DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tattered Banners - Bandit Lords and Mercenary Captains
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 06:49:19

Really helpful and creative book if you want to manage a mercenary group. The additional rules are really fast, fun and fourious!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tattered Banners - Bandit Lords and Mercenary Captains
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 06:47:18

On of the best savage world settings I´ve read so far. Full recommendation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soul in the Water
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 06:45:41

I really like most of the Beasts and Barbarians adventures but this one is really not my favourite. The backgroundstory is not explainend sufficiently, so that, as a gamemaster I don´t get a lot of plont point. Especially the reason for the existence of the McGuffin Crystal is poorly explained. I think with some editing this could be a much better story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Soul in the Water
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Game Master Guide
by TREVOR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 02:08:15

The adventure generator is awesome. Basically you draw some playing cards, and use their values and some very interpretive charts in the book to generate a random adventure. This book also has some really neat monsters. But my favorite thing is the adventure generator. You can draw some cards and make a crazy, exciting adventure in just 45 minutes to an hour that will take maybe 6 hours for your players to get through. Of course you can design it to be shorter than that, that's just one possibility. Actually in the book it explains how you can use it to make an entire campaign. I've seen other adventure generators that use dice rolls instead, which would be a waste in Savage Worlds. Honestly drawing the cards and interpreting them makes me feel a bit like I'm doing a tarot reading or something, it's great fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Game Master Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
by TREVOR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 02:02:02

I love this damn game. The layout is good, the edges are cool and fit the setting. Anyways the new types of magic users are really cool and distinct. This game is super fun and has exactly the right Conan the Barbarian feel to it that I was hoping for.

The only downsides are that I feel like there's too many edges and they can be overwhelming for new players. Some of the hinderances are unnecessary too, but complaining about too many options is a dumb thing to complain about, I just feel like they could have trimmed them down a bit.

I'll be playing this game for a very long time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy World Tour
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 14:30:59

While I wasn't enamored with the rules, Ifound the world tour much more intersting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy World Tour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy Test Drive
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 14:28:13

Just seems overly complex to me. Cards and dice, lots of different plusses and minuses for race, character class, situational modifiers et al.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy Test Drive
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Peacekeepers: Savage Worlds edition
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/04/2018 13:45:03

A friend suggested I post some reviews of some underappreciated and under-rated material for GM's Day this year, so here's the Savage Worlds edition of Peacekeepers. Although it has some flaws (see below) it also has an interesting take on the "villains save the world" scenario that we have seen in other comic book RPGs for some time, including the Savage Worlds Necessary Evil campaign. As in those other campaigns, an existential threat arises from space, and former villains and heroes must put aside their differences to save the Earth.

However, Peacekeepers brings some unique elements to the table: the "lead" villain who put a crimp in the alien's attack plans is, unknowingly, a robot created by a mad scientist, who serves as her "science advisor". Her past isn't actually mysterious - it's just missing. Since one of the elements of a story of this kind is learning about the backgrounds and being paranoid about the true intentions of your comrades-in-arms, this information is extremely well-suited to this kind of scenario. Plus, I'm a sucker for any T.O. Morrow references I can work into my game.

The alien invasion is for a very good reason - a mysterious ane extremely powerful artifact which the aliens revere as a religious item. The aliens themselves are revered by a cult of collaborators here on Earth, a different type of quisling that we don't normally see. All in all, it's a unique setup. There's some attention to a supporting cast (the American President, the characters' "voice in the headset lady") which is extremely practical and ties in well to the concepts of the setting.

The flaws in Peacekeepers fall where it fails to embrace its identity. There's a superheroic adventure generator section which doesn't advance the core questions of the setting at all - it's just a regular superhero scenario maker. Fine for what it is, but not interesting in the context of Peacekeepers. Similarly, the scenarios offered don't really connect to the core conflict of the world at all. They're just regular superhero scenarios. I guess that's fine, but it raises questions about why we're doing these things when an existential threat still looms. The villains and heroes similarly don't really fit in. Finally, although the game raises ideas about what might happen in other parts of the world than the typical "Big American City" of superhero comics, there's very little detail given to them, which often lends itself to stereotypes. Better to use that space to detail how to research and come up with interesting and compelling scenarios on my own in those areas, if you can't fit all the details in.

Overall, Peacekeepers is worth checking out for the information about its core conflict, including many unique ideas you can use in your own superheroes-in-trouble campaign!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Peacekeepers: Savage Worlds edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
by Edgar G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 18:56:59

I'd give this game 5 stars if the formatting had been more carefully edited. Still, I'd like to point out that this little game is incredibly robust. I've found very few situations, or concepts, I couldn't replicate with Adventurers! And when I couldn't, it was really easy to come up with ways to handle them because the internal game logic is clear and simple.

Adventurers! is quick, intuitive, and a lot of fun. Give this game a try. You won't be sorry you did. And with the full version available for free, you have no excuse.

Thanks for a great game, GRamel!

Edgar



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 09:19:23

"Tropicana" is a hundred pages long RPG setting written by Mauro Longo and Giuseppe Rotondo for the Savage Worlds ruleset. This books describes the metropolis of San José and gives plenty of gamemastering material. San José is an independent city-state of Latin America, clustered on a peinisula at the foot of an extinct volcano, the rest of the territory being an impenetrable jungle. Once founded by the Conquistadores under the name of "Nueva Zamora" (lol !), this former pirate outpost managed in the last decades to turn itself into a global hub of offshore finance and entertainment. Imagine Miami mixed with Monaco, Havana and Singapore. So, this is the perfect setting for all kinds of adventures, whether you like James Bond, Indiana Jones or Miami Vice; and I'm quite sure you can adapt it to any other universe, even fantasy, with a little imagination.

Chapter I gives a lengthy insight into San José's history, criminal groups and major factions. I especially liked the description of "El Banco" and of the services it can provide. No map - even a basic one - is given; this seems to be a tradition among Italian authors working for Gramel :-) OK, a map is not always required but here, since this book is about a sprawling city, a mere plan laying out the locations of the various quarters is indispensable in my view for the GM (so, I had to peruse the book for drawing my own...). Chapter II starts with the description of interesting archetypes : I do regret that many of them are not found back in the "Bestiary" of Chapter VII, especially when I see the good list of new edges and hindrances, which allows to turn many tropes of TV action series into (N)PCs. Chapters III, IV and V are respectively for Gear, Agencies (which you can run) and GM Setting Rules : most of those game mechanics are rudimentary but efficient and perfect for this kind of setting. I think I see the positive influence of U.Pignatelli there ("Beasts & Barbarians"), as for instance in the "After the Adventure Events table". Chapter VI is the Game Master's Guide with tables for Agency Management, Secrets, as well as plenty of advice for running adventures in San José, described as a mix of "Action, Adventure and Mystery".

In conclusion, "Tropicana" is the best and most interesting setting I have ever seen for a modern city; only its minor flaws - which could have been prevented in my opinion - keep me from giving it five stars. But if you're looking for a city of sea, sun, pleasure and intrigues, don't hesitate !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Dear Olivier, can you shoot me at piotr@fajnerpg.pl with flaws? We are working on Companion for Tropicana (will be on Indiegogo this spring/summer) and we will offer printed version of Tropicana with any corrections we can give. Thanks in advance!
The Justice of Kerir Shar
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2018 02:46:23
"The Justice of Kerir Shar" is a short adventure (14 pages + stats) by Umberto Pignatelli for Beasts & Barbarians. While travelling along the Lush Jungle, the heroes are drawn into a story of revenge between an exiled Syranthian judge and the evil sorcerer whose son he sentenced to death three years ago. All the action takes place during one night and mainly consists of cinematic fighting scenes, with a few twists. Consequently, this mini-adventure is rather for tough warriors, though a sorcerer could have an opportunity to gain a (dangerous) item of power.....

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Justice  of Kerir Shar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Garden of Death
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2017 03:17:04

"Garden of Death" is a 68 pages long campaign written by Umberto Pignatelli (+ 7 pages of stats and 16 pages of a Book of Lore on the Fallen Realm of Keron). Please be warned that this scenario requires that one of your playing characters is a skilled military leader.

Indeed, at the start of the adventure, the heroes are member of the military of Zura, and their task is to defeat the nomads raiding the caravans coming from and going to this Independent City. But the king of Zura shall give them soon a new mission : to bring back his deceased son from the Garden of Death, a very remote location in the haunted realm of Keron. The only person who can guide them there is.... the chief of the nomads whom they've recently captured... Will they come back safe from this place full of magics and dangers ?

Even if they do, messing with unlife and former foes isn't without consequences. The second part of the adventure ( which can be developped easily into a full fledged campaign) is truly grandiose and epic : old alliances are shuffled into new belligerents and our heroes can play the leading role there. Umberto exploits at its best the possibilities of B&B and the narrative elements of Sword & Sorcery (as is often the case in B&B, I just regret the lack of any map to visualize the main geographical features of the campaign area).

As for "Shadows over Ekul", I do believe this adventure would be fit for a movie scenario !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Garden of Death
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2017 19:16:00

I fell in love with this product the moment I got it. Honestly this is the perhaps one of the best almost free Indie games out there. I never expected to find a set of rules, that was simple but could cover so much. There's not reason NOT to have this book as part of your inventory.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Soul in the Water
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 04:24:42

"Soul in the Water" is a 20 pages (+ Stats) adventure by Umberto Pignatelli for (the new edition of) "Beasts & Barbarians". The first part of this adventure takes place at Jalizar : however (unlike "the Crying Mother"), this adventure can be played without "Jalizar, City of Thieves", or even (though "Jalizar" is an excellent setting I recommend) adapted with little imagination to any other seaside city if Jalizar doesn't meet the requirements of your ongoing campaign. An old guy called Vanthar hires the heroes for a risky burglary : they have to retrieve some special item precious to him from the windowless mansion of Val Catha, a powerful sorcerer. Fortunately, this wizard shall be absent tonight, and will leave as usual his home to Wulf, his trusted warden. Wulf notoriously uses this free night for wenching at the "Headless Chicken" tavern. So, the plan is straightforward : a pretty female player (or some hired professional....) shall bait Wulf into a tavern's room, have him drink some drugged wine, and steal from him the entrance keys to Val Catha's home (all of this constitutes a very interesting role-playing scene !). Once Wulf slumbers into unconsciousness, the heroes have three hours to search through the mansion (GMs, be warned ! Once again,no map is given... surely you may need to draw one....), find the needed item, bring back the keys to Wulf before he wakes up - because the theft must be discovered as late as possible), and meet back Vanthar on his ship moored at the New Docks... Straightforward... but easy ? It's up to the players to have the final word !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soul in the Water
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Enyia’s Song
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2017 04:12:36

"Enyia's Song" is a 26 pages (+ Stats) adventure by Umberto Pignatelli for (the new edition of) Beasts & Barbarians. This time, the plot is simple but still efficient, and takes place at (and later near) Tal Vorak, a small fortified town close to the swampy deltas of the Elephant River (the border river between the Borderlands and Tricarnia). For a few weeks, a strange girl, who sings marvelously every evening - has been held prisoner in the tower of the local lord... and the heroes' task - on behalf of another lord - is to set her free ! They've just arrived in town and they must act quickly : tonight, the lord has left his castle to indulge his favorite passion : hunting in the marshlands. As nearly always in B&B modules, there is no map : the castle's locations are described in writing only, what is not practical for Gamemasters (nor infuriated players...), who will surely have to draw such a map before the gaming session. In this small town, the girl's escape won't remain unnoticed for a long time... Be ready for ferocious chases !!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Enyia’s Song
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 194 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates