DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dogs in the Vineyard
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 17:41:31

A classic primer on building an adventure and using mechanics to focus in on what really matters. This game shows its age a bit but there are still concepts in here that are well worth reading for a new GM. It's also a perfect examination of the Lawful Good Paladin "problem" in a context that's unique among RPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dogs in the Vineyard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dogs in the Vineyard
by Sid B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2017 23:34:05

Dogs in the Vineyard is phenomenal at what it does. It makes players feel like outsiders, and then gives them responsibility that they don't quite have the tools to bear. The game screams at them to escalate: to shove someone, to punch them, to pull out a gun. The rules reward players that throw caution to-the-wind and overcomplicate every encounter. And it does it all without a modicom of judgement.

Dogs is not for someone who wants to hack a system, or blend mechanics. It does what it does and it does it INCREDIBLY thematically, and very very well. What I will be taking from this game into future RPGs is how to set up towns, how to drive toward conflict, and how to actively reveal the story to players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Thony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2017 17:08:30

This game is grand, but you qall know that. It's a creative system that stresses imagination and freedom, with enough rules to guide players on how to go about it. It's a good grand time. For the price, it's absolutely worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:02:14

2nd editon comes with it many welcome clarifications and some fantastic new playbooks. If you enjoyed 1st ed, you'll love 2nd. The only things I've had players "iffy" on, is the battle moves, which drag out combat more, but also provide some more crunch for players that like it. Can't wait for the hardback copy from the Kickstarter.

Also want to thank Vicent and Meg for making this game, as the hacks of it have lead to some of the most enjoyable play I've ever had. Thank you so much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/05/2016 09:09:12

Great narrative style game that gives the GM a lot of guidance on how to create more interesting interactions and worlds. Definitely going to be using some of these tips with other RPG games I play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 21:27:31

Somehow I never quite got around to the first edition of AW, but I'm really glad I threw in on this Kickstarter anyway, because it's awesome. I see why it has inspired so many other games, but even the baked-in setting (such as it is) is magnificent; I hope to run it some day soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Nijusan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2016 08:46:14

What a great improvement over the original. The threat map gives you a way to visualize your fronts and a lot of minor things I personally had problems with were adressed, especially the wording on moves. There are moves for vehicular combat, cat and mouse chases and finally players get pushed a little bit with barter because of their lifestyle. People who liked first edition can just go ahead and buy this clearly improved version, they will feel right at home, sinking into the fine improvements everywhere. If you have never played this before and are interested in playing/running it, this is your time to jump into it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Michael O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2016 11:05:23

Apocalypse World is the game that changed how I play rpgs. The theme of scarcity is woven into every rule and the MC rules tell you how the game works: how to keep pressure on the players to male the characther's lives interesting. The second edition adds better rules for intertwining charachter histories, for chases, battles, and sneak-attacks. It also adds great playbooks that evoke Immortan Joe and the Doof Warrior, in addition to the inscrutable child of the maelstrom. Buy it, play it, let it get real weird. Your friends will surprise you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
by Christopher V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2016 17:20:10

The second edition of the great Apocalypse World, makes a crazy fun game even better. The second edition has tightened up a few things from the original, made things easier to understand and added a bunch of great stuff.

In play, this game was fantastic. None of the players had any experience with AW, but they jumped straight in and made their cool, hard, hot, sharp, weird characters seem real. Our initial session was four hours, and it flew by with everyone contributing to the start of a crazy story. We could have played longer if there was time, everyone was very into it. We had a Driver in the group, so we got to take the new Road War rules for a ride, and that was very fun and cinematic. We also had a bit of PC vs. PC with one PC using the manipulate move on another. The move worked perfectly with the carrot and stick compelling the player to go along with the manipulation.

As the MC, the game was very easy to run with great advice in the book. I'm having fun filling out my threats for session 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dogs in the Vineyard
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 11:15:23

I loved being a player in this game. It is a great change of pace from the other gamesystems I have played. Very easy to learn too. The first time I played, it was at a con game. 10 minutes in and I felt very comfortable with the system and was able to delve deeper into the story of the session without having to resurface to figure out some mechanic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dogs in the Vineyard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalypse World
by DJ A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2015 15:02:37

This game made me rethink how to run RPGs. I came from a d20 background and once I got my head around the idea of no initiative and just letting the story flow, holy smokes did my gaming change for the better. Here's a game that has "classes" that are not balanced, PCs that don't have to be friends or ultimately work together, and has almost no prep for the person running it, and it's freaking awesome.

Vincent did a great job with this. Even if you never play it, it may be worth your time to read up on AW and how it's ran. The conventions in this book may change the way you run your RPGs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalypse World
by John V. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2015 09:00:30

I wish I had discovered Apocalypse World years ago. I just finished reading it and I cannot wait to get a game going. I typically shy away from games and rule sets with character classes or archetypes, but Apocalypse World has shown that it can be done right. Some of the rules were a little tough to wrap my head around at first, just because the game works so differently from anything I have played before. No combat rounds or initiative may sound scary at first, especially to fans of more mainstream RPGs, but I think it's gonna' be super rad.

Aside from the mechanics, the setting is great. It's specific enough to get you started, but light enough to allow pretty much anything to happen. It leaves a lot of room for input from the MC (Read GM) and the players. Characters are created as a group and characters are tied together through their history. The characters have more than a binary effect on the narrative as their actions seem to be able to alter the narrative in infinite ways. Basically, the MC still has the final say, but players are encouraged to add to the narrative, which helps create a more interesting setting and more interesting "adventures".

Basically, just get it. You'll also find some other games based on the Apocalypse World rule set. There's some great stuff there too, but I'd personally start with the original. The only thing that could make this better is a print-on-demand version. Please take my money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates