DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Call to Arms: Star Fleet, Book One, Revision Two, Deluxe Edition
by Byron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2016 02:44:08

The book is very thorough in it's explanation of the rules. There's a lot of attention paid to detail.


However, the rules themselves are not what I wanted from the Call to Arms series. This edition makes the rules a lot closer to Star Fleet Battles or Federation Commander in terms of complexity, detail, and resolution time. What I like about the Call to Arms series of games is that they are faster and can therefore support larger engagements. What I was hoping for was Amarillo Design Bureau to go into the rules set up initially by Mongoose and to tighten them up with balance tweaks, examples and rule clarifications.


The rules that I got I didn't recognize as being from the same system. If you are like me and wanted an airtight update to the Call to Arms ruleset for Star Trek that maintained the low complexity and rapid tempo of the previous games in the series, this book is not that. If you are looking for a detailed space ship wargame that can support larger fleets than Starfleet Battles or Battlefleet Gothic, then this should be a good set for you.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Call to Arms: Star Fleet, Book One, Revision Two, Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Call to Arms: Star Fleet, Book One, Revision Two, Deluxe Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 22:28:08

This is a great addition to the Star Fleet Universe allowing quick play of battles involving multiple ships per side with enough chrome to keep the feel of Star Fleet Battles without the complexity of more detailed systems.


The deluxe version has more background detail, some painting hints for minitures and few other things over the basic version and worth the extra dollars. Layout is very nice with the only negative being a lack of a consolidated combat table to show dice rolls to hit, damage and explaination of the weapon details without flipping back and forth through the rules. No big detail as we made our own but new players could benefit by having everything at hand for the first few games.


Based on the publishers website this should be well supported with future supplements to add more races, ships and probably options/complexity. The system is clean and allows for a lot of house rule options to add more complexity if that is what you are looking for. System is geared towards minitures but can easily be converted to hex and cardboard.


If you want to play Federation and Empire and game out some of the battles in detail this might be the engine to make it happen.


Pros: Star Fleet, fun, not much book keeping, great feel for the genre. Easy to teach new players.
Cons: Very little, maybe add a consolidated combat chart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Basic Set SSD Book 2011 (Color)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2016 21:59:17

Nice upgrade over the original black and white version. Offers better organization of information by color coding which is helpful in teaching the game to new players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Basic Set SSD Book 2011 (Color)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Call to Arms: Star Fleet, Book One, Revision Two
by Alaric N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2016 19:04:42

Looks okay from a rules standpoint but the design is horrible. Zero effort was put into it. Come on guys, whoever pulled this together must be blind. If I were Mongoose, I wouldn't want my name anywhere near this thing and would want my logo pulled.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Call to Arms: Star Fleet, Book One, Revision Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet: Galactic Conquest
by Leigh R F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2016 06:09:53

Background: 44 y.o. owner of SFB Basic Set, Advanced Missions, C1, C2, J-Fighters, M-Marines. Recently purchased Intro. To SFB (Excellent product).
Claim - "...designed to use with Star Fleet Battles"
Product - "(A1.10) All scenarios will be resolved using a statistical method of combat."
Product - "A single round of combat may actually represent several actual SFB scenarios with days between battles." (Yes, actually and actual in the same sentence.)
Response - Resolving fleet combat with a single die roll is not SFB.
Claim - "...use the map provided..."
Product - "(A5.10) The game map should be read as follows..." (The map on the back cover?)
Response - No map supplied; am I expected to buy F&E?
Claim - "Includes everything!", "...exactly what you want to know."
Product - "(C3.10) At the start of the game, all systems will have defensive forces listed on each empire’s status sheet."
Response - Where? Not in this product. F&E?
Product - "(Z1.10) The GM will provide you a base XXXXEP to spend."
Response - Not even a suggestion to help someone who purchased the product for advice.
Conclusion - This is not a complete product. This NOT SFB. The description should be changed to reflect this, so others don't spend money on a poorly written, poorly organised product. It may well make sense to people who already play it, but they wouldn't need to buy it. Disappointing.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet: Galactic Conquest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet Battles: Omega Master Rulebook 2011
by Mark E H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2015 13:14:07

Bought this to complete my SFB Library as frugally as possible. My only complaint is that the full history background of the Empires is not included. It would nice if the SSD books for Omega Two thru Five were available through WargameVault as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Omega Master Rulebook 2011
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

About Federation & Empire
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 13:48:34

It does a good job of explaining what the game is and does. Very good job on that. Sadly the game is even more complex than Star Fleet Battles. And nearly all about economics. And is of such a scale that whole fleets could just zip by each other in the same hex and never interact since they are so far away.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
About Federation & Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet Battles: Cadet Training Handbook
by Jerry H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 22:42:38

As an old star fleet battles player ,I got this to try out before I dove back into the full rules. Does a great job of breaking down and leaving bits of the rules out to get started in each little learning scenario. They did an awesome job with the scenarios.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Cadet Training Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet Battles: Cadet Training Handbook
by Lynn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2015 01:21:54

I downloaded this document for use to teach new SFB players. As a teaching tool/aide, it is bar none the best programmed method to teach a very difficult game to a bunch of new players. I would recommend this to every person that wants to learn how to play SFB, it will not let you down.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Cadet Training Handbook
by Thane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2015 15:09:01

I have a physical copy already and I thought it was worth it then, and it's still a good product. When I was in middle school, I read the three volumes of the commanders edition. Most people aren't into that many rules, but still like the genre and the turn based tactics. It's a good into and provides a modicum of depth.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Call to Arms: Star Fleet Book 1.2: Civilian Ship Roster Card Pack
by Tom T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2015 17:57:47

Great product like all the other ACTASF ship packs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Call to Arms: Star Fleet Book 1.2: Civilian Ship Roster Card Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Captain's Log #50 Supplement
by paul t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 17:33:59

I enjoyed receiving it! the SSD's are cool! I will have to start buying more ADB stuff once I get some more money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Captain's Log #50 Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet Battles: Module C6 Lost Empires - Preview
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2015 23:21:49

An excellent tease for the "Lost Empires". This product is a look at the addition of the two "historical races" that were exterminated during the Early Years(Star Fleet Battles Module Y1). This is a good ad for the module which is not available on Drive-Thru RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Module C6 Lost Empires - Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Fleet Battles: Module C3A - The Andromedan Threat File Rulebook
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2015 23:11:49

For long time players of Star Fleet Battles this is one of the planned products that has been on the radar since the 1990's. The Andromedan Threat File is a solid addition and quite scary for non Andro players. The rule book section first includes a new weapon, this is a horrible weapon(to be on the receiving end) fortunately it takes a lot of energy and a tractor beam. Unfortunately as every Star Fleet Battle player knows Andros have plenty of power. Next a refit of the displacement device that turns the "ultimate transporter" into a defensive device that acts more or less as an elevator which benefits the Andro. The Andromedans have plenty of ways of siphoning energy out of the panels(Andros do not use shields but absorb energy in specialized panels) one of which is the energy module. The Threat file introduces the seeking energy module, yes all of your energy sucked out and redirected at you. Finally Fighters and Bombers are added as well as the dreaded X-Ships and the now preferred term gunboats(P/Fs). Despite the size this is not a stand alone game but rather a Module which requires other components for use.


For players of Star Fleet Battle: This product opens up a whole range of options including the death of the Lyran Democratic Republic one of the few "historical" campaigns in the book.


Note this product is for players of Star Fleet Battles, I strongly recommend that if you are interested you purchase the 2012 Master Rulebook. The size is intimidating but the game is great fun and holds hours of enjoyment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Fleet Battles: Module C3A - The Andromedan Threat File Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Captain's Log #36
by William S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2015 00:06:04

These Captain's Log are full of stories, adventures and thankfully short on errata. Any long term Star Fleet Battles player will remember waiting for Nexus and the 20 pages of rule corrections(note I am exaggerating). This Captain's Log like others in the series is full of material for all of the Star Fleet Universe products. If you are looking for a game this is not a product for you. This despite the size requires one of the core games in the Star Fleet Universe line.


These older Captain's Logs are designed for player's like me who walked away from the game for a few years or for new players who are trying to find that one tactic that will turn the tide and snatch victory from the evil mean Klingon cruiser.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Captain's Log #36
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates