DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Warbirds Space Age Sourcebook
by Austin G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2017 17:48:41

Let the buyer beware, you're probably going to need the You Must Be Mad sourcebook if you want to get a proper grip on the gear and technology in this book. Over all it's a welcome expansion, but it's incredibly shallow; only giving the most basic information on the setting plus new dogfighting rules. Considering how alive and in-depth the original Warbirds setting felt, I was expecting some more juicy lore about the races and at least a few notable locations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warbirds Space Age Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warbirds Jet Age Sourcebook
by John A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2017 16:25:25

A definitely good supplement for Warbirds. The only wish is that there could have been more modern planes in the supplement, like the F-22 or the Su-35.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warbirds Jet Age Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Remnants Role Playing Game
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 09:32:32

I'm dying to play this! The rules are streamlined and built for fun (especially for a mecha game!) It's more story and less Battletech. It's the lowest crunch mecha game that I have seen but it still allows for every sort of option. The world is written well enough to give plenty of sandbox ideas without the sort of details that squelch imaginiation. If I can ever find players, I'll update my review to describe how it plays.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remnants Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warbirds Role Playing Game
by EW S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2015 03:31:02

As a system, Warbirds is fast, light, and gets right to the point. You're a pilot, you have a plane, go have some adventures.

I am particularly fond of the way characters are handled inside and outside of the cockpit. On foot, a pilot may fulfill just about any character concept the player has in mind. It's really down to the GM whether "botany" constitutes a viable skill in the context of the campaign, or how best to statistically represent a martial artist character. However, when these characters step into the cockpit, it is the sum total of their statistics that determines their piloting ability. In this way, a player group can be extremely diverse but still possess similar "power" levels in the air.

I also quite like the way the Trait system customizes players' planes to perform better in either dogfighting or strafing attacks. It's possible to create extremely durable fighters, extremely frail (yet supremely destructive) ground-attack planes, or anything in between. I've been playing around with a concept for a plane that specializes in head-to-head aerial attacks by loading it with machine guns and perks that reduce head-on damage, then attempting dangerous stall-out maneuvers using the "stunt" system. It's not likely to be a particularly effective design/playstyle, but I appreciate the flexibility.

I wouldn't say this is a system particularly well-suited for grim or gritty campaigns, but it's great for four-color action stories centered around flying. You spend a little bit of time talking, maybe shoot some mooks or go out drinking/carousing, and then you're back in the air for some high-stakes dogfighting. The system covers many of the most important aspects of being a fantasy pilot: the fame, the customization, the rivalries, the nicknames/camaraderie, and a serviceable setting that emphasizes air combat.

As a book, Warbirds have a couple small shortcomings. I noticed a few spelling/grammatical errors as I read through the book. It's neither a deal-breaker nor anything particularly egregious, but it was a little disappointing. I also might have laid out the information a bit differently, as certain sections tend to break flow. Warbird customization in particular was a sticking point, as all of the "traits" are pushed off until the end of the section. It was a bit jarring because the book teaches you how to build most of a Warbird, tells you to pick some traits, shows you a list of traits (but not what they do), and then moves right ahead into the next step. It is only when you skip ahead or reach the end of the section that you can see what all the available traits are and how they affect your plane.

The art was something of a double-edged sword. I really liked what was included, but I was left wanting a bit more. There are some short well-done comics, many slice-of-life scenes, and some character portraits, but precious few detailed fighter designs. The statistical guidelines for each nations' fighters lacked any visual reference, and the only named design I can recall (a Santiago fighter) lacked any accompanying statistics/traits. I would really appreciate some kind of 'Hangars of Azure' supplement that provided detailed examples of various fighters, bombers and Warbirds; so that I can provide my players with more substantial descriptions/visual references. Without traditional area maps, miniatures or even reference artwork, I worry about how I'm going to represent this game visually to my group. It is worth mentioning that the Warbird sheet includes a "Nose Art" section, at least covering one of the more personal aspects of aircraft livery.

Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase and I'm excited to run a campaign with this system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warbirds Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warbirds Role Playing Game
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/10/2014 23:45:40

Warbirds is a splendid piece of work. Outrider Studios comes up with an RPG that does more than emulate Crimson Skies, but stands alongside it with an interesting setting of it’s own. The rules are simple, but very functional, delivering the most fun without the pain of slowing down.

With an imaginative setting, fun mechanics, excellent layout and neat artwork, Warbirds is definitely a must by for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warbirds Role Playing Game
by Amaury F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 02:37:42

I really didn't like the setting. It's a completely personal opinion, but I really feel they made unnecessary leaps of logic that I really disagree with, and that the basics of the universe are completely flawed as a result.

This being said, I really, really like the game mechanics. The aerial combat system manages to EVOKE air combat instead of SIMULATING it, and is light, fun, and still feels like dogfight without the need of a map of figures or anything that would throw the game into a tedious sub-session of wargame.

Do you want to roleplay some Crimson Skies ? Warbirds more than delivers !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warbirds Role Playing Game
by Victor J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2013 03:43:34

A bit disappointing. The layout of the world feels derivative of "Swashbucklers of the Seven Skies", the writing feels flat, there are basic English errors, and the layout of the book is uninspired. Some of the ideas are interesting, and the combat system looks like a lot of fun. The price is right, too, so I'd recommend picking it up if you're interested. Just be prepared for the above.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Edge Role Playing Game
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2013 22:19:10

Edge is an example of how a game should not be written. It is 170 pages long, of which 150 pages is a very poor attempt at flowery, exciting prose and 20 pages of useful information. The grammar and attempts at background are so bad, it's embarrassing to read. For example, the section on Celestial beings spends 3 paragraphs describing how cool they are but never says what they are. Humans? Ghostly apparitions? Hamsters? This is a player-character race, too. Things only get worse.

There are no examples of roleplay and no guidance on roleplay. The author is assuming you will play it like any other rpg, so doesn't mention details like how a party is formed or that you can describe yourcharacter's actions.

There are no social skills and no advice on creating the intrigue the game claims is so abundant in the world. All character abilities either cause damage or stop damage. I couldn't find any other kind of ability.

Character generation is so badly organized, it is hard to know if the list of skills applies to your character, or maybe they put the entire list on wrong page and you're supposed to choose some of them.

The use of magical energy by all three classes saves them the trouble of designing a weapon chart. I see no other benefit, either mechanically or cinematically.

The author is one of those amateur writers who believes that hype is the most important part of writing and fails to provide substance. Shame on the ENnies for giving an award to such a non-creation as this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Edge Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Remnants Role Playing Game
by Jeffrey J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2011 19:18:04

Highly recommended if you're a fan of mecha. The setting is wide open and perfect for an old-school sandbox type of GM who is willing to fill in the details. Even if you don't like the setting, you could get a fast-paced set of design and combat rules that you can adapt to other settings.

Full review with details at drnuncheon's gameblog: http://drnuncheongames.blogspot.com/2011/08/review-remnants-rpg.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remnants Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Remnants Role Playing Game
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/02/2011 20:11:13

Remnants is one of those games that you start reading and just don't stop until you're done or you're pulled away from the document by a team of horses. It's that good. It shows love and care in its development process, and clear purpose.

It's quick, gritty, and fun. There's giant robots and medieval feudal civilizations. What's not to like?

My only gripe would come down to be the simplicity of the rules system, but that's also a positive. There's not a whole lotta room for variable outcomes, but that keeps the gameplay running smooth.

With good art, typesetting, and design, Remnants is a sure bet for a game with quick mechanics but a rather deep setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remnants Role Playing Game
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2011 19:54:50

Remnants Roleplaying Game is an acessible, easy-to-learn rpg set in a unique world with plenty of opportunities to stomp around in giant mecha.

The Rapidfire ruleset is well thought out, and provides plenty of options for the player characters as well as their Ishin, and as with most mecha games, half of the fun is putting together your custom mech.

The setting is broad, and the Fantasy-slash-Post-Apocalyptic premise means that one could reasonably run all sorts of games. Already I’m thinking of a campaign that is a riff of “Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagan” which also features people finding mecha lost from a time before while fighting beastmen, but I digress.

Overall, Remnants is a solid RPG from Outrider Studios, and should be something to check out if you’re a fan of cinematic mecha rpgs without the hexes and the heatsinks and other fiddly bits that slow things down.

This is an excerpt from the full review from my blog, to view the entire article, please visit http://wp.me/p5H0U-P2



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edge Role Playing Game
by Ted J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2011 15:13:19

Does lightning strike twice? Having finished reading the Remnants RPG, which is made to a very high standard, and which I’ve fallen in love with, I was a bit reluctant to read its predecessor The Edge.

Fantasy roleplaying games are a dime a dozen, some have great settings but the rules fail to deliver, most are just mediocre.

I did however delve in to the book, the first thing that hit me was that Steve Bergeron, the author of both the Remnants and the Edge and his team at Outrider Studios have the same high quality writing in this book that I wish all my roleplaying games had.

When reading about the different nations, I caught myself smiling, giggling, ooing and aaing as the text came to life in my mind’s eye (imagination ^^). The setting is very well fleshed out. You don’t get the barebones of the world and a ton of rules, you get it all. I’d love more sourcebooks for this game, but in reality, it doesn’t really need it, this is as complete of a game as one could ever wish for.

What about the rules then? Some roleplaying games goes through 3+ Editions and still don’t come close to being as streamlined as the Rapidfire rules that the Edge uses are. They’re easy to learn and easy to use, combat is fast paced and cinematic.

The classes, only three of them made me hesitate at first, but after reading through them, I realized that they have immense customizability. And I have to hand it to the creators, Dreamweaver is probably the most awesome class I have ever seen.

In short, lightning does strike twice, at least for Outrider Studios.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edge Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Remnants Role Playing Game
by Ted J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2011 15:14:59

Found this game by accident. Reading through the preview intrigued me, so I bought the PDF.

The book is well written and has a very nice layout. The setting is evocative and really made my imagination and inspiration run wild!

Remnants use the Rapidfire rules, which are new to me. They're very easy to use, yet complex enough that one can play anything thats setting appropriate. I really love it, I have adopted it for all of my free form games where the characters will be mainly human.

The artwork is beatiful, I would have liked more of it though. Read the book cover to cover one can really feel the care and love that was put into this product.

I'd recommend this product to everyone who are itching for some Mecha Rping. But especially to people who'd want to do some indept rping and adventuring between a single GM and Player, which the setting does perfectly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Remnants Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates