DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Información de la editorial









Regresar
Otros comentarios dejados por esta editorial:
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
por David P. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/15/16 00:06:02

This is not so much a tool for worldbuilding as it is a great reading in general to get a general understanding of and get some perspective on several aspects of discrimination, its causes, and its likely mechanical effects on Role Playing games.


A good, short reading overall, and provides an idea of the kind of pernicious attitudes seeping into gaming culture in general and the criticism toward gaming culture media.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Publisher Reply:
Thank you so much, it\'s gratifying when someone \'gets it\'.
Thank you so much, it\'s gratifying when someone \'gets it\'.
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
por Selena M. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/12/16 22:31:27

Packaged as if it's about inclusiveness, but just offers charts and tables about how to make "realistic" stat rolls about how certain demographics would be held back in certain situations. If that's what you're looking for, great. If a GM wants to build a world where genocide is an actual thing, then sure, go for it. In an alternate history game world where Hitler wins, rolling a Jewish character is definitely going to come with baggage.


However, there's not a whole lot about the "allowances" it claims to have for players who wish to buck the trend; while theoretical scenarios are given in which demographics that usually held a person back could be beneficial, there are no likewise charts for that, making it rather one-sided.


If you are looking for ways to flip the script, I suppose you could take the charts here and apply them to different demographics; but honestly this isn't the first nor only publication to make said charts, so just be aware that's really all you'd be buying.


If you're looking for tips to take your game to a higher standard in terms of inclusivity, especially of players, this is not it.


Also, it claims to be agenda free, but by the end of it, a very clear opinion starts to shine through. Just a warning.



Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Publisher Reply:
I suppose if you count presenting \'is\' over \'ought\' as an agenda it\'s disappointing, but regarding that as an agenda is _itself_ very disappointing. The charts are really only meant to illustrate the discussion (as is said in the book) via a common gaming language.
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
por kara s. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 06/07/16 15:57:43

From the title, I was expecting tips and discusion on catering to more diverse players. What the contents are are tips and ideas about in story inclusion of such. Diversity is offered more in penalties than empowerment though and I'm afraid that while provoking discusion, this wont be recieving in-game use at my table.


I got my first dissapointment in the gender section where a rather large penalty to strength stat for women is proposed along with tiny boosts to a couple other stats, while men get a more random roll for the disproven idea that mostly men get autism. No mention of transgender identities in this section.


Race gets the most effort and content in this document. Though focusing on penalties and fetishization does strike me as not the way to encourage diversity at my table. I did find the section interesting though and would recomend a read.


The sexuality provides some historical examples of lgbt right next to historical pedophelia. Transgenderism is mentioned once in context of sex work, and several single sentance lists of cosmetic transition options, one per setting.


The infirmery section was my highest disapointment though with romanticised views of hook hands and peg legs, various prosthetics, but total dismisal of mobility devices as something to be included in play.


Then a section of defensive politics similar to the product description.


As a disabled autistic white trans woman, who plays with neurodiverse, POC, trans, and disabled players (most 2 or 3 of those), I cannot recomend this for use, though please do read. I am encouraged to write my own content on these themes now at least.



Puntuación:
[2 de 5 estrellas!]
Publisher Reply:
If you read closely the point of the stat section in gender is basically illustrative as to why it\'s not a good idea - and it\'s not disprove but rather challenged that men necessarily have more autism, the proposed explanation being that women are better at hiding it. The point of the booklet, as explained fairly early on, is not to encourage or deny diversity etc, but rather to discuss it from a different context than the usual way in which these discussions are centred. I think you came at it expecting something other than what the product was intended to be, which explains your disappointment. If you felt I missed something feel free to get in touch to offer suggestions.
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
por Stuart N. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/27/16 07:25:12

Pros:


A well laid out, thoughtful and interesting read, covering some particularly difficult areas to address with nuance when world-building. It discusses race, gender, sexuality and infirmity, in general terms and in more detail looking at fantasy, modern and the SF genres (while noting that these often provide ways of exploring real world themes through proxies).


I liked the idea of social consequences related to these areas, and the recognition that these consequences could be overcome during the course of an ongoing campaign.


Cons:


Trying to make attributes conform to reality is, in my opinion, a wasted effort. And the discussion of how male and female stat blocks should differ was unhelpful.


The later sections of the book, which reference some of the author's own experiences were less useful to me, but I can appreciate its use as a salutory lesson.


Overall:


From a world-building point-of-view, I did find this book quite interesting, particularly in terms of using the ruleset to highlight a character's social difficulties. However, I'm not really sure how much milage my gaming group would get out of the ideas presented within.


Because I am not a publisher, that part of the book was of academic interest only and as such I found it a mixed bag of the very sensible/useful and, for me a least, at times verging on over-sharing.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. The stat blocks etc were - as I believe was stated several times - never intended to be an actual, practical suggestion for anyone to use, but rather as a demonstration of the issues and what such might look like.
Diversity Dungeons : Worldbuilding & Game Design in the Safe Space Age
por Shane B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/26/16 12:03:46

The author feigns conscientiousness in matters of race, gender, and the like, yet clearly has a divisive right-wing agenda. The content is not nearly as instructive as it pretends to be where it attempts to address inclusion and diversity. It reads more like a guidebook for racists and sexists on how to deal with uppity liberals in their gaming group.



Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for illustrating some of the points I raise in the booklet in such a stark way. FYI I\'m a far left anarchist - ideologically - and a socialist pragmatically. I occupy the far bottom left on the political compass. I agree with most of the goals of the genuinely progressive left but find the excesses of \'SJWs\' and the Regressive Left to be antithetical to left-liberal values. For this dissent, it seems, you\'re just going to get called \'right wing\' even though it is (literally) the furthest thing from the truth. Again though, I thank you for making my point for me. Cheers.
6-Pack Adventures: Sickness in Springdale [4e]
por Ken C. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/11/16 20:45:50

Not a bad product and well worth the full price I paid for it



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
6-Pack Adventures: Sickness in Springdale [4e]
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Machinations of the Space Princess
por Customer Name Withheld [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/26/16 15:25:02

Takes OSR rules and adds some real cool "new school" ideas. If you ever wanted to play a scifi/fantasy space opera game that feels like Barbarella meets Star Crash meets Ice Pirates meets Star Wars this is the game for you. It is like a sleazy Travellers or a pulpy Stars Without Number (both of these games are good games but a little too stuffy ot bland for my tastes.) Machinations of the Space Princess would also work for Sword and Planet and even a Cyberpunk like game. Hell, one planet could be straight out of Burroughs Mars and next a dark and gritty dystopia. You can do it all. Also, the author encourages you to change and add and tinker with the system to suit your own gaming style, which is good.


Seriously, cannot say enough about it. Just check it out of you like pulpy, sleazy, sexy, campy, and/or gonzo scifi inspired by the cult classics.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Machinations of the Space Princess
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

The Little Grey Book
por Kirt D. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 01/25/16 13:39:58

I'm impressed! I've never felt the desire to use the term "straw man" when looking at an RPG product.


You can get the exact same point by reading the short story "Harrison Bergeron" by Kurt Vonnegut, and regardless of how you feel about the point made, "Harrison Bergeron" is much, much better written. Even at $0, this is a waste of space on your hard drive.


Of course, that means you'll download this anyway, but seriously, read "Harrison Bergeron" as well, if you haven't already.



Puntuación:
[1 de 5 estrellas!]
The Little Grey Book
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Publisher Reply:
I don\'t think you quite got it. It\'s not so much about equality as the rather sinister panopticon of social enforcement we get through social media and, ironically, reviews. Still, HB is a great story and I don\'t claim to be as good as Vonnegut. Maybe try the recursive computer game version: http://www.postmort.demon.co.uk/LGB.html
Machinations of the Space Princess
por Tom L. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 12/22/15 12:03:03

A very nicely done space opera setting. I got the feel of the Big 70s sci-fi works like Barbarella and Star Wars while reading it.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Machinations of the Space Princess
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Clipart Critters 363 - Astronaut In Space
por Dan T. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 09/18/15 23:12:04

I love the art work. Great art, very high quality and a great guy. By far one of the best arts I know.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Clipart Critters 363 - Astronaut In Space
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Machinations of the Space Princess
por Timothy B. [Cr�tico destacado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/12/15 12:17:14

Written by James "Grimm" Desborough and art by Satine Phoenix this game has a really cool, sexy vibe.
Firmly planted in the PG-13 area, this game does more with a nudge and wink than some games try to do with out right R material.
The game is described as a game of "Kick Ass Heroes". It is. It is also a game of rogues, smugglers, free wheeling pilots, more-than human psionics and accountants. Seriously, you can hire them. But more on that later.


This game is built on Lamentations of the Flame Princess, but it takes more than a few liberties with it. Bottom line here; you can add this to any of the OSR Sci-Fi games I have been reviewing.
The book itself is 244 pages which includes cover, OGL, title pages and acknowledgments. There are a few pages of "What is Roleplaying" and examples of play. Anyone reading this review though can likely skip these sections.


There is a section on the default setting, the Urlanth Matriarchy, and it's fall. Also each page has a note with some tidbit of information. Don't ignore these, there is a lot colorful commentary here.
The section on Kick-Ass heroes is a good one and even though it feels like something we have read before it is worth reading again (or for the first time). MotSP is fully character focused. The empire, the aliens, the tech, that's all just backdrop to playing a Kick Ass character and having a good time. This is refreshing for an old school game and honestly for me it nudges MotSP ahead in my book.

The mechanics of building a hero are also here. This is old hat for most of us.
Note: Ability score bonuses are more in-line with D&D 3.x than old-school D&D. But you could use whatever you like really.
MotMP has Seven attributes. Comeliness is back.
There are actually a few compelling reasons to include Comeliness and MotMP is a good game to use it.

Races are covered with the default humans and various archetypes of other races (Amoeboid, Aquatic...). Races are also divided up by Species (an actual species), Cultural (many species or one species that make up a culture) say like a planet of criminals or Exotic (something about them is very different), for example everyone is dead or a cyborg. There are a lot of of these races given and they can be combined in different ways.

Classes cover many of the basics; Experts, Killers, Psions, and Scholars. Each class has their own sub-specialties, HD, Attack Bonus and Skill Points. Psions get Psi Points and Power Points. In what seems reversed to me Psi-Points are your reserve of power to use your psionic powers and Power Points allow you to buy your Psychic Powers. I am planning to spend some time with the Psion since it is the closest thing I have seen to a witch-like character.


Skills define what a character can do. The skill system is a d6 roll under the skill points you have for a particular skill. There are some common skills that everyone can use, the Psi skills (Psions), Combat skills, Scholastic skills, and General skills (ones that anyone can learn but don't start out with).


After skills we discuss gear, which includes arms and armor. Some basic ship stats are also given. Ships can also have a number of qualities. My favorite so far is "Killer Paint Job" which makes your ship "look totally rad". Seriously it like this is the only game that remembers that fun is important! Ok, not really, but fun is in the forethought here.


Of course you are are going to get all that loot from doing what ever your kick-ass characters do, but can you afford that "killer paint job"? Better hire that previously mentioned accountant. Retainers are discussed next. How many hit die they have (space is a dangerous place) and how much they need to be paid. So do you want 10 accountants or 1 elite assassin?


There is a chapter on cybernetics and enhancements. It isn't as fully transhuman as say Stars Without Number, but it gets the job done.


Bodly Going is the chapter on space and planet exploration. It can also be called 1,001 Ways to Die in Space. I give Grim a lot of credit here. I know the guy outside of the gaming world and he is what I call a science-cheer-leader. He does not hit us over the head with hard core science in this, but he is paying enough lip service to the real thing to make this chapter fun to read. I know he could have dialed this up more, but since his goal is fun this is perfect.


Rocket's Red Glare gives us more details of spaceships. This includes a lot on combat. What I do like here is that ships are treated like characters. It is something a lot of games do so there is a real pragmatic approach to it all.


The rest of this section covers things characters can do and psionics.


A little after the half-way point we get into the Game Master's section.
If the players make kick-ass characters then the game master is instructed to be a bad-ass Game Master. Additionally advice is how to keep the game fun.
So everything from planetary romance, swords and planets stories, sexy (or sleazy) fun, traps, killing things and taking their stuff and more are discussed.


The book ends with an index and character and ship sheets.


There is so much here to be honest that I doubt I'd ever run out of things to do with this game. It may be more tongue-in-cheek than other sci-fi games. There are plenty of "Serious" sci-fi games that play great and are fun, but I doubt I will find one with a bigger sense of fun than this one.



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Machinations of the Space Princess
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Freakshow - Vampire Brains
por Dustin W. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 05/10/15 16:34:43

Overall, I found this product to be useful on account of how it provides both flavor text and fitting data stats for the Vampire Brain as a potential foe in any horror-themed campaign using d20/OGL or RuneQuest rules. I especially appreciate the adventure seeds provided on pages 4 and 5 in that they illustrate how a game master can incorporate this kind of monster into his or her own setting. However, if there was one thing that bugged me about this document, it was the fact that authors James Desborough and Richard Fannon introduced the Psychic Vampire advanced class for d20 Modern rules without showing any advancement table to accompany their listing of the Psychic Vampire's abilities per level. What's the Base Attack Bonus for this class, for example, or the rate at which its Fortitude, Reflex, and Willpower stats each increase? That's the kind of info I'd like to know before even considering advancing the NPCs in my own campaign in this proposed class. Hopefully, this is something that James and Richard will keep in mind, should they ever update this supplement. Thankfully, while this drawback is a noticeable one, it doesn't detract as much value as it otherwise could have from the product's overall quality.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Freakshow - Vampire Brains
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Project
por Sophia B. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/27/15 16:42:57
http://dieheart.n-
et/project-review/

I like heroic role-playing games. For me, it’s great if characters can do zany stuff. I dislike systems where my base chance of success is something like 20-30% because I feel like my character is a nitwit and can’t do anything (Dark Heresy, I’m looking at you!). Likewise, I like simple games where the rules get out of the way. That’s why I appreciate Mini Six, a stripped-down variant of the Open d6 System. I already reviewed the Mini Six standalone product Breachworld HERE: http://dieheart.net/b-
reachworld
.
While researching Breachworld, I stumbled over the newly released Project, another d6 game. I asked the author for a review copy of the PDF and here we are.


What do you need to know?


Project is written by James Desborough of Postmortem Studios.


PROJECT is a role-playing game about heroic guardians of reality.
After a terrible, supernatural disaster the world has been rent asunder and strange things have begun to bleed in all around the edges.
Humanity has recovered to an extent and continues to fight these beings and forces from beyond known as ‘Entities’.
The group PROJECT is at the forefront of humanity’s defence, using the strange technologies and abilities of the Entities against them and reasserting reality one bloody fight at a time. 1
Sounds good? I think so, too.
You can buy the PDF for USD $10.99 HERE. A print version will come soon, distributed by Chronicle City. Personally, I’m a bit conflicted as the publisher hasn't been very reliable in the past.


Project RPG cover


Setting?


The game is a post-apocalyptic RPG where you play modified humans (cyborgs, psi users, empath, A.I.s etc.) and battle monsters from other planes of existence. Players are employees of a near-government-organization called PROJECT.
Project takes place in the future, after a worldwide catastrophe, the Mindquake, has driven the world into chaos. Three centuries later, humanity has recovered but the earth is not the same as before. The game doesn’t take itself too seriously, nations are some kind of stereotypic versions of the real world. For instance, in America the gap between the rich and the poor is predominant and Americans embody the cowboy archetype.
The game includes a synopsis of the history of different regions: Britain, America, Japan, Africa, Eurasia and more. Wealth and power are centered around a few selected: monarchies, corporations, and wealthy families. However, the major player is PROJECT itself.
PROJECT Central is located between realities but also has regional offices. Lately, the Denver office has gone rogue…
Generally, the world reminds me of a mix between post-apocalyptic elements, sci-fi, and cyberpunk. Case in point, Psykers, Wytches, and Empaths use PME (Psycho-Magnetic Energy) to manipulate matter. So basically, there is some supernatural element but it’s not flavored as fantasy magic. Powers are obtained by implanting technology into the brains of agents. The world glossary contains jargon like “A-Grav” and “Splice Technology”.
The world information is a bit sparse as more material is planned for supplements. While it is enough to get you started and to evoke the feel for the game it, unfortunately, doesn’t come with detailed information.


Rules


Character Creation


You create your character in a step-by-step process. You need to pick a Character Template and customize it, choose Advantages & Disadvantages, calculate some values (Wound Level etc.), equip yourself and that’s it.
That means that the process is reasonably fast and easy.
Every template comes with pre-generated attributes and skills. You have Customization Points to adjust it to your liking. Sadly, with only a small amount of those points and a steep price point you need to stay close to the template.
I must say that the templates are pretty awesome. You have the Psyker who can manipulate kinetic energy or the Empath who controls psychic energy to warp your brain. The Golem is a big muscled brute with a simple mind. Golems have an “Object of Desire” (a so-called binky) which they need to calm themselves down. A very interesting template is the Borg, a human who is transplanted into an artificial high-tech body. The body is modular and can be enhanced. Borgs use “masks” to express themselves, every Borg has a public mask and several others which he can change. They are good at stealth. Grunts are soldiers and the most human of the bunch. They can use PME armor and weapons. A Wytch is another template that uses psi energy. They can summon, bind and control Entities from other realms and have a familiar. A Medusa looks like those metal octopus thingies from Matrix and is an A.I. Medusas have a set of laws that prevent them from harming PROJECT or their agents.
Psi powers are modeled with skills, so a psychic character will want to choose Kinetic Blast (Psyker) , Magic Heal or Homunculus (Wytch, it’s a permanently summoned creature) or Psychic Telepathy (Empath).
You may further customize your character by choosing Advantages and Disadvantages. The author provides a general list as well as template specific Advantages & Disadvantages. That’s really neat! Examples include “Extra Body Part” for Borgs or “Extra Laws” for Medusas.
I must say that I really love the templates, they are pretty cool and there were several that I immediately wanted to play. Customization points are limited though, so your character will be close to the original. You can mitigate that a bit by using Advantages and Disadvantages, but major changes will not come until your character advances.


Game Rules


I like the Open-d6-family for its unified core mechanic. Attributes and skills have a die value like 3D and if you want to make a task check you roll that number of six-sided dice and aim to score higher than a target number. That’s pretty easy.
Project uses the Wild Die from the 2nd edition of Star Wars (?). It’s an exploding die, that means that if you roll a 6, you can roll it again and add the result to your roll. At the same time, a 1 needs to be rolled again and be subtracted from the result (roll it again as long as you keep rolling a 1). This adds a random (and heroic) element to the game.
The game has 7 Attributes: Strength, Dexterity, Endurance, Wits and Intelligence are fairly self explanatory. Technology shows how much you understand and can use computers, bypass security etc.. Technology based skills are, for example, Demolitions, Medicine or Navigation. Psionics shows if and how well you can control psycho-magnetic energy.
Combat uses a rounds and initiative. There are also rules for multiple actions, helping each other, rushing or taking your time, called shots etc..
Characters don’t have hit points. They use Wound Levels in place. As an offshoot of Open d6 they game uses active defense: When you are attacked you roll your Resistance score and add armor. This is a derived stat which is a subset from the Endurance attribute. The attacker’s margin of success determines the amount of damage: Stunned, Wounded/KO, Incapacitated, Mortally Wounded, Dead.
How fast and easy you heal also depends on your Wound Level.
Fate Points can be used to roll double the normal number of normal dice. You get one FP per session.
During play characters earn Character Points. These experience points can be used to advance your character. As you can see, the d6 family does not use a level-based system.
Interestingly, Borgs can also enhance their artificial bodies by purchasing more hardware with money instead of experience points.
What I also like about the d6 system is the scale modifier which models size and damage differences between larger vehicles or weapons. Project only mentions vehicles and weapons but I assume that you can also apply them to monsters. At least that’s how it works in Mini Six.
Rules for vehicles are included (vehicle stunts, ramming, stunts and more).
The ruleset is a good choice for a heroic system and I like it for its blend between traditional mechanisms and more modern parts. Personally, I prefer the even more streamlined Mini Six rules but Open d6 is a nicely done ruleset as well. Check out the freely available rules HERE if you want to delve deeper.


Equipment


Every agent has a standard equipment with weapons, a tablet etc.. There is also some interesting stuff like a Chameleon Cloak or a Goo-Goo-Tank (it’s a Bacta Tank…).


Games Mastery


This is a useful chapter and explains basics as well as setting-specific tips. There is some guidance on how to adjust the game for different styles of play: investigative, horror, action or high octane. While it’s a bit generic it’s still useful advice.
Furthermore, there are stats for NPCs and adversaries which I always find practical. Additionally, there is also rules for how to create your own Entities.
This chapter also comes with information about how PROJECT is organized, about their public perception, ressources and offices.
Last, there is help on creating missions for your players and some adventure seeds.


Layout, Look & Design


I like how the book takes you in. At first, you have an “Employee Manual” which you could theoretically give the players. This part is like an introduction for players and explains the setting in broad strokes as well as the different player templates. I like how it addresses the PC as if he was a fresh recruit for PROJECT.
Next up is general world information, game rules and last is the GM chapter. The game does a good job explaining common game and setting terms in glossaries.
The PDF has 116 pages total and is not electronically bookmarked. The cover already shows the heroic premise of the game, it looks like a superheroes cover.
The book comes in black and white with functional two-column layout. It looks modern and fits the genre nicely. Every character template has a good-looking logo associated to it. I really like how that looks.
The artwork is very sweet with clear lines and good contrast, again very superheroes-like. Unfortunately, it doesn’t have a lot of pictures.
All in all, it looks like a well made text-heavy roleplaying book. It doesn’t stand out in your shelf because of an exciting look but it doesn’t disappoint either. Project doesn’t take advantage of the electronic format. Compared to Breachworld it has a more hard-nosed feel and is missing the color coded chapters and the full color artwork.
On the plus side, the game comes with pregens.


A short comparison to Breachworld


I reviewed Breachworld on my blog but here is a short blurb if you didn’t read it: Breachworld is a post-apocalyptic kitchen sink game based on Mini Six. Humans used teleportation Gates centuries ago but the technology failed and opened so-called Breaches. Otherworldly beings and environments could enter earth. Now, centuries later, humans and aliens live in a pre-industrial society but there is also advanced tech left from the Golden Age.
Sounds familiar? Yes, it is. Project is more focussed than Breachworld. Project’s setting is technologically more advanced and more in the realm of sci-fi than fantasy. Players are already part of an organization and have distinctive roles and tasks to fulfill. Breachworld is more post-apocalyptic, has more diversity and versatility (sandbox style) and has way more options. There are are far more “spells” in Breachworld because as an Epic you are not limited to a specific branch of “magic”. In my opinion, there are more ways to customize your character in Breachworld than in Project. Yet all those options could confuse players and GMs. Both approaches are viable and come down to your personal preference.
Project also has advice for the Game Master, something which I’m missing from Breachworld. On the other hand, visually Breachworld has the upper hand as it is a full color book, has way more artwork and handy color-coded chapters.


The Verdict


What do I like?
The Character Templates are pretty awesome, especially the Medusa and the Borg. While I feel that the Psyker and the Empath are a tad too similar the rest of the bunch looks intriguing and diverse. I also like the inherent (subtle?) humor in the setting. There is enough conflict externally (otherworldy Entities) as well as internally (is PROJECt really as altruistic and what is it about their Internal Affairs section?) Plus, the game addresses different continents and doesn’t concentrate on the author’s home country. The GM chapter is useful, too, and the adventure seeds give you some ideas. The Open d6 system also fits my preferences of a simple game with a mix of traditional and modern elements.


What would I’ve liked to see?
More details: the world information sparse. The author has planned further supplements so perhaps that’s in the making?
The PDF should be bookmarked.


The Verdict:
Project is exactly what it aims to be: a heroic/superheroic game about agents protecting earth from alien Entities. While the setting information is a bit scant, the book makes it up to you by providing some very interesting character templates. If you like post-apocalyptic settings with a touch of sci-fi, cyberpunk and psionics this could be the game for you.



Puntuación:
[4 de 5 estrellas!]
Project
Plse para mostrar la descripción del producto

Añadir al pedido DriveThruRPG.com

Project
por Michael H. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 04/11/15 10:54:56

This is a game that had potential. The system is based on the old D6 system by West End Games and as such is quick and easy to learn and use. There are a lot of fun ideas in here that could be work on. However there is a major lack of detail in the background. This leaves the game in limbo. it could have been a very good campaign based game. Instead it is only useful for one off games. More background would have increased the rating, as there is great potential in this game. Such a shame.



Puntuación:
[3 de 5 estrellas!]
Publisher Reply:
That lack of absolute detail is somewhat intentional to allow Games Masters to customise their world and play relatively unencumbered by lots of lore. Still we hope to expand on BG in future.
Project
por Chris F. [Comprador verificado] Fecha en que fue añadido: 03/27/15 08:57:15

Open D6 seems to be undergoing something of a Renaissance, with Project and Breachworld both producing excellent sci-fi content for the system.


Project runs on a slightly modified form of the engine that powered the classic Star Wars RPG from West End Games. So if you enjoyed that classic game, you know basically what to expect from Project's system. It's the setting that sets Project apart from other RPGs.


In brief, the world is recovering a global psychic disaster that wiped a good portion of mankind's memories when the walls between dimensions come crashing down. Enter Project, a massive NGO dedicated to protecting what's left of humanity. Project fields an assortment of agents- the player characters- who are basically cybernetically enhanced psychic superheroes. It's a great, gamable premise, with lots of potential for action and exploration. There are occasional moments of brilliance in the writing, such as the amazingly evocative description of an angel's wings, or the psychology of a Borg.


The setting reminds me quite a bit of the Appleseed anime and manga, both in its high-tech, post-apoc setting, its transhuman and pyschological elements, and the feeling that despite its propaganda to the contrary, the Project organization might not be as benevolent as it seems.


Like Breachworld, which is really its closest competitor, Project seems somewhat inspired by Rifts, and if you have visions of a homebrew Rifts D6 campaign, buying the two books and mixing and matching as desired seems like a good choice. I know I will be.


Oh, one final thing, if you're still unsure about buying this book.
Remember those horrible, creepy-ass squid robots from the Matrix?


Yeah, those guys.


Well, they're a player race available in the book. How awesome is that? My first character is going to be Squiddy the Death Robot.


CHRIS



Puntuación:
[5 de 5 estrellas!]
Mostrando de 1 a 15 (de 345 críticas) Páginas de resultados:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Siguiente >>] 
0 artículos
 Los mejores productos
 Gift Certificates