Publisher Info

Other comments left for this publisher:
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2015 01:50:17
What do you need to know?

6d6 RPG is a universal role-playing game from the UK. It is now in its second version, crowdfunded via Kickstarter. The text of the game is under a Creative Commons license and thus it can be read for free on the website (and used for publishing your own version/settings, too).
Furthermore, the author gives you a Living Document promise: if you buy the game you will always get the most recent pdf version of the game. Print versions are sold at-cost.
I stumbled over the game when a friend of mine recommended the 1st edition of the game. It was entirely based on cards and used a d6 base mechanism. Visually, the game looked pretty ugly. Still, the mechanics were solid and flexible. I can’t really remember much about it because I never got the chance to play it, but it had some good ideas.
Now, the second edition smoothed out some hiccups and is presented in a more modern and appealing package. I’m a bit sad that the game is not card based anymore but it proved too costly to produce the cards.

What’s inside?

First, the game is explained well. It’s a good example on how to teach people a new game. The 1st chapter is a Quickstart which explains the basic mechanisms and character creation.
If you have new players you could ask them to read this chapter (again, it’s available for free on the website) and they’ll have a fairly good overview.

Let’s quickly recap those basics: Every character has two game resources: Advantages and Potential. Advantages are abilities, equipment and special actions a character can do. Every Advantage has one or more keywords which define it. Additionally, they are color-coded, so it’s easy to spot at a glance what type of Advantage this is.
Some have descriptive details or rules (i.e. Range or Blast) and some explain the type of Advantage (i.e. Ability, Character Path or Life).
The interesting thing is that everything is rolled into those Advantages. That means your Equipment is an Advantage but also your health: Life Advantages are discarded when you take damage. This has an interesting side effect as it measures both your ability to stay in conflict (health/hit points) as well as limits your actions (if you lose Life Advantages, you can’t use them anymore to generate your dice pool).
Every Advantage has a dice value which varies between 1d6+0 and 1d6+6.
Potential is a pacing mechanism which powers your Advantages. You have Static Potential which represents your subconscious abilities, reflexes etc., and Dynamic Potential which is your conscious thought. A well-rounded starter character begins with 2 Static and 4 Dynamic Potential.

In order to take an action, you check which Advantages are applicable. To use them, you pay Potential. For instance, to make a ranged combat attack, you could use your Hunter 1d6+0 (Path, Static) and your Weapon Expertise (Bow) 1d6+2 (Ability, Dynamic) plus your Long Bow 1d6+1 (Equipment, Dynamic). So you can now roll 3d6+3 and spend 1 Static and 2 Dynamic Potential. You need to overcome the Resistance (Difficulty Number).
It’s a pretty easy mechanic and everything centers around the d6.
The 6d6 RPG website also has an overview about these base mechanics and a free 55-pages “Taster PDF”.
Character creation uses a point-buy and Lifepath-system. A starter character has 70 Character Points (CP). With these, you buy Archetype Paths which grant you further Advantages. The Quickstart method is a bit restricted but allows you to build well-rounded characters. The book also has a more free-form variant which is explained later.
Meta-character points are also to be considered. A normal character has 9 MCP which are divided into 2 Static Potential, 2 Dynamic Potential, 2 Recoup (a way to regain spend Potential) and 1 Free Resist (a way to defend against attacks without spending Potential). Experienced players can shift the balance and thus create more customized characters. In our playtest (with 6d6 RPG’s creator Chris Tregenza!), one of the players (Jaye Foster) made a monk character with 2 Free Resists but fewer Static Potential.
Unfortunately, the Advantages are not part of the main core rulebook. There is a separate book for modern character creation (aff) or you can reverse-engineer them from the adventures to make characters for other genres.

The rest of the book goes into more detail concerning the mechanics.

The second chapter takes a look at Advantages and Potential. For example, we now get more information about Advantage Keywords, Equipment, Effects and contradictory Advantages.
Moreover, we gain more insight into the way Potential works. As spending Potential and recouping it is very central to the game, it’s important to know how to handle this mechanic.
In narrative play (not combat), you have all your Potential at your disposal. But in combat it is more complicated to recover your spent Potential.
Recoup allows you to get back Dynamic Potential. A starter character has a Recoup of 2. If you want to recover more than that, you need to do nothing in your turn. This will give you back an additional Potential and you can also reclaim Static Potential at the cost of not taking another action (i.e. attacking).
Luckily, in combat, you can do a Recoup action and other actions. In fact, as long as you have Potential, you can act as often as you like on your turn. I really like that. However, in practice, your actions are limited because your Potential is limited.
It’s important to note that you need to spend Potential to resist attacks. You have 1 Free Resist but if it doesn’t fit or if you want to boost your Resistance Action, you’ll need Potential. Thus, you always have to balance your own actions and your resistance actions.
There are some bells and whistles to Potential because you might want to concentrate (in narrative play) to get an additional 1d6+0 for 1 Dynamic Potential or you can anticipate in combat: you gamble that one of your Advantages will see use before the start of your next turn and keep that Potential. That’s the case if you’re pretty sure that you will be attacked and that you’ll use one of your Advantages to resist the attack.
The book also illustrates how taking action works. What is the Resistance (Difficulty Number), what are Situation Bonuses, which Advantages can you use to take an action?
Clever players are rewarded for justifying how an Advantages comes into play. Still, there are some limits and if an Advantage just doesn’t sound suitable, you can’t use it. The other players and the Game Leader will be the judge of that.
There are also some special actions like Opportunity Actions and so forth that make the game even more dynamic.
Damage and Healing will be of further interest. There’re two ways you can take damage. First, you might have lost Life Advantages (in combat or by confronting Hazards like fire). Second, you might have taken Potential Damage. That’s when you’re stunned, confused or winded (mostly mental attacks instead of physical attacks). If you’re out of Life Advantages you’re dying (and out of combat). If all your Potential is damaged you are unconscious.
I won’t go into detail how Recovery works, but I find it interesting that the author included a Healing Throttle: the first time you benefit from a Recovery Action, there is no penalty but further healing attempts suffer a setback of 2d6+0 to their Resistance. As a Game Leader, you can determine the time scale (session, day, week) and, therefore, adjust healing to your liking. Natural Healing is also available but very slow.
The game also has rules for Status Effects (i.e. Hazards) like “Arcane Silence” or “Drowning” and Control Effects (i.e. Mind Control).

The next chapter is all about combat and details movement, attacking and defending. Basically, the rules are still the same. Combat doesn’t really have an own subset of rules, it’s just that recovering Potential is more difficult and movement and range will be more important.
The rules are generally very flexible. For instance, a normal attack will most likely only affect one creature. But you still can try to hit adjacent foes if you want, their Resistance just increases. That gives you some flexibility.
Combat is still mostly traditional. You have combat rounds, you may have a grid map etc. The game lends itself well to using maps and miniatures in play. It’s still possible to play “theater of mind” but you may lose some of the nuances (range etc.). There are no hard and fast rules on how to adjust range bands to combat without maps, it’s the Game Leader’s job to decide how that works.
Initiative is similar to Marvel Heroic Roleplaying. The active character decides who’s next. If you’re keen on acting immediately, you can try to Seize Initiative but it will cost you Dynamic Potential. As you may have noted, Potential is a valuable resource, so it doesn’t happen often.
Monsters are divided into normal monsters and Mooks. Normal opponents are built similarly to characters. Mooks are canon fodder. They are easier to beat and they don’t have that many options available.

After a detailed chapter about character creation, we’ll get to know more about those situations that are out of combat: social encounters, discovery actions, deceit, awareness, other challenges, traps, hazards etc.
Again, the rules are pretty intuitive.
This chapter is mainly of interest for the Game Leader and does a good job of explaining how to deal with these situations.
Because I like games which don’t have special rules for combat in contrast to other conflicts (i.e. social conflicts), I find it a bit disappointing that those challenges are mostly delegated to “task rolls”. However, you can make at least Challenges more interesting by using Extended Actions where you need to spend some time (and dice rolling) on overcoming them instead just doing a simple action.
On the positive side, the way Discovery is handled is pretty neat and gives good guidelines on how to make sure that players will find out the necessary information to proceed in an adventure. Every Discovery has a range of difficulties: automatic, easy, moderate and hard. Automatic is the stuff that’s obvious and that the players will experience immediately. In using their Advantages, they are able to get more information in the other categories. The Game Leader is encouraged to adjust the difficulty of the Resistance action according to how appropriate the Advantages are and how well the player has described his actions.

The rest of the book teaches you a bit more about the game philosophy and the role of the Game Leader. As the rules are very well thought-out, it’s not a difficult game to Game Master. Depending on your preference, there will be some conversion work necessary to adjust this to the genre you want to play.

The product concludes with an excellent appendix which explains all the termini and is great for quickly looking up something during a game. Also included is an index which is always nice to have.
You can still see the card-based roots of the 1st edition of the game and if you’d really want you could create cards from the Advantages.

Some thoughts about D&D 5

Someone on G+ asked about how the game compares to the latest edition of D&D. Let me say that I’ve only played a few sessions of the game and have never been the Dungeon Master. I have a Cleric (Light Domain) on level 3, so I haven’t reached mid-level play yet.
6d6 RPG is a universal toolkit and thus covers a broader scope than D&D. Furthermore, the mechanics are much more streamlined. There are no sub-systems for combat or for casting spells. That means, that the game runs more smoothly because you don’t need to track your spell slots, spell attack bonus etc..
My cleric has such a whole range of spells available and the way the Player’s Handbook is organized it’s difficult to play without some cheat sheets. In the PHB, spells are just listed alphabetically and not grouped per caster type, so you really need to leaf a lot through the book or write all of it down.
In 6d6 RPG, spells are Advantages and thus part of your character sheet. Because of the limit on CP (Character Points), you will have a more specialized character that won’t have 15+ spells available.
Furthermore, in my opinion, resource management is much more interesting in 6d6 RPG than in D&D 5e. Because Potential is that integral and very limited, you really need to think about how you want to spend it: do you want to “power up” for a strong attack or do you want to hold some Potential back for your Resistance and Movement actions? What if you get hurt with a mental attack and your Potential is damaged? That seriously impairs your ability to act. Also, if you need to discard Life Advantages because you got hit with a physical attack, you can’t use those anymore.
In D&D 5e, if your spellcaster is out of spell slots, the game quickly degrades to a grind because you are delegated to your normal melee or ranged attacks where you’ll most likely suck and don’t have interesting options available. (“Well, I..duh… make a ranged attack with my bow.”) In 6d6 RPG, you might lose a lot of Potential during combat so you can’t use all of your Advantages. Still, you can always use your spellcasting or other useful abilities. They may not be as powerful as before, but you don’t need to fall back on boring stuff.
In my eyes, combat is much more tactical because of the two game mechanics (Advantage, Potential) and the way spending and recouping Potential works. There is a certain “gamey” element to combat and you can also gamble by trying to anticipate attacks. Perhaps it tends more towards D&D 4 than 5 in this regard.
And you need to take into consideration that Resisting also costs potential. In D&D 5e you always have your AC and your Saving Throw, in 6d6 RPG your defense varies on how much focus you put on it. That makes combat possibly harder.
Both games have their merit. I very much like D&D 5e, it’s an excellent fantasy game. It also comes with the advantage of having published material (although the campaign books are said to be poorly organized so that the DM will need to put a lot of work into them to make them playable). 6d6 RPG is able to handle other genres, but the published material is limited. At the moment, you have 2 fantasy adventures (The Dungeon of Demon Strata and Savage Islands), and books for sci-fi, horror and more. If you’re only interested in Fantasy, you’ll need to do a bit of conversion work yourself.
The 6d6 RPG core book is better organized than the Player’s Handbook. The index of the PHB is a joke and rules and spells are scattered. But the book comes with more artwork and is prettier to look at.
All in all, 6d6 RPG is a flexible universal game which I like a lot, probably even better than D&D 5e. Still, I wouldn’t like to miss out on D&D.


The book contains around 117 pages. The look is pretty sleek and modern. Game terms are color coded which makes it easier to read and to filter out important bits.
The artwork completely consists of photos and artwork under a CC license. That means it looks adequate, but it’s not a nicely illustrated book.
The PDF version is digitally bookmarked and extensively hyperlinked (!).
Unfortunately, the print edition suffers from being a print-on-demand product produced by Lightning Source/Onebookshelf: the paper quality is a bit thin and that leads to paper fluting especially with the colored parts of the book. Yet it’s considerably cheaper to buy the normal standard paper than the premium paper option.


6d6 RPG is an excellent universal role-playing game. It offers a flexible mechanic with tactical depth but is still easy to learn. The rules are streamlined and don’t get bogged down with endless sub-systems. It delivers on its promise on being fast and fun and having new mechanics.
(The supplements (i.e. The Dungeon of Demon Strata) are also a very good example on how to organize a book so it’s easy for the Game Leader/Game Master to run it.)
The book is laid out very well and has a modern, fresh look. The artwork is acceptable but as it’s mostly photography it’s not very evocative.
I really like the open approach: the content is under a Creative-Commons-license and you can edit on the website. You are legally allowed to share the PDF with friends and you’ll get a Living Document promise. It’s great to see that you can read everything for free on the publisher’s website.
On the downside, the core book doesn’t contain the character Advantage Paths, so you can’t build a character with this book. Also, there are no monsters, you’ll need the 100 Monster Bestiary for that.
Again, you can get this stuff on the website but it would have been nice to see it included in the core book. If you want to play other genres, there might be some work you need to do. The character creation book with the list of Advantages is only available for a modern setting, so you need to adjust these and take some from the genre-related adventure books to build characters for other types of games.

Bullet points:

you can read everything for free on the 6d6 RPG website (like an SRD)
easy to learn unified core mechanics which center around a d6 pool
“gamey” elements which add a great deal of tactical depth to the game
narration is emphasized by explaining which Advantages you use (similar to Cortex+ games)
nicely laid out book which teaches you the game
versatile, streamlined mechanics, clean game design
no levels and no classes but still the chance to build distinctive characters
no setting books for different genres (sci-fi, fantasy etc.), only adventure books
the game book doesn’t include a bestiary and doesn’t include the Advantages needed to build a character (again, you can look it up for free but still…)
the product is a bit pricey: one the one hand it comes with a lifetime guarantee of updates and you can freely share it (CC licence) but, on the other hand, it’s not even “complete”

I really want this to give 5/5 stars because there are many things to like about this game. Given the drawbacks I mentioned earlier I feel that I need to knock off 1 star to be fair. Final rating: 4/5

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to Order

6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2015 09:55:10
6d6 has quickly become my go-to game (or one of my top go-to games anyway) over the last 5 months. I found it very easy to read and grok between the format and writing. It's got a nice blend of old- and new-school "-isms", and I think presents a very mature outlook on some things like game leadership, group dynamics, and open book gaming.

The use of "Potential" to drive PC actions as an "in character" throttle vs more out of character solutions (like fate points or such) seems innovative, and is working very well for my play groups. It feels like it really builds characterization as players use their potential to conduct actions, and determine how to mix and apply their PC's Advantages to solve any given challenge.

I think this is a real gem of a game system, with a lot of value, and highly recommend checking it out. The rules and materials can be read and previewed for free at the publisher's website.

[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon of Demon Strata (2nd Ed.)
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2015 23:28:52
This was a fun, enjoyable adventure. The isometric map worked well - I found the room descriptions and parsing of information well done, and the monsters, tricks and traps did a good job challenging my group. This started a new campaign nicely for me as well.

[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon of Demon Strata (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to Order

6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2014 13:10:49
Don't be put off by the complex looking cover. Within its well designed pages, this book contains a smart and simple RPG system built around who characters are, rather than strings of emotionless numbers. Using an action point system, the game escapes traditional character sheets as look up tables and make the sheet a core part of the actual mechanic. Very easy to build new characters, my new first choice for pick up games.

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to Order

6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
by Ryan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2014 10:18:20
I type this nearly two years to the day after my first game of 6d6. An indie+ event run by the game's designer, Chris Tregenza, it was a memorable experience even though I was new to gaming over Hangouts and primarily familiar with D&D. Fittingly for Halloween we played the Outbreak! zombie apocalypse adventure, and even though my character survived the scenario only to be killed by another PC in the end, the system, setting, and the game leader made for an enjoyable evening.

6d6 is more gamey than a lot of systems I've played, employing the element of using a character's traits to narratively add to the d6 dice pool that resolves actions, while restricting the availability and refresh rate of the character's potential to utilize these traits. This adds a strategic aspect to dice rolls that represents a character’s limited ability to act and react. I haven’t tried this genre neutral system in a more fantastic or pulpy setting, but my impression is that it is well suited for realistic, approaching gritty, settings, even with streamlined mechanics common to less simulationist, story based games.

These core rules are well written and the layout is clean and modern looking. The text is extensively hyperlinked, including the table of contents, glossary, and index, and easy to navigate on a variety of devices. The opening Quick Start chapter provides players with a rundown of the vocabulary and mechanics necessary to comfortably approach their first game of 6d6 using pregenerated characters created by the game leader or taken from a published scenario. Also included is a section on character creation utilizing the archetypes and life paths presented in setting books such as 6d6 Modern.

The next three chapters, First Principles, Combat And Movement, and Characters, reiterate and expand upon the ideas presented in the first. The game’s principles are presented in depth for game leaders and long term players for more involved, campaign length story arcs.
The World Around provides guidance for the more peripheral aspects of role playing games, such as social interaction and deception, and non-combat challenges that characters face.

Finally, Meta-Gaming is an interesting chapter. Throughout the book, but here in particular, is a description of how the game should be played. It seems to be sound advice, but includes language uncommon to most rule books, such as, "Picking advantages because they are the most powerful regardless of the character's back-story and experiences is bad role playing. The most enjoyable characters to play and to share a game with are those which have flaws. Pick advantages well and optimise how CP [Character Points] is spent, but remember no hero is perfect." Obviously, some will find these sentiments to be more useful than others, but they illuminate the intent of the designer and will potentially provide valuable direction to those new to the hobby.

One last note, not directly related to the book itself, but an additional facet of 6d6 that informed my decision to back their Kickstarter. As noted in the beginning of the book, its contents are published under a creative commons license, available online, and editable by registered members. Further, the Living Document Promise ensures that once purchased, updates to 6d6 PDFs are always freely available once registered. This approach to business complements the collaborative and community aspects of the hobby, and signifies to me a company that deserves all the support I can contribute.

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
by Andrew G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/01/2014 13:07:15
The 2nd edition of 6d6 Core is a colourful book with clever formatting and layout. The publishers may not like the comparison but I was reminded of a carefully thought out and helpful text book. I offer that as a compliment. That's what I want from a core rules set.

The 6d6 system is one you might need to read over once or twice but swiftly becomes nice and intuitive. The use of potential to throttle action while giving players both the sense of investment in their actions and tactical decisions is a nice one. The advantages system to determine what characters can do and how well they can do it is equally smooth and clever.

I'd recommend 6d6 Core to gamers with the intelligence to look around for intuitive systems and alternative ecologies to support their next game.

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
by Colin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2014 14:46:49
I've been looking for an RPG that emphasised roleplaying over adherence to rules and 6d6 Core caught my interest. Where it shines is in its Paths and Advantages, giving enough structure to skills and advancement to make complex characters, whilst encouraging roleplay through imaginative combinations of skills to accomplish tasks. It keeps the players active and involved! The rulebook itself is well written and uncluttered.

[5 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Free (Kickstarter Edition)
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2012 02:32:34
Lovely sharing of various settings.
Enough details to whet the appetite for more, using this versatile system.
Thank you!

[5 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Free (Kickstarter Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Order

6d6 Core + Quantum Flux + Cybernetics (1st Ed.)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2012 03:04:20
So what does Cybernetics add to the existing 6d6 package? What it adds is a whole new range of possibilities for both players and GMs to get stuck into. In particular, what is added is the futuretech that’s needed to expand the core 6d6 rules into.. well, the future.

The expansion book manages to give the reader enough detail about what cybernetics are in both the real world and in the context of the game without resorting to excessive technical detail. This is a worthy achievement as an obvious trap would have been to fill the book with boring boring technobabble. The absence of such nonsense allows the writer space to build up a sample world for GMs to use as fertile ground for their plottings. Though some parliamentarians may find the scenario a little far fetched, the setting has promise and seems ripe for further development should the author wish to make use of the 6d6 living document.

5 new paths cards are provided, covering augmentation of the body, limb, head and skin; as well as a path for those wishing to go for a completely synthetic body. It’s interesting to note that the four augment paths contain no life cards, implying that the cybernetics considered won’t make you actually any harder to kill. The focus is clearly on new abilities but some players may be unhappy that their carefully spent points don’t give them any more of those precious green bordered cards. And of course, given the simplicity of the 6d6 system, these new cards slip seamless into the existing rules with only three new keywords needing to be added.

This of course leads on to a discussion about the art work. As with previous 6d6 projects, the artwork is best described as spartan. There’s been no changes or upgrades for the cybernetics expansion. Indeed, with the exception of the slightly creepy cover photo, there’s no art to be found. If you are of the group that want your RPG’s streamlined and without all that fluffy junk in the way, then as usual, 6d6 don’t disappoint. If however, you’re the type to judge an rpg by the artwork, well, you’re going to be sad.

It is perhaps not surprising then, giving the dry layout, that the writing also seems to be a little dry in places. The writing is presented in good english and in a straightforward manner that all english speakers should be able to follow without issue. The only niggle is that the while the information gets across, it doesn’t have quite that little bit of extra go and flow that makes it pleasurable to read; its functional, not beautiful.

To summarise in an overall way, it’s a worthy addition to the 6d6 product range.

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core + Quantum Flux + Cybernetics  (1st Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to Order

6d6 Core + Quantum Flux + Cybernetics (1st Ed.)
by emily p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2012 14:29:15
6D6's Latest offering is Cybernetics is a treat!

I am normally a fantasy driven player and normally skip past most tech based products but I'm very glad I picked this up.
For the 6D6 system (which also comes with this tasty bundle) cybernetics gives you rules, cards and all you need to add cybernetics to your game (even hints for adding to a fantasy world!)
Most importantly it gives you advice and some background knowledge for those, like me who are not very tech savvy. The cards are very handy there is plenty to work with from the expected increases to strength and access to net, to some I would never have come up with such as the LCD skin.
The sample setting is a fun little bonus too, the only thing I would have liked to see is a few more example characters with their decks.

As I mentioned this is a tasty bundle coming with the 6d6 core rules and sci-fi game Quantum flux great for any sci-fi/horror fans

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core + Quantum Flux + Cybernetics (1st Ed.)
by Patrick K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2012 10:44:28
Ok so this reveiw focuses on the Cybernetics portion of the bundle.

When it comes to a cybernetics supplement for an existing sci-fi game in general they tend to leave you lacking.

Most supplements of this type simply give a set of rules for cybernetic augments and prices, leaving little in the way of anything concrete that adds to the world of the games.

6d6 Cybernetics is not one of those supplements.

The amount of detail that goes into the background of human augmentation and cybernetic enhancement is very impressive, a significant amount of reasearch has been done into the modern and archaic application of body modification, both medical an fasionable and this information has been used not just to inform over the background of the cybernetics in-setting but also to inform their use and social imlications in the futuristic settings of the game.

Though 6d6 cybernetics presents no solid setting it is a fairly modular ruleset (as most 6D6 products seem to be) allowing it to be used fairly seamlessly with nearly any setting that can be built using the D6d core rules. There is even GM advice for using the cards in conjunction with a fantasy or steampunk setting.

The sample setting "New British Empire" though not a full detailed setting presents a fun backdrop against which to set pulpy sci-fi storylines. reading this (admittedly short) section i was reminded somewhat of the 2000AD strim "Nikolai Dante" a personal favourite of mine.

So in summary cybernetics has a nice thick slice of fluf, a good simple modular ruleset and, through it's 5 pages of additional cards, gives a big expansion to 6D6 character options. A definite keeper for anyone wising to run Sci-Fi games in 6D6

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core + Quantum Flux + Cybernetics (1st Ed.)
by Faye L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2012 08:10:20
I'm just going to review Cybernetics this time.

It begins with an interesting look at prosthetics from the days of myth and legend to the present, before explaining what's available with the supplement and how it all works. It's fluff, but it's good, useful fluff.
Then it moves into the rules and keywords that underlie the mechanics of all the new bits, as well as advice on how to integrate them into various settings, from near future to much further as well as steampunk and out and out fantasy. It's all clear and logical. Nice and simple, but I can't think of anything that it doesn't cover.
The sample setting is interesting, and it certainly gives plenty of scope for expanding. Part of me would have liked a little more information, a bit more breadth perhaps, but I know also that in games that have more detail, I often end up ignoring/rewriting it because it's not quite what I want.

All in all, I like what I see.

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core + Outbreak! + Starter Pack (1st Ed.)
by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2012 16:17:59
This review was originally posted on Roleplayer's Chronicle on March 2nd, 2012.

Cards and RPGs were once at war with each other in the early 90s as Magic the Gathering began to dominate and traditional games struggled, yet peace was established across the table and the two genres have merged together in many unexpected ways. Or to be less dramatic… Dude, you wanna play a card-based RPG?

The 6d6 System is a new universal role-playing mechanic incorporating card decks, as a substitution for the standard character sheet, developed by 6d6 Fireball. For this review, I was provided with a free copy of their initial bundle, including 6d6 Core (the complete rules for understanding and playing the game), 6d6 Outbreak (a zombie apocalypse module), and the Starter Decks for both Outbreak and 6d6 Modern.

The biggest struggle in developing a universal mechanic is being able to handle a wide variety of applications based on genre, timelines, technology, magic, and more. This is complicated when designing a new concept in RPG delivery – a complete card-based version of the traditional tabletop game. Right off the bat, I can tell you 6d6 Core delivers with extreme confidence. Anyone who purchases the game and registers through the proper channels will receive free PDF updates to ensure everyone has the latest version of the game as it continues to grow and adapt with upcoming supplements, such as 6d6 Magic.

All characters are built using a Character Deck built by the player using Character Points (CP). Each card offers 1d6 plus a modifier to apply to your roll when played and this offering determines the CP cost to add it to your deck. Within the deck, you’ll have access to Life Cards, Ability Cards, Equipment Cards, Path Cards, and more. Leaders (GMs) have access to additional cards such as Effect and Circumstance Cards. Each card contains everything you need to know to apply it when played and are categorized under keywords demonstrating when they can be played, how frequently they can be redrawn, and more.

There are two concepts to 6d6 allowing it to function more as a RPG than a simple card game: flow and pseudo-cards. Without these, 6d6 would just be another Magic. Each character has two flow to use on their turn, either to return a card to their hand or perform a pseudo-card. Pseudo-cards represent basic actions any character can perform with the need of a card, such as movement. While there are special cards allowing enhanced movement, you can simply spend one flow to move as a pseudo-card. There are additional possibilities as well creating the possibility of a truly imaginative RPG experience.

During play, there are 4 pools each player keeps at hand: Static (only cards with the Static keyword), Mechanic (such as discarded cards and Character Cards), Dynamic (your actual hand), and the Deck (all your remaining cards yet played). When it’s time to play your cards from the Dynamic pool, you can total up the number of d6s and their modifiers for your roll which is then opposed by another character’s roll built from their own Dynamic pool or against resistance (a number based on the overall difficulty of your attempted action). Effects such as damage are then based on the difference.

At 170 pages for 6d6 Core alone, there is a multitude of information available to create a truly vivid and exemplary RPG experience you can attempt using the 6d6 Starter and Modern Packs offered with the initial purchase or you can run the 6d6 Outbreak module as an introduction to the mechanics. The amount of information and detail offered in the rules is impressive and creates what I would equate to a deck building version of D&D 4th edition – it’s that detailed and simultaneously simple once you get down to actually playing. While I was reading 6d6 Core, I did find myself flipping back and forth to ensure I understood the mechanics and after spending time with a few printed cards organizing pools, I found myself itching to find players ASAP.

That being said, I have to admit I was dismayed at the presentation of the PDFs made available through RPGNow and DriveThruRPG for the price offered. Especially with the cards. They are basically text with colored borders designating card types. At the time I received the 6d6 Bundle, it was priced at $15 and has since gone up in price. While I can completely understand the incredible amount of work, testing, and revisions put into such an impressive game, the lack of artwork (especially in the cards) makes it overpriced in my opinion. But don’t let that dismay you from trying this game. If 6d6 Fireball were ever to pay for artwork and some sharp graphic design, my thoughts on 6d6 would go from impressed to floored.

A truly incredible adaptation of the standard RPG taken to new directions I never thought I would be impressed by (I’ve never been one for cards in my games). The presentation is crisp, concise, and thoroughly tested to give me confidence as a player and Leader to put a group together and start building a deck.

If you’re interested in taking a glance, you can access free-to-read content for 6d6 from the website (

Publication Quality: 3 out of 10
It’s the only weak link, but it can be an incredible deficiency when dealing with a deck building public used to full color artwork and textures on their cards. The 6d6 cards themselves have no artwork other than a color border and consist of nothing more than text. For the price these sets are offered, it seems too much. The text of the rulebooks is also a bit amateur with titles appearing on the bottom of the page and looking like nothing more than a Word file converted to PDF. If this area were improved, even slightly, 6d6 could literally take off like a rocket.

(Since originally published, it has come to light these PDFs are drawn from the 6d6 Living Document available from the publisher's website and hence never intended to represent a typically designed publication. That being said, I stand by my original statement on layout as the purchase of the 6d6 Core PDF from all OneBookShelf sites and affiliates is made in comparison to those released by other publishers.)

Mechanics: 10 out of 10
Absolutely brilliant. Reading how to play can be intimidating at first, but once the cards are down on the table, it flows like water.

Desire to Play: 10 out of 10
I’ve never been one to play a card-based RPG – let alone any card game – and this one has been tucking at my mind since I started reading it. Highly recommended, particularly if you’re a Magic player looking to try a real game and build a story rather than just a deck.

Overall: 8 out of 10
Once again, the word I use to describe 6d6 is “impressive.” As a fan of RPGs, this game truly encapsulates the roleplaying experience with cards and dice while simultaneously stretching the possibilities of a traditional RPG using flow, pool, and pseudo-cards. With some professional-looking layout in both the books and cards, this game can become a powerhouse in the independent gaming industry and I really hope it becomes the success it deserves to be.

[4 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core + Outbreak! + Starter Pack (1st Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to Order

6d6 Core + Outbreak! + Starter Pack (1st Ed.)
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2012 07:31:15
Let me start by saying that usually I enjoy games that are mechanics heavy - that have lots of rules to cover all the situations that can arise in a game, and allow situations to be easily and realistically resolved. To be fair, I started playing back in the AD&D days, and then into games such as Shadowrun, and so forth, where rules were the key. Even in the World of Darkness games, where storytelling was a key element, the strong rules systems appealed to me.

With that out of the way, I have to say that as soon as I started reading the 6d6 Core rules, I fell in love with this system. It's a fiendishly simple system that you can pick up in an instant, and start playing almost immediately (or as fast as your printer will spit out the cards, if you buy the PDF version). It takes a simple card combination and dice resolution system and makes it - wonderful.

As with any good game, as soon as I started reading, my creative juices started flowing. I wanted to put the PDF down and work on a game to use the rules with - I thought of adapting it for a Superhero game, running a political intrigue game, a Wild West game, and a Kung-Fu game. Each of these I could have wiped up in no time at all. And that is the beauty of this system.

I'm a big fan of the card combination system, and the fact that if I want to resolve something, anything, in this game, all I have to do is get the right combination, or the most creative combination, and I can have a go at it. Couple that with their being no negatives to a dice pool, there is always a chance of success, even if the odds are stacked against you.

Switching from Narrative to Initiative Play is seamless, and makes perfect sense, and I honestly can't see a situation where players are going to be bogged down and bored resolving combat situations.

The Outbreak! one-shot that is included in this bundle is great fun. It captures all the elements of a classic zombie movie, and it does so with style. It's a fantastic example of just one of the things you can do with this game. I'm not going to throw any spoilers in about it, other than to say - play it, and enjoy it.

If I wanted to complain about anything (and I'm not saying I do), it would be the minimalism of the rules and the cards - there is no flashy art, there is no fancy layout, or anything like that. But, at the end of the day, I find that refreshing. There is nothing to distract you from the well written rules. It allows you to appreciate the game for what it is. And, at the end of the day, you get great value for money in return!

Hats off to the guys at 6d6 Fireball for making such a wonderful product. I eagerly look forward to seeing what they make in the future for the 6d6 game. They just better work quickly, before I make some expansions myself!

[5 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core + Outbreak! + Starter Pack (1st Ed.)
by Phay V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2012 06:49:15
This contains no spoilers....
I really loved running this game. I found the system easy to get one with and I loved the fact that what you need to know about peoples skills etc is written on the cards. The card descriptions although specific they are also vague enough to allow players to basically brag what they can use in a situation. Which gives them options and makes the cards somewhat limitless. I like the Fact that when playing this game you can pull the rings apart and pull out the pieces you need so that when running this game you can sort out the material your way and so its easier for you to run and you don't end up using scraps of paper to mark pages and flicking between sections in a huge book.
The story itself was really good and the two times that i have ran this so far have had completely different outcomes. Some players just want to become a zombie to eat their friends and one of my games became a brain hunt of the other players which was fun for them. There are many ways to play the game and if all depends on your players which is good to find a game which adapts so well to people with different playing styles as well as running styles. The first time i ran this game it turned out actually very creepy and scary. The plot itself lends itself well by offering players choices which determine the outcome in the end.
I liked the fact that there are no exact rules on when a player turns into a zombie so its easy to turn them at the worst possible moment (and believe me in this game there are many). I loved the little twists and the detail of the setting itself from the descriptions to the equipment cards.
Buy this game if you not only like horror but also like to screw with your players. Play this game if you want to eat your friends.

[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates