as a sign of office and authority to the high-end fey-court intrigues, this supplement offers some truly inspired options - just don't expect a huge selection of vanilla magic mantles. That being said, this book is imho better off for its chutzpah of actually doing something radically different - hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: Mantles of Power
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astonishing Races: Grippli
by Troy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2015 11:12:00

http://malwing.blogspot.com/2015/12/rev-
iew-astonishing-races-grippli.html


We've gotten a 5 star review from Malwing! Please visit his site to see other great reviews! Below is what he wrote about Astonishing Races: Grippli! Thanks Malwing and keep checking out our other Astonishing Races!


///// Review from Malwing below \\\


When I first bought Paizo's Advanced Race Guide my wife immediately cooed at the sight of the art for gripplis. And who can blame her? The little squirts are adorable frog-men that you just want a plushie of and have the cutest name. Unfortunately as a small 6 race point creature and not much else to them, they are completely unappealing to play. Plus they have pretty much zero flavor text making them bland to boot. Well today I look at Fat Goblin Game's Astonishing Races: Grippli. I'm not sure what to expect, as I have only really seen four products from FGG, with things either being genius or terrible with nothing in between and I have yet to see how they handle underrepresented races.


The start is very promising with a much more lengthy description of the race. Seriously, there's five pages of fluff before you get to the racial traits. And the lore is very lovely detailing them as very sociable although as a result of crippling fear of loneliness. Adding to their general cuteness it makes you want to pick up and huggle the first little kermit you see.


When we get to the actual crunch we get a reiteration of grippli racial traits but also a sidebar suggesting to choose two extra Alternate Racial Traits to make them more playable which makes me happy. Interestingly the alternate racial traits come with their race point costs so that you can bring them up by the appropriate number. Like a lot of people I feel like the race creation costs are somewhat out of balance and I would never let anyone make a race from scratch due to this, so this is definitely a dangerous precedence but for the grippli alone it doesn't come off terrible with the racial traits being fairly mundane. Here I noticed a few typos (Like Vermin Hunter not making the word 'Attack' plural) but none that cause any confusion or will be noticed at first glance. Of course there are Racial Subtypes that describe types of grippli you can make using the alternate racial traits.


Grippli favored class bonuses are greatly increased in number and come with a surprise. Instead of that boring list of what the favored class bonus does there's some flavor text added. The favored class bonuses are exciting without them, and believe me they are pretty exciting, but its nice to get some flair with them.They also get an alchemist archetype, (not as exciting as the racial discoveries that come with it and boy are those a blast. One of them literally.) a Cavalier order, (Needs some Clarification to be useful.) and a Ranger Archetype, (not badly designed but nothing I would particularly take.). There are also new grippli mundane items and a monstrous mount in the form of a giant dragonfly, and new feats and traits. Most of the feats and traits are pretty mundane but some of them will make you want to roll up a grippli. The magic items, not so much although they are wonderfully written and are cute items and spells that draw out flavor. I can see these being handy for just encountering them.


The document ends with a table of random features. They have no mechanical purpose but again it's cute.


So the name of the game with this product is FLAVOR. I wanted more flavor but at some points this is way more wordy than it needs to be. This can definitely be a good thing because grippli in the base game have almost no flavor but this does mean that it's not a crunch masterpiece. It favors making grippli more adequate and worthwhile to play than loading it up with a lot of options. This isn't to say that there aren't useable options here, and really only one bit had me a bit confused as to how it worked, I'm just not jumping out of my seat to play a grippli over the crunch. I will be jumping out of my seat to play a grippli over the fluff though, which is really appealing here. As it stands the Crunch is valuable but not exciting and the fluff goes above and beyond.


As a PDF the book is ridiculously easy to navigate and is pretty and easy to read.


If you're going to play with grippli you're definitely going to want this if you want them to be playable or interesting. I rate it 5 out of 5 for bringing grippli up to a level of interest in playability that's worthwhile with very few hiccups along the way. Easily a Player Companion quality race book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Races: Grippli
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher's Choice - Creatures A to Z: Girallon
by Matthew O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2015 21:03:33

This is only 1 picture of the beast that you see. It is a nice picture. But I don't wish to spend money on a picture no lore.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Choice - Creatures A to Z: Girallon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
This is stock art, it is supposed to only be art. It is for publishers to license and use in their own products.
(5e) Expanded Options #01 - Occult Ritual Magic for 5th Edition Fantasy
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 05:23:56

This is a short (magazine article length) work detailing a handful of new rituals for 5E, as well as a new rule allowing non-ritualists to attempt ritual spells, complete with a random table of all the terrible things that can happen to those without the skill to control such complex arcane workings.


The layout is simple, clean, and professionally done, and the writing is well-organized and thoughtful. The rituals presented are not the type to see everyday use--they tend to be of specialized use. For example, Exorcism isn't commonly needed by adventurers, but the quest to find and perform the ritual could certainly be the focus of a session. As such, this title works best when viewed as a collection of story seeds and suggestions to add flavor to a fantasy world.


Yes, this is only a few pages long, but that seems to be the publisher's intent: shorter works designed to provide some fuel for inspiration. You should certainly consider it if that's the sort of thing you're looking for.


Full disclosure: I am acquainted with the author, although we have no professional connection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5e) Expanded Options #01 - Occult Ritual Magic for 5th Edition Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5e) Expanded Options #01 - Occult Ritual Magic for 5th Edition Fantasy
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2015 13:45:47

Although it was cheap there really wasn't much to this product. It seems to promise a discussion of ritual magic in D&D 5e but it is VERY short. A couple of ritual examples and that is it. Maybe if it were expanded and had a more in depth discussion it would be worth buying.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Gazette #2
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2015 17:29:23

As usual, the Fat Goblin Gazette delivers loads of useful material for your Vathak campaign and beyond.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Gazette #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knowledge Check: Thieves' Cant Dictionary
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/18/2015 04:02:20

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This installment of the Knowledge Check-series clocks in at 14 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 2 pages of advertisement, leaving us with 9 pages of content, so let's take a look!


So, this is something different. As you all may know, I'm a bit obsessed with languages and sociolects - I've been pretty vocal in my love of the inclusion of slang in Fat Goblin Games' PWYW Carnival of Sinners. This inexpensive book provides essentially a number of words you can use to make your underworld feel more unique. While some of the words are pretty obvious ("bene" meaning "good", for example), there are quite a few intriguing slang words herein: A "Holy Lamb" is, for example, a thoroughly despicable villain; "Jibber the Kibber" is the practice of using a horse and a lantern to make ships run aground. Oh, and "lacing" something means to beat someone.


While some words herein are simply that, others inspire regarding the practice to which they refer: "leggers" e.g. sell low-quality goods, purportedly smuggled goods, and thus avoid repercussions for the bad quality of their merchandise. Knowing about "Hangman's Wages" may also prove useful within the consistency of your game-world.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to an easy-to-read, beautiful 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. Artwork is sparse, but fitting.


Richard D. Bennett provides a damn cool little dictionary here - the practices and words herein can inspire and certainly help you make your depictions of the seedy underbelly of your campaign more exciting. What's here, is certainly awesome, particularly for the low price point. At the same time, I really wished this was longer and that it had some invented, new fluff to account for the different reality of most fantasy settings - words for halflings, goblins, magic and sorcerous pursuits would have been much appreciated, at least by me. What we do get here is a nice glimpse at real world thieves' cant for a low price and as such, this is a nice book - my final verdict hence will clock in at 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Knowledge Check: Thieves' Cant Dictionary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows over Vathak World Map
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2015 06:47:14

A well detailed free product to enhance a unique and inventive gaming world. Keep it coming!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows over Vathak World Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows over Vathak: Colonies - Silhouette of a Shadow
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/28/2015 05:03:24

An Endzeitgeist.com review


The first module set in Vathak, this pdf clocks in at a pretty impressive 62 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page back cover, 1 page advertisement, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 56 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?


But before we do - here's a warning: This being an adventure-review, the following contains SPOILERS. Potential players will wish to jump to the conclusion.


...


..


.


All right, still here? We begin this module with several key-components: For one, a sidebox on the fragility of 1st level characters explains that more action-oriented groups may want to run this module at 2nd level - though the module allows for the solution of problems via smarts. The fully depicted town of Smelt's Run gets a full-blown gazetteer - including a solid, full-color map. The town also sports a racial prejudice - Smelt's Run is a Romni ghetto, following the more gritty, dark theme of Vathak and thus sees some hostility to non-Romni. The module also sports a handy timeline for the GM.


But what are the PCs supposed to do? Via one of quite a few adventure hooks, the PCs are tasked to track down a man called Rolistair, loosely associated with the Church of Unspeakable Masses. The module thus begins with a investigation in and around Smelt's Run - with numerous different entries of read-aloud level of detail; a random encounter-table allows the GM to splice some action into this section. Beyond the skill-based basics of asking around, the module also depicts the key-locations.


Take a look at the "Tower," a medieval/Victorian equivalent of an apartment block: "A massive five story wooden edifice squats before you, dozens of barred windows gazing out sullenly. Scorch


marks from previous fires stain its grimy walls. Lines of dirty laundry stretch to the nearby buildings that crowd around. Even from this distance, a din of noise- screams, raucous laughter, and heated arguments, spill from the building. A group of ragged children chase a chicken through a puddle while an elderly couple sit on a bench near the building’s small entrance." - See this read-aloud text? Yes, the read-aloud texts are REALLY well-written and the locations ultimately breathe an almost tangible sense of grime and threats lurking just below the surface. Finding Rolistair's room, the PCs can have their first sense of horror here - between a desolate hookah, spell components and mad ramblings, undead monkeys await and make abundantly clear that the PCs have stumbled into something rather unpleasant...


Further investigation from this place may put the PCs into ample conflict with the rather nasty thugs that can be found in Smelt's Run -whether following the trail of smokeweed, known prostitutes consorting with the man, the trail of spell components - there are a couple of clues popping up: For one, the church of unspeakable masses seems to have been burned down. The PCs may also get a feather and the name "Lawana" as a kind of hint - unbeknown to the PCs, this woman is a swan maiden...and currently, as the PCs reach her home, under attack by cultists. Here, I have a bit of a met-concern: While I get the dramaturgy of Lawana being unconscious upon the PC's arrival, the cultists are horribly ill-equipped to down the maiden...even with the "lucky hits"-explanation, her DR makes her all but immune to their attacks, so at least to me, a better explanation would have been nice. (Note that the players never get to see this aspect, so it's no real problem... but still. It's a consistency glitch.) Also rather interesting - a nice, fast-paced chase against the leader of the assault is provided (to retrieve the maiden's cloak...), with an alternate means of tracking the man being covered as well. Besting the leader, the PCs finally find a clue towards their target - it seems like Rolistair has founded the Reformation Church of the Elder Sign.


Infiltrating the church is the smart choice here - but the PCs you also enter the fully-mapped church with guns blazing, though the climax does lose a bit of its impact of drugged attendees and odd technology - also in here, the PCs can find the second in command and piece together that Rolistair is planning a ritual most dread in the Lazard Ruins - where strange, haunt-like properties and cultists await...and where Rolistair turns out to be an afflicted werewolf, subjected to some...strange...procedures and thus pretty insane. Besting the insane cult-leader puts a stop to his dread incantation and his "church", sure, but the man's lobotomy-scars and status as a werewolf may mean that the PCs have just taken the first step down the rabbit's hole - the GM may know more from the adventure's background, but the shadowy entities beyond the scenes and factions may now suddenly have the PCs on their radar - which ensures pretty much a significant array of further adventuring possibilities.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are solid, though I noticed a couple of typos and inor glitches. Layout adheres to Fat goblin Games' beautiful 2-column full-color standard for Vathak-books. The pdf comes with several thematically-fitting full-color artworks. The pdf is fully bookmarked. Cartography is full-color and solid, though I wished the Pdf had player-friendly maps sans keys.


John Bennett and Rick Hershey have crafted a nice supplemental module here: Silhouette of a Shadow sports a rather intriguing array of unique locations. The investigation provided breathes a nearly tangible sense of decrepitude and hostility that gels well with the horror-theme. The writing is just as great as I've come to expect from John. At the same time, this is branded as an AP-module (though Part II is not yet released as per the writing of this review) and as such, it very much feels like it's setting a number of unique things up for future installments. This is particularly evident regarding the antagonist's motivation and fate, which may remain (intentionally) opaque for the players. At the same time, the challenges presented are diverse, the investigation flavorful.


Ultimately, Silhouette of a Shadow may not be a perfect module, but it is a fun 1st-level investigation that offers diverse challenges for the PCs as well as a compelling narrative - albeit one that will leave some questions unanswered. Now usually, I'd be a tad bit more critical regarding e.g. minor statblock glitches or the aforementioned minor consistency-bug - but this book ultimately counters these less awesome components via the quality of its writing and the more than fair, low asking price for a module of this length and diversity. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4 stars.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows over Vathak: Colonies - Silhouette of a Shadow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5th Edition Fantasy Compatible Logo
by steven r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2015 06:16:00

This is an awesome logo that I believe will help unify some of the smaller third party publishers who are doing OGC/OGL versions of 5E, I like the variant colors (my favorite is the red).


Mr. Hershey did a great job on this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5th Edition Fantasy Compatible Logo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Racial Ecologies: The Canids
by Daemon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2015 15:22:25

I love the concept of the "Dogmen". What I don't get is the choice of bulldogs as being the dwarven canine.In my humble opinion any kind of Scottish terrier would be a better option.They are stern,stocky,natural tunnelers,and have impressive beards! I'm not totally sure but I think my Westies actually speak Glaswegian,LoL!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Racial Ecologies: The Canids
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/26/2015 04:11:12

An Endzeitgeist.com review


This massive book clocks in at 50 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with a massive 46 pages of content, so let's take a look!


Carnivals are awesome...and creepy. The blending of the alien and the familiar, the oscillation of bright light and deepest shadows fascinate, entice. I distinctly recall a sense of kinship when I first saw the more weirder performances and the sense of freedom implied in such a life, despite the hardships, resonates with me on a primal level. In roleplaying games, specifically the various iterations I've played, I did ten to enjoy the modules and supplements dealing with this topic - whether in Ravenloft's by now legendary "carnival"-supplement, in Necromancer Games' "What Evil Lurks" or many others - the theme just won't let go of me.


The first thing you notice upon opening this book is the custom layout - Rick Hershey has crafted a downright beautiful presentation here that perfectly underlines the theme of the book - red curtains, appropriate fonts - presentation-wise, this is a gorgeous book. Content-wise, we begin with an elaboration of the basic set-up of the carnival grounds and what to find there - only to lead into the perhaps most surprising section in the book: Carnival of Sinners gets something right no other supplement dealing with the topic has: It presents, extensively, I might add, a full-blown thieves' cant-ish section of carny-slang: "Pay the bag man and put up the bills for your dukkering services - we gotta proof we're no fireball show!" AWESOME!!!


A total of 5 sample adventure hooks is provided before we move on to the next section, the trooper's gallery, wherein sample NPCs are provided - and boy, oh boy. For one, each of the builds herein has at least one interesting component - whether it's race, archetype'd multiclass - there is something mechanically interesting going on for each character. However, more intriguing than even that would be the fact that each key performer gets more than just the minimum space to shine - each character receives an extensive background story AND a high-quality, custom artwork. Better yet, the concepts and their execution are downright delightfully wicked - the two-headed man's second head, for example, is his eidolon! The carnival's cook also is a particularly nasty sort - you'll see when you get this book...


Things get truly sinister, though, with the troupe of lay-actors, clowns, stable-hands and the like - represented via diverse mook-statblocks (for a reason...), this component of the carnival hides a secret most dire...and awesome.


Obviously, no carnival would be complete without a cabinet of curiosities - and a collection of oddities and usual prizes, partially represented with great artworks, can indeed be considered nice. Going one step beyond, entry-tickets to print out and hand to your players, a sample advertisement poster (lavishly rendered as another hand-out) and a map are provided - the latter of the kind of style which the characters may find themselves while visiting the carnival.


My only gripe here, ultimately boils down to the fact that I would have liked sample games or a sample performance-schedule to be included herein.


Conclusion:


Editing and formatting are pretty good - I had no issues in grasping anything herein and there was no undue amount of glitches to be found. Layout and artworks, as mentioned above, are top-notch - this is a beautiful book indeed, with the handouts providing the icing on the aesthetic cake. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.


Chris Bayes, Eric Hindley, John Bennett, Kalyna Conrad, Lucus Palosaari, Rick Hershey - ladies and gentlemen, you have crafted a great sandbox/set-piece/supplement herein. This book can be used as both an awesome fluff-book to expand a given carnival, as a sand-boxy module to embellish, flesh out and use as you see fit, or just as a delightful scavenging ground for stats, builds and ideas. This massive source-book is well-written, concisely-presented and the carny-slang provided alone, to me, makes this well worth the...


...wait. There was this one component, right? Well, in case you didn't know: This massive, fully illustrated, lovingly-crafted book is actually "Pay what you want." No, I'm not kidding. You can get this big book and then decide whether it was worth your time. Know what? There is no reason to not at least check this one out and, as for my part, this delightfully disturbing sourcebook definitely deserves to be acknowledged. So if you like this sourcebook, please pay for it a price you consider as justified. While not perfect, the love that went into this book is readily apparent and I'm quite honestly a bit baffled to see such a massive book as PWYW. My final verdict for this inspiring set-piece/supplement that doubles as a drop-in sandbox would be 5 stars + seal of approval.


Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fat Goblin Games Presents: Carnival of Sinners
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2015 18:11:38

This is an extremely detailed evil carnival good for any fantasy setting. I definitely recommend it for a quick and easy addition to any fantasy horror game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 61 to 75 (of 455 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates