DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Godbound Art Pack
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 14:18:07

This pack of high quality fantasy art is astounding. It will take some time to download the compressed file, given the high resolution images in it, but it is very worth it - and it is wonderful to know this has been released so that the community can use it. There are many full color pieces, as well as some black and white works and some great maps just waiting to be personalized. They can fit nicely in any number of products for gaming and permission has been given to do so, even for commercial products. This is the kind of spirit that we need to see more of in an era in which small gaming companies and individuals can publish via DriveThru, the DM's Guild, and so on, but can't always afford the art that makes a strong first impression. Everything about this offering is commedable. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
by Marc S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 12:32:49

This is better than most of the 20$ art collections out there! But this one is for free. It's crazy really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarlet Heroes Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2016 16:19:07

Episkt lir med enkel mekanik. Applåder och beröm!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2016 19:44:06

My buddies and I are playing GURP Game of Thrones right now but we plan on playing this next. This is really nice we also plan on running a Pathfinder crossover with this in the world of Birthright having this as the blood powers. I liked it so much I bought the book and the PDF in full.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 22:00:08

I am very impressed with production quality and writing of this, clear a master, system designer.


My children (14 and 8) are able to grasp the concepts in this book (with only very little RPG experience) and had an absolute ball playing Godbound characters.


The simple mechanics and storytelling descriptions of the characters actions make for a great story, and there is a lot of hidden depth in the extras (I backed the deluxe edition).


Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2016 14:52:38

This lays out modifications for playing an adventure with only one party member. It details the five inherent issues with solo adventures then sets out to address them. Highly recommended. Also includes a sample adventure for a single first level character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Drew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 12:30:20

Ever platy dnd to the end and realize that after 20th level, there isn't much to do? Then get Godbound. Its about charscters who have made the jump from adventurers to LITERAL GODS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Jeremy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 12:29:37

This game has potential but still somewhat lacking full development. Mixing religious views to create a back drop or storyline, while interesting, might simply upset most people into not wanting to purchase your end product. That is if what you are attempting to accomplish, if not then you have helped other people with developing a back ground for their own home grown games. Good Luck and Keep it up!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
by Matías C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 22:31:26

Top-notch artwork from a top-notch game. Making it available for free is Kevin's way to give back to the roleplaying community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Matthew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 12:13:56

I'm hard-pressed to think of an independant (and solo) game designer who puts as much love and hard work into this craft as Kevin Crawford.
Godbound is a sterling example of what happens when an old-school rule set is combined with a modern-day approach to play; the result-magic!
Player's are the demi-gods in a broken land, mortals imbued with words of creation who set about forging their own paths in a setting rich with conflict and plenty of room for growth. The rule-set also supports less mythic heroes, right down to average mortals and turnip farming adventurers seeking to better their lot in the world.


Godbound provides a rich setting, ripe for plunder, havoc, rule, destruction, conquer; whatever the pc's desire!
True to Sine Nomine form, this book is packed to the gills with options to help a GM get a sandbox campaign off the ground and running. This is especially useful given the power level of pc's; anybody who is unfamiliar running games for super-beings or demi-gods have nothing to fear as Mr Crawford provides excellent advice and guidelines for constructing a setting and challenges which will make for entertaining and lasting campaigns.
The setting has enough information without becoming bogged down in senselss detail, and the book has plenty of suggestions for alternate campaigns and ideas which break from the standard game. It is clear that the book's strong focus does not diminish it's utility as a toolbook for demi-god's in a fantasy world, no matter which system you use. It is a book designed to be used and played, not just read.


For fans of a certain rpg which will remain nameless, Godbound also supports themed demi-gods including elemental scions, shapeshifters and god-walkers; huge war engines capable of massive devastation. I will say no more!


I could say much more about this game; it's excellent and tasteful artwork, clear layout and font and the author's excellent narrative voice and prose.
However, I'd much rather you go and pick up a copy and see for yourself.


Sine Nomine is a class act in a market flooded by mediocre and expensive titles. I only hope that this game and future releases receive the recognition amongst gamers that they deserve.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2016 10:11:29

(Reposted from Free Edition)


Absolutely fantastic. It's hard to think that Kevin Crawford would do a game like this coming off of Silent Legions but here it is. Godbound is a game where the players are normal people in a fantasy setting who gain powers of fallen "Made Gods" who almost destroyed the world years prior. The key concept is that mortals entered heaven and found god gone and fight and took control of heaven and the great machines that run their world from the angels guarding them. Then ideological differences drove them to create their own fashioned artificial gods which then began to war amongst themselves, rival factions, and the remnants of heaven's angels. They broke the world, themselves, and almost drove all of the world into darkness. Now years later mortals are gaining these stolen slivers of divine power and becoming demigods of great power who hold the potential to become full fledged gods in this broken world.


The setting has a mix of technology levels, from urban citiscapes that are barely holding on to their technology, steampunk autocratic nationstates living in fear of their robotic masters, to basted wastes where the fabric of reality lays torn and bleeding monsters and other reality horrors into the landscape. Also scattered around the world are shards of heaven itself that the players can enter, conquer, and hopefully convert into eventual paradises or bases of operation.


The system is an OSR hybrid that uses d20's for most rolls, standard combat actions, but lacks predefined classes. Instead characters are based around facts that detail their backstory which grants them access to powers and skills appropriate to that background. The real power of characters comes from the 3 beginning WORDS which define their purview of divine power, allows them to buy GIFTS which are more discreet powers, and defines how they can spend EFFORT or DOMINION on miracles and larger more lasting changes to the world. I haven't seen such a friendly free form power system since the early MAGE days. If anything I'd say unlike White Wolfs bookkeeping nightmare of a power system Godbounds miracles are quick and easy to rule on.


The game assumes the players will be facing powerful foes and reshaping the world from level 1. To illustrate this it uses a modified damage system where lesser foes do hit points of damage while the players can do full hit dice to anyone not considered on their tier of power. That is not to say there is a lack of powerful foes to face. The game present guidelines to build a wide range of horrible monsters, powerful casters, and still living Made Gods that will challenge the players growing dominion.


Not since I read the original work of Sine Nomine's Stars Without Number have I seen such a well written and developed product. It directly rivals Exalted, Cypher System's Gods of the Fall, and other similar work while still being it's own unique setting and rules. Play is fast, and exciting. Game tables will be filled with stories of armies falling, nations warping to players wills, and eventually massive universe/nay-multiverse spanning wars of conquest and heroic deeds.


It's well worth the price at free for the core game, and the Deluxe Edition includes loads of fun optional rules like magical martial arts, alternative Godbound types, and expanded artifact rules.


Please, enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Echo, Resounding: A Sourcebook for Lordship and War
by Colm O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 15:24:54

I was lucky enough to pick this up at half-price, and would have been blown away by the value I got from my money, had I not been expecting the usual brilliance of Kevin Crawford's works.


For anyone planning an OSR game with domain management elements, strongholds, mercenaries or mass battles, this book is pretty much mandatory. Most OSR games and retro-clones tend to fall towards extremes when it comes to these aspects, providing too little detail, or far too much to be fun for most groups (looking at you, ACKS!). An Echo, Resounding hits the nail exactly on the head, letting your group have a meaningful domain management system and mass battle system without bogging the game down in, say, the finer points of tax collection and environmental adjustment to demand, or hiring armourers, tailors and horsefeed to keep your armies functional.


To give a brief (but by no means exhaustive) overview of the chapters:



  1. Creating a domain: The domain creation system is quite simple but provides plenty of scope to make a unique and interesting setting, painting in broad strokes the major population centers, ruins, quirks and resources that characterise it. Random tables provide a wealth of options to instantly flesh out cities and wilderness areas.

  2. Domain Management: This chapter outlines a domain turn system in which the characters' domain may take actions, followed by any NPC domains. Think Civ or any 4X game and you're not a hundred miles away. You can also create, destroy and upgrade locations on a smaller scale, example creating a city barracks to eliminate some of the upkeep for your standing troops.

  3. Mass Combat: Mercenary/Soldier profiles (including many monstrous/non-human troops), an elegant combat system for battles of any magnitude, and rules for support troops, heroes, sieges, naval battles etc. You've probably seen something like it before but I say this honestly, this is easily the best implementation of any of these things I've seen in an OSR game (and I have seen MANY).

  4. Westmark: An example domain that integrates all of the above, with plot hooks for good measure. I haven't looked through it in great detail but judging by the standard of the rest of the book, it's probably worth a read even if you don't plan on using it within your setting.


So in case you haven't already guessed, I'm very impressed with this product! I heartily recommend it to anyone who has even a passing interest in growing their campaign past fighting things and taking their stuff (or even just those who want to fight an army of things for a great deal of stuff).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
An Echo, Resounding: A Sourcebook for Lordship and War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 14:34:05

I've been playing D&D since the old Red and Blue boxed sets in the 80's. While I had fun with those systems, things have changed since then and some much better mechanics have come out. So I was reluctant to check this out, since it mentioned OSR (Old School Revolution) and I haven't exactly liked some of the games I've tried. They were a little too old school for me.


But fear not, this system is really a new system, and uses ideas from many of the lighter, quicker systems that have come out, like Dungeon World and Fate to speed up play and make it easy to play a very powerful character, that actually feels powerful.


If you played Birthright, back in the day, and want to play that, this is the game I'd suggest using. If you like the setting of Exalted, but don't like how incrediably crunchy that system is (especially charm system, which I have a love-hate relationship with myself), then check this game out. Especially some of the "Themed" Godbound in the Deluxe version. Many of the types are obviously influenced by the different kinds of Exalted.


Even at first level as a Godbound, your character will be capable of taking on hordes of human soldiers, and yet find fallen Angels an overwhelming threat, so you can't just run roughshod over everything. You'll need to use your many powers and ingenuity to change the world and increase your power.


The free version of the rules will let you see everything you need to see to get a good grasp of how the system works (especially damage, which might through you at first), but it is worth paying for the Deluxe version to get the extra rules and details, IMHO.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Deluxe Edition)
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2016 05:11:42

Read the Free version, so good I had to get the Deluxe. I'm a fan of high power settings but so many of them quickly bog down in rules bloat and endless complicated power sets.


This doesn't and I can see how the system could pretty easily be ported into any exisitng setting I want without much work at all. I may finally run a game where everyone plays Dragons.


Why not 5 stars? Well nothing is perfect and to me D20 always has a bit too much swing in the range of outputs compared to what you get for abilities / stats.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Matías C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2016 18:04:47

[Full Review with actual play here: http://dayst-
archronicles.blogspot.com.ar
)


I want to start this review by saying I genuinely love this game. I haven't been so hooked and in love with an RPG in a long while, probably not since I played Exalted 1st Edition for the first time a little over 10 years ago.


The setting goes like this: over a thousand years ago, mortals stormed the halls of Heaven in search for the One God, battling the Angelic Host along the way, so that they may know the truths of the universe. That didn't end up well, though, since the Throne was empty. Furious, mortals looted the Celestial Engines to build their own divinities, the Made Gods, according to each people's philosophies and dogma. It wouldn’t be long before Made Gods clash in the blattlefield, with each conflict tearing the fabric of the universe a little more. In the end, the Last War produced the Shattering, a cosmic cataclysm that broke and scattered the world into many Realms, each one floating alone among the Uncreated Night. Meanwhile, the Angels were forced to withdraw to Hell, a safe heaven from where they could plot to destroy the world in order to recreate it anew.


With the Made Gods dead or weakened, and the Celestial Engines at the blink of collapse, hope was all but lost. But then, the divine energy contained in Heaven's dead Made Gods poured into the world below, gifting ordinary men and women with divine might. These are the Godbound. Whether the world is to be saved or doomed, it's their fate to carve its ultimate destiny.


Like I said before, the core engine is recognizable to anyone who has played classic D&D before. You have six attributes (Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Wisdom, Intelligence and Charisma) rated 1 to 18 to measure how good you are on a particular field. If you need to make a check to see if you succeed or fail, you roll a 20-sided die. High is good, low is bad. The usual stuff.


What sets Godbound apart? For once, no skills. Instead, players have Facts, which work in a lot of ways similar to Fate's Aspects. If you have a Fact applicable to a non-combat die roll, you add a +4 bonus to the roll. Quick, simple, and customizable to each PC's backstory and deeds. Players may also use Facts to get a general idea of a character's resources, and it's possible to gain stuff like Lesser Magic (wizardry used by mortals) or a Divine Artifact in lieu of the +4 bonus. You start with three Facts, gaining a new Fact with each experience Level you reach.


Of course, that alone wouldn't make for unstoppable demigods, so we have Words, the spheres of divine might that tell us what a Godbound can do. Some Words are Fire, Beasts, Command, Passion, Sword, and many more. Each character starts with three Words, although it's possible to bind to more as they level up. Just be bonding with a Word, characters get access to some related perks or Attribute increments. For example, anyone who bonds with Fire will be immune to flames, while someone who bonds with Might will automatically have Strength 19.


Once a hero’s Words are chosen, the player selects Gifts among those Words, powers his character will always have available (some are constant, while others must be activated by the Godbound). In addition, Godbound may invoke Miracles from their Words, either to emulate Gifts they didn't buy or to create their own effects (of course, doing so costs more than having purchased the right Gift for the job). That way, Godbound have both fixed powers and free-form magic they can access in times of need.


Some Gifts and powers are free to use, but most require the character to commit Effort in order to activate them for as long as the power is on. One the Godbound no longer needs the power active, he may instantly reclaim his spent Effort (for example, if a Gift enhances an attack, the Godbound can reclaim the Effort as soon as the attack is resolved). The strongest powers require the hero to leave Effort committed even after its effects have ended, either for the remainder of the scene or the whole day. A Level 1 character starts with Effort 2, and increases this score by one each time they Level up. It's incredible how much you can achieve even at first level with just two points, making bookkeeping quite easy.


How does this all play in game? Awesomely. Combat is fast and furious, with lesser enemies possessing no treat to a pantheon unless in very large numbers (luckily, Godbound has fantastic Mob rules). All Godbound have a Fray Die (1d8 by default). Every turn, regardless of their action, they get to roll their Fray Die to represent minor miracles that inflict damage on lesser foes. That way, Godbound can dispatch larger number of lesser enemies quite fast.


On top of everything else, the book itself is incredibly helpful for the GM, full of advice and techniques to design epic adventures for your players. Even if you don't like OSR, and even if the quite streamlined and polished rules in this book are not to your taste, the book is so full of rules and tips that can be easily converted to other game systems that it's worth buying it just for that anyway.


My favorite subsystem in the book is Influence and Dominion. As they gain Levels, characters increase their Influence pool, which they can commit (just like Effort) to alter the world around them off-screen based on his Words. For as long as the Influence remains committed, their divine powers sustain the change, only returning to its original state if he withdraws the points or an external force interferes. For example, let's say a Godbound finds an isolated island village that is constantly raid by pirates. He has to travel to a far place to deal with the tentacled abomination the pirates have for a deity. He fears the village is not safe until his return, so he works on a plan to defend them while he's away. Working for a few days, he crafts a metal-men army, imbuing them with life with the Artifice Word. For as long as the Influence remains committed on the task, the army will be upkeep and functional. If he ever withdraws it, though, they will start to fall apart and malfunction.


If a Godbound wants to make one of this changes permanent, he has to spend Dominion. Once he has done so, the change is permanent and he no longer is required to commit Influence to upkeep the change. Once spent, Dominion points are lost, and the character needs to earn more (usually from receiving worship, performing heroic deeds or looting Celestal Shards). Following the previous example, the Artifice Godbound could spend dominion to make his metal army a permanent addition to the village, ensuring that even after he has long gone they will still protect the village.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 187 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates