DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Gothica
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 00:54:11

I picked up this setting with the hope of using some of it with the Dark Camelot setting. I hope some of this setting can be used when the players visit the Unseelie Court and it's surounding space as well as the forests around the gate they will have to use to get there. {Evil Grin}.


Once again I have found the simplicity of the offering does not hurt the usefulness of the setting. Clean and useful rules and other items. Well worth the $2 in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gothica
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Camelot
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 00:49:17

I have to say I love the idea behind this setting as well as the added special rules to bring it to life. The desire to play in this setting and descover what it has to offer is built with a surprisingly small number of rules and space. Two pages printed back to back on a single sheet brings more excitement than many of the 100+ page setting books out there. Well done GRAmel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Camelot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers! The Dungeon
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 00:44:36

I picked up this "expansion" for the core Adventurers! RPG with the hope it would be as good as the core game was. It was. In a very simple and clean set of rules they have presented to us enough new material to make the classic dungeon crawl both fun and exciting. I believe this game is on to something important. A game does not need hundreds of pages and thousands of rules to be fun to play and fun to run. The trust of the GM and players to collaberate to bring a great time to the table is refreshing in the face of the mega rule sets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! The Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers!
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 01:27:01

I picked this up after seeing a review. I was curious to see how two sheets of rules could be worth playing. To say that I am impressed by this set of rules would be an understatement. I think the author has done a great job of giving us, the players and GMs a clean and simple set of rules that really cover what would be needed to play a game. The mechanics are easy to learn and work well.


I believe many of th ehard core RPG fans would liek this set of rules if they could get past the fact it is a RLRPG and just try it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2016 14:12:44

The Adventurers! from GRAmel is pretty exciting concept, an RPG in 2 pages. The layout is pretty neat and you do get a Player's Guide (2 pages) and a GM's Guide (2 pages).


The Introduction to the Player's Guide welcomes you to the game.


Action Resolution presents the rules: Roll 2d6 and add one of the three Stats to equal or exceed a 7 (before modifiers). Opposed rolls are 2d6+Stat vs 2d6+Stat, high roll wins. Double 1's are critical failure. Double 6's are critical successes.


Next we are introduced to the three Stats: Strength, Agility, and Mind. As well as the four derives stats: Attack, Defense, Heroism (let's you add +1 to a roll or reroll the dice), and Endurance (hit points).


The Character Creation section is three sentences! Quick and painless.


There are 10 unique Skills that you can have Basic or Advance training in. Each Skill explains what each level of training does for you.


Combat covers Initiative, Actions, Attacking, how Attacking crits work, how Defending crits work, and what happens when both occur (nothing).


How Recovery occurs is covered in this section.


Character Advancement explains what you can do with 2 to 4 XP.


The Gear section gives you a pretty good list of useful supplies.


Powers is next, they require a Mind roll to use and there ways to modify them. There are 9 to choose from and they cover a great deal of special effects.


The final section is Optional Rules, which cover Point Buy Stats, using points to increase the amount of Coins you have, the major Fantasy races, and critical failures in combat.


The Introduction to the GM's Guide welcomes you to the rules.


Resolving actions covers what Stat to roll, Teamwork, Long Tasks, and Narrative Combat.


Heroism and Experience! explains how to hand out Heroism and how much XP to give out at the end of a game.


Hazards covers spot rules for various dangers and effects an Adventurer will face.


Personalizing the Game! covers examples of Powers, Minons (and how they work), example Relics, specific Items, and Potions.


Next is the Bestiary with plenty of examples of traditional fantasy antagonists, a total of 15..


Special Abilities explain how the creatures powers presented in the Bestiary work.


And it's followed on a section explaining how to Customize antagonists.


And that's not all you get. A character sheet and cover are provided and you can print out cards to write up your antagonists on.


All for $1.36!


Buy this NOW!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana: Researchers of the Lost City
by Dennis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2016 23:40:28

I was very pleased with this adventure. I have been running a Tropicana campaign for a number of weeks now, mainly taking place in the jungles, inspired by things like Uncharted and Indiana Jones, and so I was curious to see what Gramel had come up with, as the description made it seem like this first, longer, adventure would fit in with my own campaign.
It did indeed, utilizing several of the treasure hunting tropes I use myself, to the point that i believe it will tie in seamlessly. The adventure takes the players all over the different areas of the island, and for the most part uses all of the genres available; action, crime, even the occasional bit of supernatural horror is mentioned, although mainly as a guideline which can easily be ignored if the GM doesn't wish to include it.
There are the occasional sentances that do not track well for me; possibly missed during translation, perhaps, although it is never a glaring issue. It merely required a quick reread to make sure i had not misunderstood.
I would recommend this adventure to anyone, especially those GM's who wish to take their game outside the city.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana:  Researchers of the Lost City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana: Hot Wheels
by Dennis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2016 02:33:08

A fun little adventure, perfect for starting off a campaign or, as I used it, as quick break if your own TROPICANA campaign doesn't focus on the city. It is uncomplicated and simple enough to run, and for newer Savage Worlds DM's, can be a great way to introduce the chase mechanic.


For the fact that it is free, simple but fun, and I feel a great way to start in the game, I think it deserves the 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana: Hot Wheels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2016 12:49:14

The ultimate pulp Barbarians setting for savageWorlds and one of the best crafted Low fantasy Worlds i know.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 13:00:37

This is a well-constructed Savage Worlds setting. The new edges, hindrances, and character backgrounds are really inventive. I can't wait to run it in the new year. I also can't wait for the upcoming adventures and supplemental material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you!
TimeZero: Operative`s Manual.
by Jeannette J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2015 13:36:03

I found this not only entertaining but packed full of the information required to get involved in the game, and formatted for easy transferring to the Fantasy Grounds tabletop I use. Very little wasted space in repetition, I am excited about trying out this setting. This is the first time I have encountered a game involving time travel to this extent and the mechanics are clearly spelled out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TimeZero: Operative`s Manual.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
by Stephane G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2015 13:04:30

I've been playing in this setting for about a year now, and I love it. My friends and I have great fun. As with all things Savage, its Fast Furious Fun. We can concentrate on the action and the story, and not on the minutia of rules.


And you can have dungeon crawls or wilderness exploration or city based intrigue. You could be fighting giant scorpions in the ruined desert temple one session. Facing off against a black wizards' lackeys in the bowels of his dark lair. Or contend with the cut-throat deals in the back alleys of a large city.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Golden Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tropicana
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2015 13:07:20

This is a great buy for the price. The setting has a colorful Miami-Vice-meets-Indiana-Jones vibe to it, with room for an X-Files episode here and there. If it were a video game it would be called "Grand Theft Auto: Tropicana". I give this setting book four out of five stars. Let's start with the weaknesses then get to what's good about Tropicana.


I'm not giving Tropicana five stars because it's missing some elements that one expects in a fully-fleshed out Savage Worlds setting. I hasten to add, however, that if the authors had provided these missing elements it would have justified adding another $10 to the price at least, so you're still getting a good value for the money - you just need to be aware that the book does not include some things you might be expecting, such as:


1) Pre-written adventures. The book does include a single one-sheet adventure, also available as a free download, and it's actually pretty good for a new group getting started in the world of Tropicana, but to adventure further you will have to create your own adventures, at least until more Tropicana products come out. And since there is only one adventure that means there is no...


2) Plot point campaign. I expect this will be a future product as well, but for now you're on your own to create a series of adventures linked by a common plot line.


3) Pre-generated characters. Granted, creating PCs in Savage Worlds isn't hard, but some players (like mine) happen to dislike the detailed work of creating a PC; they don't want to work on fiddly character details, they want to adventure right now! Including pre-gens in the setting book would make the game much easier for a group to "just pick up and play".


4) No map of the world. The authors have stated they will provide this in a future supplement, but really, when was the last time you picked up a world book that did not include a map of the world? I'm of mixed thoughts on this. The authors did state the map omission was intentional and I respect that "theater of the mind" design choice, but I still think a map would help draw the GM and players more deeply into the world.


5) Little or no magic/weird science. This world is nearly magic-free, except for some hoodoo-chanting natives in the jungles surrounding the capital city of San Jose. That isn't bad, necessarily, and there is room for the PCs to encounter the occasional alien artifact or cursed jungle totem, but if you like your game to have a strong occult/magic/weird science flavor this isn't for you. The magic/weirdness in Tropicana is more subtle and rare, like a sprinkling of spice rather than a primary flavor.


So what do you get that's good? Wow, how about:


a) Lots of opposing factions, each with a unique flavor. In addition to the expected criminal elements in Tropicana you also have university researchers studying strange anomalies at the bottom of the sea just off the coast, that is, when they aren't busy exploring the jungle interior which no civilized man has yet seen and is rumored to be littered with ruins of lost civilizations. You have your rebel band that wants to overthrow the government in San Jose, opposed by the San Jose's military, so you can wage military jungle campaigns if you want to. You have crooked politicians at the top and honest but tough cops of the Guardia Civil at the bottom who try to keep the lid on crime despite the overwhelming odds. Spies, soldiers of fortune, jet-setting socialites, surf bums, lonely authors - they're all around you in Tropicana!


b) Competition rules. The world of Tropicana is very macho and characters are always competing to out-macho the other guy. You can have a dance-off to see which character has the most rockin' moves on the dance floor, line up a row of shot glasses filled with the local fire water and have a drink-off against your main nemesis, or play baccarat against a foreign spy while dressed in black tie at one of San Jose's infamous casinos. Oh, and car races...you can have lots of those because they're very popular in San Jose. All these competitions, and any you can make up yourself, are handled by a single set of simple and fun rules.


c) Seduction rules! Okay, think James Bond here. The ability to succeed in the world of Tropicana often turns on how well your character can Persuade (as in the Savage World rules) members of the opposite sex (or otherwise I suppose) in what is essentially a card-based mini-game. Cool fun for those players mature enough to handle it (or not, which can be fun too).


d) Disguise rules. Moving around in Tropicana disguised as someone else gets a well-fleshed-out treatment. This gives Players (as opposed to PCs) an opportunity to stretch their acting skills if they're so inclined, by having their PC pose as someone else for a while and attempting to avoid discovery, just like you've seen in those Mission Impossible episodes.


e) Rules for Shadowing that dangerous suspect around the streets of San Jose. Shadowing is another mini-game that turns what would be a simple dice roll into something more detailed and fun.


d) The Tropicana Jukebox. Some game groups will like this, others not, I expect. The idea is that each player and the GM contributes four songs to a mix tape/file (so a group of four players and one GM would contribute 5 x 4 = 20 songs). When action occurs in-game, the GM plays a random song (using the shuffle setting on his computer or boom box) and whichever PC has his/her song play (any of the four songs that player contributed) is the star of that scene and gets a free Benny, playable only for the duration of that song. Okay, I can see this being fun the first few times you do it, but after a four-hour session I think the novelty might wear thin. Or maybe not; I haven't tried it yet. The people who have actually gamed it and have written about it seem to love it.


And there's more to the setting of course, but the above gives you a gist of the world flavor. So, if you like a world filled with bling, booze, and babes, where you drive fast sports cars, shoot your pocket Uzi at thugs, make money on the edge of the law and move your wealth around in secret bank accounts, then this is for you. Just be prepared to wait for follow-on products unless you have the time and energy to develop the adventures yourself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you :) Two things: Map - we may prepare it for a companion, but lack of it was intentional. Pregenerated characters, campaing and more adventures coming soon :) Really :) We are working on them right now.
Tropicana
by Neal H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 14:34:46

If for no other reason, you should buy this book for the optional rules for disguise, seduction, and the Tropicana Jukebox. However, Tropicana has lots more to offer, as the best modern low FX settings out there. In addition, the agency creation and maintenence rules allow heroes to feel like they create something that grows and changes with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much :)
Tropicana
by Dennis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2015 07:59:48

An interesting modern setting for Savage Worlds, of which I have found few that are suitable. It has a great mix of styles incorporated, with the criminal, espionage, and pulp themes working nicely if a GM wants a more subdued or outlandish feel. I think for more inexperienced GM's a few more plot points could have been added, which seems to be the Savage standard at the moment, but in general I am very impressed with this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Dear Dennis, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you like Tropicana :) About plot point - we are going to update the book with an adventure soon (one sheet). We also plan to publish a short campaing soon.
Tropicana
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2015 18:48:16

As usual, GRAmel has outdone itself with Tropicana, a pitch-perfect setting for adventure, mystery, and action in a tropical banana republic. Set in the tiny, fictional state of San José, Tropicana weaves a complex setting suitable for a wide variety of games, drawing from a huge body of inspiration.


Geographically, San José is located near Guatemala on the Caribbean side of Central America. The mainland portion of San José is made up of dense jungles, a brown tropical river, a range of mountains featuring an active volcano, and numerous ancient Mesoamerican ruins and abandoned Spanish mines and other sites. Extending into the Caribbean is a peninsula where most of San José's population lives in small towns and the sprawling city after which the country is named. One part Rio de Janeiro, one part Cartegena, one part Miami, the city is a playground for drug runners, movie stars, spies, treasure hunters, gangsters, surfers, and low lifes. Numerous islands dot the sea near the peninsula, some converted into high-class resorts, others owned by billionaires, while others are empty or used for other purposes.


Part One ("Bienvenido a San José") is the largest individual chapter, discussing at great length the history of this little country, starting from its mysterious origins with the indigenous peoples and their strange practices, to waves of conquistadors and colonizers, to its struggles with piracy, to the modern era of drugs and politics. It also introduces the reader to a dossier of major players and organizations in San José, providing more than enough enemies and possible confederates for a long-running campaign.


Part Two ("From Tropicana With Love") explains how to make a character for use in this setting using the Savage Worlds core rules. It explains which skills, Hindrances, and Edges are disallowed or modified, and introduces some new ones. Here is also one of Tropicana's most interesting and flavorful additions, the selection of a type of music that represents your character, a vital part of your character's identity when used in conjunction with the "Tropicana Jukebox" rule described later in the book.


Part Three ("Hot Stuff") discusses suitable gear, introduces some new gear options, and has a quick method to determine availability. It also has a quick system for creating customized gear and vehicles.


Part Four ("They're Beautiful, They're Brilliant, and They Work for Me") details rules for creating your own agency -- a formal group of characters who can be hired to undertake various kinds of work. These groups can engage in private investigation, salvage and recovery, transport, protection, you name it. These rules have guidelines for creating headquarters, managing operations, and even determining hirelings, income, and renown.


Part Five ("Pulp, Action, and Weird") are the setting rules for Tropicana. There are a few new subsystems here -- really more like refinements of existing systems so the GM doesn't have to puzzle his or her way through it. This includes a system for handling competitions, disguises, events between adventures, gambling, seduction, shadowing, and the innovative "Tropicana Jukebox." The latter involves a player-created soundtrack for the game, where a randomized song at the start of each combat provides benefits for the character whose song comes up first.


Part Six ("Como Puede Ser Verdad?") is the Gamemaster's section, designed to help GMs put together possible adventures in this setting. It goes over different genre approaches, from horror to espionage to exploration. It also gives suggestions for types of characters and how to get them involved, expands on the Agency rules, explores possible opponents, and steps back to look at San José's role in international politics.


Part Seven ("Live and Let Die") is a Bestiary, starting off with typical animals one might encounter, such as giant leeches, monkeys, jaguars, and different kinds of swarms. Next is a long list of human opponents, giving stats for the henchmen and bosses of all the numerous gangs, militias, para-military organizations, and so on.


If you're a fan of any of the following, you'll enjoy this setting:
• James Bond movies
• Just Cause (videogame)
• Clive Cussler novels
• Grand Theft Auto
• Burn Notice
• Romancing the Stone
• Scarface
• Uncharted (videogame)
• Mission: Impossible
• Spring Breakers
• Miami Vice
• City of God


I was actually surprised to not find a list of inspirational sources in the Gamemaster's section, but pretty much any movie in a tropical setting, featuring spies or jungle mysteries or drug trafficking, and rife with action and adventure would be perfect.


One other flaw was the absence of a map, even a crude one, of the Republic of San José. I'm a visual guy, and knowing where things are relative to one another would be very helpful in piecing together a full understanding of this setting. It's still fully functional, of course -- and some might prefer a more fluid geography -- but for me a setting like this is deeply rooted in its geography. In fact, a player's map would also be very helpful. The creators mentioned a possible gazetteer in the future, which would be wonderful. But even barring that, I'd love to see a simple b&w PDF map, even better if lots of locations are on a layer than can be turned off and printed for a player's map.


Being a fan of explosive action, dark mysteries, and wild action, I love this setting and can't wait to run it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thank you :) Lack of map is intentional. But if our clients will require it, in campaign we will put the map.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 144 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates