DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fifth Edition Options
by Ethan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2016 07:01:58

This book looks really interesting. Too bad I'll never get to see any of the gems contained within as it has no table of contents and no index. I'm not going to use this product as a reference, which is what it is, without a way to quickly and easily find the information I'm looking for. This book literally leaves out two of the most essential components necessary when building a REFERENCE book. How is this possible?!? How did this get out the door like this?!? What editor at Total Party Kill Games signed off on this incomplete product saying "Eh, they'll figure it out"?!? Last year I put together a supplement for personal use at my table. 35 pages, built using Word of all things, and not for the public. But do you know what? I put a table of contents in there because I'm not a crazy person. Unbelievable. What a gigantic waste of my hard earned money…



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Options
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Ethan, Thanks for the review. In our print book we\'ll add an index. However, the PDF is extensively bookmarked and has everything you are looking for. Cheers!
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2016 06:38:33

I have to agree with most of the previous reviewers, this product is somewhat frustrating. On the one hand, it shows great potential with an interesting and extensive lineup of feats. On the other hand, it appears to have been lazily edited and the feats' adherence to the 5E rules is often spotty. It should also be noted, that the feats found within are implicitly not meant to be used in addition with the Player's Handbook's list but rather to replace it.

Still, the underlying content is good enough to have prompted me to polish this gem in the rough before introducing it in our game. Although I should not have had to put in so much work revising the product, the fact that I will actually be using it still warrants giving it 3 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Options
by Reviewer X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2016 11:54:37

This book is about variant rules, not more character options, and I really enjoyed it. If you are an aspiring DM looking to tweak the rules of 5e D&D for your games, this is going to be a great resource. There are around 80 pages of info, covering everything from 3.5 features like masterwork items to full skill definitions (a freaking godsend!). There's tons of great mechanical options for everything in the game from combat, initiative and Inspiration. At the end, there's even something called campaign templates which tell you which alternate rules to use for what style of game you are running. I'd say this is a 4.5 star book because the art is mostly stock, but for usefulness, I'm definitely rounding up to 5 stars.

R-X



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Options
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Options
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2016 05:04:36

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive book clocks in at 79 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page of SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 75 pages of content, so let's take a look!

So, what is this? Basically, this is a huge selection of variant rules for 5e that you can drag and drop in your game. We begin with alternate methods of ability score generation, with grid, dice pool, point-buy that goes up to 18 from the get-go and alternate ability arrays. Rolling 4d6, dropping the lowest and having the GM do the same and then dealing with the devil behind the screen is also mentioned. There is also a option by which class choice and backgrounds influence the attributes, with e.g. Warlocks gaining +1 to Int and Cha and those with a soldier background gaining either +1 Str or Con. The idea of racial maximum stats (here, 18) can be found, though with this system, dwarves get suckerpunched - they're the only race that has two capped attributes.

The pdf also provides rules for Small and Large characters, with Strength and Constitution being capped differently and minor modifications. The balance here, though, is off: Large creatures cap Str and Con at 22, gaina dvantage on saves against being pushed, tripped, etc. and have double the capacity of their Medium brethren. Downsides? None. Small characters cap Con at 18, Str at 16, get +1 AC and have only half the carrying capacity of Medium creatures. Yeah...that wasn't really thought through.

2d6 rolls to determine handedness, ability score proficiencies, feats at 1st level with various means of balancing the power-increase this represents - the book has a couple of rather nice customization considerations here. Similarly, the pdf introduces flaws, which can be rather flavorful, though GMs should take heed that the character who takes a flaw gets one befitting of the class: Foes gaining advantage on the first attack roll in melee is nasty, as it should be, but if the character keeps running from melee/ is a caster/etc., it loses some of its oomph. Still, I do enjoy these generally and their effects are generally potent enough.

As a whole, I enjoyed this chapter, though a bit more guidance pertaining the ramifications of the respective power-increases and caps would probably have been beneficent to the less experienced GMs out there. The pdf also provides means for the old-school gamer to play double or triple classes via a stunted XP-progression; basically think of this as the grognard's gestalting before there was gestalting. The pdf also offer variant XP-progressions (basically slow and fast track) as well as ability score increases by level instead of class, which becomes, obviously, relevant when employing the multiclass rules. The pdf also features starting wealth suggestions for higher level characters. If you wish for less lethal saves, adding +1/2 proficiency bonus is suggested for nonproficient saves...though I'm not the biggest fan here.

The second, massive chapter is all about skills: It suggests skill advancement at 5th level and every 5 levels thereafter, stat-like increases to skills or the altogether elimination of them as optional rules. Alternate skill lists are presented alongside an interesting take on expertise, which suggests using advantage instead, making you more reliable, but capping the maximum you can reach - this one makes A LOT of sense to me and generally can be considered to be one of the rules I'll certainly take from this book. Now the next section will either be useless or a godsend to you, depending on your perspective. 5e's skills are deliberately fast and loose to speed up gameplay; at the same time, one quick google will show you a lot of reddit-questions pertaining which skill to use when etc. - this chapter, thus, provides sample DCs for different tasks for the respective skills - in particular the vastly expanded animal handling DCs should prove to be helpful. While this may not be for every GM, I know that this section will be a rather significant boon for many a table.

Now, as long-time readers may note, one of the few components I liked about 4th edition was the introduction of skill challenges and this book does provide a 5e-twist on them with complex skill checks that require multiple successes that build upon another. The system introduced here is rather smooth and goes through the skills, skill by skill, providing some general guidance and examples for single skill complex checks, though these obviously can be combined. Similarly, complex skill-checks based on tools get a mention here.

Chapter 3 provides more detailed crafting rules that retain the straightforwardness of 5e design. Rules for simpler ammo-handling, impossible rest in armors, better crossbows and firearms that penalize armor, rules for masterwork equipment and new equipment options to enrich the game: From double weapons to those that can be folded or those that are oversized, the book sports quite a few of those, though e.g. doubled damage dice for the big ones with just the note that they "requrie training" and that characters aren't proficient in them can be deemed to be somewhat problematic. Come on, even Guts in Berserk can't swing his dragonslayer as fast as a regular sword. Want to distill poisons? Yup, rules for that in here.

The third chapter deals with combat - there is an alternate rule for rolling two smaller dice to make the hit point roll less swingy. Personally, I absolutely LOVED the slower healing, limited HD-expenditure and fatiguing injuries rules herein: D&D 5e already makes for a surprisingly good dark/low fantasy system and these alternate rules for grittier gameplay really add to that effect. On the other hand, if you dislike the element of chance when recovering, a fixing amount system can be found here as well. Similarly, if you liked the vitality and wounds systems, you'll have a 5e-iteration of the system here...including an ultra-gritty variant.

The pdf goes on with conditions - while 5e has a couple of them, older systems had more - if you're missing some of these, well - here's the list to cherry pick those you want back. The pdf also sports variant initiative systems: Rolling each round, while dynamic, slows down gameplay and round table initiative is simple, but also not that rewarding for all but the player who rolled highest - personally, I prefer that one for beer-and-pretzels-style games. Your mileage may vary, of course!

Minor tweaks like inadvertently hitting allies when firing into melee (default house-rule in my game) and tougher rising from the prone condition makes sense - default 5e is pretty lenient on that one, considering the effects of the prone condition.

Okay, the next section will be rather divisive, I wager. We get combat maneuvers. Including the whole Pathfinder array not covered by 5e as well as Power Attack, leaping on larger creatures etc. Myself, I am torn - Power Attack, for example, provides twice the penalty taken to atk as a bonus to damage, which I am not a fan of in the context of 5e. Then again, and this is a pretty big thing, the maneuvers remain worse than the comparative abilities of the Battle Master...at least as long as you don't add the loathsome feats introduced in the companion book to this one.

The pdf also has a variant rule for stacking advantages and disadvantages, more opportunity attacks, variant crits, inherent class defense bonuses, armor as DR (not a fan for 5e)...a lot of material. Rules for sniffing out magic items, for identifying them etc., while not necessarily the thing I look for in 5e-games, may well be welcome in some other tables. Similarly, feat-based better attunement may work for higher fantasy games. Personally, I'm a pretty big fan of the variant counterspelling for higher magic games, since it actually does allow for pretty quick and easy mage duels. Groups that wish to abolish the hard limit on spells in effect via concentration have a means to do so via this book and if you're missing bonus spells for high spellcasting ability scores, well, here's the table. Special conditions for simpler spell recovery, resurrection that permanently decreases attributes...quite a few nice tricks here.

The pdf also provides a simple fear-system for horror-games (based on Wis-saves) that does its job, but is pretty barebones. Doom, as an opposite of inspiration (somewhat akin to the Conan-RPG) is mentioned and extended inspiration mechanics are covered alongside a simplified XPsystem based on tokens. Alternate alignments based on convictions (very welcome in my game) with circumstantial advantage on certain checks based on the characters conviction are pretty neat, though the mechanical balance of them isn't always perfect. The pdf also provides three appropriately weak, barebones NPC-base classes and concludes with campaign templates, where a selection of rules are compiled for your convenience. Kudos!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are pretty good on both a formal and rules-language level. layout adheres to a parchment-style two-color full-color standard with solid stock artwork. In a minor nitpick, sometimes single letters in headers do look a bit larger than their brethren - might be a cosmetic font hiccup, but yeah. Artworks ranged from b/w-pieces I haven't seen before to full-color; it's generally nice, but not the reason you would get this book. The pdf comes with full, nested bookmarks for your convenience.

Brian Berg and Jason Sonia's 5th edition options...were a total surprise to me. After the horrendous book on feats, I honestly didn't expect to like this book. Well, guess what? I really like this book. No group will ever use all of the variant rules herein. Roleplaying games veterans will be familiar with the concepts. However, they actually have been updated to 5e rules with...care and precision. Total Party Kill Games delivers a complete 180; If I didn't know better, I'd refuse to believe that this book was crafted by the same company as the feat book.

This book utilizes proper rules; it takes complex variant systems and adjusts them for use with 5e. Wounds and vitality? Check. Crafting? Check. It provides basically the vast majority of alternate rules you can find out there, with only a complex crit/fumble-system à la Laying Waste or a complex Sanity system à la ToC/CoC missing. Apart from these two (which could be, scope-wise, books of their own), this pdf offers options. A LOT of options. Not all options will be great for all groups; not all rules will be utilized by any group out there. But whether you want a higher fantasy closer to Pathfinder, or a simpler, grittier lower fantasy closer to the darker OSR-options, this has the customization tools.

While here and there, I would have liked to see a bit more guidance for the respective GMs regarding the consequences of the respective rules-implementations to help them choose, the book as such does a great job in collecting a TON of alternate rules and ideas to customize the very tone of the campaign. Make no mistake - this is a toolkit. A big one and one that probably will have something for almost every 5e-game out there. While the required broadness of the scope also means that some further elaborations would have helped and that no group will ever use the totality of this book, I do consider this to be a fair and good buy, particularly for GMs hesitant (or too time-starved) to change the rules themselves. How to rate this, then? Well, you see, this is where it becomes difficult for me, since testing all combinations of rules herein is a sheer impossibility. I can see some conflicts/minor issues crop up - but generally, this is indeed a great toolkit. If anything, the main weakness of this kit lies in the fact that it does not have the one killer-variant-rule-system. It has, though, several small ones that can coalesce into cool templates to use.

In the end, this book will not elicit universal cheers on every page, but just about each group will find some nice material to scavenge within these pages. hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
by Mikael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2016 03:21:14

Was very dissapointed by this product. it is a very sloppy cut n' paste/search n' replace hack of the 3.5/Pathfinder SRD. The translation to 5e is really just above the minimum neccessary and lack any imaginative use of the 5e system.

This product need a total rework to be concidered worth the money. Just to mention the most (to me) glaring problem, the graininess. A Feat in 3.5 etc is usually one or sometimes two per level, in 5e it is one per fourth (about) and REPLACE a stat increase. It shouldn't be just a little fnutty plus in something, it should be a major flavour choice of the character! Not all Feats in 5e manage that, it is true, but this product fails it constantly...

Should have seen the signs, because they are written all over the wall, but my Feat-hunger got me into a buying frenzy.

Designers should really try to break out of the 3.5 mindset for the 5e, actually the freeform of the OSR is a better source of ideas currently.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Options
by George W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2016 01:44:52

Thoroughly impressed! I wasn't sure what to expect based on the other reviews, but I have to say that this is well worth the $9.99 I paid for it. I would even dare to say that the original $19.99 price is on the mark for the amount optional rules and exemplary details for new and aspiring DM's like myself. First off, there are some great alternate rules for character creation, ability scores, taking a really cool random personality disadvantage to get a bonus feat at level 1, and old school multi-classing rules for double and triple multi-classes, complete with their own XP tables. Reminds me of old school 1st edition D&D Fighter/Mage/Thief and Cleric/Fighter type characters -- simple and a very cool option for creative players!

Then it goes into a massively detailed section of how to best utilize each of the basic game skills in very creative and detailed ways. For example, there are specific rules for using Acrobatics to navigate through a battlefield or for tightrope walking, Athletics to climb walls, grab and save falling characters, or to swim effectively. There's a great section on using deception to seduce NPC's or disguise yourself. The list goes on and on. But my favorite has to be the section on how to use Survival to cover your tracks, move faster, track enemies, and determine direction. I was also very impressed with the rules for using persuasion to haggle, and there's even VERY detailed rules on how to use Animal Handling to train wild animals, dogs, and even magical beasts to perform tasks and fight for you. Oh, and they even explain how to use multiple skill checks to determine degrees of successes or failure for very complex situations. All of it was VERY useful stuff that was previously undefined by the core 5e content and rulebooks.

There are a lot of really cool rules and options for things like deadlier crossbows, simplified ammunition, crafting, double weapons, poisons, rolling for HP, alternate vitality and wounds, confused enemies, blind fighting, alternate initiative rules, variant combat options, rules like dirty fighting and leaping on a larger enemy, additional daily spell slots based on the primary stat, fear checks based on enemy types, better inspiration, and an entire new way of viewing alignment.

Overall, there is ALOT your everyday DM can beneit from here, as well as the everyday player (assuming the DM approves). If you're a new DM, then you absolutely need this document. If you're been DMing for a few years, you probabaly already have a system, so this will be a good suppliment/reference. The bottom line is this. If you already have all the answers, then move on. If you're open to new ideas and change, then definitely download this. If nothing else, it will give you a ton of RPG ideas based on the basic character skills.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Options
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Options
by Roman B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2016 02:11:41

I purchased this at $10 and wouldn't consider buying it at more. One of the previous reviewers wrote that it would be more appropriately valued at less than $5 and I agree with that. However, there is a lot here to inspire some decent level of play. I'm a relatively new GM and player only having started playing with 5E, and have received a lot of inspiration from the options presented here. While I wouldn't use everything here, I really enjoyed knowing different ways to tweak the options. While not having played Pathfinder or earlier editions of D&D, I understand those are more complicated and rules based, yet my problem with 5E is that there are too few rules, and I find much of 5E to be as nebulous as Fate. I enjoyed these options immensely and look forward to implementing at least a few of these options. Personal favourites were the Wound system, and DR for armour, along with the change to how AC is calculated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Options
by Jimmy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 13:37:38

I am fairly underwhelmed by this product.

The product contains rules that are sometimes a direct import from 3rd edition rules. This is the main thing that bugs me about it. If this book was advertised as a way to use 3rd edition rules within 5th edition, that would have been fair advertisement - and I would have probably steered clear from it as I find 3rd edition rules to be cumbersome compared to 5th edition.

The skills section attempts to put an actual difficulty rating on many actions that could be attempted with skills. While this may be useful for a beginning DM, the experienced one would not really use this section - it just slows things down to look at charts during play. It still can provide the DM of any level with interesting new ways to look at what skills can do.

This product introduces character flaws. This is an interesting section, even if only 33 flaws are included here. I would have wanted more, but what we have is decent.

The look is decent if not great. The layout appears a bit amateurish to my taste. The art contained is sometimes good, sometimes bad, but overall is not consistent.

Overall, this product is of inconsistent quality and with a rather high price tag - 9$ for 79 pages - I am not happy with my purchase. In comparison, for 10$ more, I could have gotten a full game of high production value (like Werewolf: Forsaken or Gods of the Fall for Cypher system). This product would be more appropriately priced at 3-4$.

This is my second purchase with this game studio. I believe it will be my last. Unfortunately, it feels like the 3rd edition gold rush cash grab all over again.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Wardens of the Wild (PF/5e)
by Rob K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2016 23:36:13

Wardens of the Wild contains options for both Pathfinder and Dungeons and Dragons 5e focusing on the Elves. It covers 6 elven races with paragon classes for each, 2 modified classes, new or collected class options from different existing supplements, and new spells for both editions. They cover lore for the race types as well as lore for the elves in general. I have not had a chance to test out any of the new options for balance in my own games yet but some of the new rules might have to be modified for my campaigns. It was nice to have the 5e rules in here as well, they don’t have as much material out there yet for player options outside of four books. A few of the options are duplicates from Pathfinder's Advanced Race Guide which has been out for a while. I have the pdf version right now but at some point will want to pick up the hard cover of this as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wardens of the Wild (PF/5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Reaping Stone Deluxe Adventure
by Keith R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2016 12:15:09

I'm running my group through this adventure.

There are several issues, and we just finished Part One.

1: No city map... at all not even a general layout. 2: Several of the encounts are described as X NPC starts at point A when the PCs enter the room. There is no mark for where that point A is. It isn't in the book or on the battle maps. 3: Partial failing on my part, but NPCs that can't be hurt by non-magical weapons (party is level TWO). What level two party is outfitted with magical weapons to counter that? 4: The sickness, all sense of urgency with the party kinda goes out the window, the ability damage can be restored with a Lesser Restoration. The full page description makes no mention that this can't be done. 5: No real information on the city so far, the name of a few taverns and nothing else. No population information, races, what kind of other information is there.

I'm sure there is more, and we start Part two today. I'll update this review (if editing is allowed) after they get further through it.

I'm actually disappointed in this one, we are still going to play through it though, and see how part two goes.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Reaping Stone Deluxe Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2016 08:43:35

I did not play the 3.5 edition of D&D, so I don't know how faithfully this product ports those feats to 5e. I agree with others that the fee (even at $8) is too high for the information provided. The product looks professional and it contains good ideas that can be used to develop 5e feats for use in your campaign, but I would consider perhaps 30% of the feats in the book to be usable as "plug-and-play" 5e feats. Some of the feats are too weak, others are too strong (too weak is more common). Also, some of the feats are variations on the 5e PHB feats that are slightly different, but not significant improvements.

3 stars because the book includes some good ideas and concepts that can be used to develop feats you might not have thought of on your own.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
For those concerned about the price, we generally sell 20 feats for $1.99, 30 feats for $2.99, etc. Consequently, a book with 160 feats is $15.99 in full color print, and only half that in PDF.
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
by Kenneth D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2016 12:50:41

Positives first. The cover art is truly beautiful and the material is well-presented within.

That aside, however, this is certainly NOT worth the money. There are very few, poorly balanced new feats within this book. Many others are slightly reworded variations of feats from earlier editions of the game. It brings nothing new to the game at all and is certainly not worth even the discounted cost of $8 for these 31 pages. Actually, it's 27 pages in VERY LARGE TYPE. Front and back cover, title page, and leagal document I do not count. The print is huge to disguise the lack of content on these few pages, and what content there is is worthless. You could easily go to a website like Tenkar's Tavern, spend a few minutes talking to folks in their forums, and find FREE resources more in-depth and valuable than this.

Save your money for other, more worthwhile purchases on this site, please.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
This review is correct in some respects but doesn\'t address the intent of the book. This title gives players looking for options they had in 3.5 a good way to get them with 5e mechanics. Also, some of the feats that were adapted from the core 5e game were done so they could be of use in other publisher\'s products via the OGL. As with anything, your mileage may vary.
Feats of Legend: 20 Celestial Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/23/2016 05:03:45

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Feats of Legend-series clocks in at 9 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 6 pages of content, so let's take a look!

The pdf begins with a handy table that sums prerequisites and feats for your convenience and then goes on to present the individual feats, so let's take a look!

-Angelic Reputation: An achievement feat, needs to have caused fear in evil outsiders; increases DC of fear spells and effect by +2 versus evil outsiders; also nets a massive +5 bonus to intimidate said foes. On the nitpicky side: "In addition, the duration of the shaken condition is increased by 1 round." is slightly less precise than I'd like it to be - it's obvious, this refers to demoralize, but RAW it extends to all shaken condition-causing effects.

-August general of Heaven: This story feat allows you to, as a swift action pronounce a challenge versus an evil outsider, gaining +1 to atk and AC. If the foe or you are attacked during this challenge, you take a -2 penalty to AC and atk for 1 round. This ability can be used at-ill, but only once in 24 hours versus a given foe. As an interesting goal, this feat requires you to defeat good outsiders in nonlethal challenges - which is pretty cool, though an actual number of HD and encounters you need to beat would have been nice. "an appropriate number" does not really help here. Upon making the goal, you get a celestial cohort with leadership score of +2 for determining the cohort's level. Apart from the minor hiccup, an evocative, interesting feat that is a great way to have good guys fight good creatures for once, without jeopardizing alignment.

-Blood of the Fold: +4 to Knowledge-checks to identify good or evil extraplanar creatures and entities; +6 if you have 10+ ranks in the appropriate knowledge skill. You can qualify for this via Eldritch Heritage and the celestial bloodline.

-Celestial Pushback: Evil creatures failing to save versus your channel energy are subject to Bull Rush, with CMB equal to cleric level + Cha-mod. This does sound very powerful, looks broken, but is actually less useful than you'd think: The good alignment means that the creature with this feat will be channeling positive energy, which makes this, via vanilla channeling, only useful versus undead...which seems appropriate. Granted, variant channeling still works, but the okay CMB-scaling still retains this as a feasible feat that's better crafted than you'd expect when first reading it. (Though low-power groups using variant channeling may want to be careful with it.)

-Choir of the Host: Cha-mod allies influenced by Inspire Greatness gain the ability to overcome, interestingly, DR/evil, making them more potent when fighting celestials....which, according to the feat's fluff, was NOT the intent - this should be able to grant the option to bypass DR/good. sigh

-Demon Hunter:1/day, gain +2 to a single attack, saving throw or SR-check versus a demon or known servant of such an entity. AT 10+ HD, this bonus scales up to +4. This is also a story-feat, though it is not properly tagged as such. To make the goal, you have to slay a named demon with HD equal to or greater than your own. The completion benefit is significant: Whenever you deal damage to a demon with a targeted spell or attack, you get a free demoralize attempt that ignores fear immunity. "targeted" should imho be replaces with "single target", since you can otherwise cause free action AoE demoralize attempts...potentially, depending on how you handle free action limitations per round. Other than that, a cool one.

-Dimming the Light: Gain +2 to saves versus Ex and Su abilities of good outsiders in addition to your favored enemy bonuses. Okay.

-Divine Aura: This feat, based on Alignment Channel (evil), adds demoralize to channel vs. evil outsiders; allows you to exchange four rounds of shaken for 1 round of frightened. Solid!

-Fiend Foe: +2 to atk vs. evil outsiders. Boring.

-Find the Conduit: Add +1/2 your level to all healing you dish out. Does not apply to items used/created.

-Fires of Heaven: Spells with the fire descriptor you cast ignore 5 points of fire resistance. Odd: Does not extend to SPs...particularly since the infernal feat applied the bonus to SPs.

-Friends in High Places: 1/day add the celestial template to any neutral or good-aligned creature on the Summon Monster spell list. Works interestingly with skeletons from Skeleton Summoner, if the creature is neutral or good.

-Heaven Sent: Requires having died before. Makes you immune to fear. Basically a reskin of the revenant-feat from the installment of Undead feats. Makes me sad that such a brief book features it.

-Heavenly Weapon: When activating the bane class ability, you receive an archon's aura of menace supernatural ability.

-Holy Warrior: If you wear your patron's symbol on armor or shield, you get +1 sacred bonus to AC (+2 if both armor and shield feature the symbol). Alternatively, you get +1 to atk when featuring the symbol on your weapon, +2 when using 2 such weapons. You either choose offensive or defensive options when taking this feat; you may take it twice to get both bonuses.

-Strengthened Aura: 1/day as an immediate action, make your Aura of Good class feature duplicate circle of protection against evil (Sic! - shouldn't that be Magic Circle against Evil?) for 1 round per level of the class that grants the aura of good.

-Strong-Willed: +4 to saves versus charm- and compulsion-effects.

-Sword of Heaven: +2 to damage versus evil outsiders. Any weapon you wield (including unarmed and natural attacks) is considered to be good aligned for purpose of overcoming DR. This does not overcome weapons with the evil descriptor and they remain evil. Can eb qualified for via Edlritch Heritage and celestial bloodline.

-Voice of Angels: While under the influence of your Inspire Courage, affected allies get +2 to intimidate checks and +2 to Will-saves versus evil outsiders and undead.

-Heavenly Mandate: When using inspire competence, he may force one target to tell the truth, duplicating basically a single-target zone of truth, that requires the target to hear him. Evocative and well-executed!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting is much more refined than in the last book - while there are some hiccups here, they boil down to minor glitches. Layout adheres to a clean white background with blue headers. The full-color art of the angel on the cover is reproduced inside and is nice. The pdf comes fully bookmarked, which is nice to see.

Neal Litherland, Simon Muñoz and Brian Berg have crafted a collection of feats in this pdf that can definitely be considered high-concept. While, unfortunately, there are some glitches that detract from some of these feats, sometimes even on a rules-level, the matter of fact remains that there are some evocative pieces herein. While this pdf does offer some filler, it's not much. Better than the previous pdf, this is a nice, if not perfect collection. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 for the nice concepts and ideas herein.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Legend: 20 Celestial Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Feats of Legend: 20 Undead Feats
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/16/2016 04:54:10

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Feats of Legend-series clocks in at 7 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, leaving us with 4 pages of content, so let's take a look!

This pdf begins with a handy table that sums up the feats with prereqs etc. and then dives straight into the feats, so what do they do?

-Boneyard Born: +1 DC for necromancy spells, +1 to all saves versus necromancy or death effects, can be qualified for via eldritch heritage and the undead bloodline. Odd, nonstandard formatting: A feat referred is italicized, something the pdf, confusingly continues to do.

-Dark Conduit: Adds your Con-mod to Cha-mod to determine the amount of healing you receive from any negative energy. I think this feat is a bit odd, to say the least - You don't add Cha-mod to healing. UNLESS you're talking about channel energy...but this feat extends to ALL types of negative energy, which includes spells and effects that do NOT add Cha-mod to the healing. Beyond the somewhat wonky 2-attributes-modifier to one effect (somewhat mitigated by the rarity of negative energy healed beings with both Cha and Con-score), the feat is odd and confusing, to say the least. Not gonna come near my table.

-Improved Dark Conduit: Resistance 5 vs. positive energy - quite cool, since we usually don't see the like.

-Greater Dark Conduit: Whenever you kill a creature, you gain fast healing 2 for Charisma modifier rounds. (Charisma is not properly capitalized, as an editing nitpick.) Subsequent killings reset the timer. NOt a fan, since this can be kitten-cheesed for infinite healing, when a generous daily cap, HDx2+Cha-mod, for example, would have prevented basically infinite healing.

-Deathless Determination: You gain Resist Level Drain and auto-remove them after 24 hours. The prereqs of an undead bloodline and Diehard justifies the power of this feat. (And yes, again, you can qualify for this via Eldritch Heritage.)

-False Unlife: +10 to Disguise to seem undead, but you detect as evil undead of your HD when seen via detect evil. Interesting!

-Grave-Touched: +4 to Fort-saves vs. poisons. Can be taken via aforementioned Eldritch Heritage/undead bloodline-combo.

-Improved Grave-Touched: +4 to Fort-saves versus diseases, save versus poisons increases to +6. Can be taken via aforementioned Eldritch Heritage/undead bloodline-combo...which is odd, since the alternate prereqs imply that just having Edlritch Bloodline and an undead bloodline allows for the bypassing of the previous, non-improved iteration of the feat. Here, the special-line actually detracts from the functionality of the feat, since simply basing it on the initial feat would have done the job sans ambiguity.

-Greater Grave-Touched: Save-bonus versus diseases changes to +6, you gain immunity to undead-spread diseases like mummy rot as well as immunity to poisons. Again, this ´can be taken via aforementioned Eldritch Heritage/undead bloodline-combo...which is odd, since the alternate prereqs imply that just having Edlritch Bloodline and an undead bloodline allows for the bypassing of the previous, non-greater iteration of the feat.

-Scholar of Undeath: +5 to all lore-checks to identify undead and their abilities. You also increase the DC of your channel energy, command or Turn Undead by +2...which is pretty brutal, considering how channel already is powerful and has a scaling DC. Still, worthwhile and nice.

-Improved Scholar of Undeath: The base-feat's bonus increases to +10 and the DC-increase to +3.

-Greater Scholar of Undeath: +2 to all saves versus Ex and SU abilities of undead and the DC-increase for channel et al. becomes +4. The whole feat-chain is interesting in concept, though I do consider the DC-increases rather massive. Personally, I consider the bonus extending beyond +2 to be too min-maxy - personally, I will add an Int-prereq to emphasize the scholar-angle the feats imply. (And, via MAD, decrease excess Channel-DC-stacking...)

-Hardened Flesh: Your AC is treated as +2 for the purpose of confirming critical hits and you gain DR 1/-.

-Improved Hardened Flesh: AC-bonus is treated as +4 instead for the critical hit confirmation. DR increases to DR 3/- - like these two feats!

-Necrotic Poisoner: Contact and injury poisons you manufacture can affect undead. NICE!

-Reckless Revenant: You are immune to fear effects...which would be a bit much for one feat...but the prerequisite requires you having risen from the dead...which is rather cool. Sold -even more so, since it takes breath of life into account.

-Redeemed: Gain healing by positive energy, but also be damaged by negative energy as though you were alive. Can't be combined with Dark Conduit. Nice one.

-Scent of the Grave: Favored enemy (undead) characters gain scent to detect undead.

-Tongues of the Dead: Gain Necril as a language as well as +2 to Bluff, Intimidate, Diplomacy and Sense Motive when dealing with intelligent undead. Situational and okay, but not too exciting.

-Touch of the Undead: This feat: "Allows undead you command or control to deliver touch spells for you." That's the whole crunch text of the feat. All right, I'll play: HOW? At what range? Do you have to transfer the touch held to the undead? As what action? Is there a maximum range? Can unintelligent undead hold charges? This feat is well-intentioned and flavorful, but horribly fails at its given task.

-Undead Avoidance: Gain +2 dodge bonus to AC versus undead. Losing Dex-bonus to AC deprives you of the benefits. Okay, I guess.

-Universal Recipient: Okay, we end on a nice one: Reduced DC for attaching necrografts and reduced Con damage for necrografting surgery.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are per se solid, though people that are picky about the fonts used should know that the "o"s are slightly larger than other letters. There are a couple of faulty italicizations here as well. Layout is GORGEOUS - the pdf adheres to a two-column full-color standard with skulls on the borders and a greenish tint - this is a nice-looking pdf. The pdf sports a nice full-color artwork. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.

Neal Litherland, Simon Muñoz and Brian Berg have crafted a book that sports some high-concept, intriguing feats - and indeed, there are some feats herein that are rather neat. You can justifiably call any content herein overpowered and it should make sense in most games, even the dark/low-fantasy-focused games. At the same time, there are a few pieces herein that don't work as intended, which detracts from, unfortunately, some of the most interesting feats herein. In the end, this is a solid book with some rough edges and hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Legend: 20 Undead Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
by Reviewer X. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2016 09:03:33

This was a great buy. The D&D 5e Player's Handbook is somewhat short on feat options and this book goes in depth from past editions to bring more of the mainstay feats to the fore again. I might not take all the feats, but there are enough in here that you are going to find a number of them very useful and worthwhile. Most notably, I like that they addressed some of the class abilities that a lot of 5e players were critical of. The Beastmaster ranger especially felt a little off, and there are feats in here to address some of those class weaknesses.

There's actually over 160 feats, and for sheer content, this is well worth the PDF price. I'll rate this at 5 stars, because it's a nice looking product that delivers on content missing from the new D&D game. Things seeem pretty balanced, as you need to use your bonus actions/reactions to make a lot of the impressive features work optimally.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 131 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates