DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Adventurers!
by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2017 14:58:31

Perfect for convention gaming and a mini campaign with the gang. The system will let you play lots of genres and tell solid stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Citadel of the Winged Gods
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2017 09:01:29

A fairly solid adventure, Citadel does have the potential for coming off the rails and having a lot of continuity problems early in the adventure. It is tightly paced, so a grevious injury that a player might want to use rest to heal can present problems that wreck the timeline. The party can also make some role play decisions that might knock the plot off course.

I was especially careful to make the forced companions almost invisible or helpful so they didn't feel as though they were hindered or burdened. I also worked hard to keep the pace of the adventure very high, so that the party is more worried about the environment and immediate threats than to stop and consider the downsides of traveling with NPCs.

I would suggest that a GM be prepared to provide unexpected sources of healing. I've done this once and it keeps the adventure moving at points where it really should not bog down.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Citadel of the Winged Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirates of the Dominions
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2017 13:52:04

Just like "Tattered Banners" was the indispensable supplement for characters playing soldiers, mercenaries or brigands in the Dominions, such is "Pirates of the Dominions" for the scum of the seas (both oceans and inner seas) of that Sword & Sorcery setting. There were already guidebooks for all things pertaining to seareavers and navigation : the excellent Pirate Isles for the Conan Mongoose Rpg and Pirates of the Spanish Main, a Savage Worlds system in an "alternative" real world Caribbean, yet PoD still deserves your attention.

The first part of that book is dedicated to the history and description of the different pirate cultures of the Dominions, with a special focus on the Finger Islands which harbour the "Cove", i.e. the secret base of the Dread Sea Pirates. In general, I'm not a fan of lengthy geographic informations whose contents will remain unused for their biggest part but, given that no recent Rpg has detailed the layout of this trope location of fantasy sea adventure, I admit that's a rather useful background.

As usual, the book goes on with edges, hindrances and gear specific to seafaring and I have appreciated the system provided for the description of different kinds of vessels : well-chosen templates are first presented and, in the "Monsters' Section", these ones can be flavoured into local variations, what leads to a playable set of rules. Likewise, stats for war machines are given; if I am not mistaken, I notice that cannons in "Pirates of the Spanish Main" inflict less damage than ballistae and catapults in PoD (however, cannons have a longer range).

In Pirate Isles, there were special rules for seafaring and - among others - a system to reckon the risk of mutiny, what gave any captain the feeling to be sitting on a time-bomb. On the contrary, PoD sends back to the troop management of "Tattered Banners", with some minor additions specific to nautical life. There can be pros and cons for this : Gamemasters without "TB" may feel disadvantaged, while others may like this overall system for all kinds of adventuring teams.

The setting rules and the GM section bear the hallmark of Umberto Pignatelli, who always knows how to transcribe into playable rules the many details that will "spice up" your Sword & Sorcery saga. Let me just point out that the generator provided this time is about treasure maps : draw one or two cards and unleash your imagination for hoard hunting !

All in all, the naval combat aspects in PoD look well-treated and even adaptable to other systems, while Gamemasters more interested by voyages of exploration or trading might prefer rules found in the two books I have mentionned hereupon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of the Dominions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana: Gorillaconda
by Joshua O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2016 05:59:54

This adventure strikes a great tone, is very clearly laid out. It should be easy to run and a blast to play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana: Gorillaconda
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Imago Mortis Preview
by Mattias G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2016 23:25:17

After a short prologue, page 10 through the final page 32 of this preview consists of a lecture held by a fictional detective introducing the PC:s as new recruits to the Paranormal world of Imago Mortis'. IMHO, this part is written in a very unfortunate style that would have benefitted from a native speaking editor. I really hope the rest of the RPG is written less awkwardly. The detective (Ghites, as per the protagonist in Marolla's novel) here comes across as some kind of insufferable blend of David Brent and Fonzie, dropping cheesy references all over the place in order to appear occult-savvy:

"We can make a nice ghost hunting handbook, like the Junior Woodchucks", "I've been in this crap before GhostWeb", "Nice shot, Ghites, now go get your medal", "put on some nice boots with reinforced cold iron toecaps and kick them in the backside all the way back to the Valley of the Shadow of Death", "ready to play this game to the end, the terrible price of having a dull light in your eyes...", "before jumping the train to Horrorwarts", "Yippee Ki Yay!" etc (incl writing 'sickles' where 'scythes' are obviously intended). Indeed, this lecture is nothing short of unintentional parody, a barrage of empty clichées made out to sound cool, like a sales pitch from a sugar-crazed, hyped-up marketing executive on a Friday afternoon (i.e. Yeah, benchmark the sunk costs, highlight the synergies, implement the strategy and go get them, tigers!).

Secondly, as for creative criticism, I think "Vallum" really ought to rightly have been an acronym. Just picking a latin name is something a secret society might do, but it doesn't seem like a typical Brussels way to register a new bureaucracy. My best suggestion would be to set up a "VISA Acquis Legality Liaison of Union Migrations" under the Schengen Communautaire. This "Vallum" task force would officially be called upon to investigate and deal with potential cross-border conflicts arising in the Common Travel Area, incl the coordination of any temporary National controls imposed in the wake of the current migration crisis. And, obviously, these vaguely defined border problems would unofficially refer to the Curtains between our world and the Netherworld, and the migrants in question would mainly include infiltrating "Spookies". Only you can't very well be too transparent to the public about its mandate, so... Vallum it is. Along the same line of reasoning, I believe the chosen logo (three spirals) seems rather too obscure for a proper Agency of the EU; look at Frontex (the EU outer borders' control) for instance; they use three stripes to symbolize regulatory power over foreign arrivals by air, ground and water. Paraphrasing this one and restricting paranormal access between the Schengen area and the Netherworld, Vallum might well have a stylized symbol of a broken bridge.

Verdict: Is this modern horror RPG a game for me, and if so why/ why not? I'm going to say no. It's not that I necessarily prefer the old haunted mansions, stone altars and dusty tomes of classic horror to urban sprawls, pharmaceutical companies and online fanatics. My big peeve is that this Netherworld mythology (quite reminiscent of "Kult: Divinity Lost", I believe) more or less rules out a more culturally diverse occult background and a more complex approach to monsters. There'd really be no reason to investigate Mayan or Egyptian theology here, as Imago Mortis already pertains to know the origin of all paranormal entities (they're either dead human souls or the disciplined demons of the Legion). And without further arcane possibilities lost in the murky past and pre-indoeuropean belief systems, the paranormal horror looses some of its mysterious appeal; it becomes too explained and familiar. That's at least my impression from this preview, and so I will stick to "Chill", "Noctum", "EPOCH" and, would I want insanity to play a bigger part, either "Fear itself" or "Trail of Cthulhu".

Question: wasn't this RPG supposed to be full colour? Apart from the front cover, this pdf is all B&W, with lots of grey background. The art is quite beautifully drawn, but it would have been interesting to appreciate it in full colour.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Imago Mortis Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Dear Mattias, Thank you for your review. I`m sorry you didn`t like it. I will just answer two things. About editor: GRAmel`s editor is Andy Slack, native speaker. A former editor of White Dwarf magazine and one of the organisers of the early Games Day events, Andy is best known for his writing on Traveller and 2300AD, and was co-author of two GURPS Traveller supplements (GURPS Traveller Alien Races 2 and Alien Races 3) . Now, he helps edit GRAmel’s Savage Worlds and Adventurers! product lines. About color - it is set as color book, because B&W settings in PoD means a bit worse paper. Paper that on layout heavy pdf may cause problems. That`s why we use color paper to print on both color or B&W books.
TimeZero Preview
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2016 16:49:50

This is a Preview for a very interesting time travel setting. It definitely gives you enough information to decide whether you want to get more. Worth picking up just to see if it's something that might interest you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TimeZero Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana: Die Fast... (or die trying)
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2016 06:44:05

Played it, liked it. Mr Cossu has a little bit too much going on to be truly believable. And the entry of the adventure is rather abrupt. But nothing you can't easily work around. Worth its money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana: Die Fast... (or die trying)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TimeZero: Operative`s Manual.
by Nicky G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2016 22:38:09

This is a setting I bought sort of on a whim, not expecting much but a good read, and I was sort of blown away. The fluff is fantastic, and the mechanics of time travel make it actually possible to run a game, rather than being instantly sidelined by some sort of PC shennanigans. I really like the setting. I've now bought this setting three times, once in pdf and twice in print for table copies. Love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TimeZero: Operative`s Manual.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana: Hot Wheels
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2016 08:13:35

We used Hot Wheels as a starting point for our Tropicana campaign. This little adventure has everything what makes an intro adventure (in this setting) great: fun, a chase (race), a fight, action, some intrigue and beautiful women. A clear recommendation!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana: Hot Wheels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers!
by joel k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2016 11:02:52

Why 2 and not 5 stars ?

  • Oppostion Rolls, this is boring for me
  • The player guide is rather 6 real pages than the 2 it offers with its actual layout.
  • Advantage/Disadvantage mechanic is mixed with lot of special rules. Also nearly each skills got its own special rules to differentiate (B)asic from (A)dvanced Skill's level. So IMHO, the gamedesign choices are a bit cluncky and too much crunchy (too many rules for this format).

It seems to be a mix between Advanced FightyFantasy (2D6, opposition Roll, Her point) and CypherSystem (3 Stats, A & B skill class).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2016 15:12:06

After already reading many GRAmel products and never being dissappointed with any of them, Tropicana came around and pushed every button there is.

Maybe it's my age. I grew up with shows like Tales of the golden monkey, Magnum, The A-Team, Riptide and many others. Or maybe it's the tight way this book is written: Tropicana really catches the spirit of Savage Worlds. Every sentence and table is packed with useful information. The setting specific Edges, Hindrances and rules are crisp, to the point and absolutely fitting. The Tropicana Jukebox alone is gold. But maybe it's the fun you can feel the good people from GRAmel must have had while writing this little gem. The setting is sparkling with great ideas, interesting NPCs, cool locations and endless possibilities. Maybe it's the way modern stuff like Narcos, Uncharted (4) or Tomb Raider smoothly flow into the vibe of those old shows i loved as a kid. Or it's the way this setting is rather open and can be played in all kinds of directions: chasing gangsters; climbing the criminal ladder to the top; searching for lost treasures, relics & ruins; fighting the good fight along the rebels in the jungle; discovering forgotten and maybe horrible secrets; investigating this evil Calibana cult; heisting into the vault of El Banco; spying on hostile agents ... or a colourful mixture of parts of it or everything.

All in all this is one of the best Savage Worlds products i have ever seen and i have seen, played and hosted a lot of them. Besides some minor errors, surely coming from not having native speakers as writers, i can find nothing which i don't like here. The only thing really missing here is a map of San Jose, but this will be dealt with in the upcoming companion as i was told.

Get this.

Disclaimer: A) We are playing with our own unofficial Ubiquity conversion. Just a matter of taste. B) A free PDF of Tropicana was kindly given to me, but did not in any way influence my opinion. My stupidity in thinking that reviews are only possible as a certified buyer, was my and only my fault.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dread Shard
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 09:46:26

The Dread Shard is a very compact adventure for Beasts & Barbarians written by Marek Golonka. It's surprising how much stuff he has managed to put into 11 pages (not counting stats). The plot reminds me of Shadows over Bögenhafen of the "Warhammer Fantasy Roleplaying Game" : while the heroes are having fun at the local fair, an evil ritual, initiated by the leader of the town, is afoot... This adventure is organized in a modular way, so that much depends on the actions of the heroes. Marek has taken the best from the Savage Worlds rules (chases, mass battles) , therefore I think you'll need more than one evening to complete this tale. A good idea may be to add some more background to the plublished scenario (ex: more encounters at the fair, exploration of the governor's palace, etc..) in order to turn it into a little campaign. Once again, an excellent product for B&B !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dread Shard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nemezis: Optional Wealth rules.
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2016 01:24:53

Nemezis Optional Wealth Rules is a (free !) abstract tool that helps you to manage the lifestyle in downtime of your player characters. Of course, it is devised for the sci-fi environment of "Nemezis" but nothing prevents you from adapting it to your own universe. It is possible that, after an adventure, the heroes wish to settle down for a while, maybe in order to make some money (to buy a fortress, a vessel... ?). If you don't want to use more detailed rules (as in Paizo Pathfinder's "Ultimate Campaign" or in the Game Master's Guide II for D&D 3.5), then this PdF is for you. It gives indications for "Purchase Rolls", very useful if you want to recknon the player's earnings on a very broad basis, not counting every single penny. As is tradition with Savage Worlds, cards are drawn to generate how well/poorly did your professional activity/business/estate fare last time. Perhaps this will throw a thread towards some new adventure... These optional rules may not solve all your (players') money issues, but it can be definitely helpful between two adventures !



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nemezis: Optional Wealth rules.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Queen of the Lost Valley
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2016 01:33:37

The Queen of the Lost Valley is a 60 pages long adventure for Beasts & Barbarians, followed by a Setting Guide (approximately 20 pages) for the Iron Mountains.

The heroes work as guards for Jannah the merchant-woman, and they are following her into an unknown pass of the Iron Mountains she has dicovered thanks to an ancientmap. Alas, after an ambush, both Jannah and the heroes have to flee into a "lost world".

The following lines may sound severe; in fact, the problem is that "B&B" has given us some of the best adventures (*Shadows over Ekul*, *Death of the Tyrant*, even the short stories in *Beasts of the Dominions*) I have ever read for Medieval Fantasy, making by way of consequence QLV of lower quality when compared to them. The former adventures are mostly event-based and railroad gently the heroes into funny, fast and furious twistful scenarios. On the contrary, QLV is rather linear : landing into a lost world, interactions with the local inhabitants, then necessary escape. It isn't bad either : some chases, some abstract navigation and memorable combat scenes. It is just that it isn't as original as some of the other adventures for B&B.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Queen of the Lost Valley
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Places of the Dominions
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 11:05:28

Just like Beasts of the Dominions, Dark Places of the Dominions is a good product but with a strange title since some of its chapters are more adventures than mere locations (OK, all adventures have to take place in some fantasy location...). No map is provided since it either works with the abstract navigation system or with a written description of the ins and outs of each visited room. I must say I am not a fan of the latter system : in the free downloadable Moonless night over Grimdell (a castle crawl adventure), a good old map would have done a better job than lengthy descriptions. Whether you're using props or not, the players will inevitably ask you (as a GM) about the shape of the rooms they have to explore... Are you supposed to draw a full map of the castle before starting the module ? Fortunately, this system works better in Dark Places because it is used with locations having a particular shape (a tower, a ship's hull), while castles can display all kinds of layouts.

- "The Gorge of Lovar Sham" was first published in Italian in *Dispacci dai Mondi Selvaggi #5*. It is to be located near the Red Desert but a cunning Gamemaster can tweak the abstract navigation system and relocate it into any mountainous area of the Dominions. - "The Caravan of Two Lanterns" is composed of all kinds of wagon-travellers (hawkers, entertainers, thieves... many of them corresponding to several of those categories). Though a plot hook is given, I doubt that the mere description of the caravan's most prominent members is strong enough to support a full-fledged adventure. However, this material is far from being lost : although travelling caravans are a trope of medieval fantasy universes, no RpG system of my knowledge had ever given clues as to their composition. So, this chapter fills a gap and allows you to randomly create your selection of wagons with colourful passengers (as often, this "scenario" works with playing cards values), as it is highly probable that the heroes will encounter such a nomadic riffraff in the course of their wanderings. - "The Windowless Tower" (once again from *Dispacci dai Mondi Selvaggi #6*) is a staple of Sword & Sorcery : will the heroes break into this doomed location where a deviant sect commits human sacrifices ? - "The Dark Lady" was the name of a ship, full of gold (is this true ?) that crashed against a sunken tree in the Anaconda River and lies now there, overgrown, in the middle of a jungle where warlike pygmies dwell... - "The Battle of the Gray Ghost" is a real adventure of its own, definitely reminiscent of the Conan novella *Beyond the Black River* by R.Howard. A Caled war party defeated a military detachment in the northern tip of the Borderlands. The heroes - perhaps soldiers in that troop - must flee to Fort Skargos while Caled savage warriors are invading the forest ! Even if they reach the fort, a great battle shall be fought... The abstract navigation system works well for the chase between the heroes and the fierce Caleds, making (in my opinion) this scenario better than the one found in *Beyond Thunder River* (in Mongoose's Conan RpG). And any GM with some imagination can adapt this adventure to another dangerous part of the Dominions of the Dread Sea.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Places of the Dominions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 166 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates