DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
100 Science Fiction Adventure Seeds
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2011 12:58:35

A genre specific but system neutral set of adventure seeds can prove to be a useful tool in any GM's armoury. I picked these up for ideas for an upcoming sci-fi campaign I'm writing and I wasn't disappointed. There are lots of interesting ideas here, mainly hard sci fi aiming for a sort of "Traveller" feel.

None of them could be used as they come, you need to put some work in yourself. But that's the point, these are just seeds. You need to feed and water them your own self. Any half decent GM should be able to create a few dozen ideas out of these seeds which are in just enough detail.

In terms of format, if you've ever read any of the others in the series, it follows the "premise, twist and epilogue" system with a nice useful sidebar for most if not all of the ideas. Some more well crafted ideas would have been nice but how useable would the be?

All in all, I'd recommend this to any busy/lazy GM who needs ideas for stories and adventures in their new campaign



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Science Fiction Adventure Seeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gangworld - Effin' Fairies
by John J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2011 05:13:11

I love the concept of this supplement. It's a simple one, but there's quite a bit of possibilities to it. The premise behind the supplement is that there is a criminal organization made up of fey. Most fantasy settings will have the fey remain mostly aloof or cause mischief just for the thrill of it. These fey cause mischief but they do it for the loot. Originally calling themselves by the more prosaic term "Weather Solutions" they offered their services to people in the area as a type of insurance. It quickly went from real insurance to mobster insurance, i.e. pay us the money or something bad will happen to you.

It's the gangster racket run by a bunch of fairies.

Layout: Generally the book is laid out very well. The cover has some artwork which I didn't care for, but that's my personal taste (the fairy reminded me of an anime character, not a wild fey). Then there's a history of the organization from it's founding to the current status (the leader in jail where he continues to run the operation). There's a brief section on some of the activities they do now, followed by another section on the organization of the group. This is a great little detail that I love, having 12 under-bosses of the fairies named after each of the months and responsible for a certain type of racket.

Following this there's a random chart (roll a d10) for adventure seeds. Some examples:

3.) Gangsters and officials are routinely found gnawed to death. Investigation reveals that March has awakened rats to serve as assassins and unleashed them upon the enemies of the Fairies. Even if March is killed, the rats, now sentient and malicious, will continue to kill, possibly even starting their own gang.

10) A discussion on classic Seelie poetry leads to a rift between Winter and Summer. Before this escalates into fighting, and the inevitable insane weather that will accompany it, the Seasons ask the PCs to serve as neutral mediators. This task is not easy, since fairies on both sides have completely skewed sets of priorities and very alien morality.

There's a new fey called The Winter Fey with some pretty cool powers, one of them being the ability to inflict the common cold on anybody. There are some great special abilities too. There's also a Summer Fey that has the ability to cause dehydration with a touch, along with some other major powers.

Dislikes: Not much. I didn't care for the artwork. Based on the description of the fey the artwork didn't fit the image. I didn't care for the stats of the fey either--they seemed underpowered. Had I seen the stats without a description I would've been bored and not wanted to read more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangworld - Effin' Fairies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gangworld - Darkstars
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 14:20:32

I've got to say, from what I've seen of the Gangworld series of supplements, I am enjoying. They are a refreshing change of pace in what I was beginning to think was a tired game genre.

This is a good little supplement that can make an interesting diversion from the usual adventures in any existing campaign, or even be used as a starting point for a new campaign for those looking for something different.

The adventure seeds provide enough information to keep the characters occupied for several sessions, and are general enough to allow the GM to insert his own creativity into the mix.

The price point is just right for the spark of inspiration that is provided.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangworld - Darkstars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gangworld - Effin' Fairies
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 14:11:01

A nice little supplement that can easily form a series of adventure arcs in any existing campaign, or be used as a starting point for a new one.

The adventure seeds provide enough information to keep the characters occupied for several sessions, and are general enough to allow the GM to insert his own creativity into the mix.

I'm liking the whole Gangland series of supplements, and I think it makes a nice change of pace from the usual fare that you see. And the price point is just right for the spark of inspiration that is provided.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangworld - Effin' Fairies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gangworld - Dark Dominatrixes
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 14:03:07

A handy little supplement that can be comfortably slotted into any existing campaign, or used as a starting point for a new one.

The adventure seeds provide enough information to keep the characters occupied for several sessions, and are general enough to allow the GM to insert his own creativity into the mix.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangworld - Dark Dominatrixes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gangworld - Dark Dominatrixes
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 11:02:54

Gangworld: Dark Dominatrixes presents an all-female drow gang that "poses as dealers in exotic vices and forbidden pleasures, while hiding a much darker and deadlier secret." The drow run a chain of brothels and strip clubs. They also are heavily (and secretly) into slave trading. This PDF is three pages long. It includes no mechanical, crunchy parts and therefore has no OGL license page.

This is a well written product. It presents concepts that would fit into any urban fantasy setting, though it is written with D&D 3x / D20 in mind. The Gangworld series seems to be a mashup between D&D and a 1930s style gangster film. The art work is well done (anime style), though limited to just a color cover and a black and white repurposing of that cover image. It contains what should be a link to the creators' homepage (http://postmortemstudios.wordpress.com) but that link fails. Perhaps their PDF creator stripped the link?

I give the PDF a 3 out of 5 for style, layout, and art, 4/5 for writing/usability. No mechanics to really rate on that front, but that's okay.

Adapting these to a non D20 engine would be an easy task.

I'd be willing to use these products in an urban D&D game. I might change the names to kind of reduce the camp a notch, but otherwise, excellent work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangworld - Effin' Fairies
by Charles M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2011 11:01:49

Gangworld: Effin' Faeries describes a group of corrupt Seelie Court faeries who "exploit their Seelie Court connections to control local weather and natural phenomena, and their Unseelie Court connections to kidnap, assassinate, and spy from the shadows." The PDF presents history, acitivites, organization, adventure seeds, and Winter and Summer Fey races for use as PCs or NPCs. Basically, these are the go-to guys to put a hurt on someone, while making it look like natural causes. This PDF is 5 pages, but the last page is basically OGL license boilerplate.

This is a well written product. It presents concepts that would fit into any urban fantasy setting, though it is written with D&D 3x / D20 in mind. The Gangworld series seems to be a mashup between D&D and a 1930s style gangster film. The art work is well done (anime style), though limited to just a color cover and a black and white repurposing of that cover image. It contains what should be a link to the creators' homepage (http://postmortemstudios.wordpress.com) but that link fails. Perhaps their PDF creator stripped the link?

I give the PDF a 3 out of 5 for style, layout, and art, 4/5 for writing/usability. Not enough mechanics to really rate on that front, but that's okay.

Adapting these to a non D20 engine would be an easy task.

I'd be willing to use these products in an urban D&D game. I might change the names to kind of reduce the camp a notch, but otherwise, excellent work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gangworld - Effin' Fairies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tough Justice: Grim & Gritty
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2011 04:21:28

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW: A while back, I reviewed Tough Justice - and rather loved it. Grim and Gritty is a combat supplement for Tough Justice by Tough Justice writer Ian Warner. You can download it for $1.99 from RPGNow, or buy it in print from Lulu.com for $9.29. Essentially, it is 40 pages of combat rules for Tough Justice (which didn't delve heavily into combat). Combat isn't wildly different from most games, although there are unique bits like a pre-fight roll determining either how soon it will be before the defender can attempt to escape, or how quickly reinforcements come, and the end result of combat (death or capture) is entirely up to the victor. The supplement takes the Tough Justice legal setting very seriously, with attackers can gain Felony Dice, but Defenders do not, due to their right to defend themselves.

WHAT WORKS: The rules for dueling seem like they would be the most thematically appropriate for the Tough Justice setting, and this includes pistol or sword duels, fist fights or hag fights (with appropriate rules for differentiating them from regular combats). The book also does an admirable job of trying to cover all relevant combat bases, including a weapons chapter, gang-up rules and mass combat.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The proofreading could have been better, especially in regards to punctuation. The book encourages exceptions in combats whenever characters made from different Historical Farce games are used together, which can prove annoying at times.

CONCLUSION: I really enjoy Ian Warner's off-beat work in particular, and Postmortem's work in general. As the author says, even in this book, Tough Justice is completely playable by itself, these are just additional rules, in case the combat doesn't work for you. Is there anything indispensible in here? No, although I do really like the addition of the dueling rules. Otherwise, if you have played Tough Justice a time or two, you have a pretty good idea as to whether or not the combat is robust enough for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tough Justice: Grim & Gritty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Horror Adventure Seeds
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2011 21:46:59

Finally! Of the several "100 ___ Seeds" books I've picked up, one that is unashamedly useful! Despite the usual atrocious editing, the adventure seeds in here are useful, diverse (each with three "twists" in the plot that can be used alone or separately to complicate your adventurers' lives) and each also with an "epilogue" that suggests a way to continue to have the outcome of your adventure complicate the lives of your players long after the adventure is over. All in all an excellent book.

Pros: Excellent ideas (many of them done before, but here given new life); with complications in the form of the twists that can be used to tie into other thematic adventures you may already have in mind. The ideas are somewhat expanded on as compared to the normal "adventure seeds" you see, and are fleshed out enough to actually only require a few stand-by NPCs, some extra detail on the main "mystery" you elect to be the point of the story, a few monsters or ghosts or what have you and bang, you're there (though you may need a haunted house or something to work with as well).

Cons: The usual crappy proofreading and "spell-check" editing which can result in some amazingly inappropriate sentences and word choices that can lead to much inadvertent hilarity and unnecessary confusion. The constant misuse of commas (comma-spliced sentences like the author's would have gotten me kicked out of most of the classes I attended in college) is just simply annoying. The inclusion of a line drawing or two of the locales might have been nice too.

All in all, I found this one much more useful than the author's other endeavors, and it leads me to hope that he may continue to improve his work to this standard. My other hope is that he will find someone educated to send his drafts to for actual proofreading and editing. Four stars for the utility of the book!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Horror Adventure Seeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Dark Places
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2011 03:28:42

Frankly I was a little disappointed. I was hoping for some clever new locales that would inspire me to greater heights in my Call of Cthulhu campaign, and instead what I got was a pastiche of old Lovecraftian locales clearly discernible under a thin coating of revised description. Heck, one, "Dark Carnival" even used the name of a Chaosium Adventure for Call of Cthulhu likewise set in an evil carnival.

There were several useful ideas in the book, but all in all, I'm not sure it was worth the price. Had it had even a few line drawings of the locales, the worth of the book would have been beyond dispute. Alas, there were none. Even more annoying than the usual horrific grammar, punctuation and spelling errors I've come to expect from Postmortem Studios, was the total cop-out of some of the locales. Really? You're presenting DARFUR as a location for a modern horror campaign, and "the horror here is man's inhumanity to man?" I think we all get that Darfur is one screwed up place where a lot of people are suffering because of human greed and evil, but it's not the sort of thing that is implied by the subtitle "A Modern Horror Roleplaying Sourcebook." In fact there are several locations here where the deadly phrase beginning with "the horror here..." is employed to serve notice to the reader that the "horror" will be something like "being isolated," or "being faced with starvation." Come on, Postmortem, I can get that from the local newspaper; what I wanted from you was, you know, HORROR stuff....

As I said, I was a tad disappointed by these issues. However, having said that, there are several locations which are not previously done much better by other companies (Chaosium's "The Mountains of Madness" for example in preference to the author's pastiche of Lovecraft's theme) or are not cop-outs in terms of actual horrors that might be very interesting to work with. One, "Sideways Street," in fact, provides an excellent germ for some very interesting role-playing, though again it lacks somewhat in originality since it seems to be reflective of "Diagonally" in the Harry Potter series, with a bit of the shops from "A Mysterious Pentad" and some of Clive Barker's work thrown in.

If you have a spare $7.50 floating around that you simply can't find any use for, then use it to buy this book. Otherwise, pass on to something more fleshed out and complete to work with.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
100 Dark Places
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Conspirators
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2011 01:41:39

While an interesting compilation of potential conspirators, it suffers somewhat from being intended primarily as a companion for the "100 Conspiracies" source book. This means that the conspirators listed tend to focus on the aspects of the organizations and individuals that lend themselves to those conspiracies, and limits the author's ability to explore their other ramifications. While the author attempts to make up for this issue with the "adventure seeds," he still is limited in what he can provide, by his own format, and the requirement to tie in with the other source book.

Still, it's an excellent look into some strange organizations that have existed down through the centuries, though admittedly he focuses on the more commonly explored ones as revealed on "The Discovery Channel."

Pros: Generally good thumbnail descriptions of various esoteric organization and individuals with plenty of names and concepts that you can use for further research. Really it's an excellent primer on the subject, without providing more than a quick scan of the 100 organizations and individuals.

Cons: The author tends to permit his personal biases to show through, generally debunking "liberal" conspiracies while lending some small credence to various "conservative" conspiracies (lefties are good guys, righties are baaad). Given that most of these organizations are either defunct or populated by the lunatic fringe on both sides of the aisle, this seems somewhat disingenuous. Like its companion volume, this one too is riddled with grammatical, punctuation and spelling errors that would have easily been avoided had the author or the publishing company taken a few minutes to actually read the product before publishing it.

I give it three stars based on the fact that it's primarily a back-up to a back-up, and as a comment on the poor editorial effort by the author/publisher.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Conspirators
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Conspiracies
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2011 18:52:49

While I agree with many of the comments in Michael Dolan's review, I would add a few more:

On the plus side, the author does and excellent job of providing a "reader's digest" summation of most of the truly weird conspiracy theories floating around out there (though there are a few he misses). His organizational skills make it easy to dig into the superficialities of the various conspiracies, though if you want to really pull out all the stops, you're still going to need a LOT of hours on the internet reading some weird s**t. Still, for $7.50, you get a jump start on your research and, together with Richard Hite's work you should be in conspiracy heaven.

On the negative side, Mr. Dolan failed to mention that some of the run-on sentences and truly horrid grammar in the conspiracy explanations can actually leave you MORE confused than when you started. In addition, there is the occasional misspelling which can also briefly confuse since such misspellings are typical of the "spell-check" mindset -- that is, they are spelled "correctly," but it's completely the wrong word. I was frankly disappointed by the level of proof-reading, though I'm finding that particular failure to be more and more common as companies seem to let the computer do their editorial review for them, and don't bother to actually read their material prior to publishing anymore.

I give this one three stars, simply because all it really is is an introduction to the topic (though an excellent one for the neophyte) and the various issues noted by myself and Mr. Dolan do make it both harder to use and less useful than it ought to be.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
100 Conspiracies
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/03/2011 11:44:42

Wizards need to study, study long and hard to acquire the knowledge necessary to bend mystic powers to their will... and in most game systems, it's a continual process, something that must be done every day to ensure that you have your powers at your fingertips when you need them. So it's nice to have a picture of a wizard with his nose in a book - as you can be sure that your wizard character is often found in that position!

It is a clear and crisp rendition in ink and wash, standing at a lecturn leafing through a heavy tome, with hand-illustrated pages. Behind him, a landscape view through the window isn't proving too much of a distraction. Middle-aged, I reckon, and probably human (unless elf ears in your world are more discreet than many illustrations suggest).

If you are buying this for more than an illustration for your character sheet, the licence is beautifully straightforward and concise, none of the convoluted legalese some folks like to use. Do as you please, but give the artist due credit, and don't sell it on as pure clipart.

I really like him, even if he won't do for my current wizard... my Calatin is, shall we put it kindly, of the cuddly persuasion. This guy's more in the heroic mould, perhaps even missing his dinner for a couple more hours with his books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Science Fiction Adventure Seeds
by George T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2011 20:09:13

I like the book and I'm glad I bought it. However the sample pages were useless in my decision to buy the product. The first few pages (which were used for the sample) don't have any of the 'meat' of the book, instead offering (good) advice on how to use the book without actually allowing you to see what you're getting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Science Fiction Adventure Seeds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 197 - Demonic Pact
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 11:58:06

A very interesting piece, usable in both gaming situations and in an rpg product. One can only imagine what the poor man is being pressured to sign- or what he has already signed! Another great art product from Postmortem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 197 - Demonic Pact
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 351 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates