DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
par Samuel H. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/14/2016 15:19:14

Dungeon Crawl Classics is a brutal, meticulous, whip-smart, cross-grained, purposefully derivative and sublimely innovative achievement in fantasy rpgs. It is the Dwarf Fortress of fantasy tabletop game: it makes Losing Fun. I don't think it's the only fantasy rpg I'll ever need, but it is now, and may it forever be, the Heart of every rpg I ever Judge again.


NOTABLE QUOTES


Fear no rule. I know you will homebrew this game...such is as it should be...


Make your world mysterious by making it small...when a five mile journey becomes an adventure, you'll have succeeded in bringing life to your world...


If a magic item can be sold or bought for 5,000 gold pieces, where does the seller dispose of that kind of coinage? What local government is even minting such vast amounts of currency?..


[DCC] is not an attempt to model an experience related to D&D but rather an attempt to model an experience that predated D&D... step back one era further... beyond the confines of genre assumptions... [emphasis mine]


Always describe a monster using physical characteristics. Let players learn the capabilities and characteristics of monsters through experience... they should name them, not you.


A key element of player experience in [DCC] is a sense of wonderment... that was so easy to achieve when we were children who did not know all the rules...


WEIRD DICE


Then there's the Weird Dice you just ordered, sitting on your kitchen table. Lumpy, futuristic d5 and d7, novelty-size d30, etc. You don't quite know what they're for. They're anachronistic; or they would be if you'd ever seen them before... just like the first time you ever played D&D. When you were a child and did not know all the rules.


DCC's stated aim (and it succeeds) is to replicate your very first experience of a fantasy roleplaying game. Then your second. Then your first campaign. Think about that for a second. Think about how much fun that was.


Remember learning to bring a thief next time? Remember learning what 'parley' meant? Remember learning to pit two hostile factions against one another? Remember learning these things by dying many, many times? DCC's got you covered, son! Holy crap will you die. Your characters will be written on index cards so as not to waste paper, scattered all around the table, dead PCs or raw recruits mustered to the wholesale slaughter of your evening's adventure. You will die and die, until you (re)learn to actually value your player's life, (or at least the one with OK stats) until you (re)learn the one thing this system respects: Creativity. This is as it should be.


The mechanics of the game and it's signature insistence on random tables for damn near everything are thoroughly covered in other reviews, so I'll skip describing them here, save to say they play fast and they ensure the sense of surprise and unpredictability that is baked into every part of this system. Ditto the generous amount of artwork that graces the book's pages.


The low-volume sexism I could do without. Describing difficulty check 10 as "a Man's Work", drawings of women entering combat in swimsuits is something that I'd prefer not to have to hide from women in my group so I don't have to watch their enthusiasm for this game wilt. I don't want to have to watch anyone I play with realize this game wasn't meant for them, it's too good a game, it should be inclusive on principle. Carrying the spirit of 1974 fantasy adventuring forward doesn't necessitate carrying the exclusivity of 1974 fantasy adventuring forward, and I prefer re-experiencing my first RPG than re-experiencing my first stirrings of puberty upon seeing a Frank Frazetta cover on a Conan story collection. Nothing wrong with cheesecake, but that's not why I'm here, and neither's my group, and jumping into medieval combat in a bikini is dumb and unworthy of a game that finds excessive medieval coinage unrealistic.


The two DCC modules I own (both written by DCC rockstar Harley Stroh) are fantastic: scary, mean, and full of surprises. They're so good at what they do that I have little to no inclination to come up with my own adventures. Smart move on Goodman's part. Another delightful thing about these modules is that they encourage player handouts, as do the excessive tables from the core book that spellcasters and clerics are obliged to use. Black and white handouts just ooze that graph paper and constantly snapping mechanical pencil feel. They help


I just want to add a little bit to the comment I made about using DCC RPG as the Heart of my fantasy gaming from here on out. I have added D&D style Wisdom ability scores to split DCC's Personality ability in two parts I find best separated. I'm using D&D's peerless 5e Monster Manual. I used the free Dungeon World supplement Funnel World (available on this website) to add player bonds, consensus about the area, and local color before shoving 15 PCs into Stroh's 0-level adventure Sailors on the Starless Sea (the guard tower in particular is memorably horrifying).


So other systems I know do things better, but nothing I know of gets the spirit of fantasy RPGing righter than DCC RPG, or can make it feel fresher or more alive. For me, it's a kick in the pants, gasoline on the fire, and a call to arms to carry forward the spirit of all that is best about the practice of tabletop fantasy gaming.


In the time it took you to read this, you could've bought it already and be googling 'Zocchi Dice'.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84.3: Sky Masters of the Purple Planet
par Customer Name Withheld [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/23/2016 08:49:34

The Purple Planet box set was probably the best RPG purchase I made last year. It is exactly what it claims to be, a fantastic, exotic, lengthy adventure that you can easily base an entire campaign around. If it looks interesting to you, then I'm fairly confident you won't be disappointed. It has all the weirdness, wonder and swords and sorcery action you've likely come to expect from DCC products.


Goodman Games has released three modules to date in further support of the setting, and this is my favorite. The party is immediately dropped into the action when a band of airship pirates ambush them with exotic weaponry. This leads the party to chase the survivors to their base, a sprawling affair which will require a great deal of cunning and resourcefulness on the party's part to overcome. Will they boldly storm the place (not recommended!), sneak in, use subterfuge or possibly even start a slave revolt? All of this and more is possible.


Furthermore, although the adventure is short and to the point, the existence of said pirates on the Purple Planet certainly creates a wonderful springboard for further adventures. I imagine most game masters who read this adventure will have no trouble coming up with numerous additional adventures to follow up on the party's actions, and given the evocative atmosphere the setting engenders such inspiration will not be hard to come by!


One final note: although I'm sure resourceful and creative game masters can find ways to use this adventure in existing campaign settings, I strongly recommend you pick up the Perils of the Purple Planet adventure to make the fullest use of it--I am confident you won't regret it.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84.3: Sky Masters of the Purple Planet
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Fifth Edition Fantasy #3: The Pillars of Pelagia
par Michael W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/13/2016 11:32:18

This was a nice adventure, short but not railroad'y. Unique but easily adjusted to fit one's own setting. My group liked some of the thinking puzzles. We finished this in two four hour sessions playing with 3-5 people (three one session, five the other). Has great advice for scaling up the adventure but I actually scaled it down for level one characters.
I actually changed the setting to forgotten realms, made Umberlee the goddess, and put this on a small town along the sea of fallen stars. Worked perfectly (and am transitioning them to the curse of strahd from here....) I'm a fan of these goodman games modules, perfect for us working adults. Great price too. And I always buy the hardcopies at my local game shop (for some reason I prefer hard copies to downloads).



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #3: The Pillars of Pelagia
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84.2: Synthetic Swordsmen of the Purple Planet
par James B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/06/2016 14:24:40

Hmmmm... not as fun as the core campaign boxset or 84.1: The Rock Awakens, but this mini-expansion introduces a few interesting additions to the setting. Far more sci-fi in its basis than fantasy, the concept of the new kith clan is disapointingly similar to an existing clan... but the module itself is a simple, linear crawl (as befits the series). It doesn't add much to the setting itself, or present many paths for further development, but provides a decent enough one-off session. A couple of new items, but even these lack sufficient detail in possible outcomes from alt glyph entires, which could have been fun.


On the whole, fun enough, but I would much rather see more in the lines of 84.1.



Classement:
[3 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84.2: Synthetic Swordsmen of the Purple Planet
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
par James B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/05/2016 11:28:56

A fantastic idea for a setting, that I am incredibly glad was so succesful (during its Kickstarter campaign) that it allowed the author and publisher to expand substantially on the material - from a one-off semi-sandbox adventure to a viable long-term campaign setting.


The Purple Planet is strange. It is completely alien. And that makes it a wonderful place to explore, for everything is exotic. It is the epitome of the planetary romance genre - a masterful blend of fantasty and sci-fi, on a world unlike anything else. Warring factions of very differet ideological/technological beliefs (in how their specific Ancients preserved knowledge), absolutely unique toponymy, and the hook for escaping/using items found strewn amongst the rubble of the crumbling planet. Everything works well, and fits together seamlessly.


I was a fan of the Wormwood campaign setting for RIFTS back in the day, but it was extremely convoluted (and an awful system) - this is the logical successor, even for adapting to other gaming systems. Everything is fun to explore, and piecing together fragments of history to work out what has happened makes for a riveting story arc. Common assumptions cannot be made for anything, everything requires experimentation - and the expanded sourcebooks have allowed for so many factors to be covered in great detail.


It is extremely hard to review without giving examples, but I do not wish to post any spoilers here.


I cannot recommend this boxset highly enough - in my opinion, it is the pinnacle of Goodman Games art, and a true pleasure to run/plan more adventures in. Long may the modular mini-expansions for it continue.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84: Peril on the Purple Planet
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #84.1: The Rock Awakens
par James B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/05/2016 11:13:00

A fantastic little addition to the core Purple Planet campaign boxset, that really emphasises the exotic plantary romance theme. In keeping it short, however, the authors sadly missed a couple of opportunities for expanding the description and exploration possibilities of the city, and the integration of the Navigators within the world. For example, a lost tribe of kith whose ancestors worshipped them and passed down the tradition of marking their bodie with maps, translated to their own tribe and experiences, could have been a fantastic addition that had potential beyond the remit of this one adventure (saying that, such a development could well serve as the focus of another mini-expansion).


It is a rather compact and guided experience, but provides lots of stands for personal devlopment of a campaign on the planet - and serves as an ideal one-off piece. Very much worthy of a purchase for fans of the setting, and I think modular additions of this nature are a good development for the DCC line - really emphasise how much potential the setting has for a long-term campaign.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #84.1: The Rock Awakens
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics Presents: Blackdirge's Dungeon Denizens
par Anthony B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/04/2016 02:15:36

I am currently using this in a Pathfinder game. The creatures can be run as-is, but just add a CMB and CMD score to each monster's stat block. D&D 3.5 monsters are a little bit weaker, so for example if it says the monster is a CR 4, it might be more like a CR 3 in the Pathfinder world. But that's easy enough. No problem!



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics Presents: Blackdirge's Dungeon Denizens
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #87: Against the Atomic Overlord
par Dan C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/03/2016 21:16:27

Wildest DCC yet. Fans of the third "Dark Tower" novel or the Metal Slug arcade games will love it. Mobile tank-fortresses, urban spelunking, respirator-sucking octopoids, amoebic nanoswarms--lots of cool ideas here. It's got a good, proper quest; one with meaning and weight, which will have widespread ramifications for both the player characters and the game world.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #87: Against the Atomic Overlord
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #86: The Hole In The Sky
par Jason D. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/29/2016 22:50:27

I ran this as my first 0-level funnel for four mostly new RPG players. Overall it was a very well received from the players who lamented being tossed two kilometers off an invisible bridge (among other things). As a judge, I found this very easy to follow and prepare - play took a total of ~6hrs over two sessions including 0 lvl character generation. This is my first foray into DCC RPG, and we had an awesome time with this module.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #86: The Hole In The Sky
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
par Michael W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/21/2016 21:44:54

Ran this with my wife who was playing several characters.
Straightforward introduction to dnd for newbies and was good to use with mini's (at the dam and the shooters from tree).
Might have taken more than one session had might wife not taken out a bunch of enemies (and half her party) with a fireball gone awry.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Fifth Edition Fantasy #2: The Fey Sisters' Fate
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #86: The Hole In The Sky
par Mark W. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/11/2016 14:47:51

Rather complex for a Level 0 adventure. I did like that the likelyhood of characters dying would be educational for new players.
"Hole in the Sky is designed for 16-24 zero-level DCC RPG
characters who should “funnel” down to a small group of
PCs that will rise to 1st-level and go on to fabulous adventures."
This is old school, kill 'em all off until only the best remain.
Not designed for a small group that expected to become a united, coordinated group that would meet on a regular basis.
I see another option for a 4-6 player group. When the character dies, player re-rolls a new character that has to have significant differences from the original. This would allow player to work with a range of characters to learn how to play diverse characters.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #86: The Hole In The Sky
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #0: Legends are Made, not Born
par Eric B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 02/11/2016 18:54:33

This is the adventure that got me hooked on Goodman Games. I have game mastered this adventure five times and each one has been memorable and most led to a long term campaign - including one of which was the most epic that I ever ran and based on elements introduced in this adventure. For fans of Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG, I consider this the original funnel.


Characters start out at 0-level and the very weakness of the PCs causes the players to stretch their imagination to keep the characters alive. The module serves as a great origine story and has plenty of hooks for future adventures.


Highly recomended.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #0: Legends are Made, not Born
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
par Julio M. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 01/22/2016 12:35:11

Indeed the most astonishing game in the market.


Richly illustrated, with a system easy enough to introduce to new players, and complex enough to keep veterans playing. With such tasteful text, this is the most memorable game in my collection.


A game that teaches all the players the value of life and death through a zero level funnel, and teaches ththat magic is no toy as you will see with spellburn, mercurial magic and corruption, two amazing mechanics in game ever created.


Completely worth buying.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics #28: Into the Wilds
par Calvin B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 11/05/2015 13:11:23

I bought this upon the suggestion that I read more adventures(Specifically those written by Harley Stroh) in order to be a better DM. I DMed as a kid in high school and got back into the hobby after a good 25-30 year lapse. It reads very will and I could see it being easily modified to the 5e ruleset.

What impressed me is that the authors have set it up to give the DM insight into what is up next- no you couldn't download it and begin to play it with out reading it through at least once- I honestly don't believe that you can do that with any module that you pre buy and are trying to honestly run the module as the author intends. The descriptions give instances and the encounter reactions and why this reaction- this level of detail isn't something I remember from older modules but is common in the modern ones published by WotC(my only experience). The motives for the NPC's are very well outlined and reasons are also given. The very cool thing is that the text also gives possible interaction that NPC may have with players. This is a very worthwhile purchase!



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #28: Into the Wilds
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dungeon Crawl Classics 2015 Halloween Module: They Served Brandolyn Red
par Edward K. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 10/16/2015 12:34:20

Ring Side Report- RPG Review of The Served Brandolyn Red


Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea everyday!


Product-They Served Brandolyn Red
System- DCC
Producer- Goodman Games
Price- $7 here http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/159-
410/Dungeon-Crawl-Classics-2015-Halloween-Module-They-Served-
-Brandolyn-Red&affiliate_id=658618

TL; DR- An awesome starter adventure! 95%


Basics-It's a good day for a white wedding! Until the groom's head is chopped off and the bride is poisoned. Then, players and the guests of the wedding have to find out all the twists and turns in this adventure and recover the groom's head to properly bury the man. Why did this happen? Only you can find out!


Mechanics or Crunch-Ah, the DCC RPG funnel! Hit the players hard and see what falls down. It’s a time honored tradition. This adventure has all the great pieces of one, and the mechanics match enough to challenge first and zero level players as well as bringing enough weird to the party. 5/5


Theme or Fluff-This adventure is one that you as a GM have to bring to life. There is a lot going on here, and it kind of goes in two directions. Only one direction gets the PC’s paid, so they won’t care about family struggles as longs gold happens. If you can bring that part to life, it's a fun side of the adventure. But, most parties and games won’t even care about some below the surface details that the adventure has due to the second part being a bit off base. It’s fun, but a bit too unwieldy with the second story not bringing as much to the party as the first. 4.25/5


Execution- This is a DCC RPG book put out by Goodman Games themselves, so it’s going to be good! The art is great, the pictures are phenomenal, and the layout is simple enough to help every GM run a fun adventure. The book even has detailed family trees that you can use to enhance the substory that I complained about in the theme section. Even the hex crawl simple map is a great addition to the game! This simple adventure has the tools and talent needed to really help you make a great time for the players. Also, it’s out in time for Halloween, so get this now! 5/5


Summary-I love this one so much it might become my new favorite funnel. My players get a place to explore. I get some story to build off with a subplot that is fun, if a bit of a strange addition. The mechanics of the adventure are built well enough that it’s got enough challenge to keep things interesting, but not a killer curve to destroy a party. From the art to the layout, this is a phenomenal adventure and an excellent introduction to DCCRPG, and if a group was looking for a place to start, this is probably the best adventure to throw your friends and yourself as the GM into. 95%



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics 2015 Halloween Module: They Served Brandolyn Red
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 1 de 15 (sur 450 critiques) Pages de Résultats:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates