DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Camelot Cosmos: Player's Book
by Trey P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2012 15:45:05

I bought this and the GM's book when it first came out and I want to like it so much. I mean, Arthurian space opera married to the FATE system. What could be wrong with that? Sadly, lots. First and foremost, the art could be much better, which is pretty sad given that there is lots of decent fantasy clip art available on rpgnow. Second, this is a .pdf product that does not have a navigable table of contents or bookmarks for the major topic headers. Third, layout could be much better. Fourth, the book is a (and the author comes across as) bit confused about the FATE system and seems to go out of its way to strip away a lot of the open ended aspects of the FATE system by severely limiting the aspects available in character creation, removing the stunts system (not even leaving behind something like Diaspora's build your own stunts). Combine this with an aim at the old school gaming (complete with dungeons to delve in (I kid you not)) and its a bit of a mess. Fifth, the Player's Guide makes reference to a lot of things called First Empire and not really addressed until you get to the GM's Guide. This material should have either been removed entirely, or left for the GM's Guide.

All in all, I want to like this more, but as it stands, it needs more work, from reorganization of the files to the author being more clear in what he's trying for.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Camelot Cosmos: Player's Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 251 - The Last Straw
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/19/2012 11:45:44

I love Clipart Critters.

Often times I am in need of something special for a project, I want to pay for it and have to rights to publish it with my work but I don't spend a ton of money on a custom piece.

These are great. They are more often than not exactly what I need when I need it. This one is no exception.
Great piece of art with easy to understand license at a great price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 251 - The Last Straw
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Colony: Moon
by Mysterious B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2012 14:24:44

This is excellent simulationist rpg dealing with the day-to-day running of a lunar colony. It provides an easy framework for negotiation/cooperation or competitive play. Players take on roles of a board of directors in which the game master as a number of pre-defined events that will transpire thus plays a bit like a board game but in the hands of a skilled Game Master could really fly as a freeform RPG thus this would be excellent supplement for something like Zozer Games’ Outpost Mars. Success is measured by applying points of political capital and gaining prestige at what time their strategies work. My one criticism is the over abundant use of white space. It gives the impression that the RPG is vacant of content and the page count is a result inflated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Colony: Moon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ImagiNation
by Malin F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2012 13:56:45

Forget the occasional grammatical error, ignore the fact that your min-maxing computer-gaming players will only abuse the system - this is a wonderful thing.

The average reader can read the full text in two hours or under. The plot-line is instantly understandable and fun.

The rules are perfect for new people (simple) but different and innovative enough for old players to take an interest. Each character chooses 5 Adjectives, though some can be doubled up (very brave, strong, cunning, dexterous) - so you will basically choose your own set of Attributes. You then get 3 Profession points (e.g. Novice marksman and Professional painter). For each situation, you add every single adjective which applies, add 1D6 and that's your score. So if this character is trying to concoct a plan to assassinate someone, sie adds Marksman and cunning for a total of 2, then add 1D6. The enemy resists in the same way.

Seriously -that's almost the entire system. Genius.

The plot concerns a strange phenomenon which has come over all of Britain - peoples dreams and nightmares have become real. The people have mostly gone to sleep to dream. The only ones who can dream lucidly are the mentally infirm - the extremely stupid or the relatively insane. Enter the characters - they are the creative and insane of Britain, and they are the only ones who can safely enter the country. And the only ones who can consciously dream and make changes to the reality around them by controlling their dreams. Picture them - a group of slightly unhinged artists, working for the government, armed to the teeth, wandering through a fantasy landscape overlaying a broken country and trying to complete a dangerous mission among strange creatures.

Stories can be easily written as a series of scenes with basic descriptions, enemies can be thrown in and made-up on the spot and there are a few examples to get you going. There are dozen of plot-hooks and details provided.

This book is could easily be used for a full Chronicle, can be started with minimal effort and is definitely the best introduction for new players to RPGs which I've ever seen and looks really fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ImagiNation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ImagiNation
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2012 07:19:47

I have read this PDF file book over the last few days and found that it is well layed out. I like that it is very free form in many ways, but I can see how many will try and Min-max their charaters with each game and "forget" their flaws when they are a problem to them, but will "remember" them when they would help them out. I did enjoy reading the background materal, and the few examples of creatures to get the "Imagination" going where all very amusing and also very relvent to both the setting and the real world in many ways. I may have missed it in my reading but little was said beyond the the "Basics" of the Lo-Bots to use them and a bit of how they might be an extra element of the human side of horror with in the whole setting. The materal is enought that you can run a few adventures with minamal research into the real England/ Great Britan before you have to do more then a quick check of names or such on the internet. There is an Index, but no table of contents with in the book. Also there are 2-3 blank pages am not sure if they are there for effect or by accadent, but I may have miss-counted the number of them. As the author states he is doing this as a free book/ game and I cant quible with that. I did not do a detailed read on his discriptions of insanities as I try many times to keep text book level discriptions from my game play on them.

Over all a good product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 241 - The Frigid Witch of the West
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/27/2012 07:02:07

Great as an ice witch, frost hag or a female elemental. Easy to read and understand license.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 241 - The Frigid Witch of the West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Call of Cthentacle: Spankham Asylum
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/09/2012 13:19:41

When the star(let)s are right, it is said that they shall return…and now they have! Spankham Asylum is the newest expansion for Postmortem Studios Cthentacle card game. Spankham Asylum introduces twenty new cards of various types, and two new characters to suffer the perverse attentions of the Great Old Ones.

While the amount of cards is consistent with previous sets, what makes Spankham Asylum fun is the completely shameless fun it has in its theme. Once again, artist Darkzel beautifully illustrates everything from mild titillation to hot girl-on-polyp action; the cards themselves continue to involve terrible puns, such as The Book of Eiboner and The Color in My Face.

My perennial complaint with these expansions is that the seven types of cards – the 1-5 number cards, the ! (exclamation point) cards, and the SP cards – are in an uneven amount, meaning that you can have, for example, more 4 cards than there are 3 cards. One can say that this is the natural result of trying to squeeze seven card types into a twenty-card set, but I have to wonder if it wouldn’t have been easier to just add an additional eight cards to bring things up to four of each type.

Still, I have to give credit where credit is due, and give a nod to the fact that the rules do include a half-page of card clarification. This is an important point, as card games seem to bring out the rules lawyers like nothing else. My only complaint is that there are no explanations for how cards from this set interact with cards from previous ones – does In the Ghoulies (from The Dunbitch Horror expansion) work against The Spiders of Length?

These aren’t new complaints of mine, which makes them somewhat more disappointing that they haven’t been addressed – these are not difficult problems to fix. On the other hand, it’s not like I haven’t been able to enjoy the various expansions despite this; I just wish there was more seriousness given to the rules when it comes to a card game about hideous monsters tentacle-raping hot young women.

In all seriousness though, Spankham Asylum is a great new expansion to Call of Cthentacle, living up to the sexy, politically-incorrect nature of its predecessors. If you want even more ways in which the lovely ladies investigating the Mythos can be violated for their trouble, send them to Spankham.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Call of Cthentacle: Spankham Asylum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fistful of Fantasy: 01
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/19/2012 09:01:44

Do you remember the Hook, Line and Sinker series from Knights of the Dinner Table? A Fistful of Fantasy is basically that, but with a higher standard of writing.

It's not a unique way to present plots with options - Toys for the Sandbox does something similar, but it is effective.

So, what do you get for your 69 cents?

You get 5 plot hooks or Legends, presented as a small piece of fiction that the players may overhear or have fed to them when appropriate. This is followed by The Truth behind the Legend - what actually happened. You are then presented 2 to 3 Stories. These are the seeds for the GM to work out further for the players to explore. Similar to TftSB, you don't need to waste Stories that you don't use immediately. There's enough here to use for inspiration later.

Each of these 5 plot hooks takes up a page, including a decent piece of art on each. Well, done James. I'll be looking forward to more in the series



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fistful of Fantasy: 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Filthy Shades Cliché
by Robin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2012 04:03:43

This is what I get for challenging Grim! Easily worth 50 cents. Only buy if you're over 18 with an open mind and ability to laugh at bad literature.

Great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filthy Shades Cliché
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 264 - Live, Dead, Girls
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:59:17

Zombie girl for publication or personal use. Easy to understand attached license.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 264 - Live, Dead, Girls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:48:35

Nice art of a wizard in his study with a book.

Included license is easy to read and use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 210 - Studying Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 197 - Demonic Pact
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:29:27

Great looking Faustian pact with included (but not danger to your soul) license.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 197 - Demonic Pact
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 148 - Squid Face
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 14:01:25

A cool underwater or mutant threat. Easy to understand and use attached license.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 148 - Squid Face
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TobyArt 1: War Priests
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 13:44:37

Very, very pleased with this one. There are few in this collection I am also rather fond of and I know they will improve the look of my project. 10 images in total. Easy to read and understand attached license. I would have preferred TIFF or PSD images, but like I said, a couple are so perfect that I can deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TobyArt 1: War Priests
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 163 - Dragon Woman
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2012 13:40:03

Great piece of art of a half-dragon or a woman in mid transformation to or from a dragon. Easy to read and understand attached licensee.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 163 - Dragon Woman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 351 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates